TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer

Brand:|Model: LMS Ultra 5400
The TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC subwoofer uses a combination of sophisticated, patented technology and elegantly executed brute strength to achieve its deserved standing as the loudest, lowest, cleanest mass-produced subwoofer speaker in the world.
This Product Is No Longer Available
Comparable Items Can Be Found Here:
Part # 293-666
  • High-temperature low eddy-current stainless steel voice coil former
  • Patent-pending LMS motor technology, 2+2 ohm 4" diameter dual voice coil
  • 11" linear spider suspension with large integral lead-wires
  • 525 oz. magnet motor structure with large anti-flux-modulation shorting ring
  • Patent-pending XBR tall profile surround for 3" peak-to-peak travel
  • Large anti-flux-modulation shorting ring
  • Single dish aircraft-grade aluminum alloy cone

Product Details

TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer

Designed to be absolutely precise, and absolutely loud is the LMS Ultra 5400. The TC Sounds flagship transducer is the most linear lowest distortion highest displacement low frequency driver in the world. Nothing, and we mean nothing, will outperform this driver for low-end displacement, ultra-low distortion, or SPL. The TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 is used in some of the best recording studios and high-end audio systems.

TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer includes the following items:
Qty Part # Item
1293-668TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" Basket Assembly
1293-669TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 Motor Assembly
No substitutions allowed. The above may include some items that are not available for purchase separately.

Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter18"
  • Power Handling (RMS)2000 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)8000 Watts
  • Impedance2+2 ohms
  • Frequency Response15 to 150 Hz
  • Sensitivity89.7 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter4"
  • Magnet Weight525 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)20.5 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.78 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.96 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)7.6
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.34
  • Total Q (Qts)0.33
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)8.5 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.12 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)26.8 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)501.3g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)33.66 mm
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialAluminum
  • Voice Coil FormerStainless Steel
  • Basket / Frame MaterialCast Aluminum
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter18.52"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter16.83"
  • Depth11.54"
  • # Mounting Holes8
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume1.38 ft.³
  • Sealed F353 Hz
  • Vented Volume3.4 ft.³
  • Vented F333 Hz
TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer
  • BrandTC Sounds
  • ModelLMS Ultra 5400
  • Part Number293-666
  • UPC844632083006
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Drivers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (8 Reviews)
  • Weight86.2 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer
in the Subwoofer Drivers product category.


TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer
TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 8.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The LMS Ultra 5400 Stands AloneThe LMS Ultra 5400 18" driver is state of the art. Compare the 5400 to other subwoofer drivers looking at sensitivity, power handling, the relative inductance (comparatively), and much more displacement. Higher BL^2/Re (BL product is arbitrary and you must consider the resistance). Thow in a better suspension as well as the replacement feature. Nothing can tocuh this driver if you are willing to provide it with teh power that is requires. Nothing can provide the output and sound quality in such a small enclosure. We used thses drivers for ported, PR, and sealed subwoofers. for sealed, it was so easy to achieve a 0.5Q box, we decided to opt for the slightly bigger box. If you truly know how to compare drivers and T/S parameters, you will see how far this driver stands alone. On a driver ro driver bassis, it walks all over the MAL-X 18 and 21. The price is lower on those drivers for a reason. Try modeling the Mal-X 18 or 21 and it is no contest up against the LMS ULTRA-5400. You simply can not do with other drivers what the LMS 5400 can do... it DOES live p to they hype. If you can afford to use this driver, it is amazing in every aspect. You have to do the math *properly*. The subjective sound quality is sheerly amazing.
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Marginal value, but a very musical subwoofer...This low frequency device is touted in the decription as "the most linear lowest distortion highest displacement low frequency driver in the world. Nothing, and we mean nothing, will outperform this driver for low-end displacement, ultra-low distortion, or SPL". Unfortunately, this is a combination of hype and wishful thinking, and not terribly accurate. For almost 1/4 the price ($440), the Exodus Audio Maelstrom-18 will hands-down outperform (brutalize) this subwoofer... it is much more musical, and its performance is superlative. The Maelstrom-18 has an Fs of 17.4 Hz, displaces 313 liters with a Qts of 0.37, BL of 22.9 and 32mm of ACTUAL one-way excursion. Do the math!That being said? The TC Sounds 18 inch low frequency device is certainly a world-class subwoofer, with impeccable build quality. I tried several different enclosure types (sealed, vented, PR and EBS) and in my opinion, the subwoofer SOUNDED the best in a 70 liter sealed box (Qtc of 0.7), but it specs out much better with vented alignments. Due to the BEAUTIFUL aesthetics of this device, I mostly see this loudspeaker in some kind of enclosure that would permit full view of the device in operation (the eye-candy "wow factor")... perhaps in the back of some kid's car inside a plexiglass box?
Date published: 2010-04-10
  • 2015-09-15T06:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_293-666, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email  for a prompt reply.
TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC Subwoofer

i forgot to mention that i live in australia, where the voltage is 240v...  it doesn't mention that 240v is supported by the EP4000 on this website... Do you have anything that will drive this properly at 240v?

Asked by: willba4
Unfortunately the highest powered amplifier we have available that will support a 240v input is the Dayton SPA1000.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-22

would the SPA1000 be a good combination with this subwoofer?   would it be able to drive it properly as a 4ohm load? if not, do you know of any other subwoofer amps which would do it justice? cheers, william

Asked by: willba4
This woofer really needs about 2-3,000 watts in order to get the most from it. I would recommend something like the Behringer EP4000 bridged which will produce about 2400 watts into a 4 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-21

Good Day, Can these drivers be used in an open baffle arrangement and would a Crown XTI 6000 amp be adequate?

Asked by: Verusano
I would not recommend this driver for use in an IB application, the Resonant Engineering XXX18-V2-2 or Dayton UM18 would be a much better choice. That amplifier will be plenty for either of those options.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-29

I don't have much space for my install so I was thinking of inverting my LMS Ultra. Has anyone had good luck with this? Thanks...

Asked by: BrandoYo
Inverting this woofer will not be a problem.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-28

Hi, is this a good sub?. I have a new cerwin-vega plate amp that was ment to drive a stroker 21" speaker. it is rated at 2000 watts / 4 ohms ..looks solid and well made. I have a ported , 9.0 cu foot box. how do you think this would do?

Asked by: tavegas
This is an excellent woofer, one of the longest stroke, low distortion drivers available at any price. I would not recommend using it in a ported box however, it will work best in 4-6 cubic feet sealed.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-06

what is a magnet boot for a LMS-Ultra?

Asked by: grannie
A magnet boot is simply a rubber cover that is wrapped around the magnet of a driver for aesthetics and protection.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-10

How would the Behringer EPX4000 amp handle this speaker?

Asked by: usmcsgt
At 4 ohms this will provide a good amount of power for the driver. I would recommend a lower Q style design (assuming sealed) to help give the bottom end a little natural efficiency. Something that is 4-6 cubic feet will be ideal.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-05

F3 of a 10 cu. ft. box

Does anyone know what the F3 of a 10 cubic foot sealed enclosure would be? How is F3 calculated? What if two drivers are used in the same enclosure?Thanks!
Asked by: Mr. Bitchen
One woofer in 10 cubic feet has an F3 of 53 Hz, two woofers have an F3 of 52 Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-09

Opposed, side-firing?

I already own one and I'm considering another if a plan such as this work, only quite a bit larger, of course. Any opinions, suggestions?Thanks!
Asked by: Mr. Bitchen
Any driver that will work well in a sealed enclosure will work as dual opposed like this.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-13

what is the min clearance from back of magnet to rear of cabinet in sealed box? as the mag is ported?

Asked by: Nick54354
You will want 2-3" of clearance for the pole piece vent.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-05-15


Can this sub be used for downfiring applications?
Asked by: goobaah
Yes this would work fine for a downfiring application. Make sure you leave at least 5-6" of clearance between the floor and the cone of the driver. You can fine a great formula for calculating this below:
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-11-05

What amp?

What is the best wattage if i got two of these subs in a car? and what is the difference between power handling and rms rating?
Asked by: stuntman
RMS is the continuous power a driver can take. Peak is for transient spikes that are not continuous. At $925 per speaker, you want amps that are up to the task. MTX and Lanzar do a good job. You want Class D for the subwoofer range. You'll need a bigger alternator in your car, a second battery - deep cycle, and two amps, not one. Think 2000 watts each. Also - if you are committed to this driver - make sure the cabinet is designed to the specs of the driver. Also sound mat your car and get ready to fix a lot of rattles. There are many great forums on competition car stereo to read up on - which you should do before dropping 2 grand on these subs.
Answered by: markajh
Date published: 2014-01-13

Soundstream Class 10.2 amp with this? I understand, this amp at a 1 ohm bridged load, will push 1000 watts RMS at 0.1%THD?How loud will this woofer get with that amp, SPL wise? I know it will be REALLY clean with that amp, but is 1000 watts enough to push 120db SPL in the trunk of my buick?
Asked by: CoreyL
This amazing sub can easily take your Soundstream 10.2 amp as long as you don't run it at clipping on the low impedance. This is perhaps the ultimate in speaker design and technology. You are probably aware that the 10.2 amp is no longer available. I could only find some basic specs to review. I have an associate with 4 of these in Yamaha 2X18 boxes with Crown power and he achieves the best lowend stage sound I haver ever heard.This speaker, the right box and amp can be awesome but your box better be right and above all, solid.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2014-01-13

what will sound better 12ft or 16ft box

i have two 18 tc lms subs going to power then up with one opti 6000d in a suburban with no third row so i have all the room back there for the box build, sub facing up and ports facing rear tuning in the fs range of 20 to 70 hz want to know with these subs in a 12ft or 16ft which box will give me the best results
Asked by: bigboss
"Best" is always a matter of opinion, so unfortunately, no one can tell you if you would be more pleased with one enclosure than another. According to the modelling software we use, the difference between those two boxes will be negligible. If you want to save a little space, go with 12ft³. If you think it would look better with 16ft³, you're fine as well. It's really up to you.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-01-13

How many cu ft for a low 25hz ported box and how to wire 2 pairs to get a 2ohm bridged mono load

I'd like to know how large a box this 18" sub would need in a ported box tuned to 27hz-23hz? Would it be between 4 cu ft - 6 cu ft? What port size would be proper? A 6" or 8" diameter tubular vent to what length? For two of these 18"s maybe a shared air space of 10 cu ft with a 20" x 3" slot port in the middle of the drivers? I'd like to push two of these 18's with a Kicker Warhorse giving them 5k per sub.
Asked by: thatbasshertz
Two of these in a 10ft³ ported enclosure is fine. Your 20" x 3" slot port will need to be approximately 40" in length to achieve the tuning you desire. With the 2 x 2 ohm voice coils, each sub can be wired for 4 ohm or 1 ohm operation. Such being the case, there is no way to wire 4 of them to present a 2 ohm load, but you could series/parallel them to the amp for 1 or 4 ohms.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-01-13

how would this perform in pro audio?

i was wondering how this sub would perform in pro audio, i know i doesnt produce higher freq as loud but this would be a nice sub to have because it goes so low, i would match it with some other pro audio oriented 18's. would it be loud enough?
Asked by: basscrime
If horns are your thing search "DIY bass horn build...Up next" on AVS Forum and start on page 11. It is a horn built for this driver geared totally to pro audio. I am sure in that horn it would keep up with your other 18's fine.
Answered by: mtg90
Date published: 2014-01-13

250L enclosure with 2 PR

I would like to build with this and 2*TC Sounds VMP 18" PR.and the enclosure is about 250L that I designed.Is this plan reasonable?I actually don't have any idea of this, if you can advise more optimum volume, just let me know.I want to know optimum enclosure size with 2 PR design.
Asked by: KKOO
Passive radiator designs are more experimental in nature than a typical sealed or ported enclosure. I could suggest an internal volume, but unfortunately, your specific application, i.e., the room (or car) in which you'd be installing this, can have just as much effect on the overall results as the enclosure does. You may have better luck contacting TC Sounds directly, or posting to their forum at, but even then, you're probably going to end up doing a bit of experimenting once you have an enclosure in place in your particular listening environment.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-01-13

Deepest bass.

What is the optimum size for a closed box that will only be used for home theater ?Priority is DEEP (5-10Hz) bass with decent output.Aprox. 2500 watts per driver.Is 200 liters too big...?
Asked by: Zeebraguy
200 liters sealed will be just fine with this driver. It is optimized to operate in smaller enclosures, but there would be no reason not to use a larger enclosure. In order to reach your target frequencies, you'll need to apply some equalization, but especially once you factor in room gain, it should be possible.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-01-13

What is the physical volume displacement (in ft3) of this driver?

Asked by: duc135
This driver's physical displacement is going to be approximately 0.59ft³.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-01-13

High frequency

i know these subs are some of the best in the low frequencies, however how do they stack up in the higher frequency of songs? Thanks for any feedback!
Asked by: Jbombz
Subwoofers are not designed to reproduce high frequencies at all, and I would be remiss if I didn't suggest strongly against expecting them to do so. This particular subwoofer has a useable frequency range up to 150Hz, and will do a fine job up to that frequency. For frequencies beyond 150Hz, you will need to rely on other components in your system, namely woofers, midrange speakers, and tweeters or high frequency drivers of your choosing.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-06-20

What Amp/Power

What amp would be good for this beast? What ohms.
Asked by: Jbombz
RMS power is 2,000 watts, and Peak power is 8,000 watts. Take a look at the manual from PE's website -->
Answered by: BamaBoy
Date published: 2013-08-10

I have an existing 10 cubic foot enclosure... how would this driver perform in a sealed 10 cubic foot box?

Asked by: Mr. Bitchen
This driver will perform nicely in basically whatever kind of enclosure you happen to like. Ported, sealed, large, small, it will handle them all like a trooper.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-01-13


WHAT IS THE OPTIMUM SEALED INTERNAL VOLUME FOR THIS DRIVER, TC Sounds LMS Ultra 5400 18" DVC SubwooferBrand: TC Sounds | Model: LMS Ultra 5400
Asked by: ALK53
The LMS 5400 18" works best and flexibly in anything from 3~4 cubic feet sealed.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-01
  • 2015-09-15T07:47CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_293-666, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational


Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Get Sales Flyer
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Live Chat Software