292-412_ALT_2.jpg
292-412_ALT_2.jpg
 
292-412_ALT_0
 
292-412_ALT_1
 
292-412_ALT_2
 

GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer

Brand:| Model: 12PF-8
Overview
GRS 12PF-8 12" poly-laminated paper cone woofers are perfect for use in sealed-box home theater and music systems.
Highlights
  • Perfect for use in sealed-box home theater and music systems
  • Poly-laminated paper cone, treated foam surround, and polymer dust cap
  • Smooth frequency response with minimal cone breakup
Part # 
292-412
Weight: 3.85 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$19.99
You Save20%
Your Price
$15.88
Buy 4-up$12.70
Part # 292-412
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer

GRS 12PF-8 12" poly-laminated paper cone woofers are perfect for use in sealed-box home theater and music systems. Thanks to their carefully optimized parameters, GRS 12PF-8 12" poly-laminated paper cone woofers offer a high degree of compatibility when used as replacement speakers—they also provide excellent performance in new projects, too.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter12"
  • Power Handling (RMS)120 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)240 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response35 to 5,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity87 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.5"
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)35 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)7.56 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.15 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)5.97
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)2.08
  • Total Q (Qts)1.54
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)5.28 ft.³
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)3.5 mm
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialTreated Paper
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter12"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter11.0625"
  • Depth4.69"
  • # Mounting Holes6
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume2.92 ft.³
  • Sealed F340 Hz
  • Vented Volume73 ft.³
  • Vented F319 Hz
GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer
  • BrandGRS
  • Model12PF-8
  • Part Number292-412
  • UPC844632088490
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (23 Reviews)
  • Weight3.85 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer
GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer is rated 4.4348 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for the moneyI recently bought 2 of these speakers to replace a pair of broken subwoofers. These are fairly inexpensive subs. but the bass produced by them is very good and loud.They are definitely worth the money.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They work well in my homemade garage stereoBuilt a set of speakers about 3 years ago using Birch with 12" woofers from a set of B&W loud speakers. The boxes are garage quality and were built solid. Needless to say the 30+ year old foam surrounds on the woofers crumbled to dust under heavy use from a 500 watt 40 year old JVC amp that was imported from Germany. Condition as arived was good on one woofer and less than par on the other woofer with a bent basket that i had to straighten out to mount. Overall sound quality is way better than i originally thought. Very punchy and not alot of boom. With my soft dome RS midranges and a set of P-E blowout 1" softdome tweeters, these added new life to a set of garage speakers that get a pounding on a regular basis. Sad thing is I want to swap them with my home speakers...
Date published: 2013-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ServiceI ordered two of these speakers to replace worn ones in my barn stereo. One of them had a rattle. When I contacted Parts Express about it they replaced it at no cost and shipped for free. Two days after I let them know of the problem I had a new speaker that worked fine.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Electric Double Bass !Big surprise. I tested it (single woofer, no mid or tweeter) in a bare 3 cu ft. particle board box and with a Lyons LB-40 bass I can make it sound nearly like a standup double bass (acoustic). Pretty close, enough to clock yer head in puzzlement. I dampened the box and it lost a good bit of the double bass sound. About 3/4 front pickup, 1/3 rear pickup and a bit under 1/2 treble on the bass, with the amp set for pretty flat, a bit more bass. Running maybe 100 watts, 3/4 of 140 watts. One 87 db spl woofer ain't gonna blow windows out on 100 watts. I wish I had a trap door to jerk the damping out to get that sound at will.I can equalize this speaker to get a wide range of sounds.Used for a practice amp. Would you really trust a real gig on a 4x12 of $15 speakers ? Maybe, the future will tell. I do want to make a 4x12 and see how it works out.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good PurchaseVery Good Purchase and fast shipping, and good price for the product
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great replacementI used these in a small PA system for speakers that had torn from age. They work better than the originals.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love themSound great for music and for movies/shows. I would defiantly buy again.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for replacement speakerI got some old cabinets, probably built in the 60's... the speakers were totally decomposed, but cabinets were fine. these 12" babies sound fine -- nothing special, but great value for the $.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revived 20 yr old off brand speakersI used these along with: Goldwood GT-25 4" Tweeters, and Goldwood GM-35 5" Midranges to revive a pair of 20 year old off brand speakers. The woofers were toast, but the cabinets were solid. With the new speakers they are a nice complement to my JBL reference monitors, and the project came in under $70.
Date published: 2011-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good ValueI purchased these woofers as replacements for a 2.5 cu. ft enclosure. The Qtc was much higher than I would like, 2.7, F3 was 40Hz and Fb was about 60Hz. I was expecting a very boomy bass response, but I was wrong. The bass was not boomy and I was able to to adjust the bass as needed. I was driving these woofers with a 100watt pa power amp. I was playing live music and recorded music and it worked OK. These woofers were matched up with an 87db 5 1/4" mid-range and a 90db piezo 2x5" tweeter. I'm actually pleased with these speakers, even though the specs were not ideal.
Date published: 2011-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT VALUEA great replacement speaker for my old Sylvania AS 125A speakers.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent open baffle wooferI bought 2 of the 10" woofers to replace those in my blown Dynaco speakers when it dawned me that these could be used to make a Hframe open baffle OB speaker. It worked so well that I bought 4 12" woofers on sale. I mounted 2 in parallel in each Hframe driven by a Sure 2x100 watt Tamp (4 ohm loads are what these are designed for). I believe that the high Qts is their secret. The wood cost more than the drivers! The bass reminds me of my Magneplanar 3a's but with much more punch. I am bi-amping using OB NEO 3 and 8s. Definitely beats the Maggies.
Date published: 2011-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GRS 12" wooferThis is the second pair of these that I have bought as replacement woofers.I think they are awesome.They pound out the lows and they are unbelievably inexpensive.
Date published: 2011-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Securement holesThe holes to secure the speaker to the basket DOES NOT line up. Only two of the 6 line up. I was on top of a ladder working at a church. When the holes did not line, I questioned the quality of the manufacturing process. I was glad to have some wood screws to finish the job, but I am disatified with the speaker because of that. It sounded ok, nothing special.
Date published: 2011-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slammin'Installed with goldwood mids. 2 paper cone tweets were already in the cabs.These woofers shake the walls with only about 5 watts.Awesome product.Parts Express is just an amazing company to do business with I highly recommend these drivers for replacements.
Date published: 2011-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I bought this as a new project woofer for a first time project but decided to use it as a replacement for a 2 way system and it works great! I will buy many more!
Date published: 2010-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Huge value for the money!I bought this woofer to replace the speaker in a low-powered (60W) badd guitar amp that just didn't sound good. I had suspected all along that the speaker was the weak link, and I was right. I selected this woofer in large part for its upper frequency response to 5 KHz, as I like to hear the harmonics in my bass strings. This unit really delivered on that front, and on the low end as well. I don't know how well it will hold up if I drive it hard with only half its rated power, but I suspect it will do just fine for years to come.This would make a good woofer for a low-budget two-way hi-fi system, as it has plenty of midrange in itself.
Date published: 2010-10-05

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer

This speaker + Grs 8 paper cone in "woofer" air space 2.1 cu ft ?

I found these great cabinets this weekend at a yard sale.Drivers were bad. wanted to use this [1] 12" which I already have 6 of and the [1] grs-8 paper cone which I own 2 of, in the same air space wired in parallel with the dayton 3way crossover set to 4ohms.question is my internal volume of the entire cabinet is 2.9 cu. ft. and the space after bracing and enclosing the "woofer"area is 2.079cu. ft. is that enough space for this 12" and it's little brother the 8" together for the low end? Thank you.
Asked by: Doofus
Unfortunately you never want to mix two different woofer sizes in the same airspace. There is no way to properly model this and the smaller of the two will always be fighting the pressure of the larger, plus there is no benefit in the long run anyway.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-09-25

Is it possible to get a full set of thiele-small parameters for this driver? I am specifically looking for Bl and Sd figures.

Asked by: usw10
Unfortunately the manufacturer does not specify what these figures are. However, my modeling program gives me an Sd of 494.6 sq cm and a BL factor of 6.197 Tm. These are based on the rest of the parameters and calculated via BassBox.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-06-20

Specs say 11.69" cutout diameter & 12" overall diameter. I don't see how this could be correct. What's the true cutout dimension?

Asked by: AndyAudio
Yes the cutout listed online is incorrect, the actual cutout for this woofer is 11.0625"
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-03-02

can you put the grs 12'' with the grs 8'' and the Goldwood GT-510 tweeter in the same sealed box

I was wondering if you could put the GRS 12PF-8, GRS 8PF-8, and the Goldwood GT-510 tweeter in the same sealed box with an internal volume of 3.295 cubic feet and the sound not be distorted at all.
Asked by: lytro96
Tweeters and most mids have sealed backs. Drivers that have open backs need to have their own chamber - volume designed to match their specs. So no, you can't put the 12 and the 8 in the same air space. Each air space needs to be determined by taking the specs and using an online speaker box calculator.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-28

1

can i put this 12 inch sub in a 1.38 cubic feet sealed box and it still sound nice??
Asked by: lytro96
You need to take the specs (theile-smalle parameters) and plug them into an "online box calculator". It will then tell you the volume and tuning for a ported enclosure. You'll see response curves and the 3db down point for bass response. You will also see the same for a sealed box. Specify a total Qts of .707 for the most accurate bass. I can't use the adjective "nice" - but can say that if you use this method - that you will get optimum performance from this driver.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-28

Ported Alignment

I plan on using this in a ported alignment under a bed for moderator listening and mostly sounds FX.I understand this device works better with a sealed enclosure about 3.0 cu.ft., but is there any smaller configuration possible? This would include porting and sealed boxes.
Asked by: Andy Lancaster 321
This woofer is really only meant for larger sealed boxes, the recommend vented box volume is almost 70 cubic feet. You can undersize a sealed box quite a bit but the problem you will run into with this woofer is the excursion. It might play low but only at very low listening levels. It will function in a box as small as 1 cubic foot but will be limited with output with anything below 40 Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-08-30

What is the diameter between mounting holes? Thank you.

Asked by: Clint
The most important measurement is the cutout diameter. If the mounting holes don't line up, it's no big deal. You can always drill new holes.
Answered by: VacuumTube Johnny
Date published: 2012-01-19

Internal Cabinet Size?

what size cabinet would these need if they are inside a sealed cabinet? Also what cross-over frequency should you use when paired with a GRS 8PF-8 and Dayton Audio DC28F-8?
Asked by: Jarad
this woofer would need aprox 3 cu.ft. then you also would have to account for the air space the 8 needs. personally i would suggest the grs 6 1/2, but if you want to use the 8, then you will need even more airspace. you would be looking at 3.5-3.85 easy, and maybe more. these sound like the makings of a good pair of tower speakers. i would suggest the crossover here at part number 260-152. it seems to fit the bill. this would also work with the 6.5 grs if you reconsider. hope this helps you in your quest to low cost hi fi.
Answered by: BigRich92
Date published: 2011-10-18

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: GRS 12PF-8 12" Paper Cone Foam Surround Woofer

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software