270-175_ALT_1.jpg
270-175_ALT_1.jpg
 
270-175_ALT_0
 
270-175_ALT_1
 

Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded

Brand:| Model: GT-302/S
Overview
Choose Goldwood's shielded GT-302/S for replacing blown tweeters in classic 2 and 3-way speakers. The 1/2" Mylar dome with acoustic lens offers great off-axis response, while ferrofluid cooling improves power handling. The shielded design allows for close placement near sensitive electronics.
Highlights
  • 1/2" Mylar dome for great off-axis response
  • Ferrofluid cooled for high power handling
  • Shielded motor for close placement to sensitive electronics
  • High 90 dB sensitivity
Part # 
270-175
Weight: 0.2 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$3.08
Buy 4-up$2.67
Part # 270-175
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded

Goldwood's shielded GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar dome tweeter offers frequency output to 19,000 Hz with great off-axis response. Ferrofluid cooling improves power handling, while the shielded motor allows for close proximity to sensitive electronics.



Product Specifications
  • Tweeter TypePoly / Mylar Dome
  • Cone / Dome Diameter1/2"
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)30 Watts
  • Frequency Response4,000 to 19,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity90 dB 1W/1m
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)2,600 Hz
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter2.38"
  • Cutout Diameter1.94"
  • Depth0.88"
Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded
  • BrandGoldwood
  • ModelGT-302/S
  • Part Number270-175
  • UPC643420500165
  • Product CategoryTweeters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (33 Reviews)
  • Weight0.2 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded
in the Tweeters product category.

Reviews

Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded
Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded is rated 3.9394 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It arrived BrokenWhen I received it, it was broken. The housing was broken off on one of the corners where the screw holes are. It's not even that it broke in shipping because the broken piece was not in the packaging. It was shipped that way. I still used it as it still mounted fine with 3 screws and not visible anyhow. I was a little disappointed about it but wasn't going to make a fuss about it, but I just received an E-mail asking me to write a review, so there you have it.
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from has good soundbought a pair of these and used poly 3.3mfd for a crossover.within 1 month 1 blew and the other audibly distorts , makes a hiss sound. i recommend crossing them 9k or higher. on the other hand, i have blown many tweeters in my days, so take my advice for what you will.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good low cost tweeterI found that you need to pump some hot glue between the bottom of the leads and the magnet if you want them to last more than a few minutes. After you do that, the leads are held down as not to break the coil connection. I didn't care much for them in an 8 inch 2 way, but for PA use, they sound way better than piezos when used in series in pairs, or series/parallel in quad. Then they seem to cover well and sound transparent. I even glued one to a horn in a monitor for a quick fix.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement tweetersI replaced the old and worn out tweeters of a 2000 Chevy Silverado. The tweeter did not fit in the original mounting, but nothing I couldn't work around. I wired these in parallel with GRS 6PF-8 in each door to get an overall ohm load of 4 ohms. The sound coming from the speakers has brought all kinds of music to life.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the money...These are hard to beat. Just received another shipment, this time 20 of them, to use mostly in arrays. Very smooth sound and wide dispersion when driven current sourced and crossed high as a super tweeter. Be aware - the latest batch of these apparently do not have ferrofluid so will not handle much power but they also sound better than previous batches so I actually prefer them this way. If you disassemble one you'll be pleasantly surprised on the quality considering they cost about a half gallon of gas.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cost effectiveI was really surprised when I removed the Phenolic ring tweeters and put these above two Dayton Classic 5.25 woofers.They have great sound.Now I wish I would have ordered 4 instead of two.I have several brands and types of tweeters on various speakers I built.Then I move them around to see what happens.Oh.this pair has the 2K crossover factory assembled Daytons.I may get varible resistors to lower the volume but these seem to put out good quality sound.As I do a lot of experimental speakers I will order more of these tweeters as they sound good and cost less.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for price!The sound is very good and easy to install, but not sure about quality , i use this with an L-pad too.i will be buying more tho because i do like the sound.
Date published: 2011-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A+ for performance, B- for constructionOn my first order I bought two of these to replace the stock speakers of a keyboard. One tweeter worked right away. The second did not. I could tell because the sound of the second speaker was not as clear as that of the first one. I checked the tweeter with a multimeter and found its resistance to be infinite. That meant simply that the coil was not attached to the terminals. Those terminals are not good, they actually "float" in their plastic base. My advice: do not overheat the terminals.I decided to take it apart and I removed the plastic cover that is attached to the plastic base with glue. Sure enough one side of the coil was not attached to the terminal. Some solder fixed that and a bit of epoxy glue put the parts back together. It worked well after that. The average DC resistance was around 6.8 ohms, not 8.On my second order I received 5 of them. Two were badly damaged due to poor handling by PE. One had actually its magnet completely removed from the base, but the coil was still attached to the plastic frame and its terminals. The other had a broken corner. I did not notice any of that "ferrofluid" on the damaged tweeter, between its magnet and the coil. Some people say that it is a good thing, others that it creates slower movement.I called PE and they shipped two replacements free of charge. My advice: do not choose the cheapest shipping service they offer.That is the reason why I gave it 3 stars only: construction is not that good. Performance however is. The sound is crisp and it does make a difference compared to the older tweeters I replaced.
Date published: 2011-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product for the price!Worked out great for my project ! At this price who can go wrong! Shipping was very quick & product was packaged very well. Thank you P.E. I'm glad I found y'all & am looking forward to doing more businesses with you in the future!
Date published: 2011-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from crisp, clear soundi ordered two of these one sounds incredible, but the other one even at low volumes make a weird high pitched sound on vocals. other than that i would highly recommend this tweeters cause there cheap, and sound great.
Date published: 2010-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great performance for the money.Purchased two for a speaker set I built for HT/Audio system. They are well worth the money for a low cost DIYer like me. Xover at 4.5khz and some attenuation to match SPL to the woofers and wow, they are better than the Cerwin Vegas I put together. Good high end sound, for less money.
Date published: 2010-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speakersI upgraded the tweets in my old Sony home theater system. The highs are much better than the stock tweets that I replaced. Measurements were right on. Went right in.
Date published: 2010-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sound Great!I purchased two of these for a new speaker enclosure set I built. They arrived in perfect condition. Had a problem with one tweeter coming apart from the mounting flange during installation but was able to glue it back together. Great speakers for the money.
Date published: 2009-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good valueI was replacing all of the tweeters in my 5.1 speaker collection. I chose these for the rear surround minis. Even though my amplifier was rated 100 watts max, the rear channels were always set softer. If you are going to use this product make sure the incoming wattage is matched or the little tweeter will blow. Other than that they produce great imagery.
Date published: 2009-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from little tweeterthis replaced the tweeter i needed.it'll do fine until i can find something better. the price is right.
Date published: 2009-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dirt cheap. Not too sturdy. Repairable.I bought 5 of these for some DIY 5.1 home theater speakers... I should have bought extras!! I've blown two so far testing them. I think a 4mF cap allows too much mid range to reach the voice coil, because they died within a minute or two. Luckily, after prying them apart, I was able to determine that the copper wire leading to the voice coil broke. I unwound a single turn from the coil and reconnected the wire to the connector. I put a piece of tape over the wire and then epoxied the magnet back on... good as new!
Date published: 2009-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from these are awesome for the priceI am a dj and made some speaker cabinets added these and the goldwood Gw-10pc-40-8 and the goldwood gm-85/8 and they all worked excellent together.... thanks parts express.
Date published: 2009-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great deal!Already had two of these, but blew one. Ordered 5 more cuz they were so cheap. Installed new crossovers which made them very bright. Fixed this by putting electrical tape over half the tweeter.
Date published: 2009-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Budget TweeterThese tweeters are used on some flagship satellite speakers from Zenith. The 19khz ceiling cost them a star overall as I'm partial to top end frequencies that are well beyond my hearing abilities, but I was very suprised by their sparkle, and a transient attack that is unheard of with speakers at this cost. The Zenith satellites had an L-Pad attenuator on the rear baffle above the input terminals. I strongly reccommend an L-pad with these as it tames their brightness. They pair well with any mid-bass driver 6.5" or smaller that tops out around 6khz and up. They distort when crossed over below 5khz, and are best suited for small bookshelf type speakers with 4" woofers or full-range drivers. Just remember to cross them over above 5khz (above 8khz with FR drivers) and try an L-Pad if they give you listening fatigue.
Date published: 2009-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely A Good Fit For The DCM TF-600As another reveiwer stated, these tweeters are an excellent replacment option for the DCM TF-600 loudspeakers. I would also like to note that no modification of the factory diameter opening was necessary in my case. They are cheap, so buy extras. I did and have already used them in the process of sound testing them, from four houses up the street, using the "remote" app on my iphone! This is not a knock on the tweeters though, as my crossovers have been modified incorrectly to bypass the cooked factory "bulb" capacitors with just a fuse, which is not sufficient in my opinion.
Date published: 2009-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quick and cheapI constantly blow my tweeters in my old Infinity's from messing with my DAW and is nice to have a box of these just in case.
Date published: 2009-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Value and fit for purposeThese were bought as a direct replacement to a pair of blown tweets for an old pair of DCM bookshelf speakers. The originals were not exactly strong in the high end but that made for a more balanced output for small speakers. These were a very inexpensive fix for what were essentially a direct match. Made fixing the pair worth it.
Date published: 2008-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great replacement tweeter for DCM TF600 spekersI recently suffered the first tweeter loss in my trusty (Time Frame) TF600 speakers. DCM told me to use the 264-840 Tang Band, but this one looked like a better fit. IT IS. I bought both, but happily used this Goldwood GT-302. The driver that died was on the front of my speaker, so I moved one of the side tweeters up front, and installed this one in the side. (Sounds exactly as it did before.) This tweeter has spade terminal posts, so no soldering was needed. To get a perfect fit I used my Dremel tool to open the cut-out 1/16" at the most...it took 1-minute.I would give this a 6 for value. Performance is great. I gave the features a 4, because the terminal posts were loose by design. A problem? No, but I'm pretty anal about loose speaker parts, so I put a dab of hot glue at the base of each post...fixed for 2-cents.Use these, they're cheaper and are far easier to install!
Date published: 2008-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from affordable tweeterthey are a good match with the mid # 280-115the only bad thing, is upon installation. the little plastic surrounding the faceplate, sometimes it crack, and sometimes, the faceplate is not glued correctly; so be carefull wile you put your screws in....otherwise. nothing else to complain... 100 % satisfy
Date published: 2008-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have purchased these several timesI have purchased these tweeters several times. as replacement parts. they have the sound characteristics of the ones they replaced, and are extremely inexpensive. Long durations of over-wattage can cause them to fail. but given the demands I place on them, and thier cost, I simply replace them every 2 years or so. I recommend them to people looking for a particular size replacement, or an inexpensive experiment part.
Date published: 2008-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought a test pairPurchased some test pairs of tweeters: these and the Dayton ND16FA-6 to use as helper tweeters in a fullrange project. Haven't measured but flush mounted the Goldwoods have an exceptionally clean sound to them when crossed above 8 or 9khz, not too bright and "fairly" smooth, causing me no fatigue after many hours of listening. Off-axis is above average imho. They sound much different when crossed around 5khz, not as good as the Daytons.The Dayton's were put through the same paces and could be crossed lower with less distortion and still retain an exceptional smoothness, they are also double the price. Both are still an excellent value in my opinion.
Date published: 2007-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High fidelityImprove the fidelity of the speakers, great performance for a very low price. 100% satisfied with this product. I recomend to everyone.
Date published: 2007-09-10
  • 2015-05-28T07:03CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_270-175, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Goldwood GT-302/S 1/2" Mylar Dome Tweeter Shielded

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software