Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm

Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm

Brand:| Model: GW-204/8S
Overview
The poly-laminated paper cone, treated foam surround, and polymer dustcap give these drivers a very smooth frequency response with minimal cone breakup. The shielded magnet structure of this driver makes it great for A/V applications.
Highlights
  • Shielded design for extra sensitivity and close placement to sensitive TVs or computers
  • Smooth frequency response
  • Pincushion frame for close center-to-center speaker placement
Part # 
290-372
Weight: 1.4 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$11.28
Buy 4-up$10.19
Part # 290-372
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm

The poly-laminated paper cone, treated foam surround, and polymer dustcap give these drivers a very smooth frequency response with minimal cone breakup. The shielded magnet structure of this driver makes it great for A/V applications.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter4-1/2"
  • Power Handling (RMS)40 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)70 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response70 to 13,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity86 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1"
  • Magnet Weight10 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)136.9 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)7.3 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.2 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)6.82
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)2.02
  • Total Q (Qts)1.56
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.04 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.28 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)3.9 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)4.9g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)1.5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)53.52 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialTreated Paper
  • Surround MaterialFoam
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter4.125"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter4"
  • Depth2.5625"
  • # Mounting Holes4
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.02 ft.³
  • Sealed F3154 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.57 ft.³
  • Vented F372 Hz
Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGW-204/8S
  • Part Number290-372
  • UPC643420100365
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (38 Reviews)
  • Weight1.4 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm
Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm is rated 3.9737 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so Good wooferI got this as an extra speaker to play with. Although it does handle a decent amount of power, the X-max of 1.5 mm does greatly limit the sound. the speaker distorts(so to say) at lower volumes (about 20 watts), and even in an enclosure at the optimum calulations, it still doesn't sound very good. It's Small size, I believe, limits this woofer. this has helped shape the Guidelines i use to select speakers: at least 2mm X-max, and at least 86 db SPL.
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit like the original!When I got this speaker I was worried about the connecters. But after removing the old speaker I found it was a perfect fit. Sounds a little weaker thean my original but overall I'm pleased!
Date published: 2011-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good stuffnice replacement speaker for minimus 7. maybe not as much low end, but it's shielded which is nice. I had to solder the wires onto them because the original connectors didn't match up, but that wasn't a big deal.
Date published: 2010-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from koss replacement speakerpereict drop in replacement for koss m80 or m90 speakers,has foam instead of poly on rim so should last 10 years or so,poly would be better
Date published: 2010-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnavox TV Sounds Great AgainI was told my Magnavox TV couldn't be fixed by several repair shops and then I heard about your company. With minimal effort your speakers fit in the TV and now we are back to singing our hearts out on Playstation American Idol. Thanks Parts Express!
Date published: 2009-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speakers sound good to meExcellent service-got mine 2 days later . These matched the design of the originals and everything....Paul
Date published: 2009-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minimus 7A perfect replacement of the 7 woofer. Sounds great and just drops in. Great price, fast shipping, what else can you ask for?
Date published: 2009-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from badthe vc blew in the first 10 minuts
Date published: 2009-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Replacement!Purchase this 4" replacement speaker to replace 1 satelite speaker system that had 1 blown speaker.Received this replacement and after completing installation. Connect it back to the stereo receiver. Sounded great and physically cant tell since replacement speaker blend in with original speakers.Great sounds,inexpensive,great value!
Date published: 2009-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Realistic Minimus 7 Replacement WooferThis is a drop in replacement driver for the 30+ year old Radio Shack Realistic Minimus 7 speakers. A woofer gave out on one of mine and this speaker fit right in. The only difference was the size if the speaker wire lugs but if you don't want to solder on new ones, just snip these tabs right up the middle and they will accept the wire leads perfectly! I bought 2 of these speakers just in case another one give's out. I can't tell any difference in sound though the heft of the replacement speaker is slightly less than the original. I use the Minimus speakers with a subwoofer so it reduces the bass frequency demand on the Minimus. Should be good for another 30 years!
Date published: 2009-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleasedNice replacement drivers for my Minimus7's.Will sound even better after there broken in.Very good service from PartsExpress.
Date published: 2009-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Minimus 7 direct replacement speakerI am using these replacement woofers for my Minimus 7AV speakers which I am using as the rear surround speakers on my home theater, sound is excellent for that purpose.
Date published: 2009-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit the billThe speaker performs as expected in my Mitsubishi projection TV as a replacement. The only problem was the incompatibility of the contacts with the existing connectors. I called tech support and the Tech suggested soldering the mismatched connector to one of the contacts and it has worked fine. Good product and good service.
Date published: 2008-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good inexpensive speakerThis was a nice replacement for a small bookshelf speaker that failed.
Date published: 2008-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as the OEM speakers but are very goodThe fit was perfect. A very good replacement speaker. Not as much bass as the OEM.
Date published: 2008-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great productThis is a good affordable product. You cannot beat the prices.
Date published: 2008-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect replacement for Minimus 7Speakers sound great, fast shipping.
Date published: 2008-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good product and fast service.This product fits exactely what I needed. good performance. The service from Part Express is excellent.
Date published: 2008-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good as advertisedgreat sound in a small package
Date published: 2008-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine ProductI used these speakers to replace some blown outdoor Bose speakers in the same case. They sound better than the originals ever did...
Date published: 2008-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Replacement SpeakerBought the subject speaker as a replacement for one in a cheap portable audio system ("boom box") which serves as an extension in our study; the original had a very annoying voice coil rub. The new speaker is not an exact fit but installed easily, and it does the job; since it was designed as a woofer, using it is rather like shooting quail with a cannon, but since it is operating without a tight enclosure the resultant sound levels are not overpowering. An inexpensive repair for a system I really did not want to throw away...
Date published: 2008-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very satisified with SpeakerBought it to replace a speaker in a mimimus 7 Realistic from Radio shack bought 20 years ago. Works great fit perfect except wire spades were a different (no big deal). Received the speaker right away great service.
Date published: 2008-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excekent speakera great replacement for radio shack archer mini 7sbase speakers.
Date published: 2008-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT VALUEGOOD SOUND
Date published: 2008-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Replacement SpeakerI needed to snip, strip, and solder one of the speaker's wires to a speaker input. The original Koss speakers used two different sized wired connectors. No big deal.
Date published: 2008-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drop-in Fit!This product was a drop in fit, allowing me to change out the old damaged speakers in less than 10 minutes. It arrived within a few days of ordering and I was back up and listening to my system in no time. Excellent product and service!
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic speakerI was very impressed with the performance of this product, especially given the affordable price.
Date published: 2008-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice little speakerLess than half the price of the same, locally.
Date published: 2007-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value for the MoneyExcellent replacement 4" Shielded Poly Woofer speaker for home surround sound system.
Date published: 2007-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent replacement in a Minimus 7 cabinetI had Minimus 7 drivers blow a few times. I bought a few of these. They fit into those cabinets and in general worked out well. You must handle them gently because the wires to the voice coil seemed to be weak in one or two units. I wished that the surrounds were of clorobutyl rubber. I do not know if the surrounds on these will rot down the road. However they have worked out well so far as part of a satellite-sub combo.
Date published: 2007-08-17

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Goldwood GW-204/8S 4" Shielded Poly Woofer 8 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1