300-809_ALT_5.jpg
300-809_ALT_5.jpg
 
300-809_ALT_0
 
300-809_ALT_1
 
300-809_ALT_2
 
300-809_ALT_3
 
300-809_ALT_4
 
300-809_ALT_5
 

Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Brand:| Model: SPA1000
Overview
The Dayton Audio SPA1000 subwoofer amplifier provides nearly a kilowatt of clean, reliable audio power—just what you need to get big sound out of large, low-efficiency subwoofer speaker systems.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • High power Class-AB output stage for clean, controlled output
  • Patented tracking downconverter power supply for high efficiency
  • Toroidal power supply transformer
  • Low frequency parametric EQ allows you to boost or cut for custom-tailored sound
  • Advanced soft clip circuitry improves headroom and protects woofers
  • OTC™ (Optimized Thermal Circuit) protects your plate amplifier from potential heat damage
  • Hercules heat sinks dissipate and control heat for extreme reliability
Part # 
300-809
Weight: 22.65 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Order Soon - Only 1 Left In StockMore Due In May 15, 2015
List Price$499.99
You Save27%
Your Price
$365.80
Buy 4-up$338.80
Part # 300-809
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

The Dayton Audio SPA1000 is one of the most technologically advanced subwoofer amplifiers on the market today! The Dayton Audio SPA1000 subwoofer amplifier is based on a state-of-the-art Class-G circuit topology that combines the proven high power, high fidelity characteristics of a Class-AB amplifier with a patented tracking down converter power supply to achieve an operating efficiency up to 86%. You get the efficiency of a Class-D amplifier without compromising audio quality and reliability. The Class-AB output stage provides the clean and low-distortion sound that audiophiles demand, without any of the instability problems that plague other high-efficiency amplifier designs.

This American-designed and engineered amplifier uses patented circuitry that continuously tracks the input signal to modulate or control the voltage available to the output stage. This "tracking" capability delivers the exact amount of power based on demand instead of constantly keeping it in reserve, so the output stage only draws the amount of power that is required at any given time. Less energy is wasted as heat, and more power is available for the subwoofer driver. With its enhanced thermal management, the SPA1000 is an upgrade over previous models—making it a nearly bulletproof amplifier choice for today's demanding HT audio and music playback applications.

Specifications: • Rated power output: 497 watts into 8 ohms, 950 watts into 4 ohms with 0.92% THD (based on one-third power duty cycle) • S/N ratio: 98 dB (A-weighted) • Low-pass crossover: 30 - 200 Hz, 24 dB/octave • Parametric EQ: Frequency: 18 - 80 Hz; Bandwidth: 0.1 - 1 Q; Level: -14.5 dB to +6 dB • Phase Adjustment: 0° (NOR) or 180° (REV) • Input impedance: 12K ohms • Input voltage: User switchable 115V/230V (Euro cord available) • Stand-by power rating: 115V 24W; 230V 18.4W • Efficiency: 86% • Net weight: 17 lbs. • Dimensions: 11-15/16" W x 11-15/16" H x 5-1/4" D; Cutout dimensions: 10" W x 10" H.



Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelSPA1000
  • Part Number300-809
  • UPC844632081668
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Plate Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (17 Reviews)
  • Weight22.65 lbs.
  • Case Qty2
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
in the Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier is rated 4.5882 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good valueI have a Niles Stage Front 15" subwoofer. The amp failed after three years. Niles discontinued this model and would not repair the failed unit. I contemplated replacing the entire subwoofer but this was cost prohibited at the time. I did not realize I could replace the amp until I found this Plate amp from Dayton Audio. It matched the power of the original amp and fit the original enclosure with some very slight modifications. I like the EQ adjustments on the amp and still need to tweak these a bit to reduce the boom but overall this is a great amp at a great value. Thanks Parts Express
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ampI used this amp in a 4cf sealed DIY subwoofer enclosure with the Dayton Audio 18" Reference drive and I could not be any happier. This amp has plenty of power. The parametric EQ makes it easy to blend with my front mains or if I just want to have ridiculous thumping bass.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great amp, massive power and no dirty bass.I used this amp for a custom subwoofer build and I am very happy. This amp has tons of (potential) power. It can be tuned to blend and harmonize with your other speakers, or you can really punch it and get the earth shaking bass for movies or music. This is a great amp and I am very happy with this product.* Project note:Yes, these are car audio drivers. I specifically chose them for their power handling and performance;•12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils•polypropylene woofer cone with large-roll rubber surround•progressive spider design for excellent cone control•frequency response: 23-400 Hz•power range: 100-300 watts RMS (1,200 watts peak power)•sensitivity: 93 dB•top-mount depth: 6-3/8"•sealed box volume: 1.25 cu. ft.I also selected this driver because its cost is signifigantly lower than comparable theatre style subs with similar specs (plus they look much better than regular flat black paper cones on theatre style subs)I have these wired to 4ohms, and they have great response in the sealed box.*** I would love to post this in the "Gallery" but that page says "Coming Soon" when you try to add your own project.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works GreatI did have major hum at first, but once I isolated the ground the hum is one hundred percent gone. Incredible true power!
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SPA-1000This new revised sub amp with heat sinks is now very reliable!!!! trust me ive done a lot of torture to it and it never fail!!!! I drive a dayton rss390-ho and the sound and power are breathtaking! highly recommanded.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sounding and Powerful with Convenient FeaturesI've had my SPA1000 for a month now and it preforms just as described. It powers an Exodus Audio Shiva X2 Subwoofer and does so with great sound quality. Whether listening to Serenade in D Major or House music, this amp truly delivers the power and sound quality where it is needed. Watching action sequences, I can feel the compression from all the bass, and my sub is currently in a pretty tiny and inadequate vented box. Hopefully this summer I will have time to build a decent box and utilize this sub and amp combo to its fullest potential. The On board EQ also protects my sub from unloading on low frequencies, eliminating the need for any additional hardware to protect the driver. There is just ONE reservation I have (or had) about this amp: The first unit I received seemed to have been dropped or had a factory defect: one point along the lower left hand corner had been mushroomed. At any rate, I contacted parts express and sorted the problem out. There was a week delay because FedEx screwed up, so I don't blame the PE staff. Great customer service and product overall!
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs great!Performs great, priice was reasonable, and it arrived in just a couple of days.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DAYTON AUDIO SPA1000 1000W SUBWOOFER PLATE AMPLIFIERUsed the plate amplifier in the Drake speaker project. Excellent amplifier for this system. I was able to adjust the response from 34-98 Hz, flat within 2.5 dB peak to peak, lower cutoff of 27Hz. The DAYTON AUDIO RSS315HO-4 12" REFERENCE HO SUBWOOFER and SPA1000 plate amplifier make an excellent combination for a sub system. Everyone has their own opinions on base/sub systems. My test is the more you listen to a good system, the better it sounds. This system meets this criteria, very pleased. I cannot see how anyone would not be pleased with the Drake speaker project and components. Excellent, excellent driver, especially for the money.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Amp!I love the feature of being able to boost of cut bass at certain frequencies.
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of power!!Installed in an 8ft box with 2x 4" vents and a eminence omega pro 18. This was clearly way too much for my little house, so I only turned it up a few times. Wish it had a remote control for volume, otherwise has been very solid performer.
Date published: 2011-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great plate ampOverall an excellent product. Drives the TC sounds drivers pretty well. Had the hum. Unplugged the cable from the cable box and hum went away. I ended up using a ground lift adapter. Haven't had to do this with any other subwoofer plate amps. I have had to do this with some other power amps when I used to have separate pre/power amp set up. Sound quality is very good. Feature set with the parametric EQ is really nice. I wish it has a variable phase control and speaker level inputs.
Date published: 2010-09-22
  • 2015-03-31T06:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_300-809, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

The length of the wire coming from the amp is not long enough for my application. Can I splice on an extra length of speaker wire? (using wire nut) - ALSO the wire coming out of the back seems to be silver, is it Ok to use regular copper wire to extend?

Asked by: sean76
Yes, both of these options are perfectly fine for extending the wire on this amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-15

Would this power a Pyle PDW21250 21" High Power Subwoofer well?

Asked by: DBLB
This amp will work well with that woofer but we do not recommend using these amplifiers for pro audio applications.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-12

Do this Amp Plate cover High,Mid, Range too.

Asked by: Sound Man 2015
No, this is low pass only for use with subwoofers.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-12

I have a blown fuse off the power plug input just wondering what type and kind of fuse this is.

Asked by: nosty1
This uses a 10A GMA style slow-blow fuse for 110VAC operation.http://www.parts-express.com/littelfuse-10a-gdc-type-5-x-20mm-slo-blo-fuse-5-pcs--071-876
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-05

Is it normal for this amp to clip at half power into a 4 ohm load, while playing music with a good bit of bass? I just installed this amp to power a dual 2 ohm type r, wired in series and the power light goes red above half power..

Asked by: tadcat
Half power being halfway on the volume knob? This does not mean half power, this is generally where most amps will start to clip depending on the input signal strength. Two Type R subs in series will have relatively low sensitivity, so ~250 watts on each woofer will only go so far. You may want to play around with different placement in the room if you are not getting the output you want. If the parametric EQ settings are set up in a way to add boost at any frequency, this will also severely limit the headroom an amplifier will have.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-18

Can I use the processor input, and the L/R inputs, to share one sub between a music only and a TV/movie system- without ground hum issues?

Asked by: Slapshot
There should not be any ground issues if the stereo amp and the processor are connected to the same phase of mains power supply. If some hum crops up, you can interconnect the chassis of the amp and processor with a piece of insulated wire.
Answered by: Umesh
Date published: 2014-12-25

Did the sap 1000 come with that there power supply enough fer spacial holography to work in conjecture with Carver sub woofer output on the .2 channel on the pre amp mode?  If so please do the needful and provide updating in the online graphs. 

Asked by: saliqh madiq
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-01

it works with 3Ohm JBL W12GTI Sub? (http://www.jbl.com/estore/jbl/us/products/W12GTi-MkII/W12GTI%20MKII_JBL_US) Thanks

Asked by: QuinT
We do not recommend using this on any load that is less than 4 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-26

I have this amp on a power switch to save standby energy. I have 2 issues: 1) Turn-on/turn-off thump, can this be minimized? 2) During movies or music it goes into standby when LFE is low for a few minutes. Then it comes on with a noticeable thump. ??

Asked by: one51
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-20

Hi I have  an 18 inch sub - woofer that is not active and I would like very much to make it active it can handle 900 watts easy I was wondering what plate would you suggest to make it active for my hometheater. Thanks

Asked by: Tyheem
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-07

hello, I has two subwoofer 600w rms Boschman 2x 4 ohms homs Could you tell me if your daytona audio SPA1000 will work with these two subwoofer because I do not know if your amp is 1000Wrms 4 homs I'd like to make a band pass box . Thank you in advanc

Asked by: sauvignon
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-05

what shipped weight has this Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier?

Asked by: denmak55
The shipping weight is 22.65 pounds
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-10-03

Upon purchase of the Dation spa 1000, I noticed "not for pro sound use" such as DJing and pro sound use & a 30%duty rating. Is this because of a small heat sink? Would increasing size of heat sink area increase the duty cycle and offer more of pro use? 

Asked by: spoodoc
Home audio subamps in general are not rated for a high power, continuous audio output as they will rapidly overheat. They are for the low frequency sound effects in movie soundtracks, which come and go. You can get move continuous power output by putting a fan on the heatsink, but I would suggest monitoring the amp until you have a feel for what it can take before getting scary hot. For DJs and bands, an amplifier intended for the application would be a better choice.
Answered by: Eric Chandler
Date published: 2014-10-03

Is this unit 3ohm stable? 

Asked by: Killerbee206
No, We do not offer any subwoofer plate amplifiers that are stable below 4 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-11

I have 2 x 12" pioneer ts-w308d4 dvc 4ohms/ coil 400 watts rms total 800 watts rms at 4ohms. which amp would you recommend  spa 500 or spa 1000 . And what sort of wiring you recommend in series total 8 ohms or drive individual coil at 4ohms impedance. 

Asked by: Ali Baba
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-03

Could I use the Dayton SPA 1000W plate amplifier with a Epik Empire Dual 15" enclosed  subwoofer or should I use the 500 model?

Asked by: Vanflys
This requires a bit more information in order to proceed. Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-20

Stand by mode How long does it usually take to switch to stand-by mode ?  I left it on for 3 hours the led still showing green.  I tried it with and without the lfe connected.  Should I send it in for service ?  Thanks

Asked by: Thuctrangviai
Typical times are 10-15 minutes for these amplifiers. Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-18

Infinite-baffle subwoofer system using two Dayton Audio IB385-8 wired for 4 ohms. 500-watt amp, or this 1kW unit for extra headroom? Would I be wasting the cost difference, or would there be a significant benefit? I'm not trying to shake the house down.

Asked by: tomb
I'm a huge supporter of subwoofer headroom, but the 500 watt amp will still be able to drive a pair of these subwoofers to their mechanical limits pretty easily. I would not personally be able to justify spending the extra for the 1000 watt model.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-01

What are the dimensions of this amp?

Asked by: MDavidH
Dimensions: 11-15/16" W x 11-15/16" H x 5-1/4" D; Cutout dimensions: 10" W x 10" H.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-29

I had an Mission e8as2 but my internal AMP was burn, may I know which amp is better to match?

Asked by: andyma
It looks like the original amp was 500 watts, so the SPA500 would be a better choice assuming the speaker load is 4 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-11

what is the rms power rating of this amplifier?

Asked by: adam9716
This amplifier produces 950 watts RMS into a 4 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-11

I was wondering if this amp would work with the polk sr 104 10" 4 ohm dvc subs 700watss rms?

Asked by: adam9716
If you are only powering one sub you will have to wire the coils in series for an 8 ohm load. This amp will work although it will only produce ~500 watts into an 8 ohm load. If you are powering a pair of woofers you can wire them in series/parallel in order to get the full output from the amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-11

What is LFE Direct? 

Asked by: alexcatrazz
LFE direct is a plug in if your receiver has an LFE output. This input bypasses the internal crossover in the amp and allows the receiver to cross the subwoofer over for better blending with the main speaker.s
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-15

Are these available for pro audio type speakers with XLR inputs?

Asked by: fedguy
Unfortunately they are not available with XLR inputs and we do not recommend any of the subwoofer plate amplifiers for pro use.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-09

Can I use this amp for a JL Audio 13w7? The driver has dual 1.5 dual voice coils. How would I wire it.

Asked by: grassguy
Unfortunately this amp along with all other plate amp we offer will not work with a dual 1.5 ohm coil subwoofer.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-08

What gauge is the wire for the speaker connections ?

Asked by: John25
These amplifiers use 14 AWG wire for the woofer connections.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

Can this Amp power 18Hz Ported JBL W12GTI Sub?   It has double 6 Ohm Voice Coils (3 ohm parallel). Thanks !

Asked by: Gn0m0rz
I am sorry, we do not recommend this amplifier for loads that are lower than 4 ohms.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-04-11

Own 2 Selenium 15SWS800 15" installed in a dual center-port sealed cabinet. Is the SPA1000 able to push in parralel or use 2 amps, 1 for each woofer? Really for outdoor/mobile dj & eazy to transport instead of carrying separate amplifiers.

Asked by: silk3350
These amplifiers are not recommended for a DJ application and are only designed for short bursts of power such as you would find in a home theater environment.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-01

I have an old Sunfire True Sub MK-II, the board is not working properly. Can this plate drive this sub? Its a 4ohm 10" driver. The original plate boasts 2700w rms. Thanks

Asked by: BigYuYo
This amplifier will work fine but it may not have the higher volume dynamics of the old model with barely more than 1/3 the power. If you can get the original fixed, you would probably be better off.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-31

Will this amp fit in a BIC F-12?: This is a yes or no question.

Asked by: Jray1
No.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-19
  • 2015-03-31T06:10CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_300-809, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio SPA1000 1000W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software