260-317_ALT_9.jpg

Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag

Overview
Acousta-Stuf is a synthetic material made from crimped fibers. It is an excellent choice for filling small enclosures or transmission line cabinets. Acousta-Stuf will also outperform Dacron, foam, and fiberglass. Acousta-Stuf is a sound absorption, dampening fiber that will deepen bass and more!
Part # 
260-317
Weight: 1 lbs.  
IN STOCK
Your Price
$10.80
Buy 10-up$9.35
Part # 260-317
Qty:  EA
Available Payment Methods

Product Details

Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag

Acousta-Stuf is a synthetic material made from crimped fibers. It is an excellent choice for filling or stuffing small enclosures or transmission line cabinets. Long fiber wool has been a favorite among serious speaker builders but Acousta-stuf is less expensive than long fiber wool and does not have the problem of harboring moths. Acousta-Stuf™ will also outperform Dacron, foam, and fiberglass.

Acousta-Stuf is a sound absorption, dampening fiber that will deepen bass, provide cleaner midrange and improve the dynamic extension of any speaker system. There are no health hazards with Acousta-Stuf and no mask or gloves are needed when using this product; the melting point is a very high 490°F. Most sealed and vented enclosures require 1/2 lb. of dampening material per cubic foot of enclosure. For best results it is recommended to loosely fill the material throughout the enclosure.



Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag
  • BrandParts Express
  • Part Number260-317
  • UPC844632037382
  • Product CategoryCabinet Damping Material
  • Unit of MeasureEA
  • Product Rating
    (63 Reviews)
  • Weight1 lbs.
  • California Prop 65

    Warning: California residents only. Please note per Proposition 65 that this product may contain chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm.

View similar products to the Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag
in the Cabinet Damping Material product category.

Reviews

Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag
Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag is rated 4.4444 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Material, but you might need more than 1I purchased a single 1 lb bag of this product for my subwoofer project. The material works fairly well, but another half to a whole pound of material would work better. It seems that 1lb fills about 1 cubic foot of space pretty well, so for my 2 ft^3 cabinet, I would like to have used 2 lbs.It is Nylon Fiberfill material, which is less flammable than, say, polyester, and not as dense as wool, but it seems to expand where other materials tend to collapse.I would prefer that a measurement or estimate be given for the volume this material occupies, even if it is being sold by the pound.
Date published: 2008-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very very good product....Mass Loaded Transmission Line Enclosure is a very exotic thing and Acousta-Stuf is the best dampening for such a speaker enclosure.
Date published: 2008-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good acoustastuff cheap.Seriously this stuff is excellent, but could be cheaper.
Date published: 2008-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good productYou will be able to tell the difference between acousta-stuf polyfill and regular polyfill.
Date published: 2008-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does it's job, but for a slightly high price...It does what is supposed to do, but I think the price is a little on the high side for the amount you get. It would be a much better value at close to half of what it currently is.
Date published: 2008-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This "Stuf" is AMAZING!A few years back, I've built a 3-way home system with a 12" woofer. I was never completely happy with them because the bass sounded boomy and uncontrolled at times. Some of the bass notes sounded over emphasized, like a cheap subwoofer or boom box. I thought for sure I would have to build a larger enclosures, but I never got around to it. Just for kicks, I tried adding an extra 3/4 pound of Acousta-Stuf to each box. Wow! What a difference...Not only is the bass nice and tight, the midrange and top end are much clearer. The flabby bass was drowning out everything else. My only regret is that I've should of done this much sooner!
Date published: 2008-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good productused this in a speakers i recently built.bass tighter ...highly recommended...
Date published: 2008-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great productThis product helped in keeping my box small and my sub. playing smooth.
Date published: 2008-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great productUsed this in a sub I recently built. Much tighter bass than fiberglass. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2008-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Wool SubstituteIt does not serve as mothchow, and is more readily available than wool; less effective than wool at coupling to the air, but better than any of the other synthetics. It has the effect of somewhat increasing the effective box volume, so needs to be taken into account, especially for ported enclosures, as it will lower Fbox a bit. It is effective at suppressing higher frequency reflections and lower frequency standing waves, which will clean up the sound. I use heavy wool felt, (1/2 " thick for mids, 1" for woofers =>75% wool content) on the cabinet walls also, and the combination is very effective. You will need to experiment, from 1/2 lb/cu ft. to 1 lb. Be sure that it clears the port opening and driver by a couple of inches or so. (Pasted from my review of the 5 lb. bag.)
Date published: 2008-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Day and NightI heard that this product has the ability to attenuate unwanted sound and figured it would only make a minor difference. I was completely wrong. It's like night and day. Most people I play the sub to cant hear a huge difference but audiophiles know. I feel sorry for all of those people I've built boxes for and didn't fill with this stuff.
Date published: 2008-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuffWhat can you say, it is what it is.
Date published: 2008-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations!I didn't realise that polyfill would make such a significant difference. I'm currently housing a JL audio 12w6v2 in an 1.25cu ft sealed enclosure (used the whole bag to the fill the enclosure). No longer does the bass sound "hallow" and the excursion on the sub has increase significantly. I can now increase the volume to the point where the box starts moving around (along with the pictures on my wall). Powered by a Samson SX1800 mono amp at 8ohms. Huge improvement, only regret is that I didnt spend the 10 bucks earlier. Be sure to purchase the spray on adheasive along with the polyfill if you do decide to purchase it (which you SHOULD) :P
Date published: 2008-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from expensiveFor the price, the valume was very little; about the size of a large head of lettice.
Date published: 2008-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great but a little expensive.I upgraded from polyfill that is used to make pillows, etc. This product improved midrange clarity and bass better than what I was using before.
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from acousta stufNot enough to go around, should specify that you need adhesive to line your cabinet with it.
Date published: 2008-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feel Good Fluf?I threw a bag of this stuf in my new sub because everybody on the net seems to think something like it is necessary. I guess it has to do with damping resonance inside the box or something. I couldn't tell you if it does anything but my sub sounds great so I'm not complaining. Worth $10? Maybe. It at least isn't hurting anything.
Date published: 2008-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Astounding!This stuff is a miracle in a bag, the diffrenceit makes in the sound of an enclosure is unreal.Also if used in the right amount it allows you to build a sealed enclosure up to 30 percent smaller and get the same sound quality, definately worth it. deep, tight, hard hitting bass!
Date published: 2008-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A big differenceI highly recomend this product to my friends. It is the cheapest per project and I beleive it has the best performance of any sound dampening material.
Date published: 2007-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Stuff (Pun intended)Works great, but I'm not sure if it is any better than standard polyester fill from the large chain stores.
Date published: 2007-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny!Doesn't look like much but it's amazing what it does once inside a speaker box. Can't beat it.
Date published: 2007-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuffworks just like advertised, give the sub a much better sound...i've been using this stuff for a while and its great
Date published: 2007-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AdminbaSolid product at a wonderful price. Thanks PE!!!
Date published: 2007-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Acousta-stuffNot much to say, it is Acousta-stuff. All the nice damping properties of fiberglass without the itch and mess. Will render a cabinet resonance-free. Great for sealed applications where clean, tight bass is desired.
Date published: 2007-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good StufDID the job, Works Great!
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good StufDID the job, Works Great!
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for everyoneGood product for those who are into sound. Meaning that if you an audiophile you will hear better music, but I think most people won t know the difference.
Date published: 2007-08-21

Product Q&A

Get your questions answered from other customers
who own this product or have experience with it.
If your question requires design or troubleshooting information,
please email tech@parts-expresss.com  for a prompt reply.
Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag

Customer Projects

Customer projects that include: Acousta-Stuf Polyfill Speaker Cabinet Sound Damping Material 1 lb. Bag

If you built a project using this product, post it in the Parts Express Project Gallery.

Customer Discussions


If you would like to start a discussion about this product, post a thread in the TechTalk Customer Forum.
Get Deals
emailed to you every week.

Be the first to hear about new and exciting products,special pricing and incredible deals!

See This Week's "GET DEALS" Email
Parts Express
725 Pleasant Valley Dr.Springboro,OH45066USA
800-338-0531

© 1996-2014 Parts Express, All Rights Reserved

Host-Name:ZNODE1
Live Chat Software