300-375_ALT_1.jpg
300-375_ALT_1.jpg
 
300-375_ALT_0
 
300-375_ALT_1
 

Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair

Brand:| Model: DAEX25
Product Video
Overview
Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciters turn virtually any solid object into a speaker by vibrating it at speeds of up to 20,000 cycles per second. Test the limits of your imagination.
Highlights
  • Turn any solid surface into a great sounding speaker system
  • Create a completely hidden surround sound system
  • 3M adhesive pads for secure and fast placement
  • Wideband frequency response (dependent on attached material)
Part # 
300-375
Weight: 0.4 lbs.  
OUT OF STOCK
Due In: 9/30/2014
List Price$21.99
You Save23%
Your Price
$16.90
Buy 5-up$16.00
Part # 300-375
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair
Check Out Some Of Our Customer's Videos Featuring This Product
   

Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciters turn virtually any solid object into a speaker by vibrating it at speeds of up to 20,000 cycles per second. The vibrations modulate the air, which is then decoded by the brain as sound. We've tested and placed Sound Exciters on nearly everything you can imagine; under a desk, in an overhead cabinet, behind picture frames, inside cans, behind paper plates, inside binders, cardboard, scraps of wood and even the box they came in! Test the limits of your imagination. Each stick on Sound Exciter is designed for a wide frequency response and great sensitivity. Built-in push terminals enable quick connection to speaker wire (sold separately). Strong 3M adhesive pads affix to nearly any solid surface for secure, long-lasting playback. Sold in pairs.

Specifications: • Power handling: 5 watts RMS/10 watts max • Impedance: 8 ohms • VCdia: 1" • Re: 7.15 • Le: 77.39 mH • Dimensions: 3-1/2" dia. x 3/4".

To learn more about Dayton Audio Exciters, and for help on which Exciter is right for you, check out Dayton Audio's Undertanding Exciters White Paper.



Product Specifications
  • ApplicationFull-Range Exciter
  • Impedance8 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)5 Watts
Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelDAEX25
  • Part Number300-375
  • UPC844632070709
  • Product CategoryTactile Transducers, Exciters & Bass Shakers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (51 Reviews)
  • Weight0.4 lbs.
  • Case Qty80
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair
in the Tactile Transducers, Exciters & Bass Shakers product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair
Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair is rated 4.2157 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DecentThese looked to be promising little devices. My intended installation was above the ceiling tiles.Oddly enough, however, the adhesive pad applied to the end of the voice coil is quite different than the adhesive pads found at the ends of the suspension fingers.I found that the smaller pads were a foam type of double stick tape, and they adhered relatively well, while the voice coil double stick pad was very thin and worked itself loose very easily.Once that center pad works loose, these distort and make noises while the voice coil smacks into the baffle.Other similar transducers recommend using permanent glue during installation, and I would also recommend this for these drivers.In my implementation, I placed four of these in a room that is approximately 30' x 30' x 12' and powered them with the inexpensive Dayton T-amp. The output from this setup is not "party loud" but sufficient for background music.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product but LimitedThese are astoundingly fun little devices. I put them on Foamcore. I used 10"x14" cuts... I found that longer lengths and narrower widths (to a certain extent) produced a fuller and wider range of sound. They're being powered with a 15w RMS amp and can get much louder than I ever really need. Running a sound check they have a few peaks. around 80hz, 150hz, 300hz-1200hz, by 4000hz it starts to recede. They carry up to about 7000hz before the sound starts to fall of more. They're mounted to a set of universal speaker stands and, to be honest, look and sound quite impressive for the cost. They even offer a good amount of punch with a flat EQ. You can feel the bass in the floor 2 feet from the stands. though, admittedly anything below 70hz is pretty weakCaveat though, My system sounds a bit flat near the top of the sound spectrum. The clarity is there, but it just seems to lack depth, if that makes sense. a small soft dome tweeter would open it up just enough to be an extremely nice sounding pair of monitors. Subwoofer is a necessity though for heavy bass music.
Date published: 2010-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will these work on glass ?Looking for some feedback on whether these transducers could work on glass? They might be a simple solution to providing some basic sound capability on some glass display cases (1/4" safety glass), without installing/exposing standard speakers to damage. Not looking for quality sound, just some basic background music.Means everying can be contained within the locked glass cases. rgrdsacPS: the reviews 'sound' too good to be real!
Date published: 2010-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The price gives you a hintI would be willing to pay more for a good product like this, they need lots more power, the quality is ok, but if you intent to do a nice speaker then this is not for you, wish it had at least 50 w or more power to make a nice panel speaker, but with the 6 w it has dont get excited. Really nice as a toy, but thats it.
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like 'em on thin birch plywood.I put each one on a 24x20" piece of thin birch plywood (3mm or 1/8"). Just some scrap I had around. I thought it sounded significantly better than foam board...looks much cooler too. Now I just have to find a good place to put them. What I really want to try is making guitar speakers from them. I think you could really use these to tailor interesting tone.btw, You have to prove your not a robot in order to post a review...but I am a robot.
Date published: 2009-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creative, but not a High-end SolutionI have always wanted to experiment with a set of these. Regular speakers are going to produce better sound, however, if you have a unique application and don't want to spend alot of money, these may do the job. You will have to play with the material that you mount them to see which is the best one for your application. Cardboard boxes & posterboard produce a nice full sound, but could use some help from some tweeters. Mounting it to a thin sheet of metal produces better highs. I think the guy that mounted them to a 1' sq. sheet of metal/foamcore backed, with tweeters across them and coupled them with a subwoofer has got the right idea. His youtube demo is very compelling. I set these up on boxes with some tweeters across them in my shop driven with 20W/ch. and everyone that walked in was amazed. One guy was so impressed that he bought them for his camper. These didn't work well for my app- The owner of this 100yr. old mansion wanted sound, but didn't want speakers showing. I was hoping to bury them behind drywall in a large room where the in-wall depth is only 2", but the drywall didn't work well as a diaphram. These will only produce low to moderate sound levels. If you like to crank your sound, stick with traditional speakers. Great little product though. Ideal for those that like to tinker.
Date published: 2009-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Arrived in time for HalloweenA pair of these will work great attached to our steel exterior door for spooking the little ones on Oct 31. The highs are a bit muted in this application, but the large radiating area does nice things for bass response. The Dayton T-Amp seems to provide just the right amount of power to drive these cleanly.
Date published: 2009-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good sound once you find the right diaphragmonce you've found the right material and size to use as a diaphragm, these sound amazing. I'm currently using 10"x10" foam-board (what you would use for science fair or business presentations, cut up), and they match my 40 year old pioneer bookshelf speakers in quality. the only issue I have is they're so light, my cat keeps knocking them off the TV, but that's more an issue with placement than with the speakers themselves.
Date published: 2009-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tinkerers dreamIf you've got an itch to build something that will keep people talking, these are a great starter. It'll take you days to find what you really want to stick them to, and then you'll come up with other ideas each time you use them. I use them to build art computer speakers, making an artpiece from wood and metal, and then sticking on of these on the inside for a truly unique set of speakers. I drive them with cheap Taiwanese amps from ebay that I've frankensteined and put in a central art fixture. Everyone raves.just another nifty though.... CAREFULLY remove the top and bottom support pieces from a hollow core door, stick, wire, replace supports and enjoy. the size of the door gives a truly amazing sound....
Date published: 2009-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like everyone else has saidCool device, good price. No magic. It's just a driver without a cone. Whatever you mount it on becomes the diaphragm. Interesting aspect we found is that up close they are not loud but the sound has a transparency that seems to carry a good distance. These are a great, cheap device to play with and we are working up a talking picture device using images mounted on Gatorfoam. Order at least 2 or 3 pairs - You'll like them.
Date published: 2009-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow this recipe for mind bending audio !!!!!I bought two of these little guys with minimal expectation. I was somewhat suprised at how small they were. After opening the box, I spent the rest of the day holding them to about a million different materials. As a final setup, I used two .030"thk. x 12x12" pieces of aluminum sheet and also two 12x12" x 1/4" pieces of paper foam paper sandwich board from a craft shop. I stuck the transducer in the center of the aluminum, and used scotch tape (two pieces per corner) to attach the foam board to the other side of the aluminum like a sandwich. I also bought a pair of little 500ohm. tweeters from an electronic surplus store here, for $2 and super glued them to the foam board at the 12oclock position and hooked them in parallel with the transducers. I mounted these guys to a set of micro speaker stands and used them as satelites, with a 12" passive sub. I was in awe when I heard the finished assemblys. The realism of sound is breath taking, highs to the moon, mids to die for, and the sub carries the lows to combine into freakin unbelieveable sound stage. This setup is being powered by a KT88 Music Angel amp. The combo has become a huge conversation piece at my house. People think I am fooling them and start looking for hidden speakers immediately. I am definately ordering more of these, you should do the same!!! I am planning on putting a video of them on youtube soon, check my page to see them in action! Cut and paste smokinjoeh2750 in the search window to see my videos.Smokin Joe !!!
Date published: 2009-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Interestingi've been playing with these for about 2 months now and i cant believe how neat these little things are. i have stuck them to literally everything and i still cant make up my mind on where to put them. everything has a unique sound and i love it. if you need a hidden speaker or just a cool toy to play with these should definitely be a top pick
Date published: 2009-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing for overhead sound.I built two, 2' X 6' wood frames and cut paintable insulation sheets to fit recessed in them. I found the sweet spot for placement of the sound exciters on each and suspended them from the roof of my covered deck. I now have 24 square feet of speakers outside. The sound is awesome but needs a little more bass. I might go with a hollow core design to get the bass. That will be my next project. The great part about this is that the sound seems to carry around my yard at lower volume levels than with conventional speakers. A friend is thinking about trying these on the outside of his above ground pool. It's possible they might work well enough to provide an underwater sound system on the cheap. I can see where a person can get carried away coming up with places to use these little guys. I hope they make some in the future that will handle a little more power. They are a lot of fun to experiment with.
Date published: 2009-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works like expectedI'm using these transducers for a sound-sculpture installation, so I can't speak to how they work exactly as advertised, but they are pretty solid little guys, and can produce interesting effects when hooked up to a variety of unusual materials. Just make sure you don't overpower them. They seem to function about the same as the Sonic Impact Sound Pads (though I believe these are not being sold anymore), but they do not include the cardboard attachment, which I think is an improvement.
Date published: 2009-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable!These are everything other reviewers say they are. The amount of quality sound I am getting from these is amazing. Even my wife agrees on this one.
Date published: 2009-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta try them !I put a pair of these on the back of the hollow interior door to the bathroom near my workbench (moved them around to different spots BEFORE sticking them, turns out near the upper corners worked best). The sound is incredible, even had to throttle down the bass on my receiver a bit. Wired them thru an a/b speaker switch with my other speakers in the garage and I'm finding myself listening to the "door" most of the time now.
Date published: 2009-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NiceThese transducers sound really good attached to the thin wood paneling found in older mobile homes. I am working on a three way design which should sound even better.
Date published: 2009-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable!I mounted two of the Exciters on a drop ceiling panel in my office--EVERYONE loved them, and was amazed by the sound!!
Date published: 2009-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made the wife happyI bought these on a lark but when I installed then on the light bar above our bed, I got rid of the speakers my wife wasn't crazy about. I was suprised in the sound quality at low volumes (where they get played most of the time). These won't replace your $500 bookshelf speakers, but they work great for what I needed.
Date published: 2009-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These soundpads are the bombI tried cardboard , and corragated plastic posterboard. the sound is good for what they are and i will go on to experament more. they sound much like an open baffle system, as basically they are. i plan to use 4 in an array for each of the 2 rear channels in my surround system1.5'x3.5' cardboard covered with a picture u know the w.a.f factor. they are fun
Date published: 2009-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting product, but wait before sticking!First, I'll say these are neat for their price. They certainly don't "rattle your bones" as one reviewer posted. But they're pretty cool for computer speakers if mounted to the correct material. Well, I bought 2 pair.....luckily. I read through some of the other reviews about how they stuck them on different objects to see how they sounded. The way others were talking, I assumed the sticky pads could easily be pulled off and reapplied a few times. Some adhesive tape lets you do that.So, I pealed off the backing on the sticky pads and stuck the speakers on the front of a worthless blank CD. It looked neat hanging by the computer and sounded okay, nothing crazy. So I figured I would try it on a larger piece of cardboard or something like that. Yeh, you guessed it, the sticky pads are extremely sticky. It makes me wonder why you can't buy tape like that in the store! Trying to peel this off the CD with great care ripped the sticky pads off the speaker front exposing the inner workings of this neat device.So basically, in the first 10 minutes I had one pair down, one pair left.They're neat and fun to fool around with though. For the price, I can't complain, and would recommend these to others, but I would warn them about the sticky tape.Decent sound comes from a larger piece of cardbord or foam board. Just don't stick them on anything until you are 100% sure that's where they should go.
Date published: 2009-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little product!I like to experiment with some of my larger home installations and decided to purchase these little Sound Exciters for a bathroom project. While I already had two regular ceiling speakers in a bathroom, I decided to install these Sound Exciters on the back of a fiberglass tub/shower combo unit. Wow, it not only worked but I was shocked at how clear and the range of these little units on fiberglass! Great novelty item and can be support for larger systems like in the above use.
Date published: 2009-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a surprise in a boxi was blown away by what these lil guys will do to just about any flat surface.. i put the set i recently bout inside the outter teirs of my basement computer station.. n they sound incredible for what they r. they lack quite a bit in the low end but thats what a sub is for n i have one hooked up as well and overall i am very pleasedthx dayton
Date published: 2009-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from these are just plain worth a test driveif you order these, get more than one set.You will stick them to all objects in sight including the family pet.Considering the principals by which they operate, these things should fail, however, not only do they not fail, they usually exceed my expectations.no, they will not create room shaking bass as proper subs might. and no they will not reproduce the delicate highs of dome tweeters They will add flare to certain craft projects, and they will provide a rather impressive sound quality
Date published: 2009-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the money, these speakers are awesome.I installed them in the headboard of my bed, attached to a T amp, connected to a wireless Squeezebox. They sound terrific and don't clutter up the room with a lot of gear. I'll surely be buying more of these.
Date published: 2008-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for surround speakers...First, Parts Express was quite fast. My wife ordered them what I thought would be a bit too late, but Parts Express got them here before Christmas. Very fast shipping, and I will be buying more from them.Onto the product. I've been looking at these for quite a while and telling my wife all the things I might be able to do with them, so she picked me up a couple of pairs for Christmas. The consensus from previous reviews was that they sound best attached to foam core board... and they do. The lighter and more ridgid the material they are attached to, the better they sound.What I did with them: I bought a pair of 16"x32" foam core boards (1/4" thick) from an art supply store and cut them in half. I then taped an exciter to each piece of board (4 in total) and arranged them in two loose "V" shapes on either side of my couch. This worked quite well to create a rear soundstage for movies (yes, these can create a soundstage). They aren't going to compare to a high quality set of surround speakers but they actually sound better than my Celestion alien-sattelites and an old pair of Kenwood bookshelf speakers I have lying around (for use as surrounds).After I move, I'll use the adhesive to stick them permanently to the boards. I also might try some larger pieces of board, or a different thickness, and if my opinion changes at all from now until then I will comment again. One thing is for sure though, I *will* be using these as surrounds. They have kind of an omni-directional effect with the setup I tried out, and I like it.I can also see how they could be used for all sorts of hidden audio systems. Overall a great buy even if you don't need them for anything in specific.
Date published: 2008-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A remarkable sound maker.I am always fascinated by how well these Sound Exciter Transducers sound.I strongly recommend them for audio reinforcement applications,or where large speaker boxes are not practical.Only one negative:after receiving 3 boxes of DAEX25'S,I found 4 out of 6 motors popped out of the spider-frame.Perhaps a change in packaging or stronger dual stick foam?
Date published: 2008-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great valueI used a pair of these to give my wife a "no-footprint" computer speaker system. I mounted them directly to the bottom of her desk. I used the rear channels on a Logitech Z560 system to drive them.The sound is good, not great. However at this price point and their unique features, they can't be beat.
Date published: 2008-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good For The Pricedepending upon what you put these on, the can work very well. works well with thin walled objects, or less dense objects. but for what you pay, these are a pretty cool little product.
Date published: 2008-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable!I've plastered these to virtually every surface of my office throughout the day; the output and clarity from an 18" x 18" piece of cardboard is astonishing. Not the gimmicky piece of hardware I was expecting for 10 bucks. Running the pair off of the Sonic Impact T amp. These things have to be heard to be believed!
Date published: 2008-12-02

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair

Is it possible to produce 3 dimensional sound using exciters with a curved surface?

From what iv seen in the product video posted above, when mounted on a flat panel the sound produced is quite unidirectional so you can only hear it properly when standing directly in front of the panel. If i was to mount one or more of these exciters inside a thin plastic bowl for example and turn it upside down would it be possible to produce a more 3D sound clearly and uniformly audible from most anywhere around it?
Asked by: mr niffles
The vast majority of speakers and transducers are actually omni-directional in nature, it's the enclosure that makes them directional. 3D sound, on the other hand, has less to do with the speaker(s) than it does the actual recording method. For true 3D sound, you need more than one speaker or transducer. At any rate, I always suggest experimentation with these exciters. The only way to really determine if they'll work for your situation is to get some and try them out. Place them on different surfaces, in different positions, and find something that works for your application. If you find that they're just absolutely not going to do the trick for you, simply take advantage of our 45-day satisfaction guarantee.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2013-09-19

Your demo sounds ok, how can SQ be improved?

So if the surface they're mounted to changes the overall sound, then which surfaces produce the high, mid, and low ranges the best. They're so cheap that I could imagine a tri-pair, mounted to different materials to produce a richer, higher, dynamic sound.
Asked by: asmith5398
As with most things audio-related, there really is no hard and fast answer as to what is the "best" surface or material for this product. It's subject to the opinion of the listener. The beauty of this product is its versatility. I'd recommend reading the numerous customer reviews on this and similar products, see what other people have had good results with, and experiment on your own ideas. As you point out, they're not expensive, and they don't need to be mounted permanently to test what they sound like in a particular area, or on a certain material. The "best" surfaces are whatever you can come up with to best satisfy the requirements of your specific application, and what sounds good to you!
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2013-09-19

Videos

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio DAEX25 Sound Exciter Pair

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1