Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Brand:| Model: GW-8028
Overview
Butyl rubber surrounds are superior to foam in two important ways.
Part # 
290-355
Weight: 3.45 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$25.96
Buy 4-up$23.60
Part # 290-355
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Butyl rubber surrounds are superior to foam in two important ways. First, the butyl rubber resists moisture and will not dry rot, providing years of service. Second, the rubber surround, due to its superior damping characteristics will greatly reduce cone break up and ensure low distortion. These woofers are ideal for replacing and upgrading old, worn out drivers. They all feature a polypropylene cone, vented pole piece, foam gasket, soft poly dust cap, and stamped steel frame.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter8"
  • Power Handling (RMS)100 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)190 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response35 to 2,500 Hz
  • Sensitivity84 dB 2.83V/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.5"
  • Magnet Weight20 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)36 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)7.2 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.5 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)3.9
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)1.21
  • Total Q (Qts)0.92
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)1.54 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.73 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)6 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)26.9g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)2.5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)218.2 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPoly
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter8"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter7.25"
  • Depth3.625"
  • # Mounting Holes4
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume1.85 ft.³
  • Sealed F341 Hz
  • Vented Volume7.34 ft.³
  • Vented F323 Hz
Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGW-8028
  • Part Number290-355
  • UPC643420100303
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (63 Reviews)
  • Weight3.45 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm
Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm is rated 4.3968 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bose 601 Woofer ReplacementTight fit in Bose 601 Series iii cabinets (these speakers were just a bit too large); however, install went fine without box modification. After listening to for several hours I still get that wonderful Bose 601 sound I have gotten used to. I and all my friends have always loved these speakers and with the replacements installed we think they are every bit as good as the originals.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Goldwood GW-8028 8"This speaker is the exact make and model in a SoundBridge Cabinet. Great replacement driver and honestly sounded better than the original speakers in the cab.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid construction - a snap to installThese drivers replaced the (4) disintegrating 8" woofers in my old Advent floor speakers. They have been resurrected and are sounding great again.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent woofer for the MoneyI replaced the woofers in a set of Infinity's using these as replacements. They sounded better than the originals. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent valueI ordered these for an install in a 1956 Chevy Belair. I wanted to use a band pass design that I used for many years with the original Kicker Competition drivers (circa 1991 or so) and I was looking for a specific sound for my father in laws car. I searched all over for drivers with similar specs to the old Kicker drivers and then landed on these. They worked perfectly. The entire system in the car sounds terrific and the bass has a smooth, even response that gets really low. I couldn't be happier with the sound and the fact that these drivers were cheap made them one of the best buys of the year!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal!Speakers sound great! Good service, prompt delivery. Will purchase items from Parts Express again!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I neededI used a pair of these speakers to replace the OEMs in a set of Radio Shack bookshelf ported 2-ways that were nearly 20 years old. The foam surrounds had completely failed. The replacements dropped neatly into place and the speakers sound as good as new.Had a heckuva time when the shipper lost the package for a week, but the folks at Parts Express did everything they could to help...even offering to ship a replacement set before the shipper finally 'found' the misdelivered shipment.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than OEM Drivers in CSW Model SixWhen the foam surrounds rotted away in my 15 year old Cambridge Soundworks Model Sixes I refoamed them only to find the driver was blown from not having the surround to hold the cone in place. Being a new pair is only about $200 I didn't want to spend a ton replacing the drivers... At under $50 for the pair these Goldwoods fit the bill and fit the enclosure. the screw holes didn't exactly line up so I rotated the speaker a bit and drilled new holes. The end result... They spound better than new! They match up nicely with the Model Six cone tweeter. The low end response is noticeably lower and more accurate than the OEM ones. Even my wife (who does not have a judgmental ear) noticed the difference. If you want to fix up a pair of Model Sixes or Advents or even upgrade their performance. You can't beat this driver.
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blown Away...no pun intended......continued.../I had a old pair of Infinty RS3001's. I decided to replace the speakers simply because the cabinets were to nice to throw out. I chose these woofers after reading these reviews and because of the price. I am stunned at the quality. They are a great match for the Dayton tweeters I chose. I am sure I could have spent more money on another model and been happy as well but I went on the budget and was totally satisfied. I am a customer for life...My Infinity's live again
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cost effective, great sounding wooferAs another reviewer stated below, I replaced the blown woofs in my Advent A1104's. Good bass response, and a perfect fit with no alterations. I use these everyday as part of my home theater setup, and I have been very happy with them. TV, movies and music all sound great! I would recommend these to anybody looking for a good replacement woofer for their classic Advents.
Date published: 2010-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfiedReplaced speakers on Advent Prodigy Towers. Installed in minutes. Price was better than the same product at other web sites. They sound great.
Date published: 2010-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome value. Just break em in.These are awesome now they are broke in. My wife complained when I first installed them, but after a week she remarked that our system sounded so much better. I got these to upgrade a set of Sony speakers. Since the old ones were adequate but now worn out. The bass is so much accurate and deeper. Sound reproduction at low volume is greatly improved.
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good replacement speakerI used these to replace the woofer speakers in my old Infinity book shelf speakers. They sound very good, and were moderately priced.
Date published: 2010-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for small Open Baffle applicationsI'm using these for Open Baffle desktop speakers, powered with a pair of plate amps. They produce solid bass.
Date published: 2010-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good replacement wooferI needed replacement woofers because of a blown 8" in a 2 way ported PSB system. Parts Express tecnical assistance provided two reccommendations and explained what to expect from each. I purchased one which was received very quickly. The pair of speakers were easily installed. The only work reqired was to drill new mounting holes. The opening was correct.The sound is not the same as the original. I would describe it as more brilliant but with tighter more pronounced base. A different but good sound. I am very satisfied with the results and my first experience with Parts Express.
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit the bill perfectlyOur speakers are cured! Thanks for selling this product.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great replacement driverUsed to replace woofers in a pair of Advent A1104's. Sound better than new. Fit existing openings with no alterations. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value speakersReplaced the woofers from a pair of Bose speakers given by a co-worker. The woofers were in bad shape. I ordered these woofers and arrived in two days...a day early. I installed them in no time and the speakers were up and running...sounds good.
Date published: 2009-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent productPerfect replacement for my defective woofer. Dropped into place in my cabinet without modification, and matches the performance of the other speaker.
Date published: 2009-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It workedI installed the speaker into an old EPI 100 speaker system and it works well. I did have to redrill, however.
Date published: 2009-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speaker for the priceI purchased two of these woofers for an old pair of bookshelf speakers I have hung under the eves of my house outside above our hot tub. After 13 years outdoors the old paper woofers finally gave out. Although these are not rated for outside use I'm sure the poly cones will hold up at least as long if not longer than the old paper ones. Already the sound is much richer (more bass for sure) than the original due in large part to the larger magnets and butyl rubber surrounds. I am running these through Marantz MA500 125 watt amps and they sound great.I was also pleased find printed on their box that they are actually rated at 190 watts max (on the web page they are only rated at 90w).
Date published: 2009-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Served its purposeI needed two 8" woofers to replace the ones I had. The foam surrounds had dry rotted. I selected the Goldwood because it was cheap and I wasn't concerned with buying very high quality. Also it has a rubber surround that I am hoping will last a lot longer that foam. The sound quality is good enough for my usage in my college apartment. I can get the floors to rumble. I did have to drill new holes in the speaker box, but other than that, they are exactly what I was looking for.
Date published: 2009-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great replacement driverI bought four of these as replacements for older drivers. The sound is better than the originals.
Date published: 2009-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than the high end driver it replaced??not sure what some of the reviewers are gushing about. these are far from knocking on high ends door. they're not really bad but are very inefficient. be ready to pad down your tweeter.
Date published: 2009-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement for broken spkr in audio testing boothUsed as a replacement speaker in a hearing testing booth attached to sophisticated audiometer. Worked great and calibrated well. Took 5 min to install and was less costly that the $150 (each) speaker the company wanted me to use.
Date published: 2009-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for Oldies but GoodiesI bought 2 woofers to replace the origional woofers in a pair of Realistic Electostat 2A's. Had repaired old Cones far too often, these drivers are a superb match sonically. Only caveat the 2A's mount from inside the cabinet so had to compress mounting gasket, and use a jig to mount using the origional Hardware without removing the grill cloth.
Date published: 2009-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ChoiceI used this woofer to replace a blown set in a Sony 3 way Speaker. They seem to handle much more power without distorting, than the original woofers. Very happy with this replacement speaker.
Date published: 2009-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent 8" for moneyIt suits my application well. I am a teacher, and wanted some bookshelf speakers in my classroom. I fitted these to some old Boston Acoustics boxes with blown speakers, and they work great.
Date published: 2009-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sound for your dollar!I bought a pair of these to replace the blown 8" drivers in my JBL 3310 theater surrounds until I could get a better pair, but the sound I'm getting from them is nice enough that I can wait a bit. I wasn't expecting it, but the sound from them is close to what the originals were like. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!
Date published: 2009-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price & PerfectPrice beats out doing new surrounds on your old speaker and in fact sounds better. What more can you ask for. Very Satisfied.
Date published: 2009-02-17

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Goldwood GW-8028 8" Butyl Surround Woofer 8 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1