180-075_ALT_0.jpg
180-075_ALT_0.jpg
 
180-075_ALT_0
 

Cable Television Isolation Transformer

Brand:| Model: VIT-1
Overview
The VIT-1 virtually eliminates the 60 Hz hum introduced into your home entertainment system through your analog cable, and is usually noticed when connecting a powered subwoofer to your home theater system. Note: Interferes with digital cable, cable modem, and satellite TV operation.
Part # 
180-075
Weight: 0.05 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$12.99
You Save26%
Your Price
$9.49
Buy 5-up$8.95
Part # 180-075
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Cable Television Isolation Transformer

The VIT-1 virtually eliminates the 60 Hz hum introduced into your home entertainment system through your analog cable or antenna connection, and is usually noticed when connecting a powered subwoofer to your home theater system. A passive design does not affect your analog cable tv signal strength (not recommended for use ondigital cable or cable modem installations). In extreme cases the use of a grounding block may also be necessary. Connect the transformer in-line between your cable line and TV using the female F-connector on the cable side, and the male F-connector on the TV. Operating frequency: 54 MHz to 1 GHz.

Note: Interferes with digital cable, cable modem, and satellite TV operation.



Cable Television Isolation Transformer
  • BrandParts Express
  • ModelVIT-1
  • Part Number180-075
  • UPC844632014710
  • Product CategoryCable TV Filters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (84 Reviews)
  • Weight0.05 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Cable Television Isolation Transformer
in the Cable TV Filters product category.

Reviews

Cable Television Isolation Transformer
Cable Television Isolation Transformer is rated 4.1905 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helped a lot.Does as it is advertized
Date published: 2010-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AlmostI had a very loud hum after installing a Dayton SA240 amp on my sub. My hum was coming from my cable tv coaxial cable. I installed the isolation transformer inline & it almost removed the hum. I had to use a 3-2 prong adapter in order to completely remove the hum. The transformer worked well considering how loud the original hum was.
Date published: 2010-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not all it's cracked up to be!Reduced the scrolling lines caused by a CATV ground loop, but didn't eliminate it. Also, note that it blocks digital cable channels. Hoping for better luck with the Holland Electronics CCI-1 ($9.99) or CISP ($12.99) (http://www.techtoolsupply.com/index.asp?btnSearch .x=0&btnSearch.y=0&btnSearch=search&PageAction=PRO DSEARCH&txtSearch=isolation&Page=1), and if that doesn't work I'll try a Jensen VRD-1FF for about $60, the Aston Martin of RF cable TV isolation transformers.
Date published: 2009-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product EverI plugged this into my TV before the cable cable. No more white bands on my TV or hum going back to my computer headphones through my PC to TV converter audio cables. This item fixed my life.Parts-Express: 1Amazon: 0
Date published: 2009-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediate effect: No HumI installed this right at the wall where the analog cable comes into the house. There was a fairly loud hum in the system which was becoming unbearable. Now there is nearly absolute silence.And no degradation in TV receptions.
Date published: 2009-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Audiophiles this is AWESOME if you have tuner humThis item is great, I had a nagging hum affecting preamp, turns out it was ground loop on my FM tuner coaxial cable - put this inline on a very weak station, no degradation, but hum is completely gone !!!!!5 star value !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2009-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap and effectiveMuch cheaper than some other products,and does the exact same thing.If you have a hum in your Home Theater Set up from a ground loop problem this will cure it.
Date published: 2009-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good productThis is a great product for eliminating the hum caused by either a cable or antenna ground loop. The only slight issue is that it does filter some of the signal so you may have to figure a way to boost the signal if your incoming transmission is weak. Other than that, the product works just as advertised!
Date published: 2009-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TINY BUT MIGHTYDid the job- perfectly.
Date published: 2009-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally fixed my subwoofer hum problemI had a problem with subwoofer amp hum that nothing seemed to stop until I tried this Isolation Transformer. I moved equipment and cables, called the cable TV company and equipment manufacturers. Nobody could tell me how to get rid of the hum.The notice on the product page indicates this device does not work with digital cable. I connected it directly to the digital converter unit, then attached the coaxial cable. It works fine. My subwoofer no longer has any hum and may even sound better. This could only be a subjective observation since I have no way of scientifically verifying it. But, my hum problem is solved and I couldn't be happier.Even though there is a disclaimer about digital cable, if connected directly to the converter unit it may not interfere with a cable modem.For me, it was worth giving a try regardless of the disclaimer and it paid off with excellent results.
Date published: 2009-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trouble with Time Warner CableLike others, I thought it would be worth it to ignore the warning that this would not work with digital cable. It fixed my ground loop problem perfectly (buzz and horizontal bars) but unfortunately it did cut out some of my HD channels.
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got rid of subwoofer humDidn't work connected to digital cable input, but worked on the output. So, as long as I don't make another connection from the cable box to the receiver, I'll be fine.
Date published: 2009-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked greatGot rid of the hum through my tube amp when I had the cable connected to my TV.
Date published: 2009-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok for some problemsdidn't work for me, still some noise. cheap enough to try it out.
Date published: 2009-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Humm at sub titanikIII + plate 500 daytonJob done. Finally i can use cable tv and sub at same time without a humm.good product.
Date published: 2009-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well.Attached to my Windows Media Center PC TV card. Low hum in my sound system was eliminated.
Date published: 2008-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Took care of the humMy bought a subwoofer and as soon as I hooked it up to my surround sound there was a very annoying hum. I disconnected the T.V. cable and the hum was gone. I did some research and found out that parts-express sold a device that would take care of T.V. cable interference. I ordered the isolation transformer and it worked perfect. I am enjoying my new subwoofer with no hum.
Date published: 2008-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dayton VIT-1 Isolation Transformer,it works mani had a problem with a hum that i just couldn't get rid of. i had all of my a/v gear connect to my pc and there was a hum that came threw my pc's speakers. well to make a long story short. my pc had a tv tuner card in it and the hum was coming threw the tv cable and i used the Dayton VIT-1 Isolation Transformer. and the hum is gone.if you have a hum related to tv cable. use the product. it works
Date published: 2008-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WorksSeems to be the functional equivalent of the $55 Jensen IsoMax. Got the hum bar off my bedroom TV-(have cable and satellite ground loop).
Date published: 2008-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd Purchase of this item.This is my second unit. I purchased one before and took care of the hum noise of my Acurus A-150. When I had my TV linked with my Hafler DH-500 in my sysytem, I also noticed that it made some humming noise also which it did not have before. Basing in the same situation with my previous amp, I decided unhook my TV cable--noise is gone and for sure it is the ground loop associated with my cable provider. I decided to order another one, hooked it right away and solved the ground loop problem. Humming noise is gone totally. If your amp is linked to your TV cable and hum noise is present, most likely you need an isolator like this. This stuff works!
Date published: 2008-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Removed hum picked up by my subwooferThis little doodad removed the obnoxious hum that showed up in my home theatre system when I added a Klipsch subwoofer to my setup. My cable TV company was clueless and no help with the hum. I gave the performance rating a 4 because the signal is not totally clean, but it does the job.For newer stereo receivers turn power OFF before hooking this up.
Date published: 2008-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does job at best priceIn two different setups that included cable TV and computer audio output going into the same stereo receiver, I experienced unacceptable hum. Some research showed me that this isolation transformer was what I needed. Unfortunately, I found it priced at various suppliers in the $40-$50 range. When I saw it here at that price it was a no-brainer.P.S. It worked; the hum is gone.
Date published: 2008-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Removes hum on subwooferThis isolated the problem, but I lost several channels on the SA 8300HDC box. This was unacceptable. I found that I lost all hum without this device, by taking away the ground on the sub (using a plug adapter). Now i have to find a way to ground the amp or solve the power problem.
Date published: 2008-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good for very little $$This worked exactly like it was supposed to. My tv had the red and green hum bars caused from a ground loop in the cable tv system. I have Comcast cable and this product took away the hum bars and did not effect picture quality or functionality of the cable service.
Date published: 2008-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works, but has limitationBought this to eliminate hum from digital cable box coming thru audio system; this filter certainly worked but also prevented reception on certain channels; bought similar item from MCM and it works for all channels; suspect greater bandwith of MCM part explains better performance.
Date published: 2008-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work for Optimum Online Digital CableMy box will not even boot with this connected. I had a feeling it may not work after reading other reviews, but it was cheap enough to learn for myself.
Date published: 2008-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver for AC interference in TV'sIf you've every had those annoying bars running up your TV screen, this is a simple and inexpensive solution. Simply insert it between your cable and cable box and the problem is resolved!
Date published: 2008-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I'd have found it before I pulled my hair outDecreased the ground loop hum from my HT subwoofer to the point that I have to turn it's volume more than half way up before I can even detect it. (Which is as high as I usually turn it up any way--solved my problem without obvious detriment to my cable TV.--delightful!
Date published: 2008-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't workReduced humm, but didn't eliminate it. Also introduced minor static on some channels. HD channels appeared unaffected.
Date published: 2008-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work with Time Warner HD DVRTnis worked fine in eliminating the ground loop from my cable converter and causes no distortion when watching TV, even HD channels. THe problem comes in when I use my HD DVR. All the video signals are corrupted when I record shows, both standard and high def. Good solution if you do not have a HD DVR, otherwise, try something else.
Date published: 2008-05-11

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Cable Television Isolation Transformer

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Cable Television Isolation Transformer

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1