Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Brand:| Model: GW-6028
Overview
Butyl rubber surrounds are superior to foam in two important ways.
Part # 
290-350
Weight: 3.3 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$23.10
Buy 4-up$20.72
Part # 290-350
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Butyl rubber surrounds are superior to foam in two important ways. First, the butyl rubber resists moisture and will not dry rot, providing years of service. Second, the rubber surround, due to its superior damping characteristics will greatly reduce cone break up and ensure low distortion. These woofers are ideal for replacing and upgrading old, worn out drivers. They all feature a polypropylene cone, vented pole piece, foam gasket, soft poly dust cap, and stamped steel frame.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter6-1/2"
  • Power Handling (RMS)90 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)170 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response29 to 4,800 Hz
  • Sensitivity85 dB 2.83V/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.5"
  • Magnet Weight20 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)58.1 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)7.3 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.5 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)3.5
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)1.2
  • Total Q (Qts)0.9
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.41 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.47 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)6.1 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)16g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)2.5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)136.35 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPoly
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter6.5"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter5.625"
  • Depth3.75"
  • # Mounting Holes4
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.64 ft.³
  • Sealed F363 Hz
  • Vented Volume1.82 ft.³
  • Vented F334 Hz
Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGW-6028
  • Part Number290-350
  • UPC643420100280
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (23 Reviews)
  • Weight3.3 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm
Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm is rated 4.1739 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT Product, INSANE ValueI needed to replace a dry rotted, (surrounds), pair of Peerless 6 1/2" woofers due to foam surround deterioration. I wanted to try these drivers based on their specs and the very low price, (about 1/3 the price of the drivers they replaced).I was pleasantly surprised by the performance these Goldwood drivers offer... crossed in at 80 hz (12 db slopes), they sound great. Paired with the existing 1" soft domes. They have higher output than the old Peerlesses did in their heyday and the sound is clear, tight and comfortable... no listener fatigue with these.Granted, autosound applications don't offer a very good environment to assess audio quality compared to a good listening room but considering the unique challenges a good auto install presents, these drivers are far superior to anything offered as an "autosound" mid/woofer. Using an older Punch 25 HD to drive mids and tweeters is more than ample for these great drivers.I am confident the rubber surrounds will far out live the foam surrounds that failed due to AZ temps!I am impressed enough with these drivers that I will be buying more to use in my theater room... I never have a problem buying a good product at a great price.Everything in life is a compromise but in this case, low price DOES equal high-value!Buy 'em and try 'em! I think you will be as pleased as I am...Thanks PE!!!
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great OEM Replacement Mid-Bass Woofer ValueI purchased a pair of these to replace some rotted out OEM drivers in a vintage Proton AL-200 minimonitor speaker system. The fit and performance couldn't have been any better for the price.This model should be a great fit for a number of other vintage bookshelf speakers that could use a 6.5" OD woofer as the physical and performance specs are pretty much universal.I was going to get the classic Dayton, but the cut-out of that woofer was too big, so I gave this one a try - I am very happy with the results!
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent replacement driverHad to replace the 6.5 inch drivers in a pair of KLH 365 tower speakers. The cabinets were still in excellent condition after about 10 years. With very little modification of the front baffle with a router, these drivers dropped in. I use these on my own 3-way, 4th order LR crossover design. Stated specs were very accurate, as I measured them myself and found the tolerances were very tight. The only other addition was 1 pound of accouta-stuff in each tower. After a break-in period of 50-55 hours, these 6.5 inch drivers proved to be quite the bargain. Impressive bass response for a fairly short xmax.While these are not top-end drivers, the cost-to-performance ration is absolutely top-rate. Although these are 6.5 inch drivers, and not subwoofers, with a well-designed crossover, and the right cabinet (mine are ported), these inexpensive drivers will impress the ears. Absolutely no regrets using these as replacement drivers.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice product !Got these to replace old bookshelf speakers in which the foam went bad. These speakers dropped right in with no mods needed for my application. Speakers sound great & seem to handle quite a bit of power with no complaint. In my opinion you can't go wrong for the price of these speakers , very well made with a large magnet structure. I marked features a 4 because I believe if the connectors were mounted pointing down toward the magnet instead of up towards the outer speaker rim, it would clear the wood much better especially in 3/4" mdf boxes. As always packaged very well & shipped extremely fast from P.E. Thanx!
Date published: 2011-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value and PerformanceExcellent 6.5 inch driver for the money. Very good low end extension without distortion. Replaced drivers in about 0.25 Cu-ft Advent acoustic suspension bookshelf speakers. Far superior to OEM drivers. Clarity of mid-bass could maybe be a little crisper, but certainly nothing to complain about for the price and doubt you could tell much if any difference with far more costly speakers.
Date published: 2011-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good for the money.If you like the clean crisp sound of a poly cone, these will not dissapoint. I have them in use for over 4 years, replacing the original Polk SDA Compact Reference Series drivers and they sound excellent, crossed over with a 6db high pass at 60Hz. I would buy these again if the need arises.
Date published: 2010-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Klipsch AW650 re-driverHad to replace the 6 1/2" drivers in my Klipsch AW650s. Got these based on tech recommendation and could not be happier. A little boomy once first installed but the more I use them the smoother the sound gets. Takes a little work to get them in the composite Klipsch enclosure but well worth it.
Date published: 2010-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great woofer for the money!I used this woofer in a two way system, the Shenanigans, which can be found on the TechTalk forum, and was pleasently surprised at the level of performance. It offers clean sound reproduction throughout its range, and is well built with the exception of a kinda cheap basket (hence the 4 stars for features). Overall this is an excellent woofer with respectable low end extension and clean sound that I would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2009-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonder Little WooferThis woofer, especially for about $15, is one of the best deals I have come across. I first came across this product when I bought two replacement speakers for my front doors in my '05 Corolla. They were so good I have purchased four more of them since to replace rotted-foam-edge woofers in living room speakers. They sound good in 0.3 cu. ft. enclosure with a 9" port at 1.5" diam, stuff the box well. The range is amazing, especially for a 6.5" woofer. They actually play lower/louder than my pair of 6"x9" Xtreme 3-way speakers on the rear deck of my car! Made in China so check each one before instalation.
Date published: 2009-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from didnt work for meI bought these great priced speakers for a replacement of a 2.5 way Altec Lansing floor standings but they sound worse than the originals! They sound dull and undefined and arent more powerfull although they have bigger magnets. I think I'll keep the old ones for now.
Date published: 2008-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great valuesound quality is supurb for this price range. construction is very solid. better than expected. recommended!
Date published: 2008-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No hassle small subwoofer!!Wanted to build a diy subwoofer that was based of the multiple small woofer design. Got two of these in a vented cabinet with the PE 70W amplifier and I have great extension down to 35 hertz. Go ahead and try these for your next medium sized sub build and it will blow your socks off...remember it is all based on a good cabinet design and this woofer will do the rest. Excellent product, will defenitely use again.
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great replacement speaker for Infinity book shelfThe speakers were a perfect fit, great value and the sound was every bit as good as the original speakers. I was also impressed with the information available to help me make a good selection as well as the overall order process, including an on time delivery.Thanks again and I looking forward to my next purchase.
Date published: 2008-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price!I have two sets of outdoor speaker cabinets that were originally purchased in the late 1980's (RSL 'Outsiders'). These are wall-mounted, both located under balcony overhangs. Although they don't get rained on, they're totally exposed to outdoor air and temperature. The last replacement woofers, which were also butyl-surround, survived EIGHT years in these harsh conditions, and these new Goldwoods appear to be even better made. They were a perfect replacement fit and they're built like battleships. And they sound better than the original factory woofers! Nice deal!!
Date published: 2008-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good valueIt works very well for my purpose, an old portable amplifier. The sound is quite good. The amplifier is not made for guitar and I plug my guitar in to see how it sound. It actually sounds pretty good. I would not hesitate to use it for practice. For the price, its hard to beat.
Date published: 2007-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with these speakersVery good sound,Tight,clean base,sound better than they should for the price.
Date published: 2007-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Sound Over FactoryGood sound over the factory Bose speaker that blew.
Date published: 2007-10-29

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Goldwood GW-6028 6-1/2" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1