Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Brand:|Model: SA70
The Dayton Audio SA70 subwoofer amplifier offers exceptional performance and value, making it perfect for your next project. It works well as a replacement amplifier or as the key component in compact custom subwoofer speaker systems.
In Stock
List Price$99.99
Regular Price$59.60
You Save16%
Sale Price
Part # 300-784
  • Line-level and speaker-level inputs for connection to any system
  • Auto-on circuit comes on the instant the amp is needed
  • Variable 2nd order low-pass crossover from 40 Hz - 180 Hz
  • Proven performer at a low price point

Product Details

Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

With 70 watts of clean power and a full feature set, the Dayton Audio SA70 amplifier offers exceptional performance and value. A Class-AB output stage and large power supply section give this amplifier great sound quality, and enough power to drive most compact subwoofers.

The SA70's auto-on circuit and sealed rear enclosure make the amp excellent for upgraded computer subwoofers, and also for driving individual tactile transducers. Don't let the modest price tag fool you—this is a workhorse amplifier that delivers just the right amount of power.

Specifications: • Power requirement: 120 VAC, 60 Hz, 110W • Measured power output: 45 watts RMS into 8 ohms @ 0.1% THD • 70 watts RMS into 4 ohms @ 0.2% THD • Signal to noise ratio: 90 dB (A-weighted) • Dimensions: 7-1/2" W x 8-11/16" H x 3-1/2" D • Enclosure cutout: 6-5/8" W x 7-3/4" H.

Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelSA70
  • Part Number300-784
  • UPC844632016387
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Plate Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (156 Reviews)
  • Weight7.5 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
in the Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers product category.


Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier is rated 4.25 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for basic Home TheatreI bought this amp with a peerless 5.5" driver to hook up to my Pioneer mixer and needless to say the subwoofer plate amplifier does the job required.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from subwoofer amplifier plateSo good that I plan to buy others in the near. Future
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great ampgreat amp for the $$$$.. cut your hole for the amp, install it, & start playing. That easy
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works greatPuts out good bass using with a 10" sub with dual voice coils in a t-line box well worth the money just concerned about how hot its is getting will contact tech support.I might have voice coils wired wrong
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice little ampI'm using this amp to power an aura pro bass shaker. It does the job pretty well for 1 shaker.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty decent ampUsed this Amp with The ADX shaker is pretty powerful alone, I like the design of the heat sink .I have this shaker mounted under my Futon Couch, its powerful enough to shake both the left side and the right side of the couch... it is mounted in the middle. I have it connected to a 70w DNY subwoofer Amp, that I also brought from parts express. I usded an 18 Gauge speaker wire to connect to the AMPS output located on the back side of he amp.. Then I used a male RCA subwoofer cable , and connected it to the left Mono out on the amp, and connected the other end to the Y splitter female connect on the back of the recover on the sub-woofer out.. Make sure in the recover cross over setting's are set to 40 HRZ, by default mines where set to 180. , also on the recover settings increase the subwoofer output , you will feel more shaking from the shaker this way..... also by doing this you can dail down the subwoofer valume on the back of the subwoofer so you only feel the shaking and not everyone else
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ReplacementOriginal plate amplifier in my subwoofer failed and AR would not fix it even though it was still under warranty.Someone gave me one of parts book, found the SA70 and with some alterations fit my cabinet.Works and sounds great with the addition of a new 10 inch dayton DVC subwoofer.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect amp to run bass transducersI purchased this amp to run two bass transducers (Aura AST-2B-4 Pro Bass Shaker also purchased from Parts Express) wired in series. This does a great job. I installed all of these pieces into a couch that has a pull out bed in it. It all fit perfectly. I installed the amp into the back of the couch. The instructions specifically say not to do this, so I am doing this at my own risk. My only complaint is that to get the desired bass response, I have to run the amp at a higher "volume" than I would like. Of course, I could increase the subwoofer output levels from the AVR, but then I would have to reduce my sub volume. The end result is that it runs a bit hotter than I would like.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Amplifier at its power levelI was quite pleased to find that the amplifier is fully enclosed in a plastic case.I was concerned that 70 watts would be insufficient for my application, and I am getting good bass in a 15x20 foot room.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked Great Until It Didn'tI bought the Dayton 70Watt amp to power my Aura Bass Shakers. The effect was awesome until after 6 months it stopped working. I tried everything to revive it and no luck. The only thing I can think of is that I didn't plug it into a power strip and I left it on auto all the time. I talked to Parts Express and they said they would replace it. I think I'm going to get a power strip and turn it off when it's not in use and see if I can get it to last longer.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical Replacement for Blown TSS-450 amp.I purchased an Infinity TSS-450 surround system at a bargain price only to find the amp on the subwoofer was blown. After determining the main board was scorched and beyond repair I decided to try a Dayton Plate Amp. I took a chance on the 70 amp versus the 100 amp version based on some of the reviews and it was a wise choice. I left the original amps plastic "tub" in place and clipped off the original speaker wires to extend the too short Dayton wires. The Dayton Plate amp just fit into the tub of the original amp and by slightly angling the side screws I was able to secure all but the bottom two screws leaving about a 1 inch gap which I figure will aid cooling. The amp is still sealed from the rest of the speaker and the original geometry of the speaker is maintained. After hooking it up to the SUB output on my receiver I turned it on and was amazed that I only had to open the gain less than 20% to get all the bass I needed to fill the lower end of my system. I am very satisfied with this little amp.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its Dayton qualityBought this SA70 to ship to a friend in Greece. Parts Express does NOT ship to many European locations so I act as his middle man so he can get his Audiophile needs in Greece. Parts Express should consider shipping to these other country as there is many Audiophiles out there. If this SA70 anything like my SA100 it will be a top notch little plate amp.
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what it saysNo frills, basic amp for a cookie-cutter sub-woofer I bought in 2006. The original Amp finally gave up the ghost a couple months ago. Not the cleanest watts, but it only powers a 10-inch driver in a 1 cubic ft vented box. Does the job.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like they say more suited for compact systemI'm using this sa 70 to power a pro series 200 watt rms 4 ohm 12 '' sub (radio shack) in a home built ported box . the sound is very good but the amp is lacking in power for this size speaker . It would be great for lower power speakers as stated in the description / i used the 12'' because it was there in the box for years unused on the shelf . For this speaker a 200 /300 watt amp would be great / but it sounds good so i'l stick with it !
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SA 70 Power Amp PlateI bought this amp plate to make my passive subwoofer into a non-passive.It works Great and the customer service I received on this project was also Great!
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for the moneygood for the money replaced amp in a khl sub woofernot a lot of power but good on movies
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product.I'm using this amp for a racing arcade to power a transducer. It does what it says it would and I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a keeper!I bought this a month ago for my old garage Sanyo 10 watt stereo with built in EQ hooked up to an old pair of Community 15 inch 2 way PA speakers. The system needed some bottom support. As another reviewer commented the sound to the woofer allowed too much of the lower mids. So, I put a 2.5 mh inductor in series with the woofer, that fixed it. As it turns out, I stuffed a towel to plug the Sub port as I am not interested in rattling things, I just want the 20 – 40 hertz to be present in my music. My sub is a 10 inch home unit I got from my son for Christmas that didn’t have an amp. The Dayton 70 watt turned out to be quite the overkill for my application. I run it at the 40 Hz setting and the power level at 2. I’m completely satisfied.Thank you Dayton and Parts Express.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Match !!!!I bought this recently to power a 2-12 " 4 ohm subwoofer that had originally been used in a car stereo set up. My son is into vinyl. We put together a Harmon Kardon receiver with some Yamaha surround speakers speakers, and used the sub for the low end. The 75 watts output is perfect for his tiny room, and drives the speakers quite well.I am probably going to buy another one to replace the amp in my old M an K sub.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well with a good speakerI use a large sealed, stuffed box with an efficient driver and the power of this amp is just fine. It was the work of a few minutes to mount the plate and wire it up. The first one I bought developed a little "groan - buzzing noise" periodically - that's why it did not get 5 stars. Overall, it is great - I can shake the floor if I want.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Power for your music's lower two octaves: the SA70 amp.The SA70 arrived on schedule, as promised. I have put it in a box (0.6 cu. ft.) with a Tang Band 6-1/2 inch driver (PE #264-832). The Technical Department offered advice about proper tuning of this vented system. In initial listening tests, it performs better than an Advent 12-inch sub in a larger box (ca. one cu. ft.). Besides moving large volumes of air, it renders musical pitches well, so that the music has better definition from low to high notes. Imagine the lower two octaves in your recordings solid & defined without breathiness (the 'woof-woof' effect). The performance of the SA70 did not surprise me, since I have also used it to drive 8-inch drivers. It offers good value for the dollar.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio SA70 70W Sub AmpNot a bad little amp for a smaller, don't have to fill the room with bass" kinda system. Used mine on a my custom built sealed enclosure 12" sub to go with my AudioEngine 2 Speakers connected to my computer. Sufficient low end 40hz was a little higher cutoff than I wanted) and basic volume control. Sealed enclosure and small package make it an easy fit, does not take up too much internal space. For the price, its an excellent choice, otherwise... if you want tons of volume, spend wisely.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than stock 250w JBLI have a JBL Venue 10 sub that cooked. I got creative with a hacksaw blade in my jigsaw and cut an opening out of the stock JBL plate amp, screwed it in, and it looks factory.The SA70 amp itself was heavier than the stock 250w JBL when held side by side. Once the plate was prepped, installation was very easy (though I wish the leads to the driver were longer). The sound is amazing for a $50 sub amp! I think it may be an upgrade from the 250w JBL factory amp! Brings my basement workbench to LIFE. It was a perfect fit for this refurb/repurposing of a cooked asset. I'm glad I didn't kick down bigger $ for more wattage in this case!
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement Subwoofer ampLiving in Florida had lighting strick pretty close to my house and it blow my current home theater subwoofer amp rated at 400 watts, I bought this amp to fill the gap untill I could afford a new 400 watt amp but guess what this little baby is just as good if not better than the other, very happy with this product, don't be fooled by it's price this unit performs great.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal!Plug & play- My previous sub plate amp went out on my little 8" 4-ohm sub. So I bought this cheapy, and it works just as well. I didn't test the crossover, since I use the sub-out crossover in my A/V receiver. For the money, this is a really good deal. It works great on smaller subs. It's been going strong every day for a month with no problems.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from JUST BOBDisappointed with this amp.For a sub there to much higher HZ getting through.When I turned on the unit it sounded like a mono speakernot a Base speaker.The only thing I can thing of to getting rid of the mid range sound is a cross over to filter out the mid range HZ.I found a SONY SQR 6650 4 channel receiver made in 1973.Living in a 5th wheel RV there not much room for such a receiver.I installed these little 2 inch speakers along with a 6 inch sub woofer. (All sold by Parts Express)The Tang Bang model W2-18118 2 in speakers were just installed right into the walls no cabinets. 6in Sub in to a unused cavity.The 2in speaker have a HZ range from 150 to above 15000I couldn't believe my ears when I turn on the receiver. The little guys were putting out base. Ya BASE!All in All. I'm very happy with this old Quad stereo it has a awesome sound. Its 4.1 not the new 5.1 along with mycassette and LP's I have a system anyone would love.If you saw a 70 yr old doing cartwheels it would be ME. :)It a shame Parts Express discontinued carrying theseawesome little speakers.
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 70 watt subwoofer amplifer #300-784hi there i bought to repair it my old one is a klh brand i think this is a good one for a on bed room aprt this is all the power you need please to every one else who might need to get a replace ment do not used 4 ohms use 8 ohms it better that way again thanks victor
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for the right applicationLet's be realistic about this product. This subwoofer plate amp runs 70 watts RMS at 4 ohms. At 8 ohms, it's going to run at 45 watts RMS. This is not going to shake doors off hinges or break glass. It isn't supposed to.For the average living room on a modest budget, this amp is great. If you're looking to add a little extra to your home stereo and TV watching experience, this is a good choice. I see a lot of people that cannot help but to go maximum power in anything they purchase when it just isn't necessary. These plate amps are a good example. Some people also expect extremely precise, error free, best-of-the-best type quality out of even the most inexpensive of items and they are inevitably disappointed by a product with results that are good but not amazing. This plate amp is also a good example of that.I bought this more out of curiosity than any other reason. I had been given an old Fisher sub woofer cabinet (ported) without it's own power and a rotted out cone. I also had a 12" 3.7ohm, 120w Goldwood poly woofer lying around so I married the three: Fisher cabinet, GW 12" woofer, Dayton 70w plate amp. Not "top of the line," high quality items but doing this makes these components out of storage and in use, as opposed to being dust collectors.Of course it isn't George Lucas' soundstage, it's just a simple subwoofer capable of making home entertainment better than NOT having a sub at all. I set this up in my shop, a separate building behind my house. I put it through its paces and let it run all night at about 1/2 volume after I went to bed to see if it got real hot, blew up, anything bad happened. The amp worked fine all night. It worked too well because I was woken up by the local police department banging on my back door. Sound complaint, could I turn it down. Actually, he asked "Did you have a party here last night?" And then he told me there was a complaint.I think that tells you this is not garbage with no output power. It was loud enough at 1/2 power to get someone to call the cops. And the nearest place besides my house that a person could be is about 90 feet, inside their own home. So loud enough to be audible from inside my shop, 90 feet away, inside a house. That is kind of my unofficial measure for success in the "is this loud enough?" category.I've found that I like hooking up this amp via the low level RCA connection rather than running a stereo set of speaker wires to and from it. Less mess and I like the sound better.Now. The Crossover. It is not a piece of garbage, as eluded to here. It just has way too much headroom. You shouldn't be able to have crossover frequencies as high as this one allows. You'll be pushing vocals and instrumentation not meant for subs and it will sound.... like garbage. Keep it turned LOW and I mean all the way down if not a tiny tick from all the way down.This thing would be fun with an 8" or 10" in an enclosure that is shallow, with spikes, pointed downward. I am only going to get bigger, more powerful plate amps after my initiation with this one. I always thought the concept was great, but hadn't tried one out. Now, I am in love with this product!Over all, this is a great addition to your home entertainment center if you are in a somewhat run of the mill situation with your normal sized living room, a TV you watch some movies on, hooked into your stereo that you also listen to music on. Adding this amp w/ a matched sub to that sort of situation can only make your audio experiences better.If you're looking to add a powered subwoofer to your 80" LED Internet TV on your 7.1 surround system with Left and Right floor cabinet mains powered at 200w RMS and each of the five other satellite speakers at 140w RMS in your 40 foot by 60 foot home theater- this is not the product for you. This is probably something a person like you would want installed for his second bathroom audio system.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need more powerThis did not have enough power for the subwoofer I was repairing. Decided to return it for the 250W one.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems cheap...I had this powering an 8" Dayton sub for about 2 months and it started sending a hissing noise with an odd chirping sound every couple minutes. It sounded alright for a while. Terminals are also annoyingly small. Output seemed kinda sporadic. Filters are pretty much useless. I sent it back for store credit so I'm gonna try out the 100 watt model. Hopefully have better luck.
Date published: 2013-01-30
  • 2015-12-01T06:37CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_300-784, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Hello, is possible connect to 220v europe domestic voltage?

Asked by: andresdd
Unfortunately no, this amp will only accept a 110 VAC input.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-04-17

I have a Polk PSW10 with a blown amp; out of warranty, of course. Will this plate amp work with little (or no) modifications? Polk wants almost 2x this for a replacement part.

Asked by: OldGoat
We do not have a direct cross reference available unfortunately. The dimensions are listed on our site for this amplifier, so you should be able to compare those to what you have in terms of overall size.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-03-10

What are the dimension? Also' is a out-of-the-box 6" 4 ohm passive subwoofer compatible?

Asked by: Shelbyfastback65
Yes this will work with just about any 4 ohm woofer and should be no problem with a 6".Dimensions: 7-1/2" W x 8-11/16" H x 3-1/2" D • Enclosure cutout: 6-5/8" W x 7-3/4" H.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-02-17

From the pictures I can see that the back of the amplifier is sealed in. I am trying to design an enclosure for a Dayton Audio DCS205-4 using this amp. What is the volume displaced by the amplifier so that I can factor it into the enclosure design?

Asked by: Drewrf
The volume the enclosure on this amplifier displaces is 0.10 cu ft.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-02-12

Hi, Please tell me if you can ship in Canada and how much I have to pay for a standard shipping and border fee for Dayton Audio SA70 70W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier Model SA70 Thanks

Asked by: Eugene70
Please contact our sales and customer service for available stock, price and shipping options. or 800-338-0531 x2.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2015-01-12

Is it bad that it heats up?

Asked by: luis975
This depends on how hot it gets. This amplifier will get warm while it is being used and may be slightly warmer than room temperature when in standby mode. If it is being used relatively hard, it may get somewhat hot to the touch but this is normal.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-31

I recently just got a ADX Maximus bass shaker, borrowed my subwoofer plate from my 12 inch subwoofer that is 150 watts @ 4 ohms. I am wondering if this would work well with the 50 watt ADX? Does it reach the lows without putting out too much power?

Asked by: Stof
I also would like an answer to this!
Answered by: Sim Shaker Newb
Date published: 2014-12-31

The volume pot went out on mine, Is there a replacement part I can order from you?

Asked by: Anonymous
Unfortunately we do not offer replacement parts for these amplifiers. You might want to contact our Dayton amplifier repair tech Eric, he may be able to source something for you. 800-338-0531 and ask for Eric.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-24

Hi, I currently have a KLM 200 watt sub woofer that this plate will replace. It only has one wire to connect to. Which on of the wires on the back of the new plate do I use? Also, can I run a passive woofer off this plate in addition?

Asked by: Shades
For a mono single RCA connection use the Right or the RED input.
Answered by: TomI
Date published: 2014-12-16

I'm using it to power a Tang Band 6.5" rated at 4 ohms but it gets very hot very fast at half of the gain, the main Amp is a Lepai 2020+, any Ideas? Is it defective?. I know that heat kill the amps.

Asked by: RDLR
This requires a bit more information in order to proceed. Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-16

The specs say "45 watts RMS into 8 ohms • 70 watts RMS into 4 ohms". How do you tell this amp which ohms you want to use, or does it switch automatically between 8 and 4 based on the speaker you have hooked up?

Asked by: Jammer134
The speaker that is hooked up provides the load to the amplifier. If you want the full 70 watts you will have to use a 4 ohm speaker, if you have an 8 ohm it will only produce about 45 watts.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-08

I have a Pioneer VSX-823 receiver which has a Preout Subwoofer port. I want to connect it to my old passive Polkaudio RM1000W subwoofer which only has hardwired LR channel connections. How can I connect the Preout Subwoofer cable to this amp?

Asked by: Will49
The preout on the receiver will be plugged into the right line level input on this amp. The subwoofer will connect to the red and black wire on the back of the amp. If each input on the subwoofer is 8 ohms, they can be wired together in parallel for a 4 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-12

I have a passive subwoofer (8 ohm, 10-100 watts) and two speakers (6 ohm, 50 watts) powered by a 2 channel 90 watt amplifier. From my audio understanding, this is missing major power. How would I connect all those to a plate amplifier or another option?

Asked by: beatles1
You will have to use the speaker level inputs and outputs on the subwoofer amp in order to get it wired properly. The speaker outputs on the stereo amp you have now will be wired to the "From Amplifier" terminals on the subwoofer amp, and the satellite speakers will be wired to the "To Speakers" terminals. The subwoofer will be connected to the red and black wires on the back of the subwoofer amp.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-06

With this amplifier, would I need line level subwoofer pre-outs from my receiver?

Asked by: Tim H
This amplifier will accept line level or speaker level inputs, so line level outputs are not specifically required in order to use it.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-03

Im curious why this amp has left and right channel rca low level inputs when there is only one set of leads to the subwoofer. How can it separate right and left channel information to a dvc sub or two subs with one set of input leads

Asked by: banzai63
This amplifier combines left and right signals for the output to the subwoofer. If you are using a DVC woofer, you will have to wire the coils together in series or parallel as long as the load does not drop below 4 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-27

Is ther a parts express project box that will fit this amp?

Asked by: BOBTEK126
I am sorry, we do not currently have a box that will cover our subwoofer amps. It is a good suggestion though so I will pass it along to our new products guys.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-10-03

I bought two of these amps to power stereo PUCK  bass transducers for my racing simulator project. Two questions actually. Do the line level and speaker inputs function at the same time? Also, does the speaker level pass-through affect impedance? Thanks!

Asked by: Tony N
I'm not sure why it made me anonymous, but it wasn't intentional. My name is Tony. Any help is appreciated! 
Answered by: Tony N
Date published: 2014-09-26

What do you recommend for 240V installations in about the performance range of the SA70?

Asked by: Bodgie
The closest option would be the Yung SD100 which has a switchable input voltage.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-24

i just recently purchased this amp to power 1 aura bass shaker. i have the gain half way. it runs amazing. but after 30 mins of use, the plate was hot. is this normal? and how long can i run this amp if i play a continuous 75Hz test tone

Asked by: hannibal
These amplifiers will get quite warm or hot if they are fed continuous sign waves.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-02

I have this exact amp. It suddenly stopped working. Is it possible to purchase replacement parts (circuit boards, capacitors, etc.)??

Asked by: Kamau5
Unfortunately we do not offer replacement parts for these and they are not practical to repair. If the unit is within the 1 year warranty please contact tech support so we can see about getting it exchanged.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-28

I have a 12" sub from a car.  Can I hook this up to the sub, plug it into my Sony receiver with a A/V cable and have a powered sub to fill out my home theater? I got the sub for free and want a powered sub for the HT system.  

Asked by: Tridaddy
Yes this is the type of amplifier you would want to use for that. You will need to make sure the subwoofer is 4 ohms or above so the load on the amp will be safe.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-23

Are any of the dayton sub plate amps 2 ohm stable ? have a 8" DVC 4x4 Ohm sub id like to power

Asked by: derwoodbones
Unfortunately none of our subwoofer amps are 2 ohm stable.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-02

how can i wire 3 tang band W5-1138SMF's to this

Asked by: Bassbalaster505
The only way you can safely wire three 4 ohm subwoofers to this amp would be to wire them all in series, which will only provide about 23 watts of total output power from the amplifier. You would be better off using 4 subwoofers wired in series/parallel and a slightly larger amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-01

Can this amplifier be modified to boost the eq curve?  Is there a published table with resistor values for given frequency and boost levels?  Thanks.

Asked by: firefox319
Unfortunately this amplifier cannot be modified in any way.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-03

Are there adapter plates available to make the amp fit a pre-cut hole? I have a powered that had the amp go out on it and the cut out is too big for this amp. The cut out in the box is 7-1/2''x8-1/2''.

Asked by: FreedomMaster
Unfortunately there are no plates for this available.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-20

can the phase be inverted by switching the speaker terminals. IE: (+) to minus and (- ) to plus

Asked by: f16voodoo1
yes, reversing the polarity as you asked would result in a 180 degree phase shift.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-11-04

stable at 2 ohms?

can i pull even more power out of this for 4 PUCK bass shakers by wiring them to 2 ohms instead of 4? or will this be too much stress for this amp?
Asked by: Dave B
id stick with 4ohm
Answered by: unk1
Date published: 2013-05-15

Why no ventilation?

Looks like most all the plate amps are sealed cases. Doesn't this cause major heat buildup?
Asked by: Pedroshasay
The entire plate of this amplifier is the heat sink so additional ventilation is not required.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-01

is the to speakers output for tweeters or just more subwoofers

Asked by: speaker freack
It is for full range speakers.
Answered by: studiomike
Date published: 2013-01-31

this amp seems like the perfect awnwer to my stereo sub project because of the lower price i can order 2

but the problem is I read so many bad reviews when it comes to the crossover , my question to parts express is , has this issuebeen resolved or is it still a problem.
Asked by: spy cat
At this price point, you are not going to get sophisticated crossover components. If you have an LFE or sub out of your source unit with its own internal crossover - you should be fine.
Answered by: markajh
Date published: 2014-12-21
  • 2015-12-01T07:16CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_300-784, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Get Sales Flyer
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Live Chat Software