264-854_ALT_1.jpg
264-854_ALT_1.jpg
 
264-854_ALT_0
 
264-854_ALT_1
 

Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer

Brand:| Model: W8-740P
Overview
The W8-740P is one of the highest excursion 8" subwoofers available on the market. It utilizes a heavy-duty paper cone, foam surround, and bumped back plate for maximum mechanical movement.
Highlights
  • One of the highest excursion 8" subwoofers available on the market
  • Heavy-duty paper cone
  • Bumped back plate for maximum mechanical movement
Part # 
264-854
Weight: 10.5201 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$101.67
You Save23%
Your Price
$78.21
Buy 4-up$74.30
Part # 264-854
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer

The W8-740P is one of the highest excursion 8" subwoofers available on the market. It utilizes a heavy-duty paper cone, foam surround, and bumped back plate for maximum mechanical movement. The 2" 4-layer voice coil, vented pole piece, and heavy-duty aluminum voice coil former provide impressive power handling. Excellent for small-enclosure home or automotive subwoofers.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter8"
  • Power Handling (RMS)150 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)300 Watts
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Frequency Response28 to 1,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity84 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter2"
  • Magnet Weight50 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)28 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.2 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)3.18 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)10.53
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.3
  • Total Q (Qts)0.3
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.81 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.33 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)13.35 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)95g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)12 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)220 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPaper
  • Surround MaterialFoam
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter8.27"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter7.25"
  • Depth4.75"
  • # Mounting Holes8
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.11 ft.³
  • Sealed F380 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.25 ft.³
  • Vented F350 Hz
Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer
  • BrandTang Band
  • ModelW8-740P
  • Part Number264-854
  • UPC844632009822
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Drivers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (58 Reviews)
  • Weight10.5201 lbs.
  • Case Qty2
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer
in the Subwoofer Drivers product category.

Reviews

Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer
Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer is rated 4.5517 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerfull 8" subGreat,powerfull sub.doesnt do well in free air installation.However in a box with theproper power they are great.
Date published: 2010-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Winner at a Great PriceAn absolutely rock sold sub. for 50.00 on sale. Use it in any 8" application and you will be well satisfied with the deep accurate bass, especially for music. Blends well even with my small Boston Acoustics HD-5's. and is amazing in small boxes, with good damping.
Date published: 2010-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic little sub for the carI put 2 of these in a .88 cubic foot box each, ported with a 1" by 4.5" or something port, powered by a JL 300/2, crossed over at 125 hertz in the back of a Viper GTS. If you're looking for punchy, low hitting, and QUICK bass, this is it. It sounds better than many single 10" setups because the smaller drivers are more active and audible at lower volumes, yet deliver a decent kick at high volumes. I'd classify them as a great SQ sub, but its not designed to win any SP competitions.
Date published: 2010-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for home theaterI used two of these subwoofers in a customer enclosure for my basement home theater system. I was very limited on space but two of these subs fit my space constraints great. They did not require a lot of volume to put out big sound in a vented enclosure and I haven't managed to get them to distort yet. Using WinISD I found I needed an enclosure of 0.508 ft^3 with two 2" x 12.80" long ports. My outside box dimensions were 15"x20"x7" to fit the space I wanted to fit the subwoofer. Sounds great.
Date published: 2010-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best small subwoofer everHi to all !If your lookin' for somthin' small and powerfull you're at the right place.If you wanna see it how it performs just go here : http://www.youtube.com/user/danielbarbu#p/a/u/1/0i JIN9H-gmQ
Date published: 2010-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from monster tapped hornI used a design I'd seen on the web as an inspiration to design a twin 8" driver tapped horn for installation in a small concert venue (no, I didn't steal Tom Danley's amazing design, it was just the inspiration). At 56x32x10" it is not exactly a compact enclosure...but it has smooth response well into the infrasonic. When a/b compared with a Cerwin-Vega T36/750 cabinet, our sub lacks the 'chest impact' of the 18" CV, but has an amazingly effortless 'open' tonality. By comparison the CV sounds clogged...like it's yelling through a megaphone stuffed with cotton. What mine lacks in impact, it more than makes up for with depth, room filling power, and amazing musicality. Very nice driver that we'll be buying more of, wish it came in an 8ohm version though.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome in horn loaded boxJust built my first BFM box (Billfitzmaurice.com)and I am totally blown away! I built the T18 plan which is their smallest sub enclosure using this driver, it is about 18" square and internally has a 7' folded horn geometry, I tested it using a 49hz sine wave at 10 volts or about 17 watts rms and it was so loud that when my 12 year old came to tell me there was an earthquake and then stood next to this sub he sounded like he was talking through a fan, I mean his chest was vibrating so much it made him talk funny! very very Impressive and I have not even put hardly any power through it yet!
Date published: 2009-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the priceThis speaker replaced a 10 year old Kenwood subwoofer in my surround sound system. I didn't realize how much bass I was missing. My surround sounds better now than when it was new.
Date published: 2009-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy-duty eight.Massive magnet on this little sub. I used it in a 1 cu. ft. vented enclosure with the 240-watt Dayton plate amp and it really thumps. Nice tight, deep bass. Works well in a small to medium sized room. The solder tabs are a bit flimsy but otherwise a great speaker.
Date published: 2009-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from unbelievablei bought this speaker and an American Legacy LA360 amp (bridged mono) after reading other reviews on this speaker and amp combo. i built a quick and dirty box in about 30 minutes (as a prototype) for my 2004 nissan frontier crew cab truck. the box is about 28.5"x8.5"x6" without a port. after making sure it fit behind the seat, i decided to let the geeksquad at bestbuy hook it all up. 3 hours and $69 later, i stop in to check on my truck and find the installer jamming. he told me he was REAL surprised by the sound coming out of the box (considering how ugly and small it is). i drove away a happy camper. this is the best 8" sub available in my opinion.
Date published: 2009-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid little packageI bought this to replace the factory sub in my wife's Explorer. I built a ported box to replace the sealed plastic box that came stock. My first impressions are that it is strong in the lower frequencies and has a good sound to it. I haven't cranked it up to test the xmax, but I can imagine it will do well. It's running on the factory sub amp at 85 watts and provides a solid foundation for the overall system. I wouldn't mind doubling the power and seeing what it really can do.
Date published: 2009-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Replacement For JBL Bass20These sound better, Tighter, Cleaner than the stock drivers ever did!
Date published: 2009-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy fix for my JBL Base20 unit..After more than 10 years of service from my subwoofer system I needed to replace the speakers. These Tang Band W8-740P's ( pair of them ) dropped in for a perfect fit.The room shaking sound is back.Thanks for good value, fast shipping, and overall positive experience.Cheers,Richard
Date published: 2009-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very NiceVERY nice product. i do alot of audio design and developement as a hobby, i've designed dozens of application specific systems for countless clubs and lounges over the past decade or so... and i can say that these are some darn nice sounding woofers. light cone mass for quick responisve notes and a very stout voice coil with a very long extursion zone... thier beastly little 8 inch woofers. box is a 0.88Cuf box *roughly 0.78Cuf after driver displacement is accounted for* tuned to 34.8hz and F3 of 33hz OUT OF CAR tuning. box design is a bit bigger than i originally planned for but it's just a temporary box until i get around to doing a fiberglass setup. GREAT product, i HIGHLY recommend these for anyone looking for a compact setup with a punch.
Date published: 2009-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best 8 I've heardI was very impressed with this sub! It blew away my old JL Audio 8W3v3 subs. The JLs would bottom out without being pushed very hard but the Tang Band sub handled every type of music I threw at it with zero effort. There may be a better 8" sub out there but none anywhere near the price of this one! Very impressive!
Date published: 2009-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The little sub that couldI recently upgraded my office stereo with a pair of Magnapan MMG-W's. I needed to add a sub, but space and ascetics were a big issue. After consulting with a friend, we came up with a dipole sub arrangement. I have a rather large oak desk, and we extended the partition in the middle down to the floor. Unfortunately this only gave me room to mount an 8" sub. Long story short, i have 4 of theses mounted, in a 2+2 arrangement for stereo subs powered by an Adcom 4 Channel amp. I have them crossed over at about 150Hz, with a Behringer 24dB crossover and they sound great. My music has never sounded so great. Great speakers and a compact package. These subs set up the way i have them sound much better than any sub arrangement i have heard , including many $1200 powered subs sold at the local HT shops.
Date published: 2009-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOWVery nice sub. Put in a .6ft box w/Dayton 12" passive radiator and 175 watt rms kicker power supply and the sound quality is unbelievable. With the passive speaker this small box has good output down to 15hz.
Date published: 2009-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Subwoofer at Twice the PriceBy far one of the best subwoofers I have ever used. I used this in a home theater subwoofer with the 240 Watt Dayton amplifier. I built a 1.5 cu. ft. enclosure ported at 33 Hz. After finishing the enclosure, I broke in the sub and set the gain and crossover. The sub gets lower than any 8 inch sub has a right to. For watching movies, this setup cannot be beat. Great low frequency extension and surprisingly fast response make every crash seem unbelievably realistic. For music listening this setup is very good. A smaller enclosure ported at a much higher frequency would be the better setup for music but the trade off of losing the crazy low bass would not be worth it in my application.Some push pin wire connectors would have been nice but it is such a small complaint it is barely worth mentioning.If you are on the fence about this sub, get it. You will not regret it.
Date published: 2009-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice subwooferI have this in a 1.25 cu/ft ported box in my lexus and it digs deep and sounds amazing with 100 watts. Plays down to low 20s without issue. Great buy!!!
Date published: 2009-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent 8" SubwooferThis sub is really well suited for transmission lines. It has a very low Vas for it's size. That means you can make the cabinet quite small. But it has such a long travel, you still get excellent low frequency power. Installed in a correctly designed T-line, the bass produced was the most detailed and solid I have ever heard in my house.
Date published: 2009-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is WOW!!Got this to replace a weak worn out MTX sub.It's mounted in the rear deck of my SVT Contour,THIS SUB ROCKS!! It totally blows the MTX away, even when it was new it never pounded like this! VERY SATISFIED!!!
Date published: 2009-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing will take on the big guys!This woofer has a mighty punch. with 12mm of excursion it is more then some woofers like jl audio and kicker. I am very impressed with the level of performance. Everytime someone new steps into my car thinks its a 10" or 12". would defiantly buy again!
Date published: 2009-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Woofer for a Polk ReplacementI installed this woofer in a SW110 after enlarging the mount slightly. The sound is much crisper and clearer than it ever was!
Date published: 2009-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soundGood highs and lows
Date published: 2008-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very NiceI found a really nice set of Phase Technology PC6.5 cabinets that were stripped.Iused these Tang Bang Woofers, I tryed them in the cabinet sealed and i was not very impressed, so i decided to use a flared port (to reduce port noise)1".it was much better,but i decided to try a second port tuned them to right around 40 and WOW I was blown away. They say the work great in small sealed enclosures but the ports really helped. they are a little boomy at times but they really shine between 60 and 100Hz.i used the Dayton RS52AN-8 2" Dome Midrange, and Dayton RS28A-4 1-1/8" Aluminum Dome Tweeter and some modified Jbl L36 Xovers( that took some time to get right but it was well worth it) I wouldn't trade these for any thing out there, no matter how much there worth the sound is absolutly AMAZING. I am going to buy 4 more for my car.
Date published: 2008-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HrrrmInitially I was OMG over the X-max. Shortly I became saddened that they really didn't do what I wanted. When I accepted that I became in love again because they were still way better than a few JL 10's I've heard. They seem to have a peak around 100hz. With a little extra work these are great. Used 4 in the car, but switched to my 18" to save space. I now use one(three to spare) in a practice guitar amp for my bass guitar-plenty of excursion headroom. Planning on some more experimental ideas in the future.
Date published: 2008-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wowi have 2 of these in a box 1.8 cubes tuned to 33 hz.i just got rid or 2 12 type r's and about 230 lbs of wood,speakers and amps from the back of my car to put this little box and little 400 watt amp.i would have never expected them to get so loud.less weight and still a lot of hatch flex.i am very happy,very very happy
Date published: 2008-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Driver, Good Price!I purchased this driver to replace a worn out Polk 8" driver in a PS-50 subwoofer. This driver was a few dollars less than the replacement from Polk. The TB's magnet is about 3-4 times the mass of the little Polk's. Even though both are 8" drivers, I had to open up the cut out in my Polk enclosure to make this beefy little Tang Band fit. Once installed, it was very apparent this was an up-grade. My great room is 38' by 25' with a vaulted ceiling opening into a huge loft. I should have several much larger subs, but the little Tang Band is holding it's own. Nice replacement or upgrade. Good value.
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sub!I replaced the tired woofers in my Mirage BPS-150. The originals looked pretty weak next to these. Once I got it going the differance was night and day. Deep solid bass! thumps cleanly. I am very happy and would not hesitate buying again. Poles are on opposite sides not the same as the picture implies.
Date published: 2008-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super 8"This is one of the greatest sounding 8"subs I have heard in awhile. Very deep, great sound once broken in. I am currently using this sub as a home theater sub and it shakes the foundation even at low power levels.
Date published: 2008-02-14

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer

I would like to know the diameter of the magnet. I want to install these in a Miata and I have limited space where I want to put them.  

Asked by: 1mechanic
The magnet is 6-1/4" in diameter.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

I am looking at #264-584 . I have an  enclosure of .696 cu. ft.what are your recommendations?Sealed or vented, etc?

Asked by: tonic
I would recommend venting that volume with a 2-1/2" diameter, 10" long port that will provide an F3 of 37 Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-31

Thanks, MattP. I cant see how the slot could be 11.5 wide. Should the the box be 11"H x11.5"W x 13"D and the Slot port would be 1/2"H x 10"W x 11.75"L. using 3/4 material.Also would I just cut a hole and mount the plate amp in this box? It is 4in deep.

Asked by: jerky
I apologize, the external dimensions should have been 13"H x 10"W x 13"D and the port 1/2"H x 8.5"W x 12"L.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-21

I need a sub driver for one in my definitive tech powerfield 8 sub, this looks like it would work, I need one that's 8 inch from screw hole to screwhole,

Asked by: mabb36
The screw holes on this driver are 7.85" on center.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-25

Are these suitable for a bandpass enclosure?

Asked by: neo32ny
I would not recommend this for a bandpass enclosure. Small vented or passive radiator type alignments will be best.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-14

ohnimal volume

What is the optimal volume and sizes of the port needed to realize the full potential of this driver?
Asked by: 200861ksv
The airspaces listed below are considered the optimal box volumes for this driverSealed Volume 0.11 ft.³Sealed F3 80 HzVented Volume 0.25 ft.³Vented F3 50 Hz
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2013-11-12

Box tuning situation

My van is limited to a 10" x 42" x 21" box size under the back seat, or about 3.88cf. Would 4 Dayton RSS210HO-8's be more appropriate, or 2 of these? My amp puts out 300 watts at 2 ohms and I am looking for maximum performance given these limitations. I have run a Dayton RSS390HO facing up in this box sealed and am now running 4 RS270-8's in this box tuned to 28hz and both had seemingly no low bass and extremely muddy upper bass. I also ran 6 x 6" buyout speakers (12ohms each, 2ohms total) facing forward in this box sealed and the sound was much deeper, cleaner, and louder until the voice coils fried. 8" is the biggest I can fit if I face the drivers forward. I listen to a lot of metal and need a fast clean kick.
Asked by: 11Bravo
Of the two options, four RSS210HO-8 woofers would be the best in that volume. If you built the external dimensions of the enclosure to what you specify with two 4" diameter ports that are 15" long each, you will have a tuning frequency of 29 Hz and a very smooth response.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-04-11

Ideal ported enclosure size

I plan to use this driver with a Yung 100 w plate amplifier with either one or two ports in an enclosure similar to the 11" cube sold on PE.What would be the ideal enclose size and port dimensions for one or two ports?Would this change if I went with passive radiators rather than ports?Thanks!
Asked by: JasonHall
With an 11" cube you will want to use passive radiators instead of ports. With two Dayton SD215-PR's and 75 grams of added mass to each one, you will have a tuning frequency of about 40 Hz and room response into the mid 30's.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-07-30

sonosub with this driver

Hi, I have a Bash 300 sub ampli and one of those sub, would a .9cuf volume ported with a 3"by8" be a good solution?
Asked by: airliner1
This would work out pretty well as long as the enclosure is heavily stuffed. If you can get away with a slightly longer port, something like 12-14" it would be perfect.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-02-23

I would like to know if these three item will work together to make a very good sub for music. I plan to use a pair of them with book shelf speakers.

A) Tang Band W8-740P 8" SubwooferPart Number: 264-854B) Dayton Audio SWC1-VI 1.0 ft³ Subwoofer Cabinet Black VinylPart Number: 302-839C) Dayton Audio SPA250 250 Watt Subwoofer AmplifierPart Number: 300-803
Asked by: guyadiio
Musically the tang band is good, but in such a big enclosure, I would say that it may be a bit too big, but the real problem it the power of that amp. It is much too high for the sub. With a 150 rms rating on the woofer and a 252 rms on the amp, you run the risk of blowing the woofer at a big bass moment. I suggest either a beefier woofer, or a smaller amp. You may end up with a desirable sound with this set up, but it would be asking for the woofer to fail. Best of luck!Also, I have attached a woofer I find more suitable. It is both more technically except able and more appealing. Also, be sure to add dampening foam and poly fill. And you might want to try just one of these at first.
Answered by: BigRich92
Date published: 2012-08-11

What is a good Car Amp to power two of these Subs?

Thanks!
Asked by: RubberDucky
First, this sub isn't "ideal" for auto applications. Rubber surrounds are more durable in hot spaces. Foam will decay much more quickly. That said, search on PE for Pyle and MTX amps - they both offer subwoofer, mono, and class D amps for auto use.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-10-16

Box size for 12 inch dayton passive radiator

I want to buy 2 of these and put them with 2 dayton 12 inch passive radiators (the cheap ones on this site). How big should each chamber for each sub be? Im using it in my grand marquis so its for music not movies. I want it to be somewhat musical too. Someone said they used .6 cubic ft but im still not sure
Asked by: kerry789
The air space is correct. .6 cubic feet will work. You will have to play with the weight to get tuning where you want it and it will take a lot of trial and error unless you really want to spend some time running simulations. If you keep it somewhere close to 16oz the curve isn't bad and has a bit of a bump close to tuning around 32hz. By putting that much weight on the passive you can keep the pressure on the driver enough to maintain a semblance of power handling and keep the low end low enough to be musical. If these were mine, I would go with a simpler, ported enclosure. For a vehicle the tuning looks a lot better done at .8 cu ft with a 3" port 12.5" long. This gives you a tuning of 40hz and an f3 of roughly 35hz and a smoother roll off. You can probably get the passives to work out, but it will take a lot more effort in the end.
Answered by: Musgofasa
Date published: 2012-04-08

what plate sub amp would be best to use with this driver x2

i need a plate amp to power 2 of these speakers in the same box
Asked by: massa
I would recommend wiring these in series and using the amplifier listed below.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2011-03-23

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Tang Band W8-740P 8" Subwoofer

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1