300-784_ALT_1.jpg
300-784_ALT_1.jpg
 
300-784_ALT_0
 
300-784_ALT_1
 

Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Brand:| Model: SA70
Overview
The Dayton Audio SA70 subwoofer amplifier offers exceptional performance and value, making it perfect for your next project. It works well as a replacement amplifier or as the key component in compact custom subwoofer speaker systems.
Highlights
  • Line-level and speaker-level inputs for connection to any system
  • Auto-on circuit comes on the instant the amp is needed
  • Variable 2nd order low-pass crossover from 40 Hz - 180 Hz
  • Proven performer at a low price point
Part # 
300-784
Weight: 7.5 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$99.99
Regular Price$59.60
You Save16%
Sale Price
$49.90
Part # 300-784
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

With 70 watts of clean power and a full feature set, the Dayton Audio SA70 amplifier offers exceptional performance and value. A Class-AB output stage and large power supply section give this amplifier great sound quality, and enough power to drive most compact subwoofers.

The SA70's auto-on circuit and sealed rear enclosure make the amp excellent for upgraded computer subwoofers, and also for driving individual tactile transducers. Don't let the modest price tag fool you—this is a workhorse amplifier that delivers just the right amount of power.

Specifications: • Power requirement: 100-115 VAC • Measured power output: 45 watts RMS into 8 ohms @ 0.1% THD • 70 watts RMS into 4 ohms @ 0.2% THD • Signal to noise ratio: 90 dB (A-weighted) • Dimensions: 7-1/2" W x 8-11/16" H x 3-1/2" D • Enclosure cutout: 6-5/8" W x 7-3/4" H.



Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelSA70
  • Part Number300-784
  • UPC844632016387
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Plate Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (148 Reviews)
  • Weight7.5 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
in the Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier is rated 4.2162 out of 5 by 148.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Amplifier at its power levelI was quite pleased to find that the amplifier is fully enclosed in a plastic case.I was concerned that 70 watts would be insufficient for my application, and I am getting good bass in a 15x20 foot room.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked Great Until It Didn'tI bought the Dayton 70Watt amp to power my Aura Bass Shakers. The effect was awesome until after 6 months it stopped working. I tried everything to revive it and no luck. The only thing I can think of is that I didn't plug it into a power strip and I left it on auto all the time. I talked to Parts Express and they said they would replace it. I think I'm going to get a power strip and turn it off when it's not in use and see if I can get it to last longer.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical Replacement for Blown TSS-450 amp.I purchased an Infinity TSS-450 surround system at a bargain price only to find the amp on the subwoofer was blown. After determining the main board was scorched and beyond repair I decided to try a Dayton Plate Amp. I took a chance on the 70 amp versus the 100 amp version based on some of the reviews and it was a wise choice. I left the original amps plastic "tub" in place and clipped off the original speaker wires to extend the too short Dayton wires. The Dayton Plate amp just fit into the tub of the original amp and by slightly angling the side screws I was able to secure all but the bottom two screws leaving about a 1 inch gap which I figure will aid cooling. The amp is still sealed from the rest of the speaker and the original geometry of the speaker is maintained. After hooking it up to the SUB output on my receiver I turned it on and was amazed that I only had to open the gain less than 20% to get all the bass I needed to fill the lower end of my system. I am very satisfied with this little amp.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its Dayton qualityBought this SA70 to ship to a friend in Greece. Parts Express does NOT ship to many European locations so I act as his middle man so he can get his Audiophile needs in Greece. Parts Express should consider shipping to these other country as there is many Audiophiles out there. If this SA70 anything like my SA100 it will be a top notch little plate amp.
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what it saysNo frills, basic amp for a cookie-cutter sub-woofer I bought in 2006. The original Amp finally gave up the ghost a couple months ago. Not the cleanest watts, but it only powers a 10-inch driver in a 1 cubic ft vented box. Does the job.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like they say more suited for compact systemI'm using this sa 70 to power a pro series 200 watt rms 4 ohm 12 '' sub (radio shack) in a home built ported box . the sound is very good but the amp is lacking in power for this size speaker . It would be great for lower power speakers as stated in the description / i used the 12'' because it was there in the box for years unused on the shelf . For this speaker a 200 /300 watt amp would be great / but it sounds good so i'l stick with it !
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SA 70 Power Amp PlateI bought this amp plate to make my passive subwoofer into a non-passive.It works Great and the customer service I received on this project was also Great!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for the moneygood for the money replaced amp in a khl sub woofernot a lot of power but good on movies
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product.I'm using this amp for a racing arcade to power a transducer. It does what it says it would and I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a keeper!I bought this a month ago for my old garage Sanyo 10 watt stereo with built in EQ hooked up to an old pair of Community 15 inch 2 way PA speakers. The system needed some bottom support. As another reviewer commented the sound to the woofer allowed too much of the lower mids. So, I put a 2.5 mh inductor in series with the woofer, that fixed it. As it turns out, I stuffed a towel to plug the Sub port as I am not interested in rattling things, I just want the 20 – 40 hertz to be present in my music. My sub is a 10 inch home unit I got from my son for Christmas that didn’t have an amp. The Dayton 70 watt turned out to be quite the overkill for my application. I run it at the 40 Hz setting and the power level at 2. I’m completely satisfied.Thank you Dayton and Parts Express.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Match !!!!I bought this recently to power a 2-12 " 4 ohm subwoofer that had originally been used in a car stereo set up. My son is into vinyl. We put together a Harmon Kardon receiver with some Yamaha surround speakers speakers, and used the sub for the low end. The 75 watts output is perfect for his tiny room, and drives the speakers quite well.I am probably going to buy another one to replace the amp in my old M an K sub.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well with a good speakerI use a large sealed, stuffed box with an efficient driver and the power of this amp is just fine. It was the work of a few minutes to mount the plate and wire it up. The first one I bought developed a little "groan - buzzing noise" periodically - that's why it did not get 5 stars. Overall, it is great - I can shake the floor if I want.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Power for your music's lower two octaves: the SA70 amp.The SA70 arrived on schedule, as promised. I have put it in a box (0.6 cu. ft.) with a Tang Band 6-1/2 inch driver (PE #264-832). The Technical Department offered advice about proper tuning of this vented system. In initial listening tests, it performs better than an Advent 12-inch sub in a larger box (ca. one cu. ft.). Besides moving large volumes of air, it renders musical pitches well, so that the music has better definition from low to high notes. Imagine the lower two octaves in your recordings solid & defined without breathiness (the 'woof-woof' effect). The performance of the SA70 did not surprise me, since I have also used it to drive 8-inch drivers. It offers good value for the dollar.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio SA70 70W Sub AmpNot a bad little amp for a smaller, don't have to fill the room with bass" kinda system. Used mine on a my custom built sealed enclosure 12" sub to go with my AudioEngine 2 Speakers connected to my computer. Sufficient low end 40hz was a little higher cutoff than I wanted) and basic volume control. Sealed enclosure and small package make it an easy fit, does not take up too much internal space. For the price, its an excellent choice, otherwise... if you want tons of volume, spend wisely.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than stock 250w JBLI have a JBL Venue 10 sub that cooked. I got creative with a hacksaw blade in my jigsaw and cut an opening out of the stock JBL plate amp, screwed it in, and it looks factory.The SA70 amp itself was heavier than the stock 250w JBL when held side by side. Once the plate was prepped, installation was very easy (though I wish the leads to the driver were longer). The sound is amazing for a $50 sub amp! I think it may be an upgrade from the 250w JBL factory amp! Brings my basement workbench to LIFE. It was a perfect fit for this refurb/repurposing of a cooked asset. I'm glad I didn't kick down bigger $ for more wattage in this case!
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement Subwoofer ampLiving in Florida had lighting strick pretty close to my house and it blow my current home theater subwoofer amp rated at 400 watts, I bought this amp to fill the gap untill I could afford a new 400 watt amp but guess what this little baby is just as good if not better than the other, very happy with this product, don't be fooled by it's price this unit performs great.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal!Plug & play- My previous sub plate amp went out on my little 8" 4-ohm sub. So I bought this cheapy, and it works just as well. I didn't test the crossover, since I use the sub-out crossover in my A/V receiver. For the money, this is a really good deal. It works great on smaller subs. It's been going strong every day for a month with no problems.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from JUST BOBDisappointed with this amp.For a sub there to much higher HZ getting through.When I turned on the unit it sounded like a mono speakernot a Base speaker.The only thing I can thing of to getting rid of the mid range sound is a cross over to filter out the mid range HZ.I found a SONY SQR 6650 4 channel receiver made in 1973.Living in a 5th wheel RV there not much room for such a receiver.I installed these little 2 inch speakers along with a 6 inch sub woofer. (All sold by Parts Express)The Tang Bang model W2-18118 2 in speakers were just installed right into the walls no cabinets. 6in Sub in to a unused cavity.The 2in speaker have a HZ range from 150 to above 15000I couldn't believe my ears when I turn on the receiver. The little guys were putting out base. Ya BASE!All in All. I'm very happy with this old Quad stereo it has a awesome sound. Its 4.1 not the new 5.1 along with mycassette and LP's I have a system anyone would love.If you saw a 70 yr old doing cartwheels it would be ME. :)It a shame Parts Express discontinued carrying theseawesome little speakers.
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 70 watt subwoofer amplifer #300-784hi there i bought to repair it my old one is a klh brand i think this is a good one for a on bed room aprt this is all the power you need please to every one else who might need to get a replace ment do not used 4 ohms use 8 ohms it better that way again thanks victor
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for the right applicationLet's be realistic about this product. This subwoofer plate amp runs 70 watts RMS at 4 ohms. At 8 ohms, it's going to run at 45 watts RMS. This is not going to shake doors off hinges or break glass. It isn't supposed to.For the average living room on a modest budget, this amp is great. If you're looking to add a little extra to your home stereo and TV watching experience, this is a good choice. I see a lot of people that cannot help but to go maximum power in anything they purchase when it just isn't necessary. These plate amps are a good example. Some people also expect extremely precise, error free, best-of-the-best type quality out of even the most inexpensive of items and they are inevitably disappointed by a product with results that are good but not amazing. This plate amp is also a good example of that.I bought this more out of curiosity than any other reason. I had been given an old Fisher sub woofer cabinet (ported) without it's own power and a rotted out cone. I also had a 12" 3.7ohm, 120w Goldwood poly woofer lying around so I married the three: Fisher cabinet, GW 12" woofer, Dayton 70w plate amp. Not "top of the line," high quality items but doing this makes these components out of storage and in use, as opposed to being dust collectors.Of course it isn't George Lucas' soundstage, it's just a simple subwoofer capable of making home entertainment better than NOT having a sub at all. I set this up in my shop, a separate building behind my house. I put it through its paces and let it run all night at about 1/2 volume after I went to bed to see if it got real hot, blew up, anything bad happened. The amp worked fine all night. It worked too well because I was woken up by the local police department banging on my back door. Sound complaint, could I turn it down. Actually, he asked "Did you have a party here last night?" And then he told me there was a complaint.I think that tells you this is not garbage with no output power. It was loud enough at 1/2 power to get someone to call the cops. And the nearest place besides my house that a person could be is about 90 feet, inside their own home. So loud enough to be audible from inside my shop, 90 feet away, inside a house. That is kind of my unofficial measure for success in the "is this loud enough?" category.I've found that I like hooking up this amp via the low level RCA connection rather than running a stereo set of speaker wires to and from it. Less mess and I like the sound better.Now. The Crossover. It is not a piece of garbage, as eluded to here. It just has way too much headroom. You shouldn't be able to have crossover frequencies as high as this one allows. You'll be pushing vocals and instrumentation not meant for subs and it will sound.... like garbage. Keep it turned LOW and I mean all the way down if not a tiny tick from all the way down.This thing would be fun with an 8" or 10" in an enclosure that is shallow, with spikes, pointed downward. I am only going to get bigger, more powerful plate amps after my initiation with this one. I always thought the concept was great, but hadn't tried one out. Now, I am in love with this product!Over all, this is a great addition to your home entertainment center if you are in a somewhat run of the mill situation with your normal sized living room, a TV you watch some movies on, hooked into your stereo that you also listen to music on. Adding this amp w/ a matched sub to that sort of situation can only make your audio experiences better.If you're looking to add a powered subwoofer to your 80" LED Internet TV on your 7.1 surround system with Left and Right floor cabinet mains powered at 200w RMS and each of the five other satellite speakers at 140w RMS in your 40 foot by 60 foot home theater- this is not the product for you. This is probably something a person like you would want installed for his second bathroom audio system.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need more powerThis did not have enough power for the subwoofer I was repairing. Decided to return it for the 250W one.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems cheap...I had this powering an 8" Dayton sub for about 2 months and it started sending a hissing noise with an odd chirping sound every couple minutes. It sounded alright for a while. Terminals are also annoyingly small. Output seemed kinda sporadic. Filters are pretty much useless. I sent it back for store credit so I'm gonna try out the 100 watt model. Hopefully have better luck.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Exact Drop-in Replacement for KLH subwooferI had an old KLH subwoofer that worked great for over 10 years. The plate amp finally died. I took measurements and ordered this one. It is an exact replacement, cutout and screw holes are identical to old one. I noticed that the old one had the model number as SA70 same as the new one.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad choice at all.Believe people when they say the crossover is not great. It's more of a tone knob, doing a general high or low option kind of sweep. With an accurate ear, you can get it pretty close.Past that, it's powerful and well built.Pretty good amp.Great price!
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great while it last, which seems to be around 4 years for most.I have installed several of these in small sub-woofer systems and the sound is great and they last reasonably well but I have 5 dead amplifiers in my possession now two of which I know the complete history of. One was in my Moms system and the other in a computer system of mine. Both were in use about 4 years before they quit working, neither were ever moved after being installed or ever ran to their maximum potential. I guess four years is a long time but that seems to be about their life span.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good amp so far, crossover is an issueSolid little amp. Replacement for the dead amp in my Polk PSW202 (known to have this issue apparently). Just enlarged the opening a bit and mounted on its side. Had read issues about xover so ordered a passive 80 hz high pass with the amp. Wise move. Amp as tested does medicore job filtering signal well. Addition of 80hz xover cleaned and tightened things nicely. Total price with shipping under $100 (more than I would have liked to have spent).... but saved the rest of the polk from the landfill. No phase control... no heat sink.. but seems fine so far. Sub in small 10x20 room with Sherwood 100 watt receiver driving Mission bookshelf speakers... very nice! Kudos to tech support for a quick answer back to my question... and for FAST shipping!
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for a Great little amp.I bought this amp for an 8" sub project. The price made it a no brainer. The first one I received was defective. Customer service sent me another unit the next day and paid for the reurn of the defective one. Once I installed the replacement I put the system through the a frequency bass test and it was better than I expected. The amp surface gets hot running 30hz tone for 15 minutes but, I think the back plate is the heat sink. Sounds good, great price and, outstanding customer service.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good amp, crossover still an issueSeveral reviews indicated that high frequencies were coming through to the speaker no matter what the crossover was set at. This is still the case with the SA70 unit I purchased two weeks ago. The bass coming out of the sub is very muddied. A return is not really an option when the hole cut in your cabinet is sized for this amp. I'm hoping a low pass 100hz RCA filter plug will remedy the problem, but keep asking: Why should I have to do this? Great price point, but beware...
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SA 70 SUBWOOFER AMPThis thing is probably one of the best home audio purcahses for me in a long time. I am running a Pioneer 7.1 700 watt home theatre stereo with Polk audio satallite speakers and a Coustic 10 in. sub from Parts Express, and this amp. I have never turned this up even over half way, my house cant stand the SPL the power this thing delivers during blue ray movies is unbelievable. The only thing I must say is, the ability to turn the bass all the way down in hindered, but if you can stand alittle bass in your newscast then it's not a problem but this unit is worth it and I have had this for over two years now and never have had an issue in performance at all. I buy all of my component items from Dayton and Parts Express now.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very SatisfiedI bought this to power an 8" Kicker sub in a box I made for in my (small) room. I mostly use this sub for music and video games and it sounds pretty good. I would definitely buy again or recommend to a friend.
Date published: 2012-03-19

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

With this amplifier, would I need line level subwoofer pre-outs from my receiver?

Asked by: Tim H
This amplifier will accept line level or speaker level inputs, so line level outputs are not specifically required in order to use it.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-03

Im curious why this amp has left and right channel rca low level inputs when there is only one set of leads to the subwoofer. How can it separate right and left channel information to a dvc sub or two subs with one set of input leads

Asked by: banzai63
This amplifier combines left and right signals for the output to the subwoofer. If you are using a DVC woofer, you will have to wire the coils together in series or parallel as long as the load does not drop below 4 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-27

Is ther a parts express project box that will fit this amp?

Asked by: BOBTEK126
I am sorry, we do not currently have a box that will cover our subwoofer amps. It is a good suggestion though so I will pass it along to our new products guys.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-10-03

I bought two of these amps to power stereo PUCK  bass transducers for my racing simulator project. Two questions actually. Do the line level and speaker inputs function at the same time? Also, does the speaker level pass-through affect impedance? Thanks!

Asked by: Tony N
I'm not sure why it made me anonymous, but it wasn't intentional. My name is Tony. Any help is appreciated! 
Answered by: Tony N
Date published: 2014-09-26

What do you recommend for 240V installations in about the performance range of the SA70?

Asked by: Bodgie
The closest option would be the Yung SD100 which has a switchable input voltage.http://www.parts-express.com/yung-sd100-100w-class-d-subwoofer-plate-amplifier-module-no-boost--301-500
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-24

i just recently purchased this amp to power 1 aura bass shaker. i have the gain half way. it runs amazing. but after 30 mins of use, the plate was hot. is this normal? and how long can i run this amp if i play a continuous 75Hz test tone

Asked by: hannibal
These amplifiers will get quite warm or hot if they are fed continuous sign waves.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-02

I have this exact amp. It suddenly stopped working. Is it possible to purchase replacement parts (circuit boards, capacitors, etc.)??

Asked by: Kamau5
Unfortunately we do not offer replacement parts for these and they are not practical to repair. If the unit is within the 1 year warranty please contact tech support so we can see about getting it exchanged.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-28

I have a 12" sub from a car.  Can I hook this up to the sub, plug it into my Sony receiver with a A/V cable and have a powered sub to fill out my home theater? I got the sub for free and want a powered sub for the HT system.  

Asked by: Tridaddy
Yes this is the type of amplifier you would want to use for that. You will need to make sure the subwoofer is 4 ohms or above so the load on the amp will be safe.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-23

Are any of the dayton sub plate amps 2 ohm stable ? have a 8" DVC 4x4 Ohm sub id like to power

Asked by: derwoodbones
Unfortunately none of our subwoofer amps are 2 ohm stable.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-02

how can i wire 3 tang band W5-1138SMF's to this

Asked by: speakerfreak1
The only way you can safely wire three 4 ohm subwoofers to this amp would be to wire them all in series, which will only provide about 23 watts of total output power from the amplifier. You would be better off using 4 subwoofers wired in series/parallel and a slightly larger amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-01

Can this amplifier be modified to boost the eq curve?  Is there a published table with resistor values for given frequency and boost levels?  Thanks.

Asked by: firefox319
Unfortunately this amplifier cannot be modified in any way.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-03

Are there adapter plates available to make the amp fit a pre-cut hole? I have a powered that had the amp go out on it and the cut out is too big for this amp. The cut out in the box is 7-1/2''x8-1/2''.

Asked by: FreedomMaster
Unfortunately there are no plates for this available.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-20

can the phase be inverted by switching the speaker terminals. IE: (+) to minus and (- ) to plus

Asked by: f16voodoo1
yes, reversing the polarity as you asked would result in a 180 degree phase shift.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-11-04

stable at 2 ohms?

can i pull even more power out of this for 4 PUCK bass shakers by wiring them to 2 ohms instead of 4? or will this be too much stress for this amp?
Asked by: Dave B
id stick with 4ohm
Answered by: unk1
Date published: 2013-05-15

Why no ventilation?

Looks like most all the plate amps are sealed cases. Doesn't this cause major heat buildup?
Asked by: pedro
The entire plate of this amplifier is the heat sink so additional ventilation is not required.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-01

is the to speakers output for tweeters or just more subwoofers

Asked by: speaker freack
It is for full range speakers.
Answered by: studiomike
Date published: 2013-01-31

this amp seems like the perfect awnwer to my stereo sub project because of the lower price i can order 2

but the problem is I read so many bad reviews when it comes to the crossover , my question to parts express is , has this issuebeen resolved or is it still a problem.
Asked by: spy cat
At this price point, you are not going to get sophisticated crossover components. If you have an LFE or sub out of your source unit with its own internal crossover - you should be fine.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-12-21

ADD TO BASS SHAKERS

HOW WILL I GO ABOUT INSTALLING BASS SHAKERS (2). WHAT SPLITTER WOULD I NEED FOR SUB WOOFER. I JUST BOUGHT Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier FROM AMAZON VIA PE AND BASS SHAKERS TOO.
Asked by: BALER
It is best to use a separate amp for the bass shakers and not try to run them and your sub from the same amp. If you have a sub out from your receiver, you can "Y" jack and run one line to your powered subs and the other line to the amp driving the bass shakers. Each amp has it's own level controls so you can balance the system.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-08-27

Can I hook up two 4 ohm subwoofers to this amp? If so how?

Asked by: John Doe
No, a 2ohm load will cause way too much heat and the amplifier will probably not last very long. If you can connect two 8 ohm speakers (subwoofers) with positive lead to positive lead and negative lead to negative lead. This would be a 4 ohm load.
Answered by: studiomike
Date published: 2014-12-21

Are the High Level / Speaker outputs full range or high-passed at the sub-woofer frequency?

Asked by: memphissound
Pretty sure they pass the full signal. My opinion based on price and available power.
Answered by: Doug76
Date published: 2014-12-21

would this work with a 4ohm subwoofer (nht 1259) and 8 ohm satelites

cambridge audio 340a azur integrated amp4 ohm sub8 ohm satelites
Asked by: uspsrt
This amplifier will provide 70 watts of power to your 4 ohm subwoofer, but it will not power the satellites.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-12-21

Hook up

I have a harmam kardon avr 125 amp and on the rear there is only 1 rca jack that says pre out sub woofer how will this hook into the Dayton Audio SA70 subwoofer amp?
Asked by: buckmiester55
You may connect your sub pre-out to just the right or left input on the SA70, or you may use a "Y" adapter (referenced below) with a standard RCA cable to feed both inputs. The choice is yours. Some claim to get better results by feeding both inputs, however, in my personal setup at home, I feed only one input, and the result is quite satisfactory.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-07-24

Will this work with my home stereo?

Ok I bought a sub the other day and it was just the box with the speaker, no pre amp, not even terminals on the back to plug in speaker wire. I don't know how to hook it up to my current system and have it work. The system I have came with a sub with a pre-amp built in but I wanna upgrade with the sub I bought. I have no clue how to hook it up or what kind of pre amp to look for. All I know about the sub is that the speaker has and 8 ohm, 50 watt max on it. If you could help me out, or at least tell me what I should be looking for, that would be great.
Asked by: Dustinmcall
Yes, as it is designed to do just that.You'll have to cut a hole in the box for the amp to fit, but wiring the subwoofer speaker to the amp is simple, and the sub amp has all the connections you need to run it from your stereo.Don't worry about the power rating difference, it will not matter.
Answered by: Doug76
Date published: 2011-10-19

Can two SA70's be setup for two channel?

I would like to integrate two SA70 powered sub-woofers into a two channel system. If this is possible, what is the recommended wiring?
Asked by: bungelowed
Depends on how you source the signal to them, line level or speaker level, but if I understand what you are asking correctly, yes, it's very possible.Since both inputs, line level and speaker level, are stereo, and are converted to mono before feeding the subwoofer amp, you only need feed the signal into one input (right or left) to drive the amp.For example, lets say you are designing it as a subwoofer and a main speaker on each channel. You can feed the speaker output signal from your receiver or amplifier to the subwoofer amp's speaker level input, then out the subwoofer amp's speaker level output to the main speaker. Do this on both sides, and you have a subwoofer and main speaker on both sides, left and right.If you are feeding the subwoofers from a line source however, like a preout on your receiver or preamp, you will only be able to drive the subwoofers, and will need to drive the main speakers from your receiver's or amplifier's speaker output. This approach allows a bit more flexibility and less distortion into the subwoofer amps.
Answered by: Doug76
Date published: 2014-05-07

Is there a built in HPF to protect from over excursion on ported builds?

Asked by: rawls
I believe there is a sub-sonic filter at 19Hz rolling off at 12dB per octave, but that alone won't protect a woofer from over-excursion. The woofer, enclosure and port size must all be factored in as well as the amplifier power. The Tech's at P-E will be more than happy to assist you with this, however. Also the people on the "Tech-Talk" forum can help you.
Answered by: Whitneyville
Date published: 2012-07-28

Can this amp be used in Europe with 220V?

I live in Latvia and we dont have 110V outlets only 220V. Is there a way to use this amp with 220V?
Asked by: Maters
This device is listed for use with 110 Volts. The only way to operate it with 220 Volts is to purchase a step down voltage converter. Be sure to get one that has a capacity at least 50% more than the watts consumed by the unit you wish to operate. Most converters are fused and have euro plug style adapters so you can plug into the wall overseas. Then you are ready; Good luck!
Answered by: squarewave
Date published: 2011-08-22

full range?

Does this amp have the ability to run full range?I might like to put one in the back of a portable supertweet enclosure.
Asked by: Calaveras
No, subwoofer amplifiers are designed for subwoofers only, and would not be suitable for a tweeter enclosure. Unfortunately, we don't have any plate amplifiers that are quite what you're looking for. I've linked the closest thing we have below for your convenience.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-06-13

Is there a fixed high pass filter?

Asked by: nichkwon
This subwoofer amplifier does have a fixed subsonic filter centered at 18Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-10

Help me understand the "low level input".

Looking to power 1 Aura Pro Bass Shaker for my drum throne.The input to this amp would be a send from the mixing board with only my kick drum mic. Would that work into the "low level input", or would it have to come from a subwoofer out on an amp? Thanks!
Asked by: Mike R
Low level input is unamplified signal, also called pre-amp or line level. Do not connect this amp to another amplifier unless the connection is stricly line level.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2013-10-26

sin't there a volume control?

Asked by: jalng63
The "Gain" control effectively performs the same function as a volume control, insofar as setting the maximum amplitude of your subwoofer. When used with a standard home theater receiver, the volume control on the receiver will control the relative volume of the subwoofer, and the "Gain" setting on the subwoofer sets the maximum overall volume for the subwoofer.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-07-24

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software