Lepai 2.1 2x40W Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
Lepai 2.1 2x40W Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
 
310-308_ALT_0
 
310-308_ALT_1
 

Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

Brand:| Model: LP-168HA
Product Video
Overview
Looking for a simple 2.1 amplifier? The Lepai LP-168AH offers audio power output for a pair of stereo speakers, along with a dedicated subwoofer output. Perfect for computer sound systems!
Highlights
  • Perfect amplifier for computer desks
  • Stereo speaker and dedicated subwoofer amplifier
  • Rear-mounted USB charging port
  • Bass, treble, and subwoofer crossover controls
  • Stereo RCA and stereo 3.5 mm inputs
Part # 
310-308
Weight: 1.75 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$39.99
You Save27%
Your Price
$29.00
Buy 4-up$27.82
Part # 310-308
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

Lepai's LP-168AH 2.1 amplifier is the perfect computer partner—it provides up to 40 watts of power output to stereo speakers, in combination with a second dedicated subwoofer output capable of up to 68 watts of amplifier output.

Bass, treble, and volume controls on the front of the amplifier let you adjust your music for the best possible sound from your speakers. The discrete subwoofer output is controlled separately from the stereo output, with controls for level adjustment and crossover adjustment found on the amplifier's face.

Audio source connectivity is provided via a front-mounted stereo 3.5 mm jack, or a stereo pair of RCA jacks on the rear of the amplifier. A rear-mounted USB port enables charging of devices such as smartphones and MP3 players. The wide input voltage range of 9 to 14.4 VDC allows the LP-168AH to be used in automotive or mobile applications. A 12VDC, 4A power supply is included.

Specifications: • Stereo power output: 2 x 40W max (power output dependent upon power supply) • Subwoofer power output: 1 x 68W max (power output dependent upon power supply) • Power requirements: 9 to 14.4 VDC, 5A • DC power input jack: 2.1 mm x 5.5 mm • Bass and treble control • Stable down to 2 ohms • Minimum THD: <1% • Signal-to-noise ratio: >80 dB • Frequency response: 20-20,000 Hz • Adjustable subwoofer crossover: 50-200 Hz • Dimensions (including mounting flange): 7" W x 4" L x 1-3/4" H.



Product Specifications
  • Power Output (RMS Per Channel @ 8 ohms)20 Watts
Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
  • BrandLepai
  • ModelLP-168HA
  • Part Number310-308
  • UPC844632091506
  • Product CategoryHome Audio Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (41 Reviews)
  • Weight1.75 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
in the Home Audio Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output
Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output is rated 3.9512 out of 5 by 41.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dang impressive - Short life...I have purchased 3 of these little powerhouses and I have been quite impressed with the output and versatility. But a little let down with reliability.#1 and #3 are still working and pushing some rather large towers with ease.#2 Died after only 28 days in service.#3 Recently started putting the full range into the sub no matter the x-over setting. ( I am able to compensate with my setup though.)I would not recommend this particular Lepai to another. I just think that the small power supply just does not provide enough juice to make the amp really work at it's full potential. I cannot say enough about the Lepai 20/20 amp though it is a true work horse.For giggles I took #2 apart and found that the large capacitor (25v 2200U) blew out around the base.Thank youGM
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from With Correct Power Supply, "Painfully Loud!!", Says friendHooked to a pr of Sony SS-B1000 and a 8" dayton 100wt nom. sub it was ok then hooked up 7 amp power supply and wowo!!! "Painfully LOUD", she said but clear. The set up cost less than 125.00 total and has great bass and over all sound.Get the right power supply!! I am buying 2 more to make a 6.1 as I have software for up to 9.2 system by Intel. PE always seems to have some cool deals!
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little ampGranted a 5 year old could hook this thing up but it would be helpful for those of lesser confidence if the "manual" was written in English rather than Chinese. I love how, on the front of the manual, the Chinese symbols are translated to English ("Amplifier Operating Manual"). But when you open it, the entire document is in Chinese.Even so, the amp is great for its purpose.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value but needs features re-designPower for the main speakers is a little weak, but the sub channel does just fine. There does appear to be some difference in the input sensitivity between the 3.5 and rca jacks, and the using rca input's almost cures the lack of power. As stated in other reviews, the control knobs are too small, and the lack of a master volume is bothersome. Find a larger knob for the main volume, trim the sub volume knob back a little, and use the old master volume knob for the sub. Not perfect, but a definite improvement.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too badIt is almost perfect for my smart phone jute box, save for the fact that the USB port provides no power, oh well...
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD PRICE...Sounds nice, but you may want to brush up on your Chinese, the manual is totally in those chinese holograms.The knobs are a bit small for my fat fingers, other than that, it works great for my pc amp at work.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent for the buckFirst of all, let me state that this unit should be ran with a 5A power supply and the one sold with it is only 3A. Output is probably more satisfactory with the required power source. With what comes in the box, it is a little less that I expected. (but what could I expect for $27?) The stereo channels are clean enough for most applications. I much preferred the stereo sound of the lepai 2020+. If you aren't planning on using the sub channel, go with that one. The sub channel is definitely lacking in output. (68w? more like 10ish before clipping sets in...) For my application, it's not a big deal. I'm only planning to use it as a high level input to a 100w plate amp. Overall, not audiophile grade without minor alterations to your setup but good enough for the average guy just trying to run a low powered computer set up.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let's start from great...I purchased this for a specific project with a few different tests built it. It serves quite well for the purposes for which it was intended. A report/review is posted in Tech Talk, and we've been discussing it there. I suggest you read that thread for the review plus more: http://techtalk.parts-express.com/showthread.php?235567-A-Weekend-With-My-Favorite-PartsI will say here that the only reasons I gave a 4 out of 5 for performance is that the included power supply is adequate but not optimal. You can get far better performance with a supply that powers it at its top capability (14.4 VDC, 5 A).The picture is the project, this amp powering 8 Tang Band 3" full range plus 2 Tang Band 5" subs. But do read the Tech Talk thread.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly pleasedI'm using these to power a pair of 3" full range drivers. I haven't hooked up the subwoofer output yet.For reference, the speakers fill the room adequately at 80dB sensitivity and 8 ohms at 80-100% amp volume. They're not quite night club or IMAX theater loud, but they produce enough power where you have to talk loudly over them. Should be adequate for any typical household use.So, that is my experience at 80db, 8 ohms. Practically worst case scenario in power efficiency. If you're using 85db+ sensitivity, and/or 4 ohm speakers, these should get louder than you'd ever want em. Don't be concerned about them being overrated in output.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't think about it twice...I needed an amp to be able to use my BOSE 251 Environmental speakers with my gaming computer. The BOSE were just laying around and I said "why not?" So I originally looked for and purchased a Lepai LP-2020A+. I was blown away by the small size and the fact that it pushed my BOSE with no problems what so ever. It was no high-end amplifier/receiver but what the heck, right? I just wanted to hear the shots and explosions of my game "better". Then, I decided I wanted to add music to my office so I decided to get a second LP-2020A+ but came across this unit instead. Decided to give it a shot only because of the 2.1 factor and that I also have a sub-woofer laying around somewhere. Decided to test it on my gaming computer first. This thing sounds even better than the LP-2020A+ in my opinion. I play classic 70's rock so I pulled out my trusty Tom Petty song "Runnin' Down a Dream". Sounded nice and crisp. The bass was just right (and the sub isn't connected yet). Vocals are not overcome by the instruments at all. Honestly? No need for anything more expensive when this baby can handle my needs perfectly. I also like the fact that it plays USB sticks as well all though connected to my computer it will probably not be used as much but it's there. Front AUX port (for smartphone/MP3 player connection) is a bonus as well. Don't think about it twice... Worst case scenario, you have an amp to listen to music in your dorm, office, work shed, garage (what guy dose not tinker on his car without the tunes playing?) or wherever. Can't wait to watch a decent movie from Netflix to see how it sounds! ;-)
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Dayton Audio B652sBought this amp to power a pair of Dayton Audio B652 speakers and it does a wonderful job. It's a fairly compact set up for what it is - I have it all on my desk with my laptop.Only problem is that now I want a small subwoofer to take advantage of the amp's full capabilities.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for the priceI purchased this amp for a little project I had. I mounted this amp to the underside of my computer desk and used it to power an Aura Bass Shaker Tactile Transducer that I have mounted to the underside of my computer chair. Since I do all of my console and PC gaming at my computer desk I figure I'd bring the next level of realism to the scene. This amp works like a charm for powering the bass shaker. I just needed a very basic amp to power the small bass shaker and that's just what it does. I cannot speak to the 2.1 speaker set up or the crossover problem but if you're in the market for a cheap amp that doesn't need to be too powerful, you really can't go wrong here.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of bang for the buckI hooked up the sub output of Lepai 2.1 2x40W Amplifier + 1x68W Sub amp to a Pyle 10" Blue woofer installed in Golden TRS10 enclosure. I hooked stereo out to 2 3 way floor monitors. I play my MP3 through the system. It sounds good to 60+ year old ears all at bargin price.The power is adequate to fill a room in your house. The power is over-rated but so is everyone elses. The included power supply is 12VDC @ 5A so 60 W RMS is max possible. Once you exceed this the amp starts cutting out.And yes the instructions are Chinese, so you will need a little know how to hook this up. I know this because I have bought two sets and gave one to a friend. He was soon calling asking how to hookup the system.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great amp for he priceI travel every other month, 30 days out 30 days home. I needed a stereo that I could take with me to setup in my hotel room and listen to music via my computer. This along with a pair of Dayton Audio B652 speakers work great for my needs. I house them all in a small wheeled suitcase along with a DAC and the needed cords. Very nice compact setup that works well for what I need.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honestly THE Best Bang for Your Buck!This amp arrived earlier than expected and I am very appreciative. I salute the hard workers at Parts-Express and Fed-ex for processing and delivering the amp. The sound is phenomenal coming through the 10" sub and x2 3" Full Range Drivers the 100-watt Mini-cubes from Pyle. I'm a teenager still and the room I stay in is no bigger than 10x12, and every square foot is filled with loud crystal clear sound and deep bass you can feel in your chest! I am very happy with my purchase and my father said my L&R's can compete with his Bose Jewel Cube speakers! Even though people might say my speakers may be "under-powered", I will never listen because this is by far THE best budget amp I have ever purchased. The only major issue I have with this amp so far is the crossover for the subwoofer, it puts out too high of frequencies to my subwoofer. Thank you Parts-Express once again!!
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DeliversI have it hooked up to my normal home speakers in my office that sit about 6' from my head. It's more than loud enough.Sub crossover works great on the unit I received.Unit barely gets warm sitting out in the open.I'll probably buy another soon for another room in my house.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not to bad for what it iswell for starters its not a bad amp, it works thats the best part. My beef with it is the volume for the sub is very sensitive and the volume for the speakers doesnt turn up the sub at the same time so i guess you would need to put and inline volume control to do that and the little blinking blue light is kinda annoying but nothing a little black tape cant fix all in all its a good amp for powering some desktop speakers and a little subwoofer
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lepai 2.1using it for a pc sound system could not be happier the blinking blue light was a bit of a surprise but its cool. Over all sound quality i would sat excellent for my use. Its driving a pair of bose 151 speakers and a aura sound shaker the work well together..
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Perfict for someone looking for a small mp3 playerI was impressed with the sound that came out of this little unit for the price. The sub however doesn't work all that well I hooked it up to a shaker that i put under my bar outside with two of the rock speakers it is loud enough to bug the neighbors works well at low volume witch is what I purchase it for would not recommend this unit to someone looking to shake the neighbor hood but if you read the rating you get more than you pay for sub side is not very good muffles the sound and distorts if turned up more the half volume how ever it does work quite well with the shaker I might buy one more shaker just to see if it improves the response out of the unit. I have my doubts. If your looking for something small and easy to move around this is great for that if your looking for lots of low end sound and loudness not so much. But it is impressive for the size.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nice amp for the priceFirst, let me state I didn't buy this to function as a 2.1 amp, I bought it solely to run an old bandpass box with 3 10" subwoofers in it from the sub channel on my 5.1 receiver. Since I didn't pay much for the speakers (buyout deal from PE and free HDF from craigslist), I didn't want to spend a bunch on a real sub amp, so when I saw this I jumped on it. For this purpose, it has surpassed my expectations and then some. I did test some bookshelf speakers on the 2 main channels and they sounded quite good as well. As others have said, the crossover adjustment for the sub doesn't do much but since the output to the unit is from a sub channel, that doesn't matter to me. What does is the ability to drive my 2 ohm bandpass sub, and for that, it could not do a better job. Anyone who might be considering purchasing this amp for the same purpose should not hesitate to do so, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone looking to use both the sub and main output channels for a 2.1 setup on a computer either.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should be the Amp of the year!!This is no joke. For a $26 dollar amp you can't go wrong.This amp works great with itunes. Because, when using itunes it's a great preamp, it really elimanates the need to turn up the volume on the amp. It sits on your desk really nice. I got the 2.1 amp on a pair Full range Fostex FE126en in a pair of BK-12 folded horns, on this amp. For just left and right channel with no sub it will drive you out of the room. The bass sounds just as good as any other t amp offered from PE.I'm just amazed, with the sound quality, though its not a t-amp, its still very efficent and such pretty sounding little amp. I have a usb dac(180-998) from my computer in front of my amp with audioquest carbon usb and audio quest black mamba II interconnects. And omg!!! Just amazing.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't work as intended.I knew what I was getting into when I purchased this unit. Buyer beware. First, the crossover does not crossover. It does change the sound slightly but the sub output still outputs very high frequency signals. Second, the gain for the sub and satellites are completely independent of each other. Third, the sub gain control is poorly designed. Even with the smallest turn possible it outputs too much gain. Forth, the dancing blue led is really bright and annoying. Fifth, the watts / channel is no where near what is claimed (perhaps it changes with a different power supply.) I'd guess it's probably around 10 watt's per channel. It's still plenty to drive my satellite speakers. Sixth, the instructions are literally written Chinese. It's a small slight and you probably won't even need the instruction manual. However, when I found out that the crossover doesn't work I reached for it to see if I was doing something wrong.Negatives aside. Running two channel this amp sounds pretty nice. Unfortunately it seems to be pretty much useless for the sub (which is why I bought it.) Even on the lowest setting the sub output is too loud and mixing in higher frequencies on the sub causes the whole setup to sound terrible.I'll try using a digital crossover from my soundcard this weekend and see if I can make the sub channel useful.For the time being I cannot recommend this unit. It's a fine two channel amp but if that's what you want then just buy the cheaper two channel version.
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from L+R = Hmph, nice! Sub = WTF? And what's with this blue LED??Just rec'd this today. The LEft and Right stereo channels are actually surprising good. BUT... As noted by other reviews... the sub channel crossover has no effect. I doubt it's even filtering ANY frequencies out of the input signal. I tried sub output w/ both a JL Audio 6W3v3 I already had in a ported .25 cu ft box that I know how good it can sound. And I also hooked it up free-air to a brand-new Kicker Comp 8 8-Ohm I just rec'd today as well. (I also know what that driver can sound like, replaced the sub in my Acoustic Authority 2.1 setup with a Comp 8 8-Ohm# It did register #expectedly) weak lows on both... but I noticed a lot of distortion and I believe it's because that crossover just isn't doing anything AT ALL and just pumping all the high frequencies thru that sub channel as well. That is No Bueno.And the most BIZARRE thing was that there is this BLUE LED that I guess it's function is to light-up whenever you have the sub channel turned on and it's receiving a bass frequency signal from the input music. I find this "feature" annoyingly distracting.I happen to have a Parts Express 80Hz 8 Ohm crossover lying around so I'm gonna try using it as others have indicated the need for an external crossover.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lepai LP-168AI found the amplifier to be a good value. It performs as the description promises. I found that midrange tones bled through on the subwoofer channel. It also seemed that the full range part of the amplifier was missing some low end frequencies. The bass control seemed to add more mid range than bass. If I use this amplifier for the intended application I will have to put a crossover to stop the midrange from bleeding through on the subwoofer channel. The instructon booklet for use are in Japanese or Chinese so they are basically no good to me.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do your homeworkThis is an interesting little amp that comes at a very good price point. The rated power numbers are greatly inflated, but if you read the Q&A's on this product, you wont be overly disappointed. I have the Lepai T amp (TA2020A+) that is rated at 20 wpc and it performs well, so I felt comfortable that the 40x2+68 would at least be reasonably close, they weren't. For the price, you can't go wrong and can have some fun with it. Just don't expect to "rock the house" with it. Just for kicks, I also compared it to my Dayton T amp (DTA100) and there was no comparison, but the Dayton was 3x the price.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a cool little toyAs others have noted, this kickin' little amp was apparently originally built for automotive use; using this product slightly "off-label" as a home amp just makes it even more fun, like we're getting away with something!The amp is slightly smaller than I expected, and I couldn't wait to test it out. I grabbed a pair of early-'90s vintage Pinnacle bookshelf speakers. Although Pinnacle's speakers are notoriously efficient, I was somewhat skeptical that this little amp could drive them.Boy, was I wrong. The amp drove the Pinnacles effortlessly. I was barely able to tell the difference between the Lepai and a much larger, much more expensive Sony 7.1 AV receiver. Very impressive!Then I added an 8-inch subwoofer to the equation. Again, the amp drove the speakers and the sub quite nicely. Perhaps not quite the range of response of a full-blown amplifier but impressive and adjustable nonetheless.This amp delivers big-amp 2.1 performance at micro-amp prices. I defy anyone to find better performance for this price.You just can't do it. I can't wait to discover more uses for this cool little toy. Thanks, Parts Express.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value and VersitileI connected this to my kitchen tv powering a passive sub and a pair of bookshelf speakers. This fit nicely in an upper cabinet. Works like a charm, sounds great, and more power than I'll ever need.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The second works !Thank you PE for contacting me before I even decided to call LOL that's customer dedication.The amp works pretty good, I am using it with a 15v power supply I had laying around and it sounds much better. I think I'm going to use it as a sub amp getting signal from my receiver. Wish it had a Tri path chip, they just sound great !
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Value, Not thrilled with performanceI bought this for what appears to be it's intended purpose, a low-cost & economical 2.1 system. I wasn't expecting the unit to be able to produce ear splitting volumes. I knew that I'd be getting (at max) about 10-15W per channel going into it.What I am disappointed with is the signal processing that it includes. The first thing that I noticed is that the x-over doesn't appear to do what it's supposed to. I was putting it through it's paces on the bench with a set of bookshelf speakers and a subwoofer. I noticed that I could hear vocals and other aspects of music coming through the subwoofer. I played with the x-over dial and at first it seemed as though it was filtering something I decided it wasn't. When I played with the knob it would attenuate the subwoofer by some degree but I could still play high frequencies through the sub channel. I even played some 1khz and 10khz test tones with just the subwoofer connected and the subwoofer definitely played them. (Although they didn't sound good coming from a subwoofer driver obviously)Another aspect that I noticed is that on the stereo outputs there seems to be some sort of HPF as it fails to reproduce anything on those channels below approx. 250hz. I tried fiddling with the x-over knob to see if it had some effect on the stereo channel but it didn't.For my system design my subwoofer is going to be crossed at 100hz (with an additional passive LPF that I had to purchase). For practical reasons that is what will work. Unfortunately I'm going to be left with a hole in the sound from probably about 150-250hz. My satellites are definitely capable of playing below 250hz but it doesn't appear that they will have the opportunity (with this amp.)
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it isYou will not find another amp at this price range that includes this feature set. However you should know what to expect: This is a class AB amplifier, not as efficient as a class D.The amplifier chip inside it (TDA7266S) is capable (as per the data sheet) of about 7 watts per channel. And there are two of them: One is bridged for subwoofer output and the other is running the satellites. While this is plenty of power for bookshelf speakers and such, it is not the power claimed.As for the controls, the gain settings (volume) for the satellite and the sub are fully independent. You might have expected the satellite volume control to act as a main volume that changes relative gains, but that is not the case. You will have to adjust volume at the source.The "crossover" is also an interesting story: I was able to hear the output of the subwoofer change with the "crossover" frequency and to my ears it seemed like a first order low pass filter. The satellite output did not appear to change at all with crossover setting. To my ears it appeared to be full bandwidth, although it might have a little subsonic filtering that I could not immediately tell...The subwoofer gain setting ramps up much more quickly than the satellite gain setting. Note I said gain, not power. While the sub amp power is higher, the gain knob is clearly working at higher gains. In the real world this might help things be more balanced when you use relatively small and highly inefficient sub that you might be using at this power levels (about 10 watts?? bridged maybe?) Since typically your satellites will be substantially more efficient. But depending on the speakers you use you might find that the gain for the sub is too sensitive for easy adjustment.So here is how I recommend using this amp: you use it with relatively full range speakers that roll off shy of sub low frequencies and rely on that as your high pass filtering, or you add electrolytic capacitors in series with your satellites. Alternatively you use it with *sealed* satellites and don't worry about sending bass to them, since at such relatively low power it is not a big deal. What you want to avoid is using ported satellites capable of moderate low output *without* a bypass capacitor, since ported speakers run out of excursion below the tuning frequency and can distort really bad.As for the sub, use the sub you like. The crossover is enough to get a satisfactory result.Other than that, if you adjust your expectations you are getting a nice little amp that fits in a niche where no other amp fits at the moment: inexpensive, moderate power 2.1 amplifiers that can run on batteries.
Date published: 2012-01-31

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

Anybody else have issues like these?

I bought this amp about 4 months ago. It works, but turning the amp on and off causes the woofer to "suck in" and "push out" respectively, probably close to a quarter inch in either direction and on 4 and 8 ohm woofers. Inconveniently, I just don't turn it off if possible.Second, I bought 2 Bluetooth modules, 1 that I intended to use with this amp, using the USB jack for power. The modules work well when plugged into a Motorola phone charger, but when either are plugged into the charging jack on this amp there is a noise, a moderately high pitched buzzing emitted from the speakers. It does it with either module and neither module does it with the phone charger. The wired inputs work fine, just wanted Bluetooth freedom. I contemplated buying another amp just to see if this one is "defective", but they're back ordered. I really like this amp for its intended purpose, but I don't want to damage the woofer, and the buzzing is not acceptable.
Asked by: only_humann
That pop from the speakers is normal and shouldn't damage anything, nothing to be concerned about but I don't know what to tell you with the USB power issue. I don't use the USB port on the amp.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2013-04-29

Still confused on how to connect sub

If you are only connecting one sub to this amp I've heard people say you are supposed to connect both + leads of the amp to the single sub + and the same with the - connections. I've heard other people say that you just hook up either the left or the right.This isn't a bridged channel is it? If so, wouldn't you hookup the + from the left channel and the - from the right?The manual of this thing is all chinese and not very helpful...
Asked by: Kbelcher
Don't be confused by the two sets of output terminals marked SUB, they are tied together, so whether you connect one set or both, the result is the same. They are not left and right outputs, just duplicate mono outputs. The only reason there are two is because it let the manufacturer get away with using existing 4-channel terminal strips, instead of putting in 1 stereo strip and one mono strip. This is handy if you are using two subwoofers though.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2014-07-12

how do you hook up the subwoofer?

There appears to be two hookups. Im confused on how to hook up a subwoofer.
Asked by: basshead
This amp consists of 3 channels or three individual power supplies. Two of them go to the left and right for the speakers. Then the third channel is split between the left and right on the sub out. So if you wanted two subs to be powered with a total of 68 watts, you could. But at the same time you can run the sub off of the left or right side and still get the same power output of 68 watts. The amp just gives you a left and right for the sub out but you don't get more than 68 watts.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2014-07-12

Can a 15 volt 8A AC to DC switching power supply be used with this amplifier ?

I read the post about the caps exploding if they reach 16 volts and some people say 14.4 volts 5A is the max, but my amps came with 15Volt 3A. So I know 15 volts is safe but what is the effect of running it a 8A?
Asked by: Harrison
There really is no maximum amperage you can supply. The amp will only draw as many amps as it needs to (when it is working properly anyway).So, with your 15 volt 3 amp supply there is only 45 watts available to the amplifier. (Volts * Amps = Watts). So, no matter what, the amplifier will not be able to put out more watts than this. With a 15 volt 8 amp supply there would be 120 watts available to the amplifier. This should allow the amplifier to play at louder volumes before distorting. More noticeably it should and allow for peaks, like bass drum hits, to play louder, and sustained bass to play without "running out of gas" as quickly.Remember, the stated power output of this amp is very inflated.The satellite channels use a TDA7266S chip, which is rated at 5 watts per channel @ 11 volts input power into an 8-ohm load. Maximum output power is around 12 watts per channel with 4 ohm speakers.The sub channel uses a TDA7256 chip which with 14.4 volts input (the stated max) is reported to output 22 watts into 4 ohms.So, 120 available watts will be more than this thing will ever be able to use.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2014-07-12

2x40watts or can I Bridge for 1x80watts?

Im using this amp for a 3 driver speaker cabinet project for a small garage gym, the 12in Sub is wired using both the amps sub outputs. Now originally the cabinets 3 way crossover( 900Hz and 2800Hz) had the sub going to it but I had to rewire it just to go to the amps sub outputs (I had no other choice). When I did this my midrange didn't work at all. After being stumped for days as to why the midrange quit working, I ran a wire from the subs + to the subs - on the 3 way crossover and now the midrange works and sounds great. So my main question is with the 2x40 watt outputs for the L or R on the amp, if I'm only using one channel will the amp sense that, and send the 80 watts to only the channel I have hooked up or will I only get the 40W still? If I only get the 40W from one channel I have hooked up, is it safe to bridge both channels to get a 1x80W channel?
Asked by: Harrison
The amp is stereo and non-bridgable. If you use one channel you get 40 watts and the other channel goes unused. Some amps can be bridged, And there are mono amps. Take a look through PE if this amp isn't a match for your needs.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2013-01-20

battery power source

This may be a dumb question, but can you run this to a 9volt battery or a 12 volt lead acid battery? how long would it be able to run off of each?
Asked by: matthepanther
You can connect it to car battery if that was the question.
Answered by: Victorinox
Date published: 2014-07-12

truely 2 ohm stable on the stereo channels?

howdy everyone. i bought some speakers on closeout and one of these to make a portable mp3/cd boombox and was curious if the stereo output channels are really able to be stable into 2 ohms? i want to have three of the aura 6's per side so actual load would be 2.66 on paper but metered was right at 2 ohms (trio or 6.6 Ohm in parrallel). my build is a week away or so and i have time to get some answers, but the specs for this say it IS 2 ohms stable stereo but i saw no one verifying on here or asking.
Asked by:
Yes this will handle a 2 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-12

1x68Watts Sub Output

Does that mean if Im using only one 12 inch sub, and i hook it up to the amps right sub output that the sub is only getting 34 watts going to it?
Asked by: Harrison
The subwoofer output on this amplifier ais one single output that has two parallel connections. You can hook up one 4 ohm sub or two 8 ohm subs, either way will provide 68 watts of power.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-01-03

Bi-Amp To run 2 sattelites + A sub?

Can you hook up the channels of 2 of these units in parallel to achieve80w Max + 132w max @ 4-8 Ohms per channel?
Asked by: Wolf Punch
No, that really isn't a bi-amp. If a very small shift in phase of signal occurred damage to either amp or speakers could result. I would try one unit to see if your sound level is acceptable. If not, you could use this unit as a pre-amp. To drive a pair of larger amps by turning it down. One amp you could bridge for max power to the sub and the other in stereo to the satellites.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2012-11-16

Using two mini-amps

Is it possible to use a channel on another mini-amp to connect this one just for a subwoofer?Such as: TV to Mini-Amp(1) with channel one powering bookshelf speakers, and channel two going to this Mini-Amp(2) with this one just powering the subwoofer.Would this blow something up?
Asked by: NotQuiteSure
You can use the channels of your amps any way you like. However, bass requires the most power. It's best to have a larger dedicated amp for a subwoofer.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-18

What to expect from this?

2 x Tang Band W3-881SI 3" Speaker - 8 Ohms1 x Aura NS6-255-8A 6" As Woofer - 8 Ohms*Will be a nice System for PC?*A extra Crossover will be really necessary?
Asked by: Umpierre
The sub output is very impressive. It is a serious 68 watts. I've powered a hundred watt ten inch sub and it'll almost peak out the sub itself. There is a built in crossover for the sub output that u can control which is really handy. It's a great buy and hard to go wrong with.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2012-09-16

Could this be used as a bass amp?

Could I use this amp with an Ashbroy Bass (piezo pickup w/ pre-amp)? I would be in a small box with a small woofer & tweeter or possibly exciters. It would only be for practice and save me from hauling a bigger amp.
Asked by: kallad
Yes. Although there is no information directly about the sensitivity of the inputs, you are driving it with a preamp, so your bass should be able to drive the amp to full output.Your suggested use is far away from the intended use of the amp. You don't seem to plan to use the sub out or both sides of the stereo amp. But I think you see that the amp is small, extremely inexpensive, comes with a power supply, and according to reviews here, is surprisingly OK-sounding. If you don't expect more than a low volume practice amp, you have a clever (but a little odd) solution.
Answered by: Bushman
Date published: 2012-08-06

Could this handle two 8 ohm speakers per side and a 4 ohm sub, or would the load be too low?

Asked by: Nick G.
if this helps I'm using Bose 151 speakers on the L/R out and the aura pro shaker on the sub out.the Bose are 4 ohmthe aura are 4 ohm
Answered by: alpha 1 omega
Date published: 2012-07-30

Is there a headphone jack output (3.5mm)?

I'm looking to buy a small amp that will basically convert RCA output from my turntable, to a 3.5mm output that is compatible with my computer speakers and headphones. Will this amp be able to do that?
Asked by: FourSticks
No, the 3.5mm jack on the front of this amplifier is an auxiliary input for iPods, cell phones, MP3 players, and the like. I'd suggest something like the Topping I've linked below.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-07-12

sub out to DVC speaker?

can I use the two outputs for the sub to 2x 4ohm DVC? or should I run one output and wire the DVC sub in series for mono 8 ohm?
Asked by: Nina
You might be better off to series wire them so that you can get the most watts out of the amp. You might want to consider just wirering one sub instead of two. Maybe not, just a matter of testing things out.
Answered by: BeetzyBoy
Date published: 2012-07-17

What are the characteristics of the crossover?

In the comments people say the .1 channel crossover doesn't attenuate higher frequencies. Has anyone measured the crossover or does anyone know the slope? Also, does the crossover have an effect on the stereo channels?
Asked by: Pete B.
The subwoofer channel has a variable, 1st order low pass crossover. This crossover does not act as a high pass for the stereo channels, so no worries there.It will attenuate the sub channel 6db/octave below the point you choose, between 50 and 200Hz. So, if you choose 200Hz it will be attenuated 6db at 400Hz, and 12db at 800Hz. If you choose 50Hz it will be attenuated 6db at 100Hz and 12db at 200Hz.If you need a steeper curve, you can run an inductor in series with the woofer. This will give you the net effect of a 2nd order low pass crossover, 12db/octave. For a 4 ohm woofer I would use a cheap 3.5mH inductor, like the one below.
Answered by: Travis Rysdam
Date published: 2014-01-11

Can you use the sub outs to connect to a powered subwoofer?

Asked by: Auggie
no
Answered by: pkrueger
Date published: 2012-02-09

can this lepai's sub out power a single aura ast-2b-4 pro bass shaker?

Asked by: stealthbomber
Yup. it wud be perfect for that.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2014-05-28

How many watts RMS am i gonna get with the subwoofer output?

Im kinda confused and i want to know how many watts using the power supply it comes with.
Asked by: Navi
Probly about 45-50. Enough to hear but not enough to feel.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-02-18

Is the USB port for audio as well as charging?

Asked by: Ty2083
NO. Not on this amp. Apparently USB is provided as charging port only.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-08-03

Part number of amp chip

What is the part number of the main power chips inside this amp?
Asked by: Circuitsoft
The 2 stereo channels use a TDA7266S amplifier chip and the sub section uses a TDA7256 chip.
Answered by: modifry
Date published: 2014-01-11

What is the best power supply for getting max power from this amp?

What is the optimum power supply?
Asked by: bcuttn123
Well according to it's power requirements it would be 14.4volt 5 amp max. I don't know what you are planning to run with it but always get more amp than you think you need. As long as you don't try to power more than it was designed for then the included power supply should be sufficient.
Answered by: Dave80
Date published: 2013-04-06

2.1 or 4 channels?

The description obviously says 2.1 channels but in the pictures it apears to have 4 channels. Is the sub channel simply brigged with their own crosover? If so are they separate left and right channels or two mono ones?
Asked by: Derk
The subwoofer output is mono, one channel. There are, however, two sets of connections that are in parallel with each other.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2014-05-28

Does it output 7 VAC into a 2-ohm load?

In the answer to the question about its power output into 8 ohms, it seems to me that it was said that all channels max out at 7 VAC, however, the product description lists the sub channel output as a higher figure. What is the explanation for that? Are all 3 channels actually the same in maximum output ability? Also, is it able to maintain a clean 7 VAC output into a 2 ohm load? Thanks
Asked by: Robocam
The Lepai 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output is actually a group of three mono amplifiers with two of them tied together as a stereo amplifier and the odd remaining amplifier is dedicated via an internal crossover as the sub-woofer amplifier. In as much a bass (low) frequencies require more power to reproduce then they have increased the power output of this amp accordingly.You ask several questions within your inquiry so I will attempt to address each on separately.Regarding the 7 volt AC output, I fail to find a specific listing of 7 volts. It does required DC input between 9 volts and 14.4 volts that nicely accomodates automotive use. The power output to a speaker is listed into an 8 ohm load and would increase with speakers of a lower impedence. It should be understood that an amplifier will generate increased heat at loads of lower than design impedences.The reason the sub-amp has a higher output value was addressed in my first paragraph. You ask if all 3 channels actually the same in maximum output ability, and the answer is no, the output power specs are provided and accurate; 2 @ 40 watts & 1@ 68 watts for the sub.You inquire about a 2 ohm load, what is your load on each speaker? I have not found very many 2 ohm sub-woofers. To calculate the audio AC voltage, it is necessary to use some advanced math and have an understanding of the exact load and the frequency at which you desire the volt rating at. In addition, it is also necessary to have an understanding that there existing a rating called RMS. The Root Mean Square (RMS) can be simplified as 0.707 x peak output, but this simplified calculation does not yield a definitive voltage because it requires much more data to be considered.My reason for the detailed answer is to point out that perhaps you need a different question answered to consider the worthyness for your use.Good Luck
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-04-24

Does the volume control affect the sub output level?

Does the volume control affect all 3 channels or does it just control the 2 full-range channels? Does the bass control affect the sub channel? Thanks
Asked by: Robocam
The volume control on the far right controls the stereo output (top speaker level outputs on the rear of the amplifier) whereas the subwoofer output (bottom speaker level outputs on the rear of the amplifier) is controlled by the subwoofer volume control, on the far left, independently. This allows for precise integration of the subwoofer to the two stereo speakers.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2012-01-20

Bass shakers

Will the basic Lepai power up the two 25 Watt bass shakers bolted on our couch? The Yamaha VX-992 has a subwoofer output to activate the amp.
Asked by: Johannes
sure
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-01-20

Audio input on back ? ....

So , this can be used as an input for a cd player, or any type of source........ OR, it can be used as a subwoofer output?
Asked by: brettp
The output is designed as an output. I have found that the output is wired in such a way that it, in fact, does provide signal to the amplifier. I do not know the long-term consequences of using this output as an input (though I don't think it would do damage, but don't know).Using the output to feed signal to a subwoofer is a perfect example of its intended use.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2012-03-09

What is the circuit topology of the amplifier?

Asked by: Vladmun
This is a class A/B amplifier.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-01-20

Is this a class T or D amp?

Tripath?
Asked by: kenny kaos
this is a mosfet amplifier, commonly used in car audio. it is safe to use in 2ohm loads
Answered by: pkrueger
Date published: 2012-03-24

What is the approx. output per channel @ 8 Ohms?

Asked by: Whitneyville
Using the included power supply, I have tested this amplifier to produce roughly 7 VAC cleanly into an 8-ohm load, and a 4-ohm load, on both the stereo and subwoofer outputs using -0 dB white noise as the input signal.With the included power supply you can expect up to 6 watts of clean output per channel into 8 ohms (including the subwoofer) and 12 watts of output per channel into 4 ohms.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2013-12-21

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Lepai LP-168HA 2.1 2x40W Mini Amplifier + 1x68W Sub Output

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1