Bonus Item Incl.
320-353_ALT_0.jpg
320-353_ALT_0.jpg
 
320-353_ALT_0
 

BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals

Brand:| Model: BT-1A
Overview
The BT-1A Bluetooth module adds a Bluetooth wireless audio receiver to nearly any device. Great for connecting the Bluetooth audio output of an iPad, tablet computer, or smartphone to your computer, receiver, or even your subwoofer, wirelessly.
Highlights
  • Add a Bluetooth audio receiver to nearly any amplifier
  • Class 2 range of up to 15 meters (49.2 feet)
  • 16-bit A2DP support for true stereo output
  • On-board power and audio jacks
  • Includes connection cables
  • Voice prompts for device pairing
  • Bluetooth v1.2 compliant
Part # 
320-353
Weight: 0.1 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$29.99
You Save37%
Your Price
$18.70
Buy 4-up$17.90
Belkin AC/DC Universal USB Charging Kit for Samsung and more
Qty: 1Part # 139-014
List Price:$39.99
Part # 320-353
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals

The BT-1A module builds upon the success of the orignal BT-1 Bluetooth audio receiver, and improves upon it by moving the power and audio connections on-board (2.5 x 1 mm power jack and stereo 3.5 mm audio jack), reducing the overall size of the module, and adding voice prompts for pairing and connection instructions. 

The BT-1A is designed to integrate wireless Bluetooth audio from smartphones, tablets, or laptops into speakers and subwoofers, car audio applications, and remote wireless amplifiers. Additionally, this module may be used to create a wireless link between a Bluetooth source and a traditional amplifier, receiver, preamplifier, or mixer.

Features of this Bluetooth v1.2 compliant receiver module include a small form factor, a Class 2 range of up to 15 meters (49.2 feet), and 16-bit A2DP support for true stereo output. A USB A-Male to 2.5 x 1 mm power plug cable and a stereo 3.5 mm male plug to 3.5 mm jack extension cable are included with the module for quick connection and use. The USB A-Male plug is used as a power connection that uses 5 VDC off of the USB bus from a computer or powered USB hub.

Specifications: • Supply voltage: 3.3 to 5.0 VDC • Supply current: 50 mA • Operating frequency: 2.4 to 2.483 GHz • Bluetooth specification: v1.2 • Output power class: Class 2 • Receiver sensitivity: -80 dBm • Output level: 1V RMS • Output impedance: 1k ohm • Frequency response: 20-20,000 Hz (-3 dB) • Sampling: 44.1 kHz, 16-bit • Signal-to-noise ratio: 70 dB • THD: < 0.1% @ 1 kHz • Dynamic range: 85 dB • Channel separation: 65 dB • PCB dimensions: 3/4" W x 2-1/2" L • Includes 12" USB power cable and 18" stereo male to stereo female audio cable • Audio output cable length: 18".

Note: This device only receives stereo Bluetooth audio. The USB cable included is only for powering the BT-1A. This device does not transmit a Bluetooth signal, and does not convert the digital USB audio output to analog. Ground loops can occur when using a grounded (3-prong plug) computer as the power source. Please see the Related Items section for the Axxess 3.5 mm ground loop isolator to solve this issue if it occurs.



BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals
  • BrandParts Express
  • ModelBT-1A
  • Part Number320-353
  • UPC844632006951
  • Product CategoryElectronic Project Kits
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (32 Reviews)
  • Weight0.1 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals
in the Electronic Project Kits product category.

Reviews

BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals
BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals is rated 4.1562 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Little Device!Does EXACTLY what I wanted: add Bluetooth audio to my non-BT car stereo.Used a 500mA car phone charger from the local dollar store to power it. Connected the audio out to the stock stereo's AUX in and...voila!Sound quality is quite decent. Will be buying some more!
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it's supposed to do and sounds great.The unit works great for receiving bluetooth audio. The sound quality is great as far as I can hear. It's not vinyl, but then I wouldn't expect it to be. My droid had a little trouble getting the volume adjusted, but it worked perfectly with iPods and iPhones, which is what I plan to use it for anyway. The range is so-so, but for my purposes that's not a big deal. It boots up and connects really quickly. The voice prompts are a bit of a problem since I'm planning to feed the output from the receiver directly into an amplifier. With no volume adjustment the voice prompts will be ridiculously loud on connection. It would be nice if there were a way to defeat the voice prompts and to use the LED to indicate a connection instead. In the mean time I'll just have to install a volume dial. Other than that I couldn't be happier with the product.
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs Isolated DC-DC converterThis unit sounds pretty good for a wireless connection. However, if you want to use it as a standalone device with an amp for BT speaker box like so many that are sold nowadays, you will need to get a voltage isolated DC-to-DC converter to drop the voltage from the amp PS to 5v. Using a standard 7805 or LM317 will not work as the ground loop issue between the BT and the amp will cause a hum or buzzing sound that renders the unit unusable. I know some folks here have suggested that a 7805 will work - it does not. You will need to order something similar to the Murata MEE1S1205SC isolated DC-DC converter which drops the 12v to 5v and provides 1000v isolation. This works well and costs ~$7.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade your old Stereo with this it is great!I have an expansive receiver that needs to go on the internet. I found this to work great . I also use it with my Bose speakers . I am planning to buy another one when the money comes in. I love it. I also used an old project box to house it. I can carry it anywhere and even use it in the yard to stream internet radio while I am working in the garden.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as advertised and great deal for the priceI used this device to provide BT connectivity to a T-Amp based boombox I built a few years ago.I used an old 110V-5V adapter to power the device, and just packaged the additional power supply inside the boombox.The unit powers up and connects VERY quickly to my iPhone. The BT range is solid, easily over 20' and around some walls.Sound quality is good, and I've had no issues with noise as some others have complained about.
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from well worth the priceThis works great for what it is.The USB connector provides power and the 1/8" audio connector outputs stereo audio that it receives from the bluetooth connected device. I use it to input audio into my mixer board from my cellphone audio player via the bluetooth. This allows wireless control of the songlist from anywhere within 40 feet.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PerfectI added this bluetooth receiver to my car to stream music from my phone. It works great!
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great DIY itemBut the noise encountered when connected was un-bearable. I will be asking for my money back. Also the power connection seems very loose and looks and feels like it could fall out any min. Voice prompts are nice but the continued interference and noise is unwanted. I give this a overall 2 out of possible 5. Sorry PE i don't like it.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds ExpectationsWorked first try out of the box. I only tested with Apple devices so far. To start a session with a new device you interrupt power to the module. Voice prompts are convenient in a home setting but could be an issue for professional use -- don't unmute the channel until the connection is established. Sound quality is good with no overt digital artifacts. The module emits a mild thump (many dB below full scale) at the beginning and end of a stream. Connection is maintained through a drywall and wood-frame wall to an adjacent room, but not across the entire house.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Incomplete packageOkay so the page for this item doesn't address what to do exactly for power. It seems that only a pc works to power it which pretty much defeats the purpose. I've also tried several alternatives like a powered usb hub, usb wall chargers, etc. Nothing else works so far. Very anti-climatic! It also seems to send bizarre transients through the system making disturbing noises in the audio.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gadgetI purchased this to upgrade a 2.1 system I built for my daughter to use with her iPod. I decided to test it in a car with the factory stereo. It connects quickly and sounds quite good. Others had been critical of the sound but it sounded as good as the line out or headphone output. Voice commands are a nice touch. I did not notice any unwanted popping, etc. with these. They must have improved it since previous reviews. It's a little more expensive than some enclosed models, but it will work great for adding bluetooth to a system using the Dayton Audio DTA-100a 50WPC amp. Another winner, Parts Express!
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Voice over is terribleI have both the bt-1a and the btm-1. The btm-1 is great, no problems. The bt-1a has voice prompts. I have it in my car running directly to my amplifier and every time the voice kicks in there is a huge static pop. Upon exit it does the same. Also it being v1.2 it doesn't handle calls, just phone audio.If your project has volume control or is low powered then this will be great. If it is high powered the pop is terrible.On sound quality, I don't know why people say it's not audiophile quality. I don't know that you will get bluetooth sound that is much better. I've done car audio for 15 years. This running straight to a mtx 804 and I can hear things in the music that I didn't with the stock head unit. Finger slide on guitar rifs, etc.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it...finally made the switch to iphone... wanted to add Bluetooth to a bunch of audio (cars, amps, etc...) bought two of these and two of the ones in cases... like these better... put them on a switched cig lighter and they pair up every time... voice prompts are completely acceptable... made my own usb and audio cables... (angles neutrik connector)... wrapped it in plastic wrap and done... hid them in the dash... will buy more
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good DIY BT ModuleThis is a really nice module for the DIY-er - particularly those of us who want to be able to mount/wire it to a parts box that's easily movable from car to say, the workshop stereo.I gave it a 4-star performance rating beucase I would have liked a bit more gain at the line level (the BT output on my iPhone was maxed out). However, overall this is an excellent device.This is NOT an audiophile device. If you want really great sound from your iPhone/Pod/Pad or tablet device, you must sacrifice convenience and purchase a dongle with audio output via wires. The Apple dongle for the iPhone is about $50, is high quality, and works great. However you are tethered to your stereo/car. This BT allows me to sit on the couch and stream music while reading and I can check whats playing without getting out of my chair.Nevertheless, this is a great device that lets me use my iPhone for music in my older non-BT enabled car as well as the workshop stereo. BT is not an audiophile transmission medium but it is very convenient, and this device fits the bill.
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bluetooth A2DP SuperstarThis little adapter rocks! It's so small it can be concealed inside almost any device. I put one behind by home stereo, my boom box, and even installed one in my car. The range of this device is incredible! Once paired, I never lost connection anywhere in my house. I've had other Bluetooth adapters that would loose connection in less that 20 feet. The only thing I would change about this adapter is that it requires 5 volts, adding another piece to the puzzle when installing in a vehicle. Overall, A+
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Voice prompts make it unusableThis bluetooth module works fine. However it gives you "voice prompts" through your stereo before your device is paired, which is basically a tape loop of instructions for how to pair your phone. I find this so offensive as to render the module unusable. And it's not a nice voice either, it's scratchy like cheap navi voice prompt. Every time you power it up. There is no way to turn it off. I don't understand how people can tolerate this.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple, elegant, efficientI've had this in my car for about a month now, and there hasn't been any trouble with it. It recognizes both my and my wife's phone (I'm Phone #2 in my own car!). I don't know if it's an Android quirk or this device, but it'll connect, and then once I start playing media, it'll disconnect and immediately reconnect before playing. It's a 1-2 second delay tops (hence the -1 star), but nothing to get upset about.Enjoyable, workable, and perfectly suited to my needs. Just bought another for the wife's car.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase.This product is great. Its use in my application was for a field radio that runs off battery. The whole package is very small and runs off of very little current which is a great option for me. Distance is better than I thought (about 175 Ft. LOS). It also has no interference that I have noticed. 9 / 10. Loses one point because the product must be mounted or packaged. After seeing it, I would be nervous if it wasn't in some sort of project enclosure.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from blahtoothmakes an awful humming noise picked up thru the speakers. pairs easily. has repeating voice saying its looking for device. so if you have multiple inputs you may want an on off switch for it. makes a pop when turned on. or maybe im just getting interference. it does reduce the volume output by about half. overall im not impressed.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my truck neat and tidyMy truck does not have Bluetooth, but it does have an aux jack. When I plugged the BT-1A in the first time, it spoke pairing instructions and paired right up with my phone (Sprint HTC EVO 4G LTE). The performance is great. The audio is crisp and clear with all frequency ranges represented. I have no complaints. I showed it to a friend who wanted to try it with his iPhone 5. He paired it up just as easily, and was sending a clear music stream to my office all the way from his about 45 feet down the hall. He bought one the next day.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to Mobile AudioI have two powered computer speakers above my kitchen cabinets for sound when my wife and I entertain. I would plug in my iPhone via the aux jack and set it in my cabinet when in use. Not anymore with this little guy! Very easy to set up and access via Bluetooth to stream music and media. Thanks Parts Express for the great product, service, and prices!
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bluetooth recoverI actually got this for my car. Wanted to enjoy my music in my car without having to plug my iPhone in every time. Works great, my phone knows when I get a phone call to switch back to phone speaker. I can take calls without unplugging any wires, just pick up the phone and when I hang up music resumes. Can't be the price!
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No complaints about sound quality hereI'm building a "boomcase"-style speaker and amplifier unit and bought one of these to investigate adding it as another input source.As with many Bluetooth devices, once it pairs with something, the chipset is unlikely to pair with something else until the first paired device is out of range and the power supply has been cycled. I suspect that's the way it's designed. Since it doesn't have an "initiate paring" button, cycling the power supply is the way to go. And when you're building it into a project, that means you don't have to figure out how to wire a pairing button to the front panel either.I have tested the module using a Droid Razr Maxx as a source. Comparing the output over the Bluetooth against a direct cable connection from the phone's headphone jack was instructive. Listening both with a headphone amplifier and with a decent (but not awesome) two-channel rig showed very little difference in audio quality between the two. I have a lot of listening experience with a wide variety of equipment, so I'm confident in that assessment. If you're getting compressed sound, evaluate your source as well as this receiver module.So I will keep listening to vinyl and CD on my "A" system and reserve this for more mainstream audio, but it's plenty good enough for such service. Even at multiples of the price.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun, cheap, not audiophile-qualityIt's a fun little gadget that does the minimum of what a bluetooth audio module should do. Pairing, which is always a problem except with the really high-end modules, is a problem on this. It pairs easily, but then refuses to pair with anything else until BOTH the first device has unpaired AND power has been cycled on the BT-1A. It also colors the sound somewhat (highs and lows are squished). This would be fine for a car but not a home stereo. Most would probably find it OK for music, definitely OK for talk.
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great A2DP ModuleAfter considering some more well known brands of bluetooth modules, I ended up choosing this one since I already had bluetooth phone connection through a Parrot module for my 04 Murano. I already had an AUX port and once connected this module worked great. The music comes through this module and the phone connection goes through the Parrot module ... a very clean and cost effective solution. Excellent frequency range and sound quality
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blue tooth that works!Great perfromance without the click, pops, and nosie normally found in lower cost Bluetooth add on modules. This unit also provides decent range. Simple to set up and simple to use. I plugged mine into a switched power outlet on my stereo, and the unit quickly syncs with my phone and provide a verbal interface that verifies connection.Slight negative is the output connection requires a lot of force to seat properly. I feared that I would break the unit.
Date published: 2012-11-23

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals

Is there a piece to protect the little pc board

Asked by: chuckiem
Unfortunately we do not have anything specific for this although we do offer many project boxes that will work.http://www.parts-express.com/cat/project-boxes/1450
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-22

I want to cut the usb power cable and connect the wires from the BT module power plug side to my 5 v power supply.

i know black is gnd, red is +5v. and white/green are +-data. is the white wire in the usb cable unused here?
Asked by: b ILL
Yes there are only two conductors being used in this USB connection.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-08-08

Will it stay on

Will this go into a sleep mode or auto shut off mode or does it stay on? I am thinking of putting this is an enclosure mounted up high and will be plugged in to an AC outlet all the time. How do you pair with this? Is it a code so that I can easily use another device to pair with it?
Asked by: VinnyNH
Yes this device stays on as long as there is power going to it. This pairs with any bluetooth compatible transmitter just like any other bluetooth device.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2014-01-25

Is it possible to control and stream music from one source (IPHONE) to two of these BT-1A at the same time?

Asked by: dyacono
An I phone can pair with multiple devices, however it cannot be more than one audio device.Best of luck.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-05-11

Powering this unit

Hi all, this looks like exactly what I need, but I am unclear about powering. I would like to run this in conjunction with either the T-Amp Tripath TA2024 2x15W Audio Digital Amplifier Board or the Dayton Audio DTA-2 Class T Digital Audio Amplifier Module, both of which are sold on PE. Those modules runs off a 12v 2a power supply. Is there any way for me to power the bluetooth off either of these amps? And if so, how would I do it? I'm a novice so being tender and patient would be appreciated! :) My main objective is to seal this bluetooth receiver away inside the ipod dock I'm making and not have to deal with it anymore (in otherwords, having only one power line coming out of the dock). Is this possible? If so, how? Thank you so much!
Asked by: Diverted
You will have to use a voltage regulator to drop the input voltage down to 5VDC for the bluetooth module. With this, it is a very simple connection.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-05-01

Two part question: Battery power and Wired audio connection

Hi, very new to experimenting with electronics and i'm trying to accomplish two things with the BT-1A that I could use some advice on. First, I would like to be able to power this by battery, preferably a rechargeable Li-Ion type of battery. I'm not sure how to connect the +/- of the battery to the BT-1A. Has anyone done this? Second, I would like for the BT-1A to output to two different sources, first source headphones by 1/8 male jack, second source an amplifier connected by audio wire directly.
Asked by: KevInCT
This is possible, although you will have to essentially cut the USB connector off the cord and splice the power into this. You will also have to split the output using a standard Y cable for both of your sources.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-04-29

Why is it cutting out

hi i bought 2 bt-1a bluetooth input adapters I hooked the usb up to an iphone 110v to 5v 1amp usb and the aux to an aux input on my stereoit will randomly cut out allot , even with the phone stationary 3 feet away it seems to to it with both bt1a's i have. they will some times comeback on  some times i have to disconnect power and delete and reconnect tried it on iphone 5 ipad 2 MacBook pro
Asked by: Hessdawg
Try reverting back to iOS5.something. I have had issues with bluetooth connection on iOS6. With your MacBook pro, try turning off your bluetooth mouse and/or keyboard.Best of luck.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-03-18

Hooking this up as another input

To power this unit, using a DTA-2 amp (with a 12v power source) and a 7085 5v voltage regulator would I remove the USB "end" of the wire and wire the stripped end up to the 7085 or could I connect directly (solder leads) to the Bluetooth board itself? I want the ability to have both a bluetooth and hard wired connection to the amp. Hopefully this is enough info. Thanks.
Asked by: Kreidy
The 7805 Voltage regulator works better with some other components around it. I have attached a photo below of a circuit I like. You will find all sorts of variances (Different value caps, Types of Caps, With or without Diode) on the web but this one works well for me and all the parts are sold at PE :) Make sure you Heat Sink the 7805!Before you go cutting wires and soldering, I suggest testing the circuit with the plugs intact. This way you do not void your warranty. Build the regulator on a breadboard or wire wrap it up.Once you are sure that it all works, then you can decide on de-soldering parts or soldering to leads. Both have draw backs. When soldering wire to the leads watch for bridging and shorts to other parts of the board. When de-soldering parts off the board, you need to be careful not to apply too much heat for too long, or you can de-laminate the pads from the board. This can ruin the whole circuit. I have definitely said some choice words a time or two trying to hack boards.Please check out PE Tech Talk for more guidance and suggestions.Best of luck
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-02-23

Laptop is asking for drivers

I paired up with my laptop and it is asking for drivers for the BT-1A.I'm running Win 7 Prem 64.Are these drivers available? Is there a generic set I can use?
Asked by: Stoo
I did a little searching and it seems that people have lots of problems pairing in Win7. I have not tried the following method myself, but it seems to be what you are looking for.Taken from a post by Rajiv Singh Suwal:- Download the 'Windows Mobile Device Center' ( current version is 6.1 ) (Cannot provide link due to PE filters) ,this works for both Vista and Windows 7. I've tried it on both.- Install the downloaded software but it may not look like it worked on Windows 7 PCs. Vista automatically configures the settings on the bluetooth devices but for those who have Windows 7, here are the things you should do:- Go to 'Device Manager' from 'Control Panel' -Or- just right-click on Computer Icon and choose 'Properties' and then click on 'Device Manager'.- You'll see an 'Unknown Device' named 'Bluetooth Peripheral Device'- Right-Click it and click on "Update Driver Software" -Or- anyway you find it easy to bring up the Update driver window.- Click "Browse My Computer for Driver Software" button.- Click "Let Me Pick from a List of Device Drivers on my computer".- Select 'Bluetooth Radio' from the list if it asked you to select and then in the next window, it will show a list of drivers with Company Names in one list and Drivers in another. In the Company List choose 'Microsoft Corporation', not only Microsoft.- From the drivers list there may be one or more drivers with the name "Windows Mobile-Based Device Support" with different driver versions. Select one or the latest.- Ignore any warnings and keep pressing next and then Finish at last. If all goes well, the last screen will show the message that device driver is successfully installed.Now, after manually updating the driver for your bluetooth device, in 'Device Manager' when you click on 'Bluetooth Radios', it should display one more item which will say 'Windows Mobile-based device support'.There are few more things that you want to pay attention to. If you have already added the device in your 'bluetooth device list' that didn't work, then remove the device and add it again. After you add it, you might need to restart the computer if it gave you a connection problem error message.Every PCs that had Windows 7 and Vista worked after installing this software and I hope it will work for you too.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-02-19

Range?

How is the range with this thing? I have the old version of this receiver (the BT-1: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=320-352), and got very poor range -- max of about 20 feet line of sight, and about 10 feet or less if someone walked between the receiver the and Bluetooth device. Would anyone be able to do a direct comparison between these 2 versions of this receiver? Both of them claim the same thing in their specs: "Class 2 range of up to 15 meters (49.2 feet)", so I'm guessing the range would be similar or the same.
Asked by: eboyer
This newer version seems to fix the problems with the older model (I own two). First off there are input jacks instead of the flimsy wire coming off the board. This one seems to have only one LED (hard to tell with SMT and the picture). Also this one has mounting holes.Most importantly it looks to have a better pcb printed antenna (the square wave looking traces at the bottom of the picture). The older version only had a rectangle to the side. I have been looking for a pcb fractal antenna design to help improve reception with my previous purchases. However, if someone could verify that this one has better reception as it appears, I might just upgrade and save my scrap ccb for another project.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-02-15

How would I connect this into a car stereo without an AUX in? Car stereo does have a cassette in dash and a CD changer in the trunk.

Trying to add this to a car stereo so I can pair it with my iPhone. Car stereo (factory) is descent and I'm trying to delay buying a new head unit with iPhone or BT controls. Thanks
Asked by: Shrank
There are two ways you can wire this to a factory radio without AUX or bluetooth capability. You can use a cassette adapter, or an FM transmitter. I would recommend a cassette adapter for better quality and less hassle.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-02-11

Volume very low any way to boost it before it goes in my receiver

Asked by: Hukle76
Try using other inputs on your reciever. Check the volume on your device (phone, computer, etc). Try hooking it up to another receiver or amp. Look to see the your reciever's threshold for line level input is lower than 1 volt. Generally, most consumer receivers should have no problem with 1 volt. If you are using pro gear, I would suggest an RCA to XLR converter. PE sells one, check below. Also could be your power supply.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-02-11

Pin-out soldering question

I'm trying to make a custom "box" for a project I'm working on, where I solder the audio outputs of this module onto the backs of the RCA audio inputs on the Sure TA2024 15x2 amp (Model: AA-AB32155), all to be contained inside a small project box. Would this work? What are the pin-outs? Would I still also be able to use the RCA inputs from outside of the box to run a plugged in source such as an iPod (when the bluetooth module is powered off)?
Asked by: Erik N
I have used the older version of the BT-1A in a similar configuration. It seems this newer has a 3.5mm TRS (headphone jack, TRS refers to the physical description of a jack, Tip, Ring, and Sleeve). You could use a 3.5mm to RCA cable to connect to the amp board and a headphone splitter to have access to another input. I would suggest running these inputs to a 50k dual audio taper potentiometer as a volume control before inputting to the amp. (The Bluetooth module makes some beeps at full volume as it powers up and pairs with a device).For a typical pin out for the head phone jack, just do a search for 'TRS Pin Out'. The Tip is Left, Ring is Right, and Sleeve is Ground.Just two suggestions.1.The Bluetooth Module runs at 5 volts and the amp 12 volts. You will need a way to step down the voltage and regulated it. PE sells 5volt regulators or you could use a universal laptop power supply. They have two voltage outputs.2.The Project Box you have chosen is a hair too small for the amplifier board. (see my screen capture below) It is still possible to use, but you will have to make modifications.
Answered by: JDoyner
Date published: 2013-02-07

How to eliminate noise?

I just got this, and am running power off of the USP port on the TeiNuro 2.1. It has a lot of constant noise. When I'm playing music at a moderate level, it drowns out this noise. But it's annoying enough that my wife doesn't even want to hear the unit on... And I don't only want to use it for higher listening levels. Are there some tricks to eliminate this noise? Ferrite beads, or what-nots?
Asked by: That Guy over there
Ground loop isolator has worked for me.Part #: 266-007
Answered by: GOC4U
Date published: 2013-04-09

Powering this as a freestanding unit?

I would like to build this into an amplifier I'm building as an input. Unfortunately, the low voltage source that I'm using to power the amp is 12 volts.Any suggestions as to a cheap power supply I can add into the project to power this board? And any idea how clean it needs to be? I can always add my own filtering if needed.
Asked by: OU812
I'd use a voltage regulator like a 7805 to step 12v down to 5v. It normally gets power from USB, which I would guess has some noise, so I bet you'd be fine grabbing 12v from whatever's powering your amp.
Answered by: bassguy51
Date published: 2014-01-25

Does either the power cord or audio cord help in BT signal reception?

I plan to put this into a small boom box that I am making (3/8" Baltic Birch). I am concerned if mounting inside the case will diminish or interfere with the BT signal reception strength. And if it does, will increasing the length of either the power or audio cord help?I've also got a 25W amp powering the whole thing, so would the proximity of the BT receiver to the amp cause any interference? If so, should I put a shielding around the receiver or increase the distance from the amp? Thanks for any help or suggestions in advance!
Asked by: BMan63
The attached cables don't increase reception. Like most Bluetooth modules, the antenna is actually etched directly onto the circuit board. If you zoom in on the picture of this one, you can actually see the antenna. It is located on the side facing you, and opposite the cable connections. It's just a little squiggle.You shouldn't have any problem with just 3/8" of wood as an enclosure. It is not recommended that you shield the Bluetooth board, although some areas could, technically, be shielded. Do not place the antenna edge near any metal, if at all possible. Metal will block/reflect the Bluetooth signal.My recommendation is that you connect everything together on your bench/table, before installing. Make sure everything works well together, and test for any interference between components. In theory, there shouldn't be much interference, but in practice, antennas are usually placed as far away from amplifiers and power supplies as is possible. Amplifiers and power supplies create EMI and RFI. If you do get interference, the source is likely one of those two components. If shielding is necessary, shield those components, being careful not to impede cooling. You can experiment with shielding, as well, before permanent mounting in the enclosure.
Answered by: Gestalt Audio
Date published: 2012-12-29

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: BT-1A Bluetooth Receiver Module for Wireless Reception of Bluetooth Audio Signals

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1