303-422_ALT_1.jpg
303-422_ALT_1.jpg
 
303-422_ALT_0
 
303-422_ALT_1
 

BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker

Brand:| Model: RtR 1530
Overview
If you insist on the deepest loudest bass, the top-selling BIC RTR 1530 15" 3-way tower speaker is the best choice for your system. It offers an amazing combination of high volume, great fidelity, and an unmatchable price.
Highlights
  • Heavy duty 15" woofer with high temp voice coil
  • 4" wide dispersion midrange
  • Ferrofluid cooled 2-1/2" tweeter
  • Massive 3/4" MDF cabinet
  • Sold individually
  • 5-year limited warranty
Part # 
303-422
Weight: 61 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$225.00
You Save47%
Your Price
$118.91
Part # 303-422
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker

The BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-way tower speaker is an exceptional value, priced at about the same as 8" or 10" woofer tower models from most other brands. A massive 3/4" thick MDF vented cabinet houses the 1530's heavy-duty 15" woofer, which features a high temperature voice coil for extremely deep bass you can feel. The Ferrofluid cooled tweeter combines with a precision-engineered midrange driver to recreate smooth vocals and clean highs, for extended range and greater output.  Built-in power protection ensures long life and guards against damage caused by amplifier faults. Sold individually. 5 year parts and labor.
5 year parts and labor.

Specifications: • Recommended power: 10-325 watts • Frequency response: 33-19,000 Hz (±3 dB) • Sensitivity: 90 dB @ 1W/m • Impedance: 8 ohms • Dimensions: 39" H x 17" W x 11" D.

 



Product Specifications
  • Input Rating8 ohm
  • Woofer Diameter15"
  • Configuration3-way
  • ColorBlack
BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker
  • BrandBIC America
  • ModelRtR 1530
  • Part Number303-422
  • UPC729305001931
  • Product CategoryFloor-Standing & Tower Speakers
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (42 Reviews)
  • Weight61 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker
in the Floor-Standing & Tower Speakers product category.

Reviews

BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker
BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker is rated 4.7143 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Sound, won't break the bankI had been looking to replace a set of Fisher 15's I had for years. These speakers do not disappoint. They arrived two days after I ordered them with economy shipping. The boxes were well kept and there was no damage to the speakers. (Other reviews complained of damaged items) I didn't quite realize how large and heavy they would be, my other 3-Way 15 floorstanding speakers were 8-10 inches shorter than these, buyer beware about their footprint. I hooked these up to a Sony STR-DH100, even at low volume, the highs and mids are crisp with no distortion. I was expecting greater bass, but that's because at 100W per channel RMS, the receiver is underpowered for these speakers, I won't fault BIC America for that. Overall I am highly satisfied with my purchase. Put it this way, I yanked the 5.1 system in the living room and replaced it with the stereo receiver and these towers, I am not disappointed. Most of the programming I watch isn't even sound designed for anything other than stereo. My only suggestion, and I am price comparing now, is to mate these speakers to a receiver with appropriate output for their capability.
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Organ SpeakerI just installed these speakers on an Allen 202 digital organ which which was manufactured in the 1980's and has excellent reproduction of classic pipe organ sounds. These speakers sound smoother and much less brassy than the Infinity SM150 monitors which cost over $250 each in 1980 that I was using previously on this instrument.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RTR 1530 delivers B I G good quality soundI liked the specs but was skeptical - even with the reviews. I hooked them up and they provide an impressive big sound. Love them!! I am going to order another pair. I told my neighbor that if it gets too loud- NOT to call or ring the doorbell. Just come on in!
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SurprisingI bought these as supplemental speakers for my home office.Sound is so transparent I have to adjust my tone controls formusic, voice, or FM broadcasts. They are made well, solid, and a very good value.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bang for your buck!!I bought one of these speakers to go in my garage when I am working on the car or working out. I was pleasantly surprised. The mid range, highs and lows are excellent! I am using a 1994 Pioneer home theater receiver pumping out 100 watts per channel. it is loud and the bass is excellent. I would recommend and plan on buying another so that i will have a pair.
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FOR THE MONEY CANT BE BEATSpeakers are great are there better speakers out there yes but put not for this kind of money i love mine very nice sound mainly 70s music shake the house but sound very good at low volume too
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Speakers... Great PriceOverall, these speakers are very good. They are loud with relatively little power applied, and as long as you have a clean, low-distortion amplifier as a power source, they sound clean even at high volume levels (I’ve only played R&B through them so far). The low-end bass response isn’t what might be expected considering the 15” main speaker, but the 15” speaker and enclosure are designed for a wide frequency response rather than just bass. I opened the enclosure, out of curiosity, to take a look at the crossover network and see what was used for protection. Here’s what I found: The 15” Subwoofer, 5” Mid-Range and 2” Tweeter are all protected by a single polymer self-resetting fuse (it physically resembles a ceramic capacitor). The 15” Subwoofer [6 ohm] has no crossover so it receives all music frequencies applied (having to respond to such as wide frequency bandwidth is why the low-end bass is somewhat compromised). The 5” Mid-Range [8 ohm] has a -12dB/Octave [2nd Order] passive high-pass crossover utilizing a series 10uF capacitor with a shunt 1.0mH iron-core inductor (this equates to a -3dB crossover frequency of 1.6kHz). The 2” Tweeter [8 ohm] has a -6dB/Octave [1st Order] passive high-pass crossover utilizing a series 2.2uF capacitor (this equates to a -3dB crossover frequency of 9.0kHz). The protection and crossover networks are all soldered to a small circuit board mounted on the enclosure’s power input terminals (internal side of the rear located 5-way red & black speaker terminals where you connect the speaker wires from your amplifier). The enclosure is fairly large, but not much larger than most 12” systems like this. I recommend a separate 10” to 15” powered subwoofer to accommodate the low-end bass (I purchased a Dayton Audio SUB-120 [12"], #300-635). Overall these BIC RtR 1530 units are very good speakers especially when considering the price (I purchased a pair).
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BIC RTR 15'' TOWER SPEAKERSthe sound isnt super duper quaility, but for the price , its the best deal ive ever seen. i own a vending company and have juke boxes on my route. these speakers pound from morning to night, great product , indestructable. they are very impressive when you see them hanging on a wall at a bar.. i will buy more... many more!!! did i mention, great service from parts direct!!!!!!
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sound, excellent price!Excellent overall sound quality with exceptional bass response. I do not believe you could get this sound quality for a better price anywhere, let alone in a modern tower style speaker with a subwoofer. I am old school, I like my bass with stereo separation like it was intended and these provide that very well. I have them connected to a Onkyo TX-8511 with a Yamaha EQ70, 10-band/channel equalizer and I am able to keep the EQ pretty much flat, adjusting the bass/treble on the receiver. A tweek of the bass and these things come alive. Not sure my neighbors love them as much as I do :-)
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Speakers - little MONEY!I was looking to set up an old-school stereo to crank up my 80's and 90's rock because the surround sound systems just don't cut it for music IMHO. I was shocked to see the lack of selection for big speakers but thankfully found these BIC RtR 15" 3-Way Tower Speakers. They work as advertised.....the sound is clear and clean especially when the volume is cranked up. This was my first order from Part Express and I was extremely happy with the customer service and will check them out first from now on for electronic equipment and parts needs. BTW - the speakers were well packed with corner protectors so there was no damage from the FEDEX shipping. Get these while they are giving them away!
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big sound for very little cashI purchased two of these just for kicks and giggles, I mean what can you really expect for $100 a piece? When they arrived they were huge, which I was prepared for, and they were also GORGEOUS! I left the grill cloth off as not to hide the beautiful retro look of the 15" woofer. These babies are jaw droppers before people even hear them.Anyways onto performance. The only amp I had on hand when they arrived was the Lepai 2020A+ with a larger power supply, which at 8ohms is still only about 10 watts per channel. I turned the bass knob up and these speakers sung, I was amazed at how efficient they were. I'm not saying they're going to rattle your house with 10 watts, but they do put out a good amount of sound even at low power. Then I brought in this cheap JVC receiver I had laying around, the SQ wasn't that great but it provided 50 watts per channel at 8ohms so it would be decently louder. I turned it up and a picture frame fell off my wall. I couldn't believe how good they sounded at such high volumes, the mids and highs were good but the bass was just tremendous! The box says rated for 325 watts but I assume that's not RMS, although it showed no signs of reaching its limits at 50 watts RMS, I think they'r talking about peak power.Soon I will be replacing both the mids and the tweeters with the Dayton Audio DC28F-8 and the Pyle Pro PDMR5 to get more accurate mids and highs, the cutout holes are exactly 3" and 4". I will also be purchasing the AudioSource AMP100 to get both more and cleaner sound.Overall I am VERY pleased with these speakers, great value, great sound, I would definitely recommend these to anyone who want big sound without paying big money.
Date published: 2011-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent!!I read the other reviews on here before making my purchase. What caught my eye was someone's comment on being caught off guard by the size of these towers. Even that did not prepare me for the massive size of these behemoths. I got way more than I expected. I am running these babies with a 150 watt mosfet amp, the sound is stomach rumbling beautiful.The only complaint I have is that one of the speakers arrived with a damaged corner, not a big deal, but its funny that I read someone else's review that had the same complaint when they got their speakers. Anyway, great purchase, great value, I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2011-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BIC RtR 1530 - OUTSTANDING!This speaker system is an unbelievable buy! I wish it could all be done in the U.S. but this is an exemplary example of a product produced by United States engineers and Chinese manufacturers. With a frequency response of +/- 3 db from 33 Hz to 19 kHz, it would take a bunch of bucks to buy a system with better performance!
Date published: 2011-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SpeakersI was kind of skeptical about buying these speakers because of some of the problems that were reported on other reviews, but i decided to buy anyway. Let me tell that these speakers are excellent! Shipping was fast (literally one day for me) and nothing seemed to be damaged. First off, the bass from the 15" woofers is probably the highlight of these speakers, it rocks the house, literally! I am running these speakers on an old JVC receiver and it works perfectly fine (100 watts per channel). The mid-range and tweeters also sound excellent, it seems the louder you push these speakers the better they sound, and they are very well built, very sturdy. Definitely recommend to anyone, there's just one thing to contemplate before buying, THESE THINGS ARE HUGE!
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cheap, but decent...I needed a pair of not-too-expensive speakers to put in my kitchen/dining area and saw the positive reviews for these so I figured I'd give them a try. They sound pretty good with excellent bass and balanced highs. The one thing I wasn't prepared for is the size; they're huge! I guess I should've paid more attention to the dimensions.A couple of negatives. One of the speakers was blown when I first hooked it up but was replaced immediately by PE. The replacement speaker had no bass and when I opened it up, it turned out to be a bad solder joint on the cross-over board. The shocking thing was that the wires connecting the speakers to the crossover and terminals are literally 22 gauge! I guess you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 70. rock gurui have seen these on sale quite some time and i finally purchased a pair , so well wort the price , if your into metal pop , country , this is a price for sound that can't be beat
Date published: 2011-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping my promise to update cust. ser. experienceI will first start by saying once again that these speakers are great! They were worth every penny spent and I'm very satisfied with my purchase. How ever, It was made aware to me through customer service that they prefer that cust. service comments not be made here. Well I was never able to figure out how to post on the bizrate site and I felt strongly that my experience should be shared. I still stand by that. Well my previous post obviously caught the attention of some degree of management because they tracked me down by my post/screen name. Sadly, by this time their stock had been depleted which meant I would be waiting even longer. It's in times like these where a company can redeem its self or for ever ruin the relationship with the customer. The reps that I was dealing with at this time did every thing they could. They went as far as contacting the supplier to try and arrange direct shipment. While this did not work out it was not their fault. Well to make a really long story a bit shorter, they proved that customer satisfaction is important to them. It's because they went out of their way to try and make this a better experience for me that I promised to write this update. They earned/deserved it. To all involved thank you for your help.
Date published: 2011-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Update to previous review on Customer ServiceGetting the damaged speaker returned has been a real pain. I called the first available day which was Monday the 8th. Was first told they would have FedEx out on Tuesday the 9th for pick up. FedEx needed the tracking number for the damaged box. Cust. Rep never contacted me back to get info had to call back when FedEx was a no show. So Tuesday turned into a promise to show up Friday the 12th. that promise turned into Tuesday the 16th. Customer Rep said she would Email me to confirm that FedEx had generated a claim number and Call tag number for pickup. NEVER received that promised email. Well it's Weds the 17th and FedEx is supposed to show up today too. We'll see. Cust. Reps are polite and apologetic but, that just doesn't cut it. Do what you say you will. When you tell a cust. you will email or call back DO IT. Still love the speakers and the price was right. Getting an un damaged speaker is now just a matter of principal at this point.
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price just for the boxesI'm completely satisfied with these speakers considering the price but I'll agree they could use some upgrading, especially the tweeters. How about Parts Express doing a project to find the best components we could put in?
Date published: 2010-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality sound with out the sticker shockSearched high and low for a powerful set of tower speakers that weren't going to cost a small fortune. The positive reviews on here helped make up my mind to take a leap of faith and purchase these and I'm glad I did. Main use is for listening to music. With a decent sound card and fiber optic hook up to my HK 3490 These speakers go great with the other large towers I have. Shipping was fast,ordered on 11/2 received 11/6, however one speaker was damaged on the corner. I'll be calling on Monday and take it from there. The bashed corner in no way is affecting the performance but, feel it necessary to make sure it's documented in the very least in case of a warranty claim. Can't knock the product review for a shipping issue. 5 stars and two thumbs up!
Date published: 2010-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from to good to be trueI could not believe the sound quality of the speakers, at this price.I am very pleased with my purchase.I would tell anyone and have about the speakers.and the shipping was fast, I was told about five days had them in three. good job!
Date published: 2010-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These speakers are great!!!!I bought two of these speakers for my left and right front surround speakers. These speakers perform very well. It seems like the harder you push them the better they sound. Very smooth and never grating to the ear. I am using a BIC DV62CLR-S center channel speaker with these and they all sound very good together. For that big action movie sound you can't go wrong with these.
Date published: 2010-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not badi think the speakers are good but the mids need to be changed out distort way way to soon but nice cabnits and nice look still in ? on the subwoofer hard to tell got a polk audio 505 sub and 1000w 15" hd sub .
Date published: 2010-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge Value and Sound!I just received my pair of these speakers last week and the shipping was very fast. One speaker had a corner that took small damage but past that all was good. The speakers themselves are a tremendous value and bang for your buck. I had a pair of Boston home theater tower speakers that sounded good but they lacked bass. These RTR1530s fixed that right up. They sound good and clean across the entire spectrum. You would have to pay 5-10 times as much to get a better sounding speaker. If you want solid bass along with clear mids and highs - this is your speaker. You absolutely cannot get a better speaker for the money.
Date published: 2010-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as the last pair of RtR SpeakersPurchased a pair of RtR EXP-12 speakers in 1975. They always sounded great. After 35 years it was time for replacement due to dryness and crackling in the speakers. When I found out they were still making them, there was no question about what make of speakers to purchase. RtR.
Date published: 2010-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bang for the BuckI bought these speakers partially due to the reviews. However, I actually intended to gut them and use the cabinets as an enclosure for my own speaker design. Now that I've had them for ahwile, I'm reconsidering that thought. Like one of the previous reviews stated, the high end performance is lacking so the paper tweeter has to go. I also ordered a Seas 22TAF/G to replace the paper tweeter and if it perks up the high frequency as expected, I will probably leave the speakers the way the are. Excellent buy for the money.
Date published: 2010-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWSOME SOUND!!!!!I recived theses today and am extremely Impressed. I was running a down firing sub with my old speakers to get the bass effect but now it isn't needed as these speakers do more than the sub can do now The price isn't going to get any better an this. As a customer you got me for life
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from UNBELIEVABLE FOR THE PRICE!I have listened too and have owned more expensive tower speakers than these. When you first hook these up and listen to them you will feel like a thief for only paying this much for the sound quality you get! Not only is the bass clean and powerful, the mids and highs are also exceptionally clean without being too bright. Very natural sounding. You cannot go wrong!
Date published: 2009-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FOR THE MONEY CANT BE BEAT!!!pretty good overall sound quailty. cool lookin red woofers that pump out a decent amount of bass. my only complaint is at low volume the bass is barley there, but at mid to high volume they rock!!!. more than half the price of most other 15" towers (which are few and far between) most buyer will be very happy.
Date published: 2009-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speakers, Great priceLooking for some home audio speakers with alot of bass, Found them! These are excellent sounding speakers and didnt break my wallet. If I had room I'd buy another pair.
Date published: 2009-12-01

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker

Will these speakers be an overkill for a Medium sized living room

I am not getting the sound I like with small woofers and sub setup. I am considering this as my L and R for my home stereo setup. I mostly listen to Christian music. My questions is that if I use it in my medium sized living room, will it be an overkill or not have adequate room to breathe.
Asked by: Vic3
There is really no way to properly answer this question. These should have no problem filling your room with plenty of headroom, but it all depends on actual room size and how loud you like to listen.
Answered by: MattP
Date published: 2013-04-23

Would one of these work as a center channel?

I have plenty of room in my man cave for 3 of these up front for my R/C/L would I make a mistake using one of these as a mid? I am worried that they may drown out your usually tiny center channels. Looking to replace 3 Polk Monitor 50's up front.
Asked by: hick
for the money you could not find a better speaker for any home theater or music sound system. I would not be afraid to use these for the center channel either! If you have never heard these before you will be impressed! very clean and detailed with the highs not being too bright.
Answered by: stiffy
Date published: 2012-01-16

Empty them out....

Hey guys, can you send me just the cabinets and grills. I have a pair of dayton series II woofers. Alum Dome midranges Dayton and ribbion tweeters. And custom crossovers for the speakers and bi-amped.....It would be a shame to scrape good parts that some one my need for repairs or replacements. You should offer these cabinets for projects..... Say $50.00 a box.... I would pay up to $75.00 for a empty box.....Hint Hint
Asked by: Artman
Just an idea, but you may want to have live chat with an employee. Maybe they could work out a deal, like the first one's returned with driver defects are yours for the buying. I do doubt they would offer such a deal though as it may end up costing them more money or precious warehouse space for parts that won't sell. Not to mention they will be breaking some major warranties on the item if they just use new ones like that. If all else fails, offer to go in on a pair with some one else over techtalk. You each buy one and take what you agreed on then ship eachother what you don't keep. Hope this helps!
Answered by: Richard Rubner
Date published: 2012-11-06

What are the specs of each speaker? and internal cross over?

okay, I got two questions here:First, you guys wouldn't happen to know the specs of the 3 individual speakers would ya? Such as how many watts they each can take and the ohms are the two main things I'm interested in. Any other info about them would be nice too!For my second question is there an internal cross over because they say "Built-in power protection" but nothing about a cross over, if so, is it a 2 way for the sub and mid-highs? or 3 way, one for each?Thanks :D
Asked by: Lewis C
Even the manufacturer site doesn't list individual specs for the drivers. To find this out in the most accurate way, you would have to remove each driver and measure them using a Woofer Tester 2 or 3 or equivalent. That being said, there is also no specified crossover frequencies...I would conclude that like most entry level speakers, these have the main woofer running rull range, or the minimalist route of just a single coil as a crossover, with the midrange and tweeter both having a cap limiting their range. You might find a resistor on either or both of those drivers as well. The woofer is going to handle most of the power, while the midrange and tweeter will get less power....so use the lower end of the handling range to estimate the capability of the mid and tweeter. This is just a best guess, but I would put the crossover points somewhere in the 500-700 range and 2500-3500hz range respectively. If it were designed in a "subwoofer/main" topology, it would have been specified as that.
Answered by: SpkrNuts
Date published: 2011-10-26

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: BIC RtR 1530 15" 3-Way Tower Speaker

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1