Goldwood GW-8PC-30-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm

Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm

Brand:| Model: GW-8PC-30-4
Overview
The Heavy Duty PC Series is available in 4 ohm and 8 ohm versions for automotive and home audio applications. The woofers feature aluminum die-cast frames, knurled and gold-plated binding posts, rubber surrounds, and vented pole pieces with bumped back plates.
Part # 
290-312
Weight: 5.2 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$41.16
Buy 4-up$38.76
Part # 290-312
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm

The Heavy Duty PC Series is available in 4 ohm and 8 ohm versions for automotive and home audio applications. The woofers handle the most powerful of amplifiers while maintaining sonic excellence. They feature aluminum die-cast frames, knurled and gold-plated binding posts, rubber surrounds, and vented pole pieces with bumped back plates.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter8"
  • Power Handling (RMS)160 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)330 Watts
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Frequency Response45 to 7,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity90.9 dB 2.83V/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.5"
  • Magnet Weight30 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)44.2 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.7 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.2 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)5.98
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.49
  • Total Q (Qts)0.45
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.75 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.36 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)8.73 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)36.3g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)3.5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)205.9 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPoly
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Basket / Frame MaterialCast Aluminum
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter8"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter7.125"
  • Depth3.69"
  • # Mounting Holes4
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.27 ft.³
  • Sealed F384 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.85 ft.³
  • Vented F344 Hz
Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGW-8PC-30-4
  • Part Number290-312
  • UPC643420100174
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (23 Reviews)
  • Weight5.2 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm
Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm is rated 4.5217 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice in active setup.Used them crossed over at 3 khz 12db/oct. LR. Very responsive, accurate and no audible distortion at 2/3 their power rating..Music tells them to do something and my ears and Holm Impulse seem to think that they are doing it right.They have good looks and the cast frame is nice.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Toyota Avalon 2004 replacementWell so far so good,the Toyota backseat has a hole when the arm rest is down that gives access to the trunk so I bought a woofer box mounted the speaker in it,clipped the old jbl speaker out and extended some monster wire down for the extra length,best of all some bungie chords hold it all in place ! Nothing permanent in case I need more trunk room! Loud and tight response,I wish for more depth in mids and lows but the speaker can rock...with a 26 watt factory amp it still feels like a woofer in the backseat !
Date published: 2011-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Good sounding Woofer.We have found this to be a very good replacment for many small cabinets that have 4Ω rated woofers. Has nice and deep bass response. Very good buy for the cost.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid, good performing woofer .I was looking for a woofer I could use in a 3.5 home speaker set up.I have this woofer crossed at 450 hz down (second order linkw-riley) ported,in a 1.15 cu ft, loosely fiberglass stuffed enclosure,and it does a good job. The tonal quality is clean , and it does have good power handling ,but I would not call it a power hog. I have an acousticaly treated home theater set up that is reasonably good for low frequencies ,but I would have to say it benefits from subwoofer support.I managed to make it play nicely with the dayton dvc.WITH THE ADDITIONAL SUBs SWITCHED ON OR OFF, I cant call it a big heavy hitter(in this app)for bass ,butI wouldnt call it weak either ,and am suprized at its accuracy.It even does a good job on the low end,where it has to help supports deep vocal ranges.
Date published: 2010-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good solid wooferAll I can say is they were the right size and sound very good. gives a nice boom boomI installed two woofers in each tower speakerI do have some base now
Date published: 2010-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SpeakersGreat value.
Date published: 2009-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice speakeri got a pair of these to play with and i was initially disappointed by the quality. the surround was a bit deformed probably happened when gluing? after i got over that i tried them isobar in a .5 foot 60hz box and they were ok. i designed a snail shell/horn box for them and am very pleased. great bass response but do need a sub for the low stuff lower than 60hz. not a problem for normal music. it has a great tight bass that i like, sound incredibly loud and can handle a bit of power.here is a link to the box i made. it is at the bottom of the page. the one with a picture :)http://www.cardomain.com/ride/596508/6
Date published: 2009-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 50 percent happyput these in an old pair of kenwood 2 way truck boxes driven with all alpine gear including a 50/wpc amp. one lasted a few weeks the other still sounds ok ive been doing installs for over 30 years and i have NEVER blown any speaker in my life,home and auto. i know about clipping/distortion , spl etc. ive owned everything from lower end pioneer to bostons and have infinities in my front doors for the past year and a half that still sound great. All in all this speaker sounds ok and good luck with them holding up with a few watts.
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacements for my Allison Eight woofersI have a pair of Allison Eight home audio speakers. The woofer surrounds need re-foaming so I bought the Goldwoods as a 'temporary' replacement until I fixed the originals. Well, they sound so good and were such an easy swap I think I'll put the Allison woofers into storage and let the Goldwoods do the job. The Goldwoods handle all the power I can send to them. Tight, smooth bass with no distortion even at loud levels. They require a few hours break-in time and from there the sound keeps improving. A fantastic replacement for a hard-to-find woofer. Excellent fit and finish, much better than the originals, which look generic in comparison. And PE did a great job shipping them. They arrived in 5 days.
Date published: 2009-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Audi add on SubwooferThe Audi Avant (wagon)subwoofer is a tiny 4 inch toy in the very back. No base effect in the front seat. I installed this speaker in a box behind the driver seat and am nicely impressed w/ its subwoofer performance. I could not find a 2 ohm sub. This works well.
Date published: 2008-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great productThis speaker (sub woofer) was an outstanding replacement for a Toyota OEM speaker which was blown. The price was very acceptable and the price/performance ratio was very high (10/10). Also received intelligent, expert advice from support team.rc
Date published: 2008-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellant for the priceI used these to replace woofers in a Bose 601 Series II. They work great. You will have to make the top hole under the magnet a little larger,does not quite fit. I was not sure about the connectors at first but I think they will be great in the long run.Great sound for the price.
Date published: 2008-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Woofer!I put this woofer into an Infinity Reference 2 bookshelf speaker after the original started ripping around the outer foam. It took about 10 seconds to install and sounds much better than the one it replaced. Great price, great sound!
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ResponseGood speaker for the money. I used this speaker for replacement of the midrange woofer in my Bose 601 cabinets.The magnet is larger on this speaker compared to the original Bose so I had to enlarge the opening behind the mounting surface. Whip out the holesaw and go for it. After taking care of this, I got them mounted. The terminals are probably the weak point, where they don't seem to tighten up. I'd prefer a solder connection. Time will tell, so far so good. Good even response,very compatiable with home stereo.
Date published: 2008-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking forI bought these to replace the woofers in an old pair of EV Interface 1 speakers. I chose these because I did not have the spec sheets for the EVs, so I wanted replacement woofers with a wide frequency response (I got the impedence off the old woofers). I also thought the price point was a good value. The EVs have L-pads, so I popped the woofers in, dialed in the right balance between woofer and tweeter, and they sound quite good. I am extremely satisfied with the results, and would choose these woofers again for similar replacement situations. Just a note in case you care, they are made in China.
Date published: 2007-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great speaker, but ...I'm trying to rebuild a set of Infinity RS 3000 speakers that were given to me. I used P-E's caps to rebuild the X-Overs and I only have one working Woofer. I ordered these woofwers hoping they would "voice" well with the X-O and PolyCell tweeters. Did not work out that way.The speakers are of excellebnt quality. I was really impressed. They sounded very smooth and clean, much more so than some Eosones and AudioVox I was testing too. But, they were sufficiently lower volume output compared to the tweeters at same amplifier settings that they could not be used for my application. I could have modified the X-O to get a better match, but I am trying not to do that this time.I will, hovever keep them in mind for a future build. Very nice speaker with excellent build quality !!
Date published: 2007-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ValueThe goal was to build a pair for both HT and stereo setups. I paired it with a Tang Band tweeter (25-1414SC) crossed over @ 2500Hz 12db L.R. Together they are clear and have good imaging. For loudness, I power them with 450 watts per channel without a problem. They get as loud as I can handle without distortion. For the price and flexible range, you can't beat these woofers. They can play up to 4k down to 39 Hz (easy to crossover). I tuned the box at 40 Hz and bass output is well enough to that I don't have to make it a 3-way system. V-max is low, but it didn't matter because bass output shakes the room. Overall couldn't be happier. If you need more volume than a 6 woofer, these are the answer.
Date published: 2007-07-28

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm

Spec show up to 7000hz? I know that is incorrect.Graph shows.

Graph shows up to approx.2500hz I need a 4 ohm 8 in. to "sing" from 700-3000hz. regardless of price. I almost clicked the "buy now" button but something didnt seem right about those specs.I have seen the full range drivers but I need a 4 ohm. it is for home use and any input is appreciated.
Asked by: Dofus
the 700 - 3000hz area is a midrange driver. You would be better off with a 6" mid or mid-woofer. Larger drivers beam at higher frequencies causing audible problems. The Morel MW164 is a high end driver that I have used many times. The Dayton Audio PS180-8 6-1/2" Point Source Full-Range Neo Driver is very cool, and their DS175-8 is a good alternative to the Morel cost-wise.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-07

final question: "still shopping"

my toyota avalon xls is rated for 3.7 ohm speaker in the rear center position of the car ,....I noticed your other 8" speakers had a specification as 4ohm re:3.7 ,....I see this heavy duty speaker doesn't have that spec. included, will that be okay to install still ?
Asked by: buddy beat
yep the impedance is directly a product of the voice coil moving in the magnetic field ,not a dead resistance, it changes with the cabinet or lack of one. make sure the frame and magnet fits the car
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2011-11-01

Shopping

I'm looking for a replacement for a Toyota Avalon 2004 woofer would this work with the weak amplifier the factory has in it or should I stay with the Goldwood GW 8024 ? Which I read is the perfect match?
Asked by: buddy beat
We do have quite a few reviews on the GW-8024 being a nice drop-in for the Avalon, however, I see nothing that would make it a better choice than this speaker. In fact, this one has slightly higher sensitivity, which means it would play louder for a given input power. Most people interpret louder as "better" sounding, so you may just be onto something here. One small difference I do see that could be significant is the binding post terminals on this GW-8PC-30-4. If those won't interfere with the mounting, then I see no reason that this wouldn't be a good performer in your Avalon.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-10-29

T-line use?

I Had good luck using a 6 1/2" in a t-line, and would like to upgrade to 2 of these. They will be going in the back of a car with 160 watts rms per speaker. Can you use these in a t-line, if so any blueprints or box specs? Thanks
Asked by: essej321
To build a true Tline enclosure you would need to haul it in a full size van. I would be far too long for a car. I think perhaps you would like a 1/4 wave Tline. With a 1/4 wave you could build a folded inline encloser that would provide great performance for any good 8" speaker.I have used Goldwood speakers before with good success. You build your Tline based on your subs Fs. Doing so would place the speaker in an enclosure that subwoofer was designed for.Using Pie R sqd. your Goldwood has a cone of about 50 sq. in. With a fs of 45 Hz your port will need to be around 7'.I hope you can see that the real answer to your question is relative to the design or engineering work you are willing to put into your project. PE has some great speaker building software that allows you to enter a speakers specs for you chosen cab design and print the drawing for the box.Therefore, yes the Goldwood speaker WILL do well if your design accounts for it's specifications and is designed accordingly. A speaker box is a device that enhances the laws of physics as they apply to air in motion. The lower the frequency the longer the Tline must be. Thyis is why most speaker builders with size concerns use 1/4 wave or speaker designs with tuned ports or folded horn design.Many pre-made or speaker box kits are available that would allow a good sound for this speaker. If you are looking for competition levels of sound, then this is most likely not a good speaker for you.Good Luck
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2011-08-13

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Goldwood GW-8PC-4 8" Heavy Duty Woofer 4 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software