374-100_ALT_1.jpg
374-100_ALT_1.jpg
 
374-100_ALT_0
 
374-100_ALT_1
 

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

Brand:| Model: STSSVT
Product Video
Overview
The Stahl Tools SSVT variable temperature soldering station was designed to exceed the expectations of veteran technicians -- at a price that's appealing to the electronics hobbyist.
Highlights
  • On/off switch with "power-on" indicator light showing when the iron is hot
  • Variable 150°C to 450°C heat setting to match specific soldering needs
  • Cushioned rubber grip for extended comfortable use
  • Replaceable tips provide additional functionality
  • Quality performance at a discount price
Part # 
374-100
Weight: 1.75 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$21.99
You Save11%
Your Price
$19.54
Buy 5-up$18.57
Part # 374-100
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

Make connections that last! A Stahl Tools SSVT variable temperature soldering station provides the adjustability demanded by professionals, but offers it at a price that enables anyone to solder better. Total control over a soldering iron's heat is one sure way of making perfect electronic terminations every time, no matter the job's size.

Many different soldering tasks are accomplished easily by using the SSVT's adjustable 5 to 40 watt (150°C to 450°C temperature) adjustment. The lightweight pencil design features a fatigue-reducing rubber grip, and a Bakelite-ringed holder keeps the iron at the ready. A field replaceable, precision ground, iron-plated solid copper tip provides maximum heat transfer, minimizing cold solder joints. Includes 1.5 mm conical soldering tip and cleaning sponge. Additional tips available for a variety of soldering applications. Stahl Tools—The Technician's Friend™.

Tip Replacement and Dressing:

Tip replacement or cleaning should be done only when the iron is at room temperature. The tip can be changed or replaced simply by unscrewing the knurled nut from the barrel assembly. The station must be switched off and allowed to cool before and during this operation, as damage may result if the system is left on without the tip installed. After removing the tip, blow out any oxide dust that may have formed in the tip retaining area of the barrel. Be careful to avoid getting debris in your eyes. Replace the tip and screw the retaining knurled nut onto the barrel assembly; tighten only finger-tight. To avoid burning your fingers, pliers should only be used to tighten the nut if it becomes loose when the iron is hot. Care should be taken not to overtighten, as this can damage the element.

General Cleaning:

The outer case of the iron or station may be cleaned with a damp cloth using a small amount of liquid detergent. Never submerse the unit in liquid or allow any liquid to enter the case of the station. Never use solvent to clean the case.

Maintenance:

The iron should be placed in its stand when not in use. If the supply cord becomes damaged, it must be replaced by a qualified service technician.



Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station
  • BrandStahl Tools
  • ModelSTSSVT
  • Part Number374-100
  • UPC844632077272
  • Product CategorySoldering Stations
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (171 Reviews)
  • Weight1.75 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station
in the Soldering Stations product category.

Reviews

Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station
Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station is rated 4.2865 out of 5 by 171.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed by Stahl Tools SSVT Soldering SatioI've been using the Stahl Tools SSVT every day for the last few weeksat a temporary workstation that I set up at a friends store and I'm veryimpressed by It's ease of use and durability so far.If this device proves Itself worthy over the coming months of use,I suspect; I will purchase a few more to replace some age-old relicsat several of my other workstations...."You just can't beat the amazing price"
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small workI had a project with a mini din 6pin plug that needed soldering. This work station was just what was needed for this small work. It was hot enough to make a good solder joint, and the tip was small enough to prevent melting the plug. I never thought I could get a decent soldering station for so little. Great piece of equipment for light small work.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality for the priceI am so happy to have it! It just works as a soldering station should do, the tips can changed easily and it holds the temperature very well.Sure you can't use it for SMDs but for everything else in an average household (electric wires, audio and video cables, batteries, circuits,...) it just works.Price is unbeatable.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great priceFor the money these cant be beat.. this is my second one. first one i gave to someone to start out with.. works great. thanks
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get the SSVT and be done with it.No more fighting lesser pencil irons. It's solid, heats up fast, and gets way hotter than my lower wattage pencils. Desolders the sloppiest blobs like a soldering iron through butter. I also like the shroud in the stand, you can't really see it in the pics but it holds the iron sturdily unlike other stands I have. The knob is smooth too, it's a pretty good knob. I could use this tool to make other tools, which is a level of function that I like seeing in tools. All in all, if you don't have a soldering station, get one. You will be pleased that you did.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not a toy for the price! Great value!!!!I do a ton of soldering for my Luthier business & Recording studio [Roxy Musik Inc.] building and repairing both electric and acoustic guitars and needed another utility iron. I was surprised at the accuracy and performance of this station... would tell you, get them while they last!
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stahl Soldering StationCan't beat it. Gets hot enough to solder connectors onto batteries. Bought it for my RC hobby. Parts Express always ships their products fast, clean and well packaged. Also picked up the variety pack of tips, small tube of solder along with the helping hands with led magnifying glass.
Date published: 2014-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price - this iron can't be bestedThis is the iron I use on my repair bench. It heats quick, maintains temperature, and melts solder reliably. I do mostly repairs of amplifiers, and this fits my needs perfectly. I also teach classes on how-to solder, and this is the unit I use with middle and high school students. It stands up to their (ab)use, and I've never had one fail (unlike a certain competitor that costs much more). The replaceable tips are great, and cheap.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great IronGreat iron and it is variable temp too. Plus, spare tips are available...
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good unitSeems to work fine so far. Keep the tip holder nut tight or it will not work well. Hard to beat the price/value.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like the whole set up!I bought my Stahl solder station awhile back and it has proven to be a wise purchase. Before I had my Stahl, I was always running to my toolbox to get out the soldering gun and it's peripheral tools...what a hassle! Now I have all that I need to do the job on my bench top. It is a top quality tool and a time saver too.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soldering 'Station':The 'Iron' seems to do its job well, and will, hopefully. continue to do so!
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only place to get these tools!Absolutely just as ordered, works great and is less expensive including duty and taxed than if I went and purchased it at the local hardware store
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product.It does take a little time to come up to temp, but works great!
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value soldering ironwel made exceptional value in a variable temperature soldering iron.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering StationJust what I needed. Works well for my speaker building projects.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worthlessI bought one and it immediately stopped working, the good thing is Parts Express sent me a new one then in 2 weeks which equaled 10 times being used, it too stopped working. I cut the cords off and have my 20 year old radio shack iron in the Stahl holder.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, Inexpensive Soldering StationI've used my new soldering station about 5-6 times since receiving it and so far it works great. It gets hot enough for thicker, heavier solder joints yet with the heat turned down did well soldering in an IC. It heats up relatively fast as well. I would definitely recommend this soldering station.
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hard to beatYou will be hard-pressed to find a better variable temp iron at this price point. The iron itself is well built, the included tip is good quality, and the base is better than expected. My only complaint is how the iron holder attaches to the base: you have to press a u-shaped piece of the holder into a slot on the base. There is no clip or screw to hold it in, so the holder has a tendency to keep popping off the base. But this is a minor gripe and one that can be easily remedied.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Titlequick and easy transaction. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great soldering stationPerformed as expected, heated fast, hot enough to melt with no problem. Great tool for small jobs
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks nice, but doesn't get hot enough.For the price, I was excited about getting this new soldering station after the iron in my old soldering station died from many years of use.Unfortunately, the heat control on this Stahl model needs to be turned up almost all the way just to melt the solder (without actually soldering). I know this won't get hot enough when soldering larger connections. It's fine for touch up and very light soldering jobs.Luckily, my old soldering station has a replaceable iron with connector, so I will be ordering a replacement iron for my OLD Reliable Solder Station (which gets more than hot enough for virtually any job)!
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My best soldering iron, at a ridiculously low priceI actually found one of these in a damaged box in-store for $4, I couldn't help myself because I have been wanting a variable wattage iron with a base for a couple years now. Wow, it surprised me! I thought for sure something had to be weird for that price, but no! It works very well and I have had much better solder joints since I have started using it. Had I known how great it is I would have payed up to $30 for the same one.
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not hot enoughI'm trying to learn simple soldering and thought this would be an inexpensive way to do it. Try as I might, I couldn't get a decent solder joint. I figured it was me and impatience.I checked a few YouTube soldering instruction videos and it looked soooo simple. Kept trying, kept failing (and getting frustrated).I went back to the videos and watched more closely. I noticed that most of the irons used for wire joints were set at temps much higher than this unit's max.This iron appears to be too cold - tinning the tip takes a while and wire joints (16 ga) never heat up enough to melt the solder.Unless the iron I purchased is a defective one, I can't recommend it, especially to a newbie like me.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would recomend this pdoduct to friends.So far it is very convenient, works good and looks great.One issue: cable to iron should exit from RIGHT side of the stand.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't go wrong.As everyone else is saying, you can't go wrong for the price. It's decent build quality with adjustable temp and swappable tips. How could you go wrong spending the $15? My first one arrived damaged from shipping, but of course PE customer service was on it and I had a replacement within days. Thanks again PE!
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I neededIt was time to replace that old soldering iron, so I opted for this. I love the variable temp because the old iron would often burn the flux. I also like the iron holder and sponge, keeps my soldering station clean. Should last a long time if taken care of.
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the priceI used this to put together a couple crossovers, and after reading the reviews, I had it turned up all the way from the get go, MISTAKE. It definitely does not need to be that hot to get a good solder. I really like having a station more than just a solder gun like I have from before. If I was soldering on a daily basis and my business depended on it, I would probably go with a more expensive one that was maybe more durable, but for around the house jobs, this little guy is amazing.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from reasonable tool for a reasonable pricethis iron works good once it heats up..takes a while to heat up and the handle smokes until the manufacturing oils burn off. But for the money it is worth it.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performance and value.This Stahl SSVT soldering station is a great performer and a excellent value. It takes a short time to get up to working temp. and once there it's easy to control the desired amount of heat. I use it everyday in an industrial setting and have had no problems. It works as well as a unit from a popular name brand that I'm used to using and was one third the cost. The cord to the soldering pencil is fixed to the base but I find no problem with that. The pencil holder is well made and holds the pencil securely and safely when not soldering. I'm very happy with this unit.J.L.W.
Date published: 2013-04-01

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

Is this iron grounded?

Asked by: Shnoober
Yes, this product is grounded.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-07-16

Can it be powered with 240v?

Asked by: Brownie
No, it is designed to operate with standard 120VAC power. Operation on 240VAC would require an external step-down transformer.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-07-16

Where would I set the dial for 650 F temperature?

Asked by: tdoakes
probably at 2/3's of the dial.....most irons like these do 1000 at full throttle
Answered by: marksteven
Date published: 2014-07-16

Where can I find a replacement heating element?

I'm with [auraslip] on the delicate heating element. I removed the tip to clean it, and it failed to function thereafter. Where can I find a new element? Is it worth buying replacement parts, or should I simply get a new station?
Asked by: Collin
Your soldering iron is under warranty for one year from the date of purchase. Please contact Technical Support at tech@parts-express.com.I did run into a similar issue when using this iron for a product demonstration when removing the tip. What I found is that I had to loosen the collar just a bit for the tip to become fully seated against the heating element before tightening the collar to hold the tip.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2014-07-16

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Stahl Tools SSVT Variable Temperature Soldering Station

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1