295-310_ALT_2.jpg
295-310_ALT_2.jpg
 
295-310_ALT_0
 
295-310_ALT_1
 
295-310_ALT_2
 

Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer

Brand:| Model: DC200-8
Overview
The Dayton Audio DC200-8 Classic Series 8" woofer achieves high levels of performance at a reasonable price. It's perfect as the basis of a custom speaker project, or for repairs and upgrades.
Highlights
  • Great price/performance ratio
  • Treated non-pressed paper cone with rubber surround
  • Vented pole piece for better power handling
  • Clean, balanced sound quality
Part # 
295-310
Weight: 3.5 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$32.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$25.27
Buy 4-up$24.10
Part # 295-310
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer

Dayton Audio's DC200-8 Classic Series 8" woofer offers one of the best price/performance values available anywhere. This DC200-8 8" speaker, and in fact the whole Classic Series, has a non-pressed treated paper cone, ASV voice coil, vented pole piece, rubber surround, coated cloth dust cap, and excellent low frequency performance.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter8"
  • Power Handling (RMS)60 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)120 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response29 to 3,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity88 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1.38"
  • Magnet Weight15 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)31 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)6.4 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)2.36 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)2.96
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.47
  • Total Q (Qts)0.4
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)1.78 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.81 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)9.35 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)32.82g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)4.5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)211.2 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialTreated Paper
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter8.07"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter7.2"
  • Depth3.68"
  • # Mounting Holes4
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.46 ft.³
  • Sealed F366 Hz
  • Vented Volume1.36 ft.³
  • Vented F337 Hz
Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelDC200-8
  • Part Number295-310
  • UPC844632000256
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (114 Reviews)
  • Weight3.5 lbs.
  • Case Qty8
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer
Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer is rated 4.4386 out of 5 by 114.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from JBL replacementI purchased a pair of DC200-8's to replace the drivers that had the foam surrounds come apart in JBL LX-500 cabinets. These are not bad speakers, just not an equal match for the drivers they replaced. Overall low end performance is poor...to the point that the mid range and tweeter now over power the woofer.This was my first purchase from Parts Express and the buying, shipping, tracking experience was great.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not For The Advent HeritageI replaced four woofers in a set of Advent Heritage cabinets that were in need of refoaming with these. Unfortunately, there is a narrow band in the upper bass where they lose all articulation and turn to mud. I tried everything, 200 hours of break-in, recapping and swapping amps. Nothing cures the issue.In the end, I pulled them out, refoamed the OEM woofers - and now I have my great speakers back.These are not good plug & play replacements. Maybe some redesign of the crossovers will help, but that's further than I wanted to go.
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic soundI needed to replace the woofers in my JBL speakers, which I purchased originally in 1983. Parts express recommended this model Dayton woofer and the sound is great. I did have to enlarge the hole slightly for a good fit but it has been completely worth the effort. I will use Parts Express for any future purchases and projects.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great valuei bought this recently to replace the woofers in my marantz imperial 5 speakers. i was worried id lose the sound i had gotten used to and enjoyed from these classic speakers. well i now know where ill go if my other set goes to heck.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bose 301 Series ll - PERFECT repalcement wooferMy son wreaked my 8" woofer in my Classic Bose 301 Series ll right side speaker in his dorm. No damage to cone or surround just an obvious buzz at normal to high volume. I searched the web for a replacement and found this to be my BEST Choice.It's spec.'s are the best, with superior construction, greater range, higher power handling capacity and lower impedance. You don't need to look any further. I ordered 2 to replace both the right and also the left side woofer. Matching right and left side components is important for balanced sound. The tweeters were fine. Great service...received in them in 2 days!!!!THEY totally exceed my expectations. You can not find anything from Bose or anywhere else for this application and this price. Regardless, they fit perfectly, look superior to factory, sounds superior to factory. 22 years later these Bose 301's sound better the new. I hate to send them back to the dorm.I wish someone would have posted this solution and saved me a lot of time. The speakers now sound so great, I can't stop smiling and you will not be disappointed. You can see the difference in my photo and hear it in person.Best Bose 301 replacement woofer speaker out there and for a great price.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good ValueVery good value cuz its great construction wioth quality materiela and it sounds very good at a great price.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great replacement driverI rehabbed a pair of mid 80's AR 8" x1'' silk dome 2 way approximately .8 cu feetthe results were surprising The original drivers had an exaggerated low endThese drivers are fairly flat with a resonance freq. around 165 hz a little stuffing fixesthat. The box is lightly stuffed with poly-fill from the factory.I will add 6 oz moreand see what that does but I expect it won't' change it all that much.A little 1/2 octave slice on the eq works also.My next project is Altec 604E L,C,R with an 18'' single sub under the center channelI will use a pair of 12''with ribbon tweeters for the rear / surround speakers All run off3 -phase linear 400 power amps old school all the way.Using protools to feed the audioShould sound great.I will send pics when it's done. K
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm, and fixed the muddled soundGot a pair of 8" woofers for a pair of speakers. Mounting holes fit perfectly. Speakers sound great
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boston Acoustic A-60 ReplacementsI purchased these replacement speakers for the BA A-60 speaker box. They not only were a perfect fit, but they were a better speaker the the OEM speakers. Well done.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replace KLH woofer with good resultsOne of the 3 pairs of KLH 3 way speakers had issues with both woofers. They must have been on the cheap at some time in the past. Anyway, these were perfect dimensional matches and had a little better frequency response (on paper). Upon installation they sounded great, better than the original woofers. So much so that I displaced a pair of JBL speakers with these. Now, what to do with the JBL's...
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Emergency repair is fabulous upgradeThese were used to replace the speakers in vintage EPI 100 speakers bought in 1986. The EPI woofers were supposedly state of the art at the time (for a $100 dollar speaker) with a plastic coated cone, and a soft foam surround.The foam rotted, and people on the internet are trying to figure out how to repair them. It's not worth it. These new speakers have a heavier magnet, better construction, and were a perfect plug and screw-in fit. Repair time was 10 minutes each, and the performance is at least as good as original. I am looking forward to even more improved sound after many hours of break in. I could not be more pleased.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good alternativeI had to replace my 30 year old 12 inch woofer in my system. since I could not find a 12 inch 8 ohm 60 watt replacement, I settled for this 8 inch. It does the job very well for the loss of 4 inches. Not quite the same as my old speaker, but very good clean sound. lacks just a bit on the punch I use to get from my original, but again a very good sound for the size and price!
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement drivers - found the sweet spotPicked up 90s BIC speakers that sounded muddy to me and just did not sound right especially the highs. Box measured 1.7 ft^3 vented and then called parts-express. Purchased this driver due to the box match, also picked up a pre-assembled xover 2,500Hz and Dayton tweeters (may as well do it all).While the box was pulled apart it was painted a bronze hammered metal just for fun while waiting for my shipment. It arrived very quickly (paint was barely dry). Install was a perfect fit. The sound was amazing. Initially I was looking for more top range but this 8" driver brought in new lows I did not expect. Great balance, clarity, impressive.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice little wooferDrop in fit and improvement for my pawn shop 3-ways I bought. Here is what I found.PROS: Strong and deep bass. Fo resonance at 29Hz is about right. I removed my external subwoofer box because these go deep and loud enough. Very smooth response and reactive to input. Excellent for direct replacement in any 8" configurationCONS: Lowish SPL rating. Power handling is average, but better then OEM. Moves a lot of air in ported configuration...may cause a "huffing" sound when off-axis. No where near subwoofer power handling and performance...but, sounds goodCONCLUSION: A steal at their price and above average performance for replacing just about any stock 8" woofer.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 24-Year-Old Infinity Speakers Revamped!I have a pair of Infinity RS300 speakers from 1989. They originally had 6-ohm woofers with plastic cones and foam surround O-rings. After being stored in my garage here in North Las Vegas, NV for nine years, the foam surround dried up, cracked up, and fell out when I set them up and began using them again. These Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofers turned out to be perfect replacements, with terrific bass response and amazing sound clarity! When I put them to the test they did not break up or distort even in the most demanding passages. These speakers now sound better than ever! And at a fraction of the cost of purchasing new speakers. The new woofers also fit perfectly into the speaker cabinet openings, and the screw mounting holes also matched up perfectly. I have no doubt these woofers are of far better quality than the original woofers were.If you need quality replacement woofers , I highly recommend these.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good Bose 301 replacment or a budget build!I bought two of these to replace my Bose 301 series II woofers. Although, the specs don't add up perfectly, nothing does and we really don't know anyways because Bose does not publish there specs. But, let it be known that these speakers are so much better than the OEM's ever were! Even though the cabinets are undersized, the bass still goes quite low and everything is so much clearer, no more mud to contend with. Don't get me wrong, they are still in a small Bose enclosure and that will always limit them, but they are still a HUGE improvement over the original woofers. It makes you wonder what Bose puts into their products when a woofer at a retail cost of 25 bucks sounds better than the original? I also did a side by side comparison with the GRS 8" woofer that they sell here for 10.98 and the Dayton Classic beat it hands down also, by a long shot. The GRS would not go low and was not clear, nor would it be an improvement over the OEM. I have also built budget speakers from scratch with the Dayton Classic 8 (with the Dayton Silky tweeter) as a two-way, and in the right size enclosure it performs wonderfully. It will go all the way down to 30hz and remain clear. These speakers for their price cannot be beat.
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ValueRecently purchased a pair of these speakers to replace my damaged woofers. First, let me say that they arrived on the date stated when i ordered them and also, they arrived in great condition. No damage to the box. Second, they were not an exact fit into my existing speaker box, however, I was able to get them in with no alteration to my existing enclosure. Third, the speaker connections were different than my existing speakers, but was able to correct this problem with a simple terminal replacement. Overall, I would recommend these speakers to anyone...they sound great and were very affordable.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent price/quality ratio.I used two of these drivers in an Isobaric configured subwoofer driven by the Dayton Audio SA-100 plate amp. The sub resides in a studio/shed here in North Carolina and has played music almost daily and every Friday night for "Happy Hour" for eight years. It fills in low frequency for six full range drivers with one end of the shed open to the outdoors. It gets a real workout and is tough as nails. The F3 of the unassisted woofers in the vented cabinet is 36Hz. Driven by the plate amp the low frequencies are powerful and articulate. These drivers are pretty much "bullet proof". Excellent price quality ratio.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent even at Double the price!You read it correctly, even if I had paid $50 each, based on my success with these, I'd be happy with the result.I resurrected some old KLH speakers....sounded blah, but wife liked the oak finish for our living room.Replaced the woofer with these, and wow...some Real Bass finally....and I'm a stickler for clean deep BASS. Used mostly for music, powered by a 100 watt Sony receiver, to give you an idea of use.For those interested in similar upgrade...the cabinets are 0.93 cu.ft volume, with a small rear port. PE recommended these speakers to me, based on the cabinet dimensions/type...and they were right.I gave them a bigger budget, but to my surprise, they suggested these $24 speakers, and I couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from unsurpassed in this price range.after burning these in for several months,... i'm still impressed every time I listen to them. very accurate, quick,...and yes, capable of going very low. I have them in a less than ideal sized enclosure... .80cu. ft, tuned to 58hz. used for an outdoor application. 3" diameter port x 5" length. i'm amazed at how smoothly these guys roll off up top. so smooth, that I didn't see the need to add a choke. that, combined with super light treated paper cones and rubber surrounds,... is just what the doctor ordered.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio DC200-88" Classic Woofer #295-310As a replacement speaker for my Bose 701's (which are 50+ years old) they do an excellent job at a very reasonable cost. Everything is provided for easy reinstallation and fits in perfectly.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DC200-8 Outstanding Replacement WooferI purchased a pair of these speakers to replace the 8 inch driver in 20 year old Phase Tech 2 way system. The DC-200-8 brought these speakers back to life and the low end extension is as good or better than the original drivers. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice soundRevived my pair of 30 year old Epicure loudspeakers with torn woofers. Sound very good again. Great value for the money! I'd purchase this speaker again to repair them, or a similar loudspeaker.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JBL MR28 Better than New!I've had these speakers (JBL MR28) for over 20 years and only recently the main drivers went bad. I pondered what to do and Remembered Parts Express vast selection of replacement drivers. I went with The Dayton's DC-200-8 and I'm glad I did. Perfect fit and they sound better than new! Highly recommend them!!!!
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replaced woofers in JBL LX500Ordered the speakers and they arrived promptly. One made a clapping sound at low volumes and Parts Express handled it in a swift manner.I used these woofers to replace the ones that had died in a pair of JBL LX500 speakers. Make sure to re-tune the boxes though. According to the Parts Express calculator, I had to install a 2"x5.9" tube. A quick trip to buy a cardboard shipping tube did the trick. Speakers sound great!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced a JBLI am an old school broadcast engineer. I have had a set of JBL 4301B speakers in my office for years, (that should be YEARS).I finally wore out the cone on the right channel speaker, and looked for a replacement. Based on what I have heard about these Dayton's I put this speaker in its new home today, and I honestly cant tell you the difference in the Dayton and the "precious" JBL 8 inch. Freq response is exact, and I love it. I recommend this speaker to anyone.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" speaker replacementOne of the 8" woofers in my older JBL enclosures became rotten. So I decided to replace them both.I removed one, measured the hole carefully and searched on Parts Express website and found a reasonably priced replacement of the same exact dimensions. The orignal ones bore the Realistic trade mark (Yes, in a JBL speaker enclosure). The replacements had the same weight as the originals andsound just great. I was very pleased at the quality when I received them.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DC200-8 Classic WooferMy pair of older built-in speakers needed to be refoamed or replaced. After an excellent discussion with Parts Express rep. I opted to replace the woofers with inexpensive DC200-8s which the Parts Express rep. recommended for my application. They arrived quickly and were a perfect fit physically and sonically! Even the screw holes matched, and they sounded as good or better than the original woofers once installed. Great service, great product!
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from poorly glued, comes apartsurround is poorly glued to the basket, comes apart, sounds middy, good low end
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy, fast, nicebought a sub woofer, good price, fast service and delivery, works great
Date published: 2012-12-04

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer

I need the port size to get the best sound from this speaker in a .50 cu. ft. enclosure crossed over at 600 hertz.

Asked by: Moogie
That volume is actually better suited for a sealed alignment with that woofer. If you wanted to port it, you will only get about a 40 Hz tune from it, with a 2" diameter, 10" long port.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-20

Will the Dayton DC200-8 woofer fit in a Boston Acoustics A 70 speaker, they measure 8-1/4

Asked by: Joe108
Please email or call our tech support for a bit more help with this, 800-338-0531 or tech@parts-express.com.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-19

Hello, Was looking to replace the driver on Tannoy EFX 5.1 sub with this as the cone got damaged. Was wondering if the specs would match. Its also a 8" driver. Thanks

Asked by: dskumar
Unfortunately we do not have a cross reference for this type of thing. This will work as long as the original woofer was 8 ohm. If it was 4 ohm, I would recommend the Dayton Classic 8" Subwoofer instead:http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-dcs205-4-8-classic-subwoofer-4-ohm--295-200
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-03-24

I am going to use 2 woofers in one shared curved enclosure with 4" port in a 3 way system with double woofers. The volume for woofers is 2.4 ft3. What would be port length for F3 not higher than 38-40 hz and what should be the port tuning frequency?

Asked by: markpen883
I would recommend a port that is 6-1/2" long for a tuning frequency of 29 Hz and an F3 of 36 Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-06-18

I am looking to use the Dayton Audio DC200-8 8ohm in a sealed enclosure that has a volume of .86 cubic ft. Is this ok? It will be in 3 way box with GRS 5SBM-8 5" Sealed Back Midrange and Goldwood GT-510 1" Soft Dome Tweeter, 3way crossover 800/5000hz

Asked by: tt3168
This woofer will work fine in this volume, you can expect in room response into the 30's.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-21

Are these suitable as replacements for my old Advent Prodigy Towers? The hole diameter looks to be 7 1/2". Do you sell the recommended crossover capacitors as well? I have heard that it is a good idea to replace the caps.

Asked by: DallasDave35
Correction, these Advent speakers are just called "Prodigy". There appears to be one 8" diameter woofer set in a 7.5" cutout hole. 
Answered by: DallasDave35
Date published: 2014-02-12

I have an old pair of 2-way JBL L 46 speakers with blown woofers. Can you suggest a suitable replacement for me?

Asked by: Badge
This Dayton Classic or even the Dayton Series II 8" woofer will both be suitable replacements. Please double check dimensions before committing to a purchase, the cabinet may require modifications for a replacement driver to fit.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-02-12

I am looking for replacement woffer speaker for infinity BU-80 woffer.

Asked by: Tibi
I would recommend the woofer in the link below.http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-dcs205-4-8-classic-subwoofer-4-ohm--295-200
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-31

Is this the best replacement woofer for vintage Bose 601? Thanks...

Asked by: Maxim
This woofer works well as a 601 replacement. You may have to enlarge the cutout though, this requires a hole that is 7.2" in diameter for mounting.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-13

Will this woofer fit properly as a replacement in a Boston Acoustics A60?

Asked by: SSAT
There are two things to pay attention to when looking for a replacement woofer. The physical size which will determine it fits in the existing opening and the type of enclosure. The Boston A60 is a sealed enclosure which means this woofer will work okay as a replacement. Double check the dimensions of the original and compare them to this model. The cutout diameter and frame diameter will determine whether it will fit or not.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-09

Will the Dayton Audio DC200 8" Classic Woofer fit a Boston Acoustics A60 speaker box? What is your return policy? Thx

Asked by: SSAT
The dimensions required to verify this are listed on the website and in the spec sheet. Boston often uses proprietary parts so the dimensions may be slightly off. We do not have a cross reference guide.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-09

hi, how would these woofers do replacing stock AR 94 woofers?

Asked by: amcmachine
The best woofer for those cabinets would actually be the Goldwood GW-8028 which you can see below.http://www.parts-express.com/goldwood-gw-8028-8-butyl-surround-woofer-8-ohm--290-355
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-12-19

Dust cap size?

Odd question I know, but I'm designing a logo to place on the dust cap and I don't want to make the decal too big
Asked by: dkward
Design your logo at 2&1/2" and you should be fine.
Answered by: Joe from San Francisco
Date published: 2013-10-07

is this suitable for use in a f.a.s.t. system?

hey now.im looking build a speaker using this woofer and a 3" full range (and possibly a super tweeter down the road). i will be using a minidsp active crossover. i was wondering if this is a suitable woofer to use from the bottom end up to about 150hz (at most) where it would crossover to the full range driver? are there any other woofers in the dayton line, or ones that you carry that might do a better job than this one for the task i'm looking for? also what slope do you recommend i cross this over to the full range with?the full rangers im looking into are you typical mark audio alpair 7 or fostex 89wk type of driverthanks in advance!
Asked by: osd1
Absolutely!You can use just about any "Woofer", not a "Sub-Woofer", in a FAST system since most will easily extend up to where a mid would like to roll off. I would consider a higher crossover point around 300Hz to relieve your 3" fullranger of more bass duty.Good idea to crossover pre-amp, gives you lots more control and adjustability.
Answered by: chris45
Date published: 2013-08-21

What is the smallest sealed enclosure volume that will give me powerful mid bass and bass with an F3 no higher than 50-55.

Asked by: Mr.Nick
I would keep the box below .75 cu ft. And keep it sealed. Cool to see fellow Oklahomans here!
Answered by: Jacotenente
Date published: 2013-08-11

Diameter distance between screw holes

Hello - I want to drop these into my JBL lx500 cabinets. (3-way)The JBL woofer - Model 4086-1 measures 9 inches in diameter outside edge to outside edge. Can you let me know the diameter distance between the DC200-8 screw holes? I want to be sure these will fit. Thank you!
Asked by: TTaylor
The edge to edge measurement is 205mm (8.07in).The basket diameter is 183mm (7.20").The lip is then 11mm (0.43").The holes are roughly center in the lip, (seems a little closer to the outer edge from the pictures though, but the center will work because error would be two hairs larger than 1/32 of an inch) s0 5.5mm (0.22").Center to center spacing would be 188.5mm (7.42")These might be a little too small for your application. However I did see a review of the Dayton Audio RS225-8 8" Reference Woofer where user ski23 used them as a direct replacement for your cabinets (Edge to edge = 223mm/8.78", Basket Diameter = 184mm/7.24", Center to Center 209mm/8.23"). Remember to pick up a few extra screws for the 6 holes rather than 4 you have now.Another approach:I am assuming that the foam on your current speakers has fallen apart. If this is the case, I suggest buying a foam replacement kit(Run around thirty male deer). I have included a video of how to re-foam an LX series speaker.However if that seems too daunting, PE offers a speaker repair service(around forty male deer plus shipping). I have not used this, but if it anything like the rest of the companies customer service you will be grinning ear to ear. Check out the tab above for an instant quote.Best of luck on your replacement/repair work.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-05-08

will this woofer do ok crossed over at 2.5k?

using dayton audio's passive crossover at 2.5k (see below), and a piezo tweeter. Yes, i know not everyone likes piezos but i do so will this work ok? if you think i need a midrange, please recommend a specific one (or more) and the proper crossover. Thanks in advance!
Asked by: Dave B
You will probably be better off adding a midrange to the mix. Our Dayton Classic 5-1/4" would be perfect and will work with any of the 3 way crossovers we offer.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-04-06

Would these work with my rebuild/upgrade?

I want to have some nice woofers in my vintage Radio Shack Optimus T-110 cabs. The cabs support 1 tweeter, 1 8in woofer, and 1 10in passive radiator to vent. They are 12x35x11.5(WxHxD) and I want to crossover at 2,000Hz with Dayton's crossover (as I don't know how to build one myself). Will this fit my needs?
Asked by: RushGuy2112
the woofer selection depends on the tweeter response ... 8's do not play openly at high freq ,, they start to go dull and beam midrange,,,all compromises in a two way, and a good entry level project to allow your ears to learn what the crossover sounds like, your ears learn too. they are sorta a read only,and your brain does the binarual and tonal information,,,, with memory of the sound field you are pleased with,,, it takes about two weeks to learn and that speakers sound different in different rooms.and a few dollars on the price can play a major part in the final sound quality..have fun DIY
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2013-04-05

sealed enclosure size

would this woofer work with the .53ft knock down birch enclosure ?? if not what would be a good match for the enclosure? trying to create a secondary inexpensive home theater .. thank you !!!
Asked by: mlpaci
This woofer will work very well in that volume but you probably wont get much below 50 Hz from it so a subwoofer will be required.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-01-02

Enclosure type and size range.

What are the enclosure sizes this woofer works best in, both sealed and vented? I'd use these for music so a super low F3 is not necessary. How would the enclosure change, if at all, if I used 4 per enclosure?
Asked by: chris45
I would recommend a sealed box of .85 cu ft. You can lower the extension a bit by porting it in 1 cu ft (3" port 13" long) but at the expense of power handling. Both graphs look pretty good though.If you wanted to do all 4 in one box, I would go with 3.35 cu ft. sealed. The low extension would increase to compete with the ported enclosure and you would retain the smoother frequency response that way. This actually looks to be the best option
Answered by: Musgofasa
Date published: 2012-12-30

will these work well in a free air situation????????

i was thinking of doing 4 in the rear deck of a 1995 toyota tercel sedan ona 400 watt sub amp
Asked by: audio bassics
Yes they will work in free air, but won't output their full potential. Mounting on the rear deck lid isn't totally free air. This is how it was done in the 70's and it sounded good to us!
Answered by: Star Ryder
Date published: 2014-06-18

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio DC200-8 8" Classic Woofer

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1