295-364_ALT_2.jpg
295-364_ALT_2.jpg
 
295-364_ALT_0
 
295-364_ALT_1
 
295-364_ALT_2
 

Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm

Brand:| Model: RS180S-8
Overview
The Dayton Audio Reference Series sets a new standard of value in high-performance loudspeaker drivers. Utilizing a low-distortion motor system with two short-circuit paths and a rigid aluminum cone, the Reference Series can outperform drivers that cost several times the price.
Highlights
  • Long-excursion motor and suspension for strong bass performance
  • Subtle yet high-tech look makes a bold cosmetic statement
  • Ultra-low stray magnetic field allows extremely close proximity to CRT's
  • Designed and engineered in the U.S.A.
Part # 
295-364
Weight: 5.5 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$58.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$45.32
Buy 4-up$43.16
Part # 295-364
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm

The Dayton Audio Reference Series sets a new standard of value in high-performance loudspeaker drivers. Utilizing a low-distortion motor system with two short-circuit paths and a rigid aluminum cone, the Reference Series can outperform drivers that cost several times the price. Their low-distortion characteristics and high excursion capabilities provide exceptional clarity, detail, and dynamics. Woofers feature a shielded motor system, black anodized cone, heavy-duty 6-hole cast frame, low-loss rubber surround, and solid aluminum phase plug.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter7"
  • Power Handling (RMS)60 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)120 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response41 to 3,600 Hz
  • Sensitivity87.6 dB 2.83V/1m
  • Sensitivity87 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.5"
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)41 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)6.4 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.79 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)1.45
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.49
  • Total Q (Qts)0.36
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.812 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)1.05 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)7.82 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)17g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)6 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)124.7 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialAluminum
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialCast Aluminum
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter7.11"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter5.75"
  • Depth3.86"
  • Bolt Circle Diameter6.63"
  • # Mounting Holes6
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.22 ft.³
  • Sealed F388 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.49 ft.³
  • Vented F350 Hz
Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelRS180S-8
  • Part Number295-364
  • UPC844632000331
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (35 Reviews)
  • Weight5.5 lbs.
  • Case Qty6
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm
Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice build and sound quality for the moneyMounted in a .3 cubic foot sealed enclosure. Audible bass(I have no way to measure dbs)to 50hz. Sounds great! Awesome midrange. Have not used them with a sub. I would like to with a low pass of 75 to 80 hz. I imagine they would sound even better (cleaner).
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Xmax - detailGreat looking mid/woofer with lots of displacement. Had to upgrade my factory Infinity passive radiators to accomodate their long throw. Low on midrange detail, maybe needs two to keep SPL up with the tweeter.
Date published: 2009-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent speaker for its size and cost.THese replacement mid range/woofers fit easily into my existing cabinets. Thay have an excellent dynamic range and are perfect for TT and dvd signals. Very Pleased.
Date published: 2009-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great speakergood detail with good low end extension
Date published: 2009-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Stand-Alone Component ReplacementI have some custom-built boxes for an awkward shaped and angled room for movie and gaming entertainment. These speakers are dimenstioned exactly as advertised, and put out surprisingly distinct low's when placed into a 2.0 cuft bandpass enclosure. Excellent return in sound for a minimal expense.
Date published: 2009-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Construction Superuior PerformanceYou don't realize just how well made the RS-180s are until you have some hands on them.I used these in a ported 2-way design by J.Kim. The cabinets are just 0.5 cu ft but I get frequency response down to below 35 Hz! That is phenomenal performance. The key to using these high quality drivers is in the cross-over. This aluminum driver has twin peaks at 6khz and 8khz. Jay Kim's cross-over takes care of that issue nicely.I highly recommend these with the caveat that the design of the cross-over must compensate for the peaks. When used properly these drivers will go very very low to give crisp deep bass and a distortion free mid-range.
Date published: 2009-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me..I ordered these to replace a pair of 6" Ref.series that I didn't like. I had hoped the bigger speaker would give me more of the bass I was lacking.I grew up listening to paper cones. The aluminum cones in these speaker produce a very different sound. I could not make these things sound good (to me)no matter what I tried. In the end, I sent them back and got Dayton 8" Dc200's. I finaly found the bass I was looking for. I will not buy metal cone speakers ever again, to me they don't sound natural.
Date published: 2009-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet midrange, great bassI bought 4 of these to build the popular MTM Natalie P reference design from the htguide forum. The tweeter is an RS28A (unshielded). These are the cleanest, detailed speakers I've ever heard. Very respectable bass from these small woofers. But very clean detailed midrange. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2009-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great soundI built a center channel sytem using these woofers and they sound great. The best center channel Ive ever had
Date published: 2009-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in the Zaph ZD3C center channelI needed a good center channel and I wanted to use the the RS180's for mid-base based on reviews. Completed the project and they sound great. Could not be happier.
Date published: 2009-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantasiticI used these in a center channel. I have three of these drivers and the dayton silk dome. It sounds amazing. Good and tight bass response. I used a dayton crossover that a tech recommened from parts express. Couldnt be happier. I am getting ready to build fronts and rears out of these to with the silk dome. Great buy for the money. Highly recommened.
Date published: 2009-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive!After I built Dr. K's MTM I was amazed at the clarity and power of these speakers. You will be hard pressed to find a better speaker for the price and they look soooo good. Everyone that sees and hears them is HIGHLY impressed. Just be aware that they are thirsty for power.
Date published: 2008-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute bargainIf you are in the market for a great 7 inch woofer , look no farther. The only complaint I have it that the polarity markings are a bit hard to see for me as my eyes aren't what they used to be. There are rock solid performers that will not disappoint .
Date published: 2008-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oops, wrong partI was told by a Parts Express Tech that this was the correct replacement speaker for my MTM kit speakers (my originals warped a voice coil). They did not fit into the original front baffle and I had to change the connections to make it work. They do sound good though.
Date published: 2008-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Performer/Excellent ValueUsed this excellent driver in a 3-way as other have in previous reviews! This driver will hold its own!!!! Used along with the RS52AN-8 Ref. Mid Dome and Daytons PT2C-8 Planar, this 3-way delivers outstanding bass, over all sound and detail. Cabinet is 1.25 cu. ft., with a rear fire port and an F3 of 40Hz.. X-over is a 2nd order APC with points of 700Hz & 3500Hz. Thanks to Eric Chandler at PE Tech Support for all his help
Date published: 2008-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PerfectWhat more can you ask for. There's not another driver in their price range that can touch 'em. Dayton Reference Series Rules.
Date published: 2008-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Clean sound!!I used 2 of these Dayton RS180s-8 7" with the Dayton RS52AN-8 2" Dome Midrange & the Peerless 810921, 1" textile dome HDS tweeter. WOW!! What detailed & very clean sound. I crossed these at 800 & 4500 hertz. These are replacing some speakers I built 2 years ago that also sound good. I only built 2 for testing against what I already had & just a-b switched them for a few days to make sure these where worth the effort to do a complete 5.1 replacement. No doubt about it. It is nice when you want to listen to all your movies & music over again to hear details you never could hear before. Zero listening fatigue so for IMHO! Great build quality & looks.
Date published: 2008-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is WOW !I recently built Dr. K's MTM. They are still breaking in and sound better and better each day. I built my own cabinets, the smaller version and are now tempted to build the extended bass tower he has in the article just to see how they do in that cabinet.
Date published: 2008-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a steal!I purchased 4 of these about a month ago for a project centered around a pair of Bohlender Graebener Planar transducers (RD50's). I installed 2 ea in a 1.25 ft3 vented enclosure crossed over at 1000hz (12db) After about a 20 hours of break in period I gave them a real listen test. Boy did they mate well with the RD50's. Sound was warm and clean. Great mid-bass mid range sound. I believe I could have spent twice the money and still not beat these drivers. Very happy with the RS180S-8's.
Date published: 2008-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ridiculous valueNeil mentioned breakup modes, and I'm assuming gave a less than satisfactory rating because of this. DUH. It's a metal driver; HF breakup modes come with the territory! Forget this guys post. This is a ridiculously nice driver for the money.
Date published: 2008-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice refrence seriesgreat looking speaker, construction is very nice, and sound quality is top notch. will be buying more of these soon
Date published: 2007-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Driver!!I had heard so many good things about this driver so I was anxious to try it out myself in an mtm design. After listening to the finished product I was really blown away. Very impressive. Excellent bass and midbass and very clear. And for the price is a great value. I would doubt there will be to many not pleased with this product.
Date published: 2007-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy for the moneyI purchased 2 of these drivers to test and found them to be a very good sounding speaker for the price range. I mounted them in a 0.6 cu. ft. vented boxs tuned to Fb=40Hz and F3=44Hz (2 x 7 inch vent). Crossed them using a 6db crossover at 1800Hz. The tweeters are leftovers on my shelf (Dynaudio D28AF) and used a 60W amp to drive them. All I could say was WOW! As stated in another review, if you use a quality tweeter and a good crossover (not my 6db test one) these drivers will shine. After hearing these I may try the Dayton Reference Series tweeters. For those of you new to speaker building these are a good choice and the price is right.
Date published: 2007-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still not in a box but...I did put the drivers in a test box and, even without a crossover and being in a cardboard box, these drivers sound fantastic! I can't wait to hear them in my enclosure which is under construction now.
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard pressed to find a driver as good under $70I bought these for a "ModulaMT" desighn. They are amazing price to performance, as good as you could hope for. The one bad thing I will say about these is they require a more expensive crossover to kill the double peaks in there response. They also need to be paired with a low extending tweeter if you do a two way. I cross them over at 1.2khz But they have low distortion that is *very* competitive up into the $75 range of the higher end brands. I will be buying these again for more projects.
Date published: 2007-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used As Dual 7" MidsI wanted something very special for my EV Marquis cabinet projects and at the reomendation of M Sound settled for these. Used in dual (side to side) configuration as low mids (250~2.5K) these were exceptional for their clairity, presence, & power handling. I never really heard a metal cone I ever liked- but these did change my mind. If used in an MTM arrangement they probably could xcell there as well. For my limited baffle space and grouping these were the perfect sollution and matched very well with a 12" poly woofer and an Ev 1.125 dome pro tweeter. I used 2 of these to get the efficientcy match I needed. A good high quality product from Dayton- I am impressed!_
Date published: 2007-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bang for the buckI built a pair of the Modula MT speakers using these and the Seas H1212 tweeter. The midrange to high bass clarity is outstanding. If they're used within their limits they represent an outstanding value, and can bring a lot of performance for a single 7" woofer.They need a high quality tweeter and an intelligently designed crossover to avoid the horrible metal cone breakup, but fortunately such a crossover has been designed (several times over), and such tweeters are readily available. Don't try to cross this driver too high or use it in place of a subwoofer, and you will be very satisfied.Fit and finish were outstanding for the price, but probably not finished to an artful gleam like the highest priced speakers available. They look and sound better than practically anything you'll find in a big box store.
Date published: 2007-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A ridiculous value!My first experience with this midwoofers was when I built a pair of MT two-ways. I didn't know what to fully expect, but I had heard good things about these drivers. They are known to be one of the best performers in their price range, and even beyond. They have not let me down! Music sounds very clear and natural, the can handle dynamics well for a 7" midwoofer, and they look great doing it. I bought four more on sale so I could build a center and another set of MTs. I love these drivers, and I think you will too.
Date published: 2007-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value but fussy.I bought 4 of these a few years back and have been playing around with them in various projects since. They have great specs, build quality and looks. Sound quality is quite good but you MUST be mindful of the severe and unforgiving breakup which requires a complex Xover and robust tweeter crossing very low.
Date published: 2007-05-26
  • 2015-05-03T06:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_295-364, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio RS180S-8 7" Reference Shielded Woofer 8 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software