260-332_ALT_1.jpg
260-332_ALT_1.jpg
 
260-332_ALT_0
 
260-332_ALT_1
 

Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

Brand:|
Product Video
Overview
Thicker and blacker than our regular standard grill cloth, Mellotone® premium black stretch grill cloth is the perfect material for restoring older speaker cabinets, as well as putting the finishing touch on new custom projects.
Highlights
  • Approximately twice the thickness of our standard grill cloth
  • Acoustically transparent
  • Will pass the ASTM E-84 flame test with a Class A rating
  • 64" wide and sold by the linear yard
  • Made in USA
Part # 
260-332
Weight: 0.75 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$34.99
You Save29%
Your Price
$24.50
Buy 6-11 $22.80
Buy 12-up$19.75
Part # 260-332
Qty:  YD
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

Mellotone® premium black stretch grill cloth is approximately twice the thickness of our standard grill cloth. It features a unique open-weave construction that allows you to choose from two different appearances for your grill—one side offers a smoother look while the other is slightly more textured. It's virtually 100% acoustically transparent and will pass the ASTM E-84 flame test with a Class A rating, as well as the UL 6500 pill test. Made in USA. 64" wide and sold by the linear yard. Note: Actual roll width may vary from 68"-70".

"Guaranteed to be the Blackest Shade of Black!"




Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide
  • BrandMellotone
  • Part Number260-332
  • UPC844632088209
  • Product CategorySpeaker Grill Cloth & Fabric
  • Unit of MeasureYD
  • Product Rating
    (23 Reviews)
  • Weight0.75 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide
in the Speaker Grill Cloth & Fabric product category.

Reviews

Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide
Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide is rated 4.6957 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Extra CostHarder to cut and work with than the cheaper stuff, (Part #260-335) but worth the extra effort. End result looks totally professional. Why build a top quality speaker system with cheap speaker cloth that will rip and/or fade after a few years?
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent grill clothI purchased this to redo a couple of Dahlquist DQ-10 speakers. The material was extremely easy to work with. I was able to stretch it and remove any and all wrinkles with little effort. The finished product looks like the speakers came that way from the factory. The high frequencies come through perfectly.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent QualityUsed in several cabinet doors in media credenza - looks great.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great clothI Have two speaker box's I need to cover and this cloth is exactly what I was looking for.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the extra $You can buy cheaper material but this is worth the extra dollar or two per speaker. Because it is strong, it is easy to work with.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lookingVery deep black and actually has a subtle tesselation when you look closely.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you get what you pay forOther materials are thin and flimsy, this is nice thick quality, easy to work with, great finished product. I especially like the attenion to customer service from these guys, I can't put my finger on 1 thing particuolar, but they make you feel welcomed and secure in your purchase. I like the little welcome gift and catalog they send, most companies are to cheap !
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb FabricPerfect texture and blackness for a speaker fabric. The shinier, finer textured side is the back side, in my view. Install with the coarser textured side facing out and your speakers will look great.A bit more expensive than other fabrics but well worth it for this product that is made in the USA. It doesn't get any better than this in my opinion.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly as a fabric cover for a PA powered speakerI'm a professional musician and I needed to "dress up" my well-used but still great sounding JBL Eon 15P-1 for when I do wedding gigs and other formal events.JBL didn't have the fabric cover for my speaker in stock, so I had to sew one together myself using the Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Cloth for the front and windbreaker-quality nylon for the sides and back.For my purpose, it worked perfectly. The fabric is very dark black and "disappears" in a dark setting so the focus is on me the musician. :-) And in brightly-lit situations, the Mellotone cloth adds a touch of class. It definitely screams quality!At the end of the night when I pack my equipment, I gently fold my fabric speaker cover and at the next gig I unfold it and it's completely wrinkle free.This probably not was its intended use, but so far it's working great for me!
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High qualityA very substantial thick fabric, thick, high quality, true black, drapes well, stretches evenly, strong (does not tear at staples).
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Misleading pictureGrill cloth has less texture and more gloss finish then presented in the picture view
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for our applicationThis fabric is being used to cover acoustic panelsrequiring ESTM class A fire rating by the customer.Very good acoustic transparency yet visually opaque covering light colored panels whereas basic stretch knit is not as forgiving .Actually 70" width -63 yards ordered and arrived in two days .R DalbecDalbec audio
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value, Great LookThis product really put the finished touch to my Home Theater. Easily cuts with scissor, used hot glue and a few staples. Just enough stretch to make a tight, I used the rougher texture side because the shiny side did not appeal to me. I covered klipsch W-5502 speakers left, right and center channel (Before and After photos below). The finished product looked professionally installed. I will buy again in a heartbeat.
Date published: 2011-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black as black gets..As previously reviewed, no purple, or brown or greyish tintat all; just black. Tight, sturdy weave.Not cheap, but this is a case of "get what you pay for".This will go on every project!!
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Price, Good Product, Good service.Recently, I bought the Black Mellotone Grill Cloth. I ordered one yard @ 64" wide. This was enough to recover 3 Peavey 2X12" Combo Amps. Very nice material, Thick and easy to work with. I also used an off-white piping around the the Peavey grill frame and did away with Peavey's hidious vertical, Aluminum side Mouldings. I straightened the Peavey logo out against the jet-black new grill and You would not believe the difference in appearence! Beautiful!
Date published: 2011-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good QualityVery Black with no purple sheen. Easily cuts with cheapo scissors. Just enough stretch to to make a tight, good-looking grill. I used the rougher texture side showing out which is a less shiny and went better with my living room decor. Would buy again.
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive, but worth itThis is very high quality cloth. It is dead black, thick and strong, but has very good acoustical transparency.
Date published: 2010-11-29

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

was this product sold already in 2007?

Back then I purchase a speaker cloth that sounds familiar to this Mellotone cloth, I need order more to match the existing speakers but no sure if this was the item I purchasedThank you
Asked by: jairoson
Yes, it was sold but dye loots, fading and other slight changes would discount a perfect match. Come close.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-05-30

Is this material waterproof?

Looking for a material that is waterproof to cover speakers in the lid of motorcycle saddlebags.
Asked by: metal
No it is not.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-08-28

will the mellotone cloth allow signals from tv or dvd remotes to pass through

Asked by: stunted
I would not count on it. Best to use an IR repeater for reliable control.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2013-02-07

Can I buy 40" x 64" (just over a yard. ) ? What would the cost be for that quantity?

Mellotone Premium Black speaker grill cloth Yard, 64" wide. I need 40". 36" is not enough!
Asked by: Dwayne
This product (and all our grill cloth, in fact) is sold by the linear yard, not by fractions of a yard. You can order one yard, two yards, and so forth, but not one and a half or anything similar. In your case, you would need to buy two yards of fabric.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-10-24

Ordering Question

I need a piece of this fabric about 48" x 84". If I place an order for a quantity of three yards, will I receive one continuous piece of fabric? (That is, not three separate one-yard pieces...) thanks!
Asked by: BillyIL
Yes, if your order more than one yard, the product will be delivered in one continuous piece, not multiple pieces of one yard each.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-10-24

smaller piece

I just need a piece about 28" x 9" (about 1/6 the smallest size you sell).Can I get a smaller piece than 64 x 36?
Asked by: clagger
The minimum size that we sell this product in is 36" by 64".
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2011-03-09

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Mellotone Premium Black Speaker Grill Cloth Yard 64" Wide

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software