302-019_ALT_1.jpg
302-019_ALT_1.jpg
 
302-019_ALT_0
 
302-019_ALT_1
 

MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair

Brand:| Model: Monitor 5i
Overview
MTX's power-packed Monitor 5i will surprise you with a sound that is larger than what would be expected from a speaker this size. A ported enclosure design squeezes out every last drop of bass from the 5-1/4" polypropylene woofer.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • Great bang-for-the-buck value
  • 5-1/4" poly woofer with rubber surround ensures smooth transition from lows into midrange
  • 1/2" balanced dome tweeter provides top-end sparkle
  • Bass reflex enclosure for deep, accurate bass
Part # 
302-019
Weight: 12 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$129.95
You Save54%
Your Price
$59.95
Part # 302-019
Qty:  PR
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair

MTX's power-packed Monitor 5i will surprise you with a sound that is larger than what would be expected from a speaker this size. A ported enclosure design squeezes out every last drop of bass from the 5-1/4" polypropylene woofer. Incredible imaging results from the use of a 1/2" balanced dome tweeter. At home in a surround sound setup or as a dorm room speaker, the diminutive size allows for unlimited placement options. Best of all, it fits your budget. Sold in pairs.

Specifications: • Power handling: 100W RMS • Impedance: 8 ohms • Frequency response: 48-20,000 Hz • Sensitivity: 88 dB 2.83V/1m • Dimensions: 10-1/2" H x 6-1/2" W x 8-1/2" D.



Product Specifications
  • Input Rating8 ohm
  • Woofer Diameter5-1/4"
  • Configuration2-way
  • ColorBlack
MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair
  • BrandMTX Audio
  • ModelMonitor 5i
  • Part Number302-019
  • UPC715442650422
  • Product CategoryBookshelf Speakers
  • Unit of MeasurePR
  • Product Rating
    (23 Reviews)
  • Weight12 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair
in the Bookshelf Speakers product category.

Reviews

MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair
MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair is rated 3.9565 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small mod makes these good speakers GREAT!!I bought a set of these MTX 5i speakers for my computer. Before I bought these I had read all the reviews. I decided that I would buy the 1.5uf caps and the damping sheet (Part Number 268-030) with the speakers and do the suggested mods right away. After changing the caps and adding sound damping to the inside bottom I thought that the highs were a bit too high. I went and looked at the caps I pulled out and noticed that they were not the 3.3uf caps that the other reviews referenced. Instead they were 3.9uf caps. I can only figure that MTX changed the tweeter. Anyways I ordered a few other caps and tested with them and settled on a 2.7uf non polarized capacitor (Part Number 027-326).In the end I changed the original 3.9uf caps with 2.7uf caps (PN 027-326). And added a half a damping sheet (PN 268-030) to the inside bottom of each speaker. Using a heat gun to heat the damping sheet before applying will ensure that it will stick good and forms well inside.As good as they sound straight from factory (I thought they were a little muddy) they truly do sound better with a couple of easy mods. (A soldering Iron and heat gun make it even easier and more professional but is not an absolute must.) I would have to say that after the mods they sound better than the much more expensive Roland DM 20 Digital speakers that they replaced.Bottom Line: If you are looking for a great sounding speaker on a budget the MTX 5i is definitely worth the money. The mods only increase the price a few dollars and take an hour of your time. Well worth it.Open your mind and let the music flow,Peace Out!
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the moneyI just received these yesterday, so they haven't had a proper break-in yet. First impressions, they were a bit smaller than I thought they would be. I wasn't expecting big sound to come out of these, but once I hooked em up and let em rip, they do put out a lot of sound and bass for a small size. Great imaging and nice highs and lows on these, though I imagine the crossover mod would make these sound much better (this is why I gave a 3 on features). Total steal for the price, they sound better than most in this price range. They will sound better after a full break-in.Thanks PE for a great value and customer service as always.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sounds Great with mods...I agree with DJ Cue on his mod suggestions. The 1.5 uF cap replacement makes the highs sparkle. I'm glad I read his review and ordered the caps at the same time. Bass response is definitely lacking so they need a powered sub for a minimum system. This is how I have mine set up for computer audio and they sound great, no EQ needed. With the DJ Cue mod, these would work great for rear channels in a 5.1 or 7.1 system.
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A slight modification will give improvement!Just by replacing them with a 1.5 100v non-polarized capacitor (027-322), and adding a vinyl sound damping sheet (268-030) to just the bottom of the speaker cabinet will do the job! Now remember that's 2 capacitors, and 1 sound damping sheet (cut into 2 pieces). The outcome is monitor speakers sounding as good and compatible with others on the market ranging around $400 dollars! This slight modification will save you money without buying a crossover. Trust me! This will work for you, and will truly give you accurate results! Now remember! The tweeters will become finer in sound, not higher! The woofer is actually a mid-woofer! So, there is enough mids' and bass for these monitors! Sorry that there are those that doubt this will work. For example the person that mentions -this will make "you highs" jump through the roof, which is a misspelled sentence and shows an amateur like review! The fact is you have to understand enhancements made for all types of speakers and in different environments. For those that are inexperienced and want a lesson in true sound, this will improve your monitor speakers on a budget! Hopefully, the reviewer before me will try this idea before giving his "2 cents" and will learn from a professional that builds custom-made speakers for a living. Trust me! It will work for you!
Date published: 2010-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Legit info on thesealright speakers. and this is for they guy that recommended the 1.5 uF over the stock 3.3 uF capacitor, With all do respect, but that is the worst idea I have ever heard, that would just make you highs jump through the roof and eliminate you mid frequency to some terrible muffled low end, but the sound dampening is never a bad idea. another thing, put some acoustic foam underneath and your bottom end will tighten up. For all that are concerned about the mid-range, I would say buy cross overs or more expensively buy an equalizer (not my first choice).
Date published: 2010-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for any price!!!I have had the speakers in place for about a week now, and they are great for the price. Previous reviews are correct that the midrange does get washed out. I ordered the parts from the first review to modify them, but then found a decent EQ setting that brought out the mid-range to a goo level for now. I highly recommend these for small applications where you are not looking for all out performance.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a steal with a slight modification!I actually encouraged my friend to purchase these speakers for his professional home studio. When he finally received them we noticed that the midrange would overwhelm the lower base and highs. I concluded that this was being caused by the tweeters, not the woofers. Now, i've been an audiophile and studio engineer for many years and basically this only took a slight modification from my part. When looking into the problem, I noticed that these speakers come with a 3.3 100v non-polarized capacitor for the tweeters. Just by replacing them with a 1.5 100v non-polarized capacitor (027-322), and adding a vinyl sound damping sheet (268-030) to just the bottom of the speaker cabinet will do the job! Now remember that's 2 capacitors, and 1 sound damping sheet (cut into 2 pieces). The outcome is monitor speakers sounding as good and compatible with others on the market ranging around $400 dollars! This slight modification will save you money without buying a crossover. Trust me! This will work for you, and will truly give you accurate results!
Date published: 2009-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice basic bookshelf speakersNice finish and well put together. I don't think you can beat the sound quality for the price. You would be hard pressed to beat the sound quality for twice the price. They are budget speakers though. They do not have the bottom end you need for movies unless you have a subwoofer. The sound is pleasing, but not colorless. Binding posts would be preferable to spring clips. I am quite happy with these speakers.
Date published: 2009-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has true potentialI own 2 pair connected to an Onkyo stereo receiver in a shop. The components of this speaker are of good quality but the sound produced has too much midrange. This can be tamed somewhat with an eq or a receiver that offers a loudness function. As an earlier review indicated, this speaker lacks a true 2-way crossover which is not a surprise considering the price. Special thanks to that reviewer for including his upgrade information. If you want the most from these speakers, I would highly recommend spending the extra $25+ for the crossovers. Will be making this upgrade myself soon and fully expect the performance to improve from the "out of the box" 1 star rating I gave it.
Date published: 2009-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sounding surroundThese MTX 5i make for an exelent surround speaker with enough sound that the surround effects really pop.Plus they are timbre matched perfectly with the rest of the MTX family the MTX Center 6C the book shelf MTX 60i as a set they sound very good and will complement any system.They will also do well for a small 2 channel book shelf stereo system for a bedroom or dorm.Good build quality.
Date published: 2009-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great performance for the moneyI bought MTX audio monitor speakers (10" woofer, 6" mid and 2" tweeter) a few years back for 2 channel stereo only, and used small satellites from Polk for surround sound. After adding an MTX 12" sub-woofer I decided to finish out the MTX set and bought the center channel next and was very pleased. Then I bought the bookshelf for the rear surround speakers. So, I reccomend these to finish a complete surround set up, but not for main listening speakers; they just don't have the power to stand alone. Otherwise, great to complete an MTX set up.
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value, needs proper x-over to perform wellI've been a long time PE customer and have bought many products over the years. I was looking to upgrade the hodge-podge of speakers I have in the bedroom surround sound system. I purchased 2 pairs of these and one MTX Monitor 6C. The Center channel comes with a full x-over complete with inductors and caps. The Monitor 5i has a single cap in series with the tweeter. The sound in stock form is really mid-rangey and harsh. EQ can correct it to a certain extent, but there are also phasing issues. I bought 4 PE 3.5KHz 2-Way X-Overs (260-146) and installed them. I made an educated guess on the X-Over Freq and also accounted for the insertion loss on the Woofer side of things and hoped they would tame the midrange. They corrected all the problems with the speakers and made them sound really good. I was shocked. Even the wife could easily tell the difference.I wish MTX would upgrade the X-overs in the Monitor 5i and charge another $15-$20 a pair. It would be worthwhile upgrade.
Date published: 2009-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Car Audio UsagePlaced these in the door of a 2000volvos40 as a part of a 3waycomponent crossed over @ 600htz adds a ton of bass to the front stage of the car along with the speakers in the dash from the dayton center channel high passed at 600ish. Pushed buy my MAAUDIO amp these sound great. Not sure if they handle 100rms in a door though
Date published: 2009-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for Home TheaterI used these for my rear surround speakers on my 7.1 system. Good full sound from a two way speaker. Bummer there is no mounting fasteners at all, not even a nail hole. I had to drill in my own custom brackets. But they look good and sound good. Nice with or without speaker covers.
Date published: 2008-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better then the restI bought 4 of these for a surround setup, I have to say these speakers offer the warmest, most crisp sound in my opinion compared to all of the other 2 way speakers you can find on this site, including the dayton audio kits. I recommend these above all the others.
Date published: 2008-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOOKS BIGGER IN THE PICTURE (STILL NICE THOUGH)BAUGHT THESE FOR MY MOTHER'S PIONEER SURROUND ALONG WITH A DAYTON CENTER AND THEY SOUND NICE. I DIDN'T PUSH THEM HARD YET AND NEITHER WILL SHE.THEY LOOK NICE. AND PLAY QUITE CLEARLY ON MOVIE SOUNDTRACKS.
Date published: 2007-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best bag for the buck that I've gotten in a whileI bought 2 sets of these to go with the matching center and monitors, to complete my 7.1 set up. All bought thru Parts Express (good job and fast shipping). So far I am happy with my purchase. Looking and listening to other speaker sets near this price, I would of spent $300 more for a complete 7.1 with the sound just a hair better then these have. I believe MTX found a sweat spot in cost effective quality. Movies are crisp and music is smooth with good midbass response. As home theater surrounds these 5i's really pop the sound into the room it was unexpected at first. But it was welcome.
Date published: 2007-11-26
  • 2015-03-28T06:59CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_302-019, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: MTX Monitor 5i 5-1/4" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software