374-100_ALT_1.jpg
374-100_ALT_1.jpg
 
374-100_ALT_0
 
374-100_ALT_1
 

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

Brand:| Model: STSSVT
Product Video
Overview
The Stahl Tools SSVT variable temperature soldering station was designed to exceed the expectations of veteran technicians -- at a price that's appealing to the electronics hobbyist.
Highlights
  • On/off switch with "power-on" indicator light showing when the iron is hot
  • Variable 302°F to 842°F heat setting to match specific soldering needs
  • ETL certified for safety and performance
  • Cushioned rubber grip for extended comfortable use
  • Replaceable tips provide additional functionality
  • Quality performance at a discount price
Part # 
374-100
Weight: 1.75 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$21.99
You Save11%
Your Price
$19.54
Buy 5-up$18.57
Part # 374-100
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

Make connections that last! A Stahl Tools SSVT variable temperature soldering station provides the adjustability demanded by professionals, but offers it at a price that enables anyone to solder better. Total control over a soldering iron's heat is one sure way of making perfect electronic terminations every time, no matter the job's size.

Many different soldering tasks are accomplished easily by using the SSVT's adjustable 5 to 40 watt (150°C to 450°C temperature) adjustment. The lightweight pencil design features a fatigue-reducing rubber grip, and a Bakelite-ringed holder keeps the iron at the ready. A field replaceable, precision ground, iron-plated solid copper tip provides maximum heat transfer, minimizing cold solder joints. Includes 1.5 mm conical soldering tip and cleaning sponge. Additional tips available for a variety of soldering applications. Stahl Tools—The Technician's Friend™.

Tip Replacement and Dressing:

Tip replacement or cleaning should be done only when the iron is at room temperature. The tip can be changed or replaced simply by unscrewing the knurled nut from the barrel assembly. The station must be switched off and allowed to cool before and during this operation, as damage may result if the system is left on without the tip installed. After removing the tip, blow out any oxide dust that may have formed in the tip retaining area of the barrel. Be careful to avoid getting debris in your eyes. Replace the tip and screw the retaining knurled nut onto the barrel assembly; tighten only finger-tight. To avoid burning your fingers, pliers should only be used to tighten the nut if it becomes loose when the iron is hot. Care should be taken not to overtighten, as this can damage the element.

General Cleaning:

The outer case of the iron or station may be cleaned with a damp cloth using a small amount of liquid detergent. Never submerse the unit in liquid or allow any liquid to enter the case of the station. Never use solvent to clean the case.

Maintenance:

The iron should be placed in its stand when not in use. If the supply cord becomes damaged, it must be replaced by a qualified service technician.



Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station
  • BrandStahl Tools
  • ModelSTSSVT
  • Part Number374-100
  • UPC844632077272
  • Product CategorySoldering Stations
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (191 Reviews)
  • Weight1.75 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station
in the Soldering Stations product category.

Reviews

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station
Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station is rated 4.2932 out of 5 by 191.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good iron for 20 bucksGood for the price. I like the base holder. No frills so don't expect
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised`Very happy with this unit good $ too! easy to use accurate
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works fantastic!Yep , what i was looking for , i have already a 60 WATT Iron for doing "larger" 14 to 8 gauge wire and connections.Needed something for smaller work and some PCB soldering/board soldering. I've run this now for a few weeks, doing lots of different projects with it, very pleased with the results, the tip is great to get into tight spaces, and temp adjust works nice. Making a few markings on the dial area for what "job" your soldering to have reference for future projects is a plus to do.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ItemI have not used this item yet, but have the same model that this one is replacing. This item does a great job for what I need. I've had no problems with this unit. Adjustable temp is very handy. Reason for replacing the first one is that I left the first one on for too long by accident. I mean for days.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Project Soldering IronThis performed well for my use - building crossovers.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soldering station with an even better priceI have bought 20 of these units and gave them away to classmates in an electronics program. They all love these soldering stations.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BRAND/GREAT PRICE!Works perfectly as all Stahl products always do... Best price around, believe me, I did my homework.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the moneyI bought this to start my electronics training and it performs well.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BargainI could not be more pleased with this unit. Great for occasional/hobbyist use. The outstanding service from Parts Express is just icing on the cake.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works wellI like the small compact design, it keeps an even temperature and the wight on the iron isn't too heavy to hold either.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SSVT Variable Temp solder stationUnit works fine but the cable from the base to the soldering wand is the same as the power cord. Stiff, hard to bend and will not coil. This makes the unit really not usable. I would not purchase this again.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance at a reasonable costI purchased this because I used for a project in which I needed additional temperature to melt the soldering. This worked pretty well, and if you for some reason want to control the temperature at which you're working, you can easily with this product. I measured it and it's fairly accurate to what the indicator says. It's great for small projects, and I'd recommend it to all the engineering students out there that need a semi-portable soldering station.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temp. Soldering StationHeats up well enough for average size jobs. Use my weller gun for big jobs such as areas with large lugs and grounds. Tip is grounded to earth ground, although tool is not qualified for CMOS specifically.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Variable Temperature Soldering StationI am happy with tis item and it was worth the money
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what was shone in adWas shipped fast and does everything they said. I'm very pleased
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for beginners....can't beat the price!!I bought this because I was tired of borrowing my dad's. I needed it because I was installing a sound system in my car. This worked perfectly for soldering my speaker wires to the terminals. They will never come loose. I also used it on some interior LED lights and also used it on the switch I installed for my fog lights. Love the variable temp knob...it works like a charm. I will definitely recommend this to everyone.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat PackageI just got the unit and only got to use it twice the unit heated up and was adjustable to the temp I needed to complete the job. It's a nice compact unit and operates as described I'm happy with it.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stahl Soldering stationWorks great on everything I do rc, diy projects to tiny stuff, with the right tips.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for the moneyI use this at work to solder the occasional RCA connector or something. Heats up a bit slow but gets very hot at its hottest setting. A wonderful value.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great toolsGood company to do business with. Quick service on order.
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed by Stahl Tools SSVT Soldering SatioI've been using the Stahl Tools SSVT every day for the last few weeksat a temporary workstation that I set up at a friends store and I'm veryimpressed by It's ease of use and durability so far.If this device proves Itself worthy over the coming months of use,I suspect; I will purchase a few more to replace some age-old relicsat several of my other workstations...."You just can't beat the amazing price"
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small workI had a project with a mini din 6pin plug that needed soldering. This work station was just what was needed for this small work. It was hot enough to make a good solder joint, and the tip was small enough to prevent melting the plug. I never thought I could get a decent soldering station for so little. Great piece of equipment for light small work.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality for the priceI am so happy to have it! It just works as a soldering station should do, the tips can changed easily and it holds the temperature very well.Sure you can't use it for SMDs but for everything else in an average household (electric wires, audio and video cables, batteries, circuits,...) it just works.Price is unbeatable.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great priceFor the money these cant be beat.. this is my second one. first one i gave to someone to start out with.. works great. thanks
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get the SSVT and be done with it.No more fighting lesser pencil irons. It's solid, heats up fast, and gets way hotter than my lower wattage pencils. Desolders the sloppiest blobs like a soldering iron through butter. I also like the shroud in the stand, you can't really see it in the pics but it holds the iron sturdily unlike other stands I have. The knob is smooth too, it's a pretty good knob. I could use this tool to make other tools, which is a level of function that I like seeing in tools. All in all, if you don't have a soldering station, get one. You will be pleased that you did.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a toy for the price! Great value!!!!I do a ton of soldering for my Luthier business & Recording studio [Roxy Musik Inc.] building and repairing both electric and acoustic guitars and needed another utility iron. I was surprised at the accuracy and performance of this station... would tell you, get them while they last!
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stahl Soldering StationCan't beat it. Gets hot enough to solder connectors onto batteries. Bought it for my RC hobby. Parts Express always ships their products fast, clean and well packaged. Also picked up the variety pack of tips, small tube of solder along with the helping hands with led magnifying glass.
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price - this iron can't be bestedThis is the iron I use on my repair bench. It heats quick, maintains temperature, and melts solder reliably. I do mostly repairs of amplifiers, and this fits my needs perfectly. I also teach classes on how-to solder, and this is the unit I use with middle and high school students. It stands up to their (ab)use, and I've never had one fail (unlike a certain competitor that costs much more). The replaceable tips are great, and cheap.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great IronGreat iron and it is variable temp too. Plus, spare tips are available...
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good unitSeems to work fine so far. Keep the tip holder nut tight or it will not work well. Hard to beat the price/value.
Date published: 2014-01-30
  • 2015-05-05T06:26CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_191
  • loc_en_US, sid_374-100, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

Does this soldering station have an iron where the tip is removeable? Also, at the current price does it come with any extra/replacement tips? If yes, how many and what kind (conical, screwdriver, etc)? If not what is the part# to order such tips? 

Asked by: Dimi Pana
Yes this iron does have replaceable tips but they are only available separately. You can see them in the link below.http://www.parts-express.com/stahl-tools-ssrt-4-piece-soldering-tip-kit-for-stssvt--374-102
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-26

Powered on the iron for the first time and first thing I notice is smoke coming out of handle. Does this mean that the heating element got pushed back or that something more important is messed up?

Asked by: pigeonman
It is not uncommon for the handle to produce a little smoke on a new iron. This should dissipate after the first couple of uses.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-26

DOES THE SOLDER STATION HAVE A POINTED TIP?

Asked by: LAJOHNNY
Yes this includes a 1.5mm conical tip.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-26

Iron is getting hot but the tip is not. I have waited upwards of fifteen minutes and nothing has happened. I have take the tip out and I am wondering if I have to grind the coating down more to get a better connection?

Asked by: Griswald_II
The tip does not need to be modified for better heat transfer. If the tip is not melting solder even at the highest temperature setting, please contact our customer service and we will see about an exchange on the item.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-26

Is there a replacement nut for securing the soldering tip?

(Mine's gone missing.)
Asked by: glennperk
Unfortunately we do not have replacement nuts for these soldering irons.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-26

Does the iron cord have a standard AC plug that plugs into the station?

Asked by: Michael J.
The pencil cord is hard wired into the station.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-05

Is this iron grounded?

Asked by: Shnoober
Yes, this product is grounded.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2015-01-05

Can it be powered with 240v?

Asked by: Brownie
No, it is designed to operate with standard 120VAC power. Operation on 240VAC would require an external step-down transformer.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2015-01-05

Where would I set the dial for 650 F temperature?

Asked by: tdoakes
probably at 2/3's of the dial.....most irons like these do 1000 at full throttle
Answered by: marksteven
Date published: 2014-07-16

Where can I find a replacement heating element?

I'm with [auraslip] on the delicate heating element. I removed the tip to clean it, and it failed to function thereafter. Where can I find a new element? Is it worth buying replacement parts, or should I simply get a new station?
Asked by: Collin
Your soldering iron is under warranty for one year from the date of purchase. Please contact Technical Support at tech@parts-express.com.I did run into a similar issue when using this iron for a product demonstration when removing the tip. What I found is that I had to loosen the collar just a bit for the tip to become fully seated against the heating element before tightening the collar to hold the tip.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2014-07-16
  • 2015-05-05T08:13CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_374-100, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software