260-332_ALT_1.jpg
260-332_ALT_1.jpg
 
260-332_ALT_0
 
260-332_ALT_1
 

Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

Brand:|
Product Video
Overview
Thicker and blacker than our regular standard grill cloth, Mellotone® premium black stretch grill cloth is the perfect material for restoring older speaker cabinets, as well as putting the finishing touch on new custom projects.
Highlights
  • Approximately twice the thickness of our standard grill cloth
  • Acoustically transparent
  • Will pass the ASTM E-84 flame test with a Class A rating
  • 64" wide and sold by the linear yard
  • Made in USA
Part # 
260-332
Weight: 0.75 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$34.99
You Save30%
Your Price
$24.50
Buy 6-11 $22.80
Buy 12-up$19.75
Part # 260-332
Qty:  YD
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

Mellotone® premium black stretch grill cloth is approximately twice the thickness of our standard grill cloth. It features a unique open-weave construction that allows you to choose from two different appearances for your grill—one side offers a smoother look while the other is slightly more textured. It's virtually 100% acoustically transparent and will pass the ASTM E-84 flame test with a Class A rating, as well as the UL 6500 pill test. Made in USA. 64" wide and sold by the linear yard. Note: Actual roll width may vary from 68"-70".

"Guaranteed to be the Blackest Shade of Black!"




Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide
  • BrandMellotone
  • Part Number260-332
  • UPC844632088209
  • Product CategorySpeaker Grill Cloth & Fabric
  • Unit of MeasureYD
  • Product Rating
    (26 Reviews)
  • Weight0.75 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide
in the Speaker Grill Cloth & Fabric product category.

Reviews

Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide
Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide is rated 4.7308 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great productI bought this last week and installed it on my custom speaker frames over the weekend. It looks great and was super easy to install. The color is a deep black and you can tell it's a high quality product.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is excellent speaker grill cloth.bought a pair of vintage speakers with no grill. paired this with the grill frame kit am very satisfied
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Renewing the oldInfinity speakers of yesterday are nothing like todays build. I recently bought a pair of Monitor Audio Silver speakers, list price $2,200. I decided to compare the worn-out looking 1984 Infinity Reference Studio Monitor (RSM's) speakers to the new pair. Hands down, the Infinity blew the doors off of the Monitor Audio speakers. They are driven by Bob Carver's Phase Linear Model 400, Series Two amplifier delivering 200 watts per channel. So I decided to make them look like new. I veneered them in Cherry with a custom dark stain and replaced the grill cloth with the number one recommended Mellotone grill cloth. The Infinity logo badging attaches to the front of the grill with a tie-tack push pin. The cloth is so durable and thick, there was resistance pushing the pin through the fabric. After set-up and auditioning the new looking speakers, it was quite evident the cloth did not hamper the sound in any way. Parts Express, thanks for distributing such a wonderful product.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Extra CostHarder to cut and work with than the cheaper stuff, (Part #260-335) but worth the extra effort. End result looks totally professional. Why build a top quality speaker system with cheap speaker cloth that will rip and/or fade after a few years?
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent grill clothI purchased this to redo a couple of Dahlquist DQ-10 speakers. The material was extremely easy to work with. I was able to stretch it and remove any and all wrinkles with little effort. The finished product looks like the speakers came that way from the factory. The high frequencies come through perfectly.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent QualityUsed in several cabinet doors in media credenza - looks great.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great clothI Have two speaker box's I need to cover and this cloth is exactly what I was looking for.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the extra $You can buy cheaper material but this is worth the extra dollar or two per speaker. Because it is strong, it is easy to work with.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lookingVery deep black and actually has a subtle tesselation when you look closely.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you get what you pay forOther materials are thin and flimsy, this is nice thick quality, easy to work with, great finished product. I especially like the attenion to customer service from these guys, I can't put my finger on 1 thing particuolar, but they make you feel welcomed and secure in your purchase. I like the little welcome gift and catalog they send, most companies are to cheap !
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb FabricPerfect texture and blackness for a speaker fabric. The shinier, finer textured side is the back side, in my view. Install with the coarser textured side facing out and your speakers will look great.A bit more expensive than other fabrics but well worth it for this product that is made in the USA. It doesn't get any better than this in my opinion.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly as a fabric cover for a PA powered speakerI'm a professional musician and I needed to "dress up" my well-used but still great sounding JBL Eon 15P-1 for when I do wedding gigs and other formal events.JBL didn't have the fabric cover for my speaker in stock, so I had to sew one together myself using the Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Cloth for the front and windbreaker-quality nylon for the sides and back.For my purpose, it worked perfectly. The fabric is very dark black and "disappears" in a dark setting so the focus is on me the musician. :-) And in brightly-lit situations, the Mellotone cloth adds a touch of class. It definitely screams quality!At the end of the night when I pack my equipment, I gently fold my fabric speaker cover and at the next gig I unfold it and it's completely wrinkle free.This probably not was its intended use, but so far it's working great for me!
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High qualityA very substantial thick fabric, thick, high quality, true black, drapes well, stretches evenly, strong (does not tear at staples).
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Misleading pictureGrill cloth has less texture and more gloss finish then presented in the picture view
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for our applicationThis fabric is being used to cover acoustic panelsrequiring ESTM class A fire rating by the customer.Very good acoustic transparency yet visually opaque covering light colored panels whereas basic stretch knit is not as forgiving .Actually 70" width -63 yards ordered and arrived in two days .R DalbecDalbec audio
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value, Great LookThis product really put the finished touch to my Home Theater. Easily cuts with scissor, used hot glue and a few staples. Just enough stretch to make a tight, I used the rougher texture side because the shiny side did not appeal to me. I covered klipsch W-5502 speakers left, right and center channel (Before and After photos below). The finished product looked professionally installed. I will buy again in a heartbeat.
Date published: 2011-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black as black gets..As previously reviewed, no purple, or brown or greyish tintat all; just black. Tight, sturdy weave.Not cheap, but this is a case of "get what you pay for".This will go on every project!!
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Price, Good Product, Good service.Recently, I bought the Black Mellotone Grill Cloth. I ordered one yard @ 64" wide. This was enough to recover 3 Peavey 2X12" Combo Amps. Very nice material, Thick and easy to work with. I also used an off-white piping around the the Peavey grill frame and did away with Peavey's hidious vertical, Aluminum side Mouldings. I straightened the Peavey logo out against the jet-black new grill and You would not believe the difference in appearence! Beautiful!
Date published: 2011-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good QualityVery Black with no purple sheen. Easily cuts with cheapo scissors. Just enough stretch to to make a tight, good-looking grill. I used the rougher texture side showing out which is a less shiny and went better with my living room decor. Would buy again.
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive, but worth itThis is very high quality cloth. It is dead black, thick and strong, but has very good acoustical transparency.
Date published: 2010-11-29
  • 2015-07-02T07:30CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_260-332, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

Is it possible to buy 2 and 1/4 yards? I need like 72" of material, and at $24 a yard, 30 " is a lot of waste.

Asked by: mrgary321
I am sorry we are only able to sell this by the full yard
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2015-04-08

I have cabinet doors in a new house that need speaker cloth? We intend to build frame, cover it with speaker cloth and mount it in doors. Is this fabric suitable? How does it compare to Mellotone's Speaker Grill Cloth Fabric Black Yard 36" Wide?

Asked by: DRuby
This will work well for that application. The difference between this and the premium is the thickness, the premium cloth is about twice as thick as the standard.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-17

I will be using a thin-bead line of glue to affix this Mellotone Speaker Grill cloth to a frame that is composed of MDF. What glue / adhesive is best to use? I DO NOT WANT A SPRAY!

Asked by: MeHimJim
We recommend standard hot glue for this type of application.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-10

Does this product come in gray?

Asked by: Robbin
The Mellotone Premium cloth is only available in black, but we do have standard grill cloth available in gray below.http://www.parts-express.com/speaker-grill-cloth-gray-yard-70-wide--260-337
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-07

How do I order it in linear feet as cannot tell if I order 3 if I get 3 three yard packages or 1 nine foot roll?

Asked by: av man
One yard is 3 feet, so this is only available in 3 foot increments. If you order a quantity of 3, you will get 9 feet of cloth.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-31

How strong & stretch resistant? Hoping to sew up tote bags for small powered monitors (10"x8"x7", 12 lbs ea), to be taken to a location, placed under furniture, hooked up, then start playing (remaining in their bags, unnoticed). Will this work?

Asked by: helpmepleeze
Thanks for your question.I believe you are asking a question that would be best answered by offering you a sample. Please contact our Customer Service department for a small sample.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2014-12-08

Do you know this fabric's NRC anechoic termination? It should be a number from 0 to 1.0. Thanks.

Asked by: dankdank
I am sorry, this is not a specification that Mellotone supplies.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-05-16

Is this visually transparent?  I would like to use this around my projection screen and will have speakers to the sides of the screen in the wall behind this fabric.  Will I see the speakers and framing?

Asked by: DevonS
This can be see-through if the area behind it is lighter in color or rear-lit. If everything behind this is black or a dark shade it will be very difficult to see through this cloth.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

Is this Mellotone material as accoustically transparent as the thinner grill fabric you sell?  I'm looking for a product to cover a false wall in a home theater room.  My center channel will be behind the wall just below the projection screen. 

Asked by: KeithT
Yes this is also 100% acoustically transparent and its a popular choice for this application.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-20

ANy chance of getting a sample of the black, brown and the white?

Asked by: CharlieT
We do offer samples of our carpets and grill cloth. You will have to call our sales department at 800-338-0531 in order to get samples.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-12-17

Would this material take well to acrylic paints?

I'm exploring different grill materials that I can airbrush with acrylic paints. For example. untreated polyester is easily painted and durable (after heat curing). Is it reasonable to assume that this may take well to paint? For the cost I'm willing to experiment, but might as well ask ahead of purchase. I also understand that acoustic transparency will be somewhat compromised by the paint, but that's fine for my application.
Asked by: Meat PoPsiclez
I think since the grill cloth & your paint contain polymers that react to solvents that I would buy a yard and test it first.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-10-10

was this product sold already in 2007?

Back then I purchase a speaker cloth that sounds familiar to this Mellotone cloth, I need order more to match the existing speakers but no sure if this was the item I purchasedThank you
Asked by: jairoson
Yes, it was sold but dye loots, fading and other slight changes would discount a perfect match. Come close.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-05-30

Is this material waterproof?

Looking for a material that is waterproof to cover speakers in the lid of motorcycle saddlebags.
Asked by: metal
No it is not.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-08-28

will the mellotone cloth allow signals from tv or dvd remotes to pass through

Asked by: stunted
I would not count on it. Best to use an IR repeater for reliable control.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2013-02-07

Can I buy 40" x 64" (just over a yard. ) ? What would the cost be for that quantity?

Mellotone Premium Black speaker grill cloth Yard, 64" wide. I need 40". 36" is not enough!
Asked by: Dwayne
This product (and all our grill cloth, in fact) is sold by the linear yard, not by fractions of a yard. You can order one yard, two yards, and so forth, but not one and a half or anything similar. In your case, you would need to buy two yards of fabric.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-10-24

Ordering Question

I need a piece of this fabric about 48" x 84". If I place an order for a quantity of three yards, will I receive one continuous piece of fabric? (That is, not three separate one-yard pieces...) thanks!
Asked by: BillyIL
Yes, if your order more than one yard, the product will be delivered in one continuous piece, not multiple pieces of one yard each.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-10-24

smaller piece

I just need a piece about 28" x 9" (about 1/6 the smallest size you sell).Can I get a smaller piece than 64 x 36?
Asked by: clagger
The minimum size that we sell this product in is 36" by 64".
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2011-03-09
  • 2015-07-02T09:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_260-332, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software