091-1245_ALT_9.jpg
091-1245_ALT_9.jpg
 
091-1245_ALT_0
 
091-1245_ALT_9
 

Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold

Brand:| Model: BPA-38G
Overview
Superior design, materials, and construction, at a sensible price—the Dayton Audio BPA-38G heavy-duty binding post pair is the low cost/high fidelity option!
Highlights
  • 24kt. gold plating for best signal transfer and corrosion resistance
  • 1-1/2" rear bolt mounts in speaker cabinets from 3/8" to 1" thick
  • Large diameter knurled heads enable positive finger-tight connections
  • Knurled shaft prevents post rotation
Part # 
091-1245
Weight: 0.16 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$11.49
You Save26%
Your Price
$8.48
Buy 10-49 $7.94
Buy 50-up$5.98
Part # 091-1245
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold

The Dayton Audio BPA-38G heavy-duty binding posts were designed with the audiophile in mind. Quality, 24kt. gold plating assures the highest possible signal transfer and resists harsh environmental conditions that cause performance-robbing corrosion. The BPA-38G binding posts can be used with banana plugs or will accept wire up to 8 gauge, and large diameter knurled heads allow positive finger-tight connections.

An extra long rear bolt (1-1/2") facilitates mounting in speaker cabinets with walls up to 1" thick (3/8" minimum thickness). To install, simply drill a 1/4" hole and gently tap the binding post in place. The knurled shaft will keep the post from turning, and also creates an air-tight fit. Overall length is 2-1/4". Sold in color coded pairs with solder tabs.



Product Specifications
  • Style / TypeSingle
  • Contact PlatingGold
Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold
  • BrandDayton Audio
  • ModelBPA-38G
  • Part Number091-1245
  • UPC844632018459
  • Product CategoryBinding Posts & Plates
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (92 Reviews)
  • Weight0.16 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold
in the Binding Posts & Plates product category.

Reviews

Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold
Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold is rated 4.7174 out of 5 by 92.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Klipsch Heresy transformed.Great company with a focus on customer satisfaction. The gold plated speaker binding post are very high quality, easily installed, and the price was very reasonable. I recently purchased a vintage pair of Klipsch Heresy speakers and these posts allowed me to set them up with vertical passive bi-amping. This type of bi-amping uses two stereo amplifiers, one for each speaker as you would mono blocks. Except with stereo amps one channel of each amp drives a woofer, and the other channel drives the midrange and tweeter. With this set up the woofer is essentially removed from the higher frequencies signal path. I've heard it said the Heresy can be harsh in the upper frequncies, bi-amping has turned them into another speaker entirely, so much more musical. But the Heresy is still a little light in the bass so I'm also using two Dayton 12" subs in stereo to fill in the lower registers. This set up really rocks with all types of music, if you've never used subs in stereo then you don't know what you're missing. If you already own one sub, then buy another and connect them as a stereo pair. Place them near your main front speakers for proper time alignment and be prepaired to be blown away.Martin
Date published: 2013-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YupI would buy these every time, they are an excellent value, and are great quality.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair GoldQuality Construction, with easy and adjustable solder tab. Attractive, effective looking post. I've bought multiple.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value posts, not for most spade lugsWithout a doubt these are well made and an excellent value, it is a shame that there has not been an equally high value 8mm wide spade lug made to use with them however.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!Just what I needed and works perfectly, the same as in some high quality speakers I used to own!
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from high end..these binding post are very good well build..and a welcome addition..to any build..
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well built with some replacement OEM use.I originally bought two pairs of these for my TC Sounds EPIC 12 project. They worked extremely well with the 10AWG speaker wire I ran to each subwoofer. I eventually downsized to a single sub, and forgot about the extra set of binding posts I had in the closet. Recently picked up a pair of Bowers and Wilkins DM600 S3 with a single missing binding post screw-on tightening cap. These binding posts supplied the piece. Same size, color and threading. B&W wants like 25 bucks for a single post (understandable, they are a speaker company, not a parts company), for the price these are a steal. Other B&W's use them, all the way back to the old 500 series. Some Wharfedales and Boston Acoustics also interchange. Thought it might be helpful to know!
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty and nice-looking!No disappointment here. They are very heavy duty and they look really sharp too. No problem installing and they should carry any audio amp load you can send to them. I'm pretty certain they could carry enough current to jump start my car. Excellent price-point.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is it! Follow the instructions and enjoyI used this to add binding posts to a 18" PA style subwoofer cabinet. I drilled through the wood, added these (trying to space them for banana plug use) and then glued on the inside with some Gorilla glue (it expands as it dries, so it fills in any cracks or imperfections, especially with particle board.)Once bolted up, they have a nice positive feel to both unscrewing and tightening. They look great as well. Highly recommended. I'm sending 1200 watts through them via 10 gauge cables to the sub, and I'd be confident sending double that.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great upgrade binding postsI used these on a set of JBL L-36 Decade speakers, they sure work better and look nicer than the originals. I had to use washers because they were going through thin masonite but the washers shimmed out the thickness and allowed the posts to tighten up.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Binding PostsVery nicely made binding posts. These work very well and are deep enough for 3/4" material (or perhaps even more, though I haven't tried). For those having problems with the hole size, just drill a 1/4" hole (use a drill press if you have one to ensure it's perfectly straight), and instead of pounding the post in, use the nut on the back side to pull the post on. It will get pulled into the 1/4" hole just fine without much effort and no damage to your speaker or the post. Just make sure that you align the post so the bare wire holes are lined up. Either straight up and down: || or at a diagonal so your wires look good: \ /
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great productsolid binding posts, look great as well, top tier stuff
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hassle and All PerformanceI used this set of binding posts on a fiberglass subwoofer box. Was difficult to get the right size hole in the fiberglass so i had to seal it with silicone. Not the product's fault but an important thing to remember. A little hard to really crank tight, I had to use a small screwdriver through the bare wire hole as a wrench to keep it from slipping. A hex head would make this easier without the risk of damaging the part. Overall great product for those making their own enclosures. Easily handles the 1000W amp.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Binding PostsI am refurbishing a pair of Genesis 2 speakers, and had to replace the broken original spring clips. These did the trick. They are very solid and well made. I made a new plate to mount these on out of 1/4" MDF. I did have to add a washer to the inside as they would have not tightened up properly without it.
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Be aware - these posts are thicker than standard postsI purchased these based on the many excellent reviews here on Parts Express to replace the cheap plastic 90's binding posts on a pair of Apogee Acoustics Centaur Major speakers. Turns out the bolt end is 1/4" in diameter, which is thicker than your typical binding posts. It wouldn't fit through the back plate and none of the spades would fit. The BPT-38G turned out to be a perfect replacement, although I did have to get some faucet aerator washers to insulate the back side and the plugs still rotate if you try hard. If these came with a thinner rear bolt as an option they would be perfect, as the actual binding post on these is better, but the BPT's work perfectly with banana plugs (less so with spades).
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beware your 1/4" hole in BB - may be too tightI have used 4 pairs of these now in 1/2" Baltic Birch. The instructions say to drill a 1/4" hole and tap the knurled shaft in. I understand that it must be tight in order to create enough friction to prevent from twisting, but 1/4" is certainly too tight.I felt like I was in danger of blasting through the plywood. It I could not get it in without loosening up the hole a bit. I expect that MDF would give to a few good hammer swings. If you are using BB, I recommend a test hole to get your size right first.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed for my prototypeThey were the perfect fit for my project, my project is to be able to take an existing used PC power supply and Plug it in to a enclosure that converts it into a bench top adjustable power supply with out customer soldering, with digital meters, and attractive wooden case.
Date published: 2011-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good qualitythey do their job!! just make sure you drill the holes straight or the binding posts will be crooked
Date published: 2011-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little expensive, but totally worth it.These binding posts are of the highest quality. They have the ability to conduct huge amounts of watts, and still work great even into the lower watt regions (think less than 10). Simple to install, although if you don't measure exactly where the holes should be drilled, it will end up looking kind of silly from the back (they will be off-center). The only con is the price, but it's totally worth it in the end when the posts outlast the actual speakers.Also, some people were saying that you need to drill a smaller hole for these to fit. I drilled a 1/4" hole, and I had to literally pound them in with a hammer (use a block of wood in-between if you do this, of course). It really comes down to what type of wood and what type of drill bit you are using. I recommend starting with one size smaller, and then if it won't fit at all, move up to 1/4". You want a really tight fit with these things so there are no air leaks.
Date published: 2011-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reasonable Product for the priceJust installed these binding post for customs subs made. Installation was a snap. Once tapped in the 1/4 holes, the knurl locked them in. My only complaint is I wish they made post that could fit double walled 3/4" MDF cabinets and would prefer a hex head instead of of a round fastner.
Date published: 2010-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, effective, and VERY strong!As well built as any WBT or similar I've seen. I used them in an unfinished birch ply cab (loaded with Sonus Faber woofers and planar tweeters with Rane active x-over), they match great and are pretty much indestructible as machined brass goes. I'm not sure how much technical knowledge one can have concerning binding posts, so I put myself as "professional", not sure if it matters.hmdmq
Date published: 2010-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as it gets?I was worried about over drilling so I tried a 15/64" bit first and found the fit way too tight. It takes a good smack with a 1lb dead blow hammer to start these driving in to a 1/4" hole and that's just perfect. I used a 1/4" female spade connector on the inside instead of soldering. You could use a ring terminal instead if you want.The fact that they can take the hammering in means they'll never break and the plating will keep it corrosion free forever.These binding posts look identical to the ones on my 1986 KEF SP3037 speakers.
Date published: 2010-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PerfectionVery well designed.
Date published: 2010-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to useStrong and reliable.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy dutybeefy! do not over drill hole. excepts 10 awg plus!
Date published: 2010-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is very well made and nicely priced.These terminals are very robust, look great, and quite inexpensive compared to similar ones.
Date published: 2010-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!!Quality materials, well made.
Date published: 2009-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not fancy but good qualityThese are a great product for the price. well built threaded knobs are large and easy to tighten.I have no complaints about this product.Note: When installing remember to unscrew the tops and make sure the wire opening is going the direction you want. I messed that up on my first round.
Date published: 2009-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average but inexpensiveI ordered several for some speakers I made. They are less expensive than others but they are of just average quality. The solder lug is very thin. The post could also be longer since I use thick cabinets for the speakers.
Date published: 2009-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great posts!I picked up a set of these for my EPI 100s. They were a great replacement for the nasty little spring terminals that were in them. These Dayton posts accept large gauge wire, and the tab is easy to solder wire to. Highly recommended upgrade for those speakers that have poor terminals.
Date published: 2009-11-21

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold

Will .25" female disconnects work with the solder tabs?

Asked by: von Ah
Yes, 0.250" quick disconnects will fit those solder tabs.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-06-06

Is this a replacement for a Klipsch AW-525?

I have a Klipsch AW-525 outdoor speaker with a broken binding post. Is this a suitable replacement?
Asked by: Jerry C
Hi, Jerry. We don't carry any Klipsch parts, nor do we have a cross-reference by brand, model, or anything of the sort, unfortunately. However, if the mounting area for your Klipsch's binding posts is between 3/8" and 1" thick, with a 1/4" hole for the post(s), and you have at least 1-1/2" of clearance for the rear bolt, these should be suitable for the application.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2011-06-01

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Dayton Audio BPA-38G HD Binding Post Pair Gold

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1