073-086_ALT_2.jpg
073-086_ALT_2.jpg
 
073-086_ALT_0
 
073-086_ALT_1
 
073-086_ALT_2
 

Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU

Brand:| Model: KIT-1
Overview
Lavolta packages everything you need to create your own custom LED display together in this kit. Stick it on, plug it in, and light it up using the remote to customize your lighting for any occasion.
Highlights
  • 300 IP65 rated LEDs with many different color combinations
  • Includes 44-key controller with DIY keys for endless custom colors
  • Packaged with a 12V, 6A power supply for maximum brightness
Part # 
073-086
Weight: 1.55 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$69.99
You Save50%
Your Price
$34.80
Buy 25-up$32.70
Part # 073-086
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU

The Lavolta KIT-1 is easy to set up and operate, yet highly customizable. Installation is quick and simple using the 3M adhesive backing on the LED strip. Cut the LEDs to a specific length with copper pads placed every 2". These pads also make it simple to make 90° turns or add extensions. This kit is the ideal product for turning any room, shelving unit, or patio into a unique lighting experience.

Each SMD5050 LED is CE and RoHS compliant, the entire strip is IP65 rated (no ingress of dust; complete protection against contact. Water projected by a nozzle (6.3 mm) against enclosure from any direction shall have no harmful effects).

You can really get the show going with the included 44-key IR remote that gives you options ranging from slow pulsing fades, to incredibly quick color changes, and every mood from sedate to energetic. The Lavolta KIT-1 is perfect for holiday decorating, parties, or to add architectural lighting flair to homes and offices.

A switching 12 VDC, 6A power supply (with 8 feet of cable) is included for maximum LED brightness.

Note:Prior to attaching the LED strip to a surface, it is recommended that you clean the surface with alcohol and dry with a lint-free cloth. In order to connect the LED lighting strip correctly to the remote control, align the black wire with the controller connector's arrow. The strip will only work in one direction, and you cannot harm the strip by connecting it backwards. Install the LED strip connector to the controller connector with both arrows in alignment.

To use the DIY memory keys, press the desired memory key, use the up/down red, green, or blue arrows to adjust to desired color, then press the DIY memory key again to store the color.

Due to the IR operation of this product, it is possible for remote controls of other devices to inadvertently change LED settings.

Strip Specifications: • Overall dimensions: 0.44" W x 196.80" L x 0.125" H (11 x 5000 x 3.2 mm) • Segment dimensions (98 segments per strip): 2" (50.8 mm) L.

RGB LED Specifications: • LED type: SMD 5050 • Red: 624 nm wavelength, 18 lumens • Green: 518 nm wavelength, 45 lumens • Blue: 471 nm wavelength, 18 lumens.

IR Remote Specifications:• Output: Three CMOS drain-open output • Connection type: Common anode • Control unit dimensions: 63 mm (2.48") L x 35 mm (1.38") W x 22 mm (0.87") H.

Power Supply Specifications: • Input: 100V to 240 VAC 50/60 Hz, 1.6A • Output: 12V, 6A • Power brick dimensions: 4-7/8" L x 2-1/8" W x 1-1/4" H • Total cord length: 96".

Remote control button layout

Brightness + (7 steps)Brightness - (7 steps)Pause/RunOn/Off
Static redStatic greenStatic blueStatic white
Static orangeStatic pea greenStatic dark blueStatic off-white
Static dark yellowStatic cyanStatic royal blueStatic light pink
Static yellowStatic light blueStatic pinkStatic green white
Static light yellowStatic sky blueStatic brownStatic blue white
Increase redIncrease greenIncrease blueSpeed up
Decrease redDecrease greenDecrease blueSpeed down
Memory 1Memory 2Memory 3Automatic change
Memory 4Memory 5Memory 6Flash on and off
3 color change7 color change3 color fade change7 color fade change



Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU
  • BrandLavolta
  • ModelKIT-1
  • Part Number073-086
  • UPC848864006154
  • Product CategoryAccent & Party Lighting
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (29 Reviews)
  • Weight1.55 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU
in the Accent & Party Lighting product category.

Reviews

Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU
Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU is rated 4.5172 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all in one kitWorks like the description says. The power supply only gets slightly warm after a few hours connected to a 16ft light strip. I have had no problems with the tape holding the light up. I turned on the light strip for a while to warm them up and wiped down the surface with alcohol before applying.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's not to likePut this under overhang on fireplace. Looks great! Like the dimmer. I can run this with my TV remote.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mid Range Solid DeviceThis LED strip was installed in my kitchen to provide extra light on the counters. The LEDs provide plenty of light and the control features are interesting to play with ( my favorite is fading to different colors and changing the transition speeds).I cut up the 16 foot long strip into 4 pieces and soldered them together with sold core wire. This task was fairly straight forward. The soldered connections held sturdy while I was running the circuit through the cabinets.A few disappoints...1.the adhesive on the back of the strip works best on smooth surfaces( I assume it does). I had a problem with the strips not sticking to the cabinets.2. The LED's control box (not the power supply, the white control unit) became faulty after a few hours of use. I've had to order a new individual control unit to replace it (hopefully for the last time).Overall:A great product, medium-easy to install, looks really cool, wife happy
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great featuresGreat product colors are brilliant, the control is awesome! Only issue is that it has to be cut to make a 90 degree turn and not every dyer can solder these small points.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!!I bought this back in November 2013. It was easily installed and works great.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the value price !!!I purchased 4 of these items, and have put all of them to good use. Endless possibilities, next project will be an infinity mirror. It would be great if Parts-Express would carry the additional items need for custom installation, such as 90 degree splice adapters and jumper wires. Overall, very well pleased with the product. Depending on how the application is mounted, it might need some help from Gorilla Glue to get the job done. I have recommended this item to other friends who are also pleased with this product.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lighting innovationAs a contractor, I bought and installed the LED tape under the cabinets of my customer's newly remodeled kitchen. It worked perfectly, creating a well lit work area then converting to wonderful ambient lighting at night with the touch of a button. Had to cut and splice the LED tape several times to install, but with careful soldering, no problems.were encountered. Will be getting more soon due to popular demand.Next installation will be on a boat!
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for home theater mood lightingBought this to provide upper tier mood lighting behind the screen enclosure. I had a particular color in mind, but now the color can be changed to suit the mood and theme of a particular movie or show.The controller works great and the learning curve is very shallow...
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very FestiveI purchased these for Christmas and they rocked, everyone like em'
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far just as advertisedThese work well and are a great addition to any lighting project
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great kitJust got through installing this. We have a cactus made of rebar that has always had rope lights on it. After replacing them year after year I decided to give this product a try. I did not try to use the adhesive backing, just tywrapped it on like the rope lights. The led strip is rated for outdoor use, but the power supply is not? I just did a rain package, locked all the connections together with hot glue so they are water tight and put it all in a ziplock bag and wraptyed the end closed. It's a very impresive display, bright, and since it's the season everyone is jealous so far.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lightingwork great, only drawback is the adhesive tape, it needs a little help from thick superglue
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome LED Lighting KitI was about to purchase all the separate bits included in this kit to replace two failing fluorescent under-counter lights, and a Parts Express rep helpfully pointed me at this kit. I saved $20+ over the individual components, and couldn't be happier.The kit was very easy to install, and looks great under my kitchen cabinets. I cut the strip and soldered connecting wires (to run behind the microwave), and now have great light under two cabinets.I chose to stick the light strips on the back side of the cabinet fronts, pointing towards the back wall, and they give great indirect lighting for our counters.I just used strong double-sided tape to hang the power supply and remote controller under the cabinet where the fluorescent light fixture used to be. You can't see them when standing in the room.The remote with all the lighting combinations will certainly help set the mood when we have parties!
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't turn lights on while still on the reelOne thing that should be cautioned against is turning on the lights for a more than a few seconds while they are still on the reel. I found that the adhesive was damaged by leaving the light on for about ten minutes. The adhesive did not stick to a wooden frame so I had to place a staple across the light strip at several places. It would be adventitious include more than one butt connector in the kit in that both ends of the light strip have connectors on them. I like the finished project that I used the lights on. placed between two glass block walls under a planter box.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent product for the price.Product delivered was defective but exchange was fast. Should have given 5 stars overall.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lavolta KIT1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Light 12V IP65 Remote & 12vdc 6amp Power supplyEasy set up, bright colors and off white illumination. Ordered wired and joint connectors (*bay) for easier install to make right angle vs soldering.
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cabinet LightingThis is quite a bit of stuff for not a lot of money, so you have to keep it in perspective. I installed the entire kit on a wall of cabinets and it looks just awesome. If you are going to cut the strips and solder, you need to have soldering experience. This is not an easy job as the copper pads are very close together. I ended up with 5 different pieces of strip all wired to the transformer. The remote works great. Very fun to change colors! I down-rated the product for one reason - the transformer is not UL listed. It's cheap and it gets hot. I do not expect it to last forever, but I didn't pay a whole lot so that's part of the deal. I think the LED strips will last for a very long time.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bright, and CheapGood features, bright, good remote, but power cable that came with it went bad as soon as i plugged it in, other than that great product.
Date published: 2013-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad controllerThis is the second LED light kit I have bought from Part Express and the second controller to go bad on me. Under normal use approximately 3 hours of continuous use the conroller goes bad and no longer responds to the remote control. These have by no means been abused or overused. Under normal use (turning on and off daily) the controller starts to fail. So when I bought the second kit I tried the controller on the first set of lights and worked beautifully.......for a short while. Now I am having to order two controllers to make my lights functional again. I'm not an electronics type but upon opening the controller there seems to be a small resistor/?? that looks burned out. Same component on both controllers. The price was great compared to local vendors but now I see the quality as very sub par.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Infinitely usefulI have now purchased 6 of these kits. I took 2, cut them into 3 foot sections, wired them side by side on a board and created a light panel to wash one side of the stage. Repeat, repeat.Each panel is about as bright as 2-3 PAR38 cans with gels.The included controller, remote and power supply make using them simple.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal product!These things are a blast, seriously. My wife and kids have been trying to cause each other seizures all night with the strobe mode.Great brightness, great customization options and of course it's super simple to setup and use. It's pretty much water proof too, so when the time comes these will be installed in my screen porch to light the ceiling.Just get them, you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install and looks great.Built a custom projector screen and used these LED as black lighting.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovin' the Light KitPackaging was great. Setup/install of the product was very simple. It comes with a sticky backing that was impressively sticky. It even stuck very well to dry sheetrock. Use of the remote is very simple and straight forward. Provides a bright glow above cabinets even during the day.Altogether, love the lights, and am ordering another kit as we speak :) Thanks!
Date published: 2013-08-06

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU

Does Lavolta Kit 1 come with a plug for the car cigarette lighter? Is the cord at least 8 Ft? And if not, what do I need? Cost? However, I do not want to plug in to the car while experimenting. Do I need transformer for regular house outlet? Cost?

Asked by: Legacy
This kit does not include a cigarette lighter plug. Using part numbers 090-489 and 265-272 you could make your own, which would create a 6 foot long cable. This kit does include a power supply for 100-240VAC input for standard applications.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-20

Is it possible to connect the sound activated music controller to this?

Asked by: techy467
Unfortunately the standard and sound controllers will only work separately from each other.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-01

Is it possible to change remote frequency so that 2 different remotes can't operate more than one light strip at one time?

Asked by: WheelinMatt
Unfortunately it is not possible to change the frequency.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-11

Does this come in lengths other than the 5M

Asked by: LMPM
Unfortunately the kits are only available in 5m lengths. We do have shorter strips available but not in kit form.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-07

How do you add an additional strip to this control kit so I have 2 x 16ft strips?

Asked by: dominicIOWA
If you buy an additional 16 ft strip, it will have plugs on the end to simply plug into this strip.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-25

so in order to install in my car in 4 diferit places i need extra 1 power suply and 1 remote unit?

Asked by: mihu
If you are installing this in a vehicle you will not need a power supply since any 12VDC source will work. With four full strips you will need two small controllers.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-25

Is there a way to reprogram the remote? When I push Blue, it turns red. The other colors are a bit out of whack also.

Asked by: GraffDisplays
Here is the programming procedure for this:http://www.parts-express.com/pedocs/manuals/reprogramming-an-led-controller-manual.pdfThe 44 key version is almost the same but you would use the JUMP3 button on the remote instead of the SMOOTH button on the 24-key controller. Everything else follows the reprogramming instructions of the 24-key control unit.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-06-06

Can I just run them off of a 12Vdc Battery?

Asked by: Kennyptho
Yes these will work with any 12VDC power source.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-25

Can you extend this? I need a total of 32 feet. Thanks

Asked by: catfishv1
Yes, we have 16 foot strips available separately that will work with this kit.http://www.parts-express.com/individual-red-green-and-blue-smd-3528-leds-5m-tape-lighting-strip-12-vdc-waterproof-100-ea--073-077
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-22

Can i use this strip under my car? 

Asked by: blomster
Yes although I would recommend a different mounting method than the adhesive that comes on the strip.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-22

What is the recommended gauge wire you should use to splice together segments?

Asked by: burkeorama
This depends on how long the splices are. If it is a few inches or less, 20-22 AWG will be fine. For longer runs i would recommend 18 AWG.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-17

What transformer would I need to be able to extended the strip to around 60 feet?

Asked by: cac347
Unfortunately you will need a high powered controller along with a 12-15 amp power supply in order to utilize a 60 foot run with these LED strips. Part number 073-005 and 320-3149 will work for powering four of those strips.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

Will it light up in the white mode only?

Asked by: Palm
Yes.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-22

Can I forgo the use of the 120 VAC to 12 VDC power converter and wire it directly to a fused 12 VDC source?

Asked by: Dr4Film
Yes this will be fine.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-13

I need linear feet' of LED light. Can I combine two kits, but connect them so only one remote is needed? Thanks, Erica Lugbill

Asked by: Erica17
Yes you can connect the strips end to end and use one controller, although we do not recommend any more than two strips connected to this controller at a time.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-04

I was wanting to put these in my car, but I was wondering after i cut these, how was i suppose to wire the piece that had been cut off of the roll to put in a different location.  

Asked by: Tommy23
If you cut these strips they will have to be hard wired back together with solder. They do have a 4 pin connector on each end, although it will still have to be hard wired if you only use one controller.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-14

With the weatherproof coating (vinyl?), how do you get to the copper contacts for cutting and reconnecting the strips?

Asked by: Evolution2001
The weatherproofing strip is adhered to the led strip with adhesive similar to the peal and stick backing on the strip, only stronger. You have to shave off just enough of the wrap to get to the solder pads on the strips.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-05

Do i have to buy it in 16ft rolls? Am I able to buy 60ft rolls, or can i just simply cut it where i want and splice them together.

Asked by: Brent11
You can cut the strips between the lights. There are many how to examples out on the web. I also found several sites where you can buy "RGB LED solderless connectors" and used them in my bar. One strip cut into two sections and another cut into three, no problems.
Answered by: stephenone
Date published: 2014-04-18

Can you buy a additional light strip to plug in item #073-086 to make it longer?

Asked by: Livety
This power supply and controller will handle two 16ft (5m) strips.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-05

What is the estimated wattage for this? I have a moped with a direct 100 watt dc generator and no battery. I don't think this is rated over a 100 watts is it?

Asked by: dizromo
The highest amount or wattage this power supply can produce is 72 watts. A single strip will only draw about 2-3 amps so this will realistically be closer to ~36 watts.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-14

Can you add addition LED strips, and will the power supply support more than one?

Asked by: Fizz
You can add up to one additional strip with this controller and power supply.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-05

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Lavolta KIT-1 RGB 300 LED 16 ft. Tape Lighting Strip 12 VDC Waterproof IP65 44-Key Remote 6A PSU

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1