290-427_ALT_1.jpg
290-427_ALT_1.jpg
 
290-427_ALT_0
 
290-427_ALT_1
 

Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver

Brand:| Model: Sigma Pro-18A-2
Overview
Eminence's Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" cast frame speaker performs superbly in moderately-sized professional PA subwoofer loudspeaker systems.
Highlights
  • Copper voice coil on polyimide former
  • Die-cast aluminum basket
  • Vented and extended pole piece
  • Paper cone with cloth cone edge
  • Great replacement for the Dayton Audio PF460-8 18" Cast Frame Driver 4" VC
Part # 
290-427
Weight: 27.9 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$174.99
Part # 290-427
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver

The Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" cast frame speaker is recommended for professional audio as a woofer or subwoofer in vented enclosures. It has been engineered for durability as well as exceptional sound quality, and will serve well when loaded into high-output live sound or music playback systems. Made in the USA. 7-year manufacturer's warranty!



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter18"
  • Power Handling (RMS)650 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)1300 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response41 to 2,400 Hz
  • Sensitivity99 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter3"
  • Magnet Weight120 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)28 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)6.29 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.9 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)8.28
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.3
  • Total Q (Qts)0.29
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)16.6 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.24 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)22.1 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)130g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)6.1 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)1140 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPaper
  • Surround MaterialCloth
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerKapton® / Polyimide
  • Basket / Frame MaterialCast Aluminum
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter18"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter16.56"
  • Depth8.15"
  • # Mounting Holes8
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume1.87 ft.³
  • Sealed F383 Hz
  • Vented Volume4.33 ft.³
  • Vented F353 Hz
Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver
  • BrandEminence Speaker
  • ModelSigma Pro-18A-2
  • Part Number290-427
  • UPC876358000395
  • Product CategoryWoofers, Subwoofers & Midrange Speakers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (19 Reviews)
  • Weight27.9 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver
in the Woofers, Subwoofers & Midrange Speakers product category.

Reviews

Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver
Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver is rated 4.7895 out of 5 by 19.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy!One of the best 18" drivers Eminence produces. I replaced a set of Community OEM drivers with the Sigma Pros. You can't go wrong with this driver. I would go with the Sigma Pro over the Omega Pro any day. Just check the specs out!
Date published: 2010-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pro Sound Hardware- Top of the LineEminence has always been a leader in Pro Sound Hardware, all of our replacement drivers are always Eminence...
Date published: 2009-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome SubsThese are much better speakers than the ones which came in Yamaha Sub Cabs. It is like having A whole new Cabinet Again only Better. I highly recommend these to any one. A great Speaker for the money.
Date published: 2009-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boom Boom Boom..!Nice clean and strong bass. I purchased one to replace my blow Wharfedale Lx-18 And I'm not mad I did..!
Date published: 2008-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sound!This speaker delivers great sound and is very sturdy in construction. Bang for you buck indeed. Shipping was lighting fast and customer service is second to none!
Date published: 2008-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unhappy with so called WarrantyI was using these as replacements in a couple older Behringer Sub Cabs. They sound Great alot of punch, but in the long run both drivers started rattling at higher outputs. I also have 8 Newer Behringer 18" cabs the ones rated 800/1600/3200 watt. I had been running all the cabs under the same situation many times side by side over the last 2 years. The Behringers are still performing well, but as I said the Eminence are not doing as well. When I contacted Parts Express about Warranty I was told that almost everything that could go wrong with the drivers are usually the end users fault. I tried to contact Eminence Customer service, had to leave message, and they did not get back to me. Seems to be a gamble paying for shipping to send them back to have them tell me it is my problem. Lucky for me the Behringers seem to take the same abuse and keep on ticking.
Date published: 2008-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Middle Weight! It Starts Out Punchin'!This equipment is an exceptional low cost replacement. It will rumble when set to do it.Thanks!
Date published: 2008-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good SpeakerI've used Eminence Speakers for many years and they're still going strong!
Date published: 2008-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid performerI built two 2 - 18" subs and these eminence speakers literally shake the house. I am running a crown xti 2000 on each one bridged at 4 ohms and they absolutely rock. I am using these subs to replace 4 - JBL MP 418 subs and there is no comparison.
Date published: 2008-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heart PounderThis is a good driver!!! I have it loaded in a pair of horn folded cabs (like the Cerwin Vega Earthquakes) and it rumbles everything!!! It helps the cabinet sound better then it looks.
Date published: 2008-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great speakerI have several Eminence speakers I love the performance & prices of these speakers.
Date published: 2008-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Estos 18's suenan muy bien!!!Yo manufacturo cajones para bocinas y elegi este 18 para meterlo a uno de mis disenios por computadora que luego fabrique para su venta. La verdad, me quede anonadado cuando escuche como suenan estos diceciochos. Tienen un sonido muy suave (contrario a lo seco que se oyen otros) y mas grave de lo que otros habian desarrollado en el mismo cajon. El sonido es muy poderoso, tambien. Solo hay que limitar muy bien el umbral maximo de potencia a la que se opera porque entra en distorcion de manera muy precipitada despues de sobrepasar su limite de potencia. En mi humilde opinion, yo creo que esta es la mejor opcion que combina menor precio y mejor desempenio de todo lo que he encontrado hasta ahora.
Date published: 2007-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beefy!I play bass in a band - small to medium venues. My rig needed more chunk. I built a custom ported cab and installed the Sigma Pro 18. I use a 100Hz active x-over and push it with a 600 watt (@8 ohms, bridged) amp. Ay carumba! I have yet to bottom it out, and it THUMPS! Buy one - you will not be disappointed!
Date published: 2007-06-12

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver

How big should I build the enclosure?

In the cabinet design pdf is the given enclosure size for both drivers in the "Dual SigmaPro18A Large PA Subwoofer Cabinet" section or is it per driver (11.12cu.ft. for both or per driver)? Also is it 2 ports per side or 1 per driver. Thanks!
Asked by: Audio Al
The design is for two drivers. Cabinet size 11.12. and two ports as specified.Build the cabinet symetrically - woofer top and bottom, with ports centered left and right.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-06-27

Product comparison

I'm building a speaker on a budget - how would you compare this speaker to the Eminence Definimax 4018LF 18" Driver? This speaker is almost 1/2 the price and the reviewers all seem to like them. I will be using 2 18" drivers in the cabinet primarily for bass in a mobile dj/pa rig. (3 way speakers)
Asked by: joshag
There are a few differences, these Sigma Pro's need larger boxes compaired to the Definimax woofers to reach as low (about 40% larger). Also the Definimax has a better motor (Larger VC, Shorting ring, higher xmax), but these should still serve your purpose well.
Answered by: mtg90
Date published: 2013-04-17

hi i customize car audio and i was wondering if this speaker was more like a woofer type speaker or a loud Speaker

Asked by: creflo
This speaker is designed for use as a Pro Audio subwoofer, however there is a movement in Car Audio to use high sensitivity drivers such as this.I would recommend a 4.5 cubic foot cabinet with two 4" diameter ports that are 6-3/4" long. This will tune the cabinet to 40 Hz and net you an f3 of 53 Hz. Your f6 should be at about 43 Hz making this a very good subwoofer for music.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2013-01-26

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Eminence Sigma Pro-18A-2 18" Cast Frame Driver

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1