300-807_ALT_2.jpg
300-807_ALT_2.jpg
 
300-807_ALT_0
 
300-807_ALT_1
 
300-807_ALT_2
 

Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Brand:| Model: SPA500
Overview
The Dayton Audio SPA500 Subwoofer Amplifier delivers the efficiency of a Class-D design, without compromising audio quality and reliability.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • High power Class-AB output stage for clean, controlled output
  • Patented tracking downconverter power supply for high efficiency
  • Toroidal power supply transformer
  • Low frequency parametric EQ allows you to boost or cut to custom-tailor sound
  • Advanced soft clip circuitry improves headroom and protects woofers
  • OTC™ (Optimized Thermal Circuit) protects amplifier from potential heat damage
  • Hercules heat sinks dissipate and control heat for extreme reliability
Part # 
300-807
Weight: 20 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Regular Price$265.50
Sale Price
$249.90
Part # 300-807
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

One of the most technologically advanced subwoofer amplifiers on the market today! The Dayton Audio SPA500 subwoofer amplifier is based on a state-of-the-art Class-G circuit topology that combines the proven high power, high fidelity characteristics of a Class-AB amplifier with a patented tracking down converter power supply to achieve an operating efficiency up to 86%. You get the efficiency of a Class-D amplifier without compromising audio quality and reliability. The Class-AB output stage provides the clean and low-distortion sound that audiophiles demand, without any of the instability problems that plague other high-efficiency amplifier designs.

This American-designed and engineered amplifier uses patented circuitry that continuously tracks the input signal to modulate or control the voltage available to the output stage. This "tracking" capability delivers the exact amount of power based on demand instead of constantly keeping it in reserve, so the output stage only draws the amount of power that is required at any given time. Less energy is wasted as heat, and more power is available for the subwoofer driver. With its enhanced thermal management, the SPA500 is an upgrade over previous models—making it a nearly bulletproof amplifier choice for today's demanding HT audio and music playback applications.

Specifications: • Rated power output: 273 watts into 8 ohms, 540 watts into 4 ohms with 0.92% THD (based on one-third power duty cycle) • S/N ratio: 98 dB (A-weighted) • Low-pass crossover: 30 - 200 Hz, 24 dB/octave • Input voltage: User switchable 115/230V (Euro cord available) • Dimensions: 11-15/16" W x 11-15/16" H x 5-1/4" D; Cutout dimensions: 10" W x 10" H.



Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelSPA500
  • Part Number300-807
  • UPC844632015922
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Plate Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (36 Reviews)
  • Weight20 lbs.
  • Case Qty2
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
in the Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier is rated 4.25 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Amp for the PriceI used this amp to power a Dayton Audio Ultimax 10in in a ~1 ft^3 sealed enclosure.My primary motivation in selecting this amp over the BASH 500W was the parametric EQ. Based on my simulations, without any equalization, this system would have an F3 of ~44Hz. Use of the parametric EQ does make a notable improvement to the system's bass extension. I have not taken measurements but my ear estimates the new F3 is in the mid to low thirties.Another reason I picked this amp over the BASH was that it looked like it would make a tighter seal. The BASH looks like a big PCB screwed into a plate; the components of this amp are fully encapsulated. In reality, it may ultimately be just cosmetics but having the components enclosed seemed more robust to me. I found that this amp does make a solid seal.A complaint I have is that this amp is extremely sensitive to AC electrical noise. When I put it on a power conditioner, the noise did drop out completely. But, if you want to plug this amp directly into the wall and your AC power is not clean, you might hear it.Another complaint I have is that the low pass filter slope is steeper than I would prefer. I own a different sub that with a 6dB/octave slope and it is much easier to blend. With a slope of 24dB/octave, if the low pass filter frequency is not set just right, it becomes very apparent that a subwoofer is in play. I probably would have gone with 12dB/octave.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suggestion boxI am in the process of my subwoofer project that includes the SPA500 and an RSS315HF. I haven't turned it on yet. The one thing that has occupied my time the most is recessing the plate amp into the back of the cabinet. I consider myself a fairly accomplished woodworker, but creating a template to route the recess for the plate amp has been particularly time consuming. I would like to see PE provide a router template for their plate amps as an option to make this process go more smoothly. Here's an opportunity for someone with a CNC machine.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DOAThis was a drop in replacement for my original SPA500 12" Titanic kit which mysteriously died when nobody was home, receiver was off. (Very similar death to the description of the current recall on some PE sub amps.. too similar for me to not think they are somehow correlated.)First replacement I got (along with Titanic mk4) would play for 30 seconds then stop. It would recognize the signal and go from standby to ON but no output.Got an RMA and the second one works, for now. Disappointed that QA didn't catch that one as it ended up being over two weeks between me paying for the product to me having a working amp.Also a bit concerned that they use cheap components/construction with the first one failing like it did and the second being DOA..Probably would go with another amp and just replace my enclosure if I could go back and do it again.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice ampthis amp is powering 2 8ohm 10" perfectly. Parts Express did a great job getting me the amp
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from you get what you pay forthe amp is powerful for sure. i dont like how on is also auto on. the sub sometimes thumps when the amp turns on during the movie. im not sure why they would have a 500 watt sub amp that shuts off after 10 minutes to conserve energy, if your running a 60" tv a 7.1 receiver, a blue ray and 500w 15"sub your not thinking about power consumption only performance its like being concerned about gass milage then buying a muscle car. also the EQ controls arnt labeled clearly like bandwidth .1-1? and no 80hz on the low pass i dont use it but still
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rejuvenated my old M&K MX90I swapped out my old M&K MX90 125 watt plate amp. It made the sub better than it ever was! I'll just call it a MX500! It slams with depth, speed and accuracy like never before! The sub already had the super fast deep bass woofer upgrade. The SPA500 had no humming issues and the auto on off works fine. It makes a thud when waking up but not enough to bother me when considering that it saves electricity. I'm impressed so far!
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Two have died on meI now have two expensive door stops. Both have blown on me, and the internal fuses are good... for what? They didn't protect this unit from going bad. I noticed now that the manufacturer has installed heat sinks over the amps, but mine did not have them. Considering my experience with this product, I have to wonder why they weren't put on to start with, and if the present ones are sufficent. I can only hope now that I can get replacement boards for these unit. Otherwise I will certainly shop somewhere else for a replacement amp. $500+ for 2 doorstops isn't in my budget.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than the original?I just replaced the dead plate amp in my Polk PSW1000 (and judging from online comments, I'm far from the only one) with this unit and, so far, I'm happy with the results. It appears to be much better built than the original; I like the fact that it's sealed as opposed to the original - maybe it will last longer. I needed to do a little modification to the speaker enclosure for it to fit (a 1/2" drill bit and a jigsaw was needed), but nothing drastic was required. Now all I need to do is play around with the parametric equalizer settings (which the original didn't have) to get it sounding the way I want.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement for MFW-15Like many others I have went through 2 stock amps for my AVS MFW-15.I hooked this up with wirenuts, and using the LFE input set gain at 3 and rcvr at -7 output and calibrated to my other sub.. the MFW is better then ever imo...kicking hard watched SkyFall and the couch felt like it has buttkickers in it. It's keeping up with my EPIK Phoenix with ease... just becareful with gain, you could blow the stock driver, its only 3 ohms. One issue I have is it wont go into standby. Heatsink is only getting warm. Just do it.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Improvement over Old AmpI was one of the fortunate individuals to purchase some of Elemental Designs home theater equipment before they went under (tear). I have their 15" woofer horned setup and with the old plate amp it was pretty powerful by itself but under high stress the bass would be weaker and the plate amp obviously hotter.I installed this bad boy which it is a tad larger and had to make cut out adjustments but its nice to know if I ever decide to go bigger even the 1000W plate amp uses the same side cutout.This thing has a tremendous output improvement over the plate amp I had installed, it has really brought the sub-woofer to live hitting those low low notes that the movies put out especially during Django and The Dark Knight Rises.Highly recommend this amp, I have really put it to the test these past days and it barely barely gets warm...if that. Rattles my whole condo. Sorry neighbors :)
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly, sounds greatThis amp fits perfectly this heavy subwoofer cabinet, speakers and interface:Dayton Audio SWDC12 Dual 12" Subwoofer Cabinet Gray Vinyl2 x Dayton Audio DVC310-88 12" DVC Series Subwoofers, wired so amp sees 8 ohmsDayton wireless signal transmitter from source to sub input for convenience and eliminate humpros:-fits perfectly-clean low frequency reproduction-parametric equalizer to taylor signal specific to your speaker/enclosure-adjustments/controls simple-does not get hot-circuitry enclosedcons:-noneThis setup is remarkable and most listeners would be impressed and pleased. If I could do this again, I would consider subwoofers in a 4 ohm configuration, and possibly a more power, but few would complain with this amp's performance.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Meets the specsUsing one of these to drive an original dayton audio Titanic 1200, does a great job in the 2 cube precut cabinet.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A beast.This is a really workhorse. Certainly puts out a solid 500. I am running a Treo SSi 15", passively radiated with a Treo SSi 15" passive radiator in a custom inclosure I built. It destroys my buddy's pair of SVS subs. No hums or clicks. Love it. The Auto on sense feature maybe a bit to sensitive because it does not fully shut down very often, when my theater it shut down.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Infinite Baffle Subwoofer Amplifier ApplicationAfter extensive research, I purchased this amplifier to power a pair of 12" subwoofers (4 ohm load total) in an infinite baffle subwoofer application for my home theater room. I have not been disappointed! I'm very pleased with the headroom of the amp; even after some "severe" exercise, the heat generation is much less than I ever expected it to be from a Class AB amplifier. I'm still adjusting the final setup of the amp but the notch filter and gain controls have already allowed me to dial in the performance of my system to maximize my room acoustics. Overall, very impressed with this amp and would certainly purchase again.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid component & great value.I purchased the SPA500 to power my home subwoofer. The amp is driving a 15" Ascendant Audio Avalanche in a 2.2 cu.ft. sealed enclosure with no problems what so ever. The box is constructed of 5/8" walnut plywood over 3/4" MDF with cross bracing, weighing in at 125 lbs. The SPA550 looks and feels like a high end piece and performs like one also. The reason I chose this one over the other amps available was the standard parametric equalizer. This allows you to precisely tune your sub for optimum performance. It is MUCH more useful that a simple 6db boost feature offered on the other amps. As for power output, I have no doubt the unit is producing the claimed 500 watts. My sub is tuned with a small boost at 25 hertz and sounds fantastic with both music and movies. This setup easily trounces my Velodyne F1500 sub. Also of note, I have had no problems with ground loop issues or turn on 'thumps' of any kind. Amp runs silent and cool. I recommend this product!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oldies but goodiesI was surprised to see this amp back in stock. (Or I have not been looking for sub amps lately). I have had 2 of these amps for (guessing) about 10 years maybe longer. I run 2 each 18" pro type woofers (Fane) and have had wonderful results in my garage setup. I use a sealed 8cf enclosures with good results. I have never set up the EQ but set it at 0 instead. Both woofers make an outlandish amount of base, and the durability of the amps is exceptional.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Amp!I have a 15" sub in 2.5 cubic foot box. This amp works effortlessly and is well made. I am able to have excellent response even at low volume levels.My only con would be the auto on thump. Pretty substantial. I have been through 3 plate amps over the past 10 or so years and with this one, I plan on leaving it turned off when not in use for prolonged periods of time.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shakes The Place - Nicely!!Probably should have bought the 1000watt version of this amp (you can never have too much power right?). I am powering a Dayton Audio Titanic 15 in a ~2.75 cubic foot box and it fills the room very nicely and is well matched to my mains and center channel (on a 3x300watts RMS @ 4 Ohm Adcom Amp). This sub amp runs cool and I have not detected any stress even when really pushing it. The Titanic 15 can move huge volumes of air and with this amp behind it, the result is VERY impressive.My only complaint, is that the auto signal sense turns off some times depending on the content (mainly at lower listening levels) with a resulting annoying thump when the signal hits the right threshold for the amp to power up again. It would be great if this amp had a 12 volt trigger option. Also there is no constant on so you are stuck with the auto sense even if you are savvy enough to build your own external trigger black box.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid amplifierThe amplifier section is impressive. Low heat, high power, low distortion. The parametric EQ is indispensable. I have this coupled with a sealed enclosure and a high displacement driver to allow low frequency extension - and it has not let me down.Hum was present, and I understand that it is my wiring that is the culprit. No matter - This was solved with an inexpensive line level transformer that I had on hand. My real criticism for this amp is limited to it having bit more turn on thump than I would like, and the lack of adjustment for sleep mode. Actually, if it had no turn on thump, then the sleep mode would not bother me so much.If this could be corrected, and a variable phase control added - this would be a truly superior product. As it is the SPA500 is merely very good. Recommended.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelllent subI purchased this to replace my blown Titanic sub amp. (This was the result of using a ground lift adapter to eliminate a ground loop. A storm caused a voltage surge blowing the amp, see below). It is a direct replacement. I've always been impressed with it's clean and defined sub frequencies. Since I use the LFE input I have not used the parametric EQ settings. I did have problems with a great deal of 60hz hum on the original amp and after extensive testing with this one, I purchased a Radio shack ground loop isolator. Problem solved and I now have the amp properly grounded through a surge protector.
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good BumpsThis amp works just fine ,I hooked it up to a two sub box and it handle it very well just wish it would shut down with the head unit.
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large old dbx 18" sub renovationWent on a forum with the intent of reconditioning my olddbx sub. It's about 10 cubic feet. Under the forummembers recommendation I put two Precision Ports andadded this amp. I was also going to put a new driver in.The cabinet modifications more that surpassed myexpectations. So I just added the amp, which was alsorecommended. I probably will put a new driver in eventually. The only thing I would change on the ampis a variable phase dial. This allows for more preciseroom placement. But, still the 0 or 180 degree is usuallysufficient.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent PerformanceIt replaced a defective Acoustic Research 500W amp and does a superior job. Currently driving a Dayton MKIII 15" subwoofer in the old AR cabinet. (The AR subwoofer went bad years ago.) It is a far superior unit now with the Dayton components.
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems spot on for surround appsAfter looking at this and other offerings at PE for a 500W subwoofer amp, I decided on this one since it wasn't exposed and it had a LFE input. While I was building my subwoofer, I found the same problem I've encountered with all my other hi end pro equipment in my house: I'm close to a radio tower and the electrical wiring isn't great here. I have to experiment with grounding and shielding with all my high current amps... by default they have humming or the radio station. I spent some time with experimenting with groundings and signal inputs to reduce hum...but I know that's due to my location and not the amp (which would be expected to pick up minute distortion at this high current). Anyways, I found this amp easy to install in my Dayton 3 cu ft cherry cabinet and TS Sounds 12" driver. At first I thought I wouldn't need the EQ portion of the amp...and mainly bought because it seemed to have quality electronics and a direct LFE. Since my reciever can output a stereo and LFE signal, I am now splitting a LFE and stereo signal to the amp. This is giving me absolute control in the crossover between my full range tower mains vs more limited surrounds. Overall, I'm very pleased with this amp. It gives me fine control, doesn't have useless options like speaker wiring, and seems to drive a high displacement driver very well.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bump your house !!!!!This amp is the real deal with that car audio super bass experience in your living room !!!!!!I actually own the older version of this amp and I have had it for over 3 years at least.. I have gone threw three 12 inch subs and All the times I did blow the sub was after a Saturday night party of 5 hours plus of hard bass slamming..I have absolutely zero problems with the amp except for a little bit of line noise that u can only notice when the amp has no signal.... This amp really completes the home theater experience and is incomparable to any other home theater powered subwoofer box !!! Vary highly recommend this amp also make sure u get a good 12 inch or 15 inch sub that can handle the power !!!Only thing it needs is that wireless remote controll !!! Maybe just and the IR and charge extra for the remote ??Thx for a great product I will be shopping at parts express again!!!Joshua James CA
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lot's of powerThis amp has what you need! I built a box for this and the 12" dayton reference and it sounds really nice, makes my house rattle, specially my livingroom. The box that I built is 20x20 with a s type port (not sure how to explain the port) but it's 1.5" high and the width of the box and goes around on the inside, I made a few like this for car audio also.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MFW-15 amp replacementAfter the amp in my MFW-15 died (whose hasn't?), I of course was looking for a replacement. I wanted a bit of an upgrade and wasn't interested in finding a new version of the stock amp. I was choosing between the BASH 500 and this one. I chose the Dayton because of the sealed back, the parametric EQ, and the torodial transformer. Due to the slot design, I knew I couldn't mount a new amp in the MFW. I considered building something to piggy back whatever I bought onto the back of the sub. With this amp, I didn't have to, I just rest it against the wall behind the sub. So far so good. I've only had the amp for a few days and we just watched our first movie (Episode 1 on Blu-ray) using it. It far outperformed the former stock amp and after the movie the heat sinks and back case were barely warm to the touch.
Date published: 2011-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate AmplifierI have installed at least 15 of these for customers and have two in my own theater.Not one return. I love the parametric eq for fine tuning the subs for each unique environment. I use them mostly with the Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference subs.Customer service with PE has always been top notch.
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good while it lastedBeen using this amp with a 12" sub from a name brand shop. It replaced the fairly weak amp that came with the sub. At first, it was much better, all things were good. Over time it seems to "loose power". I would play with the crossover, thinking I was loosing my mind! Finally I replaced the woofer, then realized it was probably the amp. The woofer was over 10yrs old anyway and was do for a refresh. So, now I'm replacing this amp with a Bash amp from Parts Express. Hope for the best!
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate AmplifierVery pleased with this product. I used two of them in dual 1.7 cubic foot net volume sealed cabinets (17x17x18 external dimentions with 3/4" MDF and a healthy brace, taking speaker, brace and amp into account). I paired them with two of the Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF. Results are tight, fast and smooth bass. I compensated for the limitations of sealed cabinets by setting the parametric equalizer at about 1/4 of the bandwdth dial, 30 hz on the frequency dial and about +4 db on the boost dial (basically, taking 20-40hz and ramping them up). I set the cutoff at about 80 hz. I'm using mine right next to my mains, so normal polarity works great. I can see a use for greater flexibility with the polarity similar to the Dayton Audio SA1000 Subwoofer Amplifier controls. This amp will do normal and 180 degree reverse. I sealed the wiring exit on the back of the amp for fear of air pressure exuding into the amp. Overall: highly recommend and very pleased. If one breaks I would buy another.
Date published: 2011-05-02

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Could you tell me if the Daytona SPA500 could go with two pioneer ts- w304r thank you Mr Sauvignon Belgium

Asked by: sauvignon
Yes it will work for those woofers as long as they are wired in series for an 8 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-27

hello, Is the Daytona 500 SPA operates on a 220v alimentaion if so what should I use as accessories to operate this product Thank you in advance for your reply. Mr Sauvignon Belgium

Asked by: sauvignon
Yes this will operate on 220v. You will need to pull the fuse and replace it with a 4A type, then re-install it flipped 180 degrees. You will also need a power cord plug adapter.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-27

I have read that part of the protection circuit is a HPF at ~19hz. Is that true? My passive radiator design needs such a cut so that an explosive burst of 18hz doesn't blow the radiators out the sides. Thank you.

Asked by: intrepidpursuit
Yes that is true.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-20

What's new? it says this is an "UPDATED" version and I have the model from roughly 5 years ago. I want to go to a stereo sub setup ( ie considering another) . The specs look the same and I'm wondering if there's anything major I need to consider.

Asked by: BrooklynJeff
The upgrades include the heat sink and updated protection circuits. The amplifier output and sound will be no different than the older model.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-02

What kind of warranty does this amp come with if any?

Asked by: t0mmyr
This amplifier will have a 1 year warranty when purchased brand new (not refurbished).
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-28

Hi! How do you change it to 220 volt from 110volt?

Asked by: Alexander1234
This is 110 volt out of the box. No modification is necessary for 110 volt operation.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-04-14

How does the auto on/off work.

Asked by: Jerry09
When the receiver sends a low voltage signal through the subwoofer output, it acts like a trigger to bring the amplifier out of standby mode. Once this low voltage source (receiver) has been turned off, the amplifier will go back to standby after 10 or 15 minutes.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-20

Are the power ratings (273 watts into 8 ohms / 540 watts into 4 ohms) peak ratings or RMS? If peak, what are the RMS ratings into 8/4 ohms? Thanks

Asked by: mlundy57
These are both RMS ratings.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-06

Should i switch a jumper or something for 230v opeartion?

Asked by: Mike007
In order to be used with 230v power, you will have to pull the fuse holder out and rotate it 180 degrees. You can see page 3 section 3 of the manual for these instructions.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-06

The overall depth of the product is 5 1/4". I am assuming this includes the height of the heatsink? How much clearance is required behind the plate? (ie not including the height of the heatsink)

Asked by: grtx
The depth of 5-1/4" is actually the mounting dept, allowing for about 1/4" of clearance for the wire leads out the back of the case.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-02

Power rating

I see Subwoofers/amps rated showing "continuous" and "peak" power figures, (such as the HSU subwoofers). How do the SPA500 amps power rating relate to these power ratings?
Asked by: ckab
Continuous power, peak power, RMS power, program power, & on and on. Many different methods of rating power. You must review the conditions associated with the ratings. Impedance, total harmonic distortion are important. To answer your question simply compare like with like.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-10-28

Can the rear case of the amp be removed to decrease the mounting depth?

Asked by: adamand
No because the rear cover protects the amp's sensitive components. Caps,diodes, etc.
Answered by: Booth man
Date published: 2013-10-04

Recommendations for amp replacement off of a KEF PSW 4000

I have a 10 year old KEF PSW 4000 with a blown amp. I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff and i am looking for recommendations to replace mine. This Dayton or one of the other plate amps? or would a external amp be better? Below are the spec from KEF site. I have read elsewhere that it is a 4ohm driver.Specification: Model PSW4000System type: Active subwooferEnclosure type: ReflexDimensions (H x W x D): 465 x 495 x 495mm (18.4 x 19.5 x 19.5inches)Weight: 38kg (83.6 lbs)Drive Unit: 300mm (12”) long throwAmplifier: 500WFrequency response: 25Hz to 250Hz +/-3.0dB (-6dB at 22Hz)Maximum output: 110dBFinishes: Black Ash, Maple or Cherry real wood veneersSystem: SP3383Drive Units: B300 bass unit (SP1517)Amplifier: SP2433
Asked by: pck1729
This amplifier would be a good choice along with any of our 500 watt models. The Dayton offers a parametric EQ to help flatten room response which is always helpful with subwoofers. There will likely be cabinet modifications required for any after market amp to fit in the existing enclosure.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-09-27

Can the input high pass filter be modified to provide a fixed amount of boost at very low frequencies?

The Bash amps have a bass boost table that give you the values of two resistors to change and increase output by a fixed amount and Q at different frequencies below 30 hz. Do you have a boost table and instructions for this amp? This would leave the built in variable EQ for room correction.
Asked by: BOBinGA
Performing anything electronic is a matter of components and abilities. The short answer is no. The long answer is yes, you could if you could modify the original design.Since you desire using high pass for low boost it would require complete redesign
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-09-24

how do I connect SPA500?

What connector would I need in order to upgrade an M&K MX-90 plate amplifier? The M&K has a strange looking multi-pin white connector. The M&K driver is the upgraded super fast deep bass driver. Lastly would this or the SPA 1000 be the better amp as an upgrade - price not being an issue? I noticed that your version of a dual opposed 12" sub uses the spa1000. I'm a newbie at DIY and any advice would be helpful.
Asked by: satiety77
The wires to the driver would either be 2 or 4 wires depending on single or dual voice coils, depending on resistance you would either wire them in series or parallel.
Answered by: theelviscerator
Date published: 2013-08-27

Indicator light relocation

Is it possible to either relocate or add the indicator light to the front of the sub cabinet? Has anyone ever done this?
Asked by: Carr
yes,very easily,do you not trust the amp to go to standby? my amp isn't mounted in cab.
Answered by: unk1
Date published: 2013-08-07

Heat Sync

I see in the video of this product that it doesn't have heat syncs. But in the product picture it does. Which is correct?
Asked by: JimCan
The heat sinks are in front and they are small but for its output rating and modern curcitry it should be just fine for effincey Good luck with your project. Oh, and make sure there will be plenty of space for air movement.
Answered by: Booth man
Date published: 2013-07-10

What is the slope of the low pass filter?

I want to run this with a sealed enclosure having a 12dB/oct high pass filter with an -3dB at 80Hz. I want smooth integration.
Asked by: Brinkman
Upon closer examination, I found the answer:"Low-pass crossover: 30 - 200 Hz, 24 dB/octave"
Answered by: Brinkman
Date published: 2014-04-25

Is the parametric EQ bypassed when using the LFE input - as the crossover circuit is bypassed? Or does the EQ still function when using the LFE input?

Asked by: mcsyber
It is my understandind that this input is for sub lows that have been processed and as such these features ate bypassed.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2014-06-12

Can this or any other plate amp be used for a PA sub?

Asked by: Honk
Unfotunately we do not recommend using any of our subwoofer plate amplifiers for PA use, they are designed for short bursts of power during movies.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-11-23

It's Humming help?

After 1 year it's now humming, can I do something or is it time to replaces ?
Asked by: Cas123
It's a really great amp. So the first thing to ask is have you done anything lately to change your configuration? Here are the first things you should do. Turn electronics off inbetween steps... Remove the power cord from both ends and then reconnect making sure you have a solid connection on both ends. See if that helps. Try another AC socket. See if that helps. If you are using the RCA level line input. CHANGE that cable to your pre-amp or receiver. Make sure the contacts are solid and fully inserted. Did that help? If you're using speaker lines... Look very closely to make sure a single piece of the twisted strand isn't crossing terminals. What you are doing is eliminating things one at a time. Do you have a different source you can test to confirm it's the amp and not your current source? If none of these things work - you need service as there would be a ground fault issue. With service costing what it does - personally, I'd just buy a new amp. It's sad we're in a disposable society - but it is often cheaper to replace. I had a high end amp ($5000) and had a number of parts replaced and it's never worked right since. Good luck - hope you find a stupid cheap cable is the culprit.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-11-07

Klipsch Promedia 5.1 THX SubWoofer

What would be the power output (wattage) for 2-6 ohm 100 watt drivers wired in series? This makes the drivers into 16 ohms right? So will this panel work? I was looking earlier at the 250 watt version of this panel and I was told it would work with a rating off 100-120 watts but it was mentioned that I could try this 500 watt panel for better results. The original amp for these Klipsch subs was rated at 170 watts and they worked well until they got busted over years of use. Will this panel be safe and not bust the woofers? Thanks again for any info. I'm comparing which panel to get.
Asked by: marababol
When yo connect speakers in series their impedance is added, so you would be placing a 12 ohm load on the amp. Using the published specs the amp output would be about 225 watts at 12 ohms. This would be sufficient to play them well and give some headroom. This could also be enough to blow speakers if ran at max output through bass thumping music. Playing them within their range would be safe. Any amp could damage any speaker if abused. Don't exceed the limitations of your gear.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2012-10-20

100-240 autovolt? Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Subwoofer

I'm from the Philippines and I am wondering if this is autovolt because we are on 220v here.My Klipsch 5.1 Promedia subwoofer amp died on me and I am wondering if this will work for it. Will this fit? Thanks.
Asked by: marababol
Yes "Input voltage: User switchable 115/230V (Euro cord available)" and look into the right column to download the user manual and all specs. The amp will work with your Kipsch, however - every companies sub has its' own proprietary EQ to balance the woofer / box / amp combo. The only way to guarantee the same sound is to fix the Klipsch amp. You won't know how the Dayton performs until you install it - and it would not be a fault of the Dayton - but that it was matched by Klipsch
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-10-20

Is the Dayton Audio SPA500 capable of 2 ohm operation?

Asked by: Nyde
Home theater and automotive are two different worlds. Automotive specs appear impressive with their high specs. And for some reason, many auto makers produce 2 ohm woofers or dual 2 ohm voice coil woofers. Here's the issue. A woofer can be rated at a specific ohm rating - but as the frequencies lower, the resonance goes up and the impedance goes down. It's not uncommon for an 8 ohm woofer to have a peak of 16 ohms impedance with a low of 2 ohms at certain frequencies. SO... Consumer home amps are happiest when matched with drivers of the same impedance. The fact that they show power at different ohm ratings shows how stable they are and how well they will perform against a typical woofer impedance curve. I would not create a 2 ohm load speaker for the Dayton Amp.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-04-25

What is the internal displacement of this amp? Thanks.

Asked by: dank
Cutout is 10 x 10. Amp depth is 5 1/4". Therefore 525 cubic inches. However, deduct 10 x 10 x (thickness of your cabinet). So if 1" thick, deduct 100 cubic inches for a net of 425
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-06-09

Does this amp suffer from the hum problems exhibited by the SA series amps?

I have several high power amps and sub's in my home, ranging from 240 to 1,000 watts, but only my sub's powered by Dayton SA240 amps have the hum problem. They always have to be plugged into the same outlet as the preamp feeding them. I do not want to spend a lot of money on a pair of these only to discover the same issue.
Asked by: Twiggus
I can't claim that my house is wired like yours, but my sub is dead quiet (except when I don't want it to be ;) .
Answered by: AlonzoTG
Date published: 2012-06-23

can this amp be modified to run off 12 volt - dc power?

i would like to build one into an automotive subwoofer box. is this possible? is it as simple as connecting 12v power, internally, past the ac supply/inverter?
Asked by: rap700r
Modifying it for 12V DC power would be very difficult and take a lot of time. Directly connecting the 12V supply either would not work at all, or would only allow the amp to output about 10W.Like most class-AB home amplifiers, this amp most likely runs off of a dual-polarity power supply (so, its power supply is probably feeding the amp something like +60V and -60V, considering what its power output capabilities are). Cars only have a single-polarity supply, and it's a relatively low voltage (+12V). This means you'd have to do 2 things to make this amp be able to run from a car's 12V supply line: 1. Boost the 12V supply to whatever voltage the amp uses (which is probably around +60V); 2. Create a negative supply line of the same voltage from this. Doing either of these is extremely difficult because it means designing and building a high-power switching power supply. This is an advanced topic of electronics engineering, and is very difficult to get it right for the extremely high powers that this amp would require.Even if this amp happens to run from a single-polarity power supply, you still have the problem of 12V being not nearly enough voltage. Based on the fact that this amp can deliver 500W into a 4 ohm load, if it was powered by a single-polarity supply, then the supply's voltage would have to be at least 126V DC, assuming it is not a bridged amp. If it is bridged, then the supply voltage would only have to be half: 63V DC. So this means you'd still have to build a switching power supply to boost the car's 12V line to around either 63V or 126V, which again would be very difficult, and also very dangerous because of the high voltage involved.It would be a lot easier to just buy a car amplifier that is meant to run off of 12V DC. All high-powered car amps have switching power supplies built into them to boost and invert the 12V DC line to whatever higher voltage is required for the amp to output its full power. Although there are some very low-quality car amps out there, there are also many that would sound just as good, or perhaps even better, than this Dayton amp.
Answered by: eboyer
Date published: 2012-06-06

can you use the eq as a sub sonic filter?

Hi I just built a box for a Dayton titanic 15 and have it tuned to 22 hz. If I just cut the frequencies below that with the eq would it work good? Also with this eq can you adjust many different frequencies or just the one the dial is on?
Asked by: phibbs
There are some detailed documents on the product page. the eq only works on one frequency and is designed to compensate high or low for the cabinet design or room interface. If you want more sophisticated sub control - you need an interface with a microphone that measures your room... Thats' a completely different animal altogether. Velodyne sells one for aftermarket use. And receivers often include a mic with 5.1 EQ totally automatic - all built-in from under $500
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-06-04

Can i use this in australia as here is 240v input not 230v

Spa500 500watt subwoofer amp
Asked by: Kfrahm
You can. Actual voltages vary considerably in relation to published national values. In the US, voltages are referred to as 110, 115, 117, 120, and even 122. Actual voltages vary from about 115 to 124. The designs of the modern digital switching power supplies will perform normally with any input power in the range of 110 to 130 or 220 to 250, probably even higher. Older, transformer designs, might have had overheating problems with these ranges.
Answered by: FlyBoy
Date published: 2013-01-21

Since can not use any more Pioneer xv-dv55, planing to replace Pioneer's "brain & heart" with this one. What would be the recommended settings?

Asked by: RodM
The proper settings will depend upon not only your personal preference, but also other factors such as placement of the sub within your room. There really is not a right answer to your question, you'd simply need to manipulate the various features of the amplifier until it sounds right to your ear.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-03-05

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio SPA500 500W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software