Buyout Special
299-414_ALT_1.jpg
299-414_ALT_1.jpg
 
299-414_ALT_0
 
299-414_ALT_1
 

Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm

Brand:|
Overview
Celestion pulled out all of the stops when making this neodymium-powered 5" full range speaker. Not only is its frequency response ultra-linear, the size makes it perfect for use in high fidelity home audio, pro audio, and mobile audio applications. Factory buyout with limited quantities!
Highlights
  • Originally designed for high-end acoustic amplifiers
  • Ultra-linear frequency response
  • 4-ohm impedance is perfect for series pair MTM and center channel use
  • Neodymium magnet with bumped back plate motor
  • Great HiFi home audio, car audio, and line array speaker
  • 1/2 the price of similar drivers
Part # 
299-414
Weight: 0.8 lbs.  
This Product Is No Longer Available
Comparable Items Can Be Found Here:
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm

This 5" full range OEM driver from Celestion was designed in Great Britain for use in high-end, lightweight acoustic instrument speakers. A neodymium motor not only makes this speaker light, but it also reduces distortion by focusing all of magnetic power into the gap and onto the voice coil for complete control.

The neo motor also features a bumped backplate for reduced voice coil "bottoming out" conditions, while a paper cone is mated to a cloth accordion surround for a natural, warm midrange tone. This speaker is also nice to look at due to its rounded stamped-steel frame without requiring a recess in the baffle. 

Flat frequency response from 200 Hz to 6,000 Hz, and useful to 9,000 Hz, this driver is well suited for use in HiFi home audio systems, the reduced mounting depth is useful in car and mobile audio systems, and output is high enough (89 dB 1W/1m) for professional audio applications as a midrange in three-way systems or a full range column driver for line arrays. Available in 4 and 8 ohm versions to cover a wide array of applications, including building your own personal monitor speaker. Factory buyout with limited quantities! Save more than 50% off similar drivers!

Note: For even greater maximum power handling, a 330 µF capacitor for a 1st order crossover point of roughly 125 Hz is recommended.



Product Specifications
  • Nominal Diameter5"
  • Power Handling (RMS)25 Watts
  • Power Handling (max)50 Watts
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Frequency Response95 to 12,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity89 dB 1W/1m
  • Voice Coil Diameter1"
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • Resonant Frequency (Fs)95 Hz
  • DC Resistance (Re)3.2 ohms
  • Voice Coil Inductance (Le)0.1 mH
  • Mechanical Q (Qms)2.56
  • Electromagnetic Q (Qes)0.69
  • Total Q (Qts)0.54
  • Compliance Equivalent Volume (Vas)0.13 ft.³
  • Maximum Linear Excursion (Xmax)1.13 mm
Materials of Construction
  • Cone MaterialPaper
  • Surround MaterialCloth
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter5.94"
  • Baffle Cutout Diameter4.625"
  • Depth2.19"
  • Bolt Circle Diameter5.5"
Optimum Cabinet Size (determined using BassBox 6 Pro High Fidelity suggestion)
  • Sealed Volume0.11 ft.³
  • Sealed F3139 Hz
  • Vented Volume0.25 ft.³
  • Vented F367 Hz
Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm
  • BrandCelestion
  • Part Number299-414
  • UPC848864000664
  • Product CategoryMidrange / Midbass Drivers & Full-Range Speakers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (17 Reviews)
  • Weight0.8 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm
in the Midrange / Midbass Drivers & Full-Range Speakers product category.

Reviews

Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm
Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm is rated 4.7059 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from little gems!very detailed in the midrange...excellent imaging...using in a line array....tested in a small closed 9x6x7 enclosure with Dayton domed tweeter...crossed a 5000k......believe these little gems are a steal.....does not produce much in the mid bass range but not why I purchased them...bought 48 for three line arrays for my kids as a graduation present for getting their degrees from college...hurry before they are gone forever
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for mediums.I bought this to replace my old fender passport speakers.Great improvement, very clear, and only costed me 9,99 each.I will need something else for the bass, this do pritty well with the right enclousure and some eq for acoustic music.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good replacement for a Cerwin Vega midrangeI bought this speaker a couple of months ago, to help a friend who blew the midrange on his Cerwin Vega VE15Fs. The fit was good, and it sounds great.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff!This is the first time I toyed around with building a set of components for a vehicle, in this case my '85 F-250 where these are used as door speakers, with a Vifa textile dome 1" tweeter.I tried a couple different crossover configurations, first was high pass 2nd order butterworth on the tweeter at 4100hz, with first order low pass on this 5" driver also at 4100. I thought I didn't like it, and tried a 3100hz crossover with 2nd order LW filter on both.. Turned out the first one seemed to have a better frequency split between the two, the tweeter didn't sound as strained at higher volumes. Tweeter was wired reverse polarity in both configurations.After settling at the 4100hz crossover and installing them in the vehicle, these things came to life. It's interesting to note that this driver when wired as full range has quite a wide frequency response. It could almost be used entirely as a full range driver, except for the highest audible frequencies, where you'd need a tweeter. The highs sounded so good with hardly any straining or breakup, I almost hated putting the LPF on, but the tweeter takes over nicely where the 5" leaves off.I have these on a 4 channel Aura 50 Wrms/channel amplifier (two tens on the third & fourth channel take care of the lows) and these seem to take all the power I care to throw at them. They will crank up to a deafening volume before starting to distort. Seem to have decent excursion and low end for a driver this size, though a subwoofer is needed to get any usable volume at the lowest frequencies.The clarity and accuracy of these is second to none, and they matched my tweeter well despite practically pairing two random drivers (cost was my primary consideration) and attempting to make them place nice with one another. They do have a noticeable emphasis on the midrange, but this was easily offset with the EQ on my head unit. Excellent build quality, I have no doubts that this is a speaker that will last.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used the 8ohm version so far.Purchased 4 of these and 4 of the 8ohm version. I replaced the single 5.25" midbass driver in a pair of Sonance mariner 100 speakers with these 8ohm.Fit perfectly and I couldn't be happier look better too.Im listening to them right now with a 10" sub w/eminence BP102.The factory speaker should go in the trash compared to this one,it "factory" driver may have played a hair lower?I also used the other pair of 8ohm 5"celestions in a 3way from 750-3000hz and they are as good or better than the 4-5in drivers I have used from TB and Dayton at 4x the price.Now I need something to make with these 4ohm.Buy em cause one morning your gonna check the speaker buyouts page and they will be gone like the 6" Auras and the 6.5" focals both of which I have a few of and will buy a few more of these in 8ohm version,Enjoy.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little driverI purchased a pair of these Celestion Neo drivers to use in a ported guitar speaker cabinet built in a 50 caliber ammo box.They are plenty efficient and the frequency response is smooth from top to bottom. I wired two 4 Ohm units in series to match the 8 Ohm output of the 20 Watt tube amp (built in another ammo box) driving it and it rocks!Just watch out that you don't get your fingers crushed between the neo magnet structures and anything steel (like an ammo box or the other driver's magnet); these things have an amazing magnetic pull.Not more I could ask for from a pair of drivers and the price was definitely right!
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Upgrade for a Roland Micro Cube Guitar AmpWas working on a friends Micro Cube guitar amp and accidentally poked a hole through the OEM speaker (cheapy paper cone type). After the swearing subsided, I found this little guy and decided to give it a try. It sounds really good. My friend plays all sorts of genres and so far so good. Worthy upgrade in my opinion. It did require enlarging the speaker hole 1/4" but that was easy enough. If you have a Micro Cube I would recommend this speaker as a good upgrade candidate.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement speaker drivers for old Mirage 3-wayMy very old Mirage three-way 4 ohm drivers were in sad need of repair/overhaul/replace. I started out with replacing the foam surround and while that improved the bass, the mid-range and highs were just not as transparent as they used to be. I replaced the 5 inch mid-range with a Celestion 5" and wow, what a difference. The clarity is outstanding. But now I noticed the highs were imbalanced and no wonder - one of the tweeters was open. So I replaced these with Dayton DC 28F- 8 drivers. I chose the 8 ohm figuring that I might need to pad them down or change the crossover- which I may do in near future anyway because with such superb clarity, I am finding that my 10 inch woofer has a pronounced resonance at about 90-100 hertz and so it is the last in line to be tossed out. Problem is that I need to find a 10 inch speaker with the parameters to match the existing closed box. Not an easy task and so I am starting off by asking for help as this may also require changing the crossover components.As regards the installation of the two new drivers: the Celestion is meant to be mounted behind a panel but there is no way to access the back of panel in the Mirage cabinet and so I had to fill the mounting flange with a latex/silicone sealer so that it formed a good flat surface as well act a seal to the small closed box of the mid-range. The tweeter did require enlarging the hole to accommodate the larger diameter of the Dayton driver.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacementsThese fit right in where my Infinity Kappa7, 5" Polydomes came out. The sound is amazing, so much midrange and depth to the midbass and i don't miss the dome midrange at all. Really good choice and super smooth, just hope partsexpress has them around for a while.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good all around driversMy dad decided to replace his Infinity 3 way speakers when their foam surrounds started going (SS 2005). I decided that it would be a good project to repair the speakers. They're now my mains in a surround system in my study. I decided to replace the original 8" and 5" drivers with components that were 4 ohm and NOT foam surrounds. I didn't have much choice in 5" drivers with durable surrounds. These Celestions seemed to flip my initial bill (they are 4 ohm fabric surrounds). I tried demoing them as I was completing mods in the loudspeaker. I found that closing off the mid compartment with more foam helped tighten the tonality. I can see why these speakers would be great all around for guitar apps: they really do emphasize mid tones. They also, then, work well for my application of being center within the mid range in a 3 way speaker. Some might view these as being bright (depending on setup), but these are a great value and seem well made.
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap Midrange (With Neodymium)Hey! They're so cheap they've got to be no good!Ever read a book just by its cover? Well if you do, you have likely already stopped reading this review. But if you are interested enough to flip open the first page and go a little deeper, you will begin to understand that these are some very nice speakers. Not only do they use Neodymium, but the use enough of it that you can leave them on your fridge as magnets. The build is very good. They might not be cast frames (what's that? I'm a poor man) but the basket does not have the look of the engineers who's work is put aside by the Planer of Obsolescence.Anyway, buy these, there very nice.I haven't cranked them up, so I can't rate their performance fairly.
Date published: 2012-11-22

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm

If I put two of these drivers in a .25 cubic foot enclosure is one port sufficient to get a response of about 70 Hz?  If it can be done, what port dimensions will I require?  Thanks!

Asked by: cmro327
Yes you can achieve a tuning frequency of 70 Hz with a pair of these in that volume. I would recommend a 1.5" diameter, 3" long port for this.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-09

For the Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm. I would like to install two drivers in a 0.5 cubic foot enclosure. What port size is best for this installation? Thanks.

Asked by: FLJ1
I would recommend a 2" diameter, 1.5" long port for a tuning frequency of about 70 Hz.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-27

I'm trying to find a more complete Thiele Small parameter spec. for these drivers ( in particular the Sd parameter) to model for a TQWT. Would someone be able to provide them or information to find the data? Thanks

Asked by: risaacma
The Sd of this driver is 78.5 sq cm.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-21

If I wanted to use 6 in a cabinet could I obtain 8 ohms by wiring 2 4ohms plus 1 8ohm in series then in parallel with another 3 done the same or should one not mix the impedances?

Asked by: TheoRoar
Unfortunately you will only be able to achieve a 4.6 ohm load with 6 of these drivers. You will have to wire two sets of three in parallel and then wire the two sets together in series.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

The sound is the same or not , between the 4 ohm and 8 ohm ?

Asked by: Michel
These will both sound virtually identical, the only difference being the coil impedance.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

To reduce the LF to this spaeker am I correct that part # 027-374 is used soldered in either direction to the + terminal and then to the incoming wire from crossover that would normally lead to the + terminal? thanks

Asked by: DoooooFuss
Yes that is correct, this will help most harmful frequencies below ~150 Hz from damaging the driver.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

Has anybody modeled boxes?

Vented? Closed? How about an array of 5 in a single box?
Asked by: namenick
I would recommend vented only for this driver unless you do not want anything below about 250 Hz, in which case the sealed size makes no difference. The vented volume is .25 cubic feet with a 1.5" diameter, 1.5" long port for a tuning frequency of 89 Hz. If you want to use 5, just multiply volume and port quantity by 5.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-09

x-mech?

Looking at the spec sheet it seems that the magnet gap is only 1.375 mm deeper than the centered coil. Given that the x-max rating is 1.25mm that doesn't leave much "buffer". Is there a "real" x-mech parameter for these things? [PE doesn't do destructive testing do they?]
Asked by: chmedly
I am sorry, we leave all destructive testing to the manufacturers.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-05-03

Would it be possible to use these as a subwoofer?

I have a system in my room , and would like some low-end frequencies for low-end price. If anyone has any more recomendations for cheap woofers or subwoofers 3"-5-1/4" please tell me.
Asked by: zachfallin
I would not recommend these for use as a subwoofer, they will not do much below about 100 Hz. We have many buyout type woofers that would be a better choice but they are larger at about 6-1/2".
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

Usable for boombox driver replacement?

I have an old 80's boombox that I'm upgrading with modern tech. I'd like to replace the cheap drivers and amp with something louder and cleaner. Will this make a good choice for playing loud with something like a Dayton DTA-2 mini class-T amp in a non-sealed enclosure?
Asked by: hoffsta
This is a full range driver with decent efficiency and a decent Qts for using in an open baffle. it should be fine in that application.
Answered by: Chrisf
Date published: 2014-05-03

Are these speaker sold as a pair?

Asked by: roddy
These are sold individually.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-03

Zobel suggestion?

Thanks in advance for any Zobel impedance compensation suggestions. Found something that worked? Trying to cross 1st order around 6000Hz so the car tweeter can take over from there. Can't read the impedance curve properly...
Asked by:
I would recommend a 3.3 ohm resistor and 10 uF cap for a zobel at that crossover frequency.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-03

Would this be suitable in infinite baffle use, as in open back guitar amp or pa speakers?

Asked by: Whitewinddesigns
Yes this will be suitable for an OB application.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-05-05

Sensitivity

What would be the Sensitivity of using two of these in parallel? If I understand correctly it would be around 90 db since the stated sensibility is in w/m instead of 2.83v/m. Am i correct?
Asked by: Moose87
You always gain 6 dB of of output with two identicle drivers wired in parallel. The total sensitivity of two of these would be ~95-96 dB.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-10-06

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Celestion Neodymium 5" Full-Range Woofer 4 Ohm

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software