295-300_ALT_2.jpg
295-300_ALT_2.jpg
 
295-300_ALT_0
 
295-300_ALT_1
 
295-300_ALT_2
 

Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer

Brand:| Model: DC130AS-8
Overview
Choose the Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 Classic Series 5-1/4" woofer for use as a great replacement bookshelf speaker, midrange in 3-way designs, or even as a small subwoofer. The shielded design allows for use near tube TVs and focuses the magnetic flux in the gap for high sensitivity.
Highlights
  • Great bang-for-the-buck driver can be used as a woofer, midbass, or even as a small subwoofer!
  • Smooth frequency response up to 2 kHz and great bass response
  • Rubber surround, aluminum voice coil, and extended bump plate
  • Shielded design increases performance and allows it to be used near tube TVs
  • 4 ohm impedance for series pair use in MTMs and center channel speakers
Part # 
295-300
Weight: 2.5 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$25.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$19.87
Buy 4-up$18.15
Part # 295-300
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer

Dayton Audio Classic Series woofers are excellent for use as replacement speakers or for new loudspeaker system design and construction. The DC130AS-8 shielded 5-1/4" woofer has developed quite a reputation for having the best bang-for-the-buck performance and value available anywhere. You can even be use the DC130AS-8 as a small subwoofer! The excellent low frequency performance will amaze you.

A non-pressed treated paper cone allows for smooth frequency response, while the high temperature aluminum voice coil increases power handling without compression. Longevity is ensured with the use of a rubber surround, treated cloth dust cap, and an extended bump plate.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter5-1/4"
  • Power Handling (RMS)30 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)60 Watts
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Frequency Response55 to 4,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity88 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1"
  • Magnet Weight10 oz.
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)56.5 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)5.8 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.88 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)2.28
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.66
  • Total Q (Qts)0.51
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.37 ft.³
  • Mechanical Compliance of Suspension (Cms)0.89 mm/N
  • BL Product (BL)5.27 Tm
  • Diaphragm Mass Inc. Airload (Mms)8.93g
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)2.5 mm
  • Surface Area of Cone (Sd)91.6 cm²
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialTreated Paper
  • Surround MaterialRubber
  • Voice Coil Wire MaterialCopper
  • Voice Coil FormerAluminum
  • Basket / Frame MaterialSteel
  • Magnet MaterialFerrite
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter5.28"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter4.72"
  • Depth3.09"
  • # Mounting Holes4
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.19 ft.³
  • Sealed F395 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.6 ft.³
  • Vented F347 Hz
Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelDC130AS-8
  • Part Number295-300
  • UPC844632000218
  • Product CategoryWoofers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (26 Reviews)
  • Weight2.5 lbs.
  • Case Qty12
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer
in the Woofers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer
Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer is rated 4.3846 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade/Replacement for LX5The foam surround on the 6 ohm woofers in my LX5's finally decayed, so I got a pair of these to replace them. After a break-in period, I find the LX5's to be greatly improved.One catch - the screws used for speaker mounting in the LX5's are #7 X 1/4" flat bottom self-tapping. They are not long enough due to the thicker gasket on the DC130's. I had to buy 3/4" pointy end screws and belt sand them down to get them to fit. Maybe I'm just stupid, but three hardware stores did not have the exact size. I suppose if you looked long enough ...The LX5's only have a first order crossover, so I may revisit these boxes is with a Xover upgrade.Bottom line : excellent upgrade, and good luck find the oddball sized #7 screws.
Date published: 2009-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good soundUsed these in a home built speaker cabinet. Dropped it right in and they sound great. Good low range.
Date published: 2009-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than the original I replacedI used a pair of these to replace the drivers in a small "Mini-Advent Subwoofer System." The sound is richer than than that of the originals and quite smooth. (I had to remount the speaker wire connections with a homemade standoff to make a little more room, as these are slightly deeper than the originals.)
Date published: 2009-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than originalsThese woofers are better than the ones in my original Boston Acoustics. The suspension finally rotted away in the old speakers and these replaced them. Perfect fit. Sound great!
Date published: 2009-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installed in Fiero Factory sub-woofer enclosureMounting holes lined up to replace factory subwoofer speaker in Fiero. I mounted on top of the retaining ring using longer screws and nyloc nuts. Then used the old speaker surround ring under the retainer as a gasket with a little sealant.
Date published: 2009-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ReplacementThis speaker was a perfect replacement. My system sounds just like it did in 2000 when I purchased it.The price was great and the shipment was great. I recommend Parts Express to anyone who needs a part.
Date published: 2009-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need some breaking in...I had to replace some blown woofers of same size in to Infinity Sterling series 2-ways. The tweeter always dominated and with these new woofers it seems even more unbalanced. The woofer I replaced had the foam style for the area the the speaker does its "throw" and I'm thinking that maybe I should have just replaced the speaker with that style. The rubber part of this new speaker just doesn't give as much when given 50 watts although, my intensions were to replace the previous speaker with something that wouldn't get damaged as easily with the occasional peeks that can destroy a speaker and I think these Daytons should last a long time.Also: Parts Express had my order to me the very next day when I was just expecting a 2-5 days. Wow!!
Date published: 2009-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bargain Price, Performs Wellgood value
Date published: 2009-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Radio Shack replacementThis speaker fits right in the cut out in Radio Shacks two-way in the wall units. Their basicly the same speak.
Date published: 2009-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good replacement woofer for Advent MiniI used the Dayton woofers to replace the "foam-rotted" originals. Had to remove original crossover components to make room for the added depth of the replacement woofers. However, it was worth it, as the Advent Mini's now sound better than ever!
Date published: 2009-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ExcellentI used this woofer as a replacement for my Minimus 11 speaker system. It sounds better than the original.
Date published: 2008-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great replacement woofer in minispeakerReplaced the woofers (degraded foam surrounds)in a pair of Radio Shack Optimus (RCA) LX-55's. Mounting holes for this Dayton Classic pincushion frame speaker lined up perfectly with the plastic baffle rear-mounting holes. The woofers are mounted slightly back due to the frame design and are slightly larger than the orginal woofers. I added some additional fill material to the speaker enclosures to minimize noise coming out of the small ports. The speakers sound great and have more punch and tighter mid-bass compared to the OEM woofers. These woofers, combined with the LX-55's Linaeum tweeters and a Polk 10" subwoofer are just what the doctor ordered for listening to music or watching an action-packed movie. This 5 1/4" woofer is an excellent choice to bring these minispeakers back to life!
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price/PerformanceBuilt DIY Dayton HT speaker project with these and am very happy. Speaker performs about as good as anything in this price range.All said the DIY Dayton HT project was fast, funny and easy from start to finish. I recommend it for anyone looking for a DIY project that wants very good performance without spending very good amount of money.
Date published: 2008-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great 5-1/4" Woofer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Replaced 5-1/4" Woofers in my Polk RTi A1s (Bright) with these. Mids clearer, deeper soundstage, syncs well with my Lab 12 sub. Great for two way speaker. P.E. Great job. Up next the tweeters!!!!!!!
Date published: 2008-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DHTUsing 6 of these in the DHT project and they sound great. They do not need a lot of power to get loud enough to enjoy.
Date published: 2008-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not the prettiest...I bought five of these for the Dayton Home Theater project in the showcase. I just finished the speakers and I am very happy with the performance. The speaker does not have a pretty trim ring like others, but the sound of these little DHTs is really nice, with a sub, of course.
Date published: 2008-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speakerlow cost great speaker
Date published: 2008-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good DriverVery good driver for AV system.
Date published: 2008-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the moneyThis is a fantastic driver for the money with very clean midrange performance and surprisingly good bass. I'd suggest using two or more if you want any serious SPL out of them, but for a standard 2-way bookshelf this unit does great.
Date published: 2007-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Replacement SpeakerUsed this to replace little Advent speakers... Mostly purchased for size... but in comparison these little, inexpensive woofers were remarkable compared to the original Advents...
Date published: 2007-08-18

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio DC130AS-8 5-1/4" Classic Shielded Woofer

Customer Projects

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1