300-702_ALT_1.jpg
300-702_ALT_1.jpg
 
300-702_ALT_0
 
300-702_ALT_1
 

TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair

Product Video
Overview
The TriTrix MTM TL speaker design is hailed by DIYers as one of the best reasons to build your own! Never before has a speaker kit made such an impact in the DIY speaker building community.
Highlights
  • Low price - proven performer
  • Assembly made easy via comprehensive manual
  • How to videos explain it all from start to finish
  • Kit includes everything you need to construct two complete speakers
Part # 
300-702
Weight: 83.1 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$399.99
You Save35%
Your Price
$259.00
Part # 300-702
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair

The TriTrix MTM Transmission Line Speaker Kit includes all the components you need to build a pair of the renowned TriTrix MTM speakers. Nearly $400 worth of components and cabinets have been discounted to almost HALF of the original combined price to save you money and get you started in speaker buildling. The knock-down TriTrix MTM transmission line (TL) cabinets save you time and money.

This kit's precision CNC cuts offer accuracy comparable to the craftsmanship of a master woodworker, maybe even better! 3/4" MDF construction ensures maximally damped enclosures to prevent annoying resonances that color the sound. Cabinets ship unassembled, but are simple, quick, and easy to put together. The TriTrix knock-down cabinet pair and the TriTrix component kit have been tremendously popular with Parts Express customers like you. Buy these two great kits bundled together and save!

Check out the review from Make Magazine: TriTrix

Package Includes:

 

Qty Part Number Description
2 275-075 Dayton Audio DC28FS-8 shielded silk some tweeters
4 295-302 Dayton Audio DC130BS-4 classic shielded woofers
2 266-836 2.50mH 18 AWG air core inductors
2 266-818 0.60mH 18 AWG air core inductors
2 027-428 Dayton Audio DMPC-10 10uF-250V polypropylene caps
2 027-436 Dayton Audio DMPC-20 20uF-250V polypropylene caps
2 004-2.4 Dayton Audio DNR-2.4 ohm 10W resistors
2 091-1154 Gold binding post pairs
2 260-317 Acousta-Stuf Polyfill 1 lb. bags

 


Note: Crossover parts and speaker terminals may be substituted for comparable parts at any time. 

User Submitted Images

 

TriTrix user image 001 Harold H.
from Lynchburg,VA
TriTrix user image 002 Anonymous Customer
Dave T. TriTrix Dave T.
from Madison, NJ
Granite TriTrix David E. 
from Salt Lake, UT


TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair includes the following items:
Qty Part # Item
1300-700TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Kit Components Only Pair
1300-701TriTrix MTM TL Knock-Down CNC Speaker Cabinet Pair
No substitutions allowed. The above may include some items that are not available for purchase separately.

Product Specifications
  • Cabinet OptionsUnfinished/Unassembled
  • Speaker TypeFloor Standing
  • Woofer Diameter5-1/4"
  • Input Rating4 ohm
  • Configuration2-way (MTM)
  • ColorUnfinished
  • Cabinet Dimensions (H x W x D)36" x 7-1/2" x 14-1/4"
TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair
  • BrandParts Express
  • Part Number300-702
  • UPC844632084331
  • Product CategorySpeaker Kits
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (52 Reviews)
  • Weight83.1 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair
in the Speaker Kits product category.

Reviews

TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair
TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair is rated 4.7308 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Think I like them from what I read ?I am going from what I have read in the reviews before I purchase and I am sure I will be very happy with them in the end because I have not purchased anything from Parts Express yet that I did not like but no where in this article does it mention the overall size of these speakers ? thanks ken k
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy build even for a novice.I bought the kit based on the reviews. I was not disappointed. It took about 12hours to assemble the speakers. I hooked them up to my mono blocks and they sounded great for the price. I built them for my daughters home theater, front left and right speakers. She loved them. I am now in the process of paintingthem. Great speaker for the price and a blast to build.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TRI TRIXX Tml Towers "Surprisingly Worthy Upgrade"I bought the speaker build kit after reading many reviews and research ,using ,  3/4 mdf board from Lowes .With some planning and support of Parts express and others who have built these speakers. I would like to thank Curt,Parts Express and all others who posted their experiences while building them.Everything I need to know can be found with  a little searching, from prints, diagrams,parts lists , specs, building,and finishing.The sound from these are a pleasant surprise and a worthy upgrade from mass produced store bought plastic hooties.The footprint is about the same as those tall skinny ones with a big base.8 inches wide.Made mine 43 inches tall with crossover in bottom, and they weigh about 85 lbs.Dimensions 8x14.25x43.Quality sounding, great design and  affordable parts.I am happy with this .Thanks
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound, fun to buildThis was my first attempt at building speakers and, I have to say, I'm impressed!  I started off a few months ago by building a bar with a live-edge, solid plank bar top.  After completing the bar build, the next logical step was to start looking for a stereo setup for music.  After scouring craigslist and eBay for higher-end speakers, I was still music-less in my new bar.  At this point, I decided to look into building myself a set of speakers and, based on the reviews here and on other forums, the TriTrix TL line seemed to fit the bill.  I ordered the speakers and they shipped the same day (with free shipping).  The speaker components arrived at my door just a few days later and, the following weekend, I was well on my way to having these DIY speakers filling my bar with sound.Construction was straight forward after reading the instructions and watching the videos provided by PE.  I bought and used 3 wood clamps during the cabinet build, which would be the minimum amount I would recommend. Cabinet construction was very easy for the most part.  The most difficult part was, after building the majority of the cabinet, setting the last piece (side panel) on top and getting it aligned with the support braces and all other edges.  From my research, don't get carried away with the acousta-stuf polyfill.  I used one bag for both speakers.The thought of building the crossovers was the most intimidating part of the build but, once you understand the schematic and layout, it's pretty straight forward.  If you're new to soldering, like me, practice soldering on scrap wires to hone your skills.  I still haven't mastered tinning but, the crossovers turned out fine, they're just not the prettiest.  I hot glued the crossover components to some 3/4" MDF I had laying around and wood glued it to the top, inside panel of the speaker cabinets.  This kept wire leads short and left ample room for all components once installed.Once I had everything assembled and let the speaker cabinets dry overnight, I hooked them up to my Adcom GFA-555 (200 wpc).  These speakers sound great!  They need some time to break in but, voice reproduction is fantastic.  Highs sound great without being "bright" or harsh.  I could literally listen to these speakers all day.  I did find them lacking in the bass department.  Just today I added my Monitor Audio ASW210 (dual 10" subs) to the mix and it's perfect!  By far the best 2ch setup I've heard and, to think, I built the speakers myself!  I'm really pleased with this setup and my decision to go the DIY route.  By far the best bang for your buck.  I'm already starting to plan my subwoofer build.  
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW - Very happyOK; this speaker does not sound good if you wire it incorrectly. I wrote a horrible review earlier after my initial wiring job. Started thinking about what people were saying and looked at the schematics again. I wired the woofers in parrallel (incorrectly). I called PE and asked them to remove the review (it had not been posted yet). Glad they did or I would look really foolish - oops I just told on myself.The speakers sound very good. I will probably be able to sell my old Phase Techs 10.5. Truly these are nice sounding speakers. The DIY community had outdone itself again. Thank you to PE!
Date published:
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TouchéI am not going off on an tangent.Well maybe?The low end is unreal. Clean, warm and fills the room. Crisp yet mellow mid-range and very good imagining.I never believed that small woofers could pull off good low end (My sub is now in the attic.).Piano is tough to record let alone play back on high end audio equipment. These do a good job. I am going to put Walnut laminate on the next set I build, these certainly deserve it!Build notes:Take your time. Easy build (7 hours).I used Gorilla glue and 6 clamps (4-18" and 2-48")I left one side open while I built them, (glued one side and then fitted the other side on the boxes and let the glue dry. I then used thin weather striping tape (screws in key places). I may leave them like that (makes it easy to get at the components and stuffing). I put 1.5 amp fuse in line with in the input to X-over. Used 3/4 lb of PE stuffing (fluffed up) in each, I left the backs not stuffed so I could see the terminals on the back). I put them 12" from the rear wall and 18" from the side wall. The woofers are wired in series!! Tighten the terminal post good (I hot glued them inside), they will come loose!I will never buy commercially built speakers again.Thanks, nice work!
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!This is my first Speaker Kit, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to putting speakers together and such. I love loud and clear music and this kit was perfect for me, decent bass too! Thank god I had help from my step dad who guided me through the whole assembly. Like I said I'm no expert but this kit is great for people that are used to listening to store bought speakers that aren't giving you the satisfaction you want. I love to listen to artists such as Joe Bonamassa. Listening to his music from this kit is amazing, I hear things Ive never heard before! If you close your eyes you can picture and hear his fingers run down his guitar strings! I love this speaker kit and very satisfied!! 5 thumbs up!
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun to build, rock solid cabinets, amazing sound!I talked a friend into buying these from PE, based only on the reviews and my positive experiences with Dayton "classic" drivers in other projects. Then he asked me to build the cabinets for him, so I also got to break them in. Lucky me!Build was enjoyable, took just a few relaxing evenings. I made a temporary work table using tall saw horses so I didn't have to bend over a bunch. Helps to label and test-fit all pieces with a pencil. The printed directions are not that great so follow the video and be careful countersinking the cabinet screws. Go too deep and they may buldge the MDF surface around the screw head. That requires a lot of sanding to fix. As the video demonstrates, LOTS of large rachet bar clamps are a huge help.One thing that should have been emphasized is that before you put that last panel on and seal it all up, permanently mount your crossover, double-check your wiring and place your poly fill. Once that last piece is on, there's no going back. I found no clear instruction on how exactly to place the poly fill, I had to go to the forums for advice.The security screws provided for the drivers require a special driver bit #I found one in my $3 assorted security bit set from Harbor Freight#.The sound is as I expected with the Dayton drivers - remarkably accurate, like nothing a "big box" store can provide, and flat across the spectrum. I could listen to these things for hours. Just beautiful and so easy on the ear at any volume. To truly shine, these should be used with a respectable amp/receiver that has lots of true RMS power.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Speaker KitThis kit is perfect for those who don't have a wood shop but still enjoy a hands-on project. It's not difficult to build the cabinet and crossovers, just be sure you have the right tools. You will need at least one 18" bar clamp and 3x 12" bar clamps. Also, you will want the security allen bit below if you want to use the included driver-mount screws.They sound phenomenal. I can hear details to my music like never before and I thought my Bose and Polk bookshelves were good enough. The TriTrix transmission line design produces sharp vocals and have excellent mid-range. You won't be disappointed in the bass-response either. Of course you'd use a subwoofer if you want bass but they by no means are lacking in this dept. Boy are these guys are accurate!Thanks to Curt Campbell for designing this system and Parts Express for making everything convenient! A true 5 start product. No need to hesistate, just buy them already!Resource: http://speakerdesignworks.com/Tritrix_pg_1.html
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic value but tricky to buildFirst, let me say that these are great sounding speakers. The fact that they are only $250 is remarkable. I’ve heard $1200 speakers that aren’t as good. Take the $1000 you'll be saving and invest in a better amplifier. I sampled them with a 150 wpc high current Parasound amp and a Yamaha 5.1 HT receiver and it was clear to me that these speakers like power.They are neutral, open and throw a nice soundstage. The bass is natural, not boomy, and quite nice with jazz, folk and acoustic music. Not so good with hard rock but they can handle lots of power. They do well with my Velodyne sub too, so I’m going back and forth to decide which sound I prefer- sub or no sub. Break in is critical to properly evaluate these. They changed significantly after 40 hours of play.Be aware that that building these was not easy.There were no crossover or wiring instructions, soI had to rely on Google image search and lots of helpful forum posts. The crossover video that PE shot is vague and lacks close up shots and details about driver connections like pointing out that the woofers should be wired in series, not parallel and the drivers share the negative lead from the crossover. Pretty big omissions for this beginner oriented kit.The video suggests hot glue to attach the crossover components to the board but one of the coiled inductors fell off during installation, so I had to use those plastic pull wire harnesses to secure them.The cabinet video is no better, as it directs you to glue and screw the whole cabinet together before installing the wiring and crossover board- a giant mistake that I made which made these tasks (and the stuffing) really difficult and frustrating. The openings for the drivers are small and even skinny arms like mine have a hard time reaching inside.My suggested sequence is to glue and screw the baffle, back and one side together. Do not glue the internal braces until you connect the other side after wiring and stuffing because you will want some wiggle room. In fact, you may not want to glue the slanted back until then too, as the slot in the side may not line up perfectly, resulting in lots of banging, swearing and caulking gaps.IMPORTANT: Pre-drill big pilot holes for all pieces or you may split the braces or sides. I drilled holes but they were too small, resulting in cracks that I had to repair with wood glue and clamps. Speaking of clamps, you will need 5 long ones. I found the $4.95 ones from Harbor Freight adequate and cheap.Be sure to drive the screws below the surface so you can fill and sand the holes later. The supplied Phillips head wood screws for the cabinets are fine but the machine screws for the drivers are silly. They require a special security bit that I've never seen before and is not available at Home Depot or Lowe's. Why a security bolt for a home audio product? I had to replace them with 8/32 1” hex bolts for $10. Plus, two of the hurricane nuts that you pound in to receive these bolts came off when I attached the drivers and I had to take off the bottom woofers and fish around to retrieve them. TIP: hot glue these in place or you risk pushing them into the cabinets.I replaced the supplied push-type binding posts with heavier bolt on types. Be aware that if you choose to mount the crossover board above the pre-drilled holes for the binding posts, it is a tight fit. You need to measure the board and leave some room for the stiff wires hanging off of it or you risk snapping them off when you mount it in this small space.If you intend to paint the cabinets, as I did, filling and sanding is a big, messy job that will require a vibrating finish sander. It is not a basement job; it makes way too much dust. TIP: Sherwin Williams makes a nice black satin paint in $5 sample quarts that hides imperfections well. Just use a roller with a 1” nap and put it on thick. I didn’t even think about veneering these, this job was tough enough.When wiring the drivers, solder the wires to push on type connecters. This makes removing the drivers later easier, but more importantly, if you solder directly to the tabs on the tweeters you may melt the plastic behind them and they'll fall off. Yes, this did happen to me.One of the few smart things that I did to make this job easier was to test the crossovers and drivers all together prior to cramming them into the cabinets. Of course they will sound thin, not being mounted in cabinets, but at least you’ll know if everything is wired and soldered correctly. If you don’t trust your soldering skills, you can use twist-on wire nuts, just be sure to tape them too as a security measure. Another suggestion is to be sure to leave at least 12” of spare wire on each driver connection for easy installation. TIP: Don’t use real heavy gauge wire (like I did) or the wire will retain the coil shape and be really hard to bend through the maze that line transmission speaker cabinets inherently are.I found that lining the top and back of the cabinet with 1” thick fiber mesh batting, then loose fiber fill in the cavity or line transmission channel, provided the most balanced and smooth sound. The fine-tuning is a nuisance, as the guts of these cabinets are tight. They are shrill with no internal filling; so don’t even think about leaving them empty.Despite all of my travails, this was a satisfying project and I couldn’t be more pleased with the performance. I’m now a fan of line transmission designs and plan to explore what can be done with these cabinets with upgraded drivers (with the same specs of course).Take your time, prefit everything and wire and stuff before securing the final side piece and enjoy
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleasing speakers a best buy under $1kAfter purchasing and building the Dayton MTM Tri-Trix speaker kits from Parts Express I have finally decide to share my review on them. I have them broken in and have been listening to them for some time now. I am a life long audiophile and have owned much equipment over decades ranging from tubes to solid state, with speakers systems ranging from electro statics to ribbons and planers as well as conventional speakers. My currently setup of choice consists of a ProJect TT with a Ortofon red cartridge feeding a Yaqin tube phono stage into a Musical Paradise MP 301 mk II amplifier The 6.5 wpc is class A and single ended using Gold Lion KT-88s for outputs. The Dayton MTM speaker kits came quickly in just 2 days and were well packaged and delivered safely, a credit to both Parts Express and FedEx. The quality of the pre cut panels was second to none and the online instructions on constructing the kits were clear and concise. The kits assembled in just about a day and are quite easily built using just a cordless drill and bits along with a minimum of 4 large clamps (that are required) to construct these properly. The only issues I can mention in the construction is that you should purchase (the hard to find afterwards) special security allen key wrench from Parts Express when ordering these kits as Dayton choose to use these odd allen bolts, like someone’s really going to take the time to steal the drivers out of the cabinets? You would think they would give you the wrench since they give you the bolts with the kit but they don’t. Well here is the most important part, how do the sound? After completing the kits and connecting them for the first time I was immediately impressed with how extended the low frequency was. Using just two 5 ¼” mid / woofers in each cabinet, I wasn’t expecting too much. After the first few seconds I found myself staring with disbelief at the speakers that went well down into the lower register. The bass was tight and well defined. The crossover point was smooth and well chosen. The midrange is very lush and spatial coherence is excellent. The very top end is where this system shows a little weakness however. As a purist and not wanting to use the tone controls I found the highs in my listening environment to be a little recessed and lacking air in their presentation. Ok so your probably thinking too much carpet and drapes right? Nope I have what can best be described as a room with many hard surfaces and on the bright side. Overall a great value and very musical speakers, I can’t think of any new speakers under a grand that will better them. So if your up for a rewarding weekend project go ahead and buy a pair you won’t be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Kit; Great Value; Great SpeakersThe kit was pretty easy to build (I had to buy more clamps though. Now I have more than Norm Abrams). Someone else noted there is no schematic for the crossovers included, but I found it on the Parts Express build page for the kit. You will need to sand and seal the MDF well, or the edges will not take a glossy finish.They sound beautiful. The highs are crisp and the midrange is clean. Bass is good, better if placed in a corner. These are fantastic for jazz. They do not boom or overdo the highs. They don't seem as efficient as some speakers, but this is purely subjective. They will rock the room when turned up.I can not imagine a better pair for the price. I bought these to try the build and give to a friend as the front stereo speakers in a surround+music system. They sound very good, and with a sub, they do a good job with rock and pop as well and clean jazz.Picture of my build is posted, in driveway with grass/trees in back. I haven't done the grill covers yet.
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best speakers everI bought these and put them together in a day. I compared them to my friends Definitve's. Played side by and these sound just as good if not better. Not bad for $300 speakers compared to $1400 ones.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ImpressiveGreat kit. I wanted to get a sound system for my apartment, one that would last a long time. I just moved out of my dads house to go to college. He likes to pride himself on the "latest gadgets", he has a bose sound system in the theater room and a soundbar in the living room. I wanted to get something similar in sound quality to the bose system my father owns. I started looking at 5.1 home theaters, hoping to find some to fit my budget. I didn't want to spend more than $500. I could have gotten some decent speakers for around $500 but after you factor in an amplifier I was well over my budget. I warmed up to the idea of getting an amp and two tower speakers for starters. I am in school to become a computer engineer, I love to build things. I build all of my furniture and mess with technology as much as my pocket will permit me. The sound quality on these speakers is impressive and the project was a lot of fun. The crossover was very similar to my physics 2 course conceptually speaking and it was refreshing to see my school knowledge applied in "the real world". The only down side to these speakers is the bass. Given I do not currently have a powered bass to supplement this system, I am solely relying on the bass provided by these tower systems. They do give off great sound and have some kick to them. I love deep bass which shakes your chest though, to appease my bass requirement I will have to buy a powered sub woofer (I was going to eventually but I want one sooner than expected). Eventually, I will build up to a 5.1 system by adding speakers when it was cost effective.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These sounded way better than I expectedThe kit was easy to put together. When you put that last piece, all the others are already glued so there isn't any play in the placement - I ended up having to sand the edges a lot. No prob - MDF sands easily.With the smallish drivers I didn't expect the bass that these things put out - wow! The silk dome tweeters also outperformed expectations.I also want to say that the crossover is so beefy with high quality parts - If you've ever scowled at the spider's-web thin wire and non-polarized electrolytics in the crossovers of supposedly expensive speakers, you will appreciate these. I think you could do blunt force trauma with the woofer coil...Finished with walnut veneer, stain & poly. All in all, a great bargain on great sounding speakers!
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ProjectI thought the whole project was very well thought out. I especially enjoyed soldering the crossover network together. I am not very good at woodworking and finishing which is why I didn't include a photo, but I was impressed by the overalll weight and solid feel of the speaker cabinets. While the bass won't stop your heart, the speakers sound very good to me. I may order another set for my daughter's home. Who knows, you may get a final photo of that one! Thanks.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Great SoundI decided to pull the trigger on the pre cnc'd knockdown kit to save myself some time and I am very glad I did. Enclosure construction was a breeze. The only tricky part is putting the final side panel on , as it usually won't line up perfectly and you need to push it around with clamps maybe 1/8th of an inch at most (the screws really come in handy here, and its the only place I actually used them). The tolerances on the main transmission line dados are a little too tight, you will probably need to angle sand the edges of the pieces to get it to fit in. You need AT LEAST 6 BAR CLAMPS if you want to build both enclosures at the same time (I prefer the screw type, not the kind with the squeeze handle)Crossover construction was extremely easy, check out the official video on youtube for a quick walkthrough if you need a little help. One trick for the crossovers is to SOLDER a solderLESS (crimp type) connector on to the crossover outputs rather than trying to solder wire straight to the inductor/capacitor leads.Painting is going to be a little tricky around the rear vent, but aside from that just remember MDF requires a lot of prep work. Fill screw holes and sand everything really well. Put a few coats of primer on (I perfer latex based since its usually very thick and helps fill any imperfections), then just do a really good job sanding. Spray paint (from a can or gun) is definitely the way to go if you do your prep work right.The only things that could have been better about the kit are:- Better terminals with banana plug receivers,- would have been awesome to include a security hex bit for the tnuts/bolts (also I was 1 bolt short)- The mounting-lip/rim on the frame of one of my 5in drivers was bent, it was not a problem and did not effect the motor assembly, but packaging of the drivers is not so great (tweeter packaging was great though)
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The finest speakers I've ever ownedI finished the speakers over the weekend and I was stunned by the sound. I spent several hours going through my music library rehearing things with a level of detail that I had never experienced before. I found the high end a little shrill to start with, emphasizing LP pops and noise and MP3 artifacts in a somewhat unpleasant way. On the other hand, the detail to image separate instruments with clarity and presence on good recordings made up for that.Building the speakers was pretty much a comedy of errors ending up with two beautiful units. Things I learned, mostly the hard way: The front panel is fragile and can be broken in half easily. It can also be fixed. Dry-fit the parts before slathering on the glue. Mark them with a carpenter's pencil so that once they have glue on them you don't have to think about where they go. Holding the pieces together with clamps is a messy job requiring three hands. After struggling with the first unit, I got out the air-powered brad gun and shot brads into the second one to hold it together. It was *much* easier and cleaner that way. If you have compressed air, I strongly recommend this method.For finishing, I filled the holes and got a quart of Zinsser Cover Stain - Primer. I had it tinted as dark as possible. Painting and sanding took quite awhile to get a nice monolithic finish. As other have said, be careful about filling the speaker recesses with paint because the fit is tight. After all was smooth, I sprayed the units with one cover coat of black spray paint followed by 2-3 coats of Rust-Oleum 2235225 Aged Iron. This gave a gorgeous textured charcoal gray that matched or complemented my other components and easily covered my amateurish woodworking skill.I assembled the crossover components and hot-melt glued them to the back of the appropriate speakers. This worked well and insured that they would not rattle, but were accessible.Final assembly was straightforward. Things to watch out for: Don't forget the stuffing. I did on the first one and had to remove a driver to fix the error. The button head tamperproof torx screws and the tee-nuts are trash. Toss them and buy black Philips screws and quality tee-nuts, preferably when you are buying paint, not Sunday night when you are trying to do the final assembly.My only disappointment is that they went off sale before I could buy a second pair for my bedroom.
Date published: 2011-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not badLet's get to the important stuff first: How do they sound? Well, that depends. Compared to my own transmission-line design which uses a single Vifa 6" woofer (the venerable PW-18J now made by Scan-Speak) and Vifa tweeter, they are disappointing. The midrange is colored, the bass, while impressive is a bit too strident and they are not as efficient. The high end, however, is quite clean and nicely balanced. Compared to almost anything else you can get for this price they are quite good.There are some issues with construction, however, that need to be addressed. First, you will need a block plane. The internal braces and their recesses are too tight. I found that I needed to ease the edges of the pieces that fit into the recesses quite a bit in order to get the everything to go together. Second, as others have mentioned, the screws used to mount the drivers use a very non-standard bit which should have been included with the kit. Also, the t-nuts were maddening. lacking teeth, it was all too easy to cross-thread them and have them spin in place. I replaced them with standard ones.Finally, be very careful soldering the terminals on the tweeters. A little too much heat will cause the terminal melt its way right out of the plastic. I would recommend using a crimp-on connector to connect the tweeters.This is a great place to start for the first-time builder. The construction issues are minor and they sound very nice considering the price. However, there is no substitute for a really first-rate woofer and the Dayton units are merely okay. The Scan-Speak PW-18-J costs about twice what one of the Dayton units costs, and I only use one PW-18J, so the cost of building my own system is about the same as this kit. Having said that, I have a full shop so not having pre-made cabinet parts is not a limitation for me as it would be for some folks.Finally, I finished my Tritrix pair using paper-backed veneer (I used Sapele) which I would recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2011-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sound. Transmission line is the most warm and live Ive heard!!!Awesome sound. Transmission line is the most warm and live Ive heard!!! I put this together and realized that in order to get flush lines your going to need some wood filler. Use this as a place to start if you don't know wood working or how to build cabs. Just paint a sub woofer to match like I did and you will be sounding good and looking even better. I noticed that compared to other crossovers ive bought that the one they have you bulid cant be beat and also teach newbies a thing or two about good crossovers. Bottom line: If I didnt do all the work of putting this together this has to be the biggest bang for the buck in the HI-FI world. Install is simple as can be as well.
Date published: 2011-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Speakers But...The tops and bottoms are both labelled the same in the instructions, when they are in fact different by 3/4". Also the kit doesn't include a security hex to install the drivers (the value of which is about $4, but yet they'll include a free hat valued at $20...figure that one out)The video tutorials were reasonably helpful. Would have more helpful if there were some better angled close-ups of the crossovers. Apart from that, the speakers are great. I painted mine and for those that say you can't because of the MDF, you need to go through the proper preparation steps before you paint (sand, fill, seal, prime, paint, with some extra sanding in between most steps).Overall, these were worth the $200 I spent.
Date published: 2011-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands Down Best Speakers for the MoneyI built these speakers about 6 moths ago and have been using them every day since. I wanted to wait to write a review to see how well my opinion of them would hold up over time. I can still say that every time I crank them up, im amazed at how well they sound. Extremely clear and balanced speakers with great imaging and stereo feel. I was nervous about buying the kit because of the small woofers. I was not sure if they would have enough bass response. However, this was not the case. Bass is ample and butting them up close against a wall i swear it sounds like they are being helped out by a sub woofer! The kits went together with no hassle and i finished them with black duratex with textured roller. I added some PE magnetic grills and presto. They look like they were bought from a hi end retail store.I use these with a chinese Yaqin MC-10L 45 watt per channel tube stereo amp. This setup sounds great with high quality tubes. These speakers really seem to like this amplifier over solid state amps.Keep up the good work PE!I would love to see more floor standing kits like this but with more driver flexibility. This kit with an option for a slightly wider cabinet and a front baffle that you can cut yourself to fit your own drivers would be the ultimate kit in my opinion.
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy camper.I have used dayton for many year's and have never been let down. This time I was blown away this setup was better then my Paradigm and easy to but togather.
Date published: 2011-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds unbelievableI received my Tritrix kit about a month ago. I am a bit of a novice, but the kit went together nicely and I decided to use a black vinyl to finish it off. Mine are now in my living room that I use with an existing center channel. After visiting the PE techtalk forum I found that a center channel plan is available and I plan on constructing it next. I examined all the panels prior to assembly and they were squarly cut and had little to no splintering. All the necessary hardware was included, except my sweat and the tools I used to put them together. Thanks PE for a great sounding affordable product!
Date published: 2009-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nothing special. Other kits are a far better valueI ordered this not being able to resist the $199 price tag the fact that it was CNCed. I've always been disappointed with the cuts that home depot do and live in an apartment so a table saw is out of the question.Assembly:My boards were apparently cut with a broken bit and had gouges 1/4" to 1/2" in some placesAs a result a lot of wood filler was needed which greatly complicated the "easy" project.Additionally, The speaker holes are very tight and if any paint gets inside you have to sand them out- an extra 1/16" would help. All said and done I spent about $300 on paint, sand paper, braces etc. You will need at least 8 clamps to align this- they are expensive. I already had a saw horse, sander, drill etc so If you dont-tack that on too. I wouldn't recommend painting these unless you have experience and preferably dont need to rely on spray paint. The exposed MDF sides absorbs the paint so forget about a clean front like in the product photo above. I think it is a mistake to have these showing on the front panel.Components:Do not solder to the drivers or tweeters, they are very cheap and the terminals will fall off with any heat applied- I've never seen this before. Thus the kit should include solder less connectors. I feel it could also include a pcb for the x/o parts. The amount of accoustistuff is on the light side too. The binding posts dont allow for banana plug connections so those can probably go too. Lastly the speaker is very top heavy and they lean on carpeting. They NEED spikes at the very least- too late for me but plan on it if you are going to build this.Sound:Lots of bass from such small speakers but pretty boomy. Really not that impressed and all things considered (time spent and money for supplies) I would have bought a different kit with better drivers. These drivers don't test well (see zaphaudio) and performance is on par with what can be purchased commercially for the same price.
Date published: 2010-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Speaker, Wonderful ValueI just heard someone cough in the background of a recording. Could not be happier. Take your time building and finishing. You will love these!
Date published: 2010-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding speaker kit !i've been into audio a long time , although this is the 1st set of speakers i built. i have 3 other pairs of quality speakers, let's say "expensive" just for reference. these tri-trix will hold they're own with any of the other pairs.actually, i cant believe i could get speakers this good for this type of investment. i drive them with a 200wpc adcom power amp and they perform wonderfully with every source and material i send thru them. finish them nicely, because when you hear them, you'll want them to look as good as they sound !
Date published: 2008-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Sound/Imaging...Extremely VersatileThis is my first DIY project, but I have been an "audiophile" for many years. My TriTrix are wired in-line with an NHT SA-1/SW-1P amp-sub combo with another NHT SA-1/SW-1P combo filtered with an FMOD 50 Hz hi pass in-line Xover splitting the LFE with a HSU STF-2 sub on a Pio VSX-1019. CDs & DVDs are spun with a Pio Elite Universal DVD player and blurays, games and digital media are played with a PS3 slim with a 320GB 7200rpm HDD. Hsu VT-12 6.0 speaker system (wired 5.1) fill out the remaining channels for 7.1 [~hybrid 8 1/2.2 :-) ] surround sound. It's difficult to Xover, but sounds great when its right.The TriTrix sound amazing with EVERY genre, not exaggeration. When listening to Miles Davis "Kind Of Blue, Legacy Ed."I can literally hear which instruments are closer to the mics than others as well as the lateral and depth placement in the studio of each performer. These are also great for home theater as well, providing a natural sound and seemless channel transitioning.The spectrum EQ curve for these speakers is, honestly not very flat, but they resonate in just the right way in the human ear, leaving the spectrum curve almost worthless. They are pretty efficient, sounding great without being amped.They perform as described above down to around the mid-50s Hz, though some reviewers have said 40s (depends mostly on individual setup). The point is you will need a good sub to finish off the musicality/fullness of any genre of listening.Watch the videos for the cabinet and Xover and you should be fine. The designer's (Curt Campbell's) website has very useful circuit layouts for the crossover. I used WBT solder 4% Silver sold at PE (it's pricier, but worth it) for the connections on the Xover PC Board 2-Way 12 dB [260-120] to make the layout/appearance/repairs/install easier. All-in-all, you'd spend >$800 dollar per speaker on something pre-assembled to maybe get better sound. For $214 with shipping this is a no-brainer! 2000 characters!
Date published: 2008-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from P.E. Tritrix MTM TL, Best for the Buck!You can't find a better diy deal for value and sound...anywhere! All PE parts were well packed and arrived in time. The pre-cut panels fit like a fine swiss watch. All hardware was there. (Just wish a torx scurity bit was included).The Videos were extremely helpful for cabinet and crossover assembly. I covered with PE Black Ash Vinyl and attached the nicely price and finnished Tritrix Magnetic Grill. The Terch talk forum was inspiring and helpful A big thanks to Curt for creating a budget beauty. Parts Express "hit this one clear out of the park"!!!
Date published: 2010-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Product and a perfect first projectI have been an amateur audiophile for several years and recently though it was time to upgrade my system. With money tight and not wanting to buy overpriced commercial speakers i decided to go with a DIY speaker. I bought this kit rather than cutting my own enclosure because i figured it would be a higher quality final product and I was completely right. Although they are not as nice as my father's Allison 3's but for only $200 plus paint/veneer, they cant be beat. My friend has a set of brand new polk floor speakers which were $200 each and we both agree that mine sound better for about half the cost.
Date published: 2010-03-03

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair

When building the TriTrix speaker enclosure what are the dimensions of the 45's in the bottom corners?? The building schematic include everything else but does not include the information for the 45's.

Asked by: ToXicFrOgXx
The length of the 45's are 6" at the longest, from "point to point" on the midered edges.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-18

What is approximate resistance as measured from terminal posts of complete tower?  I know this has been asked many time, but what is the ideal minimum amplifier RMS at aforementioned mystery resistance approximation?  I'm considering Dayton Audio APA150.

Asked by: morphemes
The lowest the impedance dips on these speakers is about 7 ohms, so any standard 8 ohm amplifier will have no trouble powering these. An APA150 will be a great match.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-31

Stainable wood?

Im a beginner to carpentry. I want these puppies to look beautiful! Can I stain this wood or upgrade it to better wood somehow?Thanks! You guys rock!-Chris
Asked by: Chris1389627
These cabinets are made from MDF which is not stainable. You will have to cover these in a real wood veneer in order to stain them properly.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-11-08

How are the woofers connected, series or parallel? Is there a schematic?

Asked by: mcir
The woofers are wired in series. The schematic is below.http://www.parts-express.com/pdf/300-702xo.pdf
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-07-28

construction and installation process

After reading a few forums, I'm still a little confused on the best process for putting these speakers together.I would guess that you would build most of the cabinet (leave one side off) and install the x-over and cabling, running the cabling out of the driver holes. Then finish the final side of the cabinet, sand, prime, paint, etc. Stuff in the....stuffing, and then connect and install the drivers.I've seen some projects where the entire cabinet is finished before adding any of the components or cabling - but don't see how that could be done with this kit.Any help or advice is appreciated!!
Asked by: Ched
These can be constructed in either fashion that is easiest for you, there is not right or wrong. Since the polyfil needs to be evenly distributed throughout the line, leaving one side open may be the easiest method.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-06-25

Anything else needed

I'm not familiar with any of this, I was wondering is anything required other than what is given in this pack to have a fonctionnal Speaker System?
Asked by: caporal
All you need is amplification and whatever finishing option you prefer. This kit contains everything required to build a pair of speakers.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-06-20

These sound too bright - will they mellow with break in ?

I just completed my triTrix TL s and am now listening to them next to my 1983 vintage KEF 103.2 reference monitors (a 2-way sealed design). The KEF's cost $800 a pair in 1983 so maybe it is not a fair comparison, but the Tritrix's sound thin and harsh by comparison. Ton'y Rice (Bluegrass) vocals sound thin and nasal on the Tritrix. Will this change with playing time ? Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.
Asked by: junglejim
I am answering this myself. When I compared them to the KEFs they were backed up within an inch of the Wall. I moved them to the other room where they stand about 5 inches from the wall behind them. It made all the difference. They sound full and consistent with the favorable reviews. I am pleased
Answered by: junglejim
Date published: 2013-07-28

8ohm woofers?

Would the 8ohm version of the woofer (DC130BS-8) in parallel work with this enclosure? The specs are somewhat different between the two versions.
Asked by: Geoffrey
No - the crossover is designed for the 4 ohm woofers.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-23

Any options for doing a bi-wireable build?

I'd love to be able able to "passively" biwire these. Any options for that? Keeping in mind that I'm an absolute novice and would have no idea how to change the crossover design or whatever on my own.
Asked by: wes in va
If you have a good amp to begin with, there would be little benefit to bi-wiring this speaker. The benefit in "bi-amping" is that each amp only handles a specific frequency range optimizing its performance - which requires an electronic crossover. This speaker could, however, be converted to bi-wire. You would need a different terminal setup for the cabinet back, and yes, you would need to know how to work with the crossover components to do the job. It's not terribly
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-03

Does this kit have/need a crossover PCB?

I'm new to speaker kits, though not so new to electronics and soldering, or circuit schematics. I see that this kit includes everything for the crossover but am uncertain how it comes together - do you need to solder this to a crossover PCB, which parts-express seems to sell? Or does it come with its own PCBs, or doesn't need to be on a PCB at all? Thanks in advance for the words of wisdom.
Asked by: charlener
All you need is a piece of wood, or anything non-conductive really. I like to use pegboard, because you can strap the components down by using zipties through the holes, but you can use whatever you wantOn the product's page, look under Product Videos (near the top). One of them shows the assembly of the crossover. You can also check out the Techtalk forum. You'll see lots of builds that show assembled crossovers
Answered by: Mike985
Date published: 2012-07-16

What Amp?

noob here...Looking for a good amp to pair up with these speakers.It'll be used mostly for music/HT duties and hooked up to PC as well as an mp3 player.Additionally I have a set of senheiser HD590s that I would love to be able to hook up to the amp.My technical audio knowledge is a bit lacking to put it mildly.I was checking out the Dayton Audio DTA-100a Class-T Digital Mini Amplifier 50 WPC. (because frankly it has a lot of good reviews).I have no idea if it's underpowered etc.If it's not suitable, any specific suggestions and/or what specs should I be looking for to be able to drive these speakers well and my above needs. (I definitely like the idea of a small portable amp as my space is quite small....and would be great to be able to travel with this setup)Thanks!(Also, anything else I should order along with this build? Supplies or Tools wise. I do however have plenty of power tools)
Asked by: firstBuild
That's a lot of questions. 50WPC is too low if you are going to use this speaker full range. I would not use an amp under 100 WPC at 8 ohms 20 - 20khz. Also, Class T and other newer topologies are nice for certain projects - but for music and home theater (more audiophile performance), and you want to get a more classic design - like a class AB amplifier. There are many new brands, and lots of used amps on the market on auction sites. I can't really go into detail on the PE answer area. You are building a potentially great spaker and will enjoy them a lot. From PE - the AudioSource AMP210 is a great amp - take a look at them on the site...
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-05-19

How well will these work with a JVC SR S300 Amplifier (1987)

I bought a couple of the Dayton B652 speakers and they sound pretty good with the above amp which has 50 watts RMS (each channel) into 8 ohms. The amplifier is rated from 20Hz to 20 kHz at no more than .1 % Harmonic Distortion. Will the TriTrix Kit Speakers sound a lot better with this amp, or can you recommend another pair on your site that are reasonably priced?
Asked by: beldanjo
The interpretation of audio is completely subject to the opinion of the listener, so honestly, no one but you can say what will sound "better" or "worse" to you. Having said that, I think it is safe to say that most listeners would perceive the TriTrix kit as having a better overall sound quality. If you like the B652s, odds are that you'll love the TriTrix (and you'll also enjoy the satisfaction of having built them yourself, if you're into that kind of thing at all).
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-05-10

performance issue

I have finished my Tritrix speakers and am dissappointed in the sound quality. I have an old pair of Infinity SM speakers and they sound much better. One thing that concerns me is that I need to turn the reciever volume much higher on your speakers to get the same level of sound. Is that indicative of a problem?
Asked by: asg33gty
Speaker efficiency is not a "problem". Some speakers are more efficient than others. If you listen to both speakers at the same relative level - listen to the bass extension, bass detail, definition in the midbass, transition through the vocal range, smoothness - accuracy - and speed / attack time of the highs, and extension past the audible region. That would be how you differentiate quality between your old and this new speaker. Yes, drivers do sound different. Make sure to test the old and new with the same program material and use male and female vocals as well as classic, jazz and rock music if you like minimally. These are the ways reviewers quantify a speakers ability to reproduce music accurately. Once again, efficiency is not a sign of quality or a problem.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-05-03

What is the RMS wattage spec?

For some reason, I do not see this specification listed anywhere on the product page. How many watts can I safely feed to each speaker? I would like to pair these to my Pioneer VSX-60 Elite receiver, which puts out 90 watts/channel.
Asked by: Lukasz
If you take a look at the drivers listed in the kit, you will see that each woofer is rated at 30 watts, therefore the speaker would have a nominal rating of 60 watts RMS.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-12-05

Bass volume?

I live in an apartment and don't want to irritate my neighbors. If I have these at a reasonable volume, will the bass be loud enough to cause issues?
Asked by: MinskyBA
the bass falls off slowly around 100hz but still has good response around 40hz. at low volume i think these would be fine. just be warned they will get LOUD :-). i use a ta2020 Tamp (15Wx2) and they sound great.
Answered by: Matt's Watts
Date published: 2013-02-18

What are the outside dimensions of these speakers?

Asked by: Lvanvolken
go here http://www.parts-express.com/project-gallery/speaker-projects/ then look up Tritrix (page 5) it has all the info you could want. 36"T 7.5"W 14.25"D
Answered by: Matt's Watts
Date published: 2012-03-13

Is there a "Standard" grill cover for this kit?

Asked by: aceinc
We do not carry a grill for this (or any other specific) product, however, we do have supplies you could use to fashion your own grills. I've linked some parts below for your reference.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-03-14

I'd like more precise info about where to put the polyfill. Inside front? Inside back? On the slanty piece?

The reason I chose to build these is that the info is precise, plus there are videos. Is the placement of the polyfill a black art, or are there specific places it should go; if so, where? I cut my boxes out of mdf and they're glued-up and ready to go--hope to do crossovers and hear some sound next.
Asked by: balcomutants
you should loosely stuff the chamber behind the drivers.
Answered by: Matt's Watts
Date published: 2012-03-05

The sound is flat.

After completing the kit, I tested it and the sound is flat. No bass. What did I do wrong? I assembled the kit and crossover as instructed on the diagram and video. Is there a pre-assembled crossover for the tri-trix? Please help.
Asked by: JoeySheen
My first idea is that you might have crossed the polarities on the woofers, they'd basically cancel each other out if wired backwards. Beyond that, there's not much I can do to troubleshoot without being able to check every polarity and every connection with an ohm meter. If you have a tone generator, you might be able to gain more insight into exactly what is going on. Also, you can check each woofer with a D-cell battery to see if it is working normally, or wire it directly to the amp and run it at modest volume.
Answered by: AlonzoTG
Date published: 2012-02-25

Tritrix + Dayton DTA-1 amp

How would this speaker kit pair with the Dayton DTA-1 amp? Or does it need more power to drive the pair?
Asked by: soundfrenzy
DTA-1 would be enough to get them going, loud enough to enjoy music or video-audio perhaps. But you'll want more puup if your trying to fill a room with clean-sound.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-01-25

How badly will I affect the sound quality if these are modified slightly/installed in an entertainment center?

I have a large entertainment center and would love to put a couple of these inside on either side of the tv.My questions are two-fold:1) Does the TL design require the speakers to be set away from side walls or would it be ok for them to be in what is essentially a large cabinet with a TV in between?2) I have exactly 35.5" of vertical clearance inside the entertainment center and, according to the drawings, these are exactly 36" tall. Would I be causing irreversible damage to the sound quality of the design if I cheated 1" out of the bottom of the cabinet?
Asked by: osu32
the tri trix uses the out of phase back wave of the woofers to invert in phase with a horn/labyrinth backside to revert the bass wave below 1oo hz into the room in phase the effect of shrinking the cabinet is changing the low end response slightly , the tri trix is a free standing system and you may try other configurations with your cabinet with better results, you have plenty of room for other designs in the center, look at some of the projects on the DIY page, adjust your ideas ,maybe a separate sub or 4 , 5 in clearance 2 ohmers and a good x'over with tweeter. a sealed cabinet that fits your shelf would perform better and you would have to decorate only the front of the system,Many options with this much space!
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2012-01-09

Good speaker upgrade

I have been reading reviews and build logs on this setup and everything and i think im gonna give it a shot.. I just wanted to know if there are better speakers to use besides the ones included
Asked by: Randy R.
This was a very well thought out and set up design for the drivers in the kit. Unless you are wanting to go down a totally different road and build another customer speaker, I doubt you will find anything that is really better. Opinions always vary and there are two or three other drivers that would definitely work in the enclosure, but they would require extensive modification to the crossover to make them sound right. I would say go for it just like it is. I can't imagine any dissapointments coming your way. I have heard several pairs of these now and am really impressed with how well the design came together. Hats off to Curt for making it available.Are there better speakers out there? Sure but not with this level of finish and easy build and already put together for you. IMHO this is one of the best "kits" I have ever seen. For $259 you won't find anything close on the market that's for certain.
Answered by: Musgofasa
Date published: 2011-12-28

What is the impeadance of the speakers? 4, 8 or ??? ohms

Relates to the TRITRIX MTH speaker package
Asked by: Raider
Each finished TriTrix speaker will present an 8 ohm load to your amplifier.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2013-07-28

What is the measured sensitivity of this speaker?

Asked by: mkanna
Unfortunately, we do not have a specification for the sensitivity of the completed kit. According to the designer, the modeled maximum sensitivity is 104dB.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2013-08-26

Why is there no matching Center Channel kit for this on Parts-Express?

I would like to have a matching TriTrix Center Channel kit with this. Why doesn't Parts-Express offer one?
Asked by: lahatte
Parts express has a wide variety of consumers from audiophile two channel to home theater 5-7 channel. Most center channel speakers are crossed over at either 80 or 120 hertz, you don't need a big center channel to handle that range, most use a small center channel speaker. thanks Ralph
Answered by: hifiralph
Date published: 2013-03-15

Where does polyfill go in a Tritrix TL box?

What is the proper positioning (stapling?) of the poly filling included in this kit? Thanks
Asked by: Tritrix builder
Typically, stapling, gluing, or otherwise securing polyfill to a cabinet is not necessary. Simply fluff the material up manually, and insert it behind the speakers. Start with the top woofer cutout, and work your way down the cabinet from there.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-06-13

Would the cabinet benefit from spikes?

Asked by: XLR8R
Whether a speaker enclosure will benefit from spikes or rubber feet depends entirely on the surface it will be sitting on. If it is a hardwood or laminate floor, small rubber feet work very well. If it is a carpeted floor, the spikes are the best because they penetrate the carpeting and sit on the underlayment below, coupling them to the floor. This has been known to improve clarity and stereo imaging.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-03-02

where exactly does the crossover mount to inside the enclosures?

please describe in general / generic terms and include a picture or diagram if possible. thanks.
Asked by: JJPP
There are no restrictions to where the crossover needs to be mounted. Most customers place them in the bottom of the cabinet near the terminus.For more information, refer to this webpage:http://www.parts-express.com/projectshowcase/indexn.cfm?project=Tritrix
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2011-05-27

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions

Discussions in our TechTalk Forum that include: TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair

If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1