295-374_ALT_2.jpg
295-374_ALT_2.jpg
 
295-374_ALT_0
 
295-374_ALT_1
 
295-374_ALT_2
 

Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm

Brand:| Model: RS180-4
Overview
The Dayton Audio Reference Series sets a new standard of value in high-performance loudspeaker drivers. Woofer features a black anodized cone, heavy-duty 6-hole cast frame, low-loss rubber surround, solid aluminum phase plug, rubber magnet boot, and gold spring terminals.
Highlights
  • 4 ohm impedance is perfect for series pairs in MTMs and center channel speakers
  • Excellent car audio midrange/midbass
  • High-end low-distortion motor with two shorting paths to reduce inductance
Part # 
295-374
Weight: 5.1 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$64.99
Regular Price$49.60
You Save29%
Sale Price
$34.90
Sale Ends8/31/2014
Part # 295-374
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm

The Dayton Audio Reference Series sets a new standard of value in high-performance loudspeaker drivers. Utilizing a low-distortion motor system with two short-circuit paths and a rigid aluminum cone, the Reference Series can outperform drivers that cost several times the price. Their low-distortion characteristics and high excursion capabilities provide exceptional clarity, detail, and dynamics. Woofer features a black anodized cone, heavy-duty 6-hole cast frame, low-loss rubber surround, solid aluminum phase plug, rubber magnet boot, and gold spring terminals.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter7"
  • Power Handling (RMS)60 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)120 Watts
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Frequency Response40 to 2,200 Hz
  • Sensitivity88 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.5"
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)40.4 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)2.9 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.51 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)2.66
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.62
  • Total Q (Qts)0.5
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.87 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)1.09 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)4.26 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)14.32g
  • Moving Mass Of Diaphragm (Mmd)6.63
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)6 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)126.7 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialAluminum
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialCast Aluminum
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter7.11"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter5.75"
  • Depth3.23"
  • Bolt Circle Diameter6.63"
  • # Mounting Holes6
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.42 ft.³
  • Sealed F369 Hz
  • Vented Volume1.33 ft.³
  • Vented F335 Hz
Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelRS180-4
  • Part Number295-374
  • UPC844632054242
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (35 Reviews)
  • Weight5.1 lbs.
  • Case Qty8
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm
Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm is rated 4.7143 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best midrange/midbass I've ever owned!I've been a professional car stereo installer for 21 years now so I've seen and done it all. I purchased a pair of these Dayton Audio 7" Reference Mids along with a pair of the Dayton Audio Reference silk dome tweeters. I used a pair of Boston Acoustics passive colrossovers that we had laying around the shop and powered this set up with a JL Audio HD 600/4 amplifier. I have the 7" Mids in custom kick panels and the tweeters in custom pods at the top of my dash. These Dayton Regerence speakers are truly amazing. The sound is crystal clear at all times, high volume or low volume. I can confidently say that these Dayton speakers sound BETTER than the JL Audio C5 and ZR series components that we install everyday! The silk dome tweeters are so smooth and natural sounding. The Mids are loud without being harsh on the ears and deliver terrific midbass and punch. Whether you are an audiophile or a bass/techno head you will be blown away with the quality and price of the Reference series. I'm now a Dayton fan for life!
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed review, didn't work with my applicationThese speakers went into my 2006 Dodge Magnum with heavily treated doors. Paired with Vifa XT25TG30s (2.5 khz/18db)in a 3-way active setup off two Audison srx2s amps sourced from an Alpine iDA-x305s with an external imprint processor. Substage consists of 4 RE SE 12s (80 hz/24 db) on a Crescendo bc3500.These speakers, whilst sounding amazingly clean and having a tight punchy midbass, simply do not put out like I guess I was expecting them to. They quickly hit a ceiling and would bottom out, even crossed over at 80 hz/24db . I had to drop the tweeters -7db just to get the sound to blend and image correctly and the tweeters still seem overbearing regardless of my crossover on them.I really do like the way these sound but for my application, (single woofer) they simply can't do the job and I'm swapping them out for a more efficient, Crescendo PWX6.On a good note, these woofers are built very and I will DEFINITELY be making a pair of WMTM towers using these and seeing their true potential in a more well-suited environment.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value wooferVery high value woofer. Low distortion throughout the bass and lower midrange, quite good midrange too. Not too much cone breakup in the treble which seemed to be the Achilles Heel of these in the past - perhaps the design has been changed?Sounds almost as good as the venerable Usher 8945A did in my car.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing SQI have these in the front door of my 90 VW Jetta along with a set of the RS75-4 in the dash. AMAZING! At about 100w/ch from a Soundstream Reference amp and playing from 50-1.25kHz (18dB/oct) they blow away every other car audio speaker I've ever had (JL, Focal, Quart, etc). Considering the price tag, they're an unbeatable steal!
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blew me awayI bought them on sale a while back and I was looking for a cabinet design for these Daytons, and came across Curt Cambells and Jim Holtzs 'Statements Monitor'. I used an all Dayton lineup including an ND105 and the Planar Tweeter. The combination of the RS180-4 and the cabinet design has reproduced drum kits that sound the most like a live presentation then any other set up I have ever heard. This is my second Cambell design, the first being a Tri-trix cabinet. Thank you Curt and Jim and Dayton, as this has got to be one of the best values I have come across. Its tonal accuracy and presentation are unbelievable in this price point .
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY KNOCK HARD...SUB US USUALLY OFF NOW WHEN THE WINDOW IS ROLLED UPGO THESE ON DOOR PANEL OF MY 2002 S40...IN FIBERGLASS CHAMBERS...SEMI SEALED FROM THE BACK TO ALLOW LOWER FREQUENCY RESPONSE
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great DIY midbassI'm running this driver active from a Pioneer 880PRS (3-way x-overs) and the rear channels of a JL Audio 300/4. Once properly set up (x-over low-passed around 2 khz, 18 db/oct) this driver revealed transients and warm tones I haven't been able to achieve through 15 years in car audio! After liberal applications of dynamat and some custom, rock-solid baffles for the 7" driver, my 1998 Acura 3.0CL has never had better staging. Find a low-playing, soft dome tweeter for a nice front stage.
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made, but needs good crossoverSpeaker has excellent build quality. However it only sounds great after using a 12db/oct crossover, was bad with the 6db/oct I originally tried. A 1mh/16uf combo ended up sounding the best to get the 2khz x-over I was looking for. Used with a HiVi Sd 1.1a tweeter also rated at 91db/2.83v and the tweeter seems much stronger than the woofer. Either the woofer isn't 91db/2.83v or the Tweeter is stronger than 91db/2.83v. Will need to do some more tweaking to get tweeter level to match woofer output.
Date published: 2011-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In car useI have these in my car front doors [dynamat & MLV on door outer & inner skin] fed by two channels of a JL Audio 300x4; running from ~80Hz to ~700 hz & crossed over @ 24db [electronic x-over]. Keep in mind my BW is small, but it is where these speakers shine. I can really hear the detail I have been missing w/my other speakers [MBQ & Focal]. It is an amazing speaker and the 'inexpensive' price makes the speaker that much better!
Date published: 2008-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for SQ mid-bass in my Mazda 6I used these in my Mazda 6, front and rear, with a clean 50 watt x 4 amp crossed over hi-pass at 60 Hz. I used a sharp (18 dB) passive @ 2khz (to help eliminate the upper freq. "ringing"). The 50 watts, free air, to these seems about right, no breakup or distortion. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, great CHEAP mid-bass, but high on QUALITY and value!!!
Date published: 2008-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An overall great speaker.Just a great overall driver. Solid midbass considering they're running IB in my doors. There is a breakup node that you need to avoid though. I found that you can cross them as high as 2.5khz with an 18db/oct slope and still avoid it.I've got them matched with these TB tweets, and they work very well together for a smooth, laid-back sound.http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partn umber=264-834
Date published: 2008-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier results with this oneThis alloy driver isn't just for experts because its quite likely that a beginner can create a great hifi system with hot performance, a low price, and at a fast timeframe. I think its easy, because the crossover point will be high--a higher pitch than the ear's most sensitive regions, while most of the driver's response is already quite flat. WOW!! How easy is that? And, its just the perfect thing to use with your Sonic T-amp or Trends Micro to actually get some performance. Enclosure size possibilities range from the average size for a 6-1/2" woofer, on up to the size indicated by specs. In practice, there's no need to use such a large box. The bass will be excellent either way. Its astonishing. This particular model is really a winner.If you liked it in the car, then why not put some in the house too? ;)
Date published: 2008-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Driver For The Price!!!Have a set of these installed infinite baffle in a simple custom door panel. I had to cut out metal and add 3/4" mdf to accomodate these in a 91 Blazer. Pretty hefty with excellent build! Mated with a 65rms per channel amp and bandpassed 67-260hz @ 24db octave to fit in a custom 3-way, they present a very smooth midbass with a somewhat deep snap. Not overbearing at hardly any frequency. Experimented with higher hi-pass cutoffs and the driver came alive even better. Would easily make an excellent 2-way with the right tweet. Also have the Dayton Ref HO 10" and they blend seamlessly. Comtemplating the aluminum tweets that are made for them and going strictly 2-way as it can only get better using the Reference line. A must have for the SQ enthusiast on a budget.....
Date published: 2008-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is WOW!!!!I had heard good things about these speakers online. I decided to purchase four of these to temporarily replace my blown MB Quarts mid/woofers in my car until I saved up to get something worthwhile. I was SHOCKED at how good they sound! As a result I have absolutely no desire to look any further! I've never heard a mid/woofer that sounded this good. These will be replacing my POLK and JBL home speakers as well. So glad I stumbled across Dayton speakers!!!!! Super inexpensive and INCREDIBLE sound.
Date published: 2008-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very niceI just popped it out of the box today and into a test enclosure for a 2-way speaker (not MTM).First impressions. . . Kudos to Parts Express!!!
Date published: 2008-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value and build qualityUsed as replacement driver in a sealed .5cu/ft bookshelf loudspeaker. Very good performance for the cost.
Date published: 2008-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish these worked better in my application..I'm sure these are VERY nice in a proper sealed or bass reflex box, but I was hoping they'd perform better in free air in the rear deck lid of my Audi A4 for mid-bass, and no, they are not happy. Bass is non existent and they break up and over extend easily, I'll be changing them out for an automotive free-air woofer.They are georgeous and well built, and an amazing value, I'll try them in a set of home speakers, still glad I bought them! Just a warning they didn't work well for me in free air mounting.
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Sounding Speaker !!!I've tried several driver in this size, and these are by far the best ones yet... Super clean, no big peaks, or wacky resonance problems, i have them on my Yamaha RX-V661 AV Unit and they sound superb !!! Very clear, clean and super loud. I mounted them in the piano-black DIY boxes too(partsexpress), they are beautiful. They pick up right where the Subs leave off. For $28 bucks, you won't find a better driver, period.
Date published: 2008-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bang for the buck!Wow, the midrange image is amazing at this price point. Used in a car application for about 10 hours and the mid is much better than my name brand driver of similar size. Low end needs some help, but that is expected in my setup. I can see where this driver can shine in a ported design with the correct BW from a crossover. Fun little driver put a smile on my face.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very high performance at very low costI have bought eight of these loudspeakers for a system with four RS180-4 per channel and two Audax HM130Z10 in D'appolito with the isodynamic tweeter HIVI RT2-C at the center. Each Dayton work in a ridiculous box of 16 liters tuned at 36Hz, and offer a nice bass definition, high dumping, good extension. For the best performance fourth order cross-over is suitable.Good performance are possible also with a single loudspeakers and so the Bass performance is very impressive for a single 7" driver.Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2007-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speakers for midbass in car frontstageI bought these after reading many favorable reviews on diyma.com They have excellent build quality and crisp clear sound,they get very loud w/o distortion. Like any 6.5/7" they sound thin w/o a sub and this driver has to be crossed low (1800 to 2500hz)to miss the breakup. I recommend crossing them active so you can dial in the low pass that fits your car and mid/tweet setup.
Date published: 2007-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent valueCompared to my Seas Excel loudspeakers, which cost about 5-6 times as much as the Daytons, the sound and build quality of the RS180-4 comes quite close.
Date published: 2007-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tight Midrange / Midbass DriverUsed in a 2007 Tacoma car install with Usher 9950 tweets, active Audiocontrol crossover crossed over at 1800Hz, and an 8" Tang Band subwoofer crossed at 80Hz with these Daytons. Superb and tight midbass / drivers in a car environment and sound better than ALL of my friends much more expensive "car-specific" audio speakers like Rainbow, Morel, Focal, MB Quart, etc. Imagine when I tell them they cost $30 each. My truck is seriously competition worthy for SQ and everything short of the amp and head unit I got on Parts Express!Parts Express tech support were the real stars of the show. Knowledgeable and eager to help at ALL times during my whole project! 6 stars for Parts Express!
Date published: 2007-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right choice for meI decieded to change my DLS UR6S midbass because it lacked midbass. I read many reviews on the Dayton RS180 and most of them were quite good. I couldn't believe the difference. The RS180 is beautiful on the high end. Quite airy and filled the cab of my truck fully. Bass has some good snap to it but not that deep hard pounding bass.Exceptional value.
Date published: 2007-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SpeakerUsed this speaker in the stock location on a CX-7 instead of a 5 1/4 inch polk one. It sounds great. I'm hearing a lot of new things and detail in my music. Also great as a midbass driver.Overall great speaker. Outperforms much expensive drivers.
Date published: 2007-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Killer Sound! Outstanding Value!Autosound install, amazing clarity in the midrange. Running 80~2k @24db slope each end. As mentioned before, not a midbass monster but great for SQ vocals.Can't beat the value, none better at this price point! Matched to my RS-28's (running 3.15k/up @24 db slope) tweeters, these are a great combination at a very reasonable cost.
Date published: 2007-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from UNSURE ABOUT SOMETHING, LACKS BASSI placed a pair of these in the front door of a 93 mustange convertible with the 800hz low pass and them and a foam baffle behind them and the bottom out and sound terrible on the car. They look good though. I guess i have air seal issues who knows if these are good for free infinate baffle applications?
Date published: 2007-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great aluminum cone wooferI currently have two pairs of these 4 ohm woofers in my car. An aluminum cone driver in this size and impedance was hard to find without spending 100's of dollars. These woofers work well in free air applications at low levels, but a small sealed chamber and high pass x-over brings the woofers to life. The quick connect terminals are nice but a little bulky in tight areas. These woofers have been braving the automotive environment for over a year now, and still sound as good as day one.
Date published: 2007-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Screaming barganI have had 2 of these for a year and they sound as good as my big planars.
Date published: 2007-06-07

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm

Can the phase plug be removed from this speaker?

I realize the phase plug likely isn't intended to be removed, but I'm contemplating modifying this speaker into a coaxial for automotive use. How is the phase plug attached? I don't expect that removing the plug would be easy in any case, and any such modifications I'm considering would most certainly void any warranty on the product. Thanks!
Asked by: Arbitrameter
The phase plug is adhered to the pole piece which will make it very difficult to remove without damaging the voice coil former. You can certainly try although this will void the warranty on the woofer.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-03-27

Enclosure size

Does any one know what size enclosure and port would be needed for these to achieve their full bandwidth? I want to build a two way bookshelf with these and want to avoid a subwoofeer if I can.Thanks
Asked by: Speed3.0
you can avoid a subwoofer all you want,you will also be avoiding the SPL/frequency output.it also depends on what you think is the "full bandwidth" of these drivers.
Answered by: unk1
Date published: 2014-07-18

what is best size enclosure for a sealed alignement??

Asked by: randyc1
Recommended sealed enclosure is 0.6 cubic feet which will provide an F3 of about 65 Hz and an F10 of 38Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-02-20

Sure would like to hear some replys or new reviews on these for car audio compared to like Focals or Hybrid Audio's?

Asked by: Bongi
This is a tough question. How do you compare a motorcycle to a car? Well - first off - make sure you use speakers designed for mobile use - they withstand humidity, hot and cold more then home speakers where this is not a concern. Then - Dayton is a very good speaker and represents an excellent value. Focal is one of the best speakers made - period. However - not for automotive use. Hybrid Audio is exceptional. JL Audio to me is more audiophile to me. And then there is MTX which also wins a lot of sound-offs.... Good luck and hope this helps. NOTE: if volume is your goal - you will need a lot of sound matte in your vehicle and will have many rattles to overcome along with resonances so you don't end up with "one-note" subwoofers.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2014-07-18

I was wondering if these woofers would be a good match to the Vifa NE19VTS-04 3/4" Silk Dome Tweeter crossed over at say 2khz 12/dB?

I hope im making sense because that tweeter has the right dimensions to fit my a-pillar.
Asked by: fatboy
The VIFA is an exceptional choice. At 2000 hz, you can cross it at 6db/oct and not have any phase issues. When you want to operate a driver closer to it's frequency extremes you need steeper slopes or electronic crossovers. 6 db is very linear and in phase. From there - you want to jump on the 24db bandwagon - elaborate and expensive. Your problem is the woofer. You need a good midwoofer with extension to at least 4000 hz so it's operating in its sweet spot and crosses seemlessly with the tweeter. Once again 6db/oct. You may need an "L" pad to balance things - but you should end up with a great speaker. A better woofer would be the RS180-8 It has more extension and would be seemless in sound.
Answered by: MarkAJH
Date published: 2012-08-18

the advertised price is for one pair, or is it just one speaker?

the advertised price is for one pair, or is it just one speaker? I wonder also if there are speaker grilles that meet this measure 7 ".thanksManuel
Asked by: apercu
The price if for one speaker, 6.5 and 8" grilles are available, you could always use grille cloth.
Answered by: Local Critic
Date published: 2012-07-17

spl rating is 91 db on this page but one DA spec sheet its 88?

Asked by: FrankiE
Look at the wording, it lists them two seperate ways, 91 dB 2.83V/1m (2 Watts @ 4ohms), and 88 dB 1W/1m.
Answered by: mtg90
Date published: 2012-04-28

Will this fit in my 6 1/2" opening in my 03 civic?

Asked by: Randy R.
Unfortunately, we do not have a cross-reference for automotive speakers, so I couldn't say if this would be a drop-in replacement for your application. I can say that it's a very popular speaker for mobile audio, many of our customers use it in their vehicles and have great results. If it will fit, or if you would be willing to work it in, I'm sure you would be quite satisfied with the performance.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-07-29

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio RS180-4 7" Reference Woofer 4 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1