Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide

Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide

Overview
Open weave black grill cloth is virtually 100% acoustically transparent. Will not muffle or color sound. 70" wide and sold by the linear yard. 100% polyester weave, not flame retardant.
Highlights
  • Sold by the linear yard for easy ordering
  • Super value makes it perfect for your next project
  • Extra wide grill cloth allows for plenty of wiggle room when fitting
  • Virtually acoustically transparent
Part # 
260-335
Weight: 0.528 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$16.99
You Save57%
Your Price
$7.25
Buy 10-49 $6.90
Buy 50-up$6.25
Part # 260-335
Qty:  YD
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide

This 70" wide black grill cloth is virtually 100% acoustically transparent and is a great choice for loudspeaker systems of nearly every style and vintage. Restore your vintage speaker's appearance to like-new condition, or finish your handmade DIY project. Our high grade, affordable speaker grill cloth is sold by the linear yard, so you can get as much or as little as you need for your application. This grill material is made of 100% polyester open weave. Please note that it is NOT flame retardant. Color may vary slightly due to manufacturing processes.

For a premium black grill cloth that will pass the ASTM E-84 flame test with a Class A rating, try Mellotone.



Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide
  • BrandParts Express
  • Part Number260-335
  • UPC844632040139
  • Product CategorySpeaker Grill Cloth & Fabric
  • Unit of MeasureYD
  • Product Rating
    (179 Reviews)
  • Weight0.528 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide
in the Speaker Grill Cloth & Fabric product category.

Reviews

Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide
Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide is rated 4.3799 out of 5 by 179.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked greatquality was fine, would work great for do ityourself projects
Date published: 2013-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speaker Grill ClothThis grill cloth surprisingly surpassed my expectatations in quality for the price. I was pleasantly surprised. Great item.
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service and Product.The product arrived quickly and after installation the speakers look like they are in original condition. Very satisfied with the price.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good material for speakerI replaced the speaker grill material with excellent results.See pictures.However, the color had not radically black. In the sun, you will see a light purple hue.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pleasure to deal withfast shipping, great product, and fair price. what more could one ask for?
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speaker grill clothGood quality at a good price. Goes well with their speaker grill package.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from matched the original material almost perfectlyI have some old 1980's speakers that I was sprucing up and this replaced the fabric very nicely. Contact cement was all I needed, you actually get enough material for a number of speakers, so you can help out a friend too.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Black it's not!If you want a black color you better look some where else.. It's kinda like a blackish brown color and WILL NOT match a black speaker!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look!Looks great, sounds great, easy to work with. I like to put this behind a grille to give a speaker cabinet a profession look.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works and Looks great!We wanted to do something that we thought was unique. We covered the front of our newly rebuilt stage in church with self-made "speaker grills" ... about 50 feet worth! This allows for the sound of sub-woofers to easily transmit, it allows for us to place special lighting behind them when we want to do that, and it looks absolutely amazing! I've never seen another stage front panel setup look or perform anything like that.The product seems to be durable ... we'll see as time moves on. I hope it cleans/dusts easily ... again time will tell.GREAT PRICE!
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Infinity SM152 RestoreAfter replacing the 15" woofers with Goldwood GW-215/4 15" OEM Woofer 4 Ohm (I wrote a review under the same title) I replaced the speaker grill material with excellent results. The Infinity SM152's look like new again.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for recovering the average grill.This is the standard plain old thin black grill cloth that comes on most speakers. It is just about perfect for replacement. I use hot glue to install it and do about two feet at a time and it works well. This is what you need. Be careful if you try the contact cement and heat gun tactic because it melts easily.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality grill clothTo be honest, I panicked a little when this arrived at my door. Looking at the color, it was not deep black. At that point, I regretted my decision but to be fair, Parts Express' description of it was accurate.However, this regret was short-lived. I tore off the old speaker grill cloth and with the help of my wife, we put on the new cloth from Parts Express. Its definitely a two man job, or in my case a one man one woman job. Material was of excellent quality and can be stretched quite a bit to ensure that it is taut.We secured the cloth to the wooden grill frame with a home staple gun. The final result was awesome! In fact, I'd go as far to say that it looks much better than the original cloth that came with my JM Lab speakers.Good price, great quality. I'd buy this again in a heartbeat.
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value & Works Well!Fabric looks & works great. Would have give it 5 Stars, but the color is not an absolute black, has a very slight purple hue - but you don't notice unless you put it next to pure black. Used this fabric in my audio studio and in my home theater - looks great!
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, but easy to scrutinize if your detail oriented...First off, it's a great deal. Can't be beat at $7.25 a yard. However the dye used is definitely of the inferior impure sort giving it its now well known purplish/dark brown hue seen in sunlight or bright light. Not very noticeable in your average home, but it's fact. Also, this has a sort of linear polyester weave. For me this mattered because the grill cloth I was replacing on an old pair of DCM TimeFrame's had a uniform open weave , up close the linear weave is noticeable which might matter if your a bit obsessive and replacing an old OEM cloth that's no longer available. No big deal otherwise. Nice job PE.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very acoustically transparent, but . . .Okay for the price. Suits low light and DIY situations. The color and color depth are relatively low grade. It is quite optically transparent, so you'd better want a good view of what's beneath. Great acoustical transparency in the top octave when stretched tightly, but don't try to stretch it tightly unless you like being driven insane -- it will run like a stocking just as you are pulling that last bit tight. It does not have to snag on anything or have a stress concentration point or get abraded, it just sends a run out across the grill at some random spot like a wicked practical joke.
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Replacement Grill cloth/ Sound baffle SlothWe have recently used this to make Baffle covers on sub cabinets that wre built into the stage. Material covered the 5' by 3' plywood baffle assy. We did double it up because it was little thin and showing thru if looked at close up. #you would really have to look very close to see it#. The came out very good and representable. Great deal for the price !
Date published: 2011-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits the billUsed this in my theater over sound treatment of the front wall. The color is not black "black" but has a purplish hue to it. I don't think you would notice unless against something very black in color. Not a problem for me as this will be behind a screen wall.Staples and stretches easy.Cannot see through very easy.Can't beat for the price!
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks goodI used this on my nephew's sub install.Great product.
Date published: 2011-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK, it's a kind of . . . warm . . . blackSort of like a VERY dark brown, or a VERY dark cordovan. VERY VERY dark. If you're looking for a Goth black to go with your Goth black equipment and Goth black cloths and Goth black walls and Rustoleum "flat black" lipstick it's probably not for you. It looks black enough in my living room though, and good enough that I've ordered more . . .
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not BLACKThe quality of this cloth is fine, however when they call it black, that would only apply to a dimmly lit room. Once this is in a well lit room or outside you will see it is purple, not black. If you are looking for black cloth, I would avoid the small amount of $ you will waste on this product.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT JUST FOR GRILLSUSED MORE THAN MY FAIR SHARE OF THIS PRODUCT. I DID A STAR CEILING TWENTY-SIX BY TWENTY-SEVEN. ALSO COVERED A 9.2 SURROUND SOUND WITH CUSTOM GRILLS THROUGH OUT THE ROOM. GREAT VALUE WHEN USING LARGE QUANTITIES.
Date published: 2011-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not as far off from black as I was expectingAfter reading all the reviews I thought the grill cloth would not look black at all. This did not matter to me because I am using it as backing behind an acoustically transparent screen. However, when it arrived it looked pretty black. The difference was only mildly noticable when I put it right next to black clothing. Even then, there is only a slight redish hue that I would not notice, unless I was looking for it.I am not sure if it has been changed from previous batches or if I am just not as sensitive as some who are using this as on professional products. In my application it is doing a great job. It is stopping the annoying reflections I was getting off of my metal speaker grills (pro monitors behind the screen) and does not seem to be coloring the sound at all.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Black in color but nice cloth!This is a nice made cloth but the color is not really black! Ask for sample before you buy! I got a sample and knew the color was not black but it worked for my project because the speakers I own use two grill cloths and this one is under the nice finish cloth so no one will see it anyway. The price is fair for this cloth but not a killer deal for the poor coloring of the cloth. So buy with Caution!!!!
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Speaker Grill Cloth "BLACK"?When you buy this so called "Black" grill cloth you can expect to hear your speakers loud and clear with no dampening factor in the sound like most other grill cloths that kill the highs.However this is not a good dye that is used and the cloth itself is not really black as you can see in the light that it has a magenta tint to it and never quite reaches a black tone anywhere in the cloth. If you can deal with that HUGE flaw (and don't let anyone tell you different)?There is one more negative about this grill cloth.You can't cut it straight because it has a very flexable thread and it is stretching as you try and cut it. This leaves you with ends of the cloth that are uneven throughout your cut. The reason I still use this cloth with these flaws is because the results of the sound coming from my speakers are the most important and the sound clearly is unadulterated through this cloth.If someone would use a quality dye on this cloth to actually make it "BLACK" I would not object to a price increase to get what is advertised. We are professional builders and what we say is fact. -Speaker Grill Cloth "Black?" Yard 70" Wide-.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good grill cloth and easy to work with.Good material. Could use some 'alignment' lines, screenprinted on the back side to help with alignment when attaching to grill frames.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely NOT Black!As others have said this fabric is definitely NOT jet black. More a very dark charcoal. However because of other reviews I was aware of this and it suited my purposes nicely. Made my ECI tower speakers look new again :)
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product, as advertisedNice grill cloth and lots of it for the price. It's hard to complain. This worked out perfectly for me.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BlackCould be a darker black. Otherwise great product. Worked well.
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good ProductThe grill cloth was perfect. It was very easy to make new grills for my Pioneer HPM-100 speakers they now look like new. I have enough left over for a pair of Pioner HPM-700 speakers that also need the grill cloth replaced. Excellent product!
Date published: 2011-05-16

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Speaker Grill Cloth Black Yard 70" Wide

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Parts Express Free Shipping at 98 Dollars

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1