Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book

Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book

Overview
More comprehensive and featuring a wealth of new material, the 7th edition of the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook is a must-have for new speaker builders as well as owners of previous editions of the Cookbook.
Highlights
  • Everything you need to become a better speaker designer
  • Build your dream speaker for home, car, or home theater
  • Plans for a complete home theater system and a studio monitor
  • A major study on cabinet diffraction and reflection
  • An exploration of how to produce linear behavior with low distortion in woofers
  • Tips & tweaks to ensure a great-sounding speaker in the new chapter on "Loudspeaker Voicing"
  • An updated look at the latest loudspeaker design and room interfacing software products
Part # 
500-035
Weight: 1.65 lbs.  
OUT OF STOCK
Awaiting Updated Due Date
List Price$39.95
You Save15%
Your Price
$33.95
Part # 500-035
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book
Now in the 7th edition! More comprehensive and featuring a wealth of new material, the 7th edition of the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook is a must-have for new speaker builders as well as owners of previous editions of the Cookbook. Copyright 2005.


Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book
  • BrandParts Express
  • Part Number500-035
  • UPC9781882580477
  • Product CategorySpeaker Design Books
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (24 Reviews)
  • Weight1.65 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

Speaker Building 201 Book
Part # 500-044
View similar products to the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book
in the Speaker Design Books product category.

Reviews

Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book
Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book is rated 3.9167 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Your gonna need LinearX LEAP!This book overwhelmingly refers to LinearX software that cost anywhere from 700 to 1500 dollars.They give you a post card you can mail off for LDC7 design suite software, but if the book references LinearX and SpeaD I'm not sure how it's gonna help.This book most certainly for a Advanced speaker builder.
Date published: 2010-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Good I Had To Buy A Second Copy!I loaned out my earlier version of this book to a co-worker a few years back and just had to get the updated one for my library. It is just plain good reading and filled with many examples and ideas to help spur your own perfect speaker project. A true must for your reference library.
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ReadThe book is involved. It's not for the beginner, however, with research the beginner can get up to speed with terms and use this book to build the system they need. Price is good compared to list, but found for half the sale price elsewhere a day later.
Date published: 2009-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WharrgarbllI have come to the opinion that this book was authored by someone to impress his pals rather than to teach the masses.
Date published: 2009-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best next level book to add to ones collectionA very descriptive book that will take someone to the next level. Begineers might find it difficult to follow or understand, but a great book that would complete someones understanding on speaker building. I would very highly recommend this book as a addition to anyone ready for the next step and a must have for anyone who wants to take speaker building serously or just to have a better understanding.
Date published: 2009-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too complicated for amateur.It seems to demonstrate results of empirical tests.
Date published: 2009-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cookbook is Missing RecipeIf this were a food cookbook, it would contain lots of information about the ingredients and forget to tell you how to prepare the meal. I was expecting a step-by-step approach to speaker building, but it s missing critical steps in order to accomplish this task. I m a degreed electronic engineer and I still can perform basic calculus, Laplace and network analysis, but this book left baffled (pun intended). In high school, I remember a student testing a speaker for free air resonance and testing in a one cubic foot box to calculate alpha. This technique wasn t discussed and it appears they want you to do the analysis with the software tools mentioned. This book may be a good reference if you already know how to design speaker systems, but I can t recommend it for learing the fundamentals.
Date published: 2009-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow what a productI am not impressed with his book in the least I could write a much better book on speaker design it really does not cover anything practical or even any topic on building a speaker, also the hokey transmission line design is a joke, this book would be fine for someone who is just starting to learn about speaker building theory, other than that it is just expensive toilet paper! Not worth the money.You could do much better at your local library..
Date published: 2008-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great productWonderful book
Date published: 2008-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good for moderate userI purchased this book in an effort to better my speaker designing. I have professionally designed and built several theaters and speaker systems. I was hoping this book could give me advanced details I couldn't find elsewhere. I found the specific studies interesting with my technical background, but all of the graphs were cumbersome to follow. The "free" software is useless to the advanced builder. Overall I would recommend this book for someone with a technical background and some designing experience, but not for the novice or advanced designer.
Date published: 2008-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Companion software disappointingThe book has lots of detailed information and charts with most aspects of speaker design. If you are looking for specific answers to specific questions, it is tough to sift through the material. I decided to order this 7th edition for about $33 instead of the 6th Ed from another vendor for about $11. The main reason for spending the extra money was that the 7th Ed. included some free software. The software disk has been very disappointing so far. It is not very friendly, not well integrated with the text, and not as useful as I had hoped. Looking back I should have ordered the 6th Ed for about $11.
Date published: 2008-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very HelpfulThis book is a real eye opener. I had always wanted to take my building to the next level and this book is the key. It covers a lot of information including on axis response, group delays and more. Buyer beware, this is not for the newbie. There will be a lot of terms you need to learn before picking up this book.
Date published: 2008-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Allot of information but very hard to understandI have been reading this book for couple of days now.It look like it have every thing needed to build betterspeaker, but will you be able to understand it ?. I find itvery hard to understand .
Date published: 2008-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for Beginners!I hate to rate this book this low. From what I understand it's likely excellent for those who understand Theory at least at a moderate level. If you're a beginner you'll be in the dark from beginning to end. Buy the Roy Alden book and come back to this later.
Date published: 2007-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very thorough, a bit daunting for the beginnerThis is the first speaker building book I've read, and I am a complete beginner to design. The book is strong on detailed scientific discussion about drivers, box design, crossovers, and using software to optimize all facets of speaker design and building. While the writing can be too technical for a novice like myself who has no background in electrical engineering, I've found this book useful by supplementing it with an intro to electronics book and resources on the net. I recommend this book for beginners only if you are willing to study some other, more general texts at the same time and look for background info on the net. I'm sure the experienced designer will find the thoroughness of Mr. Dickason's writing and research to be extremely valuable, and I can't imagine there are many designers who wouldn't learn a few useful things here.I've only glanced at the two projects the end of the book, but he seems to apply the theory in a way that is very useful to understanding the earlier subjects.A couple of small issues: the author has a habit of using certain terms well before he defines them, and there is no glossary or index. Overall, this book has made me more excited about designing my own speakers, even if at times I feel like I'm in above my head.
Date published: 2007-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Information But Charts Hard to readThe information is good and each edition gets a little better than the last. I find the writing more useful than the graphs. The graphs are small and done in black and white. I find most of them unable to read because the solid and dashed lines look too similar. I'd pay twice as much for the book if they'd just do the graphs in color.
Date published: 2007-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Updated version is worth it!The 6th edition got me started and on solid ground. The 7th edition has added features to increase your knowledge. I recommend this book for the amateur and novice DIYer.
Date published: 2007-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bookThis was a really good book, it had plenty of information. There was a big chapter on speaker design, chapters on box building(sealed, ported, passive radiator, transmission line). Though this isn't for beginners, because it is complicated. And you must have windows excel for the LD7 software.
Date published: 2007-05-29
  • 2015-07-04T07:23CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_500-035, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software