Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer

Brand:|Model: PA310-8
Dayton Audio PA Series Pro Woofers are a great upgrade for musical instrument or sound reinforcement cabinets, and also excel in custom-built speaker systems.
In Stock
List Price$86.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$66.75
Buy 4+$63.00
Part # 295-032
Share:
Highlights
  • Strong, low-mass carbon fiber impregnated paper cone
  • I-beam rolled edge 1.2 mm steel frame
  • Low distortion motor system w/copper cap
  • Powerful 80 oz. ceramic ferrite magnet
  • Vented pole piece/vented voice coil gap improve thermal management
  • Black motor parts and black polyimide voice coil former dissipate heat
  • Bumped back plate for unrestricted excursion

Product Details

Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer

Dayton Audio PA Series Pro Woofers are a great upgrade for musical instrument or sound reinforcement cabinets, and also excel in custom-built speaker systems. High power handling, smooth response, low distortion, deep punchy bass, and rugged reliability are the features that set PA Series woofers apart from other drivers – premium performance, but value priced.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter12"
  • Power Handling (RMS)450 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)900 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response44 to 4,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity96.1 dB 2.83V/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter3"
  • Magnet Weight80 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)39 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)5.5 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)1.68 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)8.85
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.30
  • Total Q (Qts)0.29
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)3.24 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms).23 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)18 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)72.8g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)530.9 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPaper / Carbon Fiber
  • Surround MaterialCloth
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerKapton® / Polyimide
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter12.2"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter11.14"
  • Depth5.63"
  • # Mounting Holes8
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.44 ft.³
  • Sealed F3119 Hz
  • Vented Volume1.04 ft.³
  • Vented F373 Hz
Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelPA310-8
  • Part Number295-032
  • UPC844632084232
  • Product CategoryPro Woofers, Subwoofers & Midrange Speakers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (18 Reviews)
  • Weight16.4 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Reviews

Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer
Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer is rated 4.3889 out of 5 by 18.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 12" Pro WooferGreat product. Has more power than previous woofers we had.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice WooferReplaced a Blown MTX 12" Woofer, Sounds Great and would recommend it as a Replacement PA speaker
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product, great service, POOR SHIPPING $There was a problem with the speaker that I didn't pick up on till after the 45 days that includes free shipping return. Parts Express did get a speaker right out, but here's what I didn't like. The spreaker was about $60 no cost to me but the $30 shipping was, if there is a warrenty it should cover shipping. The speaker seperated and came apart.
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio - Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro WooferGreat sounding speaker! It sounds better than the original speaker that it replaced in an Ampeg Bass cabinet.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the moneyI use these speakers on all my Klipsch Heresy builds. They out perform the original K-22's in every depart, but especially in the bass delivery. Very efficient and out perform speakers costing much more.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Preliminary review.I just got 2 of these in on Monday, so this review is pre-break-in ... further reviews will come later on sound quality and reliability...When I get a new woofer in, I always put it on a board free air to break in a little but before they are put into an enclosure using a signal generator with a 20 Hz sine wave and starting with very low power and increase the power as it plays. These woofers look like they are built to last, and have the cleanest excursion I have ever heard. I can not wait to get them in the enclosures and hear them... If they last like they look like they will, I expect them to be in my system for many years to come.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 12" pro subI built two passive subs with these 12" pro woofers. I used a sub crossover in each with terminals for ins and outs. I can use as a feed through to a pair of bookshelf speakers or I can use the subs and the bookshelf speakers on separate channels.I really have not had them tested because I have them playing on an old Sherwood 100 w/channel receiver.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement driver.I used this driver to replace ones that burned up in dual-12 PA speakers. This driver had higher power ratings and a very beefy magnet compared to the OEM's...A nice perk was the added bass this driver provided. If any of my PA divers burn up again they will be replaced by Dayton Pros.
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product really doesn't live up to specs.I purchased 2 of these woofer to replace my 12" MTX's ( 150 rms each). They have about the same sound ( Daytons may sound slightly better ), they do not handle 450 rms. I have a QSC GX5 amp hooked up to them (n 500 rms @8 stereo, 600 @ 8 mono and 700 rms @ 4 ohms stereo, 850 rms @ 4 ohms mono ) and I can't turn the volume pass 12 o'clock before they start to whine. this is 1 speaker hooked up @ 600 rms mono. While they have a good price and are heavy, I am skeptical about buying other Dayton speakers. Is it that you get what you pay for here or what..
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for PriceI ordered one of these and a 15" both to replace a couple of blown Eminence delta series drivers I had in a custom made enclosure. I immediately saw the quality when I opened the box. I needed them before friday night for a show, and installed them as soon as they were delivered.(only 3 days from date of order). These are very good speakers for the money.The sound is not as crisp as the eminence speakers they replaced,slightly "muddy" in comparison.I compared the sound side by side with the other cab still loaded with the deltas.The bass is pronounced, nice and deep, and with a little eq adjustment, they sounded almost as good as the originals.After about 2 hours of playing various types of music through them, at varying volume levels, they "broke in" so to speak. Will probably buy another set soon to replace the drivers in the other cab. If you are on a budget, go for these, you wont be dissapointed!
Date published: 2010-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from alot more bass then what was in enclosuresswapped out a pair of 12" woofers that were in behringer enclosures with these daytons and they are way better
Date published: 2010-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing power, clarity and handlingI totally rebuilt a pair of 2 way PA speakers with these woofers, and what an amazing improvement in bass response and clarity. You can really turn these up without distortion, and they cover a wide low to mid frequency range, which worked perfect for crossing them over with the pt:270-100 tweeters I used. The spl rating of these woofers is surprisingly high (at least compared to the less powerful woofers had before) therefore you don't need a very big amp to drive these loud!if your looking for an affordable great sounding PA woofer I highly recommend these
Date published: 2010-07-15
  • 2015-08-31T07:01CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_295-032, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer

Have a pair of peavey mb2 cabinets and would like to replace the peavey speakers. Will these fit and work .? Keep in mind I'll be using them with a Dayton crossover running these at 50-500hz thanks

Asked by: davestag
These will work, but you will have to verify the fit since we do not have a direct cross reference available. You should be able to match up dimensions with the measurements on our spec sheet for this.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-12-11

What is the mechanical limit of the suspension? Xlim please.

Asked by: fiddies
The excursion ( Xmax) for the PA310-8 is 5mm
Answered by: TomI
Date published: 2014-12-18

Is the 16.4 lbs. shipping weight, or just the speaker itself? Seems very heavy if it's just the bare speaker, and want to be sure. Thanks!

Asked by: Gary Kephart
That is the total shipping weight when packaged.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-22

I am rebuilding some old infinity 3000's, the cabinets are in beautiful shape, will these function well as a home woofer? Ultimately I want a set of "high output" speakers that are also low volume friendly, I don't want to be afraid of turning them up.

Asked by: Tomane
These will work well for a high efficiency type system, although low end bass response will be limited. Depending on cabinet size and tuning, you should be able to get 45 Hz from these relatively easily.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-11

What Amplifier plate should be purchased with this Driver (Dayton Audio PA310-8 12" Pro Woofer) ? 

Asked by: Devendra S
This requires a bit more information in order to proceed. Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-13

How do the wire connectors work, do they work with a spade connector?

Asked by: deedee
These are spring loaded terminals that accept bare wire, they will not accept a spade.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-06

Is there a recone kit available for this woofer?

Asked by: Nick M
I am sorry, we do not offer any recone kits.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2013-05-07

can this woofer be used without a xover

Asked by: bobbo410
That is one of those questions I'd answer with a "try it first without one". If it were me, I'd probably go without it, unless you are planning on using an electronic crossover, then, if you have one, use it. I realize my answer may not be as specific as you want, but it's really going to be a matter of venue for usage and personal taste. It rolls off pretty nicely, but then again, there are die hard users that would insist on using a crossover. In order to cross this over passively, you will need an coil, and let's face it, that in and of itself is a trade off. For that reason, I'd try it without one and then let us know! I'm running a home setup with a mid/woofer that rolls of similarly and I do not use a crossover, just a filter for the tweeter. It sounds wonderful at all volumes.
Answered by: njebudalla
Date published: 2014-03-13

Would you recommend the Dayton pt#295-032 & #295-034 for a bass guitar cabinet? If so, what are the building specs for both?

Asked by: El Partner 3
Please contact tech@parts-express.com so that we can gather more information to correctly answer your question.
Answered by: mikevv
Date published: 2014-03-13
  • 2015-08-31T07:53CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_295-032, PRD, sort_recentQuestionsFirst
  • clientName_PartsExpressInternational

Videos

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH 45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1986-2015 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software