300-802_ALT_1.jpg
300-802_ALT_1.jpg
 
300-802_ALT_0
 
300-802_ALT_1
 

Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Brand:| Model: SA100
Overview
This Dayton Audio SA100 100 watt subwoofer amplifier with adjustable crossover, high and low level inputs, auto on/off and phase reversal switch is perfect for building your own powered subwoofer. This plate amp offers very stable operation, with full overload protection.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • Low distortion audiophile sound
  • Adjustable low pass crossover
  • High and low level inputs/outputs
  • Auto On/Off
  • Phase reversal switch
  • 75 watts RMS @ 8 ohms, 100 watts RMS @ 4 ohms
  • S/N Ratio: 90 dB (A-weighted)
Part # 
300-802
Weight: 8.55 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$149.99
You Save40%
Your Price
$89.80
Part # 300-802
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

Small but mighty! The Dayton Audio SA100 high performance subwoofer plate amp module packs big-amp features into a compact chassis that is ideal for installation into cabinets that can't accommodate bulky old-style amps. We made it small, but included everything that you need to connect the amp to your system and get maximum performance. Input/output connections are through your choice of either line level RCA connectors, or speaker level banana jacks. A stereo input signal is summed to mono and sent to the internal low pass crossover, which is selectable from 40 to 180 Hz; the input gain sensitivity is fully adjustable as well.

The SA100 also includes a phase reverse switch, which helps you to achieve the best acoustical match with the rest of your speakers. An Auto On/Off switch keeps the amp standing by, waiting for an input signal to turn it on. A large surface area heat sink is combined with internal overload, thermal, and short circuit protection so that you can expect years of reliable operation.

Specifications: • Measured power output: 75 watts RMS into 8 ohms @ 0.1% THD, 100 watts RMS into 4 ohms @ 0.2% THD • Signal to noise ratio: 90 dB (A-weighted) • Dimensions: 7-1/2" W x 8-11/16" H x 4-3/4" D • Enclosure cutout: 6-1/2" W x 7-1/2" H • Power requirements: 120 VAC, 60 Hz, 180 watts • Net weight: 7.6 lbs.



Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelSA100
  • Part Number300-802
  • UPC844632015946
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Plate Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (123 Reviews)
  • Weight8.55 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
in the Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier
Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier is rated 4.5203 out of 5 by 123.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great amp!I bought this to replace my old Dayton 25w plate amp that I have had for over 10years and which now has been moved from den sub to bedroom re purposed passive Bose passive sub.. I am running the Dayton 100 at 4 ohms connected to my Polk C4 car sub which I use as my primary music sub (Sony ES receiver, den / stereo music room). The sounds is fantastic, very responsive, low low distortion, good build, stays cool under load and pounds overall. I would buy it again and again. Thanks Parts express!
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid ampgood amp...reliable...good power...well made ......backed-up by PE
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate AmplifierThe amplifier performs as I expected and I am happy with this purchase
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100 watt of goodnessBuilt an 8" sub for my desktop pc and required a amp to give it some powerMy sub is rated for 300 rms and total of 500 watt peak. I wasnt sure this 100 watt plate amp would be enough to power the sub. After reading the reviews i went ahead and made the purchase. To my surprise this amp is more then enough to power a loud sounding bass thumping sub. Im very happy with the purchase. My sub is wired to 4 ohms to recieve the full 100 watts. The crossover built in does its job to filter highs. You wont be dissapointed. Keep in mind the size of your sub.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from M&K V1B subwoofer replacementI have two M&K sub-woofers. When the first plate amp went bad, I purchased the SA100 amp. To see that review, search for the string "M&K V1B" and you should find it.Now, the second original M&K plate amp has gone bad. I purchased a second, identical plate amp (Dayton Audio SA100), to fix it.I had a problem with the replacement plate amp. It worked for about 2 days or so and then failed. I think something was wrong in the signal processing (low level stuff) part of the circuit board since the power stage seemed OK. I notified Parts Express about my problem and they sent me another plate amp before I managed to get my bad one back to them. The second amp was OK and is still OK. Apparently, the first amp worked long enough to make it out of the factory so it passed all initial tests.I rated this plate amp 4 stars rather than 5 stars because of the failed amp I had to return. I still rate Parts Express 5 stars on how they handled the failed amp.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SA100 M&K 2B VolkswooferI bought the Dayton SA100 as a replacement for the plate amp I've been nursing along in an M&K 2B Volkswoofer. I like the driver and cabinetry of the old M&K equipment, but their electronics were poorly built and poorly applied, at least the ones I ended up with. The SA100 was a good exchange as its output power and filtering parameters closely match Ken Kreisel's original spec. Unlike the original however, the SA100 offers both fully variable cutoff frequency and phase reversal. These added control features really have proven to be helpful since the living area where my system operates is so far away from being acoustically optimal.Before placing the PE order I put more time into studying my various options than was really warranted, but in part I was also getting a broader update on technologies available now. I bought my M&K speakers and much of the rest of my equipment in the mid 80's and for the most part still use the same components, falling somewhat out of touch along the way. Still, published spec's only go so far, how it sounds in the end is what matters and in my case it's fine. I make no claims as to how it would sound if cranked up five times louder than the volume at which I listen, so anyone seeking that kind of critique should read a different review.Installing the SA100 took a bit of cabinetry modification but no big deal. I used the tee nuts and button head cap screws M&K used originally to fasten it in place and wired the dual cone driver in series giving the SA100 a full 8Ω load. The gain is adjustable on this amplifier so there's no reason to overload it with low impedance. A few previous reviewers have complained that the amp's stand-by mode failed to work for them so I anticipated running into that. In point of fact however it works fine for me, for that matter this entire retrofit has proven to be a plug-and-play operation.This was also my first transaction with PE, so I'll extend my review to include that part of the experience. I found my communications with both tech and customer support to be pleasantly professional, helpful, and knowledgeable, but ordering and shipping was another story. I was lulled into placing the order when I did by PE's $89.80 "special price" and "free every day shipping" for all orders placed before 12/25/13. Since we live in a remote part of New Mexico where the post office does not deliver it was critical to make sure delivery would be made by UPS or Fed Ex. PE's online ordering system assured me that would be the case followed by an emailed UPS tracking number. UPS however subsequently turned it over to the Post Office thanks to the "UPS SurePost" delivery program. As a result it took more than 2 1/2 weeks to get from Ohio to my hands here in New Mexico, and that's only the case because I chased after it until finally tracking it down. Now, one month after placing my order PE still offers free shipping and along the line dropped the SA100's price to $71.84. Had I walked to PE's warehouse in Ohio I'd have taken delivery faster and saved $18 by the time I got there. Not happy, and why I'm only giving this review two stars.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for my needs!I bought this amp to power four bass shakers that I have in some theater seats in my home theater. In the past I used a couple old amps that apparently weren't powerful enough. I hooked this amp up and they have performed flawlessly with plenty of power. They were the perfect solution for my needs. Also, before buying I called the tech support line and the person that I talked to recommended this product after hearing my needs which was very helpful.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Direct replacement for KLH GFX550LI bought a second hand KLH GFX550L 'as is' listed as possibly working, the amp was fried. This Dayton SA100 is a 99% direct fit replacement. It uses the same cutout size and the plate dimensions are within 1/8th of an inch side to side, the screw holes even line up! It has more power than the KLH amp did, so if you're using it for this purpose be careful with the gain knob. I did note the initial plug in 'thump' that others have noted, I wish there was some way to protect against this other than plugging the amp in before connecting the speaker.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SubI used this to replace a blown 200 watt amp. The sub was in a smaller room and I really didn't need the extra bass. Hooked it up, set the crossover, set the volume at 50% and proceeded to check it out. It worked great and the volume was more than enough. I did turn it up some just to see how it sounded. There was no rattling and the sound was clear. Would definitely recommend Dayton Audio products.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Amp!I love this amp. I feel I got an excellent price/performance ratio on this baby. It has very low harmonic distortion, small install size and light weight. I rate it a 10 out of 10!
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power and fidelityThis module was used to replace the amplifier board in a Polk brand powered sub-woofer. I have found the sound quality and power output to be superior to the original amplifier board. I would recommend this module to anyone needing a replacement amplifier for their sub-woofer.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small amount of hum, auto sense only works on speaker inputsThe Dayton SA100 is a decent value for the buck. It has a tiny bit of audible low freq hiss and hum. This was compared to a Martin Logan sub to see if the hum was from the line level RCA jack or if it was coming from the amp itself. It was the Dayton amp that had the audible hum. My best description is that it can be heard up to 2 feet away, but was barely or not audible past that distance. Connected to 2 12" JBL woofers, total 8 ohms load. Another anomaly is that the auto turn on feature only works with speaker level inputs, not the RCA input. Not sure if that's a bug in my amp or by design. It says 10millivolts on the RCA input... I would have to imagine the signal was at least that since it was cranked quite loud which worked for my Martin Logan sub but not the Dayton amp. Other than that, I'd have to say you get what you pay for and this amp does the job nicely. I didn't have the chance to crank it the full 100W but it's seen at least half power and seemed quite happy at that more-than-adequate house level. I'd buy it again if I build another full custom design. But it's really hard to beat off-the-shelf subs at the low prices these days.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Subwoofer AmpA set of Klipsch B-20 speakers were on sale at Fry’s for half-pric. They have amazing highs and midrange for such small speakers but lack oomph in the bass. It seemed that a subwoofer was needed. After listening to available powered subwoofers at Best Buy and Fry’s and being completely dissatisfied with what I heard, I decided to build my own. The Pioneer 841-D speaker is compact and requires a small enclosure. I purchased through Amazon.com because of the price. The SA100 Dayton 100 watt amplifier has good distortion numbers, can drive a four ohm speaker at full rated power, and provides enough power to fill a small room. It has a built-in, adjustable crossover which outputs the highs to the main speakers and the lows to the amplifier and subwoofer. It was purchased through PartsExpress.com because of the price. I decided on a sealed enclosure to eliminate the horrible sounds I heard from the commercial subwoofer’s ports. It was constructed from ¾ inch plywood with ¼ inch oak plywood laminated giving a one-inch total thickness to the walls. The walls were dadoed and glued together for a tight fit. A 1X3 oak face frame was dadoed and applied on all eight edges to hide the plywood edges, act as a cabinet stiffener and for aesthetics. The enclosure volume is approximately 0.40 cu. Ft. as recommended by Pioneer.The amplifier came with spade lugs which is a bit old-fashioned since the speaker had spring-loaded terminals. No biggy though. Break-in began with Dead Can Dance at very low volume. The subwoofer was musical and sounded great. The amplifier and crossover adjustments were easy to set. Percussion and low tones sounded amazing. Later, higher volume listening was also very good. Amplifier adjustability is great. The sounds are very realistic with none of that thud, thud noise that doesn’t belong. If you have a discerning ear and want realistic sound in a small room for little money then this is the setup.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice amp...I bought this amp to create a sub to add to a Tivoli Model Two desk radio which also serves as my PC speakers. I built a ported enclosure for an 8" Scanspeak Discovery, 4 ohm driver I had sitting on the shelf.It arrived quickly and was well packed. The first issue I had was fitting into the enclosure. The PE website says that it needs a cutout of 6 1/2" x 7 1/2" but the manual says 6 1/2" x 7 3/4". The manual is correct.Upon hook-up, my second issue was quickly evident. There was a large turn on thump when I plugged it in but the the amp power switch was off. Once set-up, it did not do it again, until I plugged it in at my office. Again, after the initial power up, it was fine.I have not tested it yet, but I believe it is drawing a fair amount of power while in stand-by. It gets warm. I have not run it for a long period at high volume and probably never will since I bought an amp slightly bigger then I need. Therefore, I cannot comment on heat during heavy use.I believe the power rating is true and the crossover works well. The 4-ohm 8" driver is rated for 70 watts and this amp can overpower it which gives me the headroom I was after. The sound is good as the amp does not seem to add anything to the sound. I am using a "sub out" from my source and in my application, it does not hum or produce any noise when it shouldn't.So far, this is a great little amp for the price!
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sub Works AgainI have an awesome sub and this awesome amp made it awesome again! I was worried before installing because it had no LFE input. But if you crank the crossover up, it works perfectly!
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent choicethis is a great little amp. the crossover and gain controls work very well. Just the right amount of clean power to control a moderate sub-woofer without undue strain.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Replacement AmpThis was purchased as a replacement for a Polk Audio 200 Amp which was powering my underfloor sub.I find it is excellent for home theater and music.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved and old sub and lots of $I Purchased the Dayton Audio SA100 to repair a 13 year old Klipsch ksw12 sub. It has been running for over a month and I'm impressed. Movies and games sound better than ever.Pros: Matched the original amp in power (100 watts vs. original at 105 watts), easy installation and setup, half the price of buying an original amp panel. Sounds great!Cons: I had to make an adaptor plate to fit it to the old sub enclosure but well worth it.If you want to reuse an old sub and save lots of money this is the way to go. The Dayton Audio SA100 is a great product and I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio SA100 100 watt subwoofer amplifierI needed an amp for a set of subwoofers I wanted to run my music through. I shopped and compared, and bought the Dayton Audio SA100 100 watt subwoofer amplifier. It works great. Installation is simple, the controls are simple, and the output is crystal clean with no distortion. You could pay more, but if you only need a 100 watt amp, this one is fantastic............Mikie T..............
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from subwoofer ampThe plate amp did exactly what I needed-greatly improved the volume and clarity of the subs. Tom was extremely knowledgeable and walked me thru the setup and correct wiring. Would order here again.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked OK.Used to replace an old amp blown in a power surge. Installed and worked just fine. I do not play challenging music or movies through my system anymore. So, I could not give any details relating to the quality of the amp. It does work as stated and that is all I am qualified to say.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PURCHASE EVERI DO ALOT OF REPAIR AND SALVAGE OF EQUIPMENT THAT HAS BEEN DISCARDED OR IS ANTIQUATED WHICH MAY NOT BE FEASIBLE FOR REANIMATION OF ALOT OF PROJECTS, BUT HAVING THE DAYTON PLATE AMPS AVAILABLE FROM PARTS EXPRESS I CHOSE THE SA 100 THIS WAS THE FIRST 10"SUB WOOFER I'VE HAD A CHANCE TO REBUILD, THE BOX AND THE SPEAKER WERE PERFECT SO I NEEDED TO COMPLIMENT THE COMPONENTS WITH A GOOD AMP THAT HAD THE POWER TO DRIVE THE SPEAKER WITHOUT UNDERDRIVING, OVERDRIVING OR DISTORTING, THIS AMP WORKS ON 4 AND 8 OHM APPLICATIONS SO YOU CAN'T GO WRONG ,THE CONTROLS ARE SPOT ON AND THE FREQUENCY CONTROL WORKS FOR ALL TYPES MUSIC. SO WHEN YOU NEED TO DIAL IT BACK TO KEEP THE NEIGHBORS HAPPY YOU STILL ENJOY THE PUNCH WHEN YOU NEED IT. SO ALL IN ALL IT HAS THE POWER TO DRIVE A 10" BOX CORRECTLY NO GUESS WORK. OH YES DID I MENTION THE PRICE IS UNDER 100.00 BUCKS EXCELLENT VALUE I'M 53 NOW, FUNCTIONALITY AND VALUE MUST BE A PART OF EVERY PROJECT I INVEST IN, AND THE DAYTON SA100 FROM PARTS EXPRESS HAS BEEN A GREAT COMBINATION FOR ME.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good unit to power transducerBought this unit to power a clarks TST209 transducer in the home theater chair, and it does a great job, just have to adjust the gain to minimize buzzing. Does what I expected it to do, now I have to decide what to do with the 4 pucks.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat it for $89The amps blew on a nice set of Cerwin Vega subs I had.. after doing a little research it turned out to be a common problem with them. At first I was going to have them repaired since the cabs & speakers were fine, but why bother when you can get a whole new amp drop in/ plug in ready for $89? These are rated at only 70 Watts RMS... but do the job just fine, 90% as good as the original amp.. easy fix, priced right, delivered fast. thumbs up all the way!
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Very WellPurchased this for a Audio Source Subwoofer. While it is true the wires leading from the Amp to the speaker are a smaller gauge, this amp rattles the house. I am happy to have my subwoofer back, YAH!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked perfectlyMore dimensions and specs would have helped but my guesses were right and it worked perfectly and arrived when it was promised.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still Kickin!I bought this amp over 3 years ago, maybe 4.... And I have never had a problem with it, and it is still running strong. I use to run a 10" sub and I am happy as can be. Nice little amp.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice clean lows for a budget ampI wanted a small amp to power a small (8") subwoofer. This seemed a perfect choice on paper. Well, it delivers. I matched with the Dayton DCS205-4 8" classic SW in a pre-existing cabinet I was rebuilding. My room is small, and my listening position is about 12 feet away, so I needed some thump without shaking the whole house.The only thing I wish it had was a variable pot to adjust at what dB the amp automatically turns on. I can sometimes hear it turn on and off during long stretches of quiet programming.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Subwoofer Repair EasyAmp went bad on my subwoofer. Needed a replacement subwoofer the same size case that I had but none could be found. After deciding to make a repair to my old one I found Parts Express. This amp was a perfect width but taller which was no problem. Made the adjustment tp the case. Simple installation and what a sound! Thanks Parts Express!
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great while it lastedThis thing rocked. It slammed. It thumped. It did everything I asked of it. Practically no distortion, perfect crossover, and very accurate. I got 106dBC @3ft out of it with a 10" Dayton sub in a sealed enclosure. Well, I bought this thing back in 2005. In 2009, I started noticing the volume control knob being a bit touchy. No matter. I lived with it since the crossover and volume are one of those set and forget sort of things. Since then, I'm not sure if it was working anymore or not. The floorstanding speakers I made were producing better bass than the subwoofer was. It got to the point where I essentially stopped using the subwoofer and permanently turned it off. About a year ago, I turned it on to see if it works. It wasn't working more than it was. From there I left it alone again. Now today, I decided to clean up my room and to give away my sub to a coworker who vowed to fix it. I turned it on, and found that the volume pot was indeed practically worthless. Oh well. From there I ventured online to see what plate amps this fine store has that will fit in the cutout that I made. Whadya know, I found this amp once again! Although sadly, mine was a dud after 4 years, I think based on the other reviews I probably got unlucky. Hopefully, you prospective buyers will not get that same luck.
Date published: 2012-11-01

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

I have a Polk Audio Atrium Sub 10 with dual 8ohm voice coils. Will this amp power that sub??

Asked by: Theseventhson
Yes this will work with that subwoofer, simply wire the coils in parallel for a 4 ohm load.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-11

Will this amp be enough to run 4 Aura AST-2B-4?

Asked by: ajamils
This can drive 4 Auras wired in series parallel, but I would recommend a little more power for that personally. I typically recommend at least 200 watts to drive 4 of them.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-08-06

Are the Dayton Audio Plate Subwoofer amplifiers 2 ohm stable?

Asked by: briice
Unfortunately no, these will only handle a 4 ohm load or higher.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-05

Purchased this amp about a year ago. It now overheats when on or bypass mode, any suggestions

Asked by: staracing
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-04

Hello, would this be adequate to replace the board of a Harman/Kardon SUB-TS18?

Asked by: Rheindel
This requires a bit more information in order to proceed. Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-04

What guage wire should I use with this amp and an aura ast 2b4 pro shaker

Asked by: supercoup
I would recommend 16-14 gauge for this amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-01

hi I have a cerwin vega ve28s subwoofer with dual 8" subs. The plate amplifier is bad and is rated for 125rms/250 peak. the Dayton audio sa100 is rated at 100watts rms. what is the peak watts? do you think this amp will work for me?

Asked by: james352
As long as both woofers combined have an impedance of 4 ohms or higher this amp will work. Unfortunately there is no peak power rating for this amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-21

I am really new to all of this, and now I know what a plate amp is.  With that said, I am using it to drive a pair of bass shakers and I am wondering if there is an enclosure I can buy to make the unit a stand-alone near the shakers?

Asked by: RickP
We do not have an enclosure specific for the amplifier although we have a few small knock down subwoofer enclosures that will work. Something like below will be a good option.http://www.parts-express.com/knock-down-mdf-067-cu-ft-subwoofer-speaker-cabinet--300-7068
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-10

i have a sa100 amp powering 2 pioneer (ts-w80c)8 inch woofers (400w,4ohm) . when I crank the juice from the receiver very high, the amp cuts out , why. what do I need to do.

Asked by: GABB
This depends on how the subs are wired. If they are in parallel the amp is likely shutting off in thermal protection mode due to the 2 ohm load. They will need to be wired in series for a safe load on the amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-01

I am interested in buildging a sub with this amp and the epic 10 driver. Is there a 230VAC  version of this amp for use in europe? Thanks in advance

Asked by: Nicolas2000
Unfortunately we do not have this amplifier in 220V. I would recommend a bit more power for that woofer anyway. You might want to consider the SPA250 which does have a switchable input.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-12

I'm looking to retrofit this into an existing enclosure. The only depth dimension given is 4-3/4" for the unit, but I need to know the depth this needs inside the box measured from the plate flange (to avoid interference with the driver itself). Thx.

Asked by: russella
The actual mounting depth of this amplifier is 3-1/4" from the back of the flange.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-11

Which outputs should I attach my Bass Shakers to?

Asked by: albrnick
The bass shakers are wired to the red and black wire leads coming from the back side of the amplifier. Depending on how many shakers you use, they may have to be wired in series/parallel to maintain a safe load to the amp.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-13

Does this Dayton sub amp have a remotely locatable led output that comes on when the amp is active and goes out when auto off activates?

Asked by: Rockman
Unfortunately it does not, the only power LED is next to the power switch on the back side.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-12

Would this plate amp work as a replacement for that found in a Pioneer SW-8?

Asked by: gbeck3
If the original was around 100 watts and the woofer is 4 ohm this will work fine. You will have to double check mounting dimensions as the cabinet may need to be modified in order for it to fit properly.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-02

Does the Auto On-Off feature on the Dayton Audio SA100 only work when using Speaker Level input or does it work with Line Level input as well?

Asked by: SA100
The Auto Power feature on this amplifier works with either type of input used.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-08

Will this model replace an episode 100w subwoofer amplifier

Asked by: poppy
You will have to make sure the woofer is 4 ohm and double check the mounting dimensions. Otherwise this will work fine as a 100 watt replacement amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-19

does one of the inputs act as a sum/mono (LFE) input for receivers that have a sub out? It's not clearly marked

Asked by: daviddegarmo
You can use either input as a subwoofer input, although there is no dedicated LFE in on this amplifier. If you receiver has subwoofer crossover controls, simply set the crossover frequency on the amp as high as it will go and use the settings in the receiver to cross it over.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-19

the depth is listed at 4 3/4" but is that the overall depth, incuding the cooling fins and connectors on the back of the unit, or just from the plate in?

Asked by: daviddegarmo
This is the overall depth including the heat sinks. The mounting depth from the back of the mounting plate is only 3-1/4".
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-19

What is your recommended replacement amp for a Cambridge Soundworks Bass Cube 8S suwoofer? Will the SA100 work? fit?

Asked by: oyecomova
We do not have a specific amplifier for this replacement although the SA100 will work in terms of power. The cabinet will likely have to be modified for it to fit.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-12

Will this amp power a 4 ohm 100w sub?  Or two wired parallel?

Asked by: nerdy
Yes this will power a 4 ohm subwoofer without a problem. If you have two 4 ohm subwoofers, they will need to be wired in series to be a safe load on the amplifier.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-19

I measured 3.5 ohms on a KLH GFX550L with a bad plate amp. Will this drive the sub correctly? Is 3.5 ohms considered 4 ohms? The cutout on the enclosure and the specified dimensions are a DEAD match!

Asked by: Bitter
Yes this will work fine for your application. a 4 ohm driver will have a measured DCR or 3.2-3.9 ohms.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-15

Anyone know about how much power this pulls at idle - sub makes a big thump when it comes on with auto setting - would like to avoid that if possible.

Asked by: bug2th
It draws less than one amp. at idle. You could try using a "blocking capacitor" just B4the speaker. Check with PE's crossover and loudspeaker building pages for the correct values. One Cap will provide a high pass filter at the frequency you choose. Likely 20Hz.
Answered by: Joe from San Francisco
Date published: 2013-11-12

High Level Inputs 2

Does the gain work when using the high level inputs? I was looking to use these amps to add a bit of extra muscle as needed to a subwoofer contained within a system that has incredibly efficient mid-bass and tweeter drivers. The receiver I'm using for the retro system I couldn't afford as a teenager does not have a subwoofer output.
Asked by: WillCo
Yes. Both the high level & line level inputs can be increased and decreased by the gain control. Also, there is a low pass adjustable filter to match to your mid/tweet sensitivity. Remember though, very low bass loudness, increases with volume relative to the mid/hi volume. It's part of how we hear. RE: Fletcher/Munson curves of equal loudness contours. If people complain--tell them you are equalizing the bass!!
Answered by: Joe from San Francisco
Date published: 2014-01-24

hi level inputs

what are the hi level inputs for and how do i use them
Asked by: speaker freack
High level inputs are used when there is no dedicated subwoofer output on your amplifier or receiver. The left and right speaker channels on your receiver are plugged into the speaker level inputs on the subwoofer amp, and your left and right speakers are plugged into the speaker level outputs.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-09-17

what is the advantage to running your speakers thru the amp

Asked by: staracin
The speaker level inputs are only useful if you do not have a subwoofer output on your receiver, there is no advantage using these over the live level inputs.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-09-21

out of my receiver there is a rca plug for a powered sub. do I connect to the + or - of the amp

Asked by: staracin
You will connect the subwoofer output from your receiver into the left or right line level input on the amp.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-08-30

I purchased this amp to power a Polk Atrium Sub10 it has a dvc speaker in it. My question is how should I wire it parallel or series

This would be for music only
Asked by: staracin
If each coil is 8 ohms or above you would wire them in parallel. If they are 4 ohms or below they should be wired in series. Note that the DC resistance of 8 ohm coils can be as low as 5.x ohms in which case it is still ok to wire them in parallel.If it says something like 6 ohms measure the resistance, if each coil is lower then 5 ohms wire them in series.
Answered by: mtg90
Date published: 2014-03-19

will this unit power a polk atrium10 sub

Asked by: staracin
Yes this would be a good choice for that subwoofer although it the amp needs to stay indoors.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-08-26

Internal Xover is at 125, but I want 80 and below only. Cant use RCA. Advice?

So my DAC only has one pair of RCA outputs. From what I understand, I have to use the RCA inputs on the SA100 to get the variable crossover. I then would have to use the full range RCA outputs to send to my amp for my studio monitors. The problem is, I don't want to send full range to my studio monitors. If I'm crossing over the sub at 80hz, I only want 81hz and higher to go to the monitors.If I use the speaker level connections I am sending 125hz and lower to the sub, but I really don't like the amount of drums.etc that come through the 95-125hz range. What can I do to work around this?
Asked by: OuterSpaceBass
what you have is a multiple problem. you will cross over at a given point, however it is not as finite as 80 Hz. the sub 81 up to your studio monitors, there is a curve before and after your crossover point that will still go to each speaker. I would advise you to call Parts Express technical department and inquire whether or not the crossover point you desire can be changed in the amplifier.
Answered by: Nitnub
Date published: 2013-08-29

Can i use this amp to power up 2 aura bass shakers wired in "paralell"´? Thanks

Asked by: Roni
Not in parallel but you can in series.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-07-17

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio SA100 100W Subwoofer Plate Amplifier

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1