Bonus Item Incl.
290-420_ALT_1.jpg
290-420_ALT_1.jpg
 
290-420_ALT_0
 
290-420_ALT_1
 

Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver

Brand:| Model: Kappa Pro-15LF-2
Overview
One of the best "bang for buck" PA woofers available, the Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" speaker is a fine choice for driver replacement or new projects.
Highlights
  • Kapton coil former
  • Polyamide-imide coated copper voice coil
  • 120 oz. ferrite magnet
  • Vented and extended pole piece
  • Die-cast aluminum basket
  • Paper cone with cloth cone edge
  • Solid composition paper dust cap
Part # 
290-420
Weight: 24.69 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Order Soon - Only 3 Left In StockMore Due In July 10, 2015
Your Price
$169.99
Eminence Baseball Cap
Qty: 1Part # 520-300
List Price:$19.99
Part # 290-420
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver

One of the best "bang for buck" PA woofers available, the Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" speaker is a fine choice for driver replacement or new projects. The Kappa Pro-15LF-2 features a 120 oz. ceramic ferrite magnet, 3" diameter copper voice coil on a polyimide former, vented/extended pole piece, and optimized long-excursion suspension. Recommended for professional audio in a vented bass enclosure. Made in the USA. 7-year manufacturer's warranty!



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter15"
  • Power Handling (RMS)600 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)1200 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response38 to 1,800 Hz
  • Sensitivity97.8 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter3"
  • Magnet Weight120 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)35 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)6.5 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.4 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)7.3
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.32
  • Total Q (Qts)0.30
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)7.02 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.2 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)21.6 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)102g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)6.7 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)856.3 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPaper
  • Surround MaterialCloth
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerKapton® / Polyimide
  • Basket / Frame MaterialCast Aluminum
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter15.21"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter14.06"
  • Depth6.57"
  • # Mounting Holes8
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume1.03 ft.³
  • Sealed F3104 Hz
  • Vented Volume2.9 ft.³
  • Vented F359 Hz
Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver
  • BrandEminence Speaker
  • ModelKappa Pro-15LF-2
  • Part Number290-420
  • UPC876358000388
  • Product CategoryPro Woofers, Subwoofers & Midrange Speakers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (17 Reviews)
  • Weight24.69 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver
in the Pro Woofers, Subwoofers & Midrange Speakers product category.

Reviews

Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver
Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver is rated 4.9412 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drop-In Mackie SWA1501 ReplacementAfter searching the Mackie forums and several other sites, this driver was recommended as a replacement for the blown stock driver in one of our SWA1501's. At $80 less than a recone/realignment, and over $100 less than the factory replacement, this driver is an excellent choice - after 5 shows to "break it in" the real-world RTA specs are basically identical to the units we have with factory drivers, and with higher power-handling and a larger voice coil this driver should prove to be far more reliable to boot!
Date published: 2010-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mackie SWA1501 Drop-in ReplacementAfter using Mackie powered subs for years and tiring of the costs, etc with having bad drivers reconed, I took a tip from the Mackie Forums and tried one of these to replace a blown driver in a SWA1501 - WOW! After a night of break-in at lower volumes, I opened it up this morning and was amazed! To the ear, the difference side by side with an original 1501 was unnoticeable, however after tweaking the controls on our Aphex bass enhancer I found that this driver will take MUCH more, giving LOADS of deeper and louder bass without lighting the limit LED on the amp one time! Time will tell how reliable this driver is (we do shows 5 nights a week so it will definitely be getting a workout) but the larger voice coil and higher power handling makes me confident that using this as a drop-in replacement for the Mackie stock driver was a great move! (The original driver was actually manufactured by Eminence, however it is a proprietary design so you're stuck getting them at inflated prices through Mackie or their dealers) ... Give this driver a shot in your 1501's, you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2010-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for a subwoofer encloserthis has to be the best sounding woofer i have ever bought it was worth the money spent, it sounds great i have it paired with an eminence pbx 250 low pass crossover and it sounds amazing. im a dj and have been for 5 years now and this sub performs i have yamahas and i relized that yamaha uses eminence speakers so over great buy highly recomemed and dont buy from any where else partsexpress.com is the best place for all ur pro audio needs. fast shipping also. =)
Date published: 2009-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deep bass with good Mid-bassI built some very nice 4 cubic foot boxes back about 1990 for the JBL 2226H. The box porting (JBL's recommendation) was supposed to have an fb of 30 hertz, but reverse engineering shows it to be more like 38 hertz. The JBL is a great sounding mid-bass speaker, but rolls off too much below 60 hertz.I tried the Peavey LowRider 15, great deep bass but poor midrange musicality. It is specifically a subwoofer. I plan to build some extended sub boxes for them.The Eminence Kappa Pro 15LF2 with a fs of 35 hz has turned out to be the answer. Seems flat down to 40 hertz with good linear mid-bass. I am bi-amplified with 30 hz high pass and 800 hz low pass using two old Crown D150A Series II amps bridged in mono. The high end is old Altec drivers on JBL 2370 horns, with a Selenium supertweeters (passive crossover at 5K hz).These are the best sounding loudspeakers I have ever heard for my types of music (hard rock, blues, country, etc). Probably not the choice for a classical music listener, but they definitely rock.
Date published: 2009-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good DriverI've loaded these woofers into some bass bins and they sound fantastic. They have a good power handling rating and have decent excursion capability for their price point. I highly recommend this driver for a wide variety of applications in pro sound reinforcement.
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got my moneys worth!I am a semi-pro bass player of 17 yrs. I also have been building custo cabs for 12 yrs. I play 5 string through a 1200w carvin with a 2-10 cab and a 2-15 cab. One of my 15's blew at a festival and I replaced them both with these. Not quite as bright as the old aluminum cones, but very smooth and about 40 percent more power handling than the 15XL's the low B string is very punchy even at practice volume. I was woried to, but with my knowledge price to performance can't be beat with this one.
Date published: 2008-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make sure you have the watts!I got this for a stand-alone bass cab I made. While the speaker sounds fine, it's noticeably less punchy and full in the mid-range than some of the lower rated eminence 15's, which I've compared side-by-side. I'm positive this is mostly because my power-amp just barely puts out the RMS wattage, and therefore can't efficiently twiddle the voice-coil through this thing's GIANT magnet to really get 'er thumpin'. Make you you have a fat amp (800+ watts) and you should be fine.
Date published: 2008-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great low end!I replaced a pair of EVM-15Bs in a pair of scoops with these. Big difference. Fat & deep low end. Hardly makes the power amps work. I'll be getting another pair. Robust design. Very pleased.
Date published: 2008-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHOA...! POWER TO SPEAR...!I REPLACED 2 JBL 15" WOOFER WITH THESE AND IM NOT MAD FOR DOING SO..! THESE WOOFERS ROCK THE HOUSE AND MY AMP NEVER CLIPPED ONCE INFACT, I HAD TO TURN THE VOLUME DOWN..! IM SO PLEASED IM GONNA REPLACE MY 18" WHARFEDALE WOOFERS WITH SOME 18" SIGMAS. MAKE SURE YOU SPEAK TO THE PROS AT PARTS EXPRESS FOR MORE HELP IN GETTING THE BEST SOUND YOUR LOOKING FOR. IM GLAD I DID...
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paul N. O'NealThis speaker will rock the house. You want solid, taught bass--well this is the woofer you have been looking for. It will pressurize a large room in milliseconds. Very low distortion and some of the best bass I've heard in a speaker including subwoofers. This guy can chew and spit out most subwoofers. Buy it! You will like it.
Date published: 2007-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better!I own the Delta-LF, Kappa-LF also. With a bigger magnet and cast frame, this speaker is heavier. But it delivers! This baby is very powerful! I can see these in a top of the line club speaker. Also they handle 600 wrms which is very impressive.
Date published: 2007-06-01
  • 2015-07-07T06:32CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_290-420, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Eminence Kappa Pro-15LF-2 15" Cast Frame Driver

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software