277-112_ALT_0.jpg
277-112_ALT_0.jpg
 
277-112_ALT_0
 

Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter

Brand:| Model: RT002A
Overview
Beston's RT002A features a laminated aluminum diaphragm, driven by a compact and lightweight neodymium magnet.
Highlights
  • Patented ribbon design exhibits superb articulation and effortless dynamics
  • 2,000 Hz – 40,000 Hz frequency response
  • Horn loaded for 92 dB sensitivity
  • Linear impedance simplifies filter design and amplifier requirements
  • Neodymium magnet structure for high flux and low weight
  • Ultra-thin laminated aluminum diaphragm
Part # 
277-112
Weight: 0.6 lbs.  
IN STOCK
List Price$59.99
You Save29%
Your Price
$42.25
Buy 4-up$38.50
Part # 277-112
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter

A Beston RT002A tweeter's driven radiating surface mass is usefully low, and contributes to the transducer's superb range, efficiency, tonal neutrality, and transient response. The motor, diaphragm, and carefully controlled horn loading are skillfully integrated to create a perfect balance of sensitivity and wide, even dispersion. Great for MTM designs.

A ribbon tweeter's radiating surface approaches the theoretical ideal of a zero-mass audio source. The articulation, attack, and sonic transparency are quite impressive, and the diaphragm's monolithic shape and orientation provide a broad horizontal and tightly controlled dispersion characteristic, which is ideal for many listening environments. Beston's carefully sculpted waveguide faceplate further improves the tweeter's linear emission of smooth, extended high frequencies.

Achieve studio monitor-like audio precision with your next high-efficiency speaker project! A third order (18 dB/octave) or higher crossover is recommended to achieve maximum power handling. Minimum recommended crossover frequency: 2,500 Hz



Product Specifications
  • Tweeter TypeRibbon
  • Impedance6 ohms
  • Power Handling (RMS)40 Watts
  • Frequency Response2,000 to 40,000 Hz
  • Sensitivity92 dB 1W/1m
Thiele-Small Parameters
  • DC Resistance (Re)5.80 ohms
Mounting Information
  • Overall Outside Diameter4 x 4"
  • Cutout Diameter3.7 x 3.7 "
  • Depth1.32"
Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter
  • BrandBeston
  • ModelRT002A
  • Part Number277-112
  • UPC844632069819
  • Product CategoryTweeters
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (23 Reviews)
  • Weight0.6 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

Similar Products

View similar products to the Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter
in the Tweeters product category.

Reviews

Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter
Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter is rated 4.6087 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a little brightThis was my first ribbon. I used PEs suggested crossover design to go with my Tang Band 6-1/2 woofer. I found that these tweeters are harsh and a little disturbing to listen to for more than a little while. I 'll go back to soft dome tweeters. Just my opinion.
Date published: 2012-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supprising horn ribbonI was a little worried when I got these that they wound perform near as good as I wanted them to or they wouldnt match with the Dayton Larger ribbon.Well I was wrong these tweeters are outstanding They are clear crisp and match the Larger Dayton model when used in conjunction with other speakers that are loaded with the Dayton. Im conciderign now usign this tweeter in my series of tower speakers that use horns as this has a waveguide flare but sounds a lot smoother then the horn we normally use. This is a well built solid tweeter and sounds as good as you expect ribbons to sound. I have no compaliants with its perfomrance as well as attractive looks. An over all winner!
Date published: 2012-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful what you pair these with!I bought these after reading how they provide the "you are there" feeling of ambience, better than silk dome tweeters. The price way right, so I paired these with a 5" midbass in a .35ft^3 ported enclosure. I did make a mistake by going with too large of a speaker, so that's one reason they did not sound right.However, wouldn't use these tweeters with other drivers bigger than, say, 3". These tweeters hit the highest of the highs (and they do it well, at that). I made too large of a jump, and some songs are severely lacking in vocal range.I also had to add L-pads to the tweeters to tone them down. They're really bright, and I think they'd be better suited to a set of loudspeakers than bookshelf speakers.Overall, as long as you pair them with the right drivers, they're really great speakers.
Date published: 2012-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another wonderful complement for B652s......as an outboard supertweeter. I crossed these over with a simple first order 6.8mFd non-polar capacitor in parallel with the Dayton B652 speakers and once again we have sound that rivals the best I have heard. This tweeter has an output amplitude that matches the B652s without an L-pad (though of course I included one).This tweeter is an excellent product, and has very wide horizontal and vertical dispersion, due to its horn loaded design, and is therefore maybe an even better match for small bookshelf speakers than the HiVi tweeters I have used in the past. Definitely adds that 'you are there' ambience that ribbon tweeters are well known for, and at very low cost.This is another sealed back tweeter design, and therefore can be mounted on a very simple stand design--two pieces of wood. Velcro these to the tops of any pair of bookshelf speakers, and marvel at the sound qualiity!
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sounding car tweeter I've ever used.I have these tweeters mounted on my dash in an 01 Blazer.The horn loaded face plate made them a lot larger then the tweeter itself so I removed them.I mounted them to my pillars with the bottom sitting on the dash so they are perfectly vertical.I have them crossed over at 5k at 18db/oct and powering them with a Macintosh Mc425 that does 70 watts rms on the bench at 4 ohm so they are getting about 50 watts at their 6 ohm rating just as the power guard indicator lights up.These tweeters sound open and detailed even at full power.They do not SPIT at you like most domes and I listen to Ozzy at full volume sometimes.Madonna's Material Girl and Vogue makes them sing at ear ringing levels.And yes sometimes my ears ring afterwards for a few minutes.I was using JBL GTI's,Infinity,and Vifa's.I have been listening to these for about 6 months now.These are unbeatable at their price and well worth the install effort.
Date published: 2012-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from center channel additionsTwo of these were added to my center channel of a home theater system. Instead of mounting them in/with the same enclosure of the existing mid-woofer, they were wired so they can be tested and mounted elsewhere, such as just above or below the tv screen. Regardless of location, these tweeters provide improved clarity and distinction inobtrusively. Details in voices become more apparent, and separation between channels appears greater.PROS: affordability, design (ribbon), performance, could be an inexpensive way to improve all channels to ribbon tweetersCONS: on the large size (for a small tweeter) but necessary for performance,
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good replacement for EMITI have some Infinity Q4's that had burned up EMIT's, since I can no longer find these replacement elements I purchased the Beston ribbon tweeters. Performance of these are very good - as good as original EMIT's. Had to make some modifications to the cabinet to mount, but no big deal. Glad I found these as replacements!
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid PerformanceEdit previous post. I shouold have said "12db/octave". As Homer would say, "DOH!"
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid PerformanceIt is very smooth coming in on a 5K, 2 octave cross-over. It is not quite as bright as I expected, compared with some other tweeters I have, when higher frequency bells are ringing. However, compared to most tweeters in $600+ main speakers, this tweeter performs very well. I would consider purchasing this product again for any 90-92 db system.
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I expectedI bought these to replace a couple of burned up EMIT tweeters in my Infinity Q5's. I simply removed the lens and made minor mods to the cabinet. I checked the crossover but needed no changes. The sound is at least as good as the original and possibly better. Very smooth, incredible clear highs that go up way outa range. Amazing 180 degree horizontal dispersion. Vertical is narrow, just keep at ear level. Highly recommended!!!
Date published: 2010-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Buy - Nice RibbonI was a little hesitant about buying this tweeter, as no frequency response plot was available. I took a chance, as the specs and description were what I was looking for. I needed an 8ohm, 90dB tweeter, and with a 2ohm resistor in series, it seems to work out perfectly. The response seems smooth and detailed and the face plate seems to give better dispersion than some ribbons. There's no harsh sounding peaks and overall I'm pleased with the performance.I'm crossing over at around 4.2K @ 6dB/octave, which also was a concern. So far so good - no problems. Hard to beat this tweeter for less than $40. Hard to beat it at all unless you spend big bucks. I used to use Emits in a biamp system with electrostatic bass/mids. I think these are better than the Emits.
Date published: 2009-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needs some Tweaking but Worth the WorkMinor differences in padding make big difference in sound. Excellent planar, on par with B&G Neo3. Easy mounting, good to 2400 with higher order crossover. I like this running a little hotter than most domes. Would choose this over HiVi equivalent.
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as replacement for Infinity EMIT tweeterI bought this to replace my blown EMIT tweeter in one of my Infinity QA speakers. The crossover was the same and the specs looked to be very similar. It is a tad brighter than the original but has excellent dispersion and has really brought back the great stereo imaging that I love about these speakers. Works great at a good price.
Date published: 2009-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal for the moneyMade a set of speakers for my PC using the Dayton bi-plate amp and a set of peerless 5-1/4 inch 4 ohm woofers, .38ft cab and these wonderful ribbons with some Solen 6.8uf caps inline and 2-1/8 inch ports out the back above the amp. I have 58 watts to the woofers and 18 watts to these and it really sounds nice. They are crossed at 3000hz. Very airy sounding and great sound stage. I'm using a Aric Audio single tube preamp for the controler. Makes your PC sound esoteric.
Date published: 2009-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Agreed. Great Product.I do wish it didn't have the vents (or appear to have vents) on the back. As a precaution, I put it in a separate small box inside the midrange of the MTM section (it's a wmtmw speaker) just in case.The 6 ohm impedence is a touch, well, I guess somebody sells a lot of 2 ohm resistors too :)
Date published: 2009-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great valueI have two in a pair of DIY speakers. I cross them over around 13KHz to add some top end and they make the speakers come alive. There are better ribbon tweeters out there, but this one works just fine and is not too expensive.
Date published: 2009-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice soundThese tweeters are responsive to highs that I do not think that I have ever heard before. I am happy to add these to my Magnepan speakers.
Date published: 2008-12-24

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter

can this be used in an 8 ohm set up? if so. how? and im wanting to add these to my fullrange setup,do i need a high pass crossover? thanks in advance.

Asked by: toller
I USE A 2 OHM 5 WATT NON INDUCTIVE RESISTOR ON THIS TWEETER TO ALIGN IT TO 8 OHM X'OVER
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2014-03-17

Is the backplate removable for using in an open baffle?

Asked by: Jeff K.
YES IT IS REMOVABLE ,BUT NOT FOR OPEN BAFFLE OR BI POLAR USE AND THE BACKPLATE HAS A LARGER MODEL TOO FOR HORN LOADING
Answered by: digitalhaven 53
Date published: 2012-02-28

mounting

does it matter if i surface mount these onto my cabinet or is it best to flush mount it like i did with my mid-woofer?
Asked by: jalng63
These were designed with surface mount in mind, as evidenced by the aesthetic roundover on the front edges.
Answered by: ThaiBoxing101
Date published: 2014-03-17

connector sizes

what sized female crimp connectors fit on the + and -
Asked by: jalng63
The negative terminal will take a 0.110" connector, 0.205" for the positive.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2013-12-21

crossover

If I wanted to build a 2 way using these and the tang band 6 1/2 W6-789E. What ready made crossover would work best or do I just need a high-pass filter? I'd appreciate any input.
Asked by: jalng63
"Best" is a matter of opinion, so I can't really say what would sound "best" to you, specifically. The Beston ribbon's recommended crossover point is 2500Hz, so I would recommend a 2-way crossover at that point or higher. I've linked a few such prefabricated crossovers below for your convenience. If you do a high pass only, then you're going to end up with a lot of overlapping frequencies, due to the Tang Band's response potentially extending up to 10kHz.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-03-17

if I wanted to build a two way speaker, would this or the compression tweeters attached to a horn give better sound?

Asked by: jalng63
First you have to define "better sound". I believe what you are asking is about a wave guide not a horn. The most recent research seems to indicate how detrimental early reflections are to sound quality. It is inevitable that horns will have early internal reflections due to the boundaries of the horn itself. A wave guide is a better way to go. The new Seas Dtx tweeter is a waveguide with a patented shape. By carefully causing difraction at set distances they are able to achieve constant directivity. The is similar to what Emerald Physics does with its wave guide. As far as a Bestron ribbon. I don't recomend it. The only ribbons I have heard that I like are the Raal and the Raven. These are very expensive. Check the output and distortion of a ribbon if you crossover anywhere under 4 k the ribbon runs out of excursion very quickly and the distortion goes up. If money were my concern I'd go with the Seas Dtx at $50. You won't be disappointed and can crossover as low as 2k with a 4 order crossover. If you can afford more and want great sound look at the Ess or Aurum Cantus aerostriction units. Sorry you get what you pay for. Good luck Ralph
Answered by: hifiralph
Date published: 2014-03-17

Can i use these ribbon tweeters for a car audio system?

I presently have 2 Pioneer bullet tweeters (no crossover). If I can substitute these ribbon tweeters, what is the recommended product to crossover?Thanks,
Asked by: dlautner
There is no reason you couldn't use these successfully in a mobile audio application. Just keep in mind that the impedance is 6 ohms on this ribbon, and calculate your crossover accordingly. I've referenced a prefabricated model below that would do the job, all things considered. Since the tweeter in question is 6 ohms, the 8 ohm crossover design would effectively cross it about half an octave higher, around 4.5kHz or so.
Answered by: RussR
Date published: 2014-03-17

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions

Discussions in our TechTalk Forum that include: Beston RT002A Ribbon Tweeter

If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.

Recently Viewed Products

Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software