268-352_ALT_1.jpg
268-352_ALT_1.jpg
 
268-352_ALT_0
 
268-352_ALT_1
 

Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit

Brand:| Model: PSP4-BKHT
Overview
The unique flared-end construction of the Precision Port system enables it to outperform any standard port tube on the market. Conventional tubes suffer from nasty turbulence at the entrance and exit of the port, producing unwanted noise and poor sound quality.
Part # 
268-352
Weight: 1.64 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$19.99
You Save30%
Your Price
$13.90
Buy 4-up$12.50
Part # 268-352
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit

The unique flared-end construction of the Precision Port™ system enables it to outperform any standard port tube on the market. Conventional tubes suffer from nasty turbulence at the entrance and exit of the port, producing unwanted noise and poor sound quality. The Precision Port™ system overcomes these problems and as a result can actually produce a gain of up to 3 dB in output!

Now you can experience good looks, low distortion, and superior overall sound quality thanks to the Precision Port™ system. Convenient front screw holes make this tube easier to install than others on the market. Create a port up to 17" long, then glue with ABS glue found at any hardware store. Installation instructions included. Dimensions: • 7-1/4" outside flare outer diameter • 6-1/4" cutout • 6-3/16" inside flare outer diameter. Also available in 2", 3", and 6" diameters. Proudly Made in the USA!

To calculate the proper port length for your cabinet and tuning, use Precision Sound Products' Port Length Calculator.



Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit
  • BrandPrecision Sound
  • ModelPSP4-BKHT
  • Part Number268-352
  • UPC844632046797
  • Product CategorySpeaker Port Tubes
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (56 Reviews)
  • Weight1.64 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit
in the Speaker Port Tubes product category.

Reviews

Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit
Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it was suppose to doIt tuned my tunes lol. Be careful screwing it in, if you go to far it will break!!
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent portThis port is undoubtably strong enough for any build, and long enough for nearly any application. It is also fairly cheap considering I bought 4 of these so I saved the $5 or so but I have the 4 of them 13 inches long firing up along with subs faceing up in an 8.5-9 cubed box, and they knock with no problems at all. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beats PVC pipe and looks and sounds a lot better tooused 3 of these in a dual 18" subwoofer cabinet with no huffing or port noisethe flares look great and are easy to flush mount for a professional look*tip; instead of using PVC pipe glue just use duct tape so you can change the port length if needed, also I always mount the rear of the port in an internal brace to keep the port from just "hanging" in the box
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!these ports greatly increased the volume of my sound system. a must buy if you are making or have custom sub boxes
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Precision Port brings an end to chuffingthe 4" precision port is awesome! I installed it in a 1.4ft^ft3 box tuned to 32hz (port length unchanged) with 2 8" subs (at around 200W). The air movement was at around 19m/s (which might creating port noise) but this port does not chuff at all and sounds decent! Tried playing around by putting a sheet of paper near the port, it rips it with ease. :)Instead of using PVC glue, I used the ABS glue, which bonds them together permanently. ABS literally melts the plastic on contact, so don't apply too much.It's a solid port, and I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy fast goodI put one of these in a pro bass cab. it had a small port and was chuffing at high volumes. I was also dissatisfied by the LF power and color.This port tube did the trick. the cab is warmer, smoother, and has MUCH better LF response- the low B is kickin.Install was easy and I found cutting the tube to their recommended lenth (calculation sheet included) was the best of all the different lengths that I tried. I needed to use speaker gasketing tape (also available here at PE) to seal the vent. My only recommendation is this- instead of 4 screws to mount, 6 screws would be more secure. That is easily done with a drill and screws. . .
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice, FragileWorked great, little PVC glue and away you go! Be careful not to over-tighten the screws used to hold it in, it doesn't give much and will crack...personal experience.
Date published: 2011-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound,Even Better Price!!Same as a PNR Port or Aero Port. These give you much cleaner bass than regular ports and raises your decibals. I used one port for One High Excursion 600W RMS 10" and it sounds great now i just need a bigger amp ;-)
Date published: 2009-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are terrific, I bought 8 of them!Great Product !They have a website at http://www.psp-inc.com/tools.html that will calculate the total length of the ducted tuned port. The first number is without the flares attached & the second number is with the flares attached. The difference between the 2 numbers is the length of pipe you need to fit between the flares!
Date published: 2009-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These ports are hugeThese ports do the job. I had 2 12" Polk momos in a sealed box in my car. I decided to buy a pair of these and port a larger sealed box I already had. Installation was simle, if you have a drill and a jigsaw. The hole needs to be very large, it is actually the same size as the inner flare, as you use that as a template. Instructions include the math on how to obtain the correct length of the tube, but you need to know the volume of your box and the desired frequency you want the tube to be tuned to. I don't hear any port noise at the max volume I listen to.
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best portI have had many subwoofer boxes mostly slot ported boxes this port is great i have three in my box for a 15" monster subwoofer and the quality is great i will always buy these ports for my boxes in the future. the first to i bought i paid 60 for the pair, i needed one more so i started looling on the net and found this web sight and found them for 13 so this is a great deal.
Date published: 2009-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to slot portingI purchased this to replace a standard cardboard port in an enclosure I built for a Diamond Audion D6 15" sub. I am very happy with the cosmetics of the tube. The face does have some texture to it, which may not be appealing to some, but not that noticeable. It does require you to cut a larger hole, near 6.25" for the 4" port so if you are building your enclosure ahead of time, remember to allow enough room for the flange. Flange is much larger than it appears in photo.
Date published: 2009-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from least amount of noise possibleI have used this product before on a sound quality system i used 2 in fact 1 for each 12 inch megaloud subwoofer and it was phenominal!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2009-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works every time.......I've used these ports a few time and they sound great. I install car audio and used to do slot port boxes, but now its areo's all day baby!!
Date published: 2009-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap, solid, but uglyThis port tube is very solid, and I imagine it would work well. However, sine I am going to be veneering my subwoofer, I want something that looks classy. This does not. If you look at the picture, you can sort of see the front flange has this fake leather appearance embossed in the plastic. It is hideous. This might be a good choice if you are using a rear port, or don't care about looks.
Date published: 2009-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid ProductI was impressed by the quality of this tube. Very nice quality, sturdy, solid, and sounds great!
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE!!This is well worth the money. The plastic is thin and feels flimsy at first. However, it is a non-issue considering the flares provide maximum airflow. I used a very thin cord of sealing putty to ensure that it was airtight. I also painted mine a textured silver color and then painted the outer rim metallic black. I even painted the inside part of the box black. The section of interior wall directly behind the flare. Otherwise you can see the MDF through the port. It looks SICK this way. Much, Much, Much better than a slotted port...go for it
Date published: 2009-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Qualtiy 4" port for less!Most 4" areo ports cost anywhere from $10-$20 dollars more. You can find them cheaper but they are not the quality of these I have purchased 4 so far and will be buying more!!!!!
Date published: 2009-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great productsthis is my first time using aero ports and im impress with them i can rally hear that my system is alittle bit louder to the ear and on the mic
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good productCould have added the size of the mounting ring, it is about 6 1/2".
Date published: 2009-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy flaired portEasy to install. Just make sure that your openings are 6.25" in diameter.
Date published: 2009-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product - Instant Bass UpgradeThis is an awesome port. It really gets rid of port noise, as compared to slot ports.The installation of this 4" port does take some effort to cut the 6.25" hole. I couldn't find a hole saw for this size, so I had to cut it with a jig saw. But the result is worth it.
Date published: 2009-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ProductLoved the ease of installation and performance. I would highly recommend the to anyone who is a serious builder.
Date published: 2009-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a tubeWhat more is there to say, looks nice.
Date published: 2009-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have For Box Builders...Ive been buying these ports for years. These make it that much easier to build your own enclosure at home. Beginner or pro, these ports are the way to go.
Date published: 2008-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from buy itgood kitno port noise
Date published: 2008-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best product everi gained 3 dbs on the meter just by switching the ports. i wont ever use pvc again thanks.
Date published: 2008-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Precision Port 4" Flared Port Tube Kiti applied it to my 15 box for my van in which i gain 1.9 dbs ! i suggest every one who is in to car audio to use them ! you will deff. gain
Date published: 2008-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great productI have used 5 of these 4" precision ports in the last year and they all have been great. Easy to use and the fact that they come with port calculations is very helpful. Will use again.
Date published: 2008-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dealthis is a great product at a great price i have 4-4" ports in my car subwoofer box and they move some air with no port noise at all, 100% satisfied
Date published: 2008-09-24

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit

Can I extend this port kit to a longer length with 4" PVC Pipe from my local hardware store instead of buying the PSP-4TB plus the connecting rings.

Asked by: cnp112
Yes, this will work fine. However, it would be prudent to bring these flares with you when shopping for your PVC pipe. PVC wall thickness varies according to it's schedule rating, and 4" pipe does not have a have an inside, or outside diameter of 4", it's actually 4.5" outside. The schedule (wall thickness) then determines the inside diameter. Schedule 40 PVC has a wall thickness of just under a quarter of an inch (.237"), so it's inside diameter would be just over 4" (4.026"). That would be your best bet, but I can't definitively tell you that the port flares would fit on the PVC pipe.Another option would be black ABS pipe for a better aesthetic match. Use ABS cement if you use ABS pipe, and PVC cement if you use PVC.You can also buy PVC or ABS "elbows" so you can put bends in your port, allowing you to get more creative with your port placement, since it is so long.The real value of this kit is the flared ends which reduce port noise and turbulence. Whatever type of tube you put between them is inconsequential as long as it is sturdy and of the right length for your tuning.One last thought, you may want to consider using a smaller diameter port, as it will not need to be so long. Remember that the more volume your port takes up, the less useful volume your box has.Whatever you do, have fun!
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2012-12-06

what can i use to make this port 25 inches long

Asked by: andrewb
You could buy 2 kits and secure two lengths of tube together with a solid external collar brace to achieve the necessary legth. You could use some left over tube, slit it down one side, and secure it around the junction of the 2 pieces you are joining with ABS cement. You could even do that twice, one from the top, one from the bottom for a really secure hold.Though, honestly if your tuning requires such a long port length you may want to look at using a smaller diameter port in order to reduce the necessary port length. A 3" port would need to be much shorter to achieve the same tuning frequency.For example with a 1.5 cubic ft box and a desired 28Hz tuning a 4" dia. port needs to be 25.875" long. Whereas a 3" dia. port only needs to be 14" long to achieve the same 28 Hz tuning in the same box.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2012-07-09

What is the "flare radius"?

I have a program (Flare-it) that tells me if I will have port noise. I'm trying to calculate the "flare radius".
Asked by: Ess OH ELL
7.250" OD according to the description. Radius is half that, 3.625"Flared ports don’t necessarily provide any advantage over straight tubes. What would make a difference is if you stuffed the tubes with soda straws to “columnate” the flow like a LASER or Vegas water-fountain nozzles.This WOULD reduce vortex effects but still may not make a noticeable difference. You would have to have expensive analyzing equipment to denote the actual effect.If someone were to give me some of these, I would whack off the front flare mostly, to keep the hole in the baffle smaller. Meanwhile I use PVC or ABS tubing as a default. They are cheap and you can make a "tunable port" by placing a smaller tube inside a larger tube to make a sliding port. Then glue or cut a new one to length. Keep the tunable one as a tool.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-10-05

Is there a way I can assure the tube will be 16" long?

looking at 2 of these and the tubes needs to 16" long to tune my enclosure to 32 Hz i have 3 10's i am putting in a single enclosure
Asked by: careless
The quick answer to your question is...measure twice. The serious answer is...this kit comes with a 17" tube and two flared ends. Therefore you will need to only cut off an inch of the supplied 17" tube before permanently gluing the two flared ends to your newly created 16" tube.I hope that helps you.
Answered by:
Date published: 2012-01-08

Does this kit come with the tube itself or just the post ends? What length tube?

Asked by: Vinnie
It comes with a tube and the ends. Usually the tube is 14-16"
Answered by: paragv
Date published: 2011-10-10

4" tube diameter? And is the max diameter really 7.25 in?

Asked by: Audiophile77
Yes 4" ID and 7.25" OD of the outside flare.
Answered by: mtg90
Date published: 2012-11-18

So when i cut the hole to install this port it should be 6 1/4" in diameter?

Asked by: nick23parker
Yes, this product requires a 6-1/4" cutout.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-09-10

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Precision Port 4" Flared Speaker Cabinet Port Tube Kit

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1