Bonus Item Incl.
295-464_ALT_2.jpg
295-464_ALT_2.jpg
 
295-464_ALT_0
 
295-464_ALT_1
 
295-464_ALT_2
 

Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm

Brand:| Model: RSS315HF-4
Overview
The Dayton Audio Reference Series subwoofer speakers take the quality and performance of the much acclaimed RS line into the subwoofer realm. The black anodized cone, rubber surround, and custom basket give this driver a unique, high-end look.
Highlights
  • Extensively vented motor eliminates compression and allows quiet excursion
  • Lightweight black anodized aluminum cone for rigidity and lower moving mass
  • Triple shorting ring motor for ultra-low distortion
  • 2-layer coil for reduced back EMF
  • Suitable for sealed or vented enclosures
  • Highest quality materials throughout for long-lasting performance
Part # 
295-464
Weight: 25 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$193.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$149.29
Buy 4-up$142.19
Dayton Audio Baseball Cap
Qty: 1Part # 520-308
List Price:$19.99
Part # 295-464
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm

As with the rest of the Dayton Audio Reference Series speakers, the main focus of these subwoofers is ultra-low-distortion. Second, third, and intermodulation distortion are kept extremely low by utilizing three short-circuit paths within the motor structure. A durable aramid fiber spider and extensive venting throughout provide quiet and uniform excursion for the Reference Series RSS315HF-4 12" subwoofer speaker. The black anodized cone, rubber surround, and custom basket give this driver and the rest of the Reference Series a unique, high-end look. Choose the high fidelity version for home systems when you are looking for clean, low bass and are not restricted by cabinet size.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter12"
  • Power Handling (RMS)400 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)800 Watts
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Frequency Response23 to 1,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity86 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter2.5"
  • Magnet Weight150 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)25 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.3 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.04 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)3.12
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.58
  • Total Q (Qts)0.49
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)3.01 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.27 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)13.95 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)212.1g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)14.3 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)514.7 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialAluminum
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter12.36"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter11.1"
  • Depth5.75"
  • # Mounting Holes8
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume1.70 ft.³
  • Sealed F340 Hz
  • Vented Volume4.54 ft.³
  • Vented F322 Hz
Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelRSS315HF-4
  • Part Number295-464
  • UPC844632006937
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Drivers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (64 Reviews)
  • Weight25 lbs.
  • Case Qty2
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm
in the Subwoofer Drivers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm
Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm is rated 4.8125 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great performer!There isn't much to say. I am very satisfied with mine in a sealed enclosure. Very clean output, great lows, and quality construction.
Date published: 2008-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HT SubThis sub replaced an old 12" JBL I had in a custom 2+ cu. ft HT enclosure. Terrific quality. The JBL was nicely built, and this one probably weighed in at about 2-3x what it did. I'm using it with the 240W subwoofer plate amp, and am impressed with the performance. Good output, low distortion, no bottoming out.
Date published: 2008-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great driverI installed this driver in a 2 cubic foot sealedenclosure. The bass is strong and not boomy. Iam quite satisfied with this driver. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great quality driver at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2008-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from European build quality and excellent performanceThis driver is built very well with really nothing coming to mind for improvement. Very low distortion and if used in a well braced and damped enclosure with a high quality amp can compete with very expensive commercial subs.
Date published: 2008-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding sub!!!Put this sub in a 3.75 cu.ft. mdf box with 2 flared ports. Powered it with a 300 watt bash amp. It has plenty of punch with only 300 watts. this thing goes deep. 3db down 18.4 hz!!!!! I very highly recommend this sub to anyone who doesnt mind a big box.
Date published: 2008-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from buy them!!!awesome sub. responds very well in anything .9cuft to 3.3 cuft. I got 2 for my truck and now I want 2 for my house!
Date published: 2008-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sub !I hooked it upto a 500 rms bash amp ,and it takes the low end down so low you just feel it.Would buy on again!
Date published: 2008-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome low reproductionI have built a special box for this speaker and tuned the box and the lows are astounding.Would definately buy another!I use it for my sub on my new 7.1 surround.Box is total w``8inch by H 14inch L 33inchs, using 500 watt undistorted bash technoligy amp.Good amp.
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from so so subFirst of all this is a very nice looking sub but that is the only thing nice about it. The sound is acceptable but not exceptional @300w rms(is a lot). I had build two custome boxes for it recomended by parts express techy. Which are the 12" Titanic MKIII Sealed 12" Titanic MKIII Vented boxes the sub sounds ok but I have to send tons of power to it to here anything. I have tried severals amps including Carver 1.5t, Kenwood M2A, and dayton240w rms 4ohm amp. SPL: 89 dB 2.83 V/1m not good SPL. I am going back to my Infinity 15DVC sub for HT which is hands down the better sub. Also have Dayton bookshelf speakers that consume alot of power too.
Date published: 2008-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great WoofersThese are simply the best 12" woofers I have ever heard in a car, period. I put two in my Ford Escape and they are awesome. Quality and volume are more than I expected.
Date published: 2008-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal soundPurchased to replace the tired driver in my JBL D112 Subwoofer. Without knowing anything about driver parameters, I simply substituted this for the original driver. The resulting sound quality is much better with noticeably more low frequency output.
Date published: 2008-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KSSurpassed my expectations!HT application.4.2 cubic inch with 4" aero port & 300 watts.
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buyThis driver reproduces bass with authority. I ve had at least 5 different drivers in my DIY subwoofer enclosure this ones the keeper. Deep, accurate, hard hitting great for HT use. Would recommend to any DIY sub builder, and the price of $119 can NOT be beat.
Date published: 2008-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!An awesome sub. Truly captures the lowest of lows. It replaces an older Phase Technology subwoofer that had blown, and it made the cab sound 10 times better. That true bass sound.
Date published: 2008-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This woofer works very clean from 25Hz to ~ 250HzThis woofer is very solid. The suspension is harder than expected, yet the output is very clean. In a mid-size box this driver goes down to ~25Hz. I cross it over at ~250Hz at the top end. It replaces an old 12 inch JBL driver... wow what a difference in clean undistorted low bass. I would not go much higher than 250Hz due to a significant resonance ~ 1600Hz. Use at least 12dB / Oct in the crossover to avoid that frequency. Have I mentioned that Parts Express is great to deal with.... well now I have!
Date published: 2008-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very high quality subwooferThis subwoofer handles very low frequencys with ease! Sounds from it are clean, full, and veryaccurate. This speaker is ideal for a driver for a very high end home theater subwoofer system with enough headroom to meet the requirements for even very high volume levels. It also complements music with the bottom end lows that complement higher end main speakers. Great product!
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, I just LOVE that DEEP SMOOTH BASS...I had two old Velodyne cabinets that had 15" Passive Radiators in them and the original drivers had some problems. I decided to try the RS315HF 12" driver because of all the good words I've heard about them. I must say that I now have a much better sounding Sub Woofer than what Velodyne originally had put together. I just love how well they integrate with other speakers I've used them with. They are a very musical Driver, I find myself enjoying music I seldom use to listen too.The RS315HF 12" Driver is AMAZING for its size. Make sure to buy two if you have a huge listening room. It just doubles your listening pleasure.
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ExcellentI replaced an NHT 12" sub with the RSS315HF and what a difference. These are the best value sub drivers on the market and the best looking. You simply can't go wrong with the Reference line.
Date published: 2007-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Sub.I installed this sub in a sealed 1.6 cubic ft. box with 300w of solid power crossed @ 80hz.It is very nice at low volume and just pounds like mad when you turn it up.
Date published: 2007-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Be Beat for the PriceI put this sub together in a similar design as the RS1200 before RS1200 was available. After some EQing it has great low-end extension sealed, and with 500 watts it can put out more bass than I can handle in my 400sqft listening room. The woofer stays clean and crisp sounding even at high levels. For the price I don't think this woofer can be touched.
Date published: 2007-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Real Audiophile DriverThis sub is well crafted and the performance in my home made sealed enclosure was beyond my expectations.
Date published: 2007-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a Best Buy Subwoofer/DriverVery musical...Can rock the house (and everything in it!)...Loud deep lows that can be scary! Recommended Best Buy @ $109.00!
Date published: 2007-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sub, well builtThis sub is built very good for the price, huge magnet, nice motor venting, integrated tinsel leads, all nice stuff. For my build I went with a 4.5 cuft. box with a slot port tuned to 19 Hz. I just finished a few hours ago but on my first movie experience it was actually moving the pictures on the walls, not a dinky picture either its a 24x30 with a metal frame, not light. I was extremly impressed with the ability of this sub, it played sounds my other subs have never even tried to before. Also, I used the Dayton 240 amp to power it
Date published: 2007-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performerIve been using this woofer everyday for 2 years.I use it un a large vented enclosure. It performs beautifully. Very low bass with no distorsion.
Date published: 2007-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High QualityI'm a speaker builder and have been using this sub in a custom built enclosure for over 2 months now. I am very impressed with the performace. It has musical qualities while still being able to fill a 3000cf room with bass quite nicely.
Date published: 2007-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from testtestr
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BeautifulFrom overall appearance to build quality to sound quality, this driver just exudes beauty. I have yet to find a subwoofer that can deliver the same level of clean, musical output at such a low price. An excellent choice for someone wanting a musical sub that can also do a decent job with home theater duties.
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't found a problem with it at allI've owned this sub for over a year and it's really a favorite of mine. I haven't experienced such clean and low bass perfomance like this outside of my IB sub installation. For the money I don't think there's anything better when it comes down to it. If there is another 12" sub out there that costs the same or less with the amount of performance the 12" HF possesses I would sure like to see and hear it. Still I don't think I will ever give up the RS. Plus it just looks great. Yep, it gets a five star rating in my book.
Date published: 2007-05-26

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 4 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1