270-182_ALT_1.jpg
270-182_ALT_1.jpg
 
270-182_ALT_0
 
270-182_ALT_1
 

Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter

Brand:| Model: GT-525
Overview
Goldwood's GT-525 1" soft dome tweeter is a versatile yet inexpensive high frequency driver.
Highlights
  • Semi-horn-loaded dome increases efficiency
  • 1" silk dome provides smooth, natural response
  • High power handling for reliability and dynamic output
Part # 
270-182
Weight: 1.06 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$12.50
Buy 4-up$11.65
Part # 270-182
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter

Surprising performance at a low cost! The Goldwood GT-525 1" soft dome tweeter is a great drop-in replacement for the 8 ohm high frequency drivers found in many older speaker systems. The GT-525 tweeter's efficiency is increased by a semi-horn-loaded face plate, which also helps control directivity. A precisely contoured pure silk dome ensures smooth, non-fatiguing response.



Product Specifications
  • Tweeter TypeSoft Dome
  • Cone / Dome Diameter1"
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)50 Watts
  • Frequency Response2,000 to 20,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity92 dB 1W/1m
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)1,000 Hz
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter4"
  • Cutout Diameter2.88"
  • Depth1.13"
Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGT-525
  • Part Number270-182
  • UPC643420500042
  • Product CategoryTweeters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (34 Reviews)
  • Weight1.06 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
in the Tweeters product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter is rated 4.1765 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BrokenBought two of these to replace tweeters in a pair of loudspeakers.The plastic housing which the screw go into to attach it to a speaker box had cracks in it along where it was adhered to the magnet.It didn't look to be a big problem and seemed like a minor cosmetic issue that would be hidden once installed but when I screwed them into the speaker box the plastic housing on both of them broke and made them completely unusable because they could no longer be installed. I made sure when I screwed them into the pre-drilled holes to be careful not to over-drill them and just to get them snug and not tight enough to stress the plastic but it still broke.The actual speaker portion of the product still works fine but is impossible to install.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement for Infinity SM-82 tweeters.After reading another review; I decided on these as replacements for the high output Polycell tweeters in a pair of Infinity SM-82 speakers. These required a tiny notch to be cut at the top side of the current tweeter cutouts and 4 new holes for screws to secure. This was only necessary due to the terminals placement (one on each side of the driver). I would agree with other reviews that the terminals are flimsy. It shouldn't be a problem as long as you take your time and make connections gently. These tweeters have a much more pleasing sound than the stock polycells (known to be harsh, loud and tinny in the SM line of Infinity speakers). It also has improved the width/depth of the sound stage. It doesn't hurt that these tweeters look beautiful and seem to be built well. If you have a pair of Infinity SM-82 speakers and want to greatly improve their sound, without adjusting/ replacing the stock crossovers, I recommend these. Thanks P.E.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent on the high notesThese were a replacements for another brand of tweeters, that were old. These are kicking great sounds out and at a lower cost. I have been building speakers for 24 years as a hobby and these are great for the price.Happy customer
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crisp HighsI purchased these to put into a 2000 Chevy Silverado and all I can say is WOW! I paired these with the GRS 6.5 woofer running in parallel off of a Boss CX450 amp at 4 ohms. I made a simple 1st order crossover with a 1.8uf capacitor which has a crosses at around 5.5k. This sounds good, but I feel that crossing them lower would allow more male vocals and instruments through blending the sound between the woofers and tweeters better. Overall a very well constructed product, other than one of them coming with the mounting plastic area broken.
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I try this sooner?I plan to install this in a tower set up. I auditioned it as soon as it arrived. The sound is warm, smooth and not too bright. I am a fan of the silk dome tweeter, it just suits my tastes. I cannot wait to hear it in with the other components. I wish I'd heard this before. I tried a lot of low cost tweeters and I wish I'd saved my money and bought one of these. Good frequency response for a wide range of applications. This is a good all-round tweeter.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beats buying expensive new speakersI bought my speakers 32 years ago and the woofer went out two years ago. I replaced it with a nice 500 watt 8ohm replacement. Then last year the tweeter went out and I thought about scraping the whole thing and buying new speakers but they are very expensive these days. So I tried finding parts locally...and unfortunately the world of home audio is a niche market now and NO ONE sells parts. Thank you Parts-Express for supplying me with a decent sounding tweeter at a very resonable price. My speakers sound as good as they did 32 years ago and I doubt very seriously that anyone could tell the difference between a Klipsch or my newly rebuilt speakers.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice For The price!This turns out to be a nice replacement for burnt out Boston A-70 domes. Of course I had to modify the mounting and create my own gasket but it turned out to be a much better performer than the two popular Dayton soft domes. The Daytons needed to be tamed with added resistance whereas these Goldwoods work perfectly well without the L-Pad.Running them flat out...they don't overpower the Boston woofers but simply work with them seamlessly. For the money...the mod was worth it and I feel the replacement Goldwoods equal or better the Boston originals with all that wide deep dimensionality the A-70 design enjoyed and was famous for.Do you know what a pair of Boston tweeters go for...if you can find 'em? Yeah...no complaints here.
Date published: 2012-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good inexpensive tweeterYou get what you pay for here. I was able to swap main plates and use these on my Unisound speakers. The sound just about the same. No complaints.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so impressed.....I used these as cheap replacements in a pair of Technics SB-T200 tower speakers. I don't suggest these Technics were anything special to begin with, but these tweeters don't do them any justice. Maybe just a bad match.Purpose and value served though, as I bought these speakers with blown tweets to fix and flip But I wouldn't use these in something I planned to keep and listen to seriously.
Date published: 2011-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soft dome for the price!They seem to need a little extra power to get that 92db sensitivity out of them. But, also is nice because at low or mid volume it doesn't "drown" out your other speakers. To me, that is a nice balance at this cost. Let them get broke in then rate them. I'm very happy with them. Only con is the terminals. They are a little weak so be cautious hooking up. They fit almost perfect in a precut 3" cutout including terminals. Plastic faceplate but attractive.
Date published: 2011-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement speakerGot these to replace my burnt up arc tweeters on my JBL LX-500. They drop right in, Had to carve out a little for connections. These are really CRISP tweeters, I love them!
Date published: 2010-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Tweeters, Cheap MaterialI bought this tweeter for a pair of old 80s "White Van" speakers that I completely rebuilt. The dimensions of the box are 2.5L x 2W x 4H. I originally used a titanium Dayton DC25TS-8 tweeter(part number 275-055), but was not happy. I bought this tweeter to replace it, as it has the same cutout diameter. I was surprised at the great sound that these pump out it is nothing short of amazingly smooth. I was so Impressed I hooked them up to my Onkyo TX-SR308 receiver with my Boston Acoustics Horizon speakers and the tweeter sounds very similar to the Kortec soft dome in the Boston's. The only dig I have on this product is the build materials of the surrounding plate. its made of a cheap plastic that cracked when I mounted it on my box. Goldwood- make a version with an aluminum surrounding plate and you'll have a perfect product!
Date published: 2010-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the priceFor $10 they work fine. Although, mine showed up with the edge broke off that I had to glue back together.
Date published: 2009-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good replacement choiceNeeded a replacement tweeter for Nady two-way active monitors; Nady has none to sell. The GT-525 required minimal cabinet modification (it's round, the OEM was oval shaped). It looks good in place, sounds nice. I still need to tweak the HF amplifier to flatten the response, but in the mean time it does the job.
Date published: 2009-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cheap and now I know whyI purchased these for replacement in My Infinity bookshelf speakers and they couldn't even come close to sound like the originals.. lesson learned
Date published: 2009-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great natural sound.This tweeter sounds great, very smooth and natural. For the price you can't go wrong.Only draw back is the terminal and very weak and you must be careful when wiring them up.
Date published: 2009-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good performance for the priceI bought 24 of these for a Pair of Line Array speakers.
Date published: 2008-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value tweeterAfter reading the other reviews, I purchased some of these a while back. I finally got around to installing them in some 3-way speakers I've been designing for a while. Even though I am still fine tuning the crossover some, I am very impressed with these tweeters. They are by far the cheapest part of my speakers, yet sound very good, smooth and accurate. I am not impressed with the lugs for the wires, too delicate. I will be adding an adjustable L pad for high volume listening. They handle power good, very efficient, but are a little overly bright at high volume. Overall, I am very satisfied with these. Expensive sound at a budget price.
Date published: 2008-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good valueGood sound quality and a reasonable price.
Date published: 2008-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tweeterUsed this for a 3 way (my first DIY project. Highs are natural, nothing special but they sound good. No hiss or harshness or mushyness. They might sound a bit harsh if crossed under 3500 - 4000 hz.
Date published: 2008-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound for the moneyI installed this tweeter as part of a complete replacement/upgrade to an small 2-way bookshelf cabinet along with a Goldwood GW-208 8" woofer. I'm very happy with the results. This tweeters deliver is crisp and clean. Well worth its modest price.
Date published: 2008-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice presence and clarityI used these to repair a set of Ohm B speakers. I needed a pair to replace the Yamaha's in there because my daughter blew one. These have a higher wattage rating and the sound is excellent. These are a great value for the money.
Date published: 2008-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tweeter sounds beautiful.absolutly beautiful sounding tweeter with smooth highs, blends well with sonavox 12" woofer, and pioneer midrange. be careful with terminals, they are very delicate, and will break off easily.
Date published: 2008-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good tweetingI'm using stereo speakers for reference monitors. Bad idea I know, but I'm cheap. Blew out the midrange and the tweeters were not far behind. Ordered these from Parts Express and they work fine, exceeding the performance and power handling capability of the originals. At least I can boost the hi end via a EQ and hear the difference.They do the job they said they would do. That's all you can ask for.
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden Jem is rightThe Parts Express catalogue states that Goldwood has many "hidden jems" in their speakers, and this horn pure silk dome tweeter must be what they are referring to! Good efficiency, great transparency, and more dynamic after a couple of hours of break in. These are a steal at just under ten dollars.Mike J.
Date published: 2008-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow.First impressions: I'm so surprised. So there IS a dome tweeter with a level frequency response, laid back, yet involving sound (level frequency density--no hotspots), and good transparency. Music comes out with no distractions!! Kudos!
Date published: 2008-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked For MeWanted to replace an old horn tweeter that did not get replaced last upgrade. These two fit the bill and sound pretty good for the price. They went in an "extension pair" of speakers so I could listen to music in another room other than the entertainment room.
Date published: 2008-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent replacement speakerI got these as a replacement tweeter for some Infinity SM150 that I have and they sound awesome, not harsh, overwhelming, just a smooth natural sounding dome tweeter at a very affordable price, And they sound a little better than the origional pollycell tweets that came in the Infinitys , just had to do a little trimming to get them to fit. less than 10 bucks for this great sounding, looking tweeter you cant go wrong. So quit procrastinating and just buy it! Enjoy!
Date published: 2007-11-27
  • 2015-07-29T06:57CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_270-182, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Goldwood GT-525 1" Soft Dome Tweeter

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software