300-3800_ALT_6.jpg
300-3800_ALT_6.jpg
 
300-3800_ALT_0
 
300-3800_ALT_1
 
300-3800_ALT_2
 
300-3800_ALT_3
 
300-3800_ALT_4
 
300-3800_ALT_5
 
300-3800_ALT_6
 

Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC

Brand:| Model: DTA-120
Product Video
Overview
The small and powerful Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T amplifier installs virtually anywhere. It produces big-amp sound while occupying minimal space on your desk or A/V cabinet.
A restocked/refurbished, or Open Box unit of the product is available -- see it now
Highlights
  • Audiophile-quality sound reproduction, extremely low distortion, fits almost anywhere
  • Ultra-quiet 103 dB signal to noise ratio (A-weighted)
  • 40 WPC continuous into an 8 ohm load, 60 WPC continuous into a 4 ohm load
  • Front-mounted 3.5 mm input and rear RCA inputs
  • Quad mini binding posts accept bare wire or banana plugs
  • Compact extruded aluminum heat sink enclosure
  • Thick, stylish black-anodized aluminum face plate
Part # 
300-3800
Weight: 3 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$139.99
Regular Price$99.80
You Save10%
Sale Price
$89.00
Part # 300-3800
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC

Dayton Audio has revamped the popular DTA-100 mini amplifier with an all-new design that improves on every part of the DTA-100's performance. The result is the Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T digital amplifier. It's everything you need in a mini amp, delivering the performance of enormous hi-fi gear, and smart features you'll wonder how you lived without...and thanks to the space-saving design, it fits and installs practically anywhere!

Big-Amplifier Power

The DTA-120 amplifier delivers the power of a monster amplifier, but in a tiny package. Thanks to Tripath's proprietary Class T technology, plus a robust Dual Parallel BTL configuration, the DTA-120 tackles the toughest speaker loads with ease -- while delivering the sound quality and low distortion of a conventional Class AB amplifier. The dual-power-chip design delivers 60 watts (RMS) per channel of efficient power into an 4 ohm load (up to 120 watts total), and 40 watts (RMS) into 8 ohms – continuously, with no reduction in output. That means powerful bass and clear output that keeps on going, even with the most demanding speakers.

Convenient, Small Size

With the DTA-120 amplifier, you get the most power possible from the smallest footprint imaginable. At under 3-1/2" wide, 2-1/4" tall, and 6" deep, the DTA-120 delivers more power per cubic inch than any other mini amplifier. All this is thanks to the revolutionary, cool-running Class T digital PWM amplifier technology and the extruded aluminum heatsink case. The robust external switching power supply hides out of sight. But since it can supply high current with even higher peaks, the DTA-120 can easily drive HUGE speakers.

High-End Features and Quality

The DTA-120 amplifier delivers the features you expect in a much more expensive amplifier, at a fraction of the size and price. The housing is black-anodized aluminum, with a thick machined faceplate and a silky-smooth volume control. The rear panel features high-quality, gold-plated RCA inputs and shielded, gold-plated 5-way binding posts that accept any type of speaker cable. A high-current DC power jack is also used to ensure maximum power transfer to the amp. On the front panel, there's a second 3.5 mm audio input jack, as well as a 1/4" headphone jack that receives its signal from a separate, high-quality headphone amplifier stage controlled by the main volume knob. (3.5 mm to 1/4" adapter included.)

Works With ALL Your Sources

In a world of changing digital and wireless specifications, the high-quality analog design of the DTA-120 remains virtually future-proof. Just connect it to any device with a headphone output jack and begin enjoying powerful, high-quality audio through your own speakers. Short signal paths inside the amplifier preserve all the quality of the input signal, and the DTA-120 automatically switches from the rear inputs to the front input when connected. No switches to flip, and just one knob. The DTA-120 is the perfect complement to your smartphone, tablet, laptop, PC, television, or any other audio source.

Head-Fi Friendly Design

The DTA-120 is the ultimate desktop amplifier. Not only can it drive even the smallest and least-efficient speakers to almost painful levels without strain, making it perfect for powering desktop mini-monitor speakers, but it also offers a separate solid-state headphone amplifier stage capable of powering even the most demanding headphones to high listening levels while preserving clarity, detail, and a refined sonic character. However you like to listen at your desk, the DTA-120 is the perfect partner.

Specifications: • Output power: 40W RMS x 2 @ 8 ohms, 60W RMS x 2 @ 4 ohms (10% THD max, both channels driven) • Total harmonic distortion (THD): <0.1% @ 1W • Frequency response: 20 - 20,000 Hz (+0/-1 dB at 8 ohms, +0/-3 dB at 4 ohms) • Signal-to-noise ratio: 103 dB, A weighted • Input sensitivity: 750 mV (full volume) via rear input • Inputs: Rear stereo RCA, front 3.5 mm stereo mini-jack • Outputs: dual shielded, gold-plated mini binding posts (banana plugs accepted) • Power supply: Input: 100~240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.6A (192 Watt @ 120VAC); Output: 24 VDC, 5A continuous, with 2.5 mm DC plug • Power efficiency: >85% • Dimensions: Faceplate dimensions: 1-29/32" H x 3-3/8" W x 5/16" D • Body dimensions: 1-3/4" H x 3-1/8" W x 4-5/8" D • Overall dimensions: 2-1/8" H x 3-3/8" W x 5-1/2" D (including feet, faceplate, and volume knob).

c|net Review - March 15, 2014



Product Specifications
  • Special FeaturesClass T
Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelDTA-120
  • Part Number300-3800
  • UPC848791001086
  • Product CategoryHome Audio Amplifiers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (37 Reviews)
  • Weight3 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Reviews

Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC
Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC is rated 4.8378 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A jem of a little ampI bought this little amp to use for my patio with a couple of Monoprice outdoor speakers and I must say that it has exceeded my expectations. Some have complained that there is a bit of hiss coming out when no music is coming through but I haven't heard it... perhaps in an outdoor environment it's not perceptible the way it is in a room but I have tried and it wasn't there. Sound is powerful and bass is tight... The rating is of course price relative and i am really happy with it.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little AmpThis a great Little amp, powering my Epos 4ohm speakers. The only gripe is that the balance seams abit out on low volumes, Headphone sound is alittle muddy, Shipping to Au was expensive adding to the total cost. Well worth it for the size though if you do not want a large Unit.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little amp!I bought this about a month ago and so far this amp has performed flawlessly. Very clean sounding with plenty of power, although I am using it as a tweeter amp in a tri-amped setup. I am using it with Adcom and Parasound amps and it is right at home. Even though it is very small it looks great, too.The blue LED is quite bright. My only complaint.Well worth the 100 bucks I spent on it! You can't beat this deal for the quality!
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very very nice little amp!Hooked this up via some 16 gauge wire (also from PE) to a couple of older bookshelf speakers (Realistic Minimus 7's) mounted on either side of a projector screen in a 20' x 30' room to provide better sound than was available from the LCD projector...this little amp really does the job - more than enough power to fill the room with nice clean sound. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2014-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Men!!This amplifier is truly spectacular! Connected to my system sounds really good! (Intel i7 2700K@4.2 GHz -> hiFace Two -> TEAC UD-H01 -> Indiana Line Nota 550) - Many thanks to Parts Express! America is really great! Thanks to an Italian music lover who would sooner or later visit The States, the homeland of my favorite artists! :-) For me to know that this amplifier comes from America is something more ... Sounds better! :-) Marco
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Power, Small Package, 4 Ohm Rated AmpUsing as a power amp with Thiel 1.6 and Benchmark DAC1. Be sure to allow sufficient break in before judging. Good resolution. Amp is quiet, no hum or buzz coming from speakers.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far so good...I bought this little amp as a present for my son, so that he could listen to his mp3 songs through speakers, while he is working. Since this was a gift, I haven't listened to audio playback through it, except briefly (to assure it was working).Nonetheless, in the short time I listened, it sounded very competent, certainly better than the limited expectations I had for it. I hooked it up to PioneerSP B21 speakers, and it seemed to have no difficulty driving them to reasonable levels. In addition to its performance, I was impressed with the build quality, which is always a good sign. Only perceived shortcoming: no USB port, which I'm sure my techno-son would welcome.
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bang for the buckThis amp is so versatile and affordable. I move it to different rooms in the house and have used it in my car with an inverter and my Wharfdale bookshelf speakers in the back seat. Great for the workshop, office, kitchen, college dorm, etc... I use an RCA to Mini Plug adapter cable and play Pandora off my droid wherever it goes.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cust Service, and a very nice amp as well!Got the DTA-120 as a warranty replacement for a failed 100. I'm happy with the additional power and load flexibility on this version. I've only had 2 opportunities to speak with Parts Express Customer Service people on the phone, and both times they were fantastic. It's a pleasure to work with a well run company that sells my favorite stuff. Thanks-
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet . . powerful and PORTABLEI needed a compact and dependable 2-ch amplifier for a digital keyboard project. The DTA-120 is perfect!
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All goodI really like this amp. More than enough power to fill an average room and no distortion all the way up the volume dial (with high quality source files). It's a perfect minimalist design with no compromise in sound quality. I have nothing bad to say.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small things can be deceptive!Somehow, this thing puts many amps I have owned in the past that were four or five times its size to shame. Incredible power for such a small package. I am currently using it to test a variety of speakers I ordered for a center channel speaker project. This amp was the perfect size for my needs and it is very clean all the way to max volume. I am quickly becoming a fan of Dayton Products as they have yet to disappoint me.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good amp, but no power supply!I bought 2, and NEITHER included the power supply. Only the box it's supposed to be in. Otherwise a good amp, as long as the temperature doesn't get cold.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds goodI have it running a pair of Pioneer SP-BS22LR for my computer. I have not had any issues yet and the sound is clean.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sounding Little Amplifier does 20 Watts L&Rreplaced the 2020 with this TDA120, sounds good and I put it on the bench, Tek 501 Osc and AA505 Analyzer and scope. It did 20 Watts, one or two channels at 8 Ohms at 1%THD, 20-20kHz. lots of ultrasonic class "D" noise, oscillation burst just before clipping. All in all a good buy.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sound from a tiny packageI'm driving a pair of Energy CB-20 speakers with this mini-amp, and it does a great job. I don't tend to drive them very loud, so if you need to completely blast the sound, I don't know the DTA-120 would be able to satisfy you -- but for me it works great. For reference, my wife is always complaining that I'm listening with the volume too high, though it's never so high that you couldn't have a conversation. It's all relative.Something that I missed in the description is that the power brick is actually about the same size as the unit itself. Don't let the small size of the amp confuse you: The power supply is good enough to deliver enough power so that the amp can deliver the sound.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The little amp that couldThis little box couldn't be anymore different from the big A/V receiver in the family room. This amp is dimunitive and has a simple array of connections (read: only what you need). The front facia is a model of simplicity. The overall design is restrained with a focus on function. That said, the black-painted alunimum housing gives this amp a solid, quality feel. Along with a pair of Micca Club 3 speakings, I set this up in the bedroom.Set up was a snap, literraly. After plugging in the power supply, this little amp lit up the room. With the bookshelf speaker combo, the sound booms and the tones are rich. Richard Thompson's acoustic picking in his "1952 Vincent Black Lightning" feel and sound as if I was listening to him perform live at Space (in Evanston, IL). Okay. That might have been a bit of an exagerration. The point is this little amp did the song (as well as others) justice. I've even connected my iPad to the amp to watch programs via Netflix.The only thing that I need to add are longer speaker wires so that I can move the speakers to the back porch during BBQ season. The neighbors won't be too happy with me.Overall a great buy. The amp performs are advertised and more importantly, better than what I expected. Get yourself a decent pair of bookshelf speakers and get ready to be pleasantly surprised. I would recommend this amp with an unqualified, "Yes!"
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from surprisingly powerfulThis is my first class t amplifier and as such had no baseline for heat expectations, and while it does get warm after extended playtime it outputs an amazing level of sound, I wanted a fairly portable system and am using it with 2 12 v batteries in series driving a pair of bose 151 speakers, while working on projects in garage or around the yard I am able to stream pandora or listen to the radio at volume levels that border on too loud to be acceptable. It also makes for a very loud speaker phone when someone calls, and I need not have my phone right next to me when doing outdoor activities and I can still be reached, I am ordering a second one just because it is so useful. Previous users have stated the balance is off at very low volumes and I have noticed that as well but if you turn down the input and drive the output harder the balance issue vanishes. Overall I am extremely satisfied.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!!!Went to put together a small kitchen system with a Grace internet radio player / media player and Pioneer SP‑BS22‑LR bookshelf speakers. This little integrated amp was just the ticket. It sounds great and drives my speakers easily. Very compact (aside from brick power supply which can be hidden) and looks top notch.
Date published: 2014-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful little ampI purchased this to replace a dta-1 driving a pair of bookshelves. The dta-1 had great sound quality but not quite enough power to blow me away. This amp is exactly what I needed. Very full powerful sound even with 6.5" woofers doing all the work. I put in a bass test CD and it had the whole room shaking. I use this setup on my PC for music and gaming.My only negative is that when I turn the volume down very low the balance is off and I can only hear the left speaker. My solution was to simply lower the sound volume on the PC to 75% and keep the dta-120 turned up a little higher.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely a step up.After working with DTA-100a for a number of years, now (I have 8 of them), I was pleased to see the DTA-120 emerge. I will handle 4 ohm loads, which DTA-100a would not, and it can squeeze out a few more watts. DTA-120 is definitely an improvement. The package is slightly larger, as in deeper front to rear, than its predecessor, with binding posts, rather than just banana jacks. The sound is clean and clear, as its predecessor, with broad, clean bandwidth, and eerily low noise floor. Especially when listening with headphones. A lot of people compare it to tube sound, but I"m not so sure. It is smooth. But not quite that level of warmth. Still, cleaner and smoother than many solid state amps. More detailed than most tubes.If you believe in burn-in...just plug it in, turn it on and use it. It will come to the sound you're expecting in less than a day.If you don't believe in burn-in...you'll love it right out of the box.That maddeningly bright-visible-from-space, burn-the-retinas-from-the-eyes-of-friends-in-distant-cities, has been toned down. Thank God. I was getting complaints from the airport. And it has a slightly greener tint, which is also easier on the eyes. Still no heat to speak of, even when rocking pretty hard into my Altec-Lansing 846 Valencias. And the polished bevel on the anodized aluminum faceplate makes an attractive accent when seen in the stereo furniture from across the room.There is a somewhat higher level of FM interference with this amplifier, so placement in the furniture is more important than with the previous model. Then, again, location, location, location.DTA-120 is definitely an improvement over its predecessor, and for $100, this is an amplifier that's tough to beat.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the money, tough to beat this soundI bought this to power my old (20 yrs+) JBL bookshelf speakers. More than enough power to fill my large living room and dining room. A the highest ends of volume, i get a little distortion, but most likely this is from my MP3s and inputs.For under 100 bucks, and plug and play features, tough to beat.Highly recommended.
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice T-amp for the money.I bought this for a friend to power a pair of Klipsch Synergy bookshelf speakers. The speakers are excellent and the 120 appears to be up to the job of powering them cleanly. It has more than enough power to drive them hard without drawing any attention to itself. A nice example of T class power and most importantly causes no listening fatigue for him at all.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little box to upgrade my old stereo systemA few weeks ago I bought a little amplifier Lepai 2020A+ and I was so happy to realize I can improve the sound of my headphone. Hence came the idea to try to make a test with my old AIWA stereo system backdated to the mid eightees. The result of the test was very promising, the power of the sound however could not be increased upto the level I usually listen classical tipe of music. So I made some research, read some info provided by some entusiasts like I am, and came to the conclusion, I must try Dayton audio 120 from Parts Express. I am so glad I did it. With this powerful little Dayton amplifier I could totally eliminate the occasional operational blocking, the sound quality of both sets meets all my expectation. The only reason I gave just four stars as I miss the option to increase the bass level of the sound. This is made possible with the Lepai 2020A+. The sound I get now from my headphones by using this DA120 is amazing. The prize is higher than Lepai 2020A+ but with the possibility to properly upgrade my old stereo set is OK for me. I can strongly recommend for buying this little ampflifier from Parts Express. Their service is fast and reliable.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great little amp!I bought this to accompany Dayton Audio B652 bookshelves and the combination sounds awesome. Actually I purchased a second combo as a desk unit for in my office.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now I know this is what I needed all alongI use a respectable desktop headphone amp/DAC as the line level source for my Dayton Audio DTA-120. The Dayton amp drives a pair of solid, older bookshelf speakers. The bitstream for the DAC comes from iTunes and internet radio, and my new setup sounds fantastic- if the recording is good. So many are not. Having a quite capable separate amp and the flexibility to change speakers (although I don't feel that need currently) changes how I think about desktop audio. I'm very happy with my Dayton amp to date.
Date published: 2014-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome!I bought this amp and the bookshelf speaker to match all I can say is real nice for the money great sound! I probably
Date published: 2014-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blown Away!Amazing sound! Crystal clear with zero noise and no heat. Even the headphones jack sounds great. Best money ever spent on an amp.
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DTA-120I bought the DTA 100 and it was ok amp considering it was a first generation product. I learned a few weeks later the DTA 120 came out and it was the "improved" version of the DTA-100. Wow, the improvement is amazing. The 120 is tight, clear and boy does it have head room. I have several systems and in one I have a pair of old school JBL L100's and it makes jazz, rock, funk and whatever you through at them sound like a tube amp! I also hooked the DTA 120 to a piar of B&W's and the sound was incredible.Great job!
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!!I bought this amp based on reviews of the DTA-100a. I used this for my computer paired with a pair of Mission MX-1 and the Dayton sub 1000. The performance has so far been fantastic and makes my computer system by far the best sounding stereo system I have in my home. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a similar build or a mini hifi system. Drives the speakers very well and the clarity is phenominal.
Date published: 2014-02-18

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC

Hey I was just wondering if you guys sell this with a UK plug?

Asked by: Rohit12359
Unfortunately no, the adapter will accept 100-240 VAC input but it is only available with an Edison type plug.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-11

Would this supply enough power to comfortably run a pair of overnight sensations, or at least run Paul Carmody's Sprite boombox? 

Asked by:
Absolutely!
Answered by: Rickard
Date published: 2014-11-06

What is the warrantee?

Asked by: Cubanoman
These amplifiers have a one year warranty.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-05

useing a dayton audio dta120  after reciever to a wired home whdvir100 volume switch is this a good combination? switch lights up no sound from speakers. the remote does not work (maybe battery dead) I get sound from headphone jack on amp. it all worked 

Asked by: tuck
Please contact our tech support for more help with this question, tech@parts-express.com or 800-338-0531 x1.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-11-04

For house music would this work well feeding 3 impedance matching volume controls with a pair of speakers each set at 8 ohms?  (3 pairs of in-ceiling speakers total)

Asked by: Johnnytec
Yes this amp will work for that application.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-28

Will it work with a 6 ohms speakers?

Asked by: guerito550hp
Yes this will power speakers 4 ohms or higher.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-17

Can these be used to drive headphones, so that I can watch TV without bothering wife in bed?

Asked by: GordonY
Yes this will work as a dedicated headphone amplifier, as long as your TV has analog audio outputs.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-09

Can I use DTA-120 for 2.1 computer speakers?

Asked by: AE74
As long as the subwoofer is powered and has speaker level inputs and outputs, and the satellite speakers are passive this will work fine.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-08-18

I want to use this amp or similar to power outdoor speakers and control music via my iPad through something like Apple TV , but need an optical audio input that comes from the apple...what can you recommend?

Asked by: NeilC
Unfortunately none of our T-amps have optical inputs so you will have to use something like a small DAC in order to convert the optical signal to analog.http://www.parts-express.com/fiio-d03k-coaxial-optical-dac-digital-analog-converter--230-120
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-09-07

I have 8 ohm speakers, but with a 24v PS this amp produces ~25w @ 0.1% THD (per datasheet). The TK2050 chip can operate at 36v, which gives me ~64W @ 8 ohms @ 0.1% THD. But will this damage other parts of the amp? I would build the PS myself.

Asked by: BGInDesMoines
I am sorry , we would not recommend using any other supply with this as it would void the warranty.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-07-17

Will this power a turn table or will I need a different amp to play my records

Asked by: Adfrackus
This will power a turn table as long as the turn table has a line level output. If it is phono level, you will need a phono preamp between the turntable and amplifier. One of our best sellers is below.http://www.parts-express.com/behringer-pp400-microphono-ultra-compact-phono-preamp--248-6348
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-09

I don't think your specs are correct. This is a D-class & not a T-class amp...correct? Isn't the DTA120 based on the STM Microelectronics TDA7492 chipset?

Asked by: Alock
This amplifier uses the Tripath TK2050 chipset with dual output chips running in parallel BTL configuration, for stable power into a 4-ohm load and the ability to operate from 24V power supplies while delivering full power. "Class T" refers to the specific variation of Class D amplifier technology developed by Tripath for their efficient and good-sounding amplifier chipsets.
Answered by: RBuszka
Date published: 2014-09-07

I have the Dayton DTA 120S. I was thinking about using it on my boat. Is there a cigarette lighter adapter I can use to power this? dc 24v Otherwise I have a power inverter I can use. But the DTA power supply (ac) is bigger than the amp.

Asked by: PauseButtonAudio
Unfortunately we do not have any 24VDC cigarette lighter type power supplies available for this.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-07

will this work for powering 1 subwoofer?

Asked by: jcjr
This depends on the subwoofer. We usually do not recommend these amplifiers for subwoofer duty, you would generally be farther ahead with something like the SA100.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-07-03

Will this amp power a pair of JBL 130 80hms speakers? Specs here: http://www.jbl.com/images/media/STUDIO_130_PI_EN.pdf

Asked by: Jonathan123
Yes this amp will work well with those speakers.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-30

Will this unit be damaged if I operate it in mono using only one channel?

Asked by: Kurt71
It will not be damaged, no.
Answered by: Eric Chandler
Date published: 2014-06-03

Could this amp work with an a b selector to power two 8 inch in ceiling speakers and two 6 inch outdoor speakers at the same time.

Asked by: Bigsoups
This amp would not generally be used to power two pairs at the same time. I usually recommend a full size amplifier for loads like that.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-06-03

Sorry for this n00b question. Would this amp be considered an integrated amplifier? I'm trying to find something that will work with a pre-amp so that I can power a Rega Planar 3 w/ the Overnight Sensation speakers

Asked by: Rirrutti
Yes, this is intended to function as an integrated amp and does not need a separate preamp when being fed standard line level sources. It does not have a phono level preamp though so a separate pre may be necessary with most turntables.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-06-02

Will this work connected to an airport express for air-play and a tv, one to the back and one to the front, using the headphone jack on the TV. I want to set the amp at a fixed vol and control the volume from the TV/iPhone. How does it switch inputs.

Asked by: mat1
The front AUX input on this amplifier overrides the rear, so whenever something is plugged into the front jack the rear is bypassed. Unfortunately this will not work for you without unplugging the front input all the time. You may want to consider the AudioSource AMP100 which has two inputs and is auto-switching.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-28

Would this Amp work for powering two Aura Bass Shakers (4 ohm 50w rms) wired in series to one output? 

Asked by: mtf612
I would not recommend this amp for that application. You would be better off using something like the Dayton SA100 or SPA250 wired in series to the output.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-20

I have always understood that the lower the % THD, the better. The description on this states 10% THD Max. That sounds very high since the other amps I own all fall < 0.5%. None are Class T (or class D) amps. Is that the difference?

Asked by: ODERFLA
This is just the threshold where the power was measured. The higher end amp that was measured at .5% would be specified at a higher power if measured when it reached 10%
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-05-16

hi, I was wondering how you switch between the audio source : the front input (for Iphone for example) and the rear input source  (let's say, another audio device), I don't see any button to switch from one to the other incoming audio source ?

Asked by: TomMTL
The front MP3 input overrides the rear RCA inputs whenever a cable is plugged into it, there is no switch on this amp for sources.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-30

Would this amp negate a need/desire for a zobel network? I'm thinking of using this to power a pair of DIY 18" tall speakers hooked up to my computer that originally had a zobel network designed into it.

Asked by: shadyghost
Zobel's compensate for a rise in impedance and are usually found as part of a low pass filter in a crossover. This amplifier will not require one.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-17

So in case I connect this amp to my processor zone 2 pre out it means that the internal DTA-120 pre is disabled?

Asked by: Balance
No, the pre out on the receiver is a fixed line level output. If it is not fixed, the DTA-120 will need to be set to a fixed volume in order for it to function properly.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-16

I have a pre processor with zone 2. Can I connect this amp to the zone 2 pre out to drive speakers in garden?

Asked by: Balance
Yes this will be a perfect choice for an application like that.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-16

The specifications say that a 2.1 mm DC plug is used but the pin on the amplifier, and female power supply socket, look closer to 2.5 mm. I want to use a 24V battery. Is the plug 2.1 mm, 2.5 mm, or something else?

Asked by: bsnelson
This amplifier does have a 2.5mm x 5.5mm plug for the power.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-16

Is there any mini FM tuner and small CD player available on the market, that I can connect to the amp? Nothing fancy. Personally, I would just run the amp with iPod via Pure i20, but for other members of my family CD player and radio i a must :)

Asked by: rev01
Unfortunately we do not have anything specifically for this application although I'm sure they are likely available. The used market will probably be your best option.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

I am planning on building a boombox with two of these. Is there a single power supply that you sell that would work to power two of these amps at full power?

Asked by: ChrisL
The best power supply for this application would be below.http://www.parts-express.com/24-vdc-146a-350w-regulated-switching-power-supply--320-316
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

how can i hook up a sub with the DTA-120?  i use the DTA-120 to run 301 bose and my i pod. need  sub to get the sound better

Asked by: summerhome
As long as the subwoofer has speaker level inputs and outputs it will work with this amplifier. You will have to plug the DTA-120 into the inputs and the Bose into the outputs, then adjust the gain and frequency knobs until you get the sound you want.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-14

What is the maximum volume point before this amp creates audible distortion? On my Topping TK20MK2 I can turn the volume about 90% before I hear any distortion.

Asked by: SeanC
The volume level when distortion sets in will be determined by the strength of the input signal to the amplifier. There is no set position when this occurs.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-04-10

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio DTA-120 Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 60 WPC

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1