Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup

Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup

Brand:| Model: Neo3-PDRW
Overview
The Neo3-PDR uses the progressive drive and radiation technology to improve upon the horizontal dispersion of the Neo3. The overall presentation of the Neo3-PDR is extremely clear and refined, and is reminiscent of the sound of electrostatic speakers.
Part # 
264-735
Weight: 0.32 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$119.95
You Save28%
Your Price
$85.48
Buy 4-up$78.25
Part # 264-735
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup

The Neo3-PDR uses the progressive drive and radiation technology to improve upon the horizontal dispersion of the Neo3. The overall presentation of the Neo3-PDR is extremely clear and refined, and is reminiscent of the sound of electrostatic speakers. With an off-axis response to match most 1" dome tweeters, the Neo3-PDR is a very capable tweeter that will outperform most domes in the <$100 price range. Comes with an attached damped rear chamber, which may be removed for dipole use. Use with either faceplate kit for easy cabinet installation.

The Bohlender Graebener Neo Series of planar transducers feature push-pull neodymium magnets, extremely light Kaladex(R) diaphragms, and an etched planar aluminum conductor. There are no heavy voice coils, glue joints, or surrounds to inhibit the reproduction of the signal, hence there is no cone break-up resonance, phase incoherence, or signal smearing that is common in conventional drivers. The Neo Series drivers deliver clean, airy, transparent sound that is inherently natural and musically pleasing. Plus, the purely resistive impedance of the Neo Series makes an easy load for your power amplifier and greatly facilitates crossover design. Completely shielded for safe implementation in multimedia and A/V systems.

The standard Neo Series drivers use a uniform magnet system and radiate throughout the surface of the driver. The result is a transducer with a higher sensitivity and higher maximum output capabilities. However, since the radiating area is much wider, horizontal off-axis response is not as good as with the PDR version. This produces a very narrow "listening window" that has rapidly decreasing high-frequency output outside of this window. When highest efficiency or tightly controlled directivity are the goals, the standard version is still the unit of choice.



Product Specifications
  • Tweeter TypePlanar
  • Impedance4 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)20 Watts
  • Frequency Response2,000 to 28,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity90.5 dB 1W/1m
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter3.50"
  • Cutout Diameter2.62"
  • Depth0.50"
Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup
  • BrandBohlender Graebener
  • ModelNeo3-PDRW
  • Part Number264-735
  • UPC844632053054
  • Product CategoryTweeters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (25 Reviews)
  • Weight0.32 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup
in the Tweeters product category.

Reviews

Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup
Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup is rated 4.56 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tweeteri install this in my car bmw E36 318ti (2door)front is Neo 3 + Neo 8 + LAT250 + Peerless 6.5". peerless at kick panel, Neo3, Neo8 & LAT250 is at door with similar height level with PeerlessActive set up with crossover and amp for individual channel. sounds superb even the speaker have not burn in now. and i have not tweak much on the crossover. current cross setting isNeo3 > 5khz500hz < Neo8 < 5khz80hz < Peerless 6.5" < 600hzLAT250 < 250hz all speaker have their own box. sound a bit bright for the Neo 3 at the moment, will see after running in the speaker how it sounds. also will tweak the crossover a bit. EQ is untouch now also. i have a kicker S12L7 sub woofer also. the LAT250 bring the "bass feeling" to the front.overall, Neo 3 bring out the music very clearly and best, it does not hurt the ear.
Date published: 2010-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A GemThis Planar Tweeter is part of the design of an open baffle Dipole loudspeaker by Adire Audio.Nothing but beautiful transparency. Background sounds opened up and became clearer. On one of my live jazz CDs, the applause from the audience filled my room. You just could feel the people in the room around you, only a few feet away.It is too bad, that Adire went out of business.Their mid-base woofer, called the Extremis 6.8is part of the design.The speaker is designed with a passive crossover,but I already have power amps and the BehringerULTRADRIVE PRO DCX2496.So my setup is active.I have a lot of control this way. I can adjust my crossover settings. I am satisfied with a second order butterworth on the woofer and tweeter.I can fine tune the speakers to my room no matter what changes I make.The Sound.Live and Dynamic. On well recorded music, you are just drawn in. Wynton Marsalis' cd BIG Train will scare you half to death on some of the explosive tracks.He uses his trumpet to imitate the sounds of a train. You're sitting there and all of sudden the trumpet blares out at you. It is hard to believe this sound is coming from this speaker.The other night I was listening to one of my cds by Diana Krall. I was up so late, I don't know what time I went to bed.If you can find a comparable mid-woofer to the Extremis, and to use it with the Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter, you will be able to live forever.You can find the plans for this speaker on the following website:http://www.adireaudio.com/Files/DDRDipoleDesign.pdfInformation of the Extremis driver at:http://www.aranmaracoustics.com.au/extremis.html.If you listen primarily to accoustic music, you may not require a sub. When you add a sub, you will only need a small amount of power. It will give more depth to your music.Enjoy.
Date published: 2009-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A excellent upgrade...I originally bought two for the front left and right speakers in my five channel system. Was very pleased with the sound. Highs were less bright ( am using soft domes ) but highs were still there. Everything seemed more natural from the sound of brass or the sounds of an audience clapping. Clapping should not sound like rain. I've been a musician all my life and know what anything from an orchestra to a rock band should sound like.Now, all of my tweeters in my system are these BG's. There were crossover adjustments to be made but well worth it. I am very happy with what I'm hearing be it music or movies.I gave them a five for features as tweets don't usually have features but these can be dipoles by removing the back cups.Thanks again P.E.
Date published: 2009-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clean and SmoothThis tweeter is working out perfect. I replaced the 2 original tweeters on a pair of Dahlquist DQ-10s and am very happy with the result. Articulate highs are perfectly balanced for my applicaation. and are much easier on the ears than most dome tweeters
Date published: 2009-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Simply Sweeet.Try the neo with Dayton Classic DC160S-4.Just testing to see' WOOW.JSS.
Date published: 2009-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High power handling, wide dispersion.My BG ribbon is mated with a high-end Infinity Perfect 6.1 Woofer with a steep slope 3.5 k Hz crossover in a 0.4 cubic foot vented cabinet. After working out the crossover, BG integrates very well with the Infinity 6.1. I was expecting excellent male and female voice productions and I am very satisfied. I am, however, surprised that BG can keep up with the 400 Watts rated woofer and shows no stress and the overall sound has a lot of details and very articulate.
Date published: 2008-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice little planar tweetersI used these in an existing 2 way system with Dynavox 6.5" woofers, 4kHz 2nd order crossover. What a difference over the 3/4" Infinity dome tweeter that they replaced. More open, airy, smooth and a much better soundstage. Definately worth the time and investment. I would have installed the larger Neo8 if my cabinets were large enough to fit them, but the Neo3s deliver a lot for the size. Enjoy...
Date published: 2008-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tweeterI bought this tweeter for my car audio, as I had heard a few good things about it. They newer got into the car, instead i put them into my DIY speakers replacing tweeters 5 times the price.The sound is very open, airy and transparent. Cymbals sound superbe! Although they might lack the dynamics of a dome tweeter, they have other qualities that make dome's least favorable in my opinion.For this kind of money, they are a bargain!
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fine-sounding mag.-planar tweeterI had been using a stack of 8 Dayton mag.-planar tweeters in my line-array systems but was never quite satisfied with the quality of the treble. Since I plan to build a good-looking pair of speakers to replace the ugly prototypes, I started searching for tweeters suitable for line-array use. First I removed the Daytons and anchored ONE in the front plate, changed the slopes of both MR and tweeter filters to 2nd-order Butterworth, and already heard an improvement in the quality of the treble. I tried two 2-1/8"-square 1"-dome tweeters, the $8 HiVi and the $33 Morel; both sounded edgy and harsh compared with the Dayton. Then came the Neo3. VERY nice. No artificial-sounding edginess, no harshness, just significantly cleaner treble harmonics from orchestral instruments. I'll be buying more.
Date published: 2008-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, But not for everyoneNice size, cost. Hard to mount without their mounting parts. Worked very well with vintage SS amp (Marantz). Did not work well with custom designed class A tube amps. I suspect they work best with high damping factor amps. Top end is excellent. Not as directional as many tweeters.
Date published: 2008-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tweeter ever heardThis tweeter is the best i ever heard, very airy, definition and pinpoint focussing is great!I filtered on 6dB with 2,4 uFNo problem at allHope NEO10 will be accessible for purchase very soon!!!
Date published: 2008-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $50 deal, can compete with $500 tweetersExcellent tweeter, very spacious, a lot of air in the sound and depth images. Especially in dipole application. Really best deal on the market with $50 price, can compete with $500 tweeters.
Date published: 2008-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing TweeterIt doesn't look as nice as other brands, but they cost much more. These sound simply amazing. I just can't believe how detailed they are. I had some titanium dome tweeters that I thought were good, but these just blow them out of the water. I bought the face plates for these, and they do not allow for surface mounting w/out cutouts. The face plates labeled as "surface mount" according to the reviewers one, you still have to make a cutout, so I bought the "flush mount" ones. I don't get how they are different, but the flush mount ones still require a cutout. But these tweeters are the best I've ever heard. Very clear at high volumes, I was impressed beyond belief, especially considering the price.I would have given it a 5 for features, except I really don't like how you have to mount these. I don't mind too much, because I got it to work without too much work. I was just hoping that because of them being thin planar tweeters, I could not have to cut another hole in the box. (I try to prevent doing things that leak). Also, I have mine crossed over at 4kHz. That seems to work well.
Date published: 2008-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tweeter!I already had the Neo8 in my main stereo pair, so I used the Neo3 in my centre speaker, and I intend to buy some more for my surround units.Like its bigger brother, the Neo3-PDRW has a really airy sound, like it isn't there! Once you listen to these planars, you'll never want to go back to domes - they will sound either too harsh or to euphonic...they will sound like loudspeakers. The Neo3 sounds like music. Very cheap for what it does. I recommend steep 24db/oct crossovers, but that's not only for this speaker, that's what I always use in midrange and tweeters. You don't want to have overlapping regions of the spectrum in different speakers, it does them no justice.
Date published: 2008-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very efficient tweeter, clean highsmaybe too efficient....blows to easily
Date published: 2008-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sweet high endThis thing provides amazing imaging and a clean smooth top end. Great driver.
Date published: 2007-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best ribbonI used it in some 3-way dipoles.One of the few drivers with reliable specifications in this configuration.Very easy to drive, but also to overload (I blew on last month).Outstanding specifications, difficult to compare with conventional tweeter.
Date published: 2007-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent driver - not for the beginnerThis is a great driver with very low distortion and great horizontal dispersion - BUT it's frequency response curve is not the smoothest out there, so designs with it need to be carefully thought out. Also, mounting options are rather complex - either use one of the B&G faceplates, which will make interdriver spacing larger than it needs to be, or make your own mounting plate. Think of it as a diamond in the rough.
Date published: 2007-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the best, but needs work to make right.Properly implemented, this is one of the best tweeters out there. Needs some TLC on crossover design, and requires face plates or creative mounting to make it "right"
Date published: 2007-05-26

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Bohlender Graebener Neo3-PDRW Planar Tweeter w/Back Cup

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1