Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair

Brand:|Model: Overnight Sensations MT
Build your own high-end near-field monitors with the highly regarded Overnight Sensations MT speaker pair kit designed by Paul Carmody. This kit includes nearly everything to build a pair of speakers, including: a pair of knock-down cabinets, drivers, ports, and crossover components.
In Stock
- Order Soon - Only 5 Left In Stock
Your Price
$148.00
Part # 300-706
Share:
Highlights
  • Top rated speaker project
  • Works great as monitors
  • Precision cut CNC cabinets

Product Details

Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair

When Paul Carmody first listened to the Overnight Sensations speakers that he designed he exclaimed, "I wish I had a time machine. I would go back to my bedroom when I was in Jr. High or High School and give these to myself. These are the little bookshelf speakers I imagined I had: huge soundstage, deep bass, and tiny box. In reality, back then all I had were some impish Minimus-7s."

The Overnight Sensations are designed to be a quick, economical build that could put out a surprisingly-big sound in a small box. Could be a weekender project for an addict, a gift for a teenager (see above), or—in Paul's case—a set of small, full-bodied monitors that he could listen to while grading papers.

To start a do-it-yourselfer off right, this kit includes a pair of high-grade 1/2" Baltic birch cabinets that have been precisely CNC cut and rabbeted for perfect fit-and-finish when assembling the cabinet, as well as perfect driver fit.

For the Overnight Sensations' driver arrangement, Paul selected the versatile Dayton Audio ND20FA-6 3/4" neodymium silk dome tweeter and mated it to the attractive HiVi B4N 4" aluminum midbass woofer. To extract as much bass as possible, Paul decided upon a cabinet size of roughly 0.16 cubic feet (4.5 liters) and is tuned to 53 Hz using a 1-3/8" diameter port that is 6" long.

This kit includes nearly everything you need to build a top-notch pair of speakers in no time flat, including: a pair of knock-down cabinets, drivers, ports, and crossover components.

Note: Screws, binding posts, and speaker wire are not included, but recommendations are featured in the Related Products section on the right.

Specifications:
• Tweeter: Dayton Audio ND20FA-6 3/4" silk dome tweeter
• Midbass woofer: HiVi B4N aluminum midbass woofer
• Power handling: 25 watts RMS/50 watts max
• Frequency response: 45-20,000 Hz (-3 dB)
• Impedance: 8 ohms
• Sensitivity: 83 dB 1W/1m
• Dimensions: 9" H x 6" W x 8-3/8" D


Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair includes the following items:
Qty Part # Item
2275-030Dayton Audio ND20FA-6 3/4" Neodymium Dome Tweeter
2004-6Dayton Audio DNR-6.0 6 Ohm 10W Precision Audio Grade Resistor
2004-10Dayton Audio DNR-10 10 Ohm 10W Precision Audio Grade Resistor
2027-402Dayton Audio DMPC-0.22 0.22uF 250V Polypropylene Capacitor
2027-412Dayton Audio DMPC-1.5 1.5uF 250V Polypropylene Capacitor
2027-424Dayton Audio DMPC-6.8 6.8uF 250V Polypropylene Capacitor
2260-388Parts Express Speaker Cabinet Port Tube 1-3/8" ID Adjustable
2255-030Jantzen Audio 0.35mH 20 AWG Air Core Inductor Crossover Coil
2255-252Jantzen Audio 1.1mH 18 AWG Air Core Inductor Crossover Coil
2297-429HiVi B4N 4" Aluminum Midbass Round Frame
2027-916Jantzen Audio 2.2uF 400V Crosscap Capacitor
1999-706Overnight Sensations Cabinet Pair
No substitutions allowed. The above may include some items that are not available for purchase separately.

Product Specifications
  • Cabinet OptionsUnfinished/Unassembled
  • Speaker TypeBookshelf
  • Woofer Diameter4"
  • Input Rating8 ohm
  • Configuration2-way
  • ColorUnfinished
  • Cabinet Dimensions (H x W x D)9" x 6" x 8-3/8"
Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair
  • BrandParts Express
  • ModelOvernight Sensations MT
  • Part Number300-706
  • UPC844632098567
  • Product CategorySpeaker Kits
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (64 Reviews)
  • Weight12.76 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair
in the Speaker Kits product category.

Reviews

Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair
Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair is rated 4.7812 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great KitI had a lot of fun building these. I spent a lot of time on the cabinet; sanded it smooth as glass with a random orbit sander and stained the boxes with red mahogany to match my office furniture. I then put several coats of satin poly on, sanding in-between coats. These boxes are furniture grade; very pretty.Assembly was pretty easy. I have an electronics background, so building the crossover was a piece of cake. And I'm an experienced woodworker, so the cabinets were east too. Anyone who is fairly good with tools should be able to handle this project. Needed tools are a power sander, soldering iron, hot glue gun, and clamps for gluing up the boxes. The trick is to take your time and not rush them.For speaker terminals, I used some terminal blocks from Micca speakers that I installed the crossover upgrade in. They worked fine.These really sound excellent, with much better bass than the size would suggest. They sound fine for music even without a sub. They are small speakers and are not going to get super loud; but great for a bedroom, office, or small living room.I have attached a couple of pics so you can see how they turned out. They go to my office tomorrow.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You will need a real amplifierSpent many years in a previous life working in major studios, was looking for a budget version of the Yamaha NS10 for my home studio. I'm very happy with these speakers. I'm very comfortable with woodworking and electronics so no issue there, but I wonder how many buyers have on hand the big clamps shown in the video to glue the panels together.Another reviewer mentioned the Lepai 20-20 as a good pairing but don't waste your time or money on it. I'll be testing the PE "no hassle return policy" on that little toy. I'm a big PE fan and I trust their judgement on most things, but the laws of physics still apply. You're not going to get 40 watts (20 per channel) out of an amp that weighs about as much as my iphone with a power supply the size of a cell phone charger.I hooked up my Carver PM 600 to the speakers and got exactly what I hoped for. Yes I know that's way more power than the OSs are rated for but if you know how to attenuate properly the speakers will handle it just fine and the headroom is a beautiful thing. Replacement drivers are $15 and PE gets me what I want usually next day even with standard shipping.I actually had to stuff some foam in the ports to reduce the bass response. These little guys fill my music room really well, my wife is complaining already.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OutstandingI built these about a month ago and they are wonderful. I did an A/B test with a pair of Klipsch B-10 speakers which are almost exactly the same size and these killed it.In a nutshell, the Overnight Sensations were able to resolve the difference between a CD (44.1 kHz / 16 bit ) ripped to a FLAC file and a (96 kHz /24 bit) FLAC download in such a way that it I now have to replace my entire audio collection with Hi Rez downloads. Thanks a lot, Paul.Audiopath: NAS>JRiver>Audioquest Dragonfly v1.2>Mac1700>Speakers.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sound better than they costI put these together a few weeks ago, and they sound great. The build is pretty intuitive. Make sure you do some reading before purchasing these, you'll need to order a few extra things, binding posts, speaker feet, acousta-stuf, etc... I'm happy with the final product, like the title implies, they're a much better speaker than the $120 that they cost. I'm powering them with an AudioSource AMP 100, and using a 12" sealed sub I put together.A few notes:They're small. I think they definitely need a sub to compliment them and take some of the pain off of those poor little drivers. I am, however, using them in a small living room as mains which obviously isn't the recommended near field desktop use they were designed for. That said, they sound really nice with a sub I threw together.They're inefficient. I do wish they had a little more oomph. I really recommend you push them with the full 50 wpc that they're capable of handling, otherwise you might be disappointed with the volume they put out.TIPS: Sand a bunch-- I used a small orbital sander to square up all of the edges, and I'm happy I did. Also, I found wipe on poly to work really well; you'll need to do a good amount of coats, but it makes for a nice finish. Do your research, read up on the crossover design. After you assemble the crossovers, triple check your connections so you don't have to pull these things apart to fix them.Overall, I'm really happy with them. It was a great first project, I learned a bunch putting them together and have the DIY itch now. Despite a few cons, for the price, these speakers absolutely deserve the 5 stars.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wowI built these as a birthday gift for a friend now I don't want to give them away. They sound fantastic
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound, great look!I am so glad I found that kit. As a beginner in the speaker design it truly helped to have a design already made. I can wait to do it by myself now! I added damping inside and am using an amp to give enough power to the speakers.Also the tweeter is connected with a different polarity than the woofer.Don't forget to buy screws if you haven't done it already because they are not included.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ver goog set of speakersI bought all the pieces separately and build my own cabinets, when I first listen to them I was really impressed, deep bass and clarity, I hear the voices between the speakers, and one can locate the musical instruments in some songs, the scenary is there, definitely for the quality sound these provide, you would have to spend much more money, buy them, you got nothing to lose
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from overnight sensations kiti am just completing the os system,and so far so good.i did not have any problems putting the crossover together,it just take some patience and common sense.i have tested it on the bench so far,and i think that it is awesome.however i will submit another review in the near future after using some more. patrick christian
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good balanceComposition: Birch plywood quality is good.Sound: Good balance,better than low-tone excessive Audio engine A2
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thin SoundingMaybe i'm missing something but these speakers are very thin sounding. I have to crank the bass and cut treble almost entirely to make it possible to listen without hurting ears. If anyone has suggestions/ideas for why this could be I'd love to solve it.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alien Green OSThe Color is actually called Satin Lemongrass. One of my lessons learned from this fun project is to allow for enough overhead clearance when installing the crossover boards so that the solenoid(s) do not hit the bottom of the woofer.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Intro to Building Speakers!I purchased these speakers back in April from Eric at DIY Sound Group. This package came with screws which was a bonus. Additional items I purchased from Parts-Express were:Stahl Tools Soldering Station # 374-100Acousta-Stuf Polyfill # 260-317Kester Pocket Pack Solder 0.50 oz. Tube # 370-050Wired Home SKRL-16-50 16 AWG OFC Speaker Wire 50 ft. # 100-016JSC Wire 18 AWG Red/Black (for crossover wiring) #100-050This project was a lot of fun and was VERY easy to construct. I have some background in electric circuits so designing the "real world" layout of the crossover was not difficult but my design did not look as good as the one I later found here:http://techtalk.parts-express.com/showthread.php?223751-Overnight-Sensation-Build-Two-Sets/page3by the user "Soundslike."It's a great thread to checkout if you have not built speakers before.Build: The quality of the birch wood was actually quite surprising. I did not veneer but rather stained and sealed instead. I'm very happy with how they look - I know that as I make more speakers I will want to increase the finishing complexity.Crossover: Assembling the crossover was painless - I have some soldering experience but I recommend checking out a few youtube videos for those who don't know how to do it. My experience is quite novice and I was very worried that no sound would come out when I tested the crossover. Many of the first connections I made involved large-ish balls of solder - I admit one even turned black. After the first couple though, I got in the zone. I'd recommend cutting up some pieces of speaker wire and practice soldering them together. My crossover was assembled on a small cutout of particle board. I drew the schematic on that, marked hole locations, and used a drill. Rather than build little legs for the crossover board I placed a small dowel in the centre of the speaker as a anchor and angled the board (see the picture). Epoxy took care of the rest.Finishing: Staining of the supplied birch cabinet - I used Minwax® Wood Finish™ DARK WALNUT. I did not use any wood conditioners because I wanted the stain amounts to be varied across the wood. Three coats with sanding in between coats. I stained before gluing and carefully taped any edges that were going to be glued. Afterwards, finished with a coat of Mini-Wax Polyurethane.For the stuffing I just grabbed a handful as recommended by Paul and they sound great to me so I don't intend on changing them. I'm not an audiophile by any means but I do appreciate great sound.As for power: I have hooked these speakers up to a SEARS AM-4658 that I picked up at an auction for $20. Here is a link to the amplifier.http://retrosoundandvinyl.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=1450Unfortunately it does not seem to be working anymore (only very quiet volume). In the mean time I have purchased the Lepai LP-2020+. It's less power than the SEARS but hopefully will sound OK once it comes in for the time beingI am now hooked and want to attempt the Overnight Sensation MTM or perhaps an even more ambitious project. Maybe adding a sub? Possibilities! I don't know exactly how long it took me to create these because I loved the process so much I purposefully took my time to enjoy, learn, experiment, and have fun. I'd guess probably about 30 hours going slowly over a period of a few weeks. Be careful when you purchase these (if it's your first time) as you will want to buy more and more and more.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 200 wattsAssembled with cherry veneer. Powering with a Carver M400 in a desktop configuration. Bass hits hard. Breakup near 7/6 power. Impressive.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sounding kitI received the kit on Friday and the next Saturday the project was already completed ! Right now there is no polyfill or lining inside but I plan do to some experimentation soon. I placed them beside the Tritrix ported I already have and made a relay system to switch between both. It's difficult to describe the sound difference as both kit have their strength. I will do listening session soon with friends. I'm really satisfied with that purchase.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look great, sound expensiveYou can read a million reviews about how great these little buggers sound. I built them to be part of a portable sound system so I decided to cover them with PE's Marshall Amp Tolex.fabric. I found it to be pretty easy to apply with 3M 90 hi-strength spray adhesive, a good straight edge and a fresh box cutter blade.For the baffle, I used Rust-oleum Painter's Touch spray. To get a semi-gloss Mahogany-like look, I sanded the baffle with 220 grit followed with some automotive scratch filler primer. After another fine sanding. I applied three thin coats of Gloss Kona Brown paint with rubs with fine steel wool to knock the gloss down.We're pleased with look and thrilled with the sound.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All done and purdy!Hubby got this as a fun project and they are awesome!
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Bookshelf Speakers Pack a Big PunchI bought these because I needed small bookshelf speakers to fit in a custom cabinet. These were the perfect size plus they got great reviews so I went for it. Let me tell you right now, these speakers rock! I couldn't be happier! It took me about 3 days from start to finish. I will admit, I've never built speakers before and never soldered so I was a little intimidated by building the crossover.For others that have no experience, have no fear, just follow the video and the wiring diagram. Once you get the general layout from the video, go to the diagram, it's much easier. Then think of each "dot" on the diagram as a metal post you want to tie the connections to. Make sure your soldering iron is clean, or else your solder will not "wet" properly. And the most important thing you can do is to TEST your speakers before you glue the back on. I also decided to put Poly-Fil stuffing into the box because it will keep the wires snug and seems to enhances the bass (I have no data to back this up other than my ears).One of the other great things about these speakers is you can finish them however you want: stain, paint, glaze, antiqued, etc. I've done my share of woodworking in the past so the cabinet assembly and finishing was very straightforward.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun gift for hubby.!My husband is loving this project. I am so pleased.
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Project - Great SoundGot this kit for a desktop system, after reading the reviews, and am very happy! Had a great time putting the boxes together, soldered up the x-over, a little stain, a handful of acoustic fill, and bam. Quality components + great design = excellent sound.
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from UPDATE: Can't wipe the smile off my face!!Seriously, if you are reading these reviews and mulling over- just stop and buy the kit and whatever else you need to build them. You can go crazy with all the reviews and audiophile malarky, but these speakers simple sing to you. Music is fun to listen to and believe it or not they sound great paired with that cheap little Lepai 2020 amp.Just do it! Plus you will have a great time building them!
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want another pair!I bought these to use with my workbench system. I'm impressed with how well they sound for such a small speaker! I now want to build another pair in a MTM configuration for the bedroom. You can't go wrong with these, pretty easy and fun to build.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I am blown away by the sound! Really FUN too!This was my first build after getting great advice from the forums. First of all, it arrived in less than 48 hours for free-SWEET!So the build was pretty straight forward. Box requires some sanding to really clean it up, but it goes together very easily.Not wanting to spend $$$ on clamps, I used masking tape to help me hold it together while I glued and then used cargo straps, with foam pipe insulation cut up to pad the corners when cinched up. Worked like a charm and cost me 1.87 for the foam :)The crossover seemed daunting at first, but after pausing the above video at just the right place a few times and finding some photo examples by searching, I was able to get it together fairly easily, but I have to say it is the sloppiest thing I've ever done.I've only ever built models and a few handyman jobs, but never soldered.anyway, I put the whole thing together and patiently waited for the rear panel glue to dry overnight...........WOW!!! I hook these bad boys up and am immediately in shock at how great they sound.And the BASS- the PERFECT speaker for my 10x11 room. The floor shaking bass is unbelievable. Everything sounds crisp, life-like and very authentic on live recordings. And to top it all off, I am proud of how nice they came out and had an absolute blast out in my garage over course of a few days.Do it NOW- spend a few bucks for soldering iron, glue, etc and you will have an AMAZING set of speakers and sense of accomplishment. I've been listening for HOURS and they keep getting better.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Project - Well worth the journeyIt took many months to see this to the end but it's a fun project that let's you learn a lot about many different aspects of the craft. Well worth the journey.I learned that I can't even put a pre-cut box together straight. That I can't solder worth a darn, and my sanding and finishing skills are adequate at best. BUT I HAD FUN THE WHOLE TIME.I also made the awesome choice of asking my wife to customize my speakers and after discussions we decided on the designs you see. The are a variant of Pakistani Henna (I though it looked cool) and she used a hobby lobby wood burning tool to burn the designs for me. They are the envy of my office and it's a great conversation starter. I get a chance to brag about my awesome wife all the time now :)As for the sound, I'm not really an audiophile but they do good enough for my office with a lepai amp.Look for threads in the forum for information on how to build these as there is a ton of information there.Hope you enjoy.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Office never sounded betterOne of the best beginner DIY projects, hands down. A ton of fun with the assembly, even more now with them entertaining me at the office. These are a must-have, but be warned: this kit will be the "gateway" into other DIY projects.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from no schematicsThey sent me all of the parts but no schematic for the crossover. What goes in a series and what goes in parallel? Also the ports are variable and I don't know how long to make them.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectationsWell, it took me a year to get around to it but they're finally done, except for the finish. Bass response and overall sound quality far exceed what I expected from the price and they sound much larger than their actual size. Construction was fairly straightforward although I wish I had consulted the video before assembling the boxes with the backs glued in place and the faces going in last. Plywood had a stain and a couple of dings and voids, but not a big deal at this price. They're for a desk in a room no one sees.
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound, fun build.I bought these speakers for my workshop, but they really belong in a listening room. The range is incredible given the size of the cabs and drivers.
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NiceThis was my first speaker project.  The hints in the reviews and forums were very helpful.  I'm very happy with how they turned out, the sound is much more than I expected.  
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comparable to my B&W DM 60 S3's at 1/2 the cost.Very fun project!I am always cautious of any review. Is all this hype deserved?Maybe.....My favorite bookshelves are my B&W's. They have almost the same form factor as the OS's. I put them to the test on my good 2 channel stereo powered by Rotel separate components with a Rotel 1072 CD player. I could not choose between the two which I liked better.So for a rather inexpensive learning experience these speakers are worth the money. Word to the wise..if you are buying bar clamps go to Harbor Freight and save yourself a lot of money.Would I buy these again? Definitely yes!Will I sell my B&W's?.... MaybeWill I sell my Overnight Sensations?......NO WAY!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Read reviews for tips and tricks. Awesome speakers!This was my first build, but I have installed a lot of car stereos in my life. It was my first time building a crossover and the schematic was pretty easy to follow, but if you aren't comfortable with how you have things set up, there are lots of pictures in the reviews, and on the pe forum to make life easy. That being said, I still blew it and mounted the large inductor too close to the woofer and I had to reposition the crossover to make room.Tips:Kit doesn't with poly stuff, screws, glue, or binding posts so make sure you order that stuff with the kit so you don't have to pay extra shipping or wait for stuff to complete your build.Try to keep the crossover compact.Don't use minwax poly shades one step. It isn't one step and birch will not look good unless you are o.k. With spending way more time than a traditional 2 step process.Test the speakers and crossovers before mounting.Buy clamps if you don't have some because you are going to want to build more speakers after you here how good these sound!These replaced some vintage klipsch heresy ones that I had. The klipsch had to go due to a small living room arrangement, and they were not able to fit in a stereo arrangement with our tv any longer. Paired with a subwoofer the overnight sensations are amazing, but even without the extra bass they put out more sound than their small size would suggest. They are not "loud" speakers like the klipsch were and I find myself enjoying my music at lower volumes than I did with the heresys.Overall, I am very happy with how these turned out and recommend buying them as they are as good as all the reviews say they are!
Date published: 2013-09-01
  • 2015-08-03T06:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_300-706, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Overnight Sensations MT Speaker Kit Pair

do the binding posts come with the kit, their seems to some difference with the list of parts and the photos of what comes with the kit.

Asked by: JackJr
Yes binding posts are included, they are just not pictured.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-05-19

hi i was just wondering if this comes with a manual on how to build them and what tools i'd need. thanks  Paul

Asked by: paul1992
The kit does come with a manual. You can review it in the above Manuals / Resources section.
Answered by: GregT
Date published: 2015-05-07

I was thinking of getting this kit and incorporating it into an outdoor bar Im building. I was thinking of powering it with the Lepai LP7498e so I would have a blue tooth source for it. How well would that setup work?

Asked by: kram38
These speakers would be a good match for that amplifier. If it is going to be outdoors, make sure the speakers and amplifier are not out in the elements.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-05-01

Is there no internal damping material on the inside walls of the cabinet? Would it be advisable to add it?

Asked by: Carlpen
We do not include any for this kit but you can add some if you would like.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-04-14

Hey i have many question about your great produkt. Is it possible to build two oft them in 1housing (2 tweeter and 2 mid) ? When its possible whats a good bassport for this Projekt? Or is better with a passiveradiator?And how great must be the housin?   

Asked by: elchbrei
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531
Answered by: MattW
Date published: 2015-06-05

can i use one of the silk dome tweeters instead, will it fit?

Asked by: soundbob squarepants
We do not recommend using different tweeters in this design. Not only would cabinet modifications be required, but the crossovers would need to be completely redesigned.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-07-24

Hello,I plan on ordering the overnight sensation kit when it comes back in stock. In my shopping cart i have Part#091-1150 for the binding post will this work with crossover ? And also i will be powering these with a audio source amp100 is that sufficent

Asked by: Dlfh33
Yes those two options will work fine with that kit.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-05

Is it possible I know what are the things that we need and link diagram please

Asked by: mahmoud mekaa
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-11

I saw the overnight sensations and I am really interested. My questions is do you have something similar but bigger. I was thinking maybe 20hx 12wx 8d. I was also thinking about an 8" speaker. 

Asked by: DanNyg
We do not have anything that uses an 8" woofer in kit form. We have many different kits available which you can see below.http://www.parts-express.com/cat/speaker-kits/286?N=19888+4294967118&Ne=10166&No=16&Nrpp=16&Nrs=collection%28%29%2Frecord%5Bendeca%3Amatches%28.%2C%22P_PortalID%22%2C%221%22%29+and+endeca%3Amatches%28.%2C%22P_Searchable%22%2C%221%22%29%5D&PortalID=1
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-02-17

I'm thinking about bying the parts list without the cabinet just to make one mono active speaker. What amp board is suitable for this?

Asked by: Newbiz
Something like the amp below would work well for that application.http://www.parts-express.com/2x50w-tda7492-class-d-amplifier-board--320-301
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-29

Hello, I'm wondering how the output would be like? I don't know much about sound hardware but is it the analog green wire that you can put into your computer or is it the ones that the surround sound systems use that you have to wrap around the back?

Asked by: seppy50
These are passive speakers so they will require a separate amplifier in order to work. A surround receiver will work for this, as well as many small table top amplifiers for applications such as use with a computer. These will have relatively limited output and won't shake the house, but for close range applications they will work well.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-18

I'm a newbie building this speaker kit for the first time. I'm looking at the cross over schematic and see that the negative input is going to the positive terminal of the Dayton treble. Is that a typo, or is that by design? If by design, why?

Asked by: SteveInRingwood
This is by design. The type of crossover used causes an acoustic shift in phase which is corrected by electrically wiring the tweeter in reverse polarity.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-04-19

I will be putting these in an entertainment center with fairly large cabinet style openings with closed backs. Would it be wise to relocate the bass port to the front of this speaker so the low frequencies aren't just bouncing around behind the speaker?

Asked by: Bassman969
Yes that would be advisable in this type of application. Be sure to seal up the opening on the back for the best results.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-04-19

Hi! I'd like to build my own spurs, and have my own wood shop, am an accomplished cabinetmaker and trained in submarine electronics down to component level. Is it possible to purchase this kit w/o the cabinet set?  Thanks. 

Asked by: Mcparker
Unfortunately these are only available in kit form with the enclosures. You could add the other items to your cart individually however, leaving the cabinets out.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-02

Ok I  was wondering about the compatibility when running through a mbox for pro tools as studio monitors. My current are powered by a 9v plug in...Will these still work for me since they are not powered? I connect with 1/4" inputs

Asked by: PrimeSd
No, if the speakers you currently have are powered, you will need an external amplifier in order to power them. We have many options available that will work well for this. The Lepai LP-2020A+ and Dayton DTA-120 amps are two of our most popular choices.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-26

Ok so im considering building this set but I have a few questions. 1. Is it possible to upgrade the speakers and tweeters without having to adjust Or modify the crossovers? If so what would you recommend?? Can I drill a larger hole for a bigger twet? 

Asked by: PrimeSd
Unfortunately no, changing either or both of the speakers in this design will require a complete crossover change as well. This is designed to provide flat, even response on a budget and they do a very good job of this.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-26

I am considering building speakers grills for a pair of Overnight Sensations. Would Parts Express Speaker Grill Frame Kit Part # 260-346 be a good match for the Overnight Sensations? Other ideas? Thank you for the input.

Asked by: Todd H
Yes our grill frame kit will work well for these speakers. The only other option I can recommend is a custom cut grill frame wrapped in a grill cloth of your choice.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-19

Hello, I am planning on buying these for a gift for Christmas. I am not an engineer or sound person, so I don't really understand what else is needed with this kit. Can you please list everything required to build it but not included in the kit? Thank you

Asked by: nikki10
Along with the kit you will need your choice of speaker wire terminals for the rear connection, small gauge speaker wire for internal connections (18 gauge will be fine), wood glue like Titebond II and clamps, as well as solder and a soldering iron, mounting screws (#6 are perfect) and a hot glue gun for the crossover components. Stuffing is optional but recommended.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-22

I need a speaker stand mount (the plate with the hole in it that goes on the speaker stand), and I need a large one because the particle wood is rotting in the center of the bottom of the speaker. Any ideas?

Asked by: Almost Live
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-03

Was I supposed to get any directions or a schematic for the Crossover, If so I didn't. Can I print these from somewhere?

Asked by: skenterp
The schematic is available in the link below.https://f48a8583-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/undefinition/diy-overnightsensations/OvernightSensationXOv1.5.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7conECiW-5V5JnZe8u9yWC2a4-sWodhNBXdemeGJxTlbbGubuDN-cmnI-vDul0cyqSdvFNSfDwc26JzE5zjqRXkqQhOSeHy9bqmvHgxlUJ3ERWt6iz-_pMtl_ZoiNPNoDWLSDo4333MS9TsBw5qhG0iqtXKhyTybf0WfVVSEm3MvePhwvUb0wgq_Yi2gYmt3yUxGaCu-jSJ8iPyxaGIiQVTtxIvQEoLMTaw2JtmGWWwhxATG-mIXZhRPCQyw5H1RGQGz_AIGknFibtmhB2FiUFoBlLZT2Q%3D%3D&attredirects=0
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-11

In order to keep these away from my toddler I'll have to wall mount them and I was wondering if there would be any issue with moving the port to the front baffle or even the bottom. I bought the components individually and will build the cabinets myself.

Asked by: JMC148
If you are building the cabinets yourself, either location would be fine.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-08-10

Did you use any sound dampening foam in your build? Is it not recommended in a knock down cabinet?

Asked by: kjacksonaudio
Sound damping is optional in any build, we just do not include it in this kit. Lining the walls with foam or stuffing the cabs with poly fill is recommended but not required.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-10

Is there a maximum power recommended for the speaker set? I'm contemplating what receiver to buy for my set-up and don't want to damage the speakers.

Asked by: Same
The maximum power handling for these speakers is 50 watts each.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-10

Is there a missing '500' Hz between the high end of the midbass 3000 hz and the low end of the tweeter 3500 hz?

Asked by: pshoph
Paul designed this speaker based on actual in box measurements and came to a final crossover point of about 4.1kHz. There is no gap in the lower midrange in this design.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-19

I recently got these and have just assembled the crossover to what I think is correct (after looking at similar online pictures). However upon testing, the sound is limited, but it seems that the low/high pass filters work. Has anyone had this problem?

Asked by: engsbro
I would recommend contacting our tech support for help with this. It may be best to email detailed pictures of the crossovers to tech@parts-express.com.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-12

So if I buy two pair, can I use them as front left and right, and rear left and right, as part of a full 5.1 surround system? I would still need a center channel and woofer, but would this be a good starting point?

Asked by: dale201
This speaker would be an excellent start to a home theater system
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-06-03

What is the approx. frequency at which this crossover operaters? I'd like more info generally about how to select tweeters + crossover frequency. Thanks

Asked by: SpinCycle
The crossover point in this design is roughly 4,200 Hz. I would suggest a book we sell called Speaker Building 201 which you can see below.http://www.parts-express.com/speaker-building-201-book--500-044
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-30

Where exactly do I drill holes for binding posts on rear so I can use banana plugs? Is there a step by step guide anywhere to assembling crossover? In the video, it blows right by it. Thanks!

Asked by: johnnynono
You can drill them anywhere you would like as long as they don't interfere with the crossover placement. Unfortunately the video and schematic are the only resources we have for the crossover construction.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-08

Can the rear panel be screwed/bolted on instead of glue for future access? (without building custom box myself?)

Asked by: johnnynono
Yes the back panel can be removable as long as it is air tight with the cabinet.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

Can I relocate the port tube to front of the cabinet next to tweeter?

Asked by: Anonymous
If the port tube will fit in this location that would not be a problem.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-21
  • 2015-08-03T09:18CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_300-706, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Videos

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software