264-500_ALT_1.jpg
264-500_ALT_1.jpg
 
264-500_ALT_0
 
264-500_ALT_1
 

Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter

Brand:| Model: D19TD-05
Overview
Affordable 3/4" poly dome tweeter features good dispersion and excellent power handling. High loss diaphragm. Voice coil is ferro fluid cooled.
Highlights
  • High 80 watt RMS power handling with appropriate crossover
  • Small 3/4" dome for great off-axis response
  • Ferro fluid cooled
Part # 
264-500
Weight: 0.6 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$29.99
You Save33%
Your Price
$19.94
Buy 4-up$18.88
Part # 264-500
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter

Affordable 3/4" poly dome tweeter features good dispersion and excellent power handling. High loss diaphragm. Voice coil is ferro fluid cooled.



Product Specifications
  • Tweeter TypePoly / Mylar Dome
  • Cone / Dome Diameter3/4"
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)80 Watts
  • Frequency Response3,500 to 20,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity89 dB 1W/1m
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)1,700 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)6.20 ohms
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter3.70"
  • Cutout Diameter2.67"
  • Depth0.90"
Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter
  • BrandVifa
  • ModelD19TD-05
  • Part Number264-500
  • UPC844632020209
  • Product CategoryTweeters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (40 Reviews)
  • Weight0.6 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter
in the Tweeters product category.

Reviews

Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter
Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy thisBought this to replace the burnt tweeter of my Creek CL20 which are using 3/4" silk dome tweeters. I spent a sunday afternoon to widen the cut-out and every effort payoff. It increases the value of my CL20 by atleast 3 fold. Highs are so clean and sweet even snare drums sound better. Great buy. If you are having a budget range 8ohm speakers that use 3/4" tweeters with sensitivity around 88 or 89db regardless of material. YOU MUST TRY this on if it doesn't require you to alter the cutout.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent TweeterSo glad I sound these. The tweeters on my Speakerlab DAS-4's from the 90's were shot. I could barely make out the brand on the back of the old tweeter. YES! These are the exact same as specd and shipped by Speakerlab back in the day on the now defunct DAS series line. They are excellent tweeters.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tweeterLove the sound out of these tweeters. Bought a pair of old used mission 700S's and the tweeters were shot. Next are the woofers as 1 i repaired and its not working so well. Thanks again for the fast shipping and great priced product.
Date published: 2012-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Mission 700S replacementThis would be the best $100 (incl postage) I have ever spent. These tweeters have bought my missions back to life - I forgot what they originally sounded like :)
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paradigm Phantom V1 replacementsI bought my Paradigm Phantom V1's new in the early 90's. I was fresh out of high school and managed to blow both tweeters shortly thereafter playing some hard rock. I know, I know! I was young and didn't have alot of money, so I replaced them with a cheap pair of Radio Shack domes. They sounded pretty good for my young inexperienced ears. As I got older it started to bother me that my Phantoms had cheap tweeters in place of the originals. Recently, I was researching some 8" woofers when I remembered about my V1's. I decided to do a little research and was amazed to find out that they were highly sought after for their great sound from such a small package. I started to research replacement tweeters and to my amazement found these stock replacement tweeters for sale on Parts Express. I immediately ordered them! I replaced only one first so I could compare the sound to the other one with the Radio Shack tweeter. There is absolutely no comparison! These tweeters sound so clean and lifelike. I can hear sounds that the other tweeters simply ignore. Whereas before they sounded good, now my Phantoms sound incredible. Thank you Parts Express!P.S. Just FYI, the tweeters I ordered have Peerless stickers on the magnets, instead of Vifa. Although this is simply a name change for me and they still use the same part number, it may matter to purists who are looking for tweeters with the original Vifa name.
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome TweeterFirstly I was extremely pleased to find that this particular model and product line was still available and thankfully made by the original component manufacturer. I have been searching for quite some time now to source this particular item . I happen to read an article in a magazine which gave me a refence back to you and subsequently the placing of an order . Thank You so much for your assistance and professionalism in achieving a positive result. Kind Regards, Phil.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paradigm 11se replacementI came across a pair of good condition Paradigm 11se towers at a yard sale a couple of years ago (best $10 bucks I ever spent on speakers), and found when I got them home that one had a dead tweeter. Upon inspection I found the tweeter was a Vifa model D19TD-05 that had been damaged by the previous owner when he attempted to decouple the diaphragm from the body and broke a few tiny wires leading to the windings of the voice coil. I was incredibly surprised to find that exact model of tweeter still available for sale at Parts Express. I ordered two of these, as I figured using a brand new tweeter in one speaker and one that had been used for over twenty years in the other might cause some sonic discrepancies. When the tweeters arrived, I promptly replaced the one that had broken and couldn't be bothered to wait until I had replaced the second to give them a listen. When I turned on my stereo I was delighted to discover that to my ears the new tweeter sounded identical to the old. I was also delighted to discover that my total of $40 (including replacement tweeters) invested had yielded the best sounding pair of speakers I had ever laid ears on. No small part of that lovely sound is this wonderful little 3/4" Vifa tweeter. If you are in the market for a small but high power 8 ohm tweeter look no further. This little beauty will give your speakers new life through accurate and crisp highs that are never fatiguing and blend seamlessly into a properly cross-overed sound stage.
Date published: 2011-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A replacement for polk R50 speakers.I have replaced these for the cheaply made polk RD6516-1/4 tweeter and to my suprise i've notice a huge difference in quality and sound. You will not have to worry about blowning these on the R50's these are built like a tank and sound amazing compared to the RD6516 tweeter. however, to make these compatible for use on the polk R50's the vifa's are a bit larger in diameter and will cover the orinal hole. i was ok with just dropping the vifa tweeter in and screwing into the outer cabinet. however, i was required to rout out the magnet hole about 1/4 larger make these fit. Once completed the magnet hole was not perfect and i was ok with it, Because the tweeter would cover the imperfections of the routed out hole anyways. Lastly, i replaced the orignal .05ohm resistor located on the crossover (R1) with a mills 2.5ohm 10watt and no other changes were required to make the polk R50 fully functional and sound really good. Try the vifa D19TD-05 for your polk R50 and you will think twice about selling them off or if you do it will now be for a profit. So, keep your polk R50 and save your money for other upgrades to your Hi-Fi system.
Date published: 2010-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect JVC SX-F50 Replacement (Vifa D19TD)Perfect fit for my JVC SX-F50 tower speakers. Give them some time to break in. Sounds realistic for many different genres of music. I strongly recommend.
Date published: 2010-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Direct fit 1997 8ohm ver. of Sonus Faber ConcertosFYI the Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeters I purchased seem to be a direct replacement for my Sonus Faber Concertos (8 ohm 1997 version) speakers (Sonus Faber OEM Made in Norway 19TFFSF H827 - 8ohm Cloth Tweeter). Sound is very comparable -- if not better, IMHO. Debate Poly vs Cloth. Very Satisfied with purchase. Other than Parts Express these are very hard to find even near his price level -- if you can even locate them at all.
Date published: 2010-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you can rock'on with theseexcelent reproduction of any music you desireA+++
Date published: 2010-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great valueUsed to replace blown tweeters on a pair of vintage bookshelf speakers (Mirage SM-5). I now like the sound better than my much newer floor-standers. At the price, they won't dissapoint.
Date published: 2009-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent replacement in Infinity Ref. 3 speakers.Cannot be more pleased with the sound of the highs of clarinet, trumpet, piano and violin. Crisp but not harsh. Very natural.
Date published: 2009-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best tweeter i've tried to dateI don't always give positive reviews, but this tweeter sounds good. The cymbals are very real, but not harsh. It can do cymbals like a titanium tweeter, but it has the softness of a silk tweeter. I'd have to say that i'll never go back to fabric domes for my own home speakers. It's nice that it isn't too sensitive too, so less attenuation is needed; I didn't even need an L-pad.By the way: make sure to flush mount into the wood with a router (don't just mount it sticking out).
Date published: 2009-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid replacementreplaced tweeters in JBL 8330 cinema surround speakers, installed in a small club. Original tweeters were getting blown out every week. these do the trick. Problem solved
Date published: 2009-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ValueThis tweeter performs like the more expensive ones.More costly dome tweeters are usually made of metalbut provide the same results.
Date published: 2008-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totaly AmazingThis is a great dome tweeter if you like them loud and crispy, like I do.----------------------------------------I bought a used pair of Infinity RS-2001 speakers with rotted foam surounds. Gutted the entire cabinet accept the terminal plates. Opened the hole a tad to fit this Goldwood 6.5 woofer, fitted a Vifa 3/4" dome tweeter PN# 264-500 and a Dayton crossover PN# 260-146. Added a 1 1/8" port PN# 260-472 cut to 5" long mounted in the top rear. WOW!!!! All I have to say it that they are the best compact two way speakers I have ever heard to this day. the bass response is so incredible for something so compact, deep and smooth. Believe me I have been toying in the field for 30 years or so. I also own a set of BR-1s, 6 1/2" two ways with modified crossover to bypass the 6db intenuator on the tweeter. Hands down this combination blows away the BR-1s and these Infinity RS-2001 cabinets are only 344 cubic inches. This combanation is my set build combination for small speakers. The Vifa 264-500 3/4 dome tweeters are loud and crispy just like I like them to be.
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I hoped forVery crisp sound throughout the bandwidth I'm feeding them (5kHz-15kHz, I myself can't hear anything above that).
Date published: 2008-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the money!I used a pair of these to replace the tweeters in my "original purchase" vintage 1983 Mission 700s speakers; along with a pair of new Pioneer 8" butyl rubber surround paper cone woofers (also from Parts Express). The speakers now sound like new with a soundstage that is well defined.
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for budget high-end 3-way!!!I used this tweeter in an 8" 3-way design and the sonics were true and sweet. It will handle as much power as you have, crossed over at 4,500 Hz. Best used in a 3-way with a smallish woofer( 6.5"-8") and a dome midrange. Although small( 3/4") the detail is quite good for the money. VIFA is well-known for their value and performance. Highly recommended!!!
Date published: 2008-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope these are available again!!These are excellent; nice "airy" upper treble with good dynamics, accurate tone, and FAST. Not tuned low, but do very well above 4K... especially about 5K as a "super-tweeter". Used with dome mids or 1" tweeters, they create a truly hi-end system!! ENJOY!!GC1
Date published: 2008-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality tweeterThis tweeter is well made and something I will use in the future. Perfect for the simple upgrading of old speakers as I did with a pair of Infinity 2001s I bought for $25.00 at a thrift store. Like new cabinet quality but rotted woofers and just replaced everything but the rear terminal cup. The finished results amazed me. The efficiency is bright enough to meet my picky preference of bright tweeters. Produces a crispy high-end response that makes this my first choice in satellite building components.
Date published: 2008-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tweetersounds great in my tannoy monitor speakers
Date published: 2008-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tweeter!Got these to replace the tweeters in my old Sansui towers. They never sounded this good!
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very satisfied.I have a Sony home theater system. The electronics are good enough, but the satellites and center speaker were a little dull. They are composed of a single, oval-shaped driver that is supposed to cover mid-range and highs. The mid-range is ok, but the highs are not so high?!So, I experimented by adding this 3/4 in. silk-dome tweeter to the center speaker. The difference was immediately noticable. There is much more clarity in the dialogue and the on-screen detail is much better. This unit does what a tweeter is supposed to do. And the cost is very acceptable for one on a very restricted income. I'll convert more speakers this month.
Date published: 2007-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engineer rebuilds towersWhen the woofers got smoked on my 30yr-old Technics SB-K43 3-way tower boxes, I decided to replace everything. I had no experience or knowledge of speakers until I found Parts Express while searching for new woofers. I did some research on DIY and some other sites and employed my engineering background to put together the plan. Based on price & specs from Parts Express, I bought the Dayton DC250-8 woofers, Pyle Pro PDMR5-5-1/4 Mids, Vifa D19TD-05 Tweeters, and Dayton Crossover 3-Way 8 ohm 800/5000mhz for my kit . I rewired with 14 ga. & soldered everything into the original box. Some assembly was required to mount the new drivers into the old box. Results: the sound is clean and precise at low and high power across all 3 speakers - the best I have heard although I am not an audiophile. I am very happy I went with the Vifa (Peerless) dome tweeter instead of getting another cone type. The Pyle Midrange seems flawless. I played Mannheim Steamroller Christmas "Fum, Fum, Fum" and it blew me away. I thought it was a good test of bass. The entire album sounded great played soft or cranking. Instrumentals are very realistic. Voices are so good I now hear lyrics of favorite pop songs that I never could discern before. (Disclosure: the sound output came from an Onkyo TX-8522 receiver.) I think I got a huge bang for my buck! I thought the old units had good sound but the rebuilt boxes with this setup are absolutely amazing! Thanks to Parts Express for making it easy to find good stuff from one source. I am a novice, so maybe I was just lucky that this combo did not clash. I did pay attention to the specs and reviews from others who bought the speakers Thanks. And that is why I am returning the favor.
Date published: 2007-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from transparent high notesTeamed up with 5 inch goldwood midrange and 10 woofer, almost went with the goldwood titanium tweeter, glad I went a few steps up and went with the vifa. The sound is somewhere between a silk dome and titanium. Not even the least bit of harshness.
Date published: 2007-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tweeter at a very good value!I aquired a pair of used Bower-Wilkens speakers several years ago and both tweeters were blown. I replaced them with the only Radio Shack tweeters they had (cheap), and the sound was way too harsh on the ears. I finally decided it was time to spend a little more on a better quality tweeter. I did some checking on the web and came accross the Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter and so glad I did. They sound 200 times better than what I had. No more harsh sound, just smooth crisp highs as what I would expect from a high end speaker system. I would definately buy these again if any of my other tweeters were to blow.
Date published: 2007-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning imagery, easy to work with...I have used these in many projects and have always found them easy to work with. They image very well on or off axis. I would describe them as lively without being overbearing. They contribute very well to the convincing sound stage my flagship towers portray, whether playing music or HT. You can stand directly in front of the right channel speaker and hear the left channel material on the other side of the room as clear as a bell. I cross them fairly high, 6600Hz@18dB on my flagships. In that case they are part of a compound MTM array. Great power handling and an outstanding value. Their low price is a real benefit to me, as my flagships use 8 per pair. They have been available for years, so replacements should be available, though I have never had one fail. Very versatile while sounding great at everything from very low to pretty high listening levels. Very non-fatiguing even after extended listening at high volumes. In my opinion, this is the best tweeter you can buy for the money(compares to those costing many times more). This is the one...Buy now. You will not regret it. Heck, buy several, as you will find yourself wanting to use them in project after project. Described in a word....Sweet!
Date published: 2007-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite tweeterIt is perfect for a small dual 4" or 6 1/2 " near field monitor ,try 18 d.b. x over at 4 K for a sweet tight image that won't burn you out when you monitor for too many hours.The low output means you can get away with less resister=less distortion. There was a shielded version but the original non fluro fluid version is still the sweetest tweeter for an acurate monitor at any price i ever found.
Date published: 2007-09-27

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter

is this the vifa now used in the lsa1 signature speakers ?

Asked by: pick
Unfortunately we do not have a list of speakers that our individual components work in.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

I blew the tweeter on one of my Polk M20 speakers. Will this fit and work as a replacement? I realize it won't perfectly match the tweeter on my other speaker but I only use these as surround speakers ( along with Polk R50's, Polk PSW505 and Polk

Asked by: BillBill
Unfortunately we do not have any form of a cross reference so I cannot say this will work without information about the originals. I would recommend calling or emailing our tech department for more help. 800-338-0531 x1 or tech@parts-express.com.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-20

What is the outside diameter, and screw hole to hole measurement?

Asked by: AlwaysSayDie
The overall outside diameter is 3.70" and the screw holes are on a 3.35" circle.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-09

Would this speaker pair well with Part # 299-976? I have a pair of speakers I built with 2 of these woofers in each and need a better tweeter to match them. Also any x-over suggestions?

Asked by: Caboose
This tweeter requires a pretty high crossover point, so it will not be the best match for that 6-1/2" woofer. Our Dayton DC28F would work however, and a crossover point of 2kHz would be ideal.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-12-30

It is posible just to buy the coil for these twiter?

Asked by: Omiglz
Unfortunately these do not have placement diaphragms available.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-12-09

What's with the frequency response in the Manufacturer specifications? It doesn't even reach 10k.

Asked by: colubrid
It's the graph...it's mislabeled. Where it says 1K ought to say 10K. Extrapolate the rest from there.It's an excellent tweeter capable of over 20K response. I've used it many times in projects of mine.
Answered by: Doug76
Date published: 2013-07-31

Is this a good replacement tweeter for Paradigm Titans V.2 ?

Asked by: Tvisc
Assuming the impedance, crossover frequency and physical dimensions are all similar this will work fine. You will have to double check the size, there may be modifications required in order for this to fit in the enclosure.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-06-27

Is this the best replacement for a Polk r50 speaker

I did read the one review relating to Polk R50s. I'm okay with making that cabinet modification but did not understand what he had done with the crossover. Is that a necessary step?Thanks.
Asked by: harrier99
Yes, it is. The Vifa is a more efficient tweeter, so for a given input power it is louder than the original Polk tweeter. Unless you like a really bright treble, or need it, do the mod. It keeps the balance original to the R50, but the Vifa tweeter definitely has the better sound, and also handles more power.This is the tweeter I used to upgrade my R20's.
Answered by: Doug76
Date published: 2012-07-25

Can this be used in a car audio system?

Asked by: GonAlln
Yes, this item is perfectly suitable for mobile audio. Just keep in mind that the impedance is 8 ohms.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-06-04

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Vifa D19TD-05 3/4" Poly Dome Tweeter

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1