300-813_ALT_7.jpg
300-813_ALT_7.jpg
 
300-813_ALT_0
 
300-813_ALT_1
 
300-813_ALT_2
 
300-813_ALT_3
 
300-813_ALT_4
 
300-813_ALT_5
 
300-813_ALT_6
 
300-813_ALT_7
 

Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier

Brand:| Model: SA230
Overview
The Dayton Audio SA230 subwoofer amplifier offers its owner the freedom to use a stand-alone, high quality amplifier to operate a subwoofer speaker system.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • Heavy-duty steel chassis with brushed aluminum faceplate
  • Mono Class AB output stage for solid, well defined output
  • Low-level, high-level, and LFE inputs
  • Manual, auto, or triggered on/off modes for integration into any automated system
  • 18 dB/octave low pass filter
  • Selectable bass boost
  • Adjustable phase, gain, and crossover
Part # 
300-813
Weight: 21.05 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Regular Price$199.80
Sale Price
$179.90
Part # 300-813
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier

Dayton Audio's SA230 subwoofer amplifier delivers all of the clean, solid power required to drive small-to-medium sized subwoofer speaker systems. Its tabletop design is compatible with many other popular electronic devices and different styles of multimedia furniture. The SA230 is engineered to provide high fidelity subwoofer amplification and is tailored for home audio and home theater audio systems. Its variable gain, bass boost, crossover frequency, and phase adjustment guarantee perfect integration with any audio system in any listening environment. Short circuit and thermal protection built-in.

Specifications: • Rated power output (1% THD): 156 watts into 8 ohms, 233 watts into 4 ohms • Signal to noise ratio: 85 dB A-weighted • Input impedance: 12K ohms • Gain: 0 dB to +10 dB • Bass boost: 25 Hz to 50 Hz • Low pass adjustment: 80 Hz to 180 Hz @ 18 dB/octave • Phase adjustment: 0° to 180° • Dimensions: 17-1/4" W x 3-3/4" H x 13-7/8" D • Power requirements: 120/230 VAC, 50/60 Hz • Stand-by power rating: 120V 0.82W • Weight: 21.05 lbs.



Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelSA230
  • Part Number300-813
  • UPC844632089572
  • Product CategoryHome Audio Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (36 Reviews)
  • Weight21.05 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier
in the Home Audio Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier
Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier is rated 4.4722 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good subwoofer Amplifier.I bough this Amplifier two weeks ago I must say I love the sound you talking about shaking the walls very good power.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & sound qualityI purchased this Subwoofer Amplifier a few weeks ago and I'm totally satisfied with its performance. I connected this amplifier to my surround sound receiver by running a cable between the subwoofer output on my receiver to the LFE input on the Dayton Subwoofer Amplifier. I then connected (in parallel) two 15 inch 8 ohm air suspension speakers to this amp and turned it on. I then made a couple adjustment to fine tune this amp to my speakers and then listened with amazement. I have never heard my speakers sound this good. The bass response was well defined and undistorted even at high volume levels. And it sounds just as good at low levels of volume as well. It's a Great Amp !!!
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier: Great product !!!!I bought this 2 weeks before & wa sable to connect my two passive subwoofers in less than 20 minutes. very good power from my speakers!!! nice look!!! very good amplifier!!!
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from replace plate ampsI have two klipsch 10inch subs both of the plate amps went out and it was way to expensive to replace them both so i thought I would give the Dayton sa230 a try .boy was I impressed they came alive with such force that they will nock pictures of the wall .
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement amp for my subwoofer plate amp!I bought this amp to replace my plate amp (which wasn't working) for my M & K subwoofer. It is much more flexible as far as adjustments are concerned, and really sounds great!I covered the hole in my subwoofer box with piece of wood that I painted black to match.I ended up using the 12 volt trigger to turn on the Dayton amp because it works so much better than the "auto on" that receives the trigger from the subwoofer output of my Rotel amp. My Rotel amp has numerous 12 volt trigger outputs. Luckily the Dayton amp has one too!
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome features and great power for the money.I have been running a plate amp to a pair of 15s for 7 years and finally decided to upgrade to an amp with more power. The way my HT is built, I really needed an external amp of which very few are made and even less in a reasonable price range. I wasn't expecting a lot from this amp, but it delivered far more than I had hoped for. My sub weighs in at close to 800 lbs and the 75w plate amp did a good job of shaking the walls, but with this amp, I have so much more control for blending with music and if I want to make things move around with movies the power is there with plenty in reserve. One day I may have to upgrade the 15s and I am happy knowing this amp won't have any trouble keeping up.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sub amp for computer/studio.I have been eyeballing this amp for some time now. I got some money for the holidays and decided to buy myself an xmas present. All I have to say is WOW. When fed a good signal it really brings it. I have this paired with a topping D2 dac, a Scott 2 way xover, an old adcom amp, a pair of Canton Karat 920's, and an old peerless 10" sub. There will be a few changes to the setup in the future, but right now I'm happy with it.The only things about the amp I would like to change is the crossover for the stereo rca inputs. it would be nice if one could just bypass the crossover all together or have a fully adjustable low-in/hi-out down to 50 htz so I wouldn't need a crossover.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ValueThis is a great amp, very powerful for the money. I'm please with all aspects to this amp except when place in auto mode it's slow to turn on and cuts off when there are no bass notes for a while. But once it's on it's hits hard.
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! Pretty much have my dream stereo now!The purchase of this Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier 95% met my hopes and expectations! I have a pair of Klipsh Forte's (that I bought new more than 30 years ago) that continue to be my dream speakers with my Nakamichi RE-2 when the gain is greater than 20%. Trouble is that I recently had to move my system into a small bedroom size office and as a result for the most part I listen to the system at low levels. Try as hard as Klipsch could with the Forte's to get out the bass (2-12 inch drivers in each cabinet, one is passive), there is (was) very little bass at low level. I put the SA230 behind the Nakamichi, disconnecting the active 12 inch drivers from the Klipsh cross over and tied them directly to the SA230, in parallel with each other. With the variable gain and variable freq response on the front panel at the right levels, the result at low Nakamichi levels (say 10-15%) is FABULOUS! It TOTALLY DOES THE JOB. I have a WONDERFUL blend of bass at low levels which is EXACTLY what I was hoping for. I'm not one to like over-bass it either, the ability to just push it up a bit at low gain levels makes it perfect. The SA230 was probably overkill for my purposes, but then OMG if I crank it up to 30-40%-50% on a good Lindsey Stirling OMG! I think I created the perfect stereo.As far as the 5% (maybe 10%) that I DONT LIKE about the SA230..with the Nakamichi gain below about 10%..HUMMMMMMMMM. There is an inherent low level hum that refuses to go away. Tried all the Dayton suggestions for reducing hum and it is still there. Unfortunately the hum is right at that gain level that might be my optimal listening level so I have to kick the volume up just a bit more than desired, but on the otherhand when I do, the sound is terrific. If Dayton has a hum filter that works, I'd probably buy it. I suggest Dayton should invest another 20 bucks in their power supply design to ensure extremely low hum. I would have paid more for this feature. Did I mention I have a pair of really good small bookshelf speakers high up on the wall behind/above the Fortes? So a wall of sound that is for lack of other words..phenomenal! Thanks Dayton and Parts Express!
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from does what it shouldthe light is defiantly bright. the amp has good power and all the adjustments and then some compared to other options in the price range. the case is clean and not cheap looking i was surprised when i opened it thought it wouldn't look as nice as it does in person. i wish the boost and eq was on the front kind of a pain in the a** to make adjustments after you install it . the only other thing is all the adjustment knobs on the front and the eq screws on the back don't have a nice tight feel to them they feel too loose not enough resistance compered to other volume knobs etc on my other equipment.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a Great AmpNotice I didn't say "for the price", this is a great subwoofer amp period. I have it driving my TBI subwoofer which (http://tbisound.com/) is billed as the "worlds quickest sub". This amp paired with my sub sounds musical but not boomy. It doesn't matter if the music is pop, rock, or acoustic the amp grips the music effortlessly and presents it transparently. I spend $200 on some of my cables and am delighted this amazing amp was available for the price. I would say this level of audio refinement would be unexpected from a sub amp, let alone at one below $1000. I also made two calls to parts express support about proper setup and they were exceptionally knowledgeable and professional.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the input flexibility.I am surprised at the performance of this amp.From the stereo B channel, to the speaker level inputs I am driving a pair of 12" 8 ohm subs in parallel through the sa230. From the A channel I have a pair of 8" 2 ways. I plan to add another sa230 so I can drive each of the 12s from its own amp. Included a photo of the speaker system I built. Separate boxes are 3/4 MDF and oak veneer. All internal parts from PE.
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different 12V triggerThe amps seems good enough. But the 12V trigger has a + & - bare wire connector, instead of a single 3.5 mm plug, like EVERYTHING ELSE. Why? Really stupid. The SA1000 has a single 3.5 mm plug. Every amp and AVR that has 12V trigger has the 3.5 mm single plug. But no, not the SA230 amp. It has bare wire + & - 12V trigger input and output.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from large and heavyOverall i like this sub amp a lot. I bought one of these and the bash 300 for experimentation. I ended up using the bash on my mfw-15 just because it seemed significantly more powerful. Im using this to power a jbl pb12 with blown amp and it does that very well. I wish the auto on had a little more sensitivity though. it wont come on for quiet listening as easy as I'd like. All in all i like it.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Replacement Sub Amp!If you're considering purchasing this audio amp for a replacement amp for your home sub, do not hesitate! I have owned this unit for approximately a month, using it to power my JBL Venue Sub12 subwoofer. The plate amp that came built into the sub has burned out twice due to faulty manufacturing or lack of an external heat sink from what I understand, and rather than replace it yet again, I went ahead and purchased this amp to power the sub. You will really like this amplifier. It allows multiple ways to connect to your existing system and is very easy to hook up and get running. No problems whatsoever with grounding noise or other issues like some have stated here. It has performed absolutely flawlessly for me. I can't give it enough praise - quality build, flawless performance and all at a VERY economical price. You can't go wrong with this sub amp.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Sound/Power - Tricky on/off switchingBought this to replace a Polk SWA 500 that failed after just three years (another story -- but they claim it's a 'disposable' item). Driving an in-floor 10" Polk Sub in a medium room. Used for bass reinforcement, but admittedly I'm not trying to shake the walls on a regular basis.Good -- plenty of inputs #high level, low level L/R and LFE#. For my needs, plenty of power -- some people complain about the high THD but honestly just use it and don't worry. This is bass here...not mid/high range sounds and it's fine. Good adjustability using front panel controls.Not as good -- I had a tough time getting it to turn off/on with my receiver. I have a mid-level Pioneer, and it doesn't have a 12V trigger. This one claims to turn off/on using a line level sensor, and perhaps it's just my receiver but it just didn't work for me. I even tried boosting the SW output on the receiver to make sure there was plenty of signal...but it still wouldn't turn off/on automatically even playing a movie with tons of bass. I had to resort to option #3, which was to buy one of the Belkin Smart Power Strips, which senses on/off for the 'control' outlet receiver and then uses a relay to turn on/off the sub amp. This works fine, but cost an additional $30.Overall, for the money a good purchase. Inexpensive free standing component style dedicated sub amps are hard to find unless you want to spend thousands so this one was what I need and I'm hoping it lasts for many years to come.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Amp for single 8 woofer.I'm using this for a small 8 in sub. Works great. Sounds great. No problems and very pleased with it.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent little sub for a good price -- High rated distortionA sub amp in its own case is a rare thing these days. Most sub amps are made for mounting on a big loudspeaker cabinet.Of course any audio amp can be used as a sub amp if all you want is amplification. But sub amps have lots of useful features, phase inverters, crossover filters, etc. that you won't find on most other audio amps.This amp has great features. The Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) is rated at a whopping 1%. Most decent sub amps would have 1/10 to 1/100 that level of THD at total rated power output. It could be that THD is much lower at lower power levels but the manufacturer cannot provide a graph of THD per power level. Perhaps the amp has only .01% THD at 80 watts but starts distorting much more once you get above that. We don't know without testing or published data. so, shoppers are stuck with the 1% THD rating. Luckily HD is not as noticeable at subwoofer frequencies than higher ones. At moderate power levels, e.g., driving an NHT 1259 in a medium sized room (about 20x13, doesn't make the amp top out and distortion is not noticeably bad to my ears but I did not put a scope on it.This unit accepts a 12V DC trigger signal to control Off/On although the connection is a screw attachment rather than a socket -- not a show stopper since you only have to deal with this once but it is inconvenient for set-up. [The SA-230's more expensive cousin, the SA- 1000, has a socket instead of screw connection for the DC trigger.]Given that sub amps in cases are hard to find and that the price for this one is economical, it's a good buy and amply will fit many folks' needs.Also, if the cabinet mounted sub amp on your subwoofer has gone bad. The SA-230 can be a economical alternative to replacing the original amp.I wouldn't recommend this amp to audiophiles but for 90% of the folks needing a sub amp, I wouldn't hesitate to urge them to consider the SA-230.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sub ampI had a 30 year old MK sub with a plate amp that quit on me and I started my search for a replacement. I found this site and after some research settled on a Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" sub and a Dayton Audio SA230 amp. I wanted a component amp so I could easily make adjustments without crawling on the floor for the sub.I used the old enclosure (modified by me to keep a sealed box after I removed the old plate amp). My box is 1.97 cu ft and Parts Express suggested this speaker for my configuration.I have a large (28 x 24) room with high ceilings and a basic Onkyo 5.1 receiver with an older set of Mission speakers (3 way w/ 8" woofers). I selected the amp because it had both high and sub level inputs with a crossover. For normal music, I use the high level inputs (crossing at 100hz) take the bass off the Mission speakers. For 5.1 surround I use sub input from the Onkyo.On music, this combination rocks and is overpowering. This set-up has the potential to put the local high school student's boom box inspired car stereo to shame. Once dialed back to about 1/2 throttle it sounds excellent.On movies (Lord of the Rings blue ray) on the low level sub inputs it sounds very good but not nearly as overpowering. I wish it had a little more punch, but that could also be a reflection of my 10 yr old Onkyo receiver not delivering the goods to the sub.I have no complaints about this system and am very satisfied. I wish the larger Dayton amp had high level inputs because that would have been a serious contender for my set up.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect subwoofer ampHad and old set of 15" speakers. Decided to build a sub woofer isobaric system. This consists of a sealed box (4.5 cubic feet) with one woofer inside and the other mounted opposite on the outside of the box. Woofers are cross wired to phase correctly. Needless to say such a setup requires quite a bit of amplification.The Dayton SA230 fills the bill perfectly. It is a very sold (heavy!) unit. Good old fashioned "buffalo" construction. The many settings allow a home builder like myself to adjust the system for maximum performance. Power output is amazing, afraid I'll break something if I crank it all the way up. A great unit a a reasonable price.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for.I got this amp to replace a dead original plate amp in my Infinity PS12 active subwoofer. I wanted a separate component amp for better ventilation and less exposure to vibration.The Infinity's internal amp was rated at 300 watts RMS (no ohms value given but presumably 4 ohms). On paper the SA230 would max out about -1.5 dB to -3dB less than the original amp. Not a problem for me as I never even come close to pushing my system to its limits.Like everyone else I am impressed with the build quality of the SA230 given the price, and it looks right at home in my equipment rack with all of my other components. Yes, the power LED is kind of bright, but, to me at least, it's not too distracting.I'm connected via my Onkyo TX-SR805's LFE out and set the SA230 to auto, with the bass boost turned all the way down, phase at 0, frequency at 120 Hz (since it is being bypassed anyway) and gain at 5. Then I calibrated with Audyssey MultEQ XT. I'm very pleased with the results. Movie bass sounds every bit as deep as the Infinity amp and music sounds better than ever. Music bass seems tighter now. I'm speculating this amp has a higher damping factor than my old amp. Also as I suspected it will still play louder than I will ever listen so giving up a bit of power isn't an issue.Another nice thing about this amp is it turns itself on sooner and stays active longer than my original amp. Also, there's no thump when it powers on and off like the original amp. Initially I was going to use a 12 volt trigger but I find it isn't necessary with my set up. I'm not getting any hum either as some others have mentioned.I'm very pleased and it has exceeded my expectations.
Date published: 2012-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best for meThe amp is a solid unit well made heavy but it did not work for me. I have Bill Fitzmaurice design Table Tuba very sensitive sub I could not get rid of the humm moving the input out of LFE helped but I could not get the humm to stop. I had to disconect it for sanity sake it now lives in the closet collecting dust. I now use a normal amp with XLR input for the LFE and all is well.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Amp for the purposeDuring a re-model I ran unshielded AWG 10 wire instead of coaxal cable up and over to the corner where I placed my old self powered sub. Needless to say it hummed and I gave up using it. I learned later that I would need to push power to avoid the hum.I purchased this amp to power the Bill Fiztmaurice Tuba 18 designed subwoofer that I built. It took a little adjustment to set the gain without getting a "hum". I left the classical music channel playing all day while I was at work to break in the driver. I then allowed the receiver to run it's sound configuration program but found the low-bass results flat. A little more adjustment with the receivers settings and bass boost was all that was needed to get the musical sound I was seeking. Movie explosions have a nice deep rumble and crescendo.I marked down the features rating due to when you use the LFE connection you need to use the receivers crossover instead of being able to set it on the amp. Yes modern receivers have all the crossover settings but I still like a manual one. According to the manual if you're going to use this amp for higher freq speakers you can use the crossover feature; yes you can say I'm being ticky tacky but...My better half likes the aesthetics of the amp, it blends in nicely with the other AV components. You will need to place a small piece of tape over the BRIGHT BLUE power light unless your AV gear is in a closet. If you need to push clean power to a sub I highly recommend this amp.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to find productStand-alone subwoofer amplifiers are really hard to find. I lucked into finding this amp after my dedicated NHT subwoofer amp crapped out, after 10 years or so of moderate use.I have a pair of NHT towers speakers bi-amped. An NAD home theater receiver drives the top half of the towers along with the center and surrounds. The SA230 (formerly the NHT amp) drives the towers' woofers.The SA230 is a gem. It's much easier to use than the NHT amp it replaced. On the NHT, only the gain was on the front. The crossover and phase controls were in the rear. Needless to say, tweaking the settings was a challenge. Gain, crossover and phase controls are all on the front of the SA230. I also like to way the pop-out adjustment knobs click in and out, so accidentally changing the settings is less likely.Although I can't directly compare the SA230 to the NHT amp (since it died), bass seems to sound cleaner with the SA230.The one downside to finding the amplifier is that I'm now a Parts Express junky.
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great AdditionThis amp is a great addition to my system. I recently purchased a Polk Atrium 10 outdoor passive sub woofer for use on my patio. The source of the sound was from the Zone2 output on a Denon 3312CI. The same zone is powering some Polk Atrium 65 outdoor speakers as well. Without a crossover feeding the signal to the sub, the sub was getting stereo sound and all in all, while putting out some bass, it was pretty muffled and also attempted to play mid range sounds as well.Subwoofer amplifiers are very difficult to find and I shopped around considerably before settling on the Dayton Audio SA230. There was a problem with the first SA230 I received as no matter how I connected it from my receiver, nothing would be output to the sub. The PA guys were great in helping my diagnose the problem and immediately sent me a RMA and shipping paid label for the first unit and shipped me out a replacement prior to me sending in the original sub amp.Finally had the opportunity to set up the sub amp last weekend and all I can say is WOW!!. I listened to music out on the patio until the wee hours of the morning. The sub amp scrubbed the stereo input signal and send out the mono signal to the sub. Even the "satellite speaker" sound better. I am running the sub amp using the high level ins. It is powered on using the trigger from my Denon amp whenever I turn on Zone 2.The only negative I can say about this is the manual that comes with the SA230 is very anemic. It doesn't really go into details of advantages of connecting the SA230 using hi level, line in or LFE. It doesn't talk about how the crossover works or if the hi level ins get filtered before it sends a signal to the hi level outs. The manual does not have a troubleshooting section for the product to get it working.The sound and power of the amp makes it well worth the $$$. Now all I have to do is convince my neighbors not to complain about the great sound they are hearing.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ValueThis amp is no slacker. I paired it with the Dayton Audio Titanic MKIII 12" in a ~2cu. ft. sealed enclosure and WOW. The output in my rather small room is just amazing.I love the bass boost feature. It was absolutely perfect for my design giving me the ability to further extend the low end in my sealed enclosure giving me almost the extension of a ported enclosure but with the tightness and transient response of a sealed enclosure.There's no doubt in my mind this thing produces the full 230 watts @ 4Ohms it claims which seems to be enough for all the music and movies I throw at it. I have yet to play this thing with any combination of music/movie/volume that has caused it to seem stressed, it just keeps kicking out the beautiful, smooth, pounding bass.The build quality is excellent. It's very weighty and looking through the vents on top reveals a large toroidal transformer and what seems to be (to my amateur eyes) quality components that give evidence that it can perform well up to it's stated specs.The only negatives i can possibly think of are that the blue light on the front is rather annoying when watching a movie in the dark, but that's nothing a piece of electrical tape can't fix :). Also, while the 230 watts seems to fulfill my needs, i do wish it kicked out at least 300 or maybe 350. But at this price and with the variable bass boost feature, i'm not complaining.I plan to do another version of this sub using this amp with the MKIII 12" but with the 3 cu. ft. enclosure sold here at PE and a 3" port tuned to 20Hz. I can't wait to have both of these babies up and running and tearing the house down~
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, good valueIt is hard to find a dedicated, standalone subwoofer amp, and this one is perfect for what I needed. Seems to have plenty of power to drive the 2 10" active drivers I have built into my video room.I would have given this all 5s for the value alone, except that the manufacturer seemed to use a laser bright LED power indicator on the front. In a dim video room, it overpowers everything else in my rack and is very distracting. So far I have gotten around this by cutting a round piece of black electical tape and putting it over the LED. I cant see it now, but at least I can see my TV without the laser distraction. It just seems poorly thought out that I have to have a piece of tape stuck to the front of this product that really works well. But I guess i was able to fix the issue pretty simply.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton SA230 Subwoofer ReviewI have an Infinity PS-10 powered subwoofer that has had amp trouble for several years now. I've replaced several failed capacitors and brought it back a few times, but it finally died. Since all my other speakers are in-ceiling, my thought was to go with an in-wall sub, which would require a separate amp. The SA230 seemed to be a good choice, so I decided to try it first by having it drive the old Infinity speaker until I found a good in-wall sub. Guess what? My PS-10 sounds better now than when it was new. I may not buy another speaker now.The SA230 is very solidly built. The construction rivals that of my Denon receiver. The SA230 is incredibly versatile with every connection you could need. The 12v trigger is a great feature - no worries about it going to sleep in auto mode and missing a big boom, or wasting energy leaving it on all the time. Oh, and the recessed front dials make it great for fitting into a shallow cabinet.I am very happy with the SA230 and would not hesitate to recommend it. I am sure there are better amps out there, but I'll bet non for even twice the $200 price of the SA230.
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SA230 reviewI bought this amp to power a Sunfire MK IV powered subwoofer that had a defective internal amp. It had a limited peak output of 2,700 watts. I pulled the plate amp out of the enclosure and hooked up the Dayton S230 to power the two drivers in the Sunfire. This amp won't blow out any windows but it provides nice solid base at mid gain level. Totally happy with it's performace so far.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super value!I have a customer who has a Triad Bronze InWall Subwoofer and mating Triad Amplifier. The amplifier, at some point, stopped working. It retails for over $800, usually worth fixing. Triad was very nice with their response to my inquiry's, they said about $200 max. Add shipping one way, another $50. Having electronics fixed can take a long time and the warranty on the fix may only be 90 days, although, to be fair, I never got that far with Triad. What I wanted for my customer was something fast and with at least a one year warranty. The Dayton SA-230 came in less than that, shipped with a one year warranty. It claims 233 watts into 4 Ohms. The Triad Bronze InWall Subwoofer uses a Peerless 10 Inch 4 Ohm driver.My customers system is in the living room, which is open to the kitchen and the upstairs, an "open concept". Basically, a huge amount of cubic feet. I wasn't expecting much from the subwoofer or amplifier. I do this for a living, I'm rarely impressed...... I was impressed!First off, the Dayton Audio SA 230 out of the box weighed about the same as the Triad. It's got a big toroidal transformer you can see through the vents, always a good sign. Crossover, phase and gain dials on the front along with the power button. On the back you have your typical inputs and outputs, a switch for deciding on how to power the unit up, i.e. trigger, music sense or normal, and the EQ. Ahhh, the EQ. Two dials allow you to choose a frequency to boost and the amount of boost. Having this kind of control can be dangerous! Boosting too low a frequency can damage a speaker or blow the amp, its good these controls are on the back! I wound up with a little boost at 40 Hertz.Bass can make or break your system. Good bass seems to improve your mids and highs, bad bass can ruin exceptional equipment. My customer bought a Boston Acoustics soundbar for the front three and had inwalls for surrounds. A Denon receiver powered everything. Good brands, nothing to get excited over though. Soundbars in general are usually disappointing. Before the bass, it sounded like the TV speakers were on. After adding the bass, it sounded awesome! Now, I think adding any subwoofer to that system would have improved it, but lets remember the price of the Dayton Audio SA 230 and the size of the space. And to top it off, what about the pedigree of the amp that this thing replaced!Only one thing I can think of that this product can improve on. The Lowpass crossover starts at 80 hertz. I know this is what everybody recommends, it is the THX reference. Very rarely, in my experience, does it sound good. I would like to see the Lowpass start at 40 hertz. I am nitpicking though, it sounded great and cannot be touched by anything out there anywhere near its price point!
Date published: 2011-10-09

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier

I've plugged in a sub cable between my Yamaha receiver's sub out into the LFE on this amp, then wired the sub out ports from the amp to the sub.  I'm just getting a cyclical hum out of the amp itself and no sound from the sub.  Any ideas?

Asked by: DaveWantsBass
If the amplifier itself is humming there is a problem. Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-01

I just bought the Dayton SA230/2VS8 Dual Subwoofer System Amplifier Package and would like to know how to wire the two subs to the amplifier since the amplifier has only one sub-out.   Please advise.

Asked by: JJMcD
On the second page of the manual below, you will want to wire each subwoofer using the 8 ohm single channel illustration, then wire both subwoofers to the amplifier in parallel.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-18

I have a 1999 Polk Audio PSW-150 plate amp that went out...do you think this amp would be a good replacement for it...of course after sealing the back off on the box and installing a square speaker terminal cup (4" Gold Banana Binding Post)?

Asked by: JAM475
As long as the woofer is 4 ohms this will work very well as a replacement with the modifications mentioned.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-08

Will this work with the MTX HTS28W Dual 8" In-Wall Subwoofer?  Dual 8 ohms impedence, 200 watts RMS/400watts max.

Asked by: Gusano
Yes this will work with that subwoofer. Wire both woofers to 4 ohms and you will get the most from the amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-07

Would I be able to hook up in Parallel 2- 8 ohm subwoofers that are rated at 80 watts continuous power (400 watts pulse power) without damaging this amp?

Asked by: spirit
Yes this amplifier is rated for a 4 ohm load, two 8 ohm woofers in parallel will create a 4 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-04

I have an older Velodyne CT 150 15 inch subwoofer with a blown amp(250-300 watts.4ohm driver). Will this amp be a good replacement? I love room filling bass I can feel. Will this amp do the job?

Asked by: Shemp
This amp should have no problem powering that woofer to similar output levels as the original amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-03

Would this be a suitable replacement for the dead amp in my Monitor Audio ASW210? It's a pair of 10" 8 ohm woofers. I've seen some writing about "continuous polarity reversal" and "push-pull" design, but they seemed parallel to me.

Asked by: WillHartley
As long as the final impedance load is 4 ohms this amplifier will work fine.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-27

hi i have a yamaha receiver 7.2 how do i hook up the amp to sub the output on the yam is one and the output on the amp is 2 ? do you have a video that shows how to hook up amps instead of the features/ thanks in advance

Asked by: tbar
You will simply have to take the output from the receiver and plug it into the LFE input on the subwoofer amplifier, which is to the right of the line level inputs.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-21

Are the line level outputs put through a high-pass filter?

I looked at the manual (last revised 3/16/2011) and it doesn't mention anything about the line level outputs. Are they a pass-through of the line level inputs or are they high-passed at the crossover frequency?
Asked by: SSteve
The line level outs on the SA230 are not high passed and are full range.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-10-13

Can I run only Left or Right input to this amp?

My receiver has a subwoofer output, but very little control over the x-over and not much in the way of processing. I am using this as much for music as home theater and would like to use the adjustable x-over and bass boost on the amp. Do I need to run a splitter in order to hook up both the left and right inputs on the amp or will it use only the left or right input alone? I prefer to use as few connections as possible so it would be nice if I only needed one cable from the subwoofer output to the amp. Thanks!
Asked by: Musgofasa
The catalog sheet does not indicate a mono mode, so I can only assumeyou must mix L+ R channels with " Y " adapter patch cords. Signal loss would be minimal.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-02-10

Is specified RMS power rated per channel?

I see the amp is rated at 156 watts into 8 Ohms. Is that watts per channel or in total?
Asked by: MrAwfulsounds
This is a single channel amplifier so it supplies 156 watts x 1 into 8 ohms or 230 watts x 1 into 4 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-04-16

Frequency response?

I know this is advertised as a subwoofer amp, but I don't see any rated frequency response listed.I'm looking to replace the OEM amps in my Klipsch KSP400s which are rated for 10hz-75hz.Can this amp faithfully reproduce the sub-20hz range?
Asked by: Drew C
Like all of our Dayton subwoofer amplifiers, this amp has a built in subsonic filter at about 18 Hz. So the actual frequency response is ~18-180 Hz depending on where the low pass crossover knob is set.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2012-10-18

How well will this amp power 4 Aura Bass Shakers?

Right now I'm running 4 Aura Pro Bass Shakers in Series/Parallel of a Dayton Audio APA150 and I'm not pleased with the results. I have to turn the gain to past 3/4 and turn the subwoofer level to +12 on my Onkyo TX-Nr609 receiver to feel the shakers at all. Will this amp provide me with better results since I'll be giving each bass shaker more watts.
Asked by: Seth Scott
Well - there are a number of factors. 1) How much shaking do you want? 2) Are the shakers installed where they will have the most effect? 4 is a good number for maintaining impedance. The amp you are using is good as is the SA230. I think what it comes down to is setup. If you can give some more details....
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-09-19

will the sa230 push 2 VP1800's ?

LOOKING FOR MORE BASS AT LOW VOLUME, I have a HK3490 with 2 VP1800's and 4 VS1520's plenty of bass at higher volumes , need more bass at lower volumes
Asked by: snwman47
Your question is very conflicting. Clubs use variable EQ for small audiences all the way up to large audiences due to the way their bodies effect frequency response. You should study the Fletcher Munson curves to see how we perceive low frequences at different SPLs. As for the SA230 running dual CP1800s - that's not a good idea. You will be compromised with impedance issues and there won't be enough dynamic headroom to delivery optimum perfornmace.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-07-16

sufficient power sa230

would this 230 watt amp succesfully power Polk Audio MM1240 SVC 4 ohm --------- rms/thermal 425/800 ???is sa230 rated watts Same as RMS watts ---- and is sa230 CEA-2006 compiant??
Asked by: palgume
While this is an excellent amp. And very musical with class A/B design. It isn't suited to your driver. It is 156 watts at ohms, and only 233 at 4. This indicates that performance at 2 ohms will be insufficient with a driver with a 4 ohm baseline specification. You should consider a Class D amp rated at least 400 watts at 8 ohms. Remember, musical peaks can often be 10X and clean power won't damage the driver - only clipped sine waves will.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-05-15

What is the Q on the bass boost?

I would like to model a new subwoofer build i'm planning and it would be advantageous to know what the Q on the bass boost is so the model can be as accurate as possible.
Asked by: Slick Nick
The Q of the bass boost will be approximately 0.5.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-07-13

why 2 inputs for the 12vdc trigger?

Asked by: old.ibidem
yah, the manual does not even explain: I believe they are for in and out, daisy-chaining to other equipment. Most high-end audio equipment I have owned detects auto-on thru singal input. But this way you can program the equipment to turn on/off when needed, usually for studio or performance based control.
Answered by: Fanden
Date published: 2012-01-20

is it possible to get Rack mount bracket?

Asked by: Endre
Hi, it's possible if similar size brackets from another product can be found. If not, get a 3u panel and have a machine shop mill the opening. Then you could use angle brackets to attach the amp. Bob
Answered by: bobelmo
Date published: 2012-01-18

Does the LFE input bypass the crossover on this amp?

Asked by: Conradicles
Yes, LFE input relies on filtering from the receiver or input source.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2012-11-05

There are high level input on this sub amp, which is the high pass (hz and db/octave) output frequency ?

Asked by: Viento
line in ===line line out... NO x'over!!!
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2012-08-28

phase adjustment

What, internally, is different about this standalone amp versus the plate amps that are $120 less and with 10 more watts? Are we paying more than double just for fully adjustabe phase adjustment? I really need 0-180 degrees of adjustment, but I can't understand how I can buy two of the comparable plate amps for the same price. Will Dayton design another plate amp around 240w with fully adjustable phase control ever again?Does this standalone amp have better components than the plate amps?
Asked by: Jonathan the producer
A summary of the differences is thus: the SA230 includes variable bass boost and frequency, fully adjustable phase, LFE input, and 12 Volt trigger. The SA240 plate amps do not have any of these featuresThe 12V trigger can be considered superior to the auto-on feature (in the SA240) because auto-on may not detect a low level RCA signal, or may "lose" that signal, and disengage the amp during long quiet passages in movies or even music, where the 12V trigger is activated by the switched output of the receiver, so it turns on and stays on until the receiver is turned off.A table top amplifier allows you to conveniently power more than one subwoofer from a single amp, and also eliminates the leaking of air sometimes associated with plate amps, as well as the volume displaced by the plate amp, ultimately allowing for a smaller, more compact subwoofer.The SA240s do allow for high (speaker) level inputs, however, this is not the connection method of choice, so it is only used when LFE or pre-amp output is not available from the source (which is more and more scarce with modern products).I cannot speak to pricing, sales, or what kinds of products may (or may not) be in development for future release.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-11-06

Would this amp adequately power the Dayton 10" Titanic?

Asked by: GregM
Yes, it will do a fine job with the 10" Titanic in a small to moderate size listening area. In fact, the SA240 comes with the Titanic 10 in our subwoofer kit for that speaker. The difference of 10 watts is negligible. I've linked the kit below for reference.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-08-25

Does the SA230 have a Subsonic Filter?

Asked by: crabra
no, this amplifier does not have a subsonic filter at all.
Answered by: BigRich92
Date published: 2012-10-18

running 2

would this amppower 2 subs in a stereo set up on a open baffle speaker with active bass subs with 2 TC epic 12" woofers
Asked by: falcron
Assuming you are using TC Sounds DVC Subwoofer part# 293-650 in the Parts Express Catalog, then this amp would work IF you wire the dual voicecoils in series for a 4 ohm load per speaker and then wire the 2 subs in series for an 8 ohm load to the amp. Otherwise, you would place too low an impedance load on the amp. It would handle the 8 ohm load just fine. If these are not dual voicecoil subs just make sure that the load on the amp is NOT below 4 ohms! Hope this helps.Randy
Answered by: Ty2083
Date published: 2011-06-06

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio SA230 230W Subwoofer Amplifier

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software