Clearance Item
293-650_ALT_5.jpg
293-650_ALT_5.jpg
 
293-650_ALT_0
 
293-650_ALT_1
 
293-650_ALT_2
 
293-650_ALT_3
 
293-650_ALT_4
 
293-650_ALT_5
 

TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer

Brand:| Model: 3370-00
Product Video
Overview
The EPIC 12" subwoofer is designed to be lighter, smaller and ultimately more affordable without deviating from the TC Sounds world-class displacement and low distortion performance guarantee.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • High-temperature low eddy current stainless steel voicecoil former
  • 2 + 2 ohm dual voicecoil
  • Light-weight Aluminum wire
  • 8" linear spider suspension with large integral lead-wires
  • 140 oz. magnet motor structure
  • Large 1" symmetrical XBR rubber surround for beyond 2" peak-to-peak travel
  • Large anti-flux-modulation shorting ring
Part # 
293-650
Weight: 22.4 lbs.  
This Product Is No Longer Available
Comparable Items Can Be Found Here:
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer

The EPIC 12" subwoofer is designed to be lighter, smaller and ultimately more affordable without deviating from the TC Sounds world-class displacement and low distortion performance guarantee. Matched with just 300 watts, the EPIC will surprise even the most critical audiophiles with substantial, ultra clean low frequency bass, but pair it twice that power and it will take you to the next level! Used by many high-end home audio companies in their best products!

Note: All specifications are with voice coils connected in series.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter12"
  • Power Handling (RMS)500 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)2000 Watts
  • Impedance2+2 ohms
  • Frequency Response15 to 150 Hz
  • Sensitivity86.6 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter2"
  • Magnet Weight140 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)24 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.66 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)2.24 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)7.8
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.42
  • Total Q (Qts)0.39
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)3.22 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.27 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)14.8 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)163.5g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)18.1 mm
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialAluminum
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil FormerStainless Steel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter12.6"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter11.1"
  • Depth6.2"
  • # Mounting Holes6
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.79 ft.³
  • Sealed F353 Hz
  • Vented Volume2.26 ft.³
  • Vented F330 Hz
TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer
  • BrandTC Sounds
  • Model3370-00
  • Part Number293-650
  • UPC844632082948
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Drivers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (13 Reviews)
  • Weight22.4 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer
in the Subwoofer Drivers product category.

Reviews

TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer
TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer is rated 4.6923 out of 5 by 13.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The not so little sub driver!This is my first DIY speaker, and I'm so impressed that I might try a 2 or 3 way loudspeaker design at some point. I upgraded a bookshelf speaker surround system with a full range tower/matched surrounds a few years ago. The only thing that stayed was a relatively small sub which I figured I'd still use for the surrounds. I found that its bass wasn't much lower then my main tower speakers. I decided it was time to move that subwoofer to my study, which has my old surround setup, and get a subwoofer that could easily go down below 20HZ to emphasize all of my loudspeakers. This driver is proving to do just that! The calcs I ran said that it's good for either sealed or ported systems. I tried demoing the driver with my enclosure first sealed, and then after I installed ports, to make sure what I read/calculated were correct. I even experimented some with acoustic foam to confirm acoustic properties. Since I enjoy my tower speakers for most the full range, I did decide to go with a ported 3 cu ft enclosure to focus on the bass. I looked at this and the Dayton Audio Titan MK III driver. I decided on this one because it seemed to get good reviews on it's performance as well as large displacement. I decided to get the Dayton 3 cu ft cherry cabinet (which blends in extremely well with my furniture) and the Dayton 500W amp. The 500W amp seems like a great marriage...I've got a stereo and subwoofer signal going to the amp, so I can really fine tune the overall crossover. With two tube ports, I'm finding the bass is deep and impactful. I believe I have the crossover set well so that it's making my whole system punchy, it goes low enough that I do hear a few more bass notes in familiar passages, and there's no flabby bass anywhere. I think the general ads on this being good with excursion yet still having detail is spot on. With a ported 500W setup, I know my subwoofer build beats most 12 and 15" consumer subwoofers in its class.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great productThis is the best woofer I've ever owned. I'm new to the whole audiophile thing. I was totally displeased with the home subs I saw for sale so I decided to build my own. I paired the epic 12" with the bash 500W plate amp in a 2.8 cubic foot enclosure (equals 2.5 cubic feet once you subtract everything). I also used a 4" port tube from audio express. My goal was best movie experience possible with some music, thus tight bass was more important than the boom. However, this woofer seems to do it all! When I turn it up it slams with more bass than nearly anything I've heard. Outstanding product!
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean, Powerful, Literally Earthshaking...Currently in a 3 ft^3 box sealed, with just 200 watts I'm getting a spl reading of 101 db's @ 24hz while being not even close to xmax. I can't describe the depth and distortion free sound this subwoofer is making it is truly a high performing sub.As this is just a test box i really plan on making a 6ft^3 box tuned to 20hz with 500 Watts for "Really Deep" bass, such an amazing 12" for the price i have not heard this in a car but i am rest assured it would do some damage to the structural integrity to the car.I got this at $175 and is a too great sub not to pass up. Fully satisfied.
Date published: 2011-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best.I've owned the original TC-1000 12" for 5 years and I just bought one of these from here to add to my larger room. It's the same as the original TC-1000 which I'm very happy about. It has no distortion when pushed hard and has the tightest transient response I've heard. The chest slam from a kick drum is amazing, this is "fast" bass. I found it sounds best crossed over high (150hz or no crossover at all believe it or not!!) with my small satellite speakers. It's actually good up to 500hz! I've used it in both small sealed and vented cabs (2.5 cu.ft tuned to 26hz). Sounds best to me in the vented cab for music and movies. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2011-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very niceI bought an epic 12", i had it in a box that had 2 12's, and i took out one and replaced it with my new one, and i was very disappointed. Then i had an extra box, stuck it in that one (just fits one 12") and it sounded amazing, the box really matters and you can email them and they'll send you a good box layout. buy it, it's worth it.
Date published: 2011-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The "little" sub that canPowered by an ep4000 with one channel 950 watts RMS @ 4O. Small sealed cab about 2.25 cubed. Has no issues delivering tons of low end in our living room. It's matched with some axiom M60 v3 mains.
Date published: 2010-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beast of a "budget" driverI bought a pair of these a few months ago for my 18th birthday to add some clean bass to my system. The system is comprised of A Nuforce DAC into Acurus L10 pre-amp. A Muse Model 100 power amp drives B&W DM620i stacked upside-down on B&W DM580s driven by a H/K Citation 19 amp. The room is 11x13 feet and heavily treated with a fiberglass tile suspended ceiling, acoustic foam, bass traps, thick carpet and some open doorways and odd angles. I built a pair of ported 3.2 cubic foot braced cabs out of MDF and dropped the (heavy!) drivers in, wired in series. First I drove them with a Crown Powerbase II, but the forced air fan was too loud. Now they are being driven with a Crown CTs 4200 4 channel power amp. 2 channels are bridged for about 500 safe watts into each sub. I have to say these are the best "value" subs I've ever heard. They beat out any Dayton or JBL I've heard. The one 15" Dayton sub I haven't heard is the Titanic, but I'm willing to bet this driver would top it. Thilo man, you've designed a winner! The bass is deep but never boomy or loose, it's smooth, but in the musical sense rather than fake hi-fi "smoooooth" The fact that you can hear NIN a few houses down doesn't hurt the "awesome factor" of this sub either.Next step is a nice used Macrotech with a pair of those BIG 18" LMS beasts...in a sonotube TL? Lol one can dream...
Date published: 2010-08-21

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer

Another question about vented enclosure

I can't seem to get a good response (peaking @ about 32 hz) with the recommended sized box. The only thing I can see working is about 3.5 cu ft at the smallest, tuned to 24 hz. Again, I'm installing these in a car and looking for lows and good sq while I'm at it. I think 7 cu ft total is bigger than I want to go with it, but it's all I see working with the response. Any help?
Asked by: ethula
This is why a sealed enclosure is recommended for SQ and lows from this woofer. 3.5 cubic feet will work although the port would have to be 14.5" H x 1" W x 16" D for a tune that low and you will run into port noise problems with anything over 500 watts. If you increased the port width to 2" to combat port noise the length would increase to 48" to get the same tuning frequency.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-09-03

Good enclosure?

I would like to install 2 of these drivers in my 04 Legacy hatchback. I'm looking for good sq and lows. I have been thinking about 3.5 cu ft per sub, because I have one in the recommended 64 liter box right now, and it is clearly too small, and Winisd predicts something better in a larger box. My question is, would 7 cu ft total with 2 slot ports 2 x 14 inches have a good response in a vehicle, or would that be too big?
Asked by: ethula
I would recommend skipping a vented enclosure for these altogether especially if you want SQ. I would recommend 1 cubic foot per woofer sealed.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-08-21

best layout for max performance

Hi,What the best layout size, if I using with Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier?With the woofer down to 20db.With a sealed enclouse.if possible can email the layout or link?
Asked by: woodknight
The amp you have chosen is great. To determine the best box - search on the internet for a "speaker box calculator" and plug in the specs. For a sealed box - use .707 for the total Qts. It will then tell you the box size and show you a response graph and predict the -3db down point - which is usually flat in a real room.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-10-15

Down Firing for h.t?

Like to know is it good for down firing option?What size of dimension suit?Which amp will max the performance?Newbie for DIY.thanks
Asked by: woodknight
Wire the driver for a 4 ohm load, and make sure you have an amp that delivers 500 watts into 4 ohms. As for downfiring - that works best with sealed boxes. When ported, the driver can end up sagging over time. In choosing a cabinet - plug in the specs into an online speaker box calculator. It will show you response curves in real time. If sealed -- use .707 for the total Qts for flat response. It will then tell you the cabinet size and the F3, or the -3db down point for bass response. Keep in mind this is a number used for acoustic reference. In a real room, the woofer should be flat to this number, maybe lower dependning on driver placement... You will also see ported options. Do some reading and research before making your decision.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-11-27

What would the ideal dimensions be for using this sub in a sealed enclosure for Home Theater subwoofer?

I have the Dayton Audio 240W amplifier to go with it.
Asked by: KevinL
The ideal internal dimensions would be a 14" cube. This is roughly 1.5 cubic feet which will allow the sub to handle low end and high power movie passages without issue.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-09-04

What is the smallest cabinet size ?

Realistically, what is the smallest cabinet size you can put this into, assuming it is sealed (not ported) ? I have a 18"x14"x11" for my 12" Peerless and it sounds good. Can this work in a similar sized cabinet ?
Asked by: AVKESQ
Each driver has its own T/S parameters. They must be matched with the correct cabinet or they will not deliver the specified frequency response. If you look at the SPEAKER BUILDING TAB and then WOOFER SELECTION GUIDE - you can sort by SEALED VOLUME CU FT to find a woofer that matches the cabinet you have. As for the Epic - sealed it requires .79 cubic feet for a -3db (F3) of 53 hz. That's not subwoofer performance. The Epic performs better in a ported cabinet - but it must bee 2.26 cu ft and then goes down to 30hz.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-12

best HT enclosure size ?

i want loud SPL and high SQ , for music and movies , or trade off more towards SQ , i have a nice amp just need a good sounding sub. i have a room size of 20ft x 14 ft roof is 9ft high any input would be appreciated
Asked by: hiviman
This speaker requires a inner space of 3.22 cubic feet. Build your box around that space and the speaker will sound fine.
Answered by: Zobadar
Date published: 2012-06-17

has anyone used this sub for a home theater?

i dont know much about choosing subs for certain purposes, but the vmax and frequency response of this sub made me wonder id it would be a good choice for home theater purposes. if its not, what would be an ideal 12" sub for HT? i was looking for something around 500w rms.
Asked by: big tony
It can be used for a home theater setup. There are a few things to consider. The first being the amplifier to drive this subwoofer.Most home theater receivers are not going to be able to drive this subwoofer because of the ohm rating and the wattage.The next part is designing an enclosure that is tuned to get the best sound. A standard box from your local Best Buy is probably not going to cut it. Most people are having good results constructing a 2'-2 1/2' cubic foot box. Or you could get the Dayton SWC2-BK enclosure (Or one similar). This enclosure will need to have the hole cut for the amplifier and the subwoofer.For amplifiers, I would check out Parts Express Bash 500 amplifier. The amplifier would power the subwoofer at the 500 watts needed at a 4ohm load and it has a crossover for fine tuning. (The subwoofer will need to be wired in a series configuration to match the 4 ohm load.)If your looking for an easier route you could use the Dayton Audio SPA500 Subwoofer Amplifier and the Dayton Audio SWC-2CO box that has the cutouts already done for you.
Answered by: cemorela
Date published: 2012-07-08

Hi, The SPL is given as 86.6 dB, is this measuerd at 2.83V or at 1W?

I am trying to work out whether the lower powered Peerless 830500 is a good substitute seems this TC sub is out of stock. I am concerned that the 150W peerless might not have the power handling capability.
Asked by: Grendal
THE MANUAL STATES THAT THE SPL IS @1WATT ABSORBED.
Answered by: bigmike
Date published: 2012-02-16

4.25 Cubic foot?

I just purchased the epic 12 and the 500w bash. I am trying to decide on the enclosure volume I should use. I was thing of using a 4.25cf enclosure tuned to 24hz. My only concern is this may be too large. I would appreciate any advice.
Asked by: evil_shenanigans
Nope, it models quite good in that size enclosure and handles 500 watts with no problem. The bash has a high pass around 20hz (not quite sure the exact number) which should also keep the driver under control below tuning.
Answered by: mtg90
Date published: 2012-11-20

Will this work in a folded horn enclosure?

I have plans for a THT from Bill Fitzsimmons and was wondering if this speaker would work.
Asked by: Bigow
Hi, I would ask Bill himself. He has a very active forum. His name is Bill Fitzmaurice and the website is: http://www.billfitzmaurice.com/
Answered by: bobelmo
Date published: 2012-02-04

How would the epic 12 sound with planet audio 2400.1

I'm wanting to run one of these in my crew cab truck with a pa2400.1 amp. But I'm not sure how well it would do. I have about 3 cubic foot to work with. But if I can get away with less that would be better.
Asked by: 92f150300six
The amp will work just fine. Technically it is well more power than you need, but I would rather have the headroom to work with.Considering the application, my best suggestion would be a 4th order band pass enclosure. This way you optimize power handling and will likely get better output into the cab of the truck. the numbers that look best in my sims were a rear (sealed chamber) of 1 cu ft and a front chamber of 1.5 cu ft with a 4" port 13.5" long. You could also do a square port 15" wide x 1" tall 13.75" long or something in the same range and get the same output.If you don't want to build something that complex, I recommend a sealed box around 1.5 cubic feet which would give best results if you did two subs.
Answered by: Musgofasa
Date published: 2012-08-29

Best enclosure ?

I've been thinking of upgrading to a tc 12" epic .As of nowI am running a kicker 12" comp in a 2 cu ft ported Fiberglasbox. Running at 4 ohms on 135 watts Rms measured with DMM.With this little kicker I'm hitting 110 db.What type box would be better suited for TC epic 12 a ported or a sealed ? What cu ft range from small to large. And if ported howmany cu in for the port ? This would be installed in a car. My music preffrances are classic rock, rock, pop,and rap. I do like my bass more on the heavy side. Thanks.
Asked by: Mater
THE TC HAS SEVERAL OPTIONS FIRST THE TYPE OF VEHICLE. THE CABINET SHOULD MATCH THE ACOUSTICS OF THE AUTO. WELL DAMPED, EXERCISE MAT AND HOT MELT ,ETC! THEN A FOLDED HORN WITH 2 SLOTTED VENTS COULD BREAK WINDOWS WITH THE RIGHT AMP, TRY THE CABINET THE KICKER WAS IN SEAL THE PORTS AND LISTEN AND FEEL THE SUBSONIC S YOU ARE LOOKING FOR !! THE PORT TUNING WILL NOT BE SIMILAR, CHECK THE T/S SPECS DO THE MATH AND SORTA COMPARE THEM! A 4TH ORDER DUAL CHAMBER WOULD HIT THE HARDEST , MOST COST EFFECTIVE BUT THE MATH AND BOX PORT DESIGN ARE NOT EASY ...PE /TC SOUND CAN GIVE YOU SPECS FOR SUCH A CABINET , I THINK A PASSIVE RADIATOR FOR CAR WITH 12 OR 15 IN PASSIVE WOULD BE BAD IDEA. THE CLEARANCE T3 SOUND 12 IN WHITE CONE WOULD BE SWEET TO TRY. I ALSO THINK YOU NEED MORE POWER A FARED OR SO TO.
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2013-08-12

will this suit

will this driver work in an open baffle speaker design along with the tang and WB 1808 full range driver
Asked by: falcron
With almost one inch of xmax, yes, this speaker could be used in an open baffle alignment. The W8-1808 is a popular and well-reviewed driver, in my opinion the two would be quite good together. As with anything audio, your opinion may vary considerably, and there really is no right or wrong answer outside what sounds good to you individually.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-07-23

What size sealed cab?

Will this work well in your 2cu ft cab sealed? Thanks!
Asked by: Xyriut
Yes this woofer will work very well in either the 2 or 3 cubic foot sealed cabinets. For music, I would recommend the 2, movies and home theater I would recommend the 3.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-07-23

Is the TC Sounds Epic 12 much improvement over the Titanic MKlll

or should I use a Titanic 15" MK lll in a vented sonotube
Asked by: macmailman
The TC Sounds Epic 12" isn't really much different than the Titanic MKIII series. The main difference between the two is that the Epic has two voice coils which allow for different wiring schemes.The Titanic 15" subwoofer would play lower and provide more output but does require a much larger enclosure (especially vented). Hope that helps!
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2012-09-12

How well would the TC Sounds Epic 12" work as a car sub?

I am trying to find a good single 12" to go in my car and don't have the money for what it would take to power the TC Sounds LMS-R 12".Also how would box size compare to the LMS-R?
Asked by: Josh S
I've used it in a 1 cu.ft. sealed enclosure for both home theater (EQ'd) and car audio. Use about a pound of polyester fill in the box. It was awesome in the car. Deep, smooth, flat frequency response. Fast hard hitting bass, buy it.
Answered by: Kyle
Date published: 2012-09-12

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: TC Sounds Epic 12" DVC Subwoofer

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software