295-462_ALT_1.jpg
295-462_ALT_1.jpg
 
295-462_ALT_0
 
295-462_ALT_1
 

Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm

Brand:| Model: RSS265HO-4
Overview
Built for extreme performance in the smallest 10" subwoofer speaker enclosures, the Dayton Audio Reference Series RSS265HO-4 features an anodized aluminum cone, 4-layer voice coil, and optimized distortion-reducing magnet system.
Highlights
  • Extensively vented motor eliminates compression and allows quiet excursion
  • Extra-thick black anodized aluminum cone for maximum rigidity
  • Triple shorting ring motor for ultra-low distortion
  • 4-layer coil for high power handling
  • Optimized parameters for small enclosures
  • Highest quality materials throughout for long-lasting performance
Part # 
295-462
Weight: 17.1 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$177.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$136.92
Buy 4-up$130.40
Part # 295-462
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm

As with the rest of the Reference Series, the main focus of the Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" subwoofer is ultra-low-distortion. Second, third, and intemodulation distortion are kept extremely low by utilizing three short-circuit paths within the motor structure. A durable aramid fiber spider and extensive venting throughout provide quiet and uniform excursion. The black anodized cone, rubber surround, and custom basket give this 10" driver a unique, high-end look. Choose the high output version for automotive applications or for equalized high-power home subwoofer speaker systems.

A knock-down 1.0 cubic foot subwoofer cabinet built specifically for the RSS265HO-4 is available here. Save 50% off the price of the cabinet when you buy the cabinet and RSS265HO-4 subwoofer (at regular price) together in this package only.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter10"
  • Power Handling (RMS)600 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)1200 Watts
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Frequency Response24 to 600 Hz
  • Sensitivity84 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter2.5"
  • Magnet Weight100 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)30 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.4 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.9 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)4.48
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.4
  • Total Q (Qts)0.37
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.81 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.13 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)18.3 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)208.6g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)12.3 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)349.7 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialAluminum
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter10.47"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter9.25"
  • Depth5.37"
  • # Mounting Holes6
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.71 ft.³
  • Sealed F370 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.47 ft.³
  • Vented F340 Hz
Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelRSS265HO-4
  • Part Number295-462
  • UPC844632006920
  • Product CategorySubwoofer Drivers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (20 Reviews)
  • Weight17.1 lbs.
  • Case Qty2
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm
in the Subwoofer Drivers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm
Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice sub for the moneyI've been running one of these in my trunk for about a year now in a .775 sealed box. Driven by about 950 Arc Audio watts, it hasent even whimpered a bit and sounds very nice.
Date published: 2009-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needs the power!In a recent car installation, the customer had a 300WRMS amp and the woofer was begging for more. So we connected a 600W amp. You could feel heat coming off the cone (it IS aluminum!) and the bass just kept on coming! His buddy that was touting JL Audio just sat speechless as waves of thundering bass massaged the seat. The owner had a great, wide smile that just wouldn't go away - he is hooked on Dayton RS subs!
Date published: 2009-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent WooferI use two woofers in a tapped horn for pro sound. With 1200W rms power handling, I can shake most bars with ease. This woofer never ceases to amaze with clean and articulated bass notes, chest punching kick, or wall rattling sine waves (loop intro for one song with one band). An excellent choice!
Date published: 2009-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent wooferI needed something that blended well with my front speakers, and could down and handle the lows that I love from Hip Hop/Bass. This is an excellent sub, it can get really low, sits in a small enclosure, produces tight, clean bass and is very transparent. Excellent SQ, I am very pleased.
Date published: 2009-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Sub.This is one of the smoothest subwoofers I have ever used. The base reminds me of the Temptations', (Legendary Motown Group), base singer. Base that's DEEP & SMOOTH through an entire note. I built my own ported box using P.E. Item 268-350 (Precision Port 3" Flared Port Tube Kit). Tuned it perfectly even deducting the volume, (cubic feet), occupied by the sub. The Amp is P.E. Item 300-808, (Dayton HPSA1000 1000W Subwoofer Amplifier), The 4.5 rating on performace is because it is a little power hungry but it sounds AWESOME!!I will purchase this sub again. Maybe the 12"It is a litt
Date published: 2009-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent wooferI got this to replace a JL that was in a stealthbox. The bass is much tighter. The only pain with this woofer is the bolt hole pattern is 6 holes instead of 8 so I had to do some retrofitting (hence the lower features rating). This thing is built like a tank and the cone is very stiff. I would have gone with the Titanic but this is the deepest woofer that I could fit in the box. Overall I am very pleased and there is no way you can find a similiar quality build and sound for anywhere near this price.
Date published: 2008-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IMPRESSIVEIf limited space has kept you from having the sound that you want, then you need to check this little guy out. I have two of them in a custom built box for my car... WOW! Solid performance! Giving most leading 12's a run for their money. By far the best 10" for the money. I'll buy Dayton Audio again.
Date published: 2008-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True BANG for your buckI was a little skeptical about the published specs on this woofer given its China origin, but decided to give it a try in a small sealed enclosure. My huge SUV has the factory Bose system with typical Bose lack of highs and lows. An infinity 611 amp replaced the plastic Bose 5" sub under my driver's seat and I built a custom .6 cf enclosure to fit in place of a storage compartment in the side of the cargo area. It's hooked to the amp with 12 gauge OFC wire.After figuring out the factory wiring harness and getting things hooked up, I was pleasantly surprised with the ability of this speaker. The motor structure, spider and basket are very tough and well designed to take the amount of amplifier power that's required to get excellent performance in small sealed enclosures. Don't under power or under wire this speaker... it loves current! You will be much happier and better off lowering the gain on your amp and having more dynamic headroom.For the money, this sub is a great buy!
Date published: 2008-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well DesignedNice product sounds GREAT!
Date published: 2008-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very clean sub!Mounted in a .47 ft3 sealed box, this little sub can put out some dBs! Of course it will not hit as low, and has a little less output than the 12" or 15" RS, but if you are space limited I would stop the search right now and go with this little beast.
Date published: 2007-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just love it!!I put 2 of the HOs in a dual .6 box running good 500 watts and they are unbelievable. they hit harder and lower than my old rockford fosgate HX2s. very highly rcommended.
Date published: 2007-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not too overpoweringClean powerfull sound. no distortion at high levels. Great price. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2007-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very niceI am extremely impressed with this little subwoofer. I've placed it in a .6 cubic foot box, with about 400 watts RMS going to it. It provides deep crisp bass which matches or exceeds that of many larger more expensive subs I've heard. This was my first subwoofer project, and i will definitely check out Dayton Loudspeaker in the future.
Date published: 2007-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Compact BassI was quite skeptical at first because of the seemingly low 12mm xmax. I decided to try it anyway because of the small footprint enclosure needed and the decent F3 which mates good in autos.Let me tell ya! Totally impressed with this sub. Even in a .6 Qtc alignment fed with 450rms @ 12.9 volts, it has a deep and smooth punch similar of larger woofers. Extension is pretty low yet clean without any excessive overhang. This sub plays low notes (if you're wondering) with a finesse that qualifies it as a sound quality sub. It is capable of some decent loudness, so don't doubt it! The 12mm xmax is obviously getting used efficiently.I listen to Jazz, R&B, Hip-Hop, Classic Rock, Techno Bass, and Alternative and it is still easy to integrate into the front stage if midwoofers are decent. A simple must have for those that don't want to waste space.
Date published: 2007-05-27

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm

Sub for .65 cu. ft. enclosure - discrepancies?

2008 Ridgeline. Looking at buying the Subthump pre-built enclosure that fits under both rear seat sections. This has a recessed area for the Amp, plus two Sealed Chambers for the Subs. Stated volume: .65 cu. ft. I start looking and love the Reviews here on the Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4. I found the Speaker Selection Wizard feature here and it pops up with this Dayton as one of several options, too. But then the Answers to several questions below the product listing seems to say the Speaker Selection Wizard is wrong. This Dayton is not built for a sealed enclosure and needs 1 cu. ft.? Why the discrepancies?Parameters in the Speaker Selection Wizard used were:Hifi (Home/Car), Sealed Box, 4 Ohm, 10", and put in .65 cu. ft. (since I don't know the exact interior box dimensions).Am I missing something?My results may not fill in from this page, but here it is:http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/SpeakerWizard_Results.cfmItems listed below are what the Speaker Selection Wizard offered. 1 Tang Band item. 2 Daytons.Thanks for any help!
Asked by: Uncle Guy
Some drivers will work in either a sealed or vented enclosure - depending on their design. You can see by the specs in the wizard that the Dayton has a lower F3 in a vented box. These are just suggested applications. You can plug the specs into a "Box Calculator" and play with the F3 both sealed and ported to create the response you are looking for. Keep in mind that your car interior is also small and acts like a second half to the cabinet. So be prepared to add sound mat and make sure all the screws and such are tight or the rattling will take away from the quality of the subs sound
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-04-19

Tubular Port Size for Dual Shared Enclosure

I am mounting two of these in a shared enclosure and have to use a single port. Charts says .45 cubic feet for the box (which seems odd) but no mention of port size. Any suggestions? Thanks!
Asked by: dB Cooper
0.45 cubic feet is absolutely impossible, couldn't even fit those subs in there if you crushed them.Anyways, may I suggest that you place them in a 2.5 cubic feet enclosure tuned to 33Hz. Dual 3" ports at 11.75" long will achieve this frequency. Hope this helped...
Answered by: pastrol
Date published: 2014-11-09

.31 cubic foot sealed enclosure?

The software I used came back with a .31 cubic foot sealed enclosure as "ideal". Can this be right?
Asked by: dB Cooper
No. Something is awry. If you go to Speaker Builder at PE and then woofer selection guide - you can scroll to this woofer... It suggests two applications - one ported and the other sealed... This driver lends itself better to a ported enclosure - if you want decent bass. The F3 for ported is 40hz versus 70 for the sealed. If you want to go sealed - you have to choose a driver with the correct T/S parameters. You can then have critical .5 or .707 Qts with no phase issues at the port frequency.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-11-09

1cubic foot for this driver is good sealed?

got the 15 in a 1cubic foot box and it is happy... 12 was pounding in the same box pryer to that but died on the job...not sure if ten can handle 1 cubic foot sealed and still sound tight
Asked by: brauhmaudio
Yes, this 10" subwoofer should be perfectly fine in a 1.0ft³ sealed alignment. As far as "tightness," that is subject to opinion. However, in a 1.0ft³ enclosure, this sub will remain within its excursion limits at a full 600w, down to about 30Hz or so.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-10-26

sealed box what size ported box how big and port length and diameter...

volume thingy on the right tells the box size bt nothing about port diameter or lenght..also sealed .71 vented .45 usually vented is bigger than sealed? whats up with this one
Asked by: brauhmaudio
Dayton Audio SWC1-CH 1.0 ft³ Subwoofer Cabinet
Answered by: scottasbj
Date published: 2012-10-08

Possible IB use?

Using this in a .66cuFt sealed enclosure and it has worked well for over 2 years. Got a 2004 Cadillac CTS-V that has a Bose 10" on the rear deck. How would this woofer do as a replacement for that Bose Sub on the rear deck in an Infinite Baffle configuration?
Asked by: awdtalon92
Your question is tougher than it would seem. It's one of those " theory vs. reality type of things... Here are the issues: The subwoofer you have is about 4 or 5 Db less sensitive than the factory bose subwoofer. Additionally the Bose subwoofer is a 2 ohm driver, and yours is a 4 ohm driver. The result is the factory Bose amplifier "seeing" twice the resistence, thus producing (in theory) half the output it has now. Additionally, the 4-5Db difference between drivers will also produce significantly less output than what is currently in the car. So... If you want to use your sub, because it will physically fit (with minor modification) in the Bose location, I would reccomend having a professional shop install the proper line out converter to the factory Bose amp's Sub output, and then run an external dedicated amp to your new sumboofer.Good luck.
Answered by: Invisible Audio
Date published: 2011-09-14

What is this driver's "effective piston area"? What is this driver's "effective displacement"?

Asked by: Your Excellency
The piston (diaphragm) is 8.11" in diameter. A = pi * r², so 3.14 * (4.055 * 4.055) = 51.631in², which is your effective piston area. The displacement of the driver (the volume of space it occupies within the enclosure) is approximately 0.0851ft³.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-04-19

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio RSS265HO-4 10" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software