300-970_ALT_2.jpg
300-970_ALT_2.jpg
 
300-970_ALT_0
 
300-970_ALT_1
 
300-970_ALT_2
 

Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out

Brand:| Model: SS4
Overview
The SS4 is a low-profile speaker selector that allows you to distribute a stereo speaker-level (amplified) signal to multiple listening zones. These speaker selectors feature a manually activated impedance protection circuit.
Highlights
  • Manual impedance matching protection circuit
  • Accommodates up to 14 AWG speaker wire
  • Loop-through output from the source amplifier
  • Select any one or all of your connected speakers
Part # 
300-970
Weight: 2.44 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$38.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$29.90
Buy 2-up$28.95
Part # 300-970
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out

The SS4 is a low-profile speaker selector that allows you to distribute a stereo speaker-level (amplified) signal to multiple listening zones. These speaker selectors feature a manually activated impedance protection circuit. The protection switch can be turned ON to prevent the impedance to your amplifier from dropping below 5 ohms, regardless of the number and impedance ratings of your speakers. The protection switch can be turned OFF when used as part of a system incorporating impedance matching volume controls, allowing you to get the most out of your amplifier.

The terminals on the rear of the speaker selector will accommodate up to 14 gauge cable; sufficient for cable runs exceeding 100 feet. For shorter distances, 16 ~ 18 gauge cable will suffice. For in-wall installations, we recommend using CL-2 or CL-3 rated cable for compliance with local building codes. If unsure, contact you local building inspector. When connecting a speaker and amplifier, it is important to maintain polarity; positive (+/red) to positive and negative (-/black) to negative. Be careful to maintain correct polarity between the amplifier, the speaker selector, the volume controls and the speakers. Power: 70 watts/channel impedance protection off, 140 watts/channel impedance protection on. Dimensions: 8-1/2" W x 2-1/8" H (with feet) x 5" D (including wire terminals and push buttons).



Product Specifications
  • Inputs (Source)Single (1 Pair)
  • Speaker Outputs4 Pair
  • Volume ControlNo
Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out
  • BrandWired Home
  • ModelSS4
  • Part Number300-970
  • UPC844632080241
  • Product CategorySpeaker Selector Switches
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (12 Reviews)
  • Weight2.44 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out
in the Speaker Selector Switches product category.

Reviews

Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out
Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out is rated 4.8333 out of 5 by 12.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and exactly what is was needing.Prior to purchasing this, I had two other sets of speakers that I would select by plugging or unplugging one banana plug from a wall plate. Since I got another set of ceiling speakers for our room and I knew I was risking damaging my receiver with low impedance issues, this was a no-brainer. Simple to set up and I changed out my wall plate with a bulk wire plate. This is so easy for my wife to use now in choosing which room(s) she wants the music in. And, I don't worry about damaging the receiver.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from small price , big valuethe weight was surprising , but the quality was amazing . this unit work's perfectly on my Sherwood 5.1 surround and other speakers ( garage , back patio , front porch . i am very impressed .
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the JobHefty little unit for the price... the weight was surprising. Has everything you need to distribute... you could always pay up for the one with volume controls, but I'm going to put local volume controls so that wasn't an issue for me. Great value.
Date published: 2012-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great unitI was replacing a Radio Shack selector that never worked really well. The selector came quickly. In Fact, before I thought it would and just in time for a party. My call to the company was met graciously and was helpful.When I need something else, you guys get the first nod.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my needs!I was looking for a speaker selector that would work to power the speakers I installed on my front porch. I have a receiver with Zone 2 output, but wanted to have the capability of adding other speakers throughout the house and deck in the future. It has worked well and very pleased with the quality of the switcher. It comes with small labels so you won't have to remember which speakers "switch 1, 2, etc" controls.
Date published: 2011-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good for the bone$I have NO complaints, it works just like it should, now remember, it's cost is under $25.00 bones, so a very good deal. thank you PE, it's nice to have things at a good price & do there job in these trying times $$$
Date published: 2011-04-18

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out

Can this be used to turn on zone 1, then turn off zone 1 and turn on zone 2?

I have 2 pairs of 4 ohm speakers, and my little bookshelf unit can't handle that I don't think - at least both at the same time - one at a time, it can. Sets of speakers to be placed in nearby areas and not used together, at one time. Receiver is rated 40w/ch and came with one set of the 4 ohm speakers. Would anything be different if I replaced one set of 4 ohm speakers with 6-8 ohm speakers instead?
Asked by: JMG1
The best thing to do is get a bigger amp/receiver these days amps put out 100 watts p/ch is standard. 40watts is not going to cut it, also when you have 4 speakers that are all low in ohms, some amps/rec don't like all that low ohm loads, so looking for a bigger amp is better you could do damage to the amp if you keep using it in this way...PE has a wide range of amps/receivers...
Answered by: ULTRASONIC
Date published: 2012-09-06

Max power?

So this lists "140 watts/channel impedance protection on". Is this output on each channel? So this is capable of distributing power to 4 pairs of speakers at 140 watts/channel? (assuming the amp is stable at low ohm loads and is capable of at least 600 watt/ch)
Asked by: Charles
Depending on the impedance protection setting, it looks like either 70W or 140W per channel channel (NOT per speaker) . Driving 4 pair of identical speakers simultaneously, that works out to 35W per speaker, minus a little circuit loss, w/ protection on.
Answered by: Rumplestiltskin
Date published: 2012-05-02

Adds power or just a splitter?

is this just a box containing a splitter to just distribute the power from the original amplifier, or does this amplify the signal more?
Asked by: Nikolitis
It's just a splitter - it does not amplify the signal more.
Answered by: mossadacity
Date published: 2012-02-16

My Unit smells???

Is this because it's new or the Specs are wrong?"Power: 70 watts/channel impedance protection off, 140 watts/channel impedance protection on"...Shouldn't that be the othjer way around? I'm running one Marantz THX SMU-80U (140RMS per channel and that electronic smell devolopes after a while with the Protection circuit on so I turn it off. Please inform before I blow something up!
Asked by: LEDm
All new electronic equipment "outgasses" or has a slight electroniic odor to it which "burns off" with time. Some of it is due to the flux and transformer laquer used on the windings. If it smokes or smells funky, consider this equipment is sometimes shipped in containers over seas and sometimes is left for weeks in port before being shipped to retailers or consumers.The plastic parts, cases and knobs may outgas solvents used in the plastic molding process. This is what causes the film to form on new car windows after a few days in the sun; that new car smell is solvents leaching from plastic, fabric, and carpet materials.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2014-07-21

why the fith output

I see the four zones on the back of the unit, why is there a pass through fifth zone underneath the inputs? Is that where the "A" speaker output is to go, then you have an additional four zones for a total of five? Or is it four zones total? The instructions don't tell.Thanks
Asked by: Parkertip
The input and output (marked) connectors are a "pass thru" or "loop" so you can run this thru your original set of speakers. It is not assignable/switchable. You also have 4 other outputs with selector switches for up to 4 more sets of speakers. I hope this helps.
Answered by: samplerman
Date published: 2014-07-21

Comparison to Dayton Audio brand.

In terms of specs and features, what is the difference between the SS4 and the TS-4?SS4:http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-970TS-4:http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-606Thanks!
Asked by: jasimpson
The difference is the location of the impedance protection switch. On the Dayton model, the switch is located on the underside of the chassis, to avoid any accidental de-activation of the protection circuitry. On the SS4, this switch is located on the front panel with the selector switches.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-07-05

How does with work with a 5.1 receiver?

Should the input to the SS4 only come from the front main speaker pair from the receiver? Instead, would it be just as effective to wire from the rear surround speaker terminal pair on the receiver to the SS4? Is there an impedance problem if I connect the front main speaker out terminals on the receiver directly to the front main speakers, and connect the rear surround speaker terminal pair on the receiver to the SS4, and from the SSR, connect two pairs of rear surround speakers?
Asked by: RSteve
The SS4 is primarily designed to be used to distribute stereo sound to different zones (up to four). We generally recommend that the input of the SS4 be connected to the front left and right speakers of a surround sound receiver (unless the rear channels are reconfigurable as a Zone 2 output).Additionally, it is recommended that the main speakers be connected to one of the outputs of the SS4 for maximum impedance protection.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2014-07-28

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Wired Home SS4 Speaker Selector Impedance Matching 1 In 4 Out

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1