Lepai 2.1 2x40W Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
Lepai 2.1 2x40W Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
 
310-308_ALT_0
 
310-308_ALT_1
 

Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

Brand:| Model: LP-168HA
Product Video
Overview
Looking for a simple 2.1 amplifier? The Lepai LP-168AH offers audio power output for a pair of stereo speakers, along with a dedicated subwoofer output. Perfect for computer sound systems!
Highlights
  • Perfect amplifier for computer desks
  • Stereo speaker and dedicated subwoofer amplifier
  • Rear-mounted USB charging port
  • Bass, treble, and subwoofer crossover controls
  • Stereo RCA and stereo 3.5 mm inputs
Part # 
310-308
Weight: 1.75 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Regular Price$29.00
Sale Price
$27.82
Part # 310-308
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

Lepai's LP-168AH 2.1 amplifier is the perfect computer partner—it provides up to 40 watts of power output to stereo speakers, in combination with a second dedicated subwoofer output capable of up to 68 watts of amplifier output.

Bass, treble, and volume controls on the front of the amplifier let you adjust your music for the best possible sound from your speakers. The discrete subwoofer output is controlled separately from the stereo output, with controls for level adjustment and crossover adjustment found on the amplifier's face.

Audio source connectivity is provided via a front-mounted stereo 3.5 mm jack, or a stereo pair of RCA jacks on the rear of the amplifier. A rear-mounted USB port enables charging of devices such as smartphones and MP3 players. The wide input voltage range of 9 to 14.4 VDC allows the LP-168AH to be used in automotive or mobile applications. A 12VDC, 4A power supply is included.

Specifications: • Stereo power output: 2 x 40W max (power output dependent upon power supply) • Subwoofer power output: 1 x 68W max (power output dependent upon power supply) • Power requirements: 9 to 14.4 VDC, 5A • DC power input jack: 2.1 mm x 5.5 mm • Bass and treble control • Stable down to 2 ohms • Minimum THD: <1% • Signal-to-noise ratio: >80 dB • Frequency response: 20-20,000 Hz • Adjustable subwoofer crossover: 50-200 Hz • Dimensions (including mounting flange): 7" W x 4" L x 1-3/4" H.



Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
  • BrandLepai
  • ModelLP-168HA
  • Part Number310-308
  • UPC844632091506
  • Product CategoryHome Audio Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (48 Reviews)
  • Weight1.75 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
in the Home Audio Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output is rated 4.0833 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertisedHave only had this for about a week but it sounds great. Took a little bit of tweaking with the sub volume, x over and the Treble / Bass to get it to my liking.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from like others have said - you get what you pay forFor a 30 dollar amplifier this thing does surprisingly well. But you won't confuse this with something costing more money.My unit also has the subwoofer outputs that rumble like mad. Not sure if this is a DC offset problem or something else. I might crack it open to see if there are any adjustments inside. At this point the sub outputs seem unusable. Also the subwoofer controls are completely separate, so any volume changes would need to be done on the input signal, not at the amp volume control, or you'll have to change both the main and sub output levels.The product manual in the box is 100% in Chinese, which isn't a problem in itself. The problem comes when the manual linked from the product page really doesn't describe this unit.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Subwoofer Amp Makes A Rumbling SoundI bought this amp along time ago, and it's going to be replaced with something better ssuch as the Dayton Audio SUB-800 for deeper bass. I have had it over time, it was great when I first got it, today and yesterday it's making a scary rumbling sound that irritates me alot and gives me a headache and I have to bump it back it place to get rid of it. Good thing it does not hum or buzz, but still it makes that annoying rumble effect and when you touch the trimmer pot it makes a loud popping sound sometimes. It seems that the trimmer resistor on the front is wearing out and I am due to buy another one soon for my DIY subwoofer projects. The sub that I have did not produce deep enough bass vs the other subwoofer I have with my living room stereo and bedroom stereo. I wish that this amp would be improved with better potentiometer controls instead of trimpots for the subwoofer amp and crossover.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from work in progressI have purchased a number of products from Lepai and found them to be lacking. Because of the low price, there are low quality components and the power supplies can be different ones sample to another. The are a good basis for a DYI PROJECT if you are willing to do some work and component sourcing. What these amps need is better documentation, mine came with minimal documentation in Chinese. A forum or group where people can discuss mods, updates, etc. Would be helpful. If you are prepared to add about 30 bucjks and some work, these amps can be quite good.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gret value!!!For the money you can't beat it. I hooked up my passive Bose sub to it and it seriously kicks. No negatives here!!!! GET IT.
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PA amp? who woulda thunk?I'm not a professional sound guy nor am I an amp expert, but I am a drummer who is an experimentalist! I bought this to try out as a small PA amp for some acoustic and/or full electrical (you know those guitar players that got to have it loud) band jams! Well, suffice to say, I think it's going to work just fine for the small venue or in my case, backyard theater and band jams!!! So far I've just experimented with some mp3 music thru the PA, but the little monster cranked out some volume! Can't wait to see the look on the faces of the people that come jam! Now I truly have a portable PA! and on 25 acres! the hills are alive with the sound of drums...oops! music!
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have fun with it!I bought my first unit about a year and a half ago and discussed the inflated wpc issue but noted at this price point, you could have a lot of fun with the cool little amp. I have now bought 7 of these and have continued to enjoy the possibilities. Keep in mind it is a $27 amp. Some components seem cheap but the pros far out weigh the cons. Unless I am delusional, the quality has also increased since my first unit. Newer units come with a 3A power adapter instead of the 4A the original units came with, but I don't see much drop in power. Best power source I have played with is a 12v car battery. I have had good luck with some small tang band full range drivers and the new Faital 4 inch full range teamed up with an 8 inch Dayton DVC sub made for a cool boom box.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dang impressive - Short life...I have purchased 3 of these little powerhouses and I have been quite impressed with the output and versatility. But a little let down with reliability.#1 and #3 are still working and pushing some rather large towers with ease.#2 Died after only 28 days in service.#3 Recently started putting the full range into the sub no matter the x-over setting. ( I am able to compensate with my setup though.)I would not recommend this particular Lepai to another. I just think that the small power supply just does not provide enough juice to make the amp really work at it's full potential. I cannot say enough about the Lepai 20/20 amp though it is a true work horse.For giggles I took #2 apart and found that the large capacitor (25v 2200U) blew out around the base.Thank youGM
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from With Correct Power Supply, "Painfully Loud!!", Says friendHooked to a pr of Sony SS-B1000 and a 8" dayton 100wt nom. sub it was ok then hooked up 7 amp power supply and wowo!!! "Painfully LOUD", she said but clear. The set up cost less than 125.00 total and has great bass and over all sound.Get the right power supply!! I am buying 2 more to make a 6.1 as I have software for up to 9.2 system by Intel. PE always seems to have some cool deals!
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little ampGranted a 5 year old could hook this thing up but it would be helpful for those of lesser confidence if the "manual" was written in English rather than Chinese. I love how, on the front of the manual, the Chinese symbols are translated to English ("Amplifier Operating Manual"). But when you open it, the entire document is in Chinese.Even so, the amp is great for its purpose.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value but needs features re-designPower for the main speakers is a little weak, but the sub channel does just fine. There does appear to be some difference in the input sensitivity between the 3.5 and rca jacks, and the using rca input's almost cures the lack of power. As stated in other reviews, the control knobs are too small, and the lack of a master volume is bothersome. Find a larger knob for the main volume, trim the sub volume knob back a little, and use the old master volume knob for the sub. Not perfect, but a definite improvement.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too badIt is almost perfect for my smart phone jute box, save for the fact that the USB port provides no power, oh well...
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD PRICE...Sounds nice, but you may want to brush up on your Chinese, the manual is totally in those chinese holograms.The knobs are a bit small for my fat fingers, other than that, it works great for my pc amp at work.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent for the buckFirst of all, let me state that this unit should be ran with a 5A power supply and the one sold with it is only 3A. Output is probably more satisfactory with the required power source. With what comes in the box, it is a little less that I expected. (but what could I expect for $27?) The stereo channels are clean enough for most applications. I much preferred the stereo sound of the lepai 2020+. If you aren't planning on using the sub channel, go with that one. The sub channel is definitely lacking in output. (68w? more like 10ish before clipping sets in...) For my application, it's not a big deal. I'm only planning to use it as a high level input to a 100w plate amp. Overall, not audiophile grade without minor alterations to your setup but good enough for the average guy just trying to run a low powered computer set up.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let's start from great...I purchased this for a specific project with a few different tests built it. It serves quite well for the purposes for which it was intended. A report/review is posted in Tech Talk, and we've been discussing it there. I suggest you read that thread for the review plus more: http://techtalk.parts-express.com/showthread.php?235567-A-Weekend-With-My-Favorite-PartsI will say here that the only reasons I gave a 4 out of 5 for performance is that the included power supply is adequate but not optimal. You can get far better performance with a supply that powers it at its top capability (14.4 VDC, 5 A).The picture is the project, this amp powering 8 Tang Band 3" full range plus 2 Tang Band 5" subs. But do read the Tech Talk thread.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly pleasedI'm using these to power a pair of 3" full range drivers. I haven't hooked up the subwoofer output yet.For reference, the speakers fill the room adequately at 80dB sensitivity and 8 ohms at 80-100% amp volume. They're not quite night club or IMAX theater loud, but they produce enough power where you have to talk loudly over them. Should be adequate for any typical household use.So, that is my experience at 80db, 8 ohms. Practically worst case scenario in power efficiency. If you're using 85db+ sensitivity, and/or 4 ohm speakers, these should get louder than you'd ever want em. Don't be concerned about them being overrated in output.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't think about it twice...I needed an amp to be able to use my BOSE 251 Environmental speakers with my gaming computer. The BOSE were just laying around and I said "why not?" So I originally looked for and purchased a Lepai LP-2020A+. I was blown away by the small size and the fact that it pushed my BOSE with no problems what so ever. It was no high-end amplifier/receiver but what the heck, right? I just wanted to hear the shots and explosions of my game "better". Then, I decided I wanted to add music to my office so I decided to get a second LP-2020A+ but came across this unit instead. Decided to give it a shot only because of the 2.1 factor and that I also have a sub-woofer laying around somewhere. Decided to test it on my gaming computer first. This thing sounds even better than the LP-2020A+ in my opinion. I play classic 70's rock so I pulled out my trusty Tom Petty song "Runnin' Down a Dream". Sounded nice and crisp. The bass was just right (and the sub isn't connected yet). Vocals are not overcome by the instruments at all. Honestly? No need for anything more expensive when this baby can handle my needs perfectly. I also like the fact that it plays USB sticks as well all though connected to my computer it will probably not be used as much but it's there. Front AUX port (for smartphone/MP3 player connection) is a bonus as well. Don't think about it twice... Worst case scenario, you have an amp to listen to music in your dorm, office, work shed, garage (what guy dose not tinker on his car without the tunes playing?) or wherever. Can't wait to watch a decent movie from Netflix to see how it sounds! ;-)
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Dayton Audio B652sBought this amp to power a pair of Dayton Audio B652 speakers and it does a wonderful job. It's a fairly compact set up for what it is - I have it all on my desk with my laptop.Only problem is that now I want a small subwoofer to take advantage of the amp's full capabilities.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for the priceI purchased this amp for a little project I had. I mounted this amp to the underside of my computer desk and used it to power an Aura Bass Shaker Tactile Transducer that I have mounted to the underside of my computer chair. Since I do all of my console and PC gaming at my computer desk I figure I'd bring the next level of realism to the scene. This amp works like a charm for powering the bass shaker. I just needed a very basic amp to power the small bass shaker and that's just what it does. I cannot speak to the 2.1 speaker set up or the crossover problem but if you're in the market for a cheap amp that doesn't need to be too powerful, you really can't go wrong here.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of bang for the buckI hooked up the sub output of Lepai 2.1 2x40W Amplifier + 1x68W Sub amp to a Pyle 10" Blue woofer installed in Golden TRS10 enclosure. I hooked stereo out to 2 3 way floor monitors. I play my MP3 through the system. It sounds good to 60+ year old ears all at bargin price.The power is adequate to fill a room in your house. The power is over-rated but so is everyone elses. The included power supply is 12VDC @ 5A so 60 W RMS is max possible. Once you exceed this the amp starts cutting out.And yes the instructions are Chinese, so you will need a little know how to hook this up. I know this because I have bought two sets and gave one to a friend. He was soon calling asking how to hookup the system.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great amp for he priceI travel every other month, 30 days out 30 days home. I needed a stereo that I could take with me to setup in my hotel room and listen to music via my computer. This along with a pair of Dayton Audio B652 speakers work great for my needs. I house them all in a small wheeled suitcase along with a DAC and the needed cords. Very nice compact setup that works well for what I need.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honestly THE Best Bang for Your Buck!This amp arrived earlier than expected and I am very appreciative. I salute the hard workers at Parts-Express and Fed-ex for processing and delivering the amp. The sound is phenomenal coming through the 10" sub and x2 3" Full Range Drivers the 100-watt Mini-cubes from Pyle. I'm a teenager still and the room I stay in is no bigger than 10x12, and every square foot is filled with loud crystal clear sound and deep bass you can feel in your chest! I am very happy with my purchase and my father said my L&R's can compete with his Bose Jewel Cube speakers! Even though people might say my speakers may be "under-powered", I will never listen because this is by far THE best budget amp I have ever purchased. The only major issue I have with this amp so far is the crossover for the subwoofer, it puts out too high of frequencies to my subwoofer. Thank you Parts-Express once again!!
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DeliversI have it hooked up to my normal home speakers in my office that sit about 6' from my head. It's more than loud enough.Sub crossover works great on the unit I received.Unit barely gets warm sitting out in the open.I'll probably buy another soon for another room in my house.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not to bad for what it iswell for starters its not a bad amp, it works thats the best part. My beef with it is the volume for the sub is very sensitive and the volume for the speakers doesnt turn up the sub at the same time so i guess you would need to put and inline volume control to do that and the little blinking blue light is kinda annoying but nothing a little black tape cant fix all in all its a good amp for powering some desktop speakers and a little subwoofer
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lepai 2.1using it for a pc sound system could not be happier the blinking blue light was a bit of a surprise but its cool. Over all sound quality i would sat excellent for my use. Its driving a pair of bose 151 speakers and a aura sound shaker the work well together..
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Perfict for someone looking for a small mp3 playerI was impressed with the sound that came out of this little unit for the price. The sub however doesn't work all that well I hooked it up to a shaker that i put under my bar outside with two of the rock speakers it is loud enough to bug the neighbors works well at low volume witch is what I purchase it for would not recommend this unit to someone looking to shake the neighbor hood but if you read the rating you get more than you pay for sub side is not very good muffles the sound and distorts if turned up more the half volume how ever it does work quite well with the shaker I might buy one more shaker just to see if it improves the response out of the unit. I have my doubts. If your looking for something small and easy to move around this is great for that if your looking for lots of low end sound and loudness not so much. But it is impressive for the size.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nice amp for the priceFirst, let me state I didn't buy this to function as a 2.1 amp, I bought it solely to run an old bandpass box with 3 10" subwoofers in it from the sub channel on my 5.1 receiver. Since I didn't pay much for the speakers (buyout deal from PE and free HDF from craigslist), I didn't want to spend a bunch on a real sub amp, so when I saw this I jumped on it. For this purpose, it has surpassed my expectations and then some. I did test some bookshelf speakers on the 2 main channels and they sounded quite good as well. As others have said, the crossover adjustment for the sub doesn't do much but since the output to the unit is from a sub channel, that doesn't matter to me. What does is the ability to drive my 2 ohm bandpass sub, and for that, it could not do a better job. Anyone who might be considering purchasing this amp for the same purpose should not hesitate to do so, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone looking to use both the sub and main output channels for a 2.1 setup on a computer either.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should be the Amp of the year!!This is no joke. For a $26 dollar amp you can't go wrong.This amp works great with itunes. Because, when using itunes it's a great preamp, it really elimanates the need to turn up the volume on the amp. It sits on your desk really nice. I got the 2.1 amp on a pair Full range Fostex FE126en in a pair of BK-12 folded horns, on this amp. For just left and right channel with no sub it will drive you out of the room. The bass sounds just as good as any other t amp offered from PE.I'm just amazed, with the sound quality, though its not a t-amp, its still very efficent and such pretty sounding little amp. I have a usb dac(180-998) from my computer in front of my amp with audioquest carbon usb and audio quest black mamba II interconnects. And omg!!! Just amazing.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't work as intended.I knew what I was getting into when I purchased this unit. Buyer beware. First, the crossover does not crossover. It does change the sound slightly but the sub output still outputs very high frequency signals. Second, the gain for the sub and satellites are completely independent of each other. Third, the sub gain control is poorly designed. Even with the smallest turn possible it outputs too much gain. Forth, the dancing blue led is really bright and annoying. Fifth, the watts / channel is no where near what is claimed (perhaps it changes with a different power supply.) I'd guess it's probably around 10 watt's per channel. It's still plenty to drive my satellite speakers. Sixth, the instructions are literally written Chinese. It's a small slight and you probably won't even need the instruction manual. However, when I found out that the crossover doesn't work I reached for it to see if I was doing something wrong.Negatives aside. Running two channel this amp sounds pretty nice. Unfortunately it seems to be pretty much useless for the sub (which is why I bought it.) Even on the lowest setting the sub output is too loud and mixing in higher frequencies on the sub causes the whole setup to sound terrible.I'll try using a digital crossover from my soundcard this weekend and see if I can make the sub channel useful.For the time being I cannot recommend this unit. It's a fine two channel amp but if that's what you want then just buy the cheaper two channel version.
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from L+R = Hmph, nice! Sub = WTF? And what's with this blue LED??Just rec'd this today. The LEft and Right stereo channels are actually surprising good. BUT... As noted by other reviews... the sub channel crossover has no effect. I doubt it's even filtering ANY frequencies out of the input signal. I tried sub output w/ both a JL Audio 6W3v3 I already had in a ported .25 cu ft box that I know how good it can sound. And I also hooked it up free-air to a brand-new Kicker Comp 8 8-Ohm I just rec'd today as well. (I also know what that driver can sound like, replaced the sub in my Acoustic Authority 2.1 setup with a Comp 8 8-Ohm# It did register #expectedly) weak lows on both... but I noticed a lot of distortion and I believe it's because that crossover just isn't doing anything AT ALL and just pumping all the high frequencies thru that sub channel as well. That is No Bueno.And the most BIZARRE thing was that there is this BLUE LED that I guess it's function is to light-up whenever you have the sub channel turned on and it's receiving a bass frequency signal from the input music. I find this "feature" annoyingly distracting.I happen to have a Parts Express 80Hz 8 Ohm crossover lying around so I'm gonna try using it as others have indicated the need for an external crossover.
Date published: 2012-02-16

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

I would like this to power 1 6.5 inch bazooka tube in my car for a little added bottom end. its a 100 watt 6.5 sub. and will run on 12 v. will this work in a car audio application. and can i use hi power inputs or do i need a high input to RCA boc.

Asked by: masterjr33
This will work fine with a 12VDC power source but it will require a line level (RCA) type input.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-02

Can i install this in my car?  Most cars have 12.5 volts with the engine off and 14.5 volts with the engine on.  Will I run into any problems?  

Asked by: loveBASS
Yes this will function perfectly fine in a vehicle.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-03

do you have eny mini amps like this for desktop type?

Asked by: saranga
This and all other Lepai and small Dayton brand amplifiers are designed for desktop use. It resembles a car amplifier, but it is not one.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-12-19

Concerning LP-168HA amp (20x20w +78w sub out)  Can I use a laptop power supply rated at 15 watts and 5 amps? 

Asked by: Hank44
As long as the power supply falls within the voltage range of this amplifier it will work. There will likely be no noticeable difference in output between a 4A and 5A power supply.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-12-04

Max line level input signal for RCA channels for this amp?

What is the max line level input signal voltage for this amplifier for each RCA input? Im running each RCA input with 1.2V off my macbook pro's 3.5 mm output jack (Macbook is the Pre Amp). If I get a line driver and boost the signal to say 4V per channel should this help with getting the amps temps down by using less gain on the amps? Im also using 15V 8A switching regulated power supplies for each amp and both amps are seeing 8ohm loads on all outputs. I have an SMD DD1 to check for distortion and the line driver I'm thinking of using has a Signal to Noise Ratio of 96 which is good, and is capable of 10V per channel. Sorry for the long post just want to get as much info as possible out there for my set up, so I don't damage the amps with to high of an input voltage. Thanks for the help.
Asked by: Harrison
I would not exceed 2 volts/ channel input signal and 1 power supply per amp.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-10-14

How to Connect to a powered sub with Sub-Out

I'm wondering how I can connect this amp with the sub-output to a powered subwoofer, specifically the Dayton Audio SUB-800 8"The sub has high level in and outs but I want to make use of this amp's sub out. I'm assuming I need to wire from the amp to the line-level inputs on the sub.
Asked by: CarterK
Simply go to high level inputs on your sub woofer.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-10-09

hi

will this have the full 40W and 68W at any ohm load
Asked by: speaker freack
No. The chips used in this amp are incapable of putting out that sort of power, regardless of what power supply you are using. That is not to say this amp is unusable, or even that it isn't good. It may be great for specific applications, but it is not the sort of powerhouse that the specs claim.The satellite channels use a TDA7266S chip which realistically may put out at 6 watts @ 8 ohms, 12 watts@ 4 ohms, and maybe (a very ragged) 18 watts @ 2 ohms each. The sub channel uses a TDA7256 chip which with 14.4 volts input (the max) is reported to output 22 watts @ 4 ohms and 30 watts @ 2 ohms.Note: With 2 ohm loads all around you would be looking at a total of 66 watts. Considering that this is A/B topology, you would need to supply over twice that amount of power to cover efficiency losses. So, you might be able to get the full 66 watts of output with a 14.4 volt 10 amp power supply. However this would be absolutely pushing the limits of this amp, and sound quality would suffer. Not to mention the cost of your power supply would likely exceed the cost of the amp.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2013-11-26

How can I hook this up to 12v sealed lead acid battery?

Can someone please explain to me how I could hook this up to a 12v sla battery? I want to use this in a portable application, but am unsure how to hook it up to the battery. Thanks
Asked by: Bradey
You will have to use a DC plug in order to wire this to an SLA battery.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-05-22

Anybody else have issues like these?

I bought this amp about 4 months ago. It works, but turning the amp on and off causes the woofer to "suck in" and "push out" respectively, probably close to a quarter inch in either direction and on 4 and 8 ohm woofers. Inconveniently, I just don't turn it off if possible.Second, I bought 2 Bluetooth modules, 1 that I intended to use with this amp, using the USB jack for power. The modules work well when plugged into a Motorola phone charger, but when either are plugged into the charging jack on this amp there is a noise, a moderately high pitched buzzing emitted from the speakers. It does it with either module and neither module does it with the phone charger. The wired inputs work fine, just wanted Bluetooth freedom. I contemplated buying another amp just to see if this one is "defective", but they're back ordered. I really like this amp for its intended purpose, but I don't want to damage the woofer, and the buzzing is not acceptable.
Asked by: only_humann
That pop from the speakers is normal and shouldn't damage anything, nothing to be concerned about but I don't know what to tell you with the USB power issue. I don't use the USB port on the amp.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2013-04-29

Still confused on how to connect sub

If you are only connecting one sub to this amp I've heard people say you are supposed to connect both + leads of the amp to the single sub + and the same with the - connections. I've heard other people say that you just hook up either the left or the right.This isn't a bridged channel is it? If so, wouldn't you hookup the + from the left channel and the - from the right?The manual of this thing is all chinese and not very helpful...
Asked by: Kbelcher
Don't be confused by the two sets of output terminals marked SUB, they are tied together, so whether you connect one set or both, the result is the same. They are not left and right outputs, just duplicate mono outputs. The only reason there are two is because it let the manufacturer get away with using existing 4-channel terminal strips, instead of putting in 1 stereo strip and one mono strip. This is handy if you are using two subwoofers though.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2014-10-26

how do you hook up the subwoofer?

There appears to be two hookups. Im confused on how to hook up a subwoofer.
Asked by: basshead
This amp consists of 3 channels or three individual power supplies. Two of them go to the left and right for the speakers. Then the third channel is split between the left and right on the sub out. So if you wanted two subs to be powered with a total of 68 watts, you could. But at the same time you can run the sub off of the left or right side and still get the same power output of 68 watts. The amp just gives you a left and right for the sub out but you don't get more than 68 watts.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2014-07-12

Can a 15 volt 8A AC to DC switching power supply be used with this amplifier ?

I read the post about the caps exploding if they reach 16 volts and some people say 14.4 volts 5A is the max, but my amps came with 15Volt 3A. So I know 15 volts is safe but what is the effect of running it a 8A?
Asked by: Harrison
There really is no maximum amperage you can supply. The amp will only draw as many amps as it needs to (when it is working properly anyway).So, with your 15 volt 3 amp supply there is only 45 watts available to the amplifier. (Volts * Amps = Watts). So, no matter what, the amplifier will not be able to put out more watts than this. With a 15 volt 8 amp supply there would be 120 watts available to the amplifier. This should allow the amplifier to play at louder volumes before distorting. More noticeably it should and allow for peaks, like bass drum hits, to play louder, and sustained bass to play without "running out of gas" as quickly.Remember, the stated power output of this amp is very inflated.The satellite channels use a TDA7266S chip, which is rated at 5 watts per channel @ 11 volts input power into an 8-ohm load. Maximum output power is around 12 watts per channel with 4 ohm speakers.The sub channel uses a TDA7256 chip which with 14.4 volts input (the stated max) is reported to output 22 watts into 4 ohms.So, 120 available watts will be more than this thing will ever be able to use.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2014-07-12

2x40watts or can I Bridge for 1x80watts?

Im using this amp for a 3 driver speaker cabinet project for a small garage gym, the 12in Sub is wired using both the amps sub outputs. Now originally the cabinets 3 way crossover( 900Hz and 2800Hz) had the sub going to it but I had to rewire it just to go to the amps sub outputs (I had no other choice). When I did this my midrange didn't work at all. After being stumped for days as to why the midrange quit working, I ran a wire from the subs + to the subs - on the 3 way crossover and now the midrange works and sounds great. So my main question is with the 2x40 watt outputs for the L or R on the amp, if I'm only using one channel will the amp sense that, and send the 80 watts to only the channel I have hooked up or will I only get the 40W still? If I only get the 40W from one channel I have hooked up, is it safe to bridge both channels to get a 1x80W channel?
Asked by: Harrison
The amp is stereo and non-bridgable. If you use one channel you get 40 watts and the other channel goes unused. Some amps can be bridged, And there are mono amps. Take a look through PE if this amp isn't a match for your needs.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-08-31

battery power source

This may be a dumb question, but can you run this to a 9volt battery or a 12 volt lead acid battery? how long would it be able to run off of each?
Asked by: matthepanther
You can connect it to car battery if that was the question.
Answered by: Victorinox
Date published: 2014-07-12

truely 2 ohm stable on the stereo channels?

howdy everyone. i bought some speakers on closeout and one of these to make a portable mp3/cd boombox and was curious if the stereo output channels are really able to be stable into 2 ohms? i want to have three of the aura 6's per side so actual load would be 2.66 on paper but metered was right at 2 ohms (trio or 6.6 Ohm in parrallel). my build is a week away or so and i have time to get some answers, but the specs for this say it IS 2 ohms stable stereo but i saw no one verifying on here or asking.
Asked by:
Yes this will handle a 2 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-12

1x68Watts Sub Output

Does that mean if Im using only one 12 inch sub, and i hook it up to the amps right sub output that the sub is only getting 34 watts going to it?
Asked by: Harrison
The subwoofer output on this amplifier ais one single output that has two parallel connections. You can hook up one 4 ohm sub or two 8 ohm subs, either way will provide 68 watts of power.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-01-03

Bi-Amp To run 2 sattelites + A sub?

Can you hook up the channels of 2 of these units in parallel to achieve80w Max + 132w max @ 4-8 Ohms per channel?
Asked by: Wolf Punch
No, that really isn't a bi-amp. If a very small shift in phase of signal occurred damage to either amp or speakers could result. I would try one unit to see if your sound level is acceptable. If not, you could use this unit as a pre-amp. To drive a pair of larger amps by turning it down. One amp you could bridge for max power to the sub and the other in stereo to the satellites.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2012-11-16

Using two mini-amps

Is it possible to use a channel on another mini-amp to connect this one just for a subwoofer?Such as: TV to Mini-Amp(1) with channel one powering bookshelf speakers, and channel two going to this Mini-Amp(2) with this one just powering the subwoofer.Would this blow something up?
Asked by: NotQuiteSure
You can use the channels of your amps any way you like. However, bass requires the most power. It's best to have a larger dedicated amp for a subwoofer.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-18

What to expect from this?

2 x Tang Band W3-881SI 3" Speaker - 8 Ohms1 x Aura NS6-255-8A 6" As Woofer - 8 Ohms*Will be a nice System for PC?*A extra Crossover will be really necessary?
Asked by: Umpierre
The sub output is very impressive. It is a serious 68 watts. I've powered a hundred watt ten inch sub and it'll almost peak out the sub itself. There is a built in crossover for the sub output that u can control which is really handy. It's a great buy and hard to go wrong with.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2012-09-16

Could this be used as a bass amp?

Could I use this amp with an Ashbroy Bass (piezo pickup w/ pre-amp)? I would be in a small box with a small woofer & tweeter or possibly exciters. It would only be for practice and save me from hauling a bigger amp.
Asked by: kallad
Yes. Although there is no information directly about the sensitivity of the inputs, you are driving it with a preamp, so your bass should be able to drive the amp to full output.Your suggested use is far away from the intended use of the amp. You don't seem to plan to use the sub out or both sides of the stereo amp. But I think you see that the amp is small, extremely inexpensive, comes with a power supply, and according to reviews here, is surprisingly OK-sounding. If you don't expect more than a low volume practice amp, you have a clever (but a little odd) solution.
Answered by: Bushman
Date published: 2014-08-31

Could this handle two 8 ohm speakers per side and a 4 ohm sub, or would the load be too low?

Asked by: Nick G.
if this helps I'm using Bose 151 speakers on the L/R out and the aura pro shaker on the sub out.the Bose are 4 ohmthe aura are 4 ohm
Answered by: alpha 1 omega
Date published: 2012-07-30

Is there a headphone jack output (3.5mm)?

I'm looking to buy a small amp that will basically convert RCA output from my turntable, to a 3.5mm output that is compatible with my computer speakers and headphones. Will this amp be able to do that?
Asked by: FourSticks
No, the 3.5mm jack on the front of this amplifier is an auxiliary input for iPods, cell phones, MP3 players, and the like. I'd suggest something like the Topping I've linked below.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-07-12

sub out to DVC speaker?

can I use the two outputs for the sub to 2x 4ohm DVC? or should I run one output and wire the DVC sub in series for mono 8 ohm?
Asked by: Nina
You might be better off to series wire them so that you can get the most watts out of the amp. You might want to consider just wirering one sub instead of two. Maybe not, just a matter of testing things out.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2012-07-17

What are the characteristics of the crossover?

In the comments people say the .1 channel crossover doesn't attenuate higher frequencies. Has anyone measured the crossover or does anyone know the slope? Also, does the crossover have an effect on the stereo channels?
Asked by: Pete B.
The subwoofer channel has a variable, 1st order low pass crossover. This crossover does not act as a high pass for the stereo channels, so no worries there.It will attenuate the sub channel 6db/octave below the point you choose, between 50 and 200Hz. So, if you choose 200Hz it will be attenuated 6db at 400Hz, and 12db at 800Hz. If you choose 50Hz it will be attenuated 6db at 100Hz and 12db at 200Hz.If you need a steeper curve, you can run an inductor in series with the woofer. This will give you the net effect of a 2nd order low pass crossover, 12db/octave. For a 4 ohm woofer I would use a cheap 3.5mH inductor, like the one below.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2014-01-11

Can you use the sub outs to connect to a powered subwoofer?

Asked by: Auggie
no
Answered by: pkrueger
Date published: 2012-02-09

can this lepai's sub out power a single aura ast-2b-4 pro bass shaker?

Asked by: stealthbomber
Yup. it wud be perfect for that.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2014-05-28

How many watts RMS am i gonna get with the subwoofer output?

Im kinda confused and i want to know how many watts using the power supply it comes with.
Asked by: Navi
Probly about 45-50. Enough to hear but not enough to feel.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-02-18

Is the USB port for audio as well as charging?

Asked by: Ty2083
NO. Not on this amp. Apparently USB is provided as charging port only.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-08-03

Part number of amp chip

What is the part number of the main power chips inside this amp?
Asked by: Circuitsoft
The 2 stereo channels use a TDA7266S amplifier chip and the sub section uses a TDA7256 chip.
Answered by: modifry
Date published: 2014-01-11

What is the best power supply for getting max power from this amp?

What is the optimum power supply?
Asked by: bcuttn123
Well according to it's power requirements it would be 14.4volt 5 amp max. I don't know what you are planning to run with it but always get more amp than you think you need. As long as you don't try to power more than it was designed for then the included power supply should be sufficient.
Answered by: Dave80
Date published: 2013-04-06

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1