free shipping at parts express

Sonic Barrier 1/2" Acoustic Sound Damping Foam with PSA 18" x 24"

Brand:|Part # 260-520
The Sonic Barrier 1/2" acoustic damping foam is a precisely engineered material that offers optimum absorption for its thickness.
In Stock
List Price$13.99
You Save29%
Your Price
$9.97
Buy 4+$9.25
Part # 260-520
Share:

Product Details

Sonic Barrier 1/2" Acoustic Sound Damping Foam with PSA 18" x 24"
The Sonic Barrier 1/2" acoustic damping foam is a precisely engineered material that offers optimum absorption for its thickness. The material features our exclusive embossed surface finish that helps to trap acoustic energy and improve high frequency performance. This finish is applied to an acoustic-grade open-cell polyether foam, which absorbs and converts the acoustic energy into low-level heat. A very aggressive pressure sensitive adhesive provides easy and permanent installation onto any surface. The Sonic Barrier 1/2" foam is excellent for use in small loudspeaker projects, where bulky damping materials are not feasible. The foam will help absorb unwanted sound from within the cabinet without disrupting airflow between the driver and port. This can reduce unwanted sound reflections and prevent them from exiting through the cone or port. In small enclosures, the foam can add a valuable increase in apparent volume, which can help to offset the space taken up by the driver itself or the port. Sold in 18" x 24" Sheets


Sonic Barrier 1/2" Acoustic Sound Damping Foam with PSA 18" x 24"
  • BrandSonic Barrier
  • Part Number260-520
  • UPC844632003172
  • Product CategoryCabinet Damping Material
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (26 Reviews)
  • Weight0.4 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Reviews

Sonic Barrier 1/2" Acoustic Sound Damping Foam with PSA 18" x 24"
Sonic Barrier 1/2" Acoustic Sound Damping Foam with PSA 18" x 24" is rated 4.3462 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good productThe damping foam gets the job done. It was pretty cheap, which is always a plus.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great.Used in some desktop full-range made from solid oak. I needed it to kind of "calm " the sound. It worked great. Order came fast and it did what I needed....5 stars.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from seems to deaden reflections inside speaker cabinet, but not cheaplyThis stuff seemed to work for me inside a speaker cabinet to absorb/deaden reflection/echo in ported designs where stuffing-type probably isn't appropriate. I won't say it's "like night and day", it's more a subtle thing. A large cabinet would take a considerable $$$ amount, so I've only used it on small ones. The adhesive backing really does stick, you'll need to get it right the first time which can be a pain but isn't directly the fault of this product. I've used this twice and would use again as needed.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for vented subwoofer enclosuresOnce I found this foam it's been put in every vented box I make. I like it way better than nipple foam. The sticky back makes it easy to put in boxes. I'ts not too thick and doesn't take up too much space especially near ports. This foam is usually the most expensive part of the box, but I talk customers into using it, or I just let them hear it in a box compared to a bare box with no foam. There's a huge difference. I like it better than other foams because I'm the one installing it. The speaker cones sound deader when you tap gently on them in the boxes. This foam gives me cleaner uncolored bass with increased power handling. It absorbs noise and sucks up echoes. It's not going to stop a panel from resonating because it's really lightweight. To do that you need heavy material that lowers a materials resonant frequency.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, but a little expensiveThis is a good product to use for lining the interior walls of a subwoofer (at least that's what I used it for). The foam is pretty dense, and feels as though it's made from quality materials. As mentioned by others the adhesive is very strong, so make certain you have it properly aligned before applying any pressure.The only thing I don't like is the price; seems a bit expensive for what you get, but otherwise it's all good.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Recommend, with caveats.Pay attention to the description of this. It's "Sonic Barrier". That's important. It's most useful for placement on flat metal surfaces that tend to transmit or create noise. It's NOT too useful for absorbing incident noise. A product like Sonex creates that "hole in space" effect -- i.e. like the Roach Motel, noise checks in and never checks out. This isn't like that. The surface is relatively "hard" and tends to reflect more than products specifically designed to absorb. On the plus side, it ships flat, is fairly easy to cut to shape, and has killer adhesive on it. Killer = "You better aim it right the first time because there ain't gonna be a second chance." I've used this on the insides of computer cases on the flat metal sides. They used to "boing", now they "thunk". The fans sound farther away now. Also on panels of a metal desk, with approximately the same effect. Finally, I would not consider this suitable for the inside of a speaker cabinet if the goal is to reduce internal reflections.
Date published: 2011-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality.Bought three sheets for a center channel build, each sheet arrived in immaculate condition.All three are identical size and shape, peel and stick is very sticky and works very well.
Date published: 2010-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instantly Clear Up Muddy CabinetsI bought these just to cover the back of my 15" two way cabs. Applied it, reinstalled the speakers and instantly it sounded 3 times as good. Bass was clearer, and hit harder. Would probably be even better if I had done the whole of the cab. But performance versus price, this is a great product.
Date published: 2010-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well, quality control could be betterPlaced 2 orders for a total of 48 pieces in order to build a sound absorbing booth for a client. 12 pieces were great looking, probably 24 were decent but had permanent wrinkles that really detracted aesthetically, and the other 12 had either ugly stains, holes in them, or were cut badly. Bottom line, if you don't care how they look, they are decent value, performance and good adhesive. Parts-express ships fast and accurately.
Date published: 2009-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works fine. Looks good too.The Sonic Barrier foam attenuates evenly according to my tests with the SpeakerTester spectrum analyzer. I used this on a tweeter so I really only tested from 2Khz on upward. I expected the foam to only attenuate a narrow notch so I was surprised that this worked nearly as well as thick wool felt. It looks good too if you cut it with a long sharp razor. The self-stick option is great.
Date published: 2009-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great FoamFor what we us it for, it's great. It cuts well. The adhesive stays put. The price is reasonable. It's hard to find a Foam with backing that has a texture that will hold up to touching multipule times.
Date published: 2009-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great productThis is a exellent product,i have used it in all my home speaker enclosures,the adhesive backed is really nice,if you are considering this product please dont pay attention to the one review buy the guy drophed,this product is for inside of enclosures,parts x sells asphalt and vinyl based sheets that are made for dampning your auto and they are much cheaper and pretty much the same thing as the dynamat(regular)brand.I just couldnt help but point out that he dosent now what hes talking about,i hope this helps anyone thats thinking about purchasing this product.
Date published: 2009-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good stuffIt helps inside the box with the bass. It's kinda hard to measure for the sides but works well regardless.
Date published: 2009-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely Over PricedI talked to one of the customer service reps and explained that I was trying to find a cheaper alternative to dampening my box, other than dynamat, which in my opinion is the best stuff out there but and also the most expensive. I would have liked to have given this stuff a try to see if it was any good or not. But I need between 14 and 16 sheets of this stuff and that would cost me between 114 and 130 bucks, for that same price I could dynamat my whole truck... Service rep wasn't helpful at all with suggestions to other alternatives or help with pricing at all. I also asked about the discount with a large quantity, she said that no discount was given until somewhere around 50 sheets was ordered, over $400 worth. Rediculous to say the least. My opinion; go with dynamat over this stuff if you're going to need more than 5 sheets.
Date published: 2009-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good damping materialI used several sheets of this for inside some speaker boxes, It was good on its own, but for a couple sets, I used this in combo with stuffing and got supurb results. With what was left over, I quieted down my washer and dryer! Worked great for that! I quieted down a PC in my recording studio as well. Very good stuff.
Date published: 2009-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can You say BassGot some of these for a 4/10 bass cab Ampeg-80'sand the stuff they put in was that old nasty stuff that use to go in car seats.This stuff went in fine only had to glue a few pices. Fit's great and helped the sound by letting the speaker work less, try some and see for or hear for your self!!
Date published: 2009-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product.Good product,easy to use,no mess.
Date published: 2009-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save the gluing hassle with this stuff...This stuff works well and save me time from gluing foam to the inner speaker walls. Just cut to fit and a neat looking and good sounding job is done in minutes!
Date published: 2008-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical, Easy to UseKeeping in mind what this product is designed to do, it's an economical, easy solution.
Date published: 2007-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use, fast to put in, stays putbuilt 4 DJ speakers 3 way system, had reflections from the back of the cabinet on the woofers, placed the foam on the back of the cabinet, able to EQ more low base into the speaker cabinet without any harsh sounds, provides deep solid bass
Date published: 2007-08-06
  • 2016-05-06T06:34CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_260-520, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Sonic Barrier 1/2" Acoustic Sound Damping Foam with PSA 18" x 24"

can i use this on the door to my kid's room?

he's in there bellowing at the top of his lungs (xbox live). the door is wood and I think the thin panels are transmitting a lot of noise. I was thinking of putting these in the panel insets - about .5" depth - and then maybe covering the whole door with mass-loaded vinyl. Any comments or suggestions? thanks - mom
Asked by: socalmom
Sure, you can put it on the door, but I'm betting that you're actually getting more sound coming through ducts and the walls than the door.Unless you're very careful with how you cut it, apply it... the stuff is not particularly pretty, and I would guess that your kid will probably end up sticking stuff in it or cutting tearing bits out. I bet it will end up more of a hassle than it's worth.
Answered by: Silverback
Date published: 2012-10-22

Technical details

Hello, do you have technical details for this product? I'm looking for the absorption coefficients by octave band for this product and can't find it.
Asked by: Dirk
In the right-hand column, under "Manuals/Resources," there is a spec sheet for this product. It's listed as an MSDS, but should more correctly be called a spec sheet. Here's a link for your convenience:http://www.parts-express.com/pedocs/more-info/sonic-barrier-msds.pdf
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-09-16

More Use Info

What does this mean "In small enclosures, the foam can add a valuable increase in apparent volume, which can help to offset the space taken up by the driver itself or the port?
Asked by: TubeTom
i am not necessarily sure what that claim means there, but i do know that the idea of foam sound dampening is that it is used to help lower the feedback caused by the walls of the woofer box which in turn will lower the nominal impedance at different frequencies throughout the lower end. essentially, when used in a smaller enclosure, it will help lower the impedance and therefore allow the amp you are using to offer more wattage to the driver, which will make it sound like it's in a larger box. i use polyfill and/or foam liner to smooth out all the lower frequencies in any of my speaker builds that have a woofer 4'' and up, in varying levels. i personally think it makes everything sound better and less "boxed" or "boxy" and more natural all while making the response curve more linear. if you plan on using a woofer or subwoofer in a wooden or mdf box, this will prove nothing short of essential. also, if the box is sealed, you may want to use silicon caulk on the inside of the box after gluing and nailing the box together to make sure there are no air-seal leaks. this will also help to lineate everything. hope what i have offered has helped you understand better the usefulness of foam dampening. good luck on your build from one SoCal resident to another.
Answered by: BigRich92
Date published: 2011-10-18

Shipping to Canada and product info

HiDo you ship to Canada? I'm in Toronto, ON, postal code M6E2N4.Also..The pics of this product are confusing. A quarter (coin) is more than 1/2" in diameter yet the pic shows the 1/2" foam as being thicker than the coin.The other product pic appears to show a layered foam with several different widths involved.What I need is just "1/2" open-cell polyurethane acoustically absorbent foam" for a project I'm doing.Does this product actually fit *that* description exactly?Also, I need it without any adhesive backing.Do you sell this foam without the adhesive backing?Thanks
Asked by: joegold
This product fits your description as closely as anything we carry. It is 1/2" in thickness, open cell acoustically absorbent poly foam, but we do not carry it or anything similar without the adhesive backing. We do ship to Canada, no problem.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-06-13
  • 2016-05-06T07:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.2.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_260-520, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational
Parts Express FacebookParts Express TwitterParts Express YouTubeParts Express PinterestParts Express SpotifyParts Express Instagram
Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software