Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter

Brand:|Model: GT-510
Goldwood's 1" GT-510 soft, silk dome tweeter is great for use as a replacement high frequency driver. It's great bang-for-the-buck perfomance shines in budget constrained speaker designs!
In Stock
Your Price
$11.86
Buy 4+$10.53
Part # 270-176
Share:
Highlights
  • Relatively flat frequency response from 2k to 20k Hz
  • High power handling
  • 1" silk dome

Product Details

Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
Choose Goldwood's 1" GT-510 soft, silk dome tweeter for use as a replacement high frequency driver. An 8-ohm impedance makes it compatible with most speakers, and it's great bang-for-the-buck perfomance shines in budget-constrained speaker designs!


Product Specifications
  • Tweeter TypeSoft Dome
  • Cone / Dome Diameter1"
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)50 Watts
  • Frequency Response3,000 to 20,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity90 dB 1W/1m
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)1,300 Hz
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter4"
  • Cutout Diameter2.88"
  • Depth1.25"
Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGT-510
  • Part Number270-176
  • UPC643420500011
  • Product CategoryTweeters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (32 Reviews)
  • Weight0.8 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
in the Tweeters product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter
Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter is rated 4.5312 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent ValueA great replacement tweeter, has definite clarity at higher volume, but seems a little reluctant at lower levels...still sounds great
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice tweeterThese are well made and sound great. I used them to replace fried dome tweeters on some old two-way base reflex speakers on my pool deck, and the sound is really amazing considering the price.
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect tweeterI have been working on a set of monitor style speakers using the buyout 6.5 woofer and these tweeters matched up perfectly. I am using a .5 ft3 sealed box made of mdf and I had to make my own crossovers because of the different impedance. Crossed at 4k with air core inductors and dayton metallized poly caps all from PE. They sound great even in my garage and short of power.(running off of a car reciever I have hooks into my work bench) I cant wait to get my custom stands finished for them repaint and get them into the house. Thanks parts express for the quick shipping good parts and good service.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Pleased; Good Quality and Sound for the PriceI have some Allison Acoustics AL-100 bookshelf speakers that I had previouslyre-woofered using the 6.5" poly buyout woofers. They have a mylar tweeter (not thegood inverted domes). I am making some clones of them for a friend/clients store.I wanted to try these and see if they were an improvement over the mylars. I crossedthem over @ the same 5kHz and 6db slope. I immediately noticed more detail andclarity. However they were a little too sensitive. I added a 3.3 Ohm resistor. That made them too tame. I then tried a 2.2 Ohm resistor. That sounded perfect. So it looks likemy friend will get dome tweeters and I will definitely remember these when building"most bang for the buck" speakers. There are better tweeters out there, but you willhave to look hard to find better at this price. I would have given 4.5 stars if I could.
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome highs!!!!!Very clean and wide dispersion!!Parts express has my business for life!!! They took care of tje mistake to no cost to me!!! Thats great custemer srrvice!!!!!!
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Dome TweetersBought these to replace tweeters in '76 vintage Pioneer CS-511A speakers. These are replacements for replacements. Soft domes are in my opinion very smooth and especially nice at the upper limits where they tend to taper off nicely rather than abruptly. Their shape is nearly identical to those of microphones and probably a leading reason they reproduce high frequency with a natural uncolored quality. In the past I've tried horns, bullet, cone-type, and piezo tweeters. None ever came close to the sweetness of soft domes.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tweeter upgrades on ADC 18'sUpgraded tweeters installed on ADC 18's. After a tedious crossover redesign and restoration on these 44 year old massive floor standing loudspeakers, these tweeters are wired 2 in parallel with an Re approx t 3.8 ohms in each cabinet. Very open with wide dispersion and power handling. For the price, PE has a bargain here worth capturing. Impressive dome tweeters with the proper crossover slope, notch filter and impediance compensation in the redesign goal. Smooth and very spacially open!
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Quality Budget TweeterIf you are looking for a $12 tweeter, you are wasting your time to look any farther. I was amazed at the clarity, and especially how it handles cymbal crashes better than some $50 tweeters I have.I did some experiments with several different cheap tweeters (and types) and they all disgusted me. This one amazed me.I'm impressed with the dispersion, and that is in comparison to Linaeum tweeter dispersion. Listen to those a few years, and you will hate beamers. I can actually listen to this GT-510 without wishing they were Linaeums.
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent soft dome tweeter!I used these tweeters in a pair of towers I designed and built. Used in conjunction with the GRS 8 inch full range crossed at 6KHz, these soft domes sing! These are well worth the price. They are used for music only, powered by a 25 watt per channel tube amp. Analog source music sounds amazing.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement Tweeter for Jamo 98 speakersThis driver appeared to be a direct replacement for my Jamo 98 blown tweeters. The dimensions were the same as the Jamos they replaced. They sound great and brought my favorite speakers back to life for about $25. I never repaired a speaker before, but Parts Express made it easy.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SurprisedThese tweeters pleasantly surprised me with both quality of sound and build quality, the only slight disappointment was the thickness of the mounting terminals (wish they were slightly thicker, but that's just personal preference and didn't effect sound quality) . I built a 7.1 surround sound sound system for my daughter using 3 of these for the left and right main towers and 4 of the Goldwood GT-520 1" Soft Dome Horn Tweeter Model: GT-520 for the rear and mid/rear locations and these tweeters matched up well with the Peerless 5 1/4 inch shielded woofers used in the center channel and surround speakers in MTM designs and Peerless 8" woofers, Goldtone 6 1/4" sealed back mids using Parts Express 2 and 3 way crossovers. Using those buyout speakers, sale event PE crossovers and cabinets that I built she ended up with an AMAZING 7.1 surround system that has all her college friends envious! That's again PE, You make me look good with you deals...Straight up I completely recommend these for all kinds of builds, you won't be sorry..
Date published: 2012-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Tweet on the CheapI used these in a re-build of some old junk speakers my friend had on his front porch for 3 years. I figured for the money, these would be a nicer replacement than the original cone tweeters and I'm not disapointed. In a nicer build, I would recess them into the front baffle, but in this case I just put some foam tape behind around the back side for a nice seal which makes them sit away from the cabinet a bit. Very happy with the sound. I would like to try these in a nicer build. I reccommend this product.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tweeterI just want to say: good sound and cheap.
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value.Shipment was promt. Product was according to specs. Much better than the radio shack tweet it replaced. Not as nice as the Event 20/20 tweeter I had lying around, but that would have required more modifying and eight times the cost to get another! Great job, folks.
Date published: 2009-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tweeter for the moneyReplaced some tweeters in a new set of overstock speakers that just couldnt handle the carver amp.. They sound a bit better than the originals. Good bang for the buck I would say.
Date published: 2009-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds good.build the box, hook it up,listen. That is about all there was to it. Good sound, not harsh or annoying like some high freq speakers. Build has a quality feel to it. Not a cheap speaker.
Date published: 2009-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice replacement tweeterI have an old pair of KLH bookshelf speakers that I use in my garage. The original cone tweeters went out and I was going to throw them away but thought I'd give these tweeters a try. Wow, what a difference, they now sound better than I ever remember them sounding and they've been moved to my bedroom. The tweeters blend well with KLH's 8" woofer.The only problem was I had to grind the cabinets tweeter opening out a little to make the posts fit.
Date published: 2009-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great tweeter especially for the moneyThis is a very nice sounding tweeter. Very crisp, a little bright but extremely capable. Much better than the infinitys it replaced. The terminals are a bit cheap (loose) and raises concern regarding quality until you hear them! I would put them higher than JBL, infinity, Polk, but below Wharefadales, B&W but those are way more expesive and warmer.
Date published: 2009-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty damned good.These speakers have nice, clean, crisp highs (maybe a lil too crisp), and they are loud. I would recoomend some epoxy around the base of the terminals before hookup though, especially if you are soldering. Great product for the price.
Date published: 2009-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good replacements for paper conesUsed to replace the paper cones on my Sony SS-U 6030s. As I expected from a dome, the clarity is good and no harshness. They just showed how harsh my midranges are and that they need replacing :-).
Date published: 2009-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent low cost replacement tweeter!I bought a pair of speakers from a couple who was moving and overhauled them. I used these tweeters at the last minute when one of the tweeters used in this vintage DYI project was cutting in and out. I think that they sound great for the price and were a snap to install. I pushed them pretty hard and they worked great.
Date published: 2009-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great deal on a nice tweeterI put a pair of these in some 1974 vintage BIC Venturi speakers that were due for an upgrade. The tweeters have only been used for about two hours so far, so I'm not sure if they're broken in yet, but they sound pretty good - pretty smooth, not harsh, but accurate. Cymbals sound natural - and that's usually a good judge of a tweeter's sound. BTW... these are quite heavy for a small tweeter. Impressive magnet.
Date published: 2009-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tweeter at an excellent price.These were installed in a pair of speakers that had fried its original tweeters. Only catch was that I had to make the original hole larger, as the magnets were quite large for a tweeter.
Date published: 2008-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice tweeterLooks just like the one in the pic, looks great sounds great. I didn't expect it to be as heavy as it it, it's got a large magnet for a tweeter this size. Soft dome is nice, looks great in my three way cabinet with the gw hd midrange.
Date published: 2008-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent tweeter for the priceit works and sounds great
Date published: 2008-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soundA great fix for old speakers!
Date published: 2008-02-07
  • 2015-07-31T07:37CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_270-176, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter

What is the total diameter of the unit? Sensitivity rating per 1 watt? Magnet weight? Frequency response?

Asked by: TheNeff
Specifications: 50 watts RMS, 100 watts MAX, VC Dia: 1", Impedance: 8 ohms, Fs: 1,300 Hz, Frequency Response: 3,000 - 20,000 Hz, SPL: 90 dB, Dimensions: A: 4", B: 2-7/8", C 1-1/4". Magnet weight is not listed.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-29

Could this tweeters work with my studio monitors?

Hi Parts expressI have a studio monitors (m audio studiophile sp 5b) and the tweeters are damaged, I need a replacement, in the monitor's manual appear this specs for the tweeters :HF Driver: 1" magnetically-shield natural Silk Dome, 33wCould you tell me if this speakers are OK/similar for this replace? if no could you suggest ones of your store?I will apreciate, thanks.Regards
Asked by: daenmo
As long as the impedance matches and you can get it to fit there is no reason it wont work although it will sound different from the original. Replacing both would be recommended.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-07-22

what's the lowest xover point possible ?

is 2k hz to low of a crossover point ?thanks in adavance
Asked by: hiviman
3000 hz I wouldn't go any lower than than that.
Answered by: DjCrossbones
Date published: 2014-02-27

Is this tweeter a fit (mechanical and roughly electronic) for the Event 20/20?

Asked by: xaplexus
No. The tweeter in the event 20-20's is the same size as the Peerless 811852 (see Parts express number 279-179 discontinued)If you want to use the Goldwood you will need to enlarge the mounting hole from 2.5 inches to 2.875 inches for the Goldwood to fit. The Goldwood is 1dB more efficient than the Peerless so if you want to match the efficiency you will need to pad the Goldwood tweeter by 1dB. A 1 ohm (seriies) and a 20 ohm (parallel) will give the approximate 1dB attenuation. You will also need to drill new holes for the screws to mount. Sadly the original tweeter for the Events are available through Event. A DT-10 Peerless is the one that has the indentical faceplate of the event. You Can buy the 279-051 tweeter and rob the butterfly /voice coil /dome out of it and it will fit the magnet of the Event tweeter but the Caveat is you will need to be careful pulling the faceplate off (plastic breakable tabs) and the soldering is very fragile. you should use aircraft push terminals with fragile terminal tweeters. Good luck!
Answered by: WR22
Date published: 2011-11-18

So is the part # in the catalog incorrect, or are the specs in the catalog incorrect?

I understand what shielded drivers are and about stray magnetic fields. I do not really care about the magnetic shielding properties. I am concerned with the ragged impedence and response curve of the GT-510/S as compared to the smooth response and lower Fs of the GT-510 versus the GT-510/S. I was hoping PE could simply provide the info in this Q/A forum regarding which product they are actually selling. I'll be happy to phone tomorrow, if for some reason the information cannot be provided here.Thanks,Dick
Asked by: Dick
I apologize, it would seem that there was a typographical error in our copy. We no longer carry the GT-510/S, the GT-510 is the one we have in stock.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-02-27
  • 2015-07-31T09:31CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_270-176, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software